View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)
footy_rulz
3 Aug 2007, 13:56
Hey boys, I live up Echuca way and I was wondering if you guys think Echuca will win the flag this year.
Texas Ranger
3 Aug 2007, 22:52
simple solution, don't talk him up when he's really not that good cos he's bound to cop criticism from anyone who's not involved with shepp bears.
yeh bloody oath i dont see u playin vic country buddy..
whitewater
4 Aug 2007, 09:05
Hey boys, I live up Echuca way and I was wondering if you guys think Echuca will win the flag this year.
mate echuca have a good side but injuries are killing them, but yer ithink with a team they had the first few weeks it could be possible but seeing how close it is up there anyone could win....
Kyabram are probly the worst team in the GVFL U18. They are so overated, all their players think their top sh*t. What you blokes think?
what do you mean by worst team as in the most poorly skilled and team that gets pumped every week?? or what??
juddy wce
4 Aug 2007, 16:55
what do you mean by worst team as in the most poorly skilled and team that gets pumped every week?? or what??
I'd say Super MArio Man is just baggin ky cause he doesnt like them. I have seen them play and there not that bad.
gvfruitbowl
4 Aug 2007, 19:18
Tat knocking off United by 46points and taking second position, united to third and echuca beating ky by 39points and again taking first position on the ladder. it looks to be an exciting finals series ahead. i'm still tipping tat for the flag tho. wots everyones thoughts on the games so far this round and the upcoming finals series?
from readin the paper it looked like tat pretty much had thier best side in possible having no players in the ones or on bushies duties, but united were missin around 7-8 of their players so i dont reckon u read too much into that game, good to see shepp on the winnners list again, had to drop back pullen and dunne from seniors, good choice i reckon since the ones are out of finals. shepp couild still be a force in finals if they make it,
Simon fraser didnt play but other than that i think tat were at full strength...
gvfruitbowl
5 Aug 2007, 14:31
Simon Fraser and Jayce Oneil were both out for tat i think, with the united boys that are out, the ones playing seniors i think will play seniors during the finals series so i don't think you can count them as being out if they wont play in the finals. but i might be wrong they may be dropped back to the thirds for it, but i don't think it likely, the seniors will want to go into the finals with the best side they can, and those players have been regulars in the seniors side this year. does everyone agree or disagree?
whitewater
5 Aug 2007, 19:30
Simon Fraser and Jayce Oneil were both out for tat i think, with the united boys that are out, the ones playing seniors i think will play seniors during the finals series so i don't think you can count them as being out if they wont play in the finals. but i might be wrong they may be dropped back to the thirds for it, but i don't think it likely, the seniors will want to go into the finals with the best side they can, and those players have been regulars in the seniors side this year. does everyone agree or disagree?
yer well i have been talkin to a few united boys and i think they are very dissapointed with the loss to tat, they do have 4 in ones 1 in bushies and 1 out on injury. it doesnt look like they will get them back for thirds because there playing to well up in the ones, but best to luck to everyone in the finals... well done shepp good win, who played the best for them?
it really all depends on wat happends in the finals with both teams.. if the seniors and thirds play on different days then the 3rds guys can play both games on sat and sun.. also depends on how far both sides go in finals. im pretty sure united has beaten every team apart from tat without the senior guys in.. so if they can keep that up into finals and get in the granny with tat, the only way they wouldnt have everyone playin would be if the united seniors are also in the granny.. so really know one knows wats going to happen come finals time!
Manbearpig
5 Aug 2007, 19:55
it really all depends on wat happends in the finals with both teams.. if the seniors and thirds play on different days then the 3rds guys can play both games on sat and sun.. also depends on how far both sides go in finals. im pretty sure united has beaten every team apart from tat without the senior guys in.. so if they can keep that up into finals and get in the granny with tat, the only way they wouldnt have everyone playin would be if the united seniors are also in the granny.. so really know one knows wats going to happen come finals time!
Wouldn't reckon a senior coach would let one of his players play a full game the day before a final.
i was more talking about if the thirds was on the sunday.. The mansfield boys did it last year
yeah good call knob
Manbearpig
6 Aug 2007, 08:41
yeah good call knob
Thanks for gracing us with your smarts.
This from the bloke who bagged me for being biased toward Shepp cause I stuck up for his criticism of Luke Lowden and Shepp's coach (who is a former Rochy bloke as I am)... never lived, played with or followed any of the Shepp clubs in my life.
its game on
6 Aug 2007, 09:42
yeah good call knob
Q. When does 11 = 0
A. When the 11 is preceeded by the letters k u r t
There is a new superstar out at Euroa. Scott Westaway, hes in the center and hes built like a brick shit house. and can run like asafa powell (super fast runner) benella better be on their toes this week. hes very good.
