View Full Version : West Coast Still have the Worst Spine (Bumped)
Pav for AA
28 Feb 2006, 18:13
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
Utterly woeful, Agreed? :o
mocaholic
28 Feb 2006, 18:15
This argument has been done to death. Let's post something new, like...I dunno...Hodge vs Judd vs Ball.
But West Coast fans could argue that Dockers have no spine.
As in spineless....
Pav for AA
28 Feb 2006, 18:21
But West Coast fans could argue that Dockers have no spine.
As in spineless....
They could but it wouldnt detract from the fact that they still have the worst Spine in the legue :thumbsu:
Tredders66
28 Feb 2006, 18:23
They could but it wouldnt detract from the fact that they still have the worst Spine in the legue :thumbsu:
Grow up. I would get all excitied over one practice game mate.
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
Lynch CHB- West Perth
Yeah, Hunter is rubbish.:rolleyes:
theorangeapple
28 Feb 2006, 18:26
I dont know why I am bothering with this reply but hey...
FB: Glass - One of the best full backs in the league.
CHB: Last year it was Hunter and he was very very good. Was short listed for AA selection. If the forward line doesnt work, then we will play CHB.
CHF: Hansen is pretty handy and is improving. Still young. Not too many players with his experience playing CHF in the league.
So those 3 are pretty strong players, 2 guys close to AA and a young CHF.
FF is an issue, we obviously cant find anyone of substance. But 3 out of the 4 positions are filled fine IMO.
Pav for AA
28 Feb 2006, 18:27
Grow up. I would get all excitied over one practice game mate.
You got smashed as well? Poor lil guy :)
Pav for AA
28 Feb 2006, 18:32
I dont know why I am bothering with this reply but hey...
FB: Glass - One of the best full backs in the league.
CHB: Last year it was Hunter and he was very very good. Was short listed for AA selection. If the forward line doesnt work, then we will play CHB.
CHF: Hansen is pretty handy and is improving. Still young. Not too many players with his experience playing CHF in the league.
So those 3 are pretty strong players, 2 guys close to AA and a young CHF.
FF is an issue, we obviously cant find anyone of substance. But 3 out of the 4 positions are filled fine IMO.
Are you serious, I generally respect your posts but he is nowhere near AA selection, an I wouldnt even rate him in the top 8-10 full backs.
coasting
28 Feb 2006, 18:37
Are you serious, I generally respect your posts but he is nowhere near AA selection, an I wouldnt even rate him in the top 8-10 full backs.
LOL. Pav for AA = Lemming. :)
theorangeapple
28 Feb 2006, 18:38
Glass would have gone pretty close to AA last year, in fact many tipped it would be out of he and Rutten. I dont think he is the best FB in the league but he is top 5.
coasting
28 Feb 2006, 18:41
Hey Pavlova, remember this thread? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=201880)
You're full of crap. Go away.
Barry Hall says Glass is one of the toughest Fullbacks he's played on.
I would believe Barry Hall over a d*ckhead like you.
Hodge_is_God
28 Feb 2006, 18:50
Glass a Top 5 fullback, huh?
Scarlett
Fletcher
Michael
Rutten
Barry
Which of these fullbacks is Glass better than?
for that matter:
Hudghton
Gaspar
Hay
Presti
Harris
..all arguably better fullbacks.
Most chronically overrated footballer in the league, bar Daniel Harris.
Scarlett
Fletcher
Michael
Rutten
Barry
for that matter:
Hudghton
Gaspar
Hay
Presti
Harris
He's a player, not a sheet of glass.
USAEagle
28 Feb 2006, 18:55
yawn
funkyfreo
28 Feb 2006, 19:00
Pav - while it is OK to post a thread talking up your own team/players, ones that bag the rivals just look a tad childish.
I would rate WCE's spine 13th at worst;)
sydney eagle
28 Feb 2006, 19:01
Pav - while it is OK to post a thread talking up your own team/players, ones that bag the rivals just look a tad childish.
I would rate WCE's spine 13th at worst;) Thanks for the vote of confidence !:p
funkyfreo
28 Feb 2006, 19:03
Thanks for the vote of confidence !:p
don't ever say there is no such thing as an unbiased Freo fan again;)
Kapow!!!
