View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24

geewhynot
12 Feb 2008, 21:19
[quote=Demons4ever;10066182]

These young swans boys will prove to all u doubters that they can play.
They're not scared of all the big top age boys.They are gonna go out there and have a crack.They trained well on monday night with silky skills.
Shaw will play with Swans coz of grant. Hopefully Reeves decides to play for them that will keep Betson and Muggles at Swans
Doesnt look like Shaw will be at swans seeing as his been seen training with united on wednesday n monday n is keen to play 4 them. Reeves will stay at congupna, Betson still undecided will be leaning towards congupna now that dickson n kontakos have signed up with them 4 another year, n dont no wat sir muggleton is doing?

Demons4ever
13 Feb 2008, 13:32
[quote=lovemefooty08;10071970]
Doesnt look like Shaw will be at swans seeing as his been seen training with united on wednesday n monday n is keen to play 4 them. Reeves will stay at congupna, Betson still undecided will be leaning towards congupna now that dickson n kontakos have signed up with them 4 another year, n dont no wat sir muggleton is doing?
Spot on geewhynot, spoke to Shaw today and he is playing at United. Can also confirm that Reeves has returned to the Road and that Muggles is only tossing up between United and the Road with an answer expected this week. Looks like Swans list has a few gaps now. Can anyone confirm that Wilson is staying at Mooroopna (thats the mail I get).

Dyson_is_da_best
13 Feb 2008, 13:40
[quote=geewhynot;10073209]
Spot on geewhynot, spoke to Shaw today and he is playing at United. Can also confirm that Reeves has returned to the Road and that Muggles is only tossing up between United and the Road with an answer expected this week. Looks like Swans list has a few gaps now. Can anyone confirm that Wilson is staying at Mooroopna (thats the mail I get).
Yes I Think Wilson Is Staying At Mooroopna!

geewhynot
13 Feb 2008, 15:30

haha later swans! :p

lovemefooty08
13 Feb 2008, 20:36
[quote=Demons4ever;10077621]

haha later swans! :p

Wilson trained at swans tonight u wankers.

geewhynot
13 Feb 2008, 21:31
and?

mercedes230
14 Feb 2008, 07:07

Yeah, Shaw is out.

Congupna must have plenty of $ as they are paying these kids a sign on fee and match payments subject to certain criteria. Possibly one of the reasons Kontakos, Dickson, Reeves, Turner etc etc have all gone back. Disappointing for all I would think if it comes down to a bit of $$ to recruit kids. Cannot understand why they dont try out in a better comp to what they down play in.

Believe a couple of the players mentioned in this trail of emails will stay at Swans, and they are both from different clubs.

Demons4ever
14 Feb 2008, 08:01

Yeah, Shaw is out.

Congupna must have plenty of $ as they are paying these kids a sign on fee and match payments subject to certain criteria. Possibly one of the reasons Kontakos, Dickson, Reeves, Turner etc etc have all gone back. Disappointing for all I would think if it comes down to a bit of $$ to recruit kids. Cannot understand why they dont try out in a better comp to what they down play in.

Believe a couple of the players mentioned in this trail of emails will stay at Swans, and they are both from different clubs.
Fair point mercedes, I also understand that they have been offered a sign on fee. It is a problem for the road as their thirds are under 17's which means that each year they can lose their young players to Under 18 clubs therefore they might not have as many players coming through to build good senior sides around. But I agree that by paying 17 and 18 year olds we might be building the wrong type of footy culture that could then see these boys requesting money every year. Who knows if its right or wrong?

geewhynot
14 Feb 2008, 13:36

Yeah, Shaw is out.

