View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

premiers07
19 Mar 2008, 14:39
us swannie boys did well again united last night... united said to be one of the teams to beat. i believe we can do that. still got a few handy players to come into the side which will strengthen us right up. also some fitness will do us good... alot of teams will be suprised what swannies do this year.
yeh both teams seemed alright..a few out for each..fitness and skills will come for both teams.

footy_rulz
19 Mar 2008, 16:23
How are Shepp United shaping up? We play them in a praccy match next Saturday.

Demons4ever
19 Mar 2008, 17:32
us swannie boys did well again united last night... united said to be one of the teams to beat. i believe we can do that. still got a few handy players to come into the side which will strengthen us right up. also some fitness will do us good... alot of teams will be suprised what swannies do this year.
Don't get too cocky United were far from full strenght on the night

swans2008
19 Mar 2008, 17:58
Don't get too cocky United were far from full strenght on the night

swans were far from full strenght also.. dont believe united have a great deal to come back into thier side... Jamo can be forgotton he will play bushies all year and when not bushies it will be senior footy for him

cambruce32
19 Mar 2008, 20:45
so who was missing from the swans line up? any that will make some key differences to the team.

Poustie, Finnen Kirkman Plunkett to name a few.:rolleyes:

cambruce32
19 Mar 2008, 20:53
name a thirds side that hasn't had a player that hasn't been up to it... you can't... it's impossible to get a team of 25-28 kids that are good enough for junior footy... any junior coach should agree with that... it's how the betta players work the one's that aren't so good into the game... matty rendina from united is the best i've ever seen in doing that

simple murph they go out to the lesser leagues -with respect to those players. We are not talking junior footy - thats Under 16's mate. This is Third 18 footy. That's why the three GVFL Thirds sides (well possibly two of them) will have to cut some players. United already have cut at least 4 I understand. Swans are yet to cut and the Bears are struggling with numbers. They had about 6 Under 16 players in the side that played Kyabram tonite. The Bears apparently won the game and Ky looked average which is surprising as the have good kids coming up from Under 16's last year. Thompson, Curnow, Vick, Pryde, Lovison, Young, and others etc etc. Harris and Gooley both Under 16's were in the Bears better players. Again it is only a practice match so lets not get carried away.

cambruce32
19 Mar 2008, 20:57
swans were far from full strenght also.. dont believe united have a great deal to come back into thier side... Jamo can be forgotton he will play bushies all year and when not bushies it will be senior footy for him

To be fair they have Trevaskis and Shaw to come in who would strengthen the side I would suggest. Burness, Doyle, Rendina would not be in their best 22. Also the swans have some quality to come back also. it should be a good game when they meet.

scottwestjr
19 Mar 2008, 21:02
simple murph they go out to the lesser leagues -with respect to those players. We are not talking junior footy - thats Under 16's mate. This is Third 18 footy. That's why the three GVFL Thirds sides (well possibly two of them) will have to cut some players. United already have cut at least 4 I understand. Swans are yet to cut and the Bears are struggling with numbers. They had about 6 Under 16 players in the side that played Kyabram tonite. The Bears apparently won the game and Ky looked average which is surprising as the have good kids coming up from Under 16's last year. Thompson, Curnow, Vick, Pryde, Lovison, Young, and others etc etc. Harris and Gooley both Under 16's were in the Bears better players. Again it is only a practice match so lets not get carried away.
how did these boys go? who was best for ky?

Demons4ever
20 Mar 2008, 08:22
You might be a little wrong there, Ky actually won the game by about 4 goals over running the bears in the last quarter. Both sides showed patches of good footy and I felt that Ky were the better side on the night. Bears were not help with key players being rested for long patches eg Ridings, Thorsen and Buctin. I think both these sides will be very competitive this year..

Demons4ever
20 Mar 2008, 08:26
To be fair they have Trevaskis and Shaw to come in who would strengthen the side I would suggest. Burness, Doyle, Rendina would not be in their best 22. Also the swans have some quality to come back also. it should be a good game when they meet.
I think Burness will be in their best 22. Others to consider that were missing on the night were Goodwin and Handley. Goodwin has played GV before and is a solid player while Handley comes with big raps from Shepp East. I don't believe the night games really gives any indication of how a side might be going. United had players out of position, returning from injury and rotating players all the time. Round one will give a better guide.

jaggo
20 Mar 2008, 11:07
was at the Ky bears game last night, to put an accurate spin on it Ky won the game easily 15 goals to 8. Ky had only 19 players with 8 unavailable, injured or playing in the later game. Bears I thought looked OK but hard to get a gauge on both teams as they had quite a few out. Ky have a fair bit of improvement in them from what i saw and what has got to come back into the side.

valley man
20 Mar 2008, 15:04
was at the Ky bears game last night, to put an accurate spin on it Ky won the game easily 15 goals to 8. Ky had only 19 players with 8 unavailable, injured or playing in the later game. Bears I thought looked OK but hard to get a gauge on both teams as they had quite a few out. Ky have a fair bit of improvement in them from what i saw and what has got to come back into the side.