28 Feb 2006, 19:04
Show some respect PFAA, it is still only the pre-season
sydney eagle
28 Feb 2006, 19:09
don't ever say there is no such thing as an unbiased Freo fan again;) I NEVER said that ! Passionate Freo fans sure; just as there are passionate fans of EVERY club. Biased ones as well (and ditto for every club). Not being a West Australian I don't get as caught up in the Fremantle/West Coast rivalry as some of the locals do and can give credit where it is due !
funkyfreo
28 Feb 2006, 19:11
I NEVER said that ! Passionate Freo fans sure; just as there are passionate fans of EVERY club. Biased ones as well (and ditto for every club). Not being a West Australian I don't get as caught up in the Fremantle/West Coast rivalry as some of the locals do and can give credit where it is due !
you're obviously not the same Syd Eagle as the last one!!!
Pfft, who needs a spine. I haven't had one for years.
sdb4884
28 Feb 2006, 22:57
He is, get over it. He beat Pav last year, Twice!
FCAGJAT
28 Feb 2006, 23:20
Scarlett
Fletcher
Michael
Rutten
Barry
for that matter:
Hudghton
Gaspar
Hay
Presti
Harris
Agree with the first part of the post. Whilst Glass is a quality full back I don't think he surpasses that of those mentioned in that top 5 list. AA contention? maybe for 10th spot but he'll definitely make that 2nd list among quality defenders. So what if Hall says he's the hardest defender to play on? He's not the only forward in the competition and there are plenty of other quality forwards defined by their own resourcefulness and measure of skills.
Barry Hall also said that Nathan Basset was his most difficult opponent, yet i doubt anyone took that to mean he was close to being the best fullback in the league when he played there.
Underdog
28 Feb 2006, 23:57
Barry Hall also said that Nathan Basset was his most difficult opponent, yet i doubt anyone took that to mean he was close to being the best fullback in the league when he played there.
I think the point he tries to make is that, really - we have no idea and the professional footy players do. Surely their opinion means much more then some random on the internet
sydney eagle
1 Mar 2006, 12:15
you're obviously not the same Syd Eagle as the last one!!! If the last one used capitals for his signature (e g SYDNEY EAGLE) then No I am not he. I have always used lower case for my signature. Caused confusion on "Eagles Flying High" some times too !:o
you're obviously not the same Syd Eagle as the last one!!!
The other got banned and then came back as GunnarLongshanks or something similar!!
stui magpie
1 Mar 2006, 12:43
Why would a Freo supporter suggest in his psuedonym that Pavlich needs to go to Alcoholics Anonymous unless he thinks Pav has some serious drinking problem:confused:
The Magenius
1 Mar 2006, 13:02
Why would a Freo supporter suggest in his psuedonym that Pavlich needs to go to Alcoholics Anonymous unless he thinks Pav has some serious drinking problem:confused:
The guy just opened his own pub FWIW.
wizard_9
1 Mar 2006, 13:05
I have to say i agree with the other guy here, Glass is a great FB. Not the best in the league but he is very highly rated in my view.
RogerMellie
1 Mar 2006, 13:17
Hunter...was short listed for AA selection.
The day that testicle-puncher gets All-Australian is the day that honour ceases to mean anything.
Exactly the guy is a squirrel hunter and the guy who tried to intimidat Nathan Ablett and got his arse kicked :p
TheReason
1 Mar 2006, 14:19
Exactly the guy is a squirrel hunter and the guy who tried to intimidat Nathan Ablett and got his arse kicked :p
:eek:
Pav for AA
1 Mar 2006, 14:22
:eek:
You know what he meant and yes he was comprehensively smashed by a first or Second gamer, no way he was ever going to be an AA player, neither was Glass, you must be able to kick the football to be All Australian, he can't.
Bestbird
1 Mar 2006, 16:23
You know what he meant and yes he was comprehensively smashed by a first or Second gamer, no way he was ever going to be an AA player, neither was Glass, you must be able to kick the football to be All Australian, he can't.