Congupna is offering the youngs fellas 100 bucks sign on 30 bucks a game n if they win its 50 bucks.. not worth it when u could play in the best league n play in ur age group for the last time. cos most of them boys will find them selves stuck in the 2's :D

lovemefooty08
14 Feb 2008, 17:35
and?
and....
ur a ****** hahahahhahahaa

geewhynot
14 Feb 2008, 21:08
and....
ur a ****** hahahahhahahaa
wow that was hilarious... :rolleyes:

lovemefooty08
15 Feb 2008, 18:39
wow that was hilarious... :rolleyes:
ur getting up my goat geewhynot.

swans2008
15 Feb 2008, 18:55
yea your gettin up his goat

lovemefooty08
15 Feb 2008, 18:56
YER!!!!
so YERRR
piss off

kicking_goals
15 Feb 2008, 19:14
YER!!!!
so YERRR
piss off

Yeh righto than
Lets get back onto more footy talk!

swans2008
15 Feb 2008, 19:17
alright yea we talk footy... swans be alright this year so dont worry

marc_murphy88
19 Feb 2008, 09:18
every1 is talkin bout the swans... but what about last yr's premiers seymour? any goss on them, a source mf mine tells me some of their guns from last yr will push 4 senior selection... and if lowden plays united i think mario will hav him more often than we reckon... he's no certainty to walk into sandringham's tac side, jus coz he's tall doesnt mean he's a walk up start... lil overrated and sandy are a handy side

bennyc
19 Feb 2008, 16:23
every1 is talkin bout the swans... but what about last yr's premiers seymour? any goss on them, a source mf mine tells me some of their guns from last yr will push 4 senior selection... and if lowden plays united i think mario will hav him more often than we reckon... he's no certainty to walk into sandringham's tac side, jus coz he's tall doesnt mean he's a walk up start... lil overrated and sandy are a handy side

luke lowden has potential. as he matures he will develop his coordination and skills. i think hell get drafted

swans2008
19 Feb 2008, 18:08
yea i dont think lowden is a walk in either... he will have to prove he is worthy to get into the side... be interesting to see him devolop but i dont think u can say he will get drafted in this point in time.. good to see his progress as a bottom age in tac

Bucket #18
20 Feb 2008, 19:10
every1 is talkin bout the swans... but what about last yr's premiers seymour? any goss on them, a source mf mine tells me some of their guns from last yr will push 4 senior selection...

Seymour are lookin pretty good at the moment, same sort of position as last year.......... only time will tell, some of boyz are looking fit... Marcus Ure and Corey Meloury both are looking super fit, And the Skills Are High across the team, but time will tell, much like last year!

lovemefooty08
20 Feb 2008, 20:59
SHEPP SWANS ENTERED IN STANHOPE NIGHT SERIES.:thumbsu:

geewhynot
21 Feb 2008, 13:48
SHEPP SWANS ENTERED IN STANHOPE NIGHT SERIES.:thumbsu:
WHOOPI DOO the murray n Picola league teams could beat them

lovemefooty08
21 Feb 2008, 18:46
WHOOPI DOO the murray n Picola league teams could beat them
i think ur wrong on that one.
they are a hell of a better side than lasy year.

Demons4ever
23 Feb 2008, 14:31
United have also entered the Stanhope Night Series. Heard that Swans, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat and Rochy have also entered Division One. Does anyone else know what sides are in Division one?

lovemefooty08
23 Feb 2008, 19:35
United have also entered the Stanhope Night Series. Heard that Swans, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat and Rochy have also entered Division One. Does anyone else know what sides are in Division one?
Tat? i think

walshy 4
25 Feb 2008, 19:21
Tat? i think
Does anyone know how shepp bears are looking this year..

marc_murphy88
26 Feb 2008, 09:01
Does anyone know how shepp bears are looking this year..

a lot of their talented 3s will get a crack in the phil bunn's this yr as they are in the middle of a rebuilding phase with their senior side... ridings, thorsen, pullen will play senior footy for sure again this yr which may impact on the 3s chances of being a team to beat

Demons4ever
26 Feb 2008, 13:53
a lot of their talented 3s will get a crack in the phil bunn's this yr as they are in the middle of a rebuilding phase with their senior side... ridings, thorsen, pullen will play senior footy for sure again this yr which may impact on the 3s chances of being a team to beat
Agree that those 3 will play a lot of senior footbal as will Rickards and Bucktin. But even with these all available I think that the Bears would still only at best be competitive. They have lost a lot of qaulity from last year and not realy picked up a hell of a lot. Too thin across all the lines will leave them exposed this year. And if those 5 guys are out as well, then things might be tough.

jaggo
26 Feb 2008, 16:02
Some nervous boys waiting tonight for calls from the bushies to let them know whether they have been cut or not after Sundays game at Corowa. Some sides at least will be able to firm up lists after some of the boys find out their fate.

