View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)
cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 22:03
yeh get a life.
that was worthwhile!!!
cambruce32
30 Mar 2008, 22:06
u should know if they are struggling for height i would of thought kicking goals seeing you do play for bears in the under 18s. don't try and pretend you don't play for them:phaha
hey know-all, how did the Swans go at Stanhope. You were there as i see you posted on another site re nagambie.
mercedes230
30 Mar 2008, 22:14
TOM PREECE wasnt up to it. haha.
cam bruce you shouldnt pretend like u dont no the name of the number 1 in the swans colours.
No 1 is my son. Dont know who Cam Bruce is tho.:cool:
lovemefooty08
30 Mar 2008, 22:15
hey know-all, how did the Swans go at Stanhope. You were there as i see you posted on another site re nagambie.
Swans won by bout 10 goals
mercedes230
30 Mar 2008, 22:18
Swans by 60 odd points:cool:
Alley cat
30 Mar 2008, 22:29
Seymour beat East Burwood by 20 goals to 5 at Kings Park today, dunno how that ranks against other GV clubs but they were impressive. May cause some heartache to other teams who are unaware of the young Lions, bit like last season maybe. Good to see some of last years thirds doing really well in the seniors praccy matches so far:thumbsu::thumbsu:
lovemefooty08
30 Mar 2008, 22:55
Swans by 60 odd points:cool:
Which is 10 goals mate..:)
tigers09
30 Mar 2008, 23:03
Which is 10 goals mate..:)
any standouts for swans?
having to back up after a tough game the day before would have been a bit difficult.
cambruce32
1 Apr 2008, 20:00
what time does the final start at stanhope tomorrow. I am in Geelong on business and am trying to get back? How are the two sides going to approach the game? United have the real deal on the weekend so are they going flat out or not?
swans2008
1 Apr 2008, 20:06
what time does the final start at stanhope tomorrow. I am in Geelong on business and am trying to get back? How are the two sides going to approach the game? United have the real deal on the weekend so are they going flat out or not?
game starts at 8pm in stanhope. united should be right. this will be swans 3rd game plus a training tonight in 5 days
cambruce32
1 Apr 2008, 21:57
game starts at 8pm in stanhope. united should be right. this will be swans 3rd game plus a training tonight in 5 days
what have we got you worried already. We trained last night and played on Friday so its not much different and from all reports you cant count saturday as a game you never had the footy!!!
lovemefooty08
1 Apr 2008, 22:17
what have we got you worried already. We trained last night and played on Friday so its not much different and from all reports you cant count saturday as a game you never had the footy!!!
mate
i can tell u united would've lost by almost just as much..
they were freaks.. you'd think united would have upper hand as swans will play 3 games in 5 days?
swans2008
2 Apr 2008, 10:10
Swannie boys not worried at all. we right to take it up to united... Golden square coach told swans that that was there complete side which was a grand final side from last year which made nearly all top age and included 5 pioneers. swans had 7 players out.
geewhynot
2 Apr 2008, 12:22
good to see the rivalry starting up for tonights match!! should be a very good close game i think.. wondering if it does rain who that will favor??
scary to think that golden square actually had 3 or so of their best players not playing due to playing Pois that weekend as well..
swans should be going at full tilt tonight as they get the weekend off.. they having nothing to lose after going down to united last time.
dont think united are playing their strongest team as they have to play round one 3days later...
and i can see were the swans boys are coming from they will probably go into the game worse off due to playin the 3 games over the last week.. but i think going into round one for united is a bit different as your playing for 4 points.. no use risking players and going all out just to win a night series..
united by 2 goals for me
Demons4ever
2 Apr 2008, 17:01
good to see the rivalry starting up for tonights match!! should be a very good close game i think.. wondering if it does rain who that will favor??
scary to think that golden square actually had 3 or so of their best players not playing due to playing Pois that weekend as well..
swans should be going at full tilt tonight as they get the weekend off.. they having nothing to lose after going down to united last time.
dont think united are playing their strongest team as they have to play round one 3days later...
and i can see were the swans boys are coming from they will probably go into the game worse off due to playin the 3 games over the last week.. but i think going into round one for united is a bit different as your playing for 4 points.. no use risking players and going all out just to win a night series..
united by 2 goals for me
United are resting 3 or 4 tonight due to first round on Saturday. Should be a good game. The conditions and lights bring all sides closer and there wasn't much in it last time they met. Being a United fan I have to pick United by 2 to 3 goals, however I think the Swans form is better after pumping Rochy and with a close to full side in (disregard the Golden Square game).
mercedes230
2 Apr 2008, 23:17
United are resting 3 or 4 tonight due to first round on Saturday. Should be a good game. The conditions and lights bring all sides closer and there wasn't much in it last time they met. Being a United fan I have to pick United by 2 to 3 goals, however I think the Swans form is better after pumping Rochy and with a close to full side in (disregard the Golden Square game).