Footy08
10 Aug 2007, 12:15
There is a new superstar out at Euroa. Scott Westaway, hes in the center and hes built like a brick shit house. and can run like asafa powell (super fast runner) benella better be on their toes this week. hes very good.
haha yer good post... :rolleyes: dont think scott wouldve ran anyone off thier toes this year or last... good bloke tho
~afterhours~
10 Aug 2007, 22:24
haha yu make me laugh...
higgins69
11 Aug 2007, 19:08
top 10 in league b n f and also played 5 senior games the year i turned 16. how old is luke did you say?
Bullsh*t mate. You cant prove you were in top 10 dickh*ad. If you knew footy, u wood know that bigger blokes take longer to develop he is 204cm. wat club did u play for?
Alley cat
12 Aug 2007, 03:35
Bullsh*t mate. You cant prove you were in top 10 dickh*ad. If you knew footy, u wood know that bigger blokes take longer to develop he is 204cm. wat club did u play for?
I think until Kurt 11 says who he is he should be ignored as nothing more than an insignificant sh1t stirrer.
kurt_11
12 Aug 2007, 12:18
I think until Kurt 11 says who he is he should be ignored as nothing more than an insignificant sh1t stirrer.
haha get a life d.i.ck head! you know, most people go out and have fun on a saturday night rather than sitting behind a computer screen trying to get the edge over big footy users...haha you disgust me
Demons4ever
12 Aug 2007, 18:39
:confused:Just heard that Seymour thirds got done by Rochy yesterday. Can anyone give a report on what happen? Did Rochy finally get numbers on the ground? Did Seymour have a few out? Or was their a flood at Rochy which assisted the home side? Upset of the year for sure!!!!!!!
Footy08
12 Aug 2007, 19:10
:confused:Just heard that Seymour thirds got done by Rochy yesterday. Can anyone give a report on what happen? Did Rochy finally get numbers on the ground? Did Seymour have a few out? Or was their a flood at Rochy which assisted the home side? Upset of the year for sure!!!!!!!
i was thinking the same thing! wat the hell happend there!? cant believe that one... puts us a game n half clear tho :thumbsu:
Johnny Tapp
12 Aug 2007, 22:18
i was thinking the same thing! wat the hell happend there!? cant believe that one... puts us a game n half clear tho :thumbsu:
I heard that as the under 16's have finished, Rochy had a few guys come up and make a full team. The u16 players that came up were also quite handy from all accounts.
Lil Ure #13
12 Aug 2007, 22:55
very bad day out for the lions, a few key players out on the day was no help.. rochester game to play and maybe the seymour boys were a bit cocky. seymour showed bad disipline giving away to many 50's and just got frustrated with a few bad calls from the umps.. real setback for the lions coming finals time.. :thumbsd:
S Wrench
13 Aug 2007, 15:13
very bad day out for the lions, a few key players out on the day was no help.. rochester game to play and maybe the seymour boys were a bit cocky. seymour showed bad disipline giving away to many 50's and just got frustrated with a few bad calls from the umps.. real setback for the lions coming finals time.. :thumbsd:
seymour a pretty useless outfit it turned out, few too many headcases...obviously they will make finals but they are a long way behind teams like shepp united, echuca and tatura
Lil Ure #13
13 Aug 2007, 21:59
seymour a pretty useless outfit it turned out, few too many headcases...obviously they will make finals but they are a long way behind teams like shepp united, echuca and tatura
obviously not that far behind only losing to echuca by 10 points i think and united by 4..
S Wrench
13 Aug 2007, 23:44
obviously not that far behind only losing to echuca by 10 points i think and united by 4..
obviously a long way behind as they have not only lost to those teams but also losing to potential wooden spooners shows just how far behind the good teams they are
yeehaaaaaaaaaaaa
14 Aug 2007, 12:16
:) Echuca thirds will finally get back 4 more players this week, all top quality and another top line player next week. All have had injuries, 1 playing seniors and will be back after 4 weeks and the player back next week will be a BIG surprise. Echuca Looking the goods. Seymour, mansfield only beaten by Echuca by 10-14 odd points but Echuca had 5 u16 players playing and have done for the last 4-5 games. Watch this space!
waddo #6
14 Aug 2007, 17:39
saturday events are fairly clear to all spectators.. andrew green (captain and superstar) was out which damaged the midfield, ruckman out meant no idea for centreman, key player belsten out in first quarter, an umpire that looked like if he ran too hard would break a hip and a 14 yr old meant the free kick count was 30 odd to 11 ( that was rochy's way and our team manager marked down every free kick and at what time they occured ) 3 blokes gettin sent off for seymour, many 50m penalties, we wernt cocky but yes confident.. a thing id like to highlight is our waterboy and boundary were on the field at 3 quarter time with the unpires and during their discussion apparantly the older umpire said " the whinging soft c o c k pricks will get twice as much frees against them if they wanna sook about it'' or something along those lines, and i daresay this will be looked into during the week as a formal complaint was made i think.. but, to rochy's credit, they wanted it more and played in ripping style.. also, in 3 yrs of playing GV and never missing a game against rochy, i reckon there was 5 -6 very handy players out on the field ive never ever seen play before.. players who made the difference.. well done to em we needed that loss cos we won 5 or 6 in a row nd definately a wake up call.. not looking forward to training 2nite..