ky only played well for about half the match and even when the bears had more of the ball they managed to kick as many goals. much better side. Becky dominated in the air while edwards did well on ball then up forward when he was moved. Curnow provided a strong target up forward while dylan smith was solid down back. One of Ky's stars wade demasi only played about half a quarter on ball spent the rest a full forward resting a tight hamstring. Thorsen was hardly rested, ridings only played half while it wouldn't matter how long they rested buctin he had no impact anyway!!

yesnomaybe
20 Mar 2008, 15:55
ky only played well for about half the match and even when the bears had more of the ball they managed to kick as many goals. much better side. Becky dominated in the air while edwards did well on ball then up forward when he was moved. Curnow provided a strong target up forward while dylan smith was solid down back. One of Ky's stars wade demasi only played about half a quarter on ball spent the rest a full forward resting a tight hamstring. Thorsen was hardly rested, ridings only played half while it wouldn't matter how long they rested buctin he had no impact anyway!!

Interesting to see your view on the match valley man. Ky did play well, do you expect them to be a top 4 side this year, they seem to have a lot of top age kids playing that may play in the senior side. Bucktin went better in the middle than up forward. I think shepp had a few out as well.

yesnomaybe
20 Mar 2008, 15:57
Who were the 4 that United cut, i know baldwin was one. And i thought Swans had their cut after Sunday nights practice match, who did they get rid of!

valley man
20 Mar 2008, 16:06
Interesting to see your view on the match valley man. Ky did play well, do you expect them to be a top 4 side this year, they seem to have a lot of top age kids playing that may play in the senior side. Bucktin went better in the middle than up forward. I think shepp had a few out as well.

Top 4 easy if they can keep edwards, demasi, beck, orr and co in the thirds. There may be a few extra numbers coming back to ky senior side now that chris atkins is coming back to play. so that could help keep the younger guys in the thirds

swans2008
20 Mar 2008, 20:15
swans are yet to have a cut.. are cut is the most logical thing to do.. not sure how far away

yesnomaybe
20 Mar 2008, 21:17
swans are yet to have a cut.. are cut is the most logical thing to do.. not sure how far away

How many have they got to cut and who do you think they will be!

lovemefooty08
21 Mar 2008, 10:40
How many have they got to cut and who do you think they will be!
i dont know but i think they have a list of about 30-32.
so i dont know how many they will cut, not many of the boys will play seniors as the senior side is pretty strong.
so that should give them an advantage over other teams.

valley man
21 Mar 2008, 13:59
i dont know but i think they have a list of about 30-32.
so i dont know how many they will cut, not many of the boys will play seniors as the senior side is pretty strong.
so that should give them an advantage over other teams.

or their just not good enough to get a ones game

lovemefooty08
21 Mar 2008, 14:04
or their just not good enough to get a ones game
mate i reckon at least 8 of the players there would get ones games at any other club.

mercedes230
21 Mar 2008, 20:39
You might be a little wrong there, Ky actually won the game by about 4 goals over running the bears in the last quarter. Both sides showed patches of good footy and I felt that Ky were the better side on the night. Bears were not help with key players being rested for long patches eg Ridings, Thorsen and Buctin. I think both these sides will be very competitive this year..

Conflicting reports on the result but a Bears player tells me that they got beaten by 2 goals. Anyway who really cares it is a practice match and used for that. Interested in your comments D4E as the Bears had Harris from Wanganui Under 16's and at least four players from Notre in that side. Was not at the game however given the names that played in both Thirds and Seniors it would suggest to me that they are struggling for numbers if you have to have 5-6 Under 16's playing 4 you. Crawf from Bears did not play but not too sure how many others were out. They also have Thompson from Shepparton High who played on the night who will be playing for them yet he is also eligible for Under 16's. I think Chappy Young is also eligible for Under 16's as well. That makes 7-8 players from the Under 16's that played on the night. In terms of your earlier comments D4E I believe these Under 16's should be playing as much Junior footy as they can. Unfortunately your neighbours prefer to rape the Junior competition just to try and pinch a couple of good players. They have b...s..ted to one of my players and he is playing with them all year yet he had the opportunity to play in the Under 16's comp, play Interleague etc etc and get back into the bushies squad ( he was cut at the last training night). But you cannot get it thru to some of these kids because of all the crap that club spreads. I believe it is ruining our young players whom are not ready physically, mentally, emotionally and footy sense wise. Anyway you cannot control the actions of others!! Must catch up one day mate:cool:

