View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)
Manbearpig
27 Jun 2007, 13:36
How many of these are likely to back for finals??
Pretty much all, but a few will be underdone. Have to make finals and jostle for a decent position to do any good first.
1Mitch1
27 Jun 2007, 14:09
Let me think, Pullen and Ridings in the 1s (I never said they were all injuries), Thorsen broken collar bone, Lowden stress fractures, Parker medial, Stanbrook shoulder, Paul Kelly wrist, Hannan glandular fever, Ross quad tear, Boyle indefinite and Edwards broken ankle.
and out of that lot is you could probably say their 6 best midifielders/wings(pullen, ridings, throson, kelly, hannan and stranbrook), edwards their captain can play anwhere, plus their 3 ruckman (Ross, Parker, Lowden), and their centre half back (Boyle). they are serverly underdone at the moment, and will need a lot of these players back come finals time if they can make it.
FOOTYBOSS
27 Jun 2007, 15:34
Good to see the Euroa Boys getting up for there first win, not a bad score line that i see, any reports on the game fella's? Whats news with united?? they still looking strong what was the problem with Echuca besides your injury problem?
Was a very good win for the young boys at our club and Im sure they would have celebrated very hard on Saturday night. Good to see them finally win a game and what a difference dropping the boys from the seniors back to this team makes.
hawks69
29 Jun 2007, 11:08
who is number 2 from benalla he looks like abit of a spud footballer and takes it out on his opponent when he cant get a kick.
Doggies#8
29 Jun 2007, 14:46
I think everyone who is concentrating on hoo is OUT of their team needs to give that old chestnut a rest. You can only go out there on the w.e with hoo u HAVE got and try to get the best out of them. Everyone knows anyway that with a full side in, Benalla would be unbeatable.
Manbearpig
29 Jun 2007, 14:59
I think everyone who is concentrating on hoo is OUT of their team needs to give that old chestnut a rest. You can only go out there on the w.e with hoo u HAVE got and try to get the best out of them. Everyone knows anyway that with a full side in, Benalla would be unbeatable.
You just highlighted why people are interested in who is out. Cause with full strength sides, who knows who would be the best team.
SUPASTARR
29 Jun 2007, 15:54
Let me think, Pullen and Ridings in the 1s (I never said they were all injuries), Thorsen broken collar bone, Lowden stress fractures, Parker medial, Stanbrook shoulder, Paul Kelly wrist, Hannan glandular fever, Ross quad tear, Boyle indefinite and Edwards broken ankle.
Can't wait to see what the supercoach Metcalf can conjure up with his list for the remainder of the season. Will test his depth and ability to get the best out of his players.:)
Manbearpig
29 Jun 2007, 15:59
Can't wait to see what the supercoach Metcalf can conjure up with his list for the remainder of the season. Will test his depth and ability to get the best out of his players.:)
Maybe he can slip himself on the park. Doesn't look overrage. Cept for those cannons.
BIGirish
1 Jul 2007, 03:50
Seymour had an upset win against Kyabram, they ended up winnin by 4 or 5 goals, goes to show that the young Lions are Real Final Contenters this year.....GO LIONS.....:thumbsu:
battle for positions 3rd 4th 5th 6th are pretty close
Demons4ever
2 Jul 2007, 22:08
Seymour had an upset win against Kyabram, they ended up winnin by 4 or 5 goals, goes to show that the young Lions are Real Final Contenters this year.....GO LIONS.....:thumbsu:
Not really an upset, Seymour are a very good team and have some excellect players who are very hard to match up on. I actually felt that they should have beaten Kyabram. Don't be suprised if Seymour finish in top 3 at the end of the year.
like, pendlebury
3 Jul 2007, 15:52
I reckon shepp bears are top class but need some luck with induries. thorso is a massive set back
BIGirish
4 Jul 2007, 01:21
I reckon shepp bears are top class but need some luck with induries. thorso is a massive set back
Saying that how do u think they will shape up against Seymour who are just about at full strength, and who only have two injuries
Rhys Macreadie - broken Wrist(6-8 weeks)
Marcus Ure - Stress Fractures in right foot(3-5 weeks)
It will end up being a nail biter i recon, anyone elses thoughts???
Maybe he can slip himself on the park. Doesn't look overrage. Cept for those cannons.
Cannons? Metta's wish's hahaha there like water pistols
BIGirish
6 Jul 2007, 01:17
My tips for the round
Echuca Vs Manfeild
BIGirish
6 Jul 2007, 01:26
My Tips for the round
Echuca Vs Mansfield-Echuca just too strong-10 goals
Eurora Vs Shepp Utd-united will run eurora off their legs-7goals
Benella Vs Rochester- Benella too strong at home5-goals
Kyabram Vs Moroopna- Match of the round will be a nail biter-less than 1 goal
Shepparton Vs Seymour-Shepp injuries list is just to big,
and Lions Have their strongest side of
the year-3-4 goals
Shepp Swans Vs Tatura-Tat are playin awesome footy at the moment,
just running teams off the legs, easy win for
them this weekend-10 goals
Anyone elses Tips or thoughts.......
