View Full Version : Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Manbearpig
28 Dec 2006, 19:43
Hey i get my information from the horse he has know reason to lie, unlike others

Hopefully not the same horse who taught you how to spell.

beaglehound
28 Dec 2006, 20:16
Should take this to the Shepp news, they could look into it. They won't find anything.
Cain1 should keep pretty quiet on this, he is well known to have offered money to 17 year olds to get them to play at dookie.
Yeah, fair point backtoback1. I know the crew at Bears and they are a professional unit. Cannot see them paying juniors to sign. Enough said on this topic, if Cain1 has proof then he should follow up with it otherwise leave it alone. A lot of talk about the Bears, any news about United, Mooroopna and Swans? I hear that United should improve, Mooroopna to drop a peg, and Swans to struggle again. Can anyone provide any info?

cain1
28 Dec 2006, 20:42
yeah to give the answer some people offered a player who lives in Dookie money to return to Dookie this year to play were he lives. I was the go between for that player and he decided to stay with the bears at least i am honest about everything.Should take this to the Shepp news, they could look into it. They won't find anything.
Cain1 should keep pretty quiet on this, he is well known to have offered money to 17 year olds to get them to play at dookie.

Manbearpig
28 Dec 2006, 21:08
yeah to give the answer some people offered a player who lives in Dookie money to return to Dookie this year to play were he lives. I was the go between for that player and he decided to stay with the bears at least i am honest about everything.

You're a classic. Sterling about-face there. Does "honest" include your quote; "Shepp Bears go to bushie training days and give cash incentives to player who make bushies to come play for their club."? Because I'll tell you straight out that that does not happen.

You should stay out of this forum, you're making the place look untidy.

big tony
30 Dec 2006, 09:31
does anyone know whether tom rocliffe will be playing this year or having the year off due to the injury he sustained playing for vic country last year

roberts-thompson
30 Dec 2006, 22:03
nahhh id say he'd be playing bro, is able to start running half way through jan.. should be on the track with the rangers i'd think

barto #22
1 Jan 2007, 16:24
Just making a comment, what happened to going an playing footy on the weekends an havin a good time playing with ya mates? whats all this crap about getting paid is a load of ********! if this is happening its F@$kin underaged football. it will turn them into playing for the money not for the fun of the game! any comments?

Doona2
1 Jan 2007, 16:29
There are already enough 18-19 year olds putting their hands out for $$$ with high opinions of themselves, paying them when they played underage football might just be the reason . . . . Pretty sad if it's happening although I highly doubt it.

jenjams
1 Jan 2007, 16:55
Just making a comment, what happened to going an playing footy on the weekends an havin a good time playing with ya mates? whats all this crap about getting paid is a load of ********! if this is happening its F@$kin underaged football. it will turn them into playing for the money not for the fun of the game! any comments?

My brother coaches a GVFL 3rds side and he tells me they definitely don't or wouldn't pay under 18 players at his club and doubts any others would. Think some false accusations have been made in this thread.

roberts-thompson
1 Jan 2007, 20:51
yeah sounds like cain1 might be just shooting off cos he's angry he didnt score this big fella whos going to the bears... but i spose we will never know... so who cares, we wont lose any sleep at the end of the day just means we will have to try harder to be beat the force the bears have.

God's Country
2 Jan 2007, 09:58
Being pretty involved with the Mooroopna 3rds side, i can tell you that some clubs are looking to pay kids money for to play football which is an outright joke. Two of our kids this year, James Marks & Beau Wilson were offered $50 per week PETROL money from the Swans to head to Princess Park. (Such a long way to drive)
This wouldn't be the first time the Swans have offered money. A few years if some remember Robby Montgomery changed from Moor to the Swans and he openly spoke about receiving playing money to don the red and white.
Poor form if you ask me and something that clubs wouldn't openly admit to but is most certainly happening.