From memory, Brett Jones was playing on Nathan Ablett at the time and seemed to be struggling, not long afterwards he was declared unfit and missed the finals
Also, according to the AFL prospetus i recently purchased, Glasses kicking efficiency was rated quite highly although he knows his limitations and tends to kick to a short option. Not suprising either when you can pass it to Wirra the Panda, him being one of the better kicks in the league
Pav for AA
1 Mar 2006, 16:28
From memory, Brett Jones was playing on Nathan Ablett at the time and seemed to be struggling, not long afterwards he was declared unfit and missed the finals
Also, according to the AFL prospetus i recently purchased, Glasses kicking efficiency was rated quite highly although he knows his limitations and tends to kick to a short option. Not suprising either when you can pass it to Wirra the Panda, him being one of the better kicks in the league
Do you think your spine is the worst in the league?
Bestbird
1 Mar 2006, 16:49
Do you think your spine is the worst in the league?
Not the best but not the worst either
Judging on last years performances
1. Glass was up there with the best performaned FB's last year
2. Hunter was rarely beaten at CHB and had some good scalps including beating Pavlich and Riewoldt
3. Hansen was impresive at CHF till injured and recieved some glowing praise from people in the know including Wayne Carey as one of the best up and coming young CHF's in the league.
4. The FF position is and was a problem with Lynch being a late replacement at the start of the last season due to injuries to Smith and McDougall (who had played ok in that position in 04 considering he was only 21 at the time)
So in summation, the problem is not the spine but finding a FF in 2006 that can take a few contested marks and kick a plus 50 bag for the season.
Lets Talk AFL
1 Mar 2006, 20:29
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
yeah but these days the spine dont matter as much as west coast proved last year and will prove again this year.
the ball rarely goes down the middle with all in traditional positions this aint 1966 (unfortunetly) :D
Hunter for All Australian CHB ?
He's a good player but is he in the same class as Cornes, Maguire, Croad, Leppitsch or McPharlin ? Hmmmm. No.
Goldenblue
1 Mar 2006, 20:50
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
Ho-hum.
Whatever gets your hatred of the club at boiling point.
Lynch - so-so, has a lot of work to do.
Hansen, will be a champion.
Hunter, star in the making, beat Pavlich convincingly last season. (so going by your estimates, Pavlich is a hack?)
Glass, 2nd best full back in the league.
If the league consisted of solely WA sides, sure that could be true
Goldenblue
1 Mar 2006, 21:21
If the league consisted of solely WA sides, sure that could be true
Rubbish.
Most two eyed supporters would rate Glass in the top 5.
I personally put him at 2nd just behind Scarlett.
Pav for AA
1 Mar 2006, 21:25
Rubbish.
Oh so Brett Rutten is not that good then? Nor is Fletcher? Michael? Presti?
Gaspar.
No Knowledge
Rubbish.
Then you need to watch more football. Rutten, Scarlett and Michael are all way in front of Glass.
Goldenblue
1 Mar 2006, 21:27
Gaspar.
No Knowledge
Ohh, I did forget Rutten. :o
Sorry, I now rate Glass 3rd.
Rutten
Scarlett
Glass
Michael
Just my opinion, does not mean anyone has to agree.
Fletcher - past his best.
Goldenblue
1 Mar 2006, 21:30
Then you need to watch more football. Rutten, Scarlett and Michael are all way in front of Glass.
In your opinion only.
Gaspar.
No Knowledge
it's ben rutten :p
Pav for AA
1 Mar 2006, 21:46
it's ben rutten :p
Haha, My bad :o
nameless
2 Mar 2006, 03:00
A few stats from the top fullbacks of last year. Rutten, Michael, Fletcher, Scarlett and Glass.