Alley cat
6 Jul 2007, 22:44
I'm hearing and seeing a bit about a young bloke at Seymour playing thirds by the name of Jake Lorraine, who obviously has a lot of ability and plays good footy. How old is he? I've heard he might only be 14 or just turned 15, can someone fill me in please.
~afterhours~
7 Jul 2007, 00:36
I'm hearing and seeing a bit about a young bloke at Seymour playing thirds by the name of Jake Lorraine, who obviously has a lot of ability and plays good footy. How old is he? I've heard he might only be 14 or just turned 15, can someone fill me in please.
He is 15 turned it in early december.he can still play under 15s. Hasnt had the best couple of weeks but is going okaizz..
Doggies#8
7 Jul 2007, 19:09
Scores for this weekend anyone??
Benalla pumped rochester by about 80 points, farran priest, jack gallagher, brendan derbshire, james dalton and alistair jacka all had good performances... Cade Ringin for rochy was their go-to man and was probly their best on...
Doggies#8
7 Jul 2007, 19:13
Saying that how do u think they will shape up against Seymour who are just about at full strength, and who only have two injuries
Rhys Macreadie - broken Wrist(6-8 weeks)
Marcus Ure - Stress Fractures in right foot(3-5 weeks)
It will end up being a nail biter i recon, anyone elses thoughts???
seymore are only just going... and by the way, when benalla played seymour there was a punch on and benalla bashed some of the seymour boys.. they didnt want the ball after that.. they dont like it physical....
Alley cat
7 Jul 2007, 19:37
seymore are only just going... and by the way, when benalla played seymour there was a punch on and benalla bashed some of the seymour boys.. they didnt want the ball after that.. they dont like it physical....
Seymour still won the game of FOOTBALL by about 4-5 goals, isn't that the reason we all play??
BIGirish
7 Jul 2007, 19:47
If we didnt want the ball, why did we win the game by 5 goals u idiot, you need to pull your head in mate, actually start watchin the footy!! and we musnt be goin to well if we beat the shepp bears today??
On a good note, the Seymour boyz fought hard all day to beat the shepp bears, Jake Loraine, Brent Voogt, Joel Lawler, Adam Loraine, Dallas Bergowicz and Andrew Green all put in the effort.....Goes to show we are premier contenders this year boyz!!
~afterhours~
7 Jul 2007, 23:36
mate jst ask some of the shepp boys how phyical the game was today....and there was 1 lucky punch that hit le cerf..and numba 4 from benalla seems to crack it wen he get decked by a youngster..and hooz been winning the physical games i think wen it starts to get physical our boys step up on to a whole new level..
bazlurhmann
8 Jul 2007, 05:03
i think you guys need to have a good hard look at yourselves. being tough in a game footy isnt who belted who up, its which teams players are willing to put their head over the ball and win it when it needs to be won for the team. punch ups dont win you games, they just make the players concerened look like tossers. i dont care who they are. players like judd, crawford, goodes and so on didnt become the superstars they are by fighting, they worked hard getting the footy when it was a 50/50 ball. thats what makes you a tough footballer.
start having a go at the footy and not the fighting and you guys might see somethings in your game change. and it will be for the better. trust me.
bazlurhmann
8 Jul 2007, 05:06
he would be playing seniors for seymour if he was a year or two older. should make the transision easily as he has played plenty of reserves footy this season and has acquited himself well.
may even get a look in with the bushies for the 2008 season.
waddo #6
8 Jul 2007, 18:28
If we didnt want the ball, why did we win the game by 5 goals u idiot, you need to pull your head in mate, actually start watchin the footy!! and we musnt be goin to well if we beat the shepp bears today??
On a good note, the Seymour boyz fought hard all day to beat the shepp bears, Jake Loraine, Brent Voogt, Joel Lawler, Adam Loraine, Dallas Bergowicz and Andrew Green all put in the effort.....Goes to show we are premier contenders this year boyz!!
the lion cubs are flying at the moment.. with myself, mcreadie and young ure all out which are usual starters, we could be a look in.. playing some good footy at the moment.. and wish i wasnt here in adelaide but back home along side ya fellas.. cya's in a couple of weeks and all the best this week against tat i think? waddo #6
Lil Ure #13
8 Jul 2007, 23:48
hey fellas.. been readin this thread for a while and thought its time i had a say.. just passed half way in the season any1 wanna give me their thoughts on league b&f?? any big suprises?
Jimmy Cullum from united would have gone very close.. but now playing senior footy
skippy__67
9 Jul 2007, 22:31
mate jst ask some of the shepp boys how phyical the game was today....and there was 1 lucky punch that hit le cerf..and numba 4 from benalla seems to crack it wen he get decked by a youngster..and hooz been winning the physical games i think wen it starts to get physical our boys step up on to a whole new level..