loch_99
14 Aug 2007, 17:40
I'm happy you at least said lions were shit on the weekend. Dont give that a few players crap out. You play with the side you have as all bottom side like Euroa, Rochy and Swans have. And how old are blamin games on umps, shit. Coming up to finals it might just show where you boys are at. ****ing good on Rochy too, they have had a hard year along with Euroa and Swans, good on them for havin a good win. They try hard all game, everyweek
Demons4ever
14 Aug 2007, 17:51
saturday events are fairly clear to all spectators.. andrew green (captain and superstar) was out which damaged the midfield, ruckman out meant no idea for centreman, key player belsten out in first quarter, an umpire that looked like if he ran too hard would break a hip and a 14 yr old meant the free kick count was 30 odd to 11 ( that was rochy's way and our team manager marked down every free kick and at what time they occured ) 3 blokes gettin sent off for seymour, many 50m penalties, we wernt cocky but yes confident.. a thing id like to highlight is our waterboy and boundary were on the field at 3 quarter time with the unpires and during their discussion apparantly the older umpire said " the whinging soft c o c k pricks will get twice as much frees against them if they wanna sook about it'' or something along those lines, and i daresay this will be looked into during the week as a formal complaint was made i think.. but, to rochy's credit, they wanted it more and played in ripping style.. also, in 3 yrs of playing GV and never missing a game against rochy, i reckon there was 5 -6 very handy players out on the field ive never ever seen play before.. players who made the difference.. well done to em we needed that loss cos we won 5 or 6 in a row nd definately a wake up call.. not looking forward to training 2nite..
Have to agree that I also heard the umpires were hopeless and the statements made were actually made, not good for the profile of umpiring. Green is a top player and would have been missed. Hope he is back this week as it will prove a great game in the midfield if he is there.
obviously a long way behind as they have not only lost to those teams but also losing to potential wooden spooners shows just how far behind the good teams they are
Well done Rochy Hope you boys can keep the form and knock off Moroopna this week, would be brilliant.
Marto121
14 Aug 2007, 18:35
What does everyone think of the Echuca vs Shepp game? Shepp back in better form with players back and they seem confident of winning. Also does anyone elso think Big Echuca and Kurt_11 are the same people?
Footy08
14 Aug 2007, 19:59
What does everyone think of the Echuca vs Shepp game? Shepp back in better form with players back and they seem confident of winning. Also does anyone elso think Big Echuca and Kurt_11 are the same people?
Gee that a surprise.. When arent they? They have one win and now they think there going to beat the top side.. But rochy did beat seymore on the w/e so anything is possible in footy.. Great effort by the rochy boys, well done fellas!
Comes at a bad time for us tho has we have to play seymore at seymore this week.. Tipping they will come out firing and hungry for a win on there home ground.. Should be a great game as it was last time going right down to the dying minutes! I should be out there trying to get a kick.. Cant wait, should be a good one!
Anyone got a tip for this game??
Alley cat
14 Aug 2007, 20:40
Good summary of what happened on sat. Waddo. From a spectators viewpoint the umpiring had a major impact on the game, (would have been one of the most frustrating games i've seen for ages) and it was fortunate that things didnt get out of hand out there. Still, it was poor discipline from some of the Seymour players who only needed to stick at it for another 10 mins or so to maybe win the game. Full credit to Rochy though they seemed to play with a bit more passion dare i say, must have been good for them to finally have a full team and they played very well.
Whats the go with greeny, is he right for this week?
Alley cat
14 Aug 2007, 20:46
Gee that a surprise.. When arent they? They have one win and now they think there going to beat the top side.. But rochy did beat seymore on the w/e so anything is possible in footy.. Great effort by the rochy boys, well done fellas!
Comes at a bad time for us tho has we have to play seymore at seymore this week.. Tipping they will come out firing and hungry for a win on there home ground.. Should be a great game as it was last time going right down to the dying minutes! I should be out there trying to get a kick.. Cant wait, should be a good one!
Anyone got a tip for this game??
Should be a ripper, it will be interesting to see if Seymour can bounce back-good test of character for the Lions. Will there be any big ins for United? Any Bushys or senior players dropping back?
Strudelheimer
14 Aug 2007, 22:09
This morning Kurt 11 was red carded for starting a thread bagging a 16 yo footballer on the GV board. At the same time Big Echuca's account was closed. Draw your own conclusions. A great number of people have called into question his credibility and asked for a list of his achievements. His answer is to all this that he played some seniors as a 16yo.(I'm certainly not going to be critical of that).