yesnomaybe
22 Mar 2008, 08:02
Conflicting reports on the result but a Bears player tells me that they got beaten by 2 goals. Anyway who really cares it is a practice match and used for that. Interested in your comments D4E as the Bears had Harris from Wanganui Under 16's and at least four players from Notre in that side. Was not at the game however given the names that played in both Thirds and Seniors it would suggest to me that they are struggling for numbers if you have to have 5-6 Under 16's playing 4 you. Crawf from Bears did not play but not too sure how many others were out. They also have Thompson from Shepparton High who played on the night who will be playing for them yet he is also eligible for Under 16's. I think Chappy Young is also eligible for Under 16's as well. That makes 7-8 players from the Under 16's that played on the night. In terms of your earlier comments D4E I believe these Under 16's should be playing as much Junior footy as they can. Unfortunately your neighbours prefer to rape the Junior competition just to try and pinch a couple of good players. They have b...s..ted to one of my players and he is playing with them all year yet he had the opportunity to play in the Under 16's comp, play Interleague etc etc and get back into the bushies squad ( he was cut at the last training night). But you cannot get it thru to some of these kids because of all the crap that club spreads. I believe it is ruining our young players whom are not ready phsically, mentally, emotionally and footy sense wise. Anyway you cannot control the actions of others!! Must catch up one day mate:cool:

Was speaking with bears playerlast night and he said they got beat by 6 goals so very interesting! He said they played a few under 16s to make up numbers as the seniors were taking a few for their game! Dont think you will find they are raping the under 16s which is a shocking way of describing it! I tried out 4 a rival club and all they were interested in was bringing in top age kids to win and flag and not worry about kids that had helped them out the previous year! Interesting to see the swans not making a cut and holding onto a large list! A lot of juniors not going to get a game! Poor form i would have thought! Whos the one home from you to bears merc! Can i still come down there 4 a run?

its game on
22 Mar 2008, 08:59
Last year the Bears only had 2 under 16's who had great local and representative form in U15's.

AJ Crawford- GM Murray schoolboys, Vic Country U15
Luke Lowden- Picola League, GM Murray schoolboys

Shepp United have Cam Hall who is an under 16 this year.

Hardly raping and pillaging the local league.

Good recruiting, I'd call it.

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 09:04
Last year the Bears only had 2 under 16's who had under great and local form representative form in U15's.

Shepp United have Cam Hall who is under 16 this year.

Cam Hall struggles i reckon lol

its game on
22 Mar 2008, 09:13
Cam Hall struggles i reckon lol

If Mario uses him correctly and they are supportive and patient, he'll be good.:thumbsu:

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 12:47
If Mario uses him correctly and they are supportive and patient, he'll be good.:thumbsu:
yer we'll have to wait and see.

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 12:48
how can the swans keep such a large list?
i dont understand what they're doing.
im not exactly sure but i think maybe that the ones who cant get a game in the 3rds will play 2nds...

mercedes230
22 Mar 2008, 12:59
Was speaking with bears playerlast night and he said they got beat by 6 goals so very interesting! He said they played a few under 16s to make up numbers as the seniors were taking a few for their game! Dont think you will find they are raping the under 16s which is a shocking way of describing it! I tried out 4 a rival club and all they were interested in was bringing in top age kids to win and flag and not worry about kids that had helped them out the previous year! Interesting to see the swans not making a cut and holding onto a large list! A lot of juniors not going to get a game! Poor form i would have thought! Whos the one home from you to bears merc! Can i still come down there 4 a run?

The player is from an Under 16 club not the Swans. The swans are yet to have their cut as far as I know so if you want go there for a run. i do not have any official capacity at the club just an interested onlooker.:cool:

mercedes230
22 Mar 2008, 13:20
Last year the Bears only had 2 under 16's who had great local and representative form in U15's.

Shepp United have Cam Hall who is an under 16 this year.

Good recruiting, I'd call it.

Last year is history and I made no mention of United. The reference is to the Bears who had up to 8 Under 16's in the side. The are struggling for numbers. There are enough 16 and 17 year old running around footy fields that could be given a chance to play at a GVFL club wherever that maybe.

important to remember that this site creates debate and we are all entitled to our thoughts. We all have different thought processes on what is right or wrong.:cool:

Demons4ever
22 Mar 2008, 15:19
Conflicting reports on the result but a Bears player tells me that they got beaten by 2 goals. Anyway who really cares it is a practice match and used for that. Interested in your comments D4E as the Bears had Harris from Wanganui Under 16's and at least four players from Notre in that side. Was not at the game however given the names that played in both Thirds and Seniors it would suggest to me that they are struggling for numbers if you have to have 5-6 Under 16's playing 4 you. Crawf from Bears did not play but not too sure how many others were out. They also have Thompson from Shepparton High who played on the night who will be playing for them yet he is also eligible for Under 16's. I think Chappy Young is also eligible for Under 16's as well. That makes 7-8 players from the Under 16's that played on the night. In terms of your earlier comments D4E I believe these Under 16's should be playing as much Junior footy as they can. Unfortunately your neighbours prefer to rape the Junior competition just to try and pinch a couple of good players. They have b...s..ted to one of my players and he is playing with them all year yet he had the opportunity to play in the Under 16's comp, play Interleague etc etc and get back into the bushies squad ( he was cut at the last training night). But you cannot get it thru to some of these kids because of all the crap that club spreads. I believe it is ruining our young players whom are not ready physically, mentally, emotionally and footy sense wise. Anyway you cannot control the actions of others!! Must catch up one day mate:cool:
Agree with your thoughts Merc. IB from Notra should really stay and finish his last year in under 16's he is a strong boy but really still needs to give himself every chance to dominate at interleague and hopefully get noticed again by the squads. The Bears have been aproaching a lot of Under 16's to play and some of the ones you have mentioned have signed. I understand they also had a crack at Patone. I have been told that Harris and Gooley are staying with their junior clubs for the season. I hope this is true as the junior comp has had quality developing over the last couple of years and it would be good to see what these boys can really do this year. United actually have 2 under 16's on their list, Hall from Dookie and Tetley from Katunga. Like the swans, I believe that United does not currently have any SDJFL under 16's on their list. The Harris's, Patones, Bruns and Patones of the league can still learn a lot from quality coaches in Kitto and Timothee to name a couple. I don't understand what the hurry is to play GVFL Thirds.