#4 is frampton, he dos get a bit angry, but he is givin a bad name to number by his performances, he is gettin better but has to stop havin a sook wen he gets bumped, but he likes the push and shuff stuff and that wats gets him goin.
After the seymour benalla biff benalla were fired up and seymour softened up a fair bit for a while after it, it can change games sometimes.
now that everyone has played each other, wat r everyones predictions for the top 6 at the end of the season?
Demons4ever
10 Jul 2007, 21:46
now that everyone has played each other, wat r everyones predictions for the top 6 at the end of the season?
Pretty confident that Echuca, United, Tatura and Seymour will be top four, not sure of the final order. Other 2 spots to be a battle between Kyabram, Mansfield, Mooroopna and Bears. Don't think Benella can make it unless they win all remaining games and three sides above them lose heaps of games. It will be close as the ladder shows. Sides that can maintain consistency will no doubt play off in finals. Bears could be in trouble, injuries and a form slump could see them drop further behind. They have a tough game against Mooroopna this week and could be facing their third loss in a row. Be interesting to see if coach Metcalf can turn it around. Mooroopna playing well at the moment and they would have to be favorites at this stage. My grand final call would be United vs Tatura.
Lil Ure #13
10 Jul 2007, 21:56
my predictions are..
Echuca
Tatura
Seymour
United
Bears
Moroopna
Demons4ever
10 Jul 2007, 21:58
#4 is frampton, he dos get a bit angry, but he is givin a bad name to number by his performances, he is gettin better but has to stop havin a sook wen he gets bumped, but he likes the push and shuff stuff and that wats gets him goin.
After the seymour benalla biff benalla were fired up and seymour softened up a fair bit for a while after it, it can change games sometimes.
Hope Benella play some off their guns this weekend to really see how good the young demons are. The demons are improving every week and with Normington (bushies), Daniels(bushies), Cullum(seniors),Campbell
(seniors) and Rendina(seniors) all to come back in at the end of the season, the dees could really have a crack. The depth at the club is great this year. Great, smart recruiting this year, small list of 26 and a bit of luck with injuries sees the dees well positioned. I hear that the dees thirds management have a taken a different approach to recruitment. They looked at future potential of players and not just who might have been a top under 16 player. Top under 16s do not always turn out to be top under 18 players. Some of these players have come on really well. For example, the dees chase Holdsy and Ryan who chose to play at Bears. The Bears cut them, they contacted the dees who still had not finalised their list and both have been top contributors with the dees. Great pickups for the dees, sometimes you need a bit of luck.
Lil Ure #13
10 Jul 2007, 22:07
should check out the seymour and tat. will be a good game.. predictions??
Demons4ever
10 Jul 2007, 22:09
my predictions are..
Echuca
Tatura
Seymour
United
Bears
Moroopna
Interesting to note that at this stage Seymour is yet to beat a side above it on the ladder. They lost to Echuca, United and I think Tatura. They will need to beat these sides in the second round to be a real contender. I think they rely big time on Green to run the midfield (top player). They have a number of players who can be dangerous but are in and out of the game too often.
My final six will be
Echuca
United
Tatura
Seymour
Kyabram
Mooroopna
Tipping the Bears to miss finals for the first time in years. Anyone know the last time Metcalfs mob missed finals?
Demons4ever
10 Jul 2007, 22:33
should check out the seymour and tat. will be a good game.. predictions??
Match of the round and Tat to win by 15pts at home if they have a full side in. They will need Ryan, Kliendiest, Hicks and MacGibbon to be available to do this. Without them Seymour by 4 goals. Not much seperating these 2 sides with only about 10% difference on the ladder.
Other big game is Bears vs Cats, with the cats to win. I think I will go and watch a local game at Tat this week instead of going to Benella, Dees should win there.
Lil Ure #13
14 Jul 2007, 21:56
good win today by the tat boys in a hard fought game from both teams. they just had the extra run in the end of the match and mayb a few to many drinks the night b4 at the deb left the lions boys a bit lazy.. :thumbsd:
Bucket #18
16 Jul 2007, 15:32
good win today by the tat boys in a hard fought game from both teams. they just had the extra run in the end of the match and mayb a few to many drinks the night b4 at the deb left the lions boys a bit lazy.. :thumbsd:
Yeah tat fought hard all day, especially in the last 5 minutes when they needed it, bit dissapointed with a few seymour boyz who failed to notify the coach they wernt gona turn up, its stuff like that, that can stop us playin finals footy this yr, even if the deb was the night before its still no-excuse not to turn up, you should just look after yourself and only have a couple, and not stay out till 5 in the mournin, its dissapointing boys, it lets the whole side down!!:thumbsd:
Demons4ever
16 Jul 2007, 16:26
Yeah tat fought hard all day, especially in the last 5 minutes when they needed it, bit dissapointed with a few seymour boyz who failed to notify the coach they wernt gona turn up, its stuff like that, that can stop us playin finals footy this yr, even if the deb was the night before its still no-excuse not to turn up, you should just look after yourself and only have a couple, and not stay out till 5 in the mournin, its dissapointing boys, it lets the whole side down!!:thumbsd:
That's unreal if it's true. Possibly their biggest game of the year with a chance of staying in the hunt for a double chance. Are they fair dinkum or what! Interesting to see how their coach deals with that, postings early this year stated that he was committed to discipline. I will be looking at the selections this week to see if there are any changes. Did the lions play short or did they have other players at the ground who could fill in? all the same makes their effort on the day look a bit better considering Tat were at full strenght, only missing Buffer in the bushies.