This poster has been a scourge and a sniper on BF for some time bagging players, coaches and others (check kurt 11 and Big Echuca's threads) to a level that is unacceptable. His own modest football achievements have not come close to the people he loves to drag down.
He has neither played VLine, Interleague, Bushies or Vic Country. He has not coached premiership winning teams or developed young players, but continues to pass judgement on people who are far more talented and have a real interest and dedication for the game.
This spiteful young man has a very senior leadership position in an GVFL under 18's team (read the threads and you'll work out the club very quickly) and a lot of people will be glad fthat he is off big footy for a while.
I hope you wake up to yourself soon P and get some credibility here.
Big Snorky
14 Aug 2007, 22:38
This morning Kurt 11 was red carded for starting a thread bagging a 16 yo footballer on the GV board. At the same time Big Echuca's account was closed. Draw your own conclusions. A great number of people have called into question his credibility and asked for a list of his achievements. His answer is to all this that he played some seniors as a 16yo.(I'm certainly not going to be critical of that).
This poster has been a scourge and a sniper on BF for some time bagging players, coaches and others (check kurt 11 and Big Echuca's threads) to a level that is unacceptable. His own modest football achievements have not come close to the people he loves to drag down.
He has neither played VLine, Interleague, Bushies or Vic Country. He has not coached premiership winning teams or developed young players, but continues to pass judgement on people who are far more talented and have a real interest and dedication for the game.
This spiteful young man has a very senior leadership position in an GVFL under 18's team (read the threads and you'll work out the club very quickly) and a lot of people will be glad fthat he is off big footy for a while.
I hope you wake up to yourself soon P and get some credibility here.U don't mean pezza from Rochy do ya??
Footy08
14 Aug 2007, 22:55
Who was the 16yo??
just wanted to no, how is braden pullen going and farran priest
S Wrench
14 Aug 2007, 23:44
haha old mate perry oliver!!
haha nah i wouldn't have thought pez would waste his time with this kind of crap mate. most people on here know who he is when he does occasionally post on here but i could most certainly garantee you blokes that that kurt dude is not him.
also pez didnt play any senior footy until last year when he was 17, so whoever kurt is talking himself up it wouldnt be him.
Footy08
15 Aug 2007, 00:44
just wanted to no, how is braden pullen going and farran priest
both r having good years... both playing senior footy at thier clubs.. although braden has come back down to 3rds to try and get the bears into the finals... played on braden for about 10-15mins on the wing a few weeks ago and he pretty much pooped on me! haha good guys too! :thumbsu:
roosfan21
15 Aug 2007, 09:02
Very very well said. I saw that thread too, which was a lowly, lowly and unjustified act. No need to further mention the young fella on the end of it.
I hope kurt_11's senior coach doesn't read the GVFL senior forum because he's also stated that he is coaching poorly last season and this season. Now that his name has been exposed, I'm sure it will get back to him.
S Wrench
15 Aug 2007, 13:09
both r having good years... both playing senior footy at thier clubs.. although braden has come back down to 3rds to try and get the bears into the finals... played on braden for about 10-15mins on the wing a few weeks ago and he pretty much pooped on me! haha good guys too! :thumbsu:
hey has ryan normington qualified for 3rds finals this year? cos if he has shepp united would have to be favourites for the flag
Footy08
15 Aug 2007, 13:33
hey has ryan normington qualified for 3rds finals this year? cos if he has shepp united would have to be favourites for the flag
Yep sure has.. Would be a great side if everyone that was able to play 3rds was availiable! But it will all come down to how far united 3rds, seniors and bushies go into the finals as to who plays 3rds..
badhairday
15 Aug 2007, 15:26
Can anyone tell me how the Echuca coach is going this year? I see they are travelling quite well but wondering what sort of influence he is having.
He was a bit of gumby when I played against him, and I felt his best asset back in those days was he had a good looking girlfriend! Happy for feedback.
yeehaaaaaaaaaaaa
15 Aug 2007, 16:15
Badhair day what is his name?
Trent Lovelock
15 Aug 2007, 19:13
i hardly think one players going to make that much of a difference especially to elevate then to favourite status when united have been well outplayed by other contenders so far this year.
with united seniors also in finals id say the good thirds would be in the seniors best side any how...
Footy08
15 Aug 2007, 20:21
i hardly think one players going to make that much of a difference especially to elevate then to favourite status when united have been well outplayed by other contenders so far this year.
with united seniors also in finals id say the good thirds would be in the seniors best side any how...