Disposal Efficiency - 93% - Michael
88% - Rutten
87%- Fletcher, Scarlett and Glass
Spoils/game - 6.7 - Michael (ranked #1 for past 4 seasons)
4.6 - Flecther
4.3 - Glass
3.5 - Scarlett
3.1 - Rutten
Marks from Opposition kicks - 2.2 - Scarlett( ranked #1 in league)
1.6 - Fletcher
1 - Glass, Michael
.9 - Rutten
Tackles - 1.7 - Glass, Scarlett
1.1 - Rutten, Michael
.8 - Fletcher
Just some little stats, take what you will from it. But it shows they are all fairly even, i think Michael is probably the leader, with an excellent disposal efficiency 93% is quite amazing. In the past 4 seasons he has had 216 more spoils than any other player, thats got to give all forwards quite a headache.
Btw, Adam hunter is the 6th best kick in the AFL, Goodwin #1, followed by wirra, then Michael. With Presti and Croad in the bottom 5.
So i think that our backline is more than capable of taking on any opposition, Wirra is brilliant, never seen a player pick up the ball as well as he does. Chick is a very hard worker, Banfield, while old, never puts a foot wrong, he is very quick (ran down Aaron davey). Waters comes back into the side this year to add more strength, Nicoski had a brilliant year last year, has an awesome left foot and good speed and Jones has turned into a handy player.
The forwards arent great. But, i think on the weekend, it was the delivery from the midfield which sometimes let the players down. The dockers had spare men back, but we still kicked long. Mcdougall played a ripper of a match against the lions a few yrs ago, so he has potential. I think havin Embley up forward will be the best option. Seaby can take a grab. Lynch needs to use his body more. I think when the ball hits the deck its just about all over, we need sampi to fire and someone to replace Matera. Hansen will take time to become a champ.
Last year, i think our defence ranked 4th and our attack was 3rd. we have the 2nd or 3rd youngest side, i think things are only going to get better.
Katthawk
2 Mar 2006, 03:08
Don't worry, I'm not impressed with Cam Brown. He uses his dad or at least uses the footy club as his excuse. Or at least I hope not.
"We don't need that sort here".
Benny Cousins., gotta gat a grip bud.
And yes I can say my piece about it. Thankyou very much. :)
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Aug 2006, 14:30
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
Utterly woeful, Agreed? :oDo WC still have the competition's worst spine?
Kenny_01
7 Aug 2006, 15:24
Glass is a gun and one of the 3 best FBs in the comp.
Do WC still have the competition's worst spine?
Glass
Hunter / Grayham
Hansen
Lynch
Far from worst - about average by this seasons standards.
Glass dominated Gherig on Friday night the week after he kicked 10 goals. Dont be suprised if glass gets AA
Pav for AA
8 Aug 2006, 19:40
Do WC still have the competition's worst spine?
Yes, show one that is worse.
Calcium Man
8 Aug 2006, 19:57
Yes, show one that is worse.
Well considering at richmond we dont really have a spine, i'd say we have a worse one!
The Dogs arnt excatly blessed with talls either.
Hawthorns is young and certainly at the moment worse the west coasts.
Carlton has fev thats it. Essendon has Lucas and thats it. So they are both worse then West Coast. And i dont rate the Roos after thompson either.
Geelong would probaly be on a par.
Kickin_Goals
8 Aug 2006, 20:06
Hawthorn, Richmond
It's interesting carlton have two apparent lock AA's in their spine yet it sucks?
Why would you WC fans care.
Arguments are that saints spine is the best spine, they just got picked apart on their dirt pool by your lads.
Adelaides spine ain't that great really
Welsh
Perrie
Shirley
McGregor/Bock/Stevens?
Rutten
Pretty bloody shockin really
Lloyd
Lucas
Hird
Bradley?
Fletcher
I don't see whats wrong with essendons other then Lloyd aint on the park.
Pav for AA
8 Aug 2006, 20:16
Glass, Yes he has improved
CHB who?
CHF Hansen, perhaps the slowest worst overhead mark in the league.
FF, Lynch kicked 5 against Hawthorn, whoopdie doo.
Western Bulldogs have been ravaged injury, hardly their fault.
Hawthorn.
No Fullback but the rest works ok.
Richmoond dont really count they are evergreen in terms of ****ness :thumbsu:
Kickin_Goals
8 Aug 2006, 20:23
CHB who?
Hawthorn.