Dyson_is_da_best
26 Feb 2008, 16:21
Agree that those 3 will play a lot of senior footbal as will Rickards and Bucktin. But even with these all available I think that the Bears would still only at best be competitive. They have lost a lot of qaulity from last year and not realy picked up a hell of a lot. Too thin across all the lines will leave them exposed this year. And if those 5 guys are out as well, then things might be tough.
Also Lowden and ross are moving clubs!Lowden to united and Ross To Mooroopna!!

Demons4ever
27 Feb 2008, 06:12
Also Lowden and ross are moving clubs!Lowden to united and Ross To Mooroopna!!
Lowden most likely to stay at Bears. Cannot see him being cleared

jaggo
27 Feb 2008, 10:37
Any news on who did and didn't make the cut for the Bushies?Have heard that they were cutting 20 in total from both squads.The game at Benalla on Sunday is to finalise the list so many of the thirds squads with bushies will know where they sit by next week.
Any word on how Mansfield will shape up this year?

footy_rulz
27 Feb 2008, 15:18
What about Echuca? Will they be up there like last year? They have alot of boys trying out for Pioneers.

Tigger#1
27 Feb 2008, 15:48
What about Echuca? Will they be up there like last year? They have alot of boys trying out for Pioneers.

I've heard from players inside the club that they are not travelling too good, with most of their good players playing pios

mercedes230
29 Feb 2008, 07:05

Betson is staying at Swans, whilst Willo is staying at the Cattery. His heartstrings have been severed and that is the reason is he staying there.:cool:

mercedes230
29 Feb 2008, 07:14
Any news on who did and didn't make the cut for the Bushies?Have heard that they were cutting 20 in total from both squads.The game at Benalla on Sunday is to finalise the list so many of the thirds squads with bushies will know where they sit by next week.
Any word on how Mansfield will shape up this year?

Dont know of any cuts but the last game is this weekend in Benalla on Sunday. There was a big injury in the game last week with young Trevaskis damaging his hand very badly and requiring surgery in Melbourne. Unfortunately Jordo will miss a fair amount of footy. Looking at least 6 - 8 weeks in plaster apparantely. Disappointing for the lad as he has struggled with hamstring injuries this season so far.:cool:

kyboyjim15
29 Feb 2008, 08:40
hey are echuca really going to be s@#t cause i heard that those boys and swans are going to be allright... us ky fellas are looking good this year had a good pre season.

Demons4ever
29 Feb 2008, 09:05
Dont know of any cuts but the last game is this weekend in Benalla on Sunday. There was a big injury in the game last week with young Trevaskis damaging his hand very badly and requiring surgery in Melbourne. Unfortunately Jordo will miss a fair amount of footy. Looking at least 6 - 8 weeks in plaster apparantely. Disappointing for the lad as he has struggled with hamstring injuries this season so far.:cool:
Spoke to Jordo, plaster will be off in about 4 to 6 weeks and he will only miss 2 games of the season. Will use the time to really strengthen the hamstring. There has been a cut at Bushies. Only 60 odd left on list. Around 20 cut this week. 14 players have been told they don't have to play this weekend and are confirmed in the final squad. 40 odd players need to play this week with about 30 spots up for grabs. Another ten will be cut after this weeks game. Can confirm that Sidebottom, Barolli, Daniels are in the squad and don't have to play this week. Finnen, Briggs, Atkins and Crawford have to play on the weekend

Demons4ever
29 Feb 2008, 09:07

Betson is staying at Swans, whilst Willo is staying at the Cattery. His heartstrings have been severed and that is the reason is he staying there.:cool:
Good news for swans about Betson. By the way United official confirmed that Muggleton had signed at United. Big pick up for the Demons.

marc_murphy88
2 Mar 2008, 08:59
Spoke to Jordo, plaster will be off in about 4 to 6 weeks and he will only miss 2 games of the season. Will use the time to really strengthen the hamstring. There has been a cut at Bushies. Only 60 odd left on list. Around 20 cut this week. 14 players have been told they don't have to play this weekend and are confirmed in the final squad. 40 odd players need to play this week with about 30 spots up for grabs. Another ten will be cut after this weeks game. Can confirm that Sidebottom, Barolli, Daniels are in the squad and don't have to play this week. Finnen, Briggs, Atkins and Crawford have to play on the weekend

what are these fellas first 2 names? any major surprises that made and didnt make the cut?