Alley cat
16 Jul 2007, 20:25
That's unreal if it's true. Possibly their biggest game of the year with a chance of staying in the hunt for a double chance. Are they fair dinkum or what! Interesting to see how their coach deals with that, postings early this year stated that he was committed to discipline. I will be looking at the selections this week to see if there are any changes. Did the lions play short or did they have other players at the ground who could fill in? all the same makes their effort on the day look a bit better considering Tat were at full strenght, only missing Buffer in the bushies.
Very poor from a couple of the Seymour players who didn't turn up. They let their teamates and club down. The game was still in the balance up untill the last few minutes. Tat kicked the last 4 goals of the game having a bit more poise and started to win the ball in the middle when it counted. Tat looked to be a taller and stronger side, so credit to the Seymour boys who had a real dip with some strong tackling.
kurt_11
17 Jul 2007, 14:21
Just wondering if anybody had any tips for thirds BnF this year. I no i had a fair bit of trouble thinking of who would be up there at the moment. Be sure to consider there is 6/7 weeks to go
Demons4ever
17 Jul 2007, 15:01
Just wondering if anybody had any tips for thirds BnF this year. I no i had a fair bit of trouble thinking of who would be up there at the moment. Be sure to consider there is 6/7 weeks to go
I think there will be a few in the mix. Walsh (Mansfield), Green (Seymour), Robertson (Euroa), Oliver (Rochy), Edwards (Kyabram) should all feature in the finish. I follow United, from our 3rds I think the standouts will be Kline, Cullum, Hanning and Warren. I like Kline to poll the best for the Dees. But you never know in thirds as a lot of clubs have club umpires who do the games so it is possible that the winner may not neccessarily be the best player in the comp.
S Wrench
17 Jul 2007, 17:09
I think there will be a few in the mix. Walsh (Mansfield), Green (Seymour), Robertson (Euroa), Oliver (Rochy), Edwards (Kyabram) should all feature in the finish. I follow United, from our 3rds I think the standouts will be Kline, Cullum, Hanning and Warren. I like Kline to poll the best for the Dees. But you never know in thirds as a lot of clubs have club umpires who do the games so it is possible that the winner may not neccessarily be the best player in the comp.
who is edwards from kyabram? we played ky on the weekend and i dont reckon ive heard of him, what number?
pez should go alright but we havent won any games so itd be pretty hard for him to go real well.
who is edwards from kyabram? we played ky on the weekend and i dont reckon ive heard of him, what number?
pez should go alright but we havent won any games so itd be pretty hard for him to go real well.
Edwards is number 16 played on the half forward flank wing and that should do pritty well has played some handy games, others who should do well are Ty Guiney and Nathan Beck ( played in the ruck against you lot was best on ground in my opinion)
Doggies#8
20 Jul 2007, 18:09
just a quick Q, is mark giansiracusa from tat any relation to daniel from the bulldogs?
gvfruitbowl
20 Jul 2007, 19:44
my prediction is a tatura echuca granny. i think tat will come away with the goods. they are to strong on just about every line and have a superb midfield now that the senior players have been brought back to qualify,i don't think many teams will be able to match them. kliendest rucking to keast, magibbon and mcwhinney. keast and kliendest have played every game in the seniors this yr and magibbon has played a few. wots everyones thoughts on this....
Footy08
20 Jul 2007, 21:16
my prediction is a tatura echuca granny. i think tat will come away with the goods. they are to strong on just about every line and have a superb midfield now that the senior players have been brought back to qualify,i don't think many teams will be able to match them. kliendest rucking to keast, magibbon and mcwhinney. keast and kliendest have played every game in the seniors this yr and magibbon has played a few. wots everyones thoughts on this....
united with a full strength team would beat tat... 8 of the 3rds players have played seniors this year already and have played well... all goin up into a top of the ladder team... whereas tats seniors r bottom so wouldnt be hard to get a game if u were a good 3rds player...
gvfruitbowl
20 Jul 2007, 21:43
who are the eight players? how many are qualified for finals?...they are only top of the table because of the swans losing points over the looby case...