That's all you requested richmond are worse :P
Calcium Man
8 Aug 2006, 20:27
Hawthorn, Richmond
It's interesting carlton have two apparent lock AA's in their spine yet it sucks?
Why would you WC fans care.
Arguments are that saints spine is the best spine, they just got picked apart on their dirt pool by your lads.
Adelaides spine ain't that great really
Welsh
Perrie
Shirley
McGregor/Bock/Stevens?
Rutten
Pretty bloody shockin really
Lloyd
Lucas
Hird
Bradley?
Fletcher
I don't see whats wrong with essendons other then Lloyd aint on the park.
I was just pointing out who currently have a worse spine then WC. Essendon would look much better with Lloyd but he aint there. Fletcher is past it. Sheedy doesnt even put him on the oppositions main forward, See the Sydney match.
Who is the other person from carlton looking at an AA spot??
94_Eagles
8 Aug 2006, 20:30
I was just pointing out who currently have a worse spine then WC. Essendon would look much better with Lloyd but he aint there. Fletcher is past it. Sheedy doesnt even put him on the oppositions main forward, See the Sydney match.
Who is the other person from carlton looking at an AA spot??
He was referring to Whitnall at CHB, I'd suspect.
Calcium Man
8 Aug 2006, 20:31
CHB who?
Hawthorn.
Yeah the Bullies have been ravaged by injury but Darcy is the only person who would really come back into their spine. Richmond also been done in by injuries. Richo hasnt been the same since he broke his hand, lost thursfield and Gasper. I dont believe they would be as good as WC still but we have lost important players.
Hawthorn's spine is young and no where near better then WC. It may be in a few years but it isnt atm.
Calcium Man
8 Aug 2006, 20:36
He was referring to Whitnall at CHB, I'd suspect.
I guess thats possible, but the CHB position hasnt had a real stand out player in years.
Cassius_Clay
8 Aug 2006, 20:39
CHB who?
Hawthorn.
Doing well to be 2nd on the ladder with the worst spine in the league.
Go Dockers.
Personally i think Pav for AA shoudl be kicked of big footy for the most bull**** posts ever. Jesus christ get over your hate for the eagles GROW UP.
CHB who?
Hawthorn.
*Shakes head*
You're not from this planet.
Glass is a topline fullback.
'Who?' would walk into any team in the AFL.
Hansen kicked you're dodgy teams ass last year.
Lynch kicked 5 against Hawthorn but should of kicked 8, the guy has been a relevation this year.
If I was you I would be more concerned in winning a final.:rolleyes:
Black Thunder
8 Aug 2006, 23:41
the problem with you Pav, is that our spine could consist of Stephen Silvagni, Ted Whitten, Wayne Carey and Tony Lockett, and you would still consider it to be of average quality......
As someone pointed out, on numbers our spine has actually out performed yours this year..... Glass would be very close to AA fullback this year, Hunter likewise before his injury, Hansen is averaging 7 marks a game (that's 154 over a whole season of 22 games which is a good season), and Lynch has improved out of sight....
it's actually not looking to bad, especially when you consider Hunter is the oldest of those at about 25/26ish....
Hansen, perhaps the slowest worst overhead mark in the league.
http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic/2112OdSsq/926660.jpg
Kickin_Goals
9 Aug 2006, 09:05
http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic/2112OdSsq/926660.jpg
I'd like to see him kick the coasters ass in a few :P
The only part of the spine Fremantle win in is slightly forward of centre, this is in bay 13 and rightly so
Pav for AA
9 Aug 2006, 15:59
Lynch > Longmuir
Hunter > McPharlin
Glass > Parker
Hansen < Pavlich
Looks like apart from pavlich, Freo has a worse spine than the Eagles. But Pav_for_AA you can argue all you like about our spine, because we all know that overall - Eagles > Dockers. You just single out our spine because you know we completely dominate your team everywhere else on the field.