Demons4ever
22 Mar 2008, 15:21
im not exactly sure but i think maybe that the ones who cant get a game in the 3rds will play 2nds...
I think you will find that 30 to 32 will be needed on the list to cover every possibilty. It might mean that a rotation will take place if everyone is fit and available.

Demons4ever
22 Mar 2008, 15:26
The players brought in may well have been better skilled then yourself. Having talked to a number of coaches this year, they have all stressed how difficult it was to select a squad. They go for quality as a player and a person and not whether they are top age or bottom age. Having spoken to Cooch at United and Nicho at Swans, both of them start identifying players to recruit as soon as the season commences. They are both planning ahead. If you were cut or told not to bother you should ask the relevant coach for some feedback which may help your development.

Demons4ever
22 Mar 2008, 15:30
I have seen this kid play a couple of games last year and have watched him during pre season. He has muslced up a bit and grown 3 inches since last year. Still pretty raw and has a lot to learn but I reckon cooch and the recruiters may have uncovered a good one in Hally. I thought he went alright and had a red hot go in the night game last week and kicked a goal. Anyway we will see as the season goes on.

cambruce32
22 Mar 2008, 15:44

far as i know most of the Swans sqaud are bottom age so they will be getting a game. They are better quality that most of the top age boys that are still there....... at the moment. Who is to know who might get the chop in the next few weeks.

cambruce32
22 Mar 2008, 15:56
Agree with your thoughts Merc. IB from Notra should really stay and finish his last year in under 16's he is a strong boy but really still needs to give himself every chance to dominate at interleague and hopefully get noticed again by the squads. The Bears have been aproaching a lot of Under 16's to play and some of the ones you have mentioned have signed. I understand they also had a crack at Patone. I have been told that Harris and Gooley are staying with their junior clubs for the season. I hope this is true as the junior comp has had quality developing over the last couple of years and it would be good to see what these boys can really do this year. United actually have 2 under 16's on their list, Hall from Dookie and Tetley from Katunga. Like the swans, I believe that United does not currently have any SDJFL under 16's on their list. The Harris's, Patones, Bruns and Patones of the league can still learn a lot from quality coaches in Kitto and Timothee to name a couple. I don't understand what the hurry is to play GVFL Thirds.

Can confirm they had a crack at Patone, along with Cosgriff and a few others. They have put pressure on Harris as well.

valley man
22 Mar 2008, 16:29

Ky kick 15 goals 2 behinds bears about 8-9 goals with 5-6 points cant remember exactly but. this is the score given to me by the ky thirds coach

yesnomaybe
22 Mar 2008, 16:31
Can confirm they had a crack at Patone, along with Cosgriff and a few others. They have put pressure on Harris as well.

I was speaking to a bears player the other day and he said that the under 16 kids will all play 16s except maybe brun! They have just been at training! As 4 harris they told him to play 16s and will see him next year! I think you will find all clubs have a couple under 16s!

valley man
22 Mar 2008, 16:31
mate i reckon at least 8 of the players there would get ones games at any other club.

if 8 players got ones games at other clubs, gv seniors wouldn't be the comp it is, would be more similar to kdl seniors

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 17:42
if 8 players got ones games at other clubs, gv seniors wouldn't be the comp it is, would be more similar to kdl seniors
mate u have never seen any of the swans bois play so are in no place to comment ..

valley man
22 Mar 2008, 17:51
mate u have never seen any of the swans bois play so are in no place to comment ..

big call seeing u wouldnt no who i am. played against them last year and will this year. who are the 8 u think would play?? Say in ky seniors because their list isn't strong, so might give em a chance

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 19:21
big call seeing u wouldnt no who i am. played against them last year and will this year. who are the 8 u think would play?? Say in ky seniors because their list isn't strong, so might give em a chance
first of all the list of swans 3rds is about 10 times better than it was last year and i would say these 8 would be able to play GV seniors at maybe Tat, Ky, Bears, and maybe United..
Ant Tutala
Finnen
Ben Timothee
Parris
Poustie
Barolli
Grant
Preece

valley man
22 Mar 2008, 21:36
first of all the list of swans 3rds is about 10 times better than it was last year and i would say these 8 would be able to play GV seniors at maybe Tat, Ky, Bears, and maybe United..
Ant Tutala
Finnen
Ben Timothee
Parris
Poustie
Barolli
Grant
Preece

how many of those played last year??