Demons4ever
3 Mar 2008, 08:34
what are these fellas first 2 names? any major surprises that made and didnt make the cut?
Joey Briggs from Deni and my apologies for giving the wrong name for the other fellow, who is Atkinson from Rumbalara. Final cut this week so there might be some suprises then.

gamedayspecalist
3 Mar 2008, 08:45
could anyone from Maroopna tell us if you boys have snaged Brenton Cambell from undera?? he kicked over 100 goals last yr, would be a big signing...

catsthirdspremiers07
3 Mar 2008, 09:16
Rhys Buctin said geelong rang him up last nite.
turned the offer down, said he was waiting for a call from collingwood.

Think the fella has some tickets on himself, invited his mum to next years brownlow..

higgins69
3 Mar 2008, 09:46
Does anyone know of any good young players coming into benalla side this year. Heard about some ver good smalls. And how do u rekon they will go this year?

jaggo
3 Mar 2008, 12:24
Does anyone know of any good young players coming into benalla side this year. Heard about some ver good smalls. And how do u rekon they will go this year?

Josh mellington has ben playing well in U/16 Bushies trial games and looks a definate player to watch for Benalla this year. Not sure how they are likely to line up however this guy can play.

its game on
3 Mar 2008, 14:54
Joey Briggs from Deni and my apologies for giving the wrong name for the other fellow, who is Atkinson from Rumbalara. Final cut this week so there might be some suprises then.
That would be Jason Atkinson from Rumba. He is a great player will a lot of skills, played 16's Bushies last year and GM schoolboys before that.

Demons4ever
4 Mar 2008, 09:31
Just heard that United and Swans face off in a night game at Stanhope on Sunday 16th March. Should be a good contest between the two clubs. Don't know about Swans but United will have about 10 players unavailable on the night but will still have a competitive team on the ground. First real hit out for both clubs and may give an early indication about how they may be placed for the season.

mercedes230
4 Mar 2008, 12:53
That would be Jason Atkinson from Rumba. He is a great player will a lot of skills, played 16's Bushies last year and GM schoolboys before that.

Congratulations to jess finnen, aj crawford, jamo,steele,riley milne,dash, matt pianto, hicksy ans sam wright on their selection in the bushy squad. hard work pays off. interestingly atkinson and briggs missed out on the list i have seen of which 46 names are listed:cool:

marc_murphy88
4 Mar 2008, 13:27
Congratulations to jess finnen, aj crawford, jamo,steele,riley milne,dash, matt pianto, hicksy ans sam wright on their selection in the bushy squad. hard work pays off. interestingly atkinson and briggs missed out on the list i have seen of which 46 names are listed

is 46 the amount in the final squad or is there 1 more cut?

geewhynot
4 Mar 2008, 13:29
braden pullen unlucky, braking his collar bone in the last bushies intra club match on the weekend..
will be a big loss to the bears thirds and senior sides

mercedes230
4 Mar 2008, 15:03
is 46 the amount in the final squad or is there 1 more cut?

thats the number who are going to melb this weekend on a camp but thats it i believe.:cool:

bennyc
4 Mar 2008, 18:43
thats the number who are going to melb this weekend on a camp but thats it i believe.:cool:

bubs extremely lucky not to have made it

its game on
4 Mar 2008, 21:50

Lucky or unlucky benny??