skippy__67
2 Jan 2007, 20:21
does anyone know whether tom rocliffe will be playing this year or having the year off due to the injury he sustained playing for vic country last year
should play hasnt starting running yet, bu they way he has been moving he looks alright.

beaglehound
3 Jan 2007, 16:40
Being pretty involved with the Mooroopna 3rds side, i can tell you that some clubs are looking to pay kids money for to play football which is an outright joke. Two of our kids this year, James Marks & Beau Wilson were offered $50 per week PETROL money from the Swans to head to Princess Park. (Such a long way to drive)
This wouldn't be the first time the Swans have offered money. A few years if some remember Robby Montgomery changed from Moor to the Swans and he openly spoke about receiving playing money to don the red and white.
Poor form if you ask me and something that clubs wouldn't openly admit to but is most certainly happening.
I also heard a couple of years ago that Swannies were offerring boys a bag, shorts and socks to sign up for the thirds. Players should play at a club because that is were they are committed to, not for what they can get out of it. Did swans put in an formal notice to interview players Marks and Wilson. If not they are in breach of the GV rules and may be fined.

God's Country
4 Jan 2007, 09:09
I also heard a couple of years ago that Swannies were offerring boys a bag, shorts and socks to sign up for the thirds. Players should play at a club because that is were they are committed to, not for what they can get out of it. Did swans put in an formal notice to interview players Marks and Wilson. If not they are in breach of the GV rules and may be fined.

Totally agree regarding a players commitment to a club.
No formal notice, kids were approached over the phone. Got know doubt there were more spoken to however these two boys thought they'd let me know what was going on, they both thought it was quite funny really. Swans couldn't have picked 2 more avid / loyal Mooroopna Kids to entice across.

beaglehound
5 Jan 2007, 14:18
Just wondering what schedule other 3rds team have for this year? When are teams starting official pre season training? I have been told that a few of the United boys have been doing a bit of skills stuff for a month or so and they start officially on Jan 15th. I think GV thirds in the area has become more professional over the last few years and players are really keen to improve. It is also good to see that more and more kids are becoming football "mad". Interested in other's thoughts.

Roy_61
7 Jan 2007, 16:54
There is a lot of talk about Luke Lowden and im wondering is he really any good

Marto121
7 Jan 2007, 17:11

Give the kid a break he is only 15, and not wanting all this attention!!

Zazu99
7 Jan 2007, 19:14
Give the kid a break he is only 15, and not wanting all this attention!!
Rite on Marto. The kid is just 15, Has a bright future at the bears. Lets not be against a kid who wants to improve himself and his footy. By going to a higher league he is hopefully going to do just that. The bushrangers hierachy must have seen something in him, and obviously agree with the move to the bears. Good luck to him.

big tony
7 Jan 2007, 19:48

he's only 8 foot 11

Manbearpig
9 Jan 2007, 10:51
he's only 8 foot 11

And a few more years growth still left. Have to give him time to develop like any big man. He could still be playing under 16s, so very young.

Dyson_is_da_best
9 Jan 2007, 17:25
Sounds like a likely type. watching shepp train last night they have alot of tall, strongly built kids. Good numbers too, about 25 thirds kids. But no walker.
yeh who are the strongly built kids??do u know there names or?

Chandra
10 Jan 2007, 09:20
The bushrangers hierachy must have seen something in him, and obviously agree with the move to the bears. Good luck to him.

Players & their families make this decision themselves. Preference is for players to stay at their local clubs.

Arcadia
10 Jan 2007, 10:08
Just wondering what schedule other 3rds team have for this year? When are teams starting official pre season training? I have been told that a few of the United boys have been doing a bit of skills stuff for a month or so and they start officially on Jan 15th. I think GV thirds in the area has become more professional over the last few years and players are really keen to improve. It is also good to see that more and more kids are becoming football "mad". Interested in other's thoughts.
United Seniors start tonight and the thirds start next Monday. Thirds are looking ok, should improve on last years poor results. They have spoken to a few prospective recruits and hopefully will have a strong squad. A lot of players have expressed interest but until you see them signed and in a club jumper you really don't have them.