lovemefooty08
22 Mar 2008, 21:39
none

valley man
22 Mar 2008, 21:43
none

how many are top age/lower age? I heard finnen and preece good, not much on the rest.

swans2008
23 Mar 2008, 09:36
how many are top age/lower age? I heard finnen and preece good, not much on the rest.

all of those boys are bottom age player... being bottom age wont matter they will take the senior position and fill it quite well... Dont be suprised to see some of those boys gettin a game for swans senior side

lovemefooty08
23 Mar 2008, 09:37
barroli played half the season with the swans last year and the rest played Div 1 in the SJDFL

mercedes230
23 Mar 2008, 10:06

Finnen, Barolli, Preece, Grant and Timothee all played Interleague last year. They have all been invited to Bushies training in the past with Finnen progressing the furthest.

What is the hurry to play senior foooty when you are just out of junior footy? Their are a lot of players coming up from the Under 16 ranks that have the ability to play senior footy in time. But lets give them time to develop, grow into their bodies physically, handle the demands of thirds footy and in general become adults. The boys are all very mature however over the next 12 months they will start getting their drivers licences, some may even move out of home etc etc and their life will change enourmously. Its a big world out there and this time of life is very important and Cooch, Nicho and Wellsy have a huge responsibility in developing these players for the future. These guys are all good coaches and more importantly sensible guys who want their players to develop into quality people primarily and then the footy ability that these players have will shine through on the footy field.:cool:

cambruce32
23 Mar 2008, 10:20
Finnen, Barolli, Preece, Grant and Timothee all played Interleague last year. They have all been invited to Bushies training in the past with Finnen progressing the furthest.

What is the hurry to play senior foooty when you are just out of junior footy? Their are a lot of players coming up from the Under 16 ranks that have the ability to play senior footy in time. But lets give them time to develop, grow into their bodies physically, handle the demands of thirds footy and in general become adults. The boys are all very mature however over the next 12 months they will start getting their drivers licences, some may even move out of home etc etc and their life will change enourmously. Its a big world out there and this time of life is very important and Cooch, Nicho and Wellsy have a huge responsibility in developing these players for the future. These guys are all good coaches and more importantly sensible guys who want their players to develop into quality people primarily and then the footy ability that these players have will shine through on the footy field.:cool:

Totally agree, let em develop.

geewhynot
23 Mar 2008, 10:52
saying that 8 guys coming straight out of of the u16s comp would be able to play seniors is pretty unrealistic!! 6 of then guys have never even played un u18s game at GV yet and your already saying they could play seniors GV footy...

You would be lucky to get one of them playing a game of seniors in their first year... in the last couple of years from swans Dash has played seniors one year out of 16s and he has played vic country every year, same with nomo at united, and even they had a full year in the 3rds before doing that as 15/16yr olds...

i think you might be under-estemating (spelling) the standard of GV seniors just a bit...

lovemefooty08
23 Mar 2008, 11:00
saying that 8 guys coming straight out of of the u16s comp would be able to play seniors is pretty unrealistic!! 6 of then guys have never even played un u18s game at GV yet and your already saying they could play seniors GV footy...

You would be lucky to get one of them playing a game of seniors in their first year... in the last couple of years from swans Dash has played seniors one year out of 16s and he has played vic country every year, same with nomo at united, and even they had a full year in the 3rds before doing that as 15/16yr olds...

i think you might be under-estemating (spelling) the standard of GV seniors just a bit...
But Normo and Dash were in pretty strong senior sides those years and that is thje situation that thses boys are in mate !!

yesnomaybe
23 Mar 2008, 11:34

Totally agree with you merc! All 3 coaches have a huge responsibility to make sure there kids are not thrown into senior footy too early because they are good juniors! It is a big step ame even some of the best under 18 kids dont handle it ame then drop away! It is more important that there kids develop their skills and become good young men in the community!

west19
23 Mar 2008, 13:12
:thumbsu: i agree with this... could anyone see the shepp bears holding their gun juniors back to have a crack at the 3rds flag?? rather than getting a majority of a senior group of the thirds players to play up. this senior group has been building for a while now.. and if they did play 'up' it is going to be a long year for the bears, in all forms.

geewhynot
23 Mar 2008, 13:22
But Normo and Dash were in pretty strong senior sides those years and that is thje situation that thses boys are in mate !!

yer but none of the 8 guys you mentioned are in the same category as what them blokes were...

at the same age Dash and Normo had already played Vic u12s, Vic Country 15s and 16s, had a full season in the GV 3rds and a full u18s bushies pre-season.. hence part of the reason they played seniors at the age they did and why next to none of the guys you mentioned will play a senior game this year.. just my opinion anyway. they/you might step up and prove me wrong and good luck i hope you do mate :thumbsu:

lovemefooty08
23 Mar 2008, 13:42
yer but none of the 8 guys you mentioned are in the same category as what them blokes were...