It would be like me identifying one of Freo's weaknesses and starting a conversation about that? Such as...... Dockers recruiting < Every other AFL team that exists recruiting. But theres no point in creating a thread about a Dockers weakness. Theres just too many and I wouldnt know where to start :thumbsu:
You've got to be kidding, seriously cream over your midfield, as most do. But, if you honestly believe what you have posted than you are lost my lad :thumbsu:
Grow so hair the cold is affected your miniscule brain. :thumbsu:
Coastering
9 Aug 2006, 17:37
gdmclean's assessment is accurate Pav. It would be obvious to you if you could watch footy without your blinkered view of the Eagles. McPharlin has been a failure up forward. He is a good defender but has yet to achieve anything near what Hunter has. Hunter is a recognised gun in the footy world, McPharlin has only showed potential. Lynch has been outstanding this year, whether at FF, CHF, CHB or in the ruck - he has played in all these positions this year - Longmuir hasn't come close to having the impact Lynch has.
After all the moronic threads you have started you look ridiculous insulting anyone elses intelligent.
And what's with all the :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:? Are they to disguise your complete lack of ability to make a convincing argument? :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: doesn't give anything you say any credibility. Try using words, not symbols.
Wait and see this "weak spine" dominate Freo in the upcoming derby. :thumbsu:
Pav for AA
9 Aug 2006, 22:48
gdmclean's assessment is accurate Pav. It would be obvious to you if you could watch footy without your blinkered view of the Eagles. McPharlin has been a failure up forward. He is a good defender but has yet to achieve anything near what Hunter has. Hunter is a recognised gun in the footy world, McPharlin has only showed potential. Lynch has been outstanding this year, whether at FF, CHF, CHB or in the ruck - he has played in all these positions this year - Longmuir hasn't come close to having the impact Lynch has.
After all the moronic threads you have started you look ridiculous insulting anyone elses intelligent.
And what's with all the? Are they to disguise your complete lack of ability to make a convincing argument? doesn't give anything you say any credibility. Try using words, not symbols.
Yes good point. How many games has he played? :thumbsu: You cretin.
If you honestly believe, that Adam Hunter is better value than Macpharlin now, or in the future, you are an absolute fool. :thumbsu:
Hunter is good, but he is simply not in the same class as Macpharlin. A dominant midfield hides defects well, when put under significant pressire from gun fowards, Hunter goes to **** :thumbsu:
See Brown :thumbsu:
Coastering
10 Aug 2006, 12:35
What's with all the name calling Pav? I hope you feel safe hiding behind your computer because it comes across as very gutless.
I don't disagree that Brown is an awesome player but we're not talking about Brisbane here. (When was the last time the Lions beat us anyway?)
Hunter regularly beats some of the best CHF's in the game.
See Pavlich.
There is no use arguing with this idiot. Wait until he hits puberty and discovers porn - we won't see him around here for awhile, until then, just ignore him.
Coastering
10 Aug 2006, 13:47
Good point. Bigfooty or porn - either way he's going to be jerking off over his keyboard.
Pav for AA
10 Aug 2006, 15:50
Good point. Bigfooty or porn - either way he's going to be jerking off over his keyboard.
Who was it that you were saying was gutless? :thumbsu:
For what its worth, I would cave your face in :thumbsu:
Beacon of truth has spoken :thumbsu:
Kenny_01
10 Aug 2006, 16:03
lol, a fit Longmuir is comfortably better than Lynch, and McPharlin is better than Hunter.
Who was it that you were saying was gutless? :thumbsu:
For what its worth, I would cave your face in :thumbsu:
Beacon of truth has spoken :thumbsu:
Very mature response.
Spoken like a true 15 yr old.
lol, a fit Longmuir is comfortably better than Lynch, and McPharlin is better than Hunter.
Yes to Longmuir, no to Mcpharlin.
Hunter is much harder at the ball, skilled when in possession and cool under pressure.
Coastering
10 Aug 2006, 16:10
Yeah right Pav! Scary stuff.. whoooooo :rolleyes:
Your keyboard will stop working if you keep getting that sticky stuff all over it.
Your are a waste of time. Bye
Kenny_01
10 Aug 2006, 16:16
Yes to Longmuir, no to Mcpharlin.
Hunter is much harder at the ball, skilled when in possession and cool under pressure.