Demons4ever
20 Jul 2007, 22:57
who are the eight players? how many are qualified for finals?...they are only top of the table because of the swans losing points over the looby case...
Rendina, T. Campbell, S. Campbell, Cullum, Daniels, Normington, Bingham, and I think Friedlieb might play his first game this week. Agree with Footy08, the dees were beaten early in the year by doggies. Actually saw this game, Dees played crap and had 4 players in Seniors or Bushies while tat had almost there full squad play that day and only just won in the last 6 or 7 minutes of the game. Tat are a strong side but I think the dees have a greater spread of players across all lines. I think it would be a United v Echuca final but it wouldn't suprise me if Tatura and Seymour made their presence felt. And don't forget Mooroopna and Mansfield who both have players to come back in at finals time. Could be the closest finals series for a while.
Texas Ranger
22 Jul 2007, 20:29
Can anyone tell me how young cam hall went for united on the weekend,, playin on permit from dookie....
Footy08
22 Jul 2007, 21:11
and united r 2 games clear from the swans so even without the looby case they would still be a game clear. only difference is that swans would maybe be 2nd not 3rd.. still leaving united the top team :thumbsu:
Footy08
22 Jul 2007, 21:14
Can anyone tell me how young cam hall went for united on the weekend,, playin on permit from dookie....
I thought Cam went really good.. Still young and playing in his 1st game, took some good strong pack marks and could've kicked 2-3 goals... With a bit of work and more games will be a good player in the u18s i think
Demons4ever
23 Jul 2007, 18:04
I thought Cam went really good.. Still young and playing in his 1st game, took some good strong pack marks and could've kicked 2-3 goals... With a bit of work and more games will be a good player in the u18s i think
Saw 3 qrts and he looked like he could be ok. Must be hard, 1st game against a hard opposition, not really knowing the game plan and not really knowing his team mates. Hope he plays with the dees next year cause he could develop into a big power forward. Agree with Footy08, really good mark and should have had a couple of goals.
Texas Ranger
23 Jul 2007, 21:33
Saw 3 qrts and he looked like he could be ok. Must be hard, 1st game against a hard opposition, not really knowing the game plan and not really knowing his team mates. Hope he plays with the dees next year cause he could develop into a big power forward. Agree with Footy08, really good mark and should have had a couple of goals.
What didnt he kick straight on the day or something?????? yer he is a real good over head mark
Demons4ever
23 Jul 2007, 21:42
What didnt he kick straight on the day or something?????? yer he is a real good over head mark
Nah, he kicked straight, just muffed the kicks a bit. Maybe the he was trying 2 hard. He was looking better the more the game went on. Be good to see him if he had 3 games in a row. I heard he is only 15 which means if he comes to united next year he will have 3 years of thirds.
whitewater
23 Jul 2007, 22:25
Nah, he kicked straight, just muffed the kicks a bit. Maybe the he was trying 2 hard. He was looking better the more the game went on. Be good to see him if he had 3 games in a row. I heard he is only 15 which means if he comes to united next year he will have 3 years of thirds.
yer he should be good, as Demons4ever said hes young so he can devalop and become a key forward some day:thumbsu:
Lil Ure #13
26 Jul 2007, 22:03
hey fellas, any predictions for this weekends games..
mooroopna vs seymour should be a good game.. last time these 2 played it was close till the last quarter when the lions got up..
any thoughts on any other matches?
Alley cat
26 Jul 2007, 22:27
hey fellas, any predictions for this weekends games..
mooroopna vs seymour should be a good game.. last time these 2 played it was close till the last quarter when the lions got up..
any thoughts on any other matches?
Yeah should be a good game if Seymour play the 4 quarters and don't slack off like they tend to do at times. Are the Assumption players available this week?
Footy08
26 Jul 2007, 22:35
United V Bears will be a great match... both teams missing players, tippin it to be very close.. any predictions?
its game on
26 Jul 2007, 23:38
for wat i know his not tryin out for vic.. and his not doin very well at 18s level.. saw him play in shepp and hardly touched the ball and was breaking even in the ruck against a much smaller opponent.. yer his 200cm but someone at 180cm would only have to flick him out of the way to take a grab.. just my opinion at the moment.. dont get me wrong has huge "potential" and could go a long way
Yeah good call, Lowden made the Vic country team.:thumbsu:
kurt_11
27 Jul 2007, 00:40
Yeah good call, Lowden made the Vic country team.:thumbsu:
if you have a look at the vic country u16 team, hes one of only 3 players in that squad of 30, who is 193cm or over...him being 202cm and the other two right on 193cm. obviously he's a reasonable player, but he obviously doesnt have to be a superstar to make this years vic country squad as a ruckman, which is the only postition he is capable of playing. footy08 is right in saying that anyone with a bit of football smarts could outmark him because he is very weak, and has struggled at u18 level due to be being a one-trick-pony. poor coaching has possibly exposed him as well which is why the bears are no chance to make the six.