Its actually not that hard to see how they can be elevated to favourite status.. dont know how u can say that they have been well outplayed? they've only lost to 2 teams all year and one of those teams they have then gone on to beat in the later part of the year and only lost to tat by 46 points when tat nearly had a full side and united had 8 players out and had to find 3 permit players.. I think normo would make a fair difference in a gvfl u18s team.. after playin u17s all aus and vic u18s of course someone with that experience could make a fair difference
is it true he farran played aus all star team!
hes a good cricketer
i remember braden in the picola league he'd carve it up so much!
Footy08
15 Aug 2007, 21:12
is it true he farran played aus all star team!
hes a good cricketer
i remember braden in the picola league he'd carve it up so much!
Yep pretty sure thats true... i watched that game.. at the G or telstra (cant remember) but didnt know faz back then so cant tell u how he went sorry
Trent Lovelock
15 Aug 2007, 23:22
Its actually not that hard to see how they can be elevated to favourite status.. dont know how u can say that they have been well outplayed? they've only lost to 2 teams all year and one of those teams they have then gone on to beat in the later part of the year and only lost to tat by 46 points when tat nearly had a full side and united had 8 players out and had to find 3 permit players.. I think normo would make a fair difference in a gvfl u18s team.. after playin u17s all aus and vic u18s of course someone with that experience could make a fair difference
Losing to tat by 46 points who be a fair indication of why i said they've been out played!
for both sides these players arnt gonna change that much, and definately not a 46 point turn around. thats a wolipping!
all tats players r gonna be playing thirds n most of uniteds players r gonna be playing seniors!
yeah maybe, enough to get himself best on ground.. i doubt things will change...
united ppl just hoping for this to be the facts.
tat & echuca in a couple wks will be a good one.
Demons4ever
16 Aug 2007, 17:40
Losing to tat by 46 points who be a fair indication of why i said they've been out played!
for both sides these players arnt gonna change that much, and definately not a 46 point turn around. thats a wolipping!
all tats players r gonna be playing thirds n most of uniteds players r gonna be playing seniors!
yeah maybe, enough to get himself best on ground.. i doubt things will change...
united ppl just hoping for this to be the facts.
tat & echuca in a couple wks will be a good one.
Tat are the form side at this stage. United are the only team to have beaten Echuca. At the end of the day it boils down to which ever side has the most winning positions will win the game. Tat have done this twice and have beaten the dees twice.
BSaintsFC#4
16 Aug 2007, 21:41
Tat are the form side at this stage. United are the only team to have beaten Echuca. At the end of the day it boils down to which ever side has the most winning positions will win the game. Tat have done this twice and have beaten the dees twice.
benalla beat echuca
Demons4ever
17 Aug 2007, 09:34
benalla beat echuca
Your right, my apologies
Lil Ure #13
20 Aug 2007, 17:40
:) Echuca thirds will finally get back 4 more players this week, all top quality and another top line player next week. All have had injuries, 1 playing seniors and will be back after 4 weeks and the player back next week will be a BIG surprise. Echuca Looking the goods. Seymour, mansfield only beaten by Echuca by 10-14 odd points but Echuca had 5 u16 players playing and have done for the last 4-5 games. Watch this space!
wat happened with echuca against shep on the weekend? did these players not come back? or are shep are better team than i thought?
1Mitch1
20 Aug 2007, 18:53
wat happened with echuca against shep on the weekend? did these players not come back? or are shep are better team than i thought?
was a really good game. echuca had everyone playing besides josh straun playing apparently, with bears missing 2 of their starting 18 through injury. shepp arent as bad as people think, they have just had a bad run with injuries.
1Mitch1
20 Aug 2007, 19:04
a huge positive for the bears at the moment is the form of Matt Rickards. apparently the bushies are having a real good look at him because they like his athleticsm which they beleive is needed for next years side. He kept Eljay Connors very quiet on the weekend. He looks very promising and is really in the elite of the gvfl thirds
hawks69
20 Aug 2007, 21:50
wats every1 think about Benalla and there chances 4 finals there been playing well and with somebig names coming back
1Mitch1
20 Aug 2007, 22:06
wats every1 think about Benalla and there chances 4 finals there been playing well and with somebig names coming back
they cant make finals. impossible. what names have they got coming back?
its game on
20 Aug 2007, 23:25
Very very well said. I saw that thread too, which was a lowly, lowly and unjustified act. No need to further mention the young fella on the end of it.
I hope kurt_11's senior coach doesn't read the GVFL senior forum because he's also stated that he is coaching poorly last season and this season. Now that his name has been exposed, I'm sure it will get back to him.
Kurt11=0
He won't be missed at all.
gvfruitbowl
21 Aug 2007, 11:59
sick of hearing about kurt wots his face...lets not talk about him anymore.
my tips this week:
echuca v TATURA
mainfield v SEYMOUR
shepp united v MOOROOPNA
SHEPP SWANS v rochester
SHEPPARTON v euroa
KYABRAM v benalla
game of the round is echuca v tat will be a very tight and hard fought out match. tipping tat in a close one.
thoughts?...