at the same age Dash and Normo had already played Vic u12s, Vic Country 15s and 16s, had a full season in the GV 3rds and a full u18s bushies pre-season.. hence part of the reason they played seniors at the age they did and why next to none of the guys you mentioned will play a senior game this year.. just my opinion anyway. they/you might step up and prove me wrong and good luck i hope you do mate :thumbsu:
i never said they would play seniors..
because the swans have a strong seniros line up

Demons4ever
23 Mar 2008, 14:07

Last Year United had 7 or 8 thirds players get senior games, of these on James Cullum, Friedlieb and Daniels were in there 1st year out of Under 16's or aged 16 or 17. Rendina, S Campbell, T Campbell, Bingham, were all in their last year of thirds. Friedlieb had hieght on his side, Daniels was in bushies and Cullum was just a freak show. The point I am trying to make is that it takes an exceptional footballer to crack seniors first year out of 16's. All the swan players mentioned are no doubt exceptional players. However at this stage I think Finnen would be the only one capable of cracking a senior game. The others need to mature in body and skill levels and no doubt will all be pushing in their second year.

lovemefooty08
23 Mar 2008, 16:27
Last Year United had 7 or 8 thirds players get senior games, of these on James Cullum, Friedlieb and Daniels were in there 1st year out of Under 16's or aged 16 or 17. Rendina, S Campbell, T Campbell, Bingham, were all in their last year of thirds. Friedlieb had hieght on his side, Daniels was in bushies and Cullum was just a freak show. The point I am trying to make is that it takes an exceptional footballer to crack seniors first year out of 16's. All the swan players mentioned are no doubt exceptional players. However at this stage I think Finnen would be the only one capable of cracking a senior game. The others need to mature in body and skill levels and no doubt will all be pushing in their second year.
Yes i totally agree

swans2008
23 Mar 2008, 18:47

Bushies shouldnt matter... the bushranger system is not the greatest and there is some players who could be playing under 18 TAC cup football... i have no dought that nearly all the players metioned from the swans side could play senior footy and will... body wise still have a little bit to grow but all have great footy minds to adapt to the standard and play there body can play. skills from those players is at a standard of those senior footballers. the only thing stoppin them is such a strong list... Senior football can help a young player in development. football wise and as a person in society. It would not only be an honour to play senior footy as a young fella but a huge responsability..

its game on
23 Mar 2008, 20:50
Bushies shouldnt matter... the bushranger system is not the greatest and there is some players who could be playing under 18 TAC cup football... i have no dought that nearly all the players metioned from the swans side could play senior footy and will... body wise still have a little bit to grow but all have great footy minds to adapt to the standard and play there body can play. skills from those players is at a standard of those senior footballers. the only thing stoppin them is such a strong list... Senior football can help a young player in development. football wise and as a person in society. It would not only be an honour to play senior footy as a young fella but a huge responsability..

I would have thought a grand final in the TAC Cup at the MCG on AFL grand final day is pretty impressive.

A first, and a second round draft pick and rookies to boot would also say that they ticked those boxes too.

Runners up to the Calder Cannons who have been the benchmark for a number of years in the TAC Cup is a great achievement. The regional TAC Cup clubs also have greater logistical issues. I guess there is no pleasing some people.

Maybe you could tell us all, how they should do it.

valley man
23 Mar 2008, 20:56

Totally agree mate.

valley man
23 Mar 2008, 21:00

think ur placing to much importance on playing senior footy. Thirds is the last chance u get to play with ur mates and senior footy will be there for next 5-10 years of ur career. 3-4 bottom age ky players got asked last year that said no and a couple of other bottom age players played seniors. Neither developed or made them any better players.

swans2008
23 Mar 2008, 22:33
I would have thought a grand final in the TAC Cup at the MCG on AFL grand final day is pretty impressive.

A first, and a second round draft pick and rookies to boot would also say that they ticked those boxes too.

Runners up to the Calder Cannons who have been the benchmark for a number of years in the TAC Cup is a great achievement. The regional TAC Cup clubs also have greater logistical issues. I guess there is no pleasing some people.

Maybe you could tell us all, how they should do it.

what I mean by bushies is not the best system because there are other players out there who could play TAC cup footy but are judged on 1 or 2 pray matches... if u can get in then good luck u done well...

swans2008
23 Mar 2008, 22:43
think ur placing to much importance on playing senior footy. Thirds is the last chance u get to play with ur mates and senior footy will be there for next 5-10 years of ur career. 3-4 bottom age ky players got asked last year that said no and a couple of other bottom age players played seniors. Neither developed or made them any better players.