Demons4ever
5 Mar 2008, 07:20
Congratulations to jess finnen, aj crawford, jamo,steele,riley milne,dash, matt pianto, hicksy ans sam wright on their selection in the bushy squad. hard work pays off. interestingly atkinson and briggs missed out on the list i have seen of which 46 names are listed:cool:
Agree Mercedes, thought that Briggs may have gat a shot but then again the selectors have their views. Great to see a strong representation of Shepparton boys in the squad. Finnen has down really well considering he missed a lot of training due to illness. I think Ryan from Tat also got in.

bennyc
5 Mar 2008, 15:09

haha sorry unlucky

geewhynot
5 Mar 2008, 15:49
Agree Mercedes, thought that Briggs may have gat a shot but then again the selectors have their views. Great to see a strong representation of Shepparton boys in the squad. Finnen has down really well considering he missed a lot of training due to illness. I think Ryan from Tat also got in.

so did tom durwood from tat

higgins69
5 Mar 2008, 19:13
haha sorry unlucky

oh benny ur rite mate. very handy player pullen. can run all day. ur not a bad bloke either benny...

lovemefooty08
5 Mar 2008, 20:13
oh benny ur rite mate. very handy player pullen. can run all day. ur not a bad bloke either benny...

oh higgins and benny get a room

its game on
5 Mar 2008, 20:22
oh higgins and benny get a room

Make sure it's the library:D:D

lovemefooty08
6 Mar 2008, 17:43
Make sure it's the library:D:D
is that sposed to be funny lol

its game on
6 Mar 2008, 20:05
is that sposed to be funny lol

Their school library is full of love:eek:

bennyc
6 Mar 2008, 21:12

there school libary is shithouse.

lovemefooty08
6 Mar 2008, 21:12
wtf are u retarted:confused:

jaggo
7 Mar 2008, 11:06
I heard that numbers for Echuca have been light on during preseason, which is surprising considering the depth that they have in junior ranks. Can anyone fill us in here?
Also how does Mansfield look like shaping up this season? Solid year last season and interested to hear if they will challenge again?

footy_rulz
7 Mar 2008, 11:50
I heard that numbers for Echuca have been light on during preseason, which is surprising considering the depth that they have in junior ranks. Can anyone fill us in here?
Also how does Mansfield look like shaping up this season? Solid year last season and interested to hear if they will challenge again?

I also heard the under 16s have been light on for numbers too. They may only have 2 teams this year rather than 3 as usual.

mercedes230
9 Mar 2008, 09:01
I also heard the under 16s have been light on for numbers too. They may only have 2 teams this year rather than 3 as usual.

They have lost big numbers over the off season with a couple of Colleges -Ballarat was one mentioned offering scholarships. I heard 42 players had left the area for one reason or another, hence the lower number of players for the Under 16's.:cool:

nickydal26
9 Mar 2008, 17:37
you talk crap mate, Echuca will dominate, all age groups this year

mercedes230
9 Mar 2008, 17:57
you talk crap mate, Echuca will dominate, all age groups this year

cant see any where in this thread where we discussed how Echuca as a Club would fare performance wise, this has been a discussion on numbers. Suggest you read and digest before you shoot off at the mouth:cool:

W-a-l
9 Mar 2008, 18:12
get a damn life.. everything been said on here is all bull sh*t.. no one has any clue.. why not just wait for the season and stop acting like big shots, it aint the AFL.. its under 18's

lovemefooty08
9 Mar 2008, 20:39
get a damn life.. everything been said on here is all bull sh*t.. no one has any clue.. why not just wait for the season and stop acting like big shots, it aint the AFL.. its under 18's
The under 18's IS the AFL for these boys

mercedes230
9 Mar 2008, 21:03

Fact: COACH
Fact: Involved with both an Under 16 and Under 18 side

Tell us please does W - a - l stand for WHAT A LOSER ?:cool:

Collingwood4Life
9 Mar 2008, 22:25
have many top age players from last years wangnui u16's team gone on with their football?

bennyc
10 Mar 2008, 00:46

u tell us to get a damn life? your the one on here reading what we have to say. we no its not the AFL but its a big part of our lives you wank**.
go get a life mate

lovemefooty08
10 Mar 2008, 18:15
mate ur a joke and not in haha joke u r a joke to big footy for that crappy remark y dont u post in a thread that actually has someting to do with ur football career?

wait no u neva had 1

cheers mate:thumbsu:
mate u are a joke.
get out of this effing thread and start talking footy ok?

bomberbandit99
12 Mar 2008, 13:56
i think there was only 5 or 6 top age wanganui 16s who are playing thirds this yr! im thinking magee, shaw and grant will dominate!