Mate, how long has Hunter been good for? Hunter is much improved and doesn't do things like he did against Essendon at the dome in 2004 when everyone was calling him a dud. Good in defence and good up forward when pinch hitting, but he is not in the class of McPharlin.
In 2004 when McPharlin played for CHB, he was the best CHB in the competition, until getting injured. He is our 3rd best player imo behind Pav and Josh Carr.
And I'm not against the Eagles purely because I support Freo, I think they have a lot of under-rated players, but I think McPharlin is comfortably better than Hunter.
Mate, how long has Hunter been good for? Hunter is much improved and doesn't do things like he did against Essendon at the dome in 2004 when everyone was calling him a dud. Good in defence and good up forward when pinch hitting, but he is not in the class of McPharlin.
In 2004 when McPharlin played for CHB, he was the best CHB in the competition, until getting injured. He is our 3rd best player imo behind Pav and Josh Carr.
And I'm not against the Eagles purely because I support Freo, I think they have a lot of under-rated players, but I think McPharlin is comfortably better than Hunter.
Hunter has been good when it counts.
Mcpharlin is nowhere near Hunter. Hunter is miles in front and Mcpharlin is treading water.
Far too inconsistent in my book.
Something that Mcpharlin does have is a awesome leap.
But that doesnt make him better than Hunter.
Kenny_01
10 Aug 2006, 17:11
Hunter has been good when it counts.
Mcpharlin is nowhere near Hunter. Hunter is miles in front and Mcpharlin is treading water.
Far too inconsistent in my book.
Something that Mcpharlin does have is a awesome leap.
But that doesnt make him better than Hunter.
To be fair, McPharlin has mostly forward in the last 12-18 months so people forget how good he is in defence. Keep an eye on him over the next 4-5 weeks. Absolute gun. He is consistant as anyone in the backline.
Coastering
10 Aug 2006, 17:19
McPharlin is a very good player and may yet prove to be as good or better than Hunter. At this stage I think Hunter has been a better player. McPharlin has suffered from injuries which doesn't help.
Gunnar Longshanks
20 Aug 2006, 19:41
People are going to have to re-evaluate Lynch.
It's great fun to have a dud who you can poke fun at.
But Lynch isn't a dud.
People can either acknowledge that, or they can wait to get even more egg on their faces.
But Lynch isn't a dud.
People can either acknowledge that, or they can wait to get even more egg on their faces.
Cue gdmclean.
MrAaron
20 Aug 2006, 19:48
But Lynch isn't a dud.
all depends if they win the flag or not this season. If not then they are 1 big man short up in the forward line.
Reveler
20 Aug 2006, 20:15
his moved from "dud" to "average" in my books. played well today,.
MrAaron
20 Aug 2006, 20:16
Eagles to beat Fremantle next week with FREO having up to 3 players out with hamstrings ...
Polo_14
20 Aug 2006, 21:09
He has softened the dukes it seems
Kenny_01
20 Aug 2006, 21:19
Pav to run unfit Hunter into the ground :thumbsu:
McPharlin to give big Lynch no more than 1 goal also :)
hot carl
20 Aug 2006, 21:32
Pav to run unfit Hunter into the ground :thumbsu:
McPharlin to give big Lynch no more than 1 goal also :)
Pav will proberly get Graham. Lynch vs McPharlin should be a good battle.
Pav for AA
28 Aug 2006, 00:12
Oh, I suppose I could pay Glass is very good, but the rest, like I have proclaimed, all very very average against quality opponents. :thumbsu:
Pfffft.
Average?
See how you perform vs WCE in the finals.
That was a final for YOU, not us.
Freo beat WCE fair and square but we dont need DH's like you telling us we are average.
Get a grip.
Arcadion
2 Oct 2006, 00:52
Glass
Lynch
Hansen
Hunter
:o :thumbsu: oh these threads are gold.
SouthSwans
2 Oct 2006, 01:02
Glass
Hunter
Hansen
Lynch
would now be one of the best spines out there
Juddyzthebest
2 Oct 2006, 01:04
and you still have the worst brain or lack there of.
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh idiots like u make yesterday so much sweeter.