No excuses, the United boys were too tall and strong again and ran away with the game in the last quarter and a half after an even match to then. Swans players did get tired and the stats indicate that but such is life. They have had two good games to date and at this stage United seem to have the measure of the young Swans but the game in a few weeks will be a top one. United had a few out as did the Swans however once the season proper starts and both sides are at full strength it will be an intruiging contest. United won by about 35 points in the end.
whitewater
3 Apr 2008, 08:38
No excuses, the United boys were too tall and strong again and ran away with the game in the last quarter and a half after an even match to then. Swans players did get tired and the stats indicate that but such is life. They have had two good games to date and at this stage United seem to have the measure of the young Swans but the game in a few weeks will be a top one. United had a few out as did the Swans however once the season proper starts and both sides are at full strength it will be an intruiging contest. United won by about 35 points in the end.
well said... swans played really well last night but united were just too fit for them in the end... swans have some young and interesting players on the track and with some more experience in the GV they will become alot stronger.. good luck for both sides:)
tigers09
3 Apr 2008, 11:46
tom preece absolutely killed it last night, tough in and under player not scared of the big boys from united, very impressive.
i agree. played a blinder. got a couple of hit's but got straight back up. should play well this year.:thumbsu:
scottwestjr
3 Apr 2008, 16:05
who won player of the series in div 1 for the stanhope night comp?
mercedes230
3 Apr 2008, 20:08
rochester lad No 3 think his name is nick hyden. he goes alright but a few were a bit stiff not to get selected considering Rochy got pumped. Mellington and Muggleton are two that played well in two games that i saw. Anyway its done and dusted but Hyden is a pretty good talent:cool:
tigers09
3 Apr 2008, 20:36
tom preece should have won, without a doubt.
Demons4ever
4 Apr 2008, 08:01
rochester lad No 3 think his name is nick hyden. he goes alright but a few were a bit stiff not to get selected considering Rochy got pumped. Mellington and Muggleton are two that played well in two games that i saw. Anyway its done and dusted but Hyden is a pretty good talent:cool:
Agree with you, thought Mellington dominated in 2 prelim games, didn't see the final. Muggles played well in the first but missed the second due to soccer committments. Preece is going to be a top player this year if he can stand up over a full year. A lot will depend of the ability of Nicho to rotate his midfield and allow Preece times out of the stoppages. Don't think we wil see the best of him until about round 6 when he has fully adapted to thirds pace. United were keen to get him and its easy to understand why, has quality written all over him.
tigers09
4 Apr 2008, 19:58
Agree with you, thought Mellington dominated in 2 prelim games, didn't see the final. Muggles played well in the first but missed the second due to soccer committments. Preece is going to be a top player this year if he can stand up over a full year. A lot will depend of the ability of Nicho to rotate his midfield and allow Preece times out of the stoppages. Don't think we wil see the best of him until about round 6 when he has fully adapted to thirds pace. United were keen to get him and its easy to understand why, has quality written all over him.
yeh we havent seen the best of him yet, and he would have got best on ground on wednesday night.
imagine what he can do when he hits his peak.
scottwestjr
4 Apr 2008, 20:02
it said in the kyabram free press that sam latter won it from rochy is this wrong?
lovemefooty08
5 Apr 2008, 23:42
was at the game between united and bears today at deakin. united belted the bears but bears had a few out inclluding ridings, thorsen, bucktin, woodcock and pullen. bears really didnt have many stand outs on the day but up forward lowden provided a good optiion with his limited opportunities, other better players for the bears including dunne and mcmullan. United were a dominant force and look set for a massive year. They out muscled their smaller bear opponents with plenty of big bodies in the side. Gribben had a great game and kicked a bag whilst Mellington had a solid day in the ruck. Liam Ryan took a great hanger in the goal square and was solid all day. Their smaller players in doyle and burness provided the united forwards with good options all day and ran ragged all day. Overall not bad brand of footy and both sides look forward to a exciting year of footy.