Collingwood4Life
12 Mar 2008, 18:22
i think there was only 5 or 6 top age wanganui 16s who are playing thirds this yr! im thinking magee, shaw and grant will dominate!
yeh i totally agree, also i think normington (younger brother of former bushies, vic country ryan normo) will have a good year, has grown alot and will be an imposing figure down in the united forward line

mercedes230
12 Mar 2008, 20:12
yeh i totally agree, also i think normington (younger brother of former bushies, vic country ryan normo) will have a good year, has grown alot and will be an imposing figure down in the united forward line

Steady steady. Dont know about imposing. Lets not get carried away with what the boys did LAST year. It is an imposing step from Under 16 to GVFL 3rds. Let all the boys find their feet and then we can assess mid year.:cool:

bomberbandit99
12 Mar 2008, 20:16
so mercedes who do u think will go well for bottom age 3rds in the three shepp teams?

bennyc
12 Mar 2008, 21:21
so mercedes who do u think will go well for bottom age 3rds in the three shepp teams?

im not mercedes but ill have a crack.
SWANS grant preece bt finnen mears trelly i think will play well. swoopa also.
BEARS Crawf. thats all unless chappy and ivan play?
UNITED: Jordo. Tetly. Sully. Jacko. Kane and liam shaw. Burna and normo could be handy pickups to.

and what shepp team is looking to be the strongest

Collingwood4Life
12 Mar 2008, 22:41
UNITED: Jordo. Tetly. Sully. Jacko. Kane and liam shaw. Burna and normo could be handy pickups to.

you seem to know a bit about the notre boys.
a classmate of them, bennyc?

Collingwood4Life
12 Mar 2008, 22:46
Steady steady. Dont know about imposing. Lets not get carried away with what the boys did LAST year. It is an imposing step from Under 16 to GVFL 3rds. Let all the boys find their feet and then we can assess mid year.:cool:
last year young normo was a sensation, improvement out of site.
dominated at half forward with his strong marking and precise kicking.
also has pace to burn, will adapt to gv thirds with no worries at all, will probably be in the seniors after the first few rounds!

marc_murphy88
13 Mar 2008, 09:46
also has pace to burn, will adapt to gv thirds with no worries at all, will probably be in the seniors after the first few rounds!

gee i saw 7 or 8 games and he didnt set the world on fire, sure you arent talking about ryan lol?? he's a good kick and ok mark but wont be taking huge pack marks... as for seniors at united, dont think so, think of the gun juniors that played seniors at his age... vance, muston, ryan normington, rendina

bomberbandit99
13 Mar 2008, 15:47
gee i saw 7 or 8 games and he didnt set the world on fire, sure you arent talking about ryan lol?? he's a good kick and ok mark but wont be taking huge pack marks... as for seniors at united, dont think so, think of the gun juniors that played seniors at his age... vance, muston, ryan normington, rendina

RYAN NORMINGTON= DUD!

willowNo44
13 Mar 2008, 17:54
second

mercedes230
13 Mar 2008, 20:34

mate you left your own name off!!!:cool:

lovemefooty08
13 Mar 2008, 21:34
yer i thought he struggled in 16's so dunno how he will go in 3rds

bomberbandit99
16 Mar 2008, 12:38
i think young anton bell should have a pretty good season! he's pretty fit, good kick not bad of a mark! should develop well to GVFL.

Collingwood4Life
16 Mar 2008, 13:35
i think young anton bell should have a pretty good season! he's pretty fit, good kick not bad of a mark! should develop well to GVFL.
mmm i dunno bout that, heard he was a bit of a dud with the footy.
apparently has a weird marking style?
can you comment on that bomberbandit?

bennyc
16 Mar 2008, 21:44
mate you left your own name off!!!:cool:
good match between swannies and united tonight. was even all night until the last quarter where united pulled away. good players for both sides. i thought jye warren, freezer and muggleton were standouts for united while for swans anthony tuatala, barollli, preecy , bt and number 15 all played well.