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 08:10
Fair go boys, the kid is only 16. Plus, everyone knows that big guys take along time to develop. I think he moves well and is great with the ball down at his feet. Will be a good player, but give him time.
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 10:40
if you have a look at the vic country u16 team, hes one of only 3 players in that squad of 30, who is 193cm or over...him being 202cm and the other two right on 193cm. obviously he's a reasonable player, but he obviously doesnt have to be a superstar to make this years vic country squad as a ruckman, which is the only postition he is capable of playing. footy08 is right in saying that anyone with a bit of football smarts could outmark him because he is very weak, and has struggled at u18 level due to be being a one-trick-pony. poor coaching has possibly exposed him as well which is why the bears are no chance to make the six.
Does an ordinary coach produce 2 guys who are now on AFL lists, 4 guys on VFL lists, 18 guys who have played Bushrangers and 25+ senior footballers in 5 seasons? Oh, and he's coached the last 2 GVFL U/18 flags if you didn't notice.
its game on
27 Jul 2007, 11:39
[quote=kurt_11;8231336]if you have a look at the vic country u16 team, hes one of only 3 players in that squad of 30, who is 193cm or over...him being 202cm and the other two right on 193cm. obviously he's a reasonable player, but he obviously doesnt have to be a superstar to make this years vic country squad as a ruckman, which is the only postition he is capable of playing. footy08 is right in saying that anyone with a bit of football smarts could outmark him because he is very weak, and has struggled at u18 level due to be being a one-trick-pony. poor coaching has possibly exposed him as well which is why the bears are no chance to make the six.[/quote
Lots of 195-200cm players were trialed and played in "cut" games in a process that started straight after the 16's carnival in April for the entire Victorian country region. The selectors made their decision ofter a lot consideration.
The coaching at the Bears has been top shelf for a long time and continues to be again this season.
Please let us know of your long list of footy achievements and try and get some credibility here.
Otherwise peddle your poison elsewhere.
its game on
27 Jul 2007, 11:42
Does an ordinary coach produce 2 guys who are now on AFL lists, 4 guys on VFL lists, 18 guys who have played Bushrangers and 25+ senior footballers in 5 seasons? Oh, and he's coached the last 2 GVFL U/18 flags if you didn't notice.
No an ordinary coach does not, sounds like kurt11 is as jealous as hell!!
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 11:44
Luke had stress fractures in his shins only a few months ago and the Dr's told him he wouldn't play again this season. He's got the all clear from sports physicians to play now and I recokn that's a pretty good effort to get back.
whitewater
27 Jul 2007, 12:36
Luke had stress fractures in his shins only a few months ago and the Dr's told him he wouldn't play again this season. He's got the all clear from sports physicians to play now and I recokn that's a pretty good effort to get back.
luke is a good ruckman but there alot of better ruckman out there that cover the ground alot better than he does... yes hes only young and could devalop but thats wat i think anyway.... very big game on sunday for all ages with the thirds, bears looking good but united are pretty good themselves by looking at the ladder...
kurt_11
27 Jul 2007, 14:02
so it was the coach that handed those boys the talent was it? hes just a superstar then..i spose he should be given credit for coaching a good list this season and getting them no where too!! how many gv senior premierships has that coach happen to have played in if his resume is so wonderful? or how many gv senior grand finals has he been dropped from i should ask?
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 14:07
so it was the coach that handed those boys the talent was it? hes just a superstar then..i spose he should be given credit for coaching a good list this season and getting them no where too!! how many gv senior premierships has that coach happen to have played in if his resume is so wonderful? or how many gv senior grand finals has he been dropped from i should ask?
Quality personal attack there.
How bout putting your name and record up in lights for everyone to critique? Instead of hiding behind your screen name firing pots shots. Weak as piss.
its game on
27 Jul 2007, 14:19
Quality personal attack there.
How bout putting your name and record up in lights for everyone to critique? Instead of hiding behind your screen name firing pots shots. Weak as piss.
Snipers don't do that MBP
jenjams
27 Jul 2007, 14:26
So Kurt, you reckon you could coach better? What credentials do you have that allow you to write such negativity?
You are entitled to your opinion but really why make the attack personal?
its game on
27 Jul 2007, 15:09
So Kurt, you reckon you could coach better? What credentials do you have that allow you to write such negativity?
You are entitled to your opinion but really why make the attack personal?
We are all waiting Kurt
1Mitch1
27 Jul 2007, 18:02
kurt 11 you have to be joking if you had half the talent luke does you would be a good player. you obviously dont know what your on about you t0sser. out of the 6 games lukes played this year in the gv he has got in the best 4 times you stupid stupid boy.