Yes I agree its last chance to play mates and have some fun..a couple games of senior footy out of 36 is not going to hurt a player and help in development.. It also depends on the mind set of a person and how they handle it..for those kyabram boys its extremely hard to develop when your side is getting belted everyweek..

valley man
23 Mar 2008, 23:35
Yes I agree its last chance to play mates and have some fun..a couple games of senior footy out of 36 is not going to hurt a player and help in development.. It also depends on the mind set of a person and how they handle it..for those kyabram boys its extremely hard to develop when your side is getting belted everyweek..

spot on mate. us boys that got asked last year will probably play ones this year but still play a few thirds games when we play the better thirds sides because the thirds have a good chance of making finals and doing well. hopefully!!!

cambruce32
25 Mar 2008, 23:07
Does anyone know of any practice games around Shepparton this weekend? If so, when and where?

footy_rulz
26 Mar 2008, 10:16
Does anyone know of any practice games around Shepparton this weekend? If so, when and where?

Shepp United v Echuca United at Deakin on Saturday Arvo.

swans2008
26 Mar 2008, 20:32
shepp swans vs golden square... saturday

cambruce32
27 Mar 2008, 07:54
Shepp United v Echuca United at Deakin on Saturday Arvo.

Time?

cambruce32
27 Mar 2008, 07:55
shepp swans vs golden square... saturday

What time Swans2008?

Demons4ever
27 Mar 2008, 09:56
Time?
4.30pm Start at Deakin

whitewater
27 Mar 2008, 12:42
how do u think the dees will go against tat and echuca...

Demons4ever
27 Mar 2008, 15:43
how do u think the dees will go against tat and echuca...
IMO I think United will be very strong against both sides. Tatura will be relying on their Bushies boys in Hicks, Durwood and Buffer to field their best side on the day. I don't know if they will have enough depth to match up with the Dees. Echuca on the other hand will be stronger and match up evenly with the Dees. A lot will depend on individual availabilities and performances on the day. I think this years third's competition will be close with a lot of sides improving and not too many blow outs. From what I have heard I think Euroa will struggle and everyone else has improved. Can't wait to see the results from the split round next week.

whitewater
27 Mar 2008, 18:19
yer well heard united have a few out so is this going to effect there performance on the night. who will the match ups be do u think

da goodes
27 Mar 2008, 21:09
yer well heard united have a few out so is this going to effect there performance on the night. who will the match ups be do u think

if they have a few out it prob will affect their performance lol. this is a pracy match... you wont see a full strength unit out there.

footy_rulz
27 Mar 2008, 21:10
Shepp and Echuca game cancelled for Saturday.

bennyc
27 Mar 2008, 23:25
alex keath to bears. wont get to many games as he plays in melbourne bu will be handy in the games he plays for them.

kicking_goals
28 Mar 2008, 16:53
alex keath to bears. wont get to many games as he plays in melbourne bu will be handy in the games he plays for them.

Would more than handy for the bears
Because i have heard that they are struggling for height

swans2008
28 Mar 2008, 17:52
What time Swans2008?

10am at princess

supercoach08
28 Mar 2008, 18:35
Hello gentleman,

does anyone know of any local practice matches this weekend around the district? if you could list who, where and what time that would be great. cheers

1Mitch1
29 Mar 2008, 00:27
was at the match between united and tatura on friday night in the stanhope night series. not a bad standard of footy to watch but still plenty of improvement left in both sides. united ended up winning pretty comfortably by around 30 points. IMO tats best player on the night was billy lovell whilst united had a couple of standouts including hewlett and mellington

whitewater
29 Mar 2008, 13:39
was at the match between united and tatura on friday night in the stanhope night series. not a bad standard of footy to watch but still plenty of improvement left in both sides. united ended up winning pretty comfortably by around 30 points. IMO tats best player on the night was billy lovell whilst united had a couple of standouts including hewlett and mellington

tat were pretty lucky united didnt kick straight, something like 17 points.. in the first quarter they kicked 1goal 7.. they ended up running away with the game to win by 50 points in the end 30 to 80.. funny you say billy was one of their best i didnt see him in the action to much, but maybe i just wasnt looking to hard... cant take much from the game as tat were missing 10 of their best so united were expected to win comfortably.. will be a very good game when both sides are full strength in the year!

ENGNE
29 Mar 2008, 17:21
is chappy young playing gv?

Johnny Tapp
29 Mar 2008, 20:32
spot on mate. us boys that got asked last year will probably play ones this year but still play a few thirds games when we play the better thirds sides because the thirds have a good chance of making finals and doing well. hopefully!!!

If you do play Ky seniors this year, the expectations will be a lot higher with Dirty coaching, but the chance to learning from IMO the best coach in country Vic will be well worth it.

Johnny Tapp
29 Mar 2008, 20:36

Say that is a problem with the coaching rather the level if no one developed. You should always strive to play the highest level you can, you learn more and when you do go back to thirds, you should have a lot more confidence.

StEvIe 09
29 Mar 2008, 21:31
dose anyone now how shepp swans went today?

jaggo
29 Mar 2008, 22:21
also saw united play, very impressive. hard running with height all over the ground. Will definately be in the mix come late September. Report from the KY v's Kangaroo flat game was mixed. Both sides played a hard brand of footy. apparently Will jackson broke his leg which will be a huge loss for the Ky boys. Tight game till 3/4 time then ky broke loose. Oggie played his first game for for the bombers as apparently the bushies gave him a clearance for 1/2 a game. Reports are he turned the game for Ky and they ran away in the last 1/4 to win by 5 goals.Ogden kicked three in the second half. eddie didn't play though would have to think that Jackson will be a big loss for the Ky team as the season starts.