cambruce32
6 Apr 2008, 09:15
was at the game between united and bears today at deakin. united belted the bears but bears had a few out inclluding ridings, thorsen, bucktin, woodcock and pullen. bears really didnt have many stand outs on the day but up forward lowden provided a good optiion with his limited opportunities, other better players for the bears including dunne and mcmullan. United were a dominant force and look set for a massive year. They out muscled their smaller bear opponents with plenty of big bodies in the side. Gribben had a great game and kicked a bag whilst Mellington had a solid day in the ruck. Liam Ryan took a great hanger in the goal square and was solid all day. Their smaller players in doyle and burness provided the united forwards with good options all day and ran ragged all day. Overall not bad brand of footy and both sides look forward to a exciting year of footy.
Bears were very ordinary. Those guys you mentioned would predominately play seniors this year perhaps. We also had a few out as well including Jordo, Sully, Jacko, Normo and others. It is going to be along year for the Bears i reckon who had some Under 16's in the side. Gribben is a superstar and Tuckett is a gun. O'Dwyer is also a good footballer and its the first time I have had a good look at him in daylight matches. Muggleton was down I thought, McLuskey was solid as was Shaw. They will be very hard to beat this year. Tall, fast and very strong in the air.
geewhynot
6 Apr 2008, 13:00
Bears were very ordinary. Those guys you mentioned would predominately play seniors this year perhaps. We also had a few out as well including Jordo, Sully, Jacko, Normo and others. It is going to be along year for the Bears i reckon who had some Under 16's in the side. Gribben is a superstar and Tuckett is a gun. O'Dwyer is also a good footballer and its the first time I have had a good look at him in daylight matches. Muggleton was down I thought, McLuskey was solid as was Shaw. They will be very hard to beat this year. Tall, fast and very strong in the air.
also from the ones you mentioned they had big simmo keddel out along with jye warren to add speed and skill in the midfield
Thought that Echuca looked very good in defeating a gallant Mooroopna on Saturday.Have got some strong talls, Gorman would have to be 195 cm at least and bart phillips played a great game. An even side with good players on all lines. Ismail ran hard off half back and set up alot of attacks for the Echuca boys. I feel that Mooroopna were still under done and that there is a fair bit of improvement in them. Would agree totally with assessments of United. Very impressive unit who will be in the thick of it come September.
da goodes
7 Apr 2008, 12:17
bart is a great player and showed leadership for echuca.
united will be a strong team this year.... round three will be a great contest but i think echuca will be too good and will be tough to beat this season.
snoopdiggitydog
7 Apr 2008, 19:48
Josh Gribben has had a good solid pre season and totally deserved a good performance on the weekend. Put alot of bulk on and has improved skills and will be a force this year if he can keep his form up
Demons4ever
8 Apr 2008, 14:08
I agree that United were impressive but lets not get carried away, the opposition wasn't that strong on the day. All the boys that have been mentioned performed well. I was interested in some of the lesser known players. I was really impressed with the games of Doyle and Burness who seemed to pick up a lot of possessions by smart running and crumbing, I think they will both develop into handy players. ODwyer and Jack OSullivan were tough and really hurt some people with solid tackles. However I was most impressed with Tetley and Collins who played in a number of positions throughout the day and completey dominated and caused a lot of damage. I'm looking forward to the next few weeks with the team playing Mansfield, Echuca, Swans, Mooroopna and Kyabram. All sides that have been identified as being stronger or improved from last year. If they can win more then they lose over the next 5 rounds then they might just be serious contenders. It would have been good to have played Seymour as well early on to get a measurement against last years premiers but they don't play them until round eleven. And back to last weeks game, I spoke to Coach and Ass Coach who were still not entireley happy with some of the errors that the boys made. They mast be tough taskmasters as I thought the boys played a sensational game.
tigers09
9 Apr 2008, 11:08
When Dene Normington comes back into the United line up he will provide a strong focal point up front with his smart running and fine ass.
bomberbandit99
9 Apr 2008, 11:08
i think the real stand out player for shepp and united was burna! for his size he killed it, will go very well this yr in thirds might even make an appearance in seniors.....:D
tigers09
9 Apr 2008, 11:11
And also i forgot to mention the standout performance of young Samuel Burness on Saturday, hes a tough little nut, with alot of balls when going in hard for the ball.
Should be in seniors in next couple of rounds. Also a great young person who has the right attitude for GVFL seniors.