Footy08
21 Aug 2007, 17:42
sick of hearing about kurt wots his face...lets not talk about him anymore.
my tips this week:
echuca v TATURA
mainfield v SEYMOUR
shepp united v MOOROOPNA
SHEPP SWANS v rochester
SHEPPARTON v euroa
KYABRAM v benalla
game of the round is echuca v tat will be a very tight and hard fought out match. tipping tat in a close one.
thoughts?...
Echuca to beat Tat in a close one.
Mansfield to beat Seymore..
and United to beat Mooroopna...
Predicting an upset fruitbowl???
gvfruitbowl
21 Aug 2007, 21:09
Echuca to beat Tat in a close one.
Mansfield to beat Seymore..
and United to beat Mooroopna...
Predicting an upset fruitbowl???
i don't think the echuca tat game will be an upset.
i think seymour will beat mansfield. hard to come back from a 153point thrashing...and i thought i'd tip agianst the trend and go mooroopna in the upset of the round.
Footy08
21 Aug 2007, 21:39
i think seymour will beat mansfield. hard to come back from a 153point thrashing...and i thought i'd tip agianst the trend and go mooroopna in the upset of the round.
The tat - echuca game could go any way..
didnt realise seymore flogged mansfield.. But the game is at mansfield and they r a good side that i think could get up..
Mooroopna will have to have a 72 point turn around but it could happen!
The tat - echuca game could go any way..
didnt realise seymore flogged mansfield.. But the game is at mansfield and they r a good side that i think could get up..
Mooroopna will have to have a 72 point turn around but it could happen!
Shepp bears beat manfield at mansfield and on-one has been rating them
Demons4ever
21 Aug 2007, 22:30
Seymour struggling for form at the moment having lost two on the trot and no certainty to win their last two against Mansfield and Benella. Mansfield are a tougher side at home and could get up against Seymour. Tatura are in better form then Echuca at the moment, close game. But i think Echuca will continue to get better and Tatura have been at their best for a month now. Echuca with a full squad to win by 13 points. Rochy to beat swans, Bears to flog Euroa, Benella to beat Ky and ruin their finals chances. United will easily account for Mooroopna even with 6 players out.
tat will beat echuca in a good hard game, united shood beat mooroopna, and if seymour are a genuine finals contender they shood beat mansfield over there
NavyBlues
21 Aug 2007, 22:44
a huge positive for the bears at the moment is the form of Matt Rickards. apparently the bushies are having a real good look at him because they like his athleticsm which they beleive is needed for next years side. He kept Eljay Connors very quiet on the weekend. He looks very promising and is really in the elite of the gvfl thirds
must be doing preety good to be able to tag someone that hasnt played footy for 12 or so weeks.
Footy08
21 Aug 2007, 23:33
Seymour struggling for form at the moment having lost two on the trot and no certainty to win their last two against Mansfield and Benella. Mansfield are a tougher side at home and could get up against Seymour. Tatura are in better form then Echuca at the moment, close game. But i think Echuca will continue to get better and Tatura have been at their best for a month now. Echuca with a full squad to win by 13 points. Rochy to beat swans, Bears to flog Euroa, Benella to beat Ky and ruin their finals chances. United will easily account for Mooroopna even with 6 players out.
Who will the 6 out be Demons4ever?
does any of the GV teams ever struggle for a full side or got one no matter what
Demons4ever
22 Aug 2007, 21:39
Who will the 6 out be Demons4ever?
Not sure how up to date this is but last week Rendina, Campbell and Cullum were in the seniors, Normo in Bushies and a couple of injuries O'Sullivan and Wagdin? I think? Some good players there which I am sure would really make United a stronger side. I have noticed lately that United have had a few players on permits over the last 3 weeks, is this because of injuries?
Demons4ever
22 Aug 2007, 21:45
does any of the GV teams ever struggle for a full side or got one no matter what
Seymour have had a fairly consistent team all year. Swans have also had the same squad most of the year ( not a very good one either). I know from reading the senior and thirds sides in the paper that Tatura, Bears, United, Benella, Euroa, Mansfield and Mooropna have all had a lot of players go through the bushies or seniors. Rochy has struggled for numbers all year. No idea what the go is at Kyabram but they seem to have the same side most weeks. Echuca have been pretty solid but have had a lot of players out with injuries who are just coming back.
Footy08
22 Aug 2007, 21:58
Not sure how up to date this is but last week Rendina, Campbell and Cullum were in the seniors, Normo in Bushies and a couple of injuries O'Sullivan and Wagdin? I think? Some good players there which I am sure would really make United a stronger side. I have noticed lately that United have had a few players on permits over the last 3 weeks, is this because of injuries?
yer that sounds about right... i think u might find they get a pretty handy IN this week but also lose one.. iv had the flu for 2 weeks also so that hasnt helped my form... and warren didnt train tuesday night due to ankle injuiry and also a few other boys had to go down the the pool...