Pies04
30 Mar 2008, 09:59
Cappy signed with Bears. Has done all pre season and will be good pickup. Gets plenty of the ball and what he lack in height makes up with good ground skills. Very similar type player to Willo from Mooroopna.

cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 14:07
dose anyone now how shepp swans went today?

Got smashed 28 goals to 9. Golden Square, who won the flag last year according to an official I was talking to, were too tall, fast and were very well skilled in bringing the ball downb the corridor. They centred the ball on every occasion within 50 and there 27 - 8 destifies their accuracy. Most were top age players apparently .

Better players for the Swans were No 1, a left footer they called him BK or BJ or something like that, No 7 Mercs (?), No 11 Finnen (?), 13 Newbs or something (wore a headband),and a red headed kid no 33 bobby.

A lot of the players were rested for a fair amount of the game as they have to play 2nite at Stanhope. 9 players did not play at all and their were several players who are clearly not up to it. Reckon they used the game to work out who they may cut. I counted five that were not up to the standard.

cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 14:07
Cappy signed with Bears. Has done all pre season and will be good pickup. Gets plenty of the ball and what he lack in height makes up with good ground skills. Very similar type player to Willo from Mooroopna.

Willo would give him a bath. Not in the same league as Willo.

premiers07
30 Mar 2008, 14:21
Would more than handy for the bears
Because i have heard that they are struggling for height
u should know if they are struggling for height i would of thought kicking goals seeing you do play for bears in the under 18s. don't try and pretend you don't play for them:phaha

lovemefooty08
30 Mar 2008, 15:38
Got smashed 28 goals to 9. Golden Square, who won the flag last year according to an official I was talking to, were too tall, fast and were very well skilled in bringing the ball downb the corridor. They centred the ball on every occasion within 50 and there 27 - 8 destifies their accuracy. Most were top age players apparently .

Better players for the Swans were No 1, a left footer they called him BK or BJ or something like that, No 7 Mercs (?), No 11 Finnen (?), 13 Newbs or something (wore a headband),and a red headed kid no 33 bobby.

A lot of the players were rested for a fair amount of the game as they have to play 2nite at Stanhope. 9 players did not play at all and their were several players who are clearly not up to it. Reckon they used the game to work out who they may cut. I counted five that were not up to the standard.
who were the 5 not up to standard?
and its BT

tigers09
30 Mar 2008, 15:57

yeh whos not up to it?

premiers07
30 Mar 2008, 20:52
who were the 5 not up to standard?
and its BT
TOM PREECE wasnt up to it. haha.
cam bruce you shouldnt pretend like u dont no the name of the number 1 in the swans colours.

premiers07
30 Mar 2008, 21:07
Willo would give him a bath. Not in the same league as Willo.
nah i think DANIEL TIMOTHEE would give any1 a bath :D

lovemefooty08
30 Mar 2008, 21:18
daniel ur a ********.
go and play ur shit div 1 league.

valley man
30 Mar 2008, 21:42
Say that is a problem with the coaching rather the level if no one developed. You should always strive to play the highest level you can, you learn more and when you do go back to thirds, you should have a lot more confidence.

Fair point

valley man
30 Mar 2008, 21:50
also saw united play, very impressive. hard running with height all over the ground. Will definately be in the mix come late September. Report from the KY v's Kangaroo flat game was mixed. Both sides played a hard brand of footy. apparently Will jackson broke his leg which will be a huge loss for the Ky boys. Tight game till 3/4 time then ky broke loose. Oggie played his first game for for the bombers as apparently the bushies gave him a clearance for 1/2 a game. Reports are he turned the game for Ky and they ran away in the last 1/4 to win by 5 goals.Ogden kicked three in the second half. eddie didn't play though would have to think that Jackson will be a big loss for the Ky team as the season starts.

Eddie only had a bad corky will be ready for season opener. Jacko big loss for sure. Can play forward or back, big strong body and a great kick of the pill. As for oggie turning the game. He played well but got a few cheap goals crumming in the goal square. the whole team just played the footy they are capable of instead of the shit they produced in the 2nd and 3rd quarters

cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 21:50
TOM PREECE wasnt up to it. haha.
cam bruce you shouldnt pretend like u dont no the name of the number 1 in the swans colours.

what do ya mean? Never met the kid.

cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 21:52

what are you going on about? I live out of town and dont know this bloke.

cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 21:54
yeh whos not up to it?

not for me to say on this site. its only an opinion. more involved elsewhere wiyh another footy club. just watch a lot of footy

tigers09
30 Mar 2008, 22:00
not for me to say on this site. its only an opinion. more involved elsewhere wiyh another footy club. just watch a lot of footy
yeh get a life.