Tuffnut
27 Jul 2007, 18:49
kurt 11 you have to be joking if you had half the talent luke does you would be a good player. you obviously dont know what your on about you t0sser. out of the 6 games lukes played this year in the gv he has got in the best 4 times you stupid stupid boy.
u sure do hav a stiffy for lowden dont u
1Mitch1
27 Jul 2007, 19:02
Nah that kurt bloke is just a t0sser
Tuffnut
27 Jul 2007, 19:07
Nah that kurt bloke is just a t0sser
Yeh maybe,, but i reakon he has a fair point,, i dont reakon lowden would be were he is now if he wasnt so freakishly tall for his age,,, but he is so good on him n i wish him alll the luck in brissy
1Mitch1
27 Jul 2007, 19:18
he cant choose his height and for the height he is, he does a good job
Luke Lowden gives me hard ons:eek:
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 19:58
Like I said before, the boy's just 16. Just let him enjoy his footy.
kurt_11
27 Jul 2007, 20:23
Like I said before, the boy's just 16. Just let him enjoy his footy.
simple solution, don't talk him up when he's really not that good cos he's bound to cop criticism from anyone who's not involved with shepp bears.
Manbearpig
27 Jul 2007, 20:36
simple solution, don't talk him up when he's really not that good cos he's bound to cop criticism from anyone who's not involved with shepp bears.
I've never talked him up. Just want him to play footy and enjoy it.
I see you just get by by going around bagging people. Easy to do on here when no one knows who you are.
I'm not a Shepp man either.
1Mitch1
27 Jul 2007, 21:58
kurt 11 you are a wanker do you even know what your talking about. have you ever seen him play before so if you havent stop baggen him you t0sser
Lil Ure #13
27 Jul 2007, 22:34
Yeah should be a good game if Seymour play the 4 quarters and don't slack off like they tend to do at times. Are the Assumption players available this week?[/quote]
yeah good point seymour are gunna have to run hard all day to get over the line this time. nah the boys are missin the ACK boys due to their school commitments..
~afterhours~
29 Jul 2007, 21:41
I have played with and against luke and he is a good player in his own rite but jst give him sum time to get used to the pace of the gv....
TomaHACK
29 Jul 2007, 22:07
On behalf of BigFooty and the GVFL we are proud to announce that you are a di*khead and you shouldn't post on any thread anymore as what you say has zero credibility and no one could really give a flying f**k of what you think.
mate wat u just sed pretty much somes up wat everyone else thinks of this bloke too. Luke is a good player and yes he is only young. As mitch1 sed, hes only played 6 games this year and in every game has put in great efforts resulting in getting in the best. Kurt11 if u even did play football, or no anything about it, how did u fair up in the 3rds with kids 2-3 years older than you?
Can Mansfield make Finals with by far the hardest road home in the comp?
(Shepp bears, united, echcau and seymour) what you recon?
Mooroopna are will play finals with an easy run home ( euroa, shepp swans and rochy and one harder side)
My guess is that six spot will be between ky and shepp bears the bears with two easy games and ky with one easy game should be interesting.
What was the go with benalla on the weekend did they play their strongest side of the year or did they just come to play??
waddo #6
30 Jul 2007, 17:42
not trying to shove any rockets up the seymour lads, but they are playing some very tough and impressive footy.. i played midfield in the first 5 games before ive been out since with injury.. our number1 ruckman has been out.. marcus ure ( young gun ) has been injured.. hateley struggling of recent times with injury but getting over it.. and the assumption boys should be playing their final school game during the week, making them available for the rest of the year! we havent beaten a side above us yet thats true, but we've given tat a red hot crack under the weak as pi$$ circumstances shown by some boys, only lost to united by 4 points when players were on senior duties.. lost to echuca by 10 points and we missed many opportunities to win that game.. i say the young lions are going to give it a fair dinkum crack this year.. after many meetings with the club coach, haberman, we've sorted out and discussed what needs to be done and we know whats required.. not trying to talk the boys up, but wat a good chance to win seymours first ever 3rds flag..
Jason Cole and Andrew Green will be seymours chances to win league b n f
cheers.. waddo
BSaintsFC#4
30 Jul 2007, 17:56
Can Mansfield make Finals with by far the hardest road home in the comp?
(Shepp bears, united, echcau and seymour) what you recon?
Mooroopna are will play finals with an easy run home ( euroa, shepp swans and rochy and one harder side)
My guess is that six spot will be between ky and shepp bears the bears with two easy games and ky with one easy game should be interesting.
What was the go with benalla on the weekend did they play their strongest side of the year or did they just come to play??
no where near the strongest team, dalton didnt play, just played really well and echuca just couldnt kick, and the umpire shouldnt b allowed to umpire he was hopeless.