Hopefully everyone can get up at the right time of the year!
yehmate
22 Aug 2007, 22:44
yeh united has been a bit undermanned lately, i saw they had 3 permit players on the weekend, any chance they will have most players back come finals? wats the go with uniteds centre half foward, not the big fella, the tall blond one, he was on the bench a lot on the weekend and hasnt seen him in the paper for a while?
Hands Open
23 Aug 2007, 21:06
What are people predictions on the Rochy v Swans game? Should be a pretty good game i rekon
roberts-thompson
23 Aug 2007, 22:38
What are people predictions on the Rochy v Swans game? Should be a pretty good game i rekon
yeah i agree, both very even teams standard wise... but swans dont have a perry oliver, rate him very very highly. if he can get his hands on it, he should be the difference just needs the other boys to help him a bit more. people say he is slow but it doesnt matter when the big bastard is sitting on your head at most marking contests. i highly doubt rob tuohy will be playing again so swans shouldnt need to worry about that. swans have a few little blokes that go alright as well.. im not putting my bet either way yet
roberts-thompson
23 Aug 2007, 22:43
anyone interested in giving their, hardest or best openents over the year or 2 years? or even most hated players? are we wallowed to do most hated or would we get in sh@t?
S Wrench
24 Aug 2007, 11:04
anyone interested in giving their, hardest or best openents over the year or 2 years? or even most hated players? are we wallowed to do most hated or would we get in sh@t?
luke sofi in thirds a couple of years ago, hard to play on and ya have to hate him as well when you give away stupid free kicks for retalliating to his cheap shots. pretty good player though and smart too.
played Benella today, scores even at half time, ky managed to just pull away at the end. Far stronger side than our last match could Knock seymour out of finals next week if they play four quarters like their first half.
WTF happened to United?? Demons4eva and Footy08 you lot short our something??
Also it looks like next week could be very interesting, if seymour lose they will defenitly be knocked out (lowest percentage) if mansfield and Shepp Bears both win it comes down to what happens with the Tat Ky game as to who gets a birth.
Matt Boyle, is my wosted hated when playing footy, don't know what he is like of the field but on it not a big fan. Richy Lilford recons hes alright of the ground what do others reckon??
Hardest oppenent, not to sure the game against united round two their full back played pritty well don't know his name weres a knee braces hard to get a kick on him. Probably the Toughest i have encountered this year.
Footy08
25 Aug 2007, 19:04
played Benella today, scores even at half time, ky managed to just pull away at the end. Far stronger side than our last match could Knock seymour out of finals next week if they play four quarters like their first half.
WTF happened to United?? Demons4eva and Footy08 you lot short our something??
Also it looks like next week could be very interesting, if seymour lose they will defenitly be knocked out (lowest percentage) if mansfield and Shepp Bears both win it comes down to what happens with the Tat Ky game as to who gets a birth.
Im tipping you guys will lose next week and shepp will make the finals.. Shepp are lucky to have an easy last 2 games!
As for today with united i would think that was close to mooroopnas strongest team, only missing warnett.. We had to get 3 players to come fill in and I didnt see much of the game but wat i saw our boys couldnt do much right.. try'd hard but it all just went there way and they played fairly good footy.
That wouldve been Cooky playin on ya that day.. very good backman. didnt think u got much of a kick that day but that would explain it :thumbsu:
gvfruitbowl
25 Aug 2007, 20:16
i tipped mooroopna in the upset of the round...interesting to see teams come finals time. with tat beating echuca to the tune of 45points they will finish minor premier no matter wot happens next week, they would have to be favourites going into the finals series its hard to argue that they arn't. thoughts?
Demons4ever
26 Aug 2007, 15:54
i tipped mooroopna in the upset of the round...interesting to see teams come finals time. with tat beating echuca to the tune of 45points they will finish minor premier no matter wot happens next week, they would have to be favourites going into the finals series its hard to argue that they arn't. thoughts?
Tat are favorites for the flag. Interesting to see the drop in form from United, Echuca and Seymour. I think seymour will lose their forth in a row (I think) and drop out of the finals. Bears to sneak in as doubtful id Ky will beat Tat. Mooroopna played a great game on Saturday, just completly overpowered the demons for 4 quarters. Best game of thirds footy I have seen from a club this year. They just ran hard and evrything work for them. United had a few triers, but were out classed on the day. Numbers are a problem at the moment and the dees had to try and get players to fill in. No way could they play that poorly again. Will bounce back this week.
VCFL_FAN
26 Aug 2007, 16:58
Have seen bits and peices of Thirds footy this year, Read the teams every friday in the paper though. At full strength (Including Senior and Bushies/ Pioneers) who would be the better teams. Tatura seem to be at full strength now?? but United and Mooroopna would have quality line ups at full strength would they not?