*CINDI*
17 Mar 2008, 14:38
Muggleton has not changed from congupna, he wont handball or kick to a team mate if he thinks they are a better player than him,.A CAPTAIN should leed the way as a team player,NOT be a HOGGGGGGGGGGG.I hope being captain was not part of the sign on deal?.grant, crow, and turner played well

Buddy Franklin23
17 Mar 2008, 16:32
hey boys just wondering how does Aaron beckingham go? pretty sure he played at bears?

redleg#1
17 Mar 2008, 18:27
Muggleton has not changed from congupna, he wont handball or kick to a team mate if he thinks they are a better player than him,.A CAPTAIN should leed the way as a team player,NOT be a HOGGGGGGGGGGG.I hope being captain was not part of the sign on deal?.grant, crow, and turner played well

When Muggleton got the footy last year i saw him kick and handball to players like rusty, dicko and matty p many time's i dont no what your on about because all of them players i are better than him.

swans2008
17 Mar 2008, 18:40
us swannie boys did well again united last night... united said to be one of the teams to beat. i believe we can do that. still got a few handy players to come into the side which will strengthen us right up. also some fitness will do us good... alot of teams will be suprised what swannies do this year.

cambruce32
17 Mar 2008, 21:01
us swannie boys did well again united last night... united said to be one of the teams to beat. i believe we can do that. still got a few handy players to come into the side which will strengthen us right up. also some fitness will do us good... alot of teams will be suprised what swannies do this year.

United were too strong in the end but i was impressed with the never say die attitude of the young swans. most are bottom age and they stood up well to a physically stronger and more mature unit with a fair few older players. some of the united players were disappointing as too were some of the swans players. only early so the hit out will do both sides well. both clubs have players to come into the side so they both appear to be heading for a good season

geewhynot
17 Mar 2008, 22:10

dunno how many swans had out but heard united had about 7 or more of there starting line up out due to school commitments seniors and bushies. also when you look at guys like luke M who only played a bit over a quarter, ben rendias first game in probably over 12 months and shannon ralph who hasnt played since primary school footy... but i agree as you said swans played a solid game and did suprise and put up a good fight but if they play later in the year i think it might bit a much different game if both are at full strength. united seemed to fumble a fair bit and the skills on the night werent to flash by some of the players, maybe that just has something to do with the awesome lights they had up and going :rolleyes:

jaggo
18 Mar 2008, 17:00
Saw the game at Stanhope between united and swans and thought both sides showed alot. Swans aren't overly big but their small players are good, united have good height across the ground and moved the ball well. I know it was only an early season practice match but I feel both sides will be very competitive and can look forward to finals footy.

toni 07 premiers
18 Mar 2008, 17:19

Geez he must think alot before getting rid of it.

swans2008
18 Mar 2008, 19:22
yea it is still early.... we had about 7 odd players out that can come into the side to strengthin right up... not a great deal of talls but make up for it with players playin bigger rolls

cambruce32
19 Mar 2008, 14:21
dunno how many swans had out but heard united had about 7 or more of there starting line up out due to school commitments seniors and bushies. also when you look at guys like luke M who only played a bit over a quarter, ben rendias first game in probably over 12 months and shannon ralph who hasnt played since primary school footy... but i agree as you said swans played a solid game and did suprise and put up a good fight but if they play later in the year i think it might bit a much different game if both are at full strength. united seemed to fumble a fair bit and the skills on the night werent to flash by some of the players, maybe that just has something to do with the awesome lights they had up and going :rolleyes:

Pressure would not have anything to do with it? I saw the game I believe that United thought it was going to be a stroll in the park and were taken back by the ferocity of the tackling of the swans. They did settle but some of the foot disposal was average. The Swans also had players whose disposal was below par also. The lighting was very ordinary as you suggest in jest. You would think that a club orgainising a night comp would ensure that all the globes actually worked!!!! As for some of the players you mentioned who played for the demons i doubt that they would be in the starting line up anyway. My observations of both sides suggest that both teams had players not up to that level on first impressions, however I am sure that both teams will improve further with fitness and also getting some of the players back into both sides that did not play. The lists I saw from both clubs had about 7 out of each team. Not all of those are up to it either in my opinion. Time will tell.:D

marc_murphy88
19 Mar 2008, 14:35
name a thirds side that hasn't had a player that hasn't been up to it... you can't... it's impossible to get a team of 25-28 kids that are good enough for junior footy... any junior coach should agree with that... it's how the betta players work the one's that aren't so good into the game... matty rendina from united is the best i've ever seen in doing that