Demons4ever
30 Jul 2007, 21:34
not trying to shove any rockets up the seymour lads, but they are playing some very tough and impressive footy.. i played midfield in the first 5 games before ive been out since with injury.. our number1 ruckman has been out.. marcus ure ( young gun ) has been injured.. hateley struggling of recent times with injury but getting over it.. and the assumption boys should be playing their final school game during the week, making them available for the rest of the year! we havent beaten a side above us yet thats true, but we've given tat a red hot crack under the weak as pi$$ circumstances shown by some boys, only lost to united by 4 points when players were on senior duties.. lost to echuca by 10 points and we missed many opportunities to win that game.. i say the young lions are going to give it a fair dinkum crack this year.. after many meetings with the club coach, haberman, we've sorted out and discussed what needs to be done and we know whats required.. not trying to talk the boys up, but wat a good chance to win seymours first ever 3rds flag..
Jason Cole and Andrew Green will be seymours chances to win league b n f
cheers.. waddo
Hey waddo, no rockets required, no doubt that Seymour really rate with Tatura, United and Echuca. They really are the standouts. I think you will find that when they played United, Hately actually was dropped from the seniors and I don't think they had any others in the seniors as I watched the senior game that day. Other then the ACK players they were at almost full strenght in the thirds. United had three key players in the seniors and one in the bushies on the day. It would be an interesting game if both sides were at full strengh. I noticed that United had 5 thirds kids in the seniors against Bears and one in bushies. If they stay up Seymour at Seymour might be the opportunity for the Lions to beat a top 3 side. What do people think? I think Seymour are potentially a real threat and a lot will depend on which final they play in and who they face.
Footy08
30 Jul 2007, 23:03
Should be a ripper of a game this weekend with United vs Tat.. Whoever win will be on top of the ladder. Tipping tat will have there strongest team possible in.. dont think that will matter to much. If united go in with the team they had last week (6 out) they still have great depth in all lines and which ever team plays consistant 4 quarters will get up i think.. Should be a very close game all day id say. but it is footy and u never know wat could happen if a team doesnt come to play
kurt_11
31 Jul 2007, 14:17
mate wat u just sed pretty much somes up wat everyone else thinks of this bloke too. Luke is a good player and yes he is only young. As mitch1 sed, hes only played 6 games this year and in every game has put in great efforts resulting in getting in the best. Kurt11 if u even did play football, or no anything about it, how did u fair up in the 3rds with kids 2-3 years older than you?
top 10 in league b n f and also played 5 senior games the year i turned 16. how old is luke did you say?
TomaHACK
31 Jul 2007, 17:19
top 10 in league b n f and also played 5 senior games the year i turned 16. how old is luke did you say?
Geez you're arrogant mate but you can't prove shit without telling us who you are so i still don't believe you
Manbearpig
1 Aug 2007, 08:45
That's the most positive thing you've said about anyone on here ever. Pity it was only about yourself.
Super Mario Man
1 Aug 2007, 15:08
Kyabram are probly the worst team in the GVFL U18. They are so overated, all their players think their top sh*t. What you blokes think?
Demons4ever
1 Aug 2007, 19:32
Should be a ripper of a game this weekend with United vs Tat.. Whoever win will be on top of the ladder. Tipping tat will have there strongest team possible in.. dont think that will matter to much. If united go in with the team they had last week (6 out) they still have great depth in all lines and which ever team plays consistant 4 quarters will get up i think.. Should be a very close game all day id say. but it is footy and u never know wat could happen if a team doesnt come to play
I hate saying this but I think the dees will go down. Tat at full strenght because they will probably drop back all their thirds from the seniors as they will get pump and the thirds have a chance to get top spot if they win. United will still have 5or 6 in the seniors and there are a few unavailable and injured. They might be lucky to field 22 this week! Amazing for a side that is sitting top. The dees have shown a lot of fight this year so they may cause an upset. On paper the doggies go in favorites.
whitewater
1 Aug 2007, 20:51
I hate saying this but I think the dees will go down. Tat at full strenght because they will probably drop back all their thirds from the seniors as they will get pump and the thirds have a chance to get top spot if they win. United will still have 5or 6 in the seniors and there are a few unavailable and injured. They might be lucky to field 22 this week! Amazing for a side that is sitting top. The dees have shown a lot of fight this year so they may cause an upset. On paper the doggies go in favorites.
yer well tat do have a strong side with a few big key players back, but yer as u said Demons4ever United fight back every week for some reason its like they are fitter than most teams... but a close game again in the under 18s comp
Lil Ure #13
2 Aug 2007, 18:37
yeah i agree Demons4ever. im tippin tat in a very close game.
with any of the top 4 teams a chance who's the favourites for the premiership and why?
you sound like an idiot mate..uv got no idea..Iv played with and against luke lowden and i see great potential in him. coz hes so tall and young he will definently go places.for someone so tall, he can run 100 in 11 seconds. and get around 11, 12 on beep tests ruckman develop later on to champ. oh and im not from shepp bears either