Anyone have a crack at the league medal and what the ladder will pan out like.
My ladder
Tat
Echuca
Shepp United
Moroopna
Ky
Shepp Bears
This will happen as seymour will lose, allowing shepp Bears in and Hopefully we can knock off Tat and stay in.
gvfruitbowl
28 Aug 2007, 12:58
no offence but i can't see ky beating tat...seymour i think will get over the top of benalla and shepp will most certainly come away with a win against the swans...
tat
echuca
united
mooroopna
seymour
shepp
ky
mansfield
benella
rochester
swans
euroa
league medal no idea
Footy08
28 Aug 2007, 13:16
no offence but i can't see ky beating tat...seymour i think will get over the top of benalla and shepp will most certainly come away with a win against the swans...
tat
echuca
united
mooroopna
seymour
shepp
ky
mansfield
benella
rochester
swans
euroa
league medal no idea
I agree with u Fruitbowl...
Big first week of finals: Tat vs Echuca and United vs Bears will be a big game!!
roberts-thompson
29 Aug 2007, 21:24
luke sofi in thirds a couple of years ago, hard to play on and ya have to hate him as well when you give away stupid free kicks for retalliating to his cheap shots. pretty good player though and smart too.
yeah i agree on luke sofi! brad cunningham is on my team and ive never played a game where someone hasnt tried to kill him.. id say he'd be a very hated man in the GV
matty hebbards probably the best player iv played on... he an sakes a chance for the draft or a rookie spot FOOTY08?
Footy08
29 Aug 2007, 23:31
yeah i agree on luke sofi! brad cunningham is on my team and ive never played a game where someone hasnt tried to kill him.. id say he'd be a very hated man in the GV
matty hebbards probably the best player iv played on... he an sakes a chance for the draft or a rookie spot FOOTY08?
I recon they would have to be chances n bein looked at... both playing solid footy n as its a weaker draft to most years probably gives them a better chance... but none of them got invited to the draft camp and recruiters arent to big on picking up guys a year older (from wat iv read anyway).. But who knows there both good players and i would say are a chance
watch out this week for Kyabram. they have improved dramatically over the past month, with up and coming players just finding some form late in the year. 1 person for example is Nick Brun, he is around 6 foot 2 inch. and is built gary ablet jr type. he has tremendous agility and awareness. he has had a quiet start to the year . but is now in tremendous form and is favourite for the kyabram b and f. he has been looked at by a few victorian AFL clubs in the past couple of weeks. and at only age 16 looks like he will be picked up in the 08 draft.
S Wrench
30 Aug 2007, 17:11
watch out this week for Kyabram. they have improved dramatically over the past month, with up and coming players just finding some form late in the year. 1 person for example is Nick Brun, he is around 6 foot 2 inch. and is built gary ablet jr type. he has tremendous agility and awareness. he has had a quiet start to the year . but is now in tremendous form and is favourite for the kyabram b and f. he has been looked at by a few victorian AFL clubs in the past couple of weeks. and at only age 16 looks like he will be picked up in the 08 draft.
haha yeh buddy
"STRAWNY"
30 Aug 2007, 21:34
Hey cobber, incase u get stuck for words and u don’t want to over use the word tremendous I thought id come up with some other suggestions so u don’t kill the word;
Marvelous, Wonderful, Incredible, Fabulous, Fantastic, Remarkable, Awesome, Magnificent, Sensational, Out of this world, Super & Superb
juddy wce
31 Aug 2007, 11:29
your kiddin
Hey cobber, incase u get stuck for words and u don’t want to over use the word tremendous I thought id come up with some other suggestions so u don’t kill the word;
Marvelous, Wonderful, Incredible, Fabulous, Fantastic, Remarkable, Awesome, Magnificent, Sensational, Out of this world, Super & Superb
yeh righto mate. what you get out a thesaurus just to try and shut me down. get a life man.
"STRAWNY"
31 Aug 2007, 22:03
yeh righto mate. what you get out a thesaurus just to try and shut me down. get a life man.
Mate im a human thesaurus, o and for future reference cut down on the syllables... write that down
Manbearpig
1 Sep 2007, 17:14
tat
echuca
united
mooroopna
seymour
shepp
ky
mansfield
benella
rochester
swans
euroa
Good prediction, I believe that is the final ladder.
Huge game next week Shepp vs United. Might have to go and take a ganders at that one.
PLayed tatura yesterday, by far the best side i have played this year (havent seen mooropna) quick strong big bodied, a dominant forward in omi, (will take a very good player to stop) just a good side all over the park, their skills a very neat as is there game style and tactics. i would think they'd have to be the favourites at this stage.
Tat V Echuca
Shepp UNited V Shepp (depending on who plays for united)
Seymour V Mooropna
picks in bold