Big balls too. :thumbsu:
bruno-ppls-champion
9 Apr 2008, 12:27
adam lovison big hearted player with good skills except 4 his kickin that needs a bit of improvement apart from that he goes well should be good 4 ky in the ruck this year
barrasi31
9 Apr 2008, 19:28
how did ismail go against moroopna?
exceptional player in 16's, should have a big year in thirds
higgins69
9 Apr 2008, 21:55
anyone got any tips for this weekends games
how did ismail go against moroopna?
exceptional player in 16's, should have a big year in thirds
He did what he did all year last year. Ran hard off the half back line with no forward being accountable to him. Played very well and set up numerous attacking drives. He is a very good player who is important to the side for the rebound he provides.
geewhynot
10 Apr 2008, 16:55
How do u think the Shepp Swans will go this weekend against Tatura? i've heard Tat r goin to be at full strength?
bruno-ppls-champion
10 Apr 2008, 21:18
b edwards should kill it this year for ky he has no fear
mango45
11 Apr 2008, 13:12
wat about covo bruno he is just as good or maybe better haha and bruno do u play for stanhope
How do u think the Shepp Swans will go this weekend against Tatura? i've heard Tat r goin to be at full strength?
Tatura are definetly not near full strength.. they will be missing 7 of their best players.. due to bushrangers and seniors.. so i have no idea where u heard that from
swans2008
13 Apr 2008, 20:38
well done to the shepp swans against tat... great start to the season and great to see there is a lot of positive to come out of the game for the future... past years havent been great for the club but maybe this might be the start of something new... each player done there part and put together a great win with great running and linking up with handballs... Both sides still have 5 or 6 players to come into each team but i guess there is no excuses on the day.. well done swannies
Demons4ever
13 Apr 2008, 21:35
well done to the shepp swans against tat... great start to the season and great to see there is a lot of positive to come out of the game for the future... past years havent been great for the club but maybe this might be the start of something new... each player done there part and put together a great win with great running and linking up with handballs... Both sides still have 5 or 6 players to come into each team but i guess there is no excuses on the day.. well done swannies
Who are the players that swans have to come in, knowing their list that was close to their best side. Dash played bushies, who else is there? Tat had about 4 playing seniors and a couple in bushies. Well done to swans but not a lot to come into that side. I saw the game and it was only late in the game that they dominated after a close first half. Couldn't understand why jesse finnen played down back, thought he might have played midfield. Next 3 weeks will show were the swannies are placed with games against Mooroopna, Ky and United coming up. They will be competitive this year and have a good style of play developing. A little bit of luck might even see them play a couple of final games. My only concern is their lack of bigger bodies and quality depth.
bomberbandit99
14 Apr 2008, 17:45
well done swannies! good effort by all, but i think the stand out player was Micka Magee, was a focul point up forward kicking 2 goals and missing 3, also great first game by chris grant, has had trouble with his legs in the past and is great to see him up and running!!
thanks for reading :thumbsu:
footy_rulz
14 Apr 2008, 17:47
well done swannies! good effort by all, but i think the stand out player was Micka Magee, was a focul point up forward kicking 2 goals and missing 3, also great first game by chris grant, has had trouble with his legs in the past and is great to see him up and running!!
thanks for reading :thumbsu:
How'd Zack Betson go?
higgins69
14 Apr 2008, 18:32
What did anyone think of the seymour-benalla game?
swans2008
14 Apr 2008, 20:26
How'd Zack Betson go?
zac betson awesome game. ran and read the ball well
swans2008
14 Apr 2008, 20:29
Who are the players that swans have to come in, knowing their list that was close to their best side. Dash played bushies, who else is there? Tat had about 4 playing seniors and a couple in bushies. Well done to swans but not a lot to come into that side. I saw the game and it was only late in the game that they dominated after a close first half. Couldn't understand why jesse finnen played down back, thought he might have played midfield. Next 3 weeks will show were the swannies are placed with games against Mooroopna, Ky and United coming up. They will be competitive this year and have a good style of play developing. A little bit of luck might even see them play a couple of final games. My only concern is their lack of bigger bodies and quality depth.
Dash wont play 3rds at all.. he will be into seniors straight away... matt parris and shuan power will come back in to provide depth in back line. brad said might come back to add some strength. jaydn newbignin also may play in the side. milli barolli and sen ismet will be edging to play in the side also
Thread continues in part 2: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=440774