Arcadia
10 Jan 2007, 10:13
My brother coaches a GVFL 3rds side and he tells me they definitely don't or wouldn't pay under 18 players at his club and doubts any others would. Think some false accusations have been made in this thread.
I can definitely confirm that united do not offer any payments or other inducements to recruit players. All we can offer are the facilities and resources that are at the club. I would always prefer players to want to come to the club themselves rather then having to entice them with rewards. These players may well remain at the club well after their thirds career is over.

Zazu99
10 Jan 2007, 16:51
Players & their families make this decision themselves. Preference is for players to stay at their local clubs.
dont you think the boy himself would want to test himself by playing a higher standed. Bears are a professional outfit and i'm sure that influenced the boys decision. They were the first club to speak to him also.

Roy_61
11 Jan 2007, 14:06
Shepp Bears did not pay anyone to go to their club, they in fact rewarded players who performed well for the Murray Bushrangers in the U/15's Vline Cup with a sum of money

Manbearpig
11 Jan 2007, 16:04
Shepp Bears did not pay anyone to go to their club, they in fact rewarded players who performed well for the Murray Bushrangers in the U/15's Vline Cup with a sum of money

Got any more stories to make up? Absolute rubbish.

Roy_61
11 Jan 2007, 18:39
Got any more stories to make up? Absolute rubbish.

Well i found this out after a breif phonecall with a reliable source

Manbearpig
11 Jan 2007, 19:52

Trust me, absolute crap. Shepp don't even have a whole lot of money to pay and recruit senior players. Their best 3rds players play most of the season in either the ones or the bushies anyway. They're a respected club in a respected league, with a respected coach who's been able to recruit some decent kids by selling the club to them and their families. Seems some people on here aren't too happy with them. Victims of their own success.

Marto121
11 Jan 2007, 20:13
Roy61/Cain1. Peddle your poison elsewhere.

Marto121
11 Jan 2007, 20:43
Who is the reliable source then Phil?

beaglehound
12 Jan 2007, 09:19
Roy61/Cain1. Peddle your poison elsewhere.
Fully agree with Marto121, lets move on from this crap. Its a competitive environment out there and the Bear's crew have had a great process over the past five years in recruiting (results speak for themselves). It is up to othe clubs to get the right recruiters and develop a process that brings them results. I believe that United has taken a leaf out of the Bear's book and have changed the way they recruit and identify potential talent and as such will have a stronger list this year. I take my hat of to the Bears who have obviously the right group of people looking after their junior development. We should all look and learn from those that are successful on a regular basis.

iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 16:03
I hate it that the GVFL is under 18's and the surrounding leagues (ex KDL) are under 17's. The GVFL poach many kids just out of thirds, trying to kid them that another year of underage footy would be good. But I believe that the kid is better of playing Seniors than 3rds in GVFL.

District leagues do lots of work and then the 3rds steal them away. Many of them leave the GVFL thirds with no real footy home and don't play again.

Manbearpig
12 Jan 2007, 16:54
I hate it that the GVFL is under 18's and the surrounding leagues (ex KDL) are under 17's. The GVFL poach many kids just out of thirds, trying to kid them that another year of underage footy would be good. But I believe that the kid is better of playing Seniors than 3rds in GVFL.

District leagues do lots of work and then the 3rds steal them away. Many of them leave the GVFL thirds with no real footy home and don't play again.

Interesting point. I played all my junior footy in Rochy and there we had two under 14 teams, one under 16 team and one under 18 team and that's it. All the guys in the two years I played 3rds with, I had also played under 14s and 16s with. We also all went to the same school and knew each other inside out. Won the '96 flag with certainly not the most talented team in the comp. So getting blokes for 3rds from here and there isn't always an advantage.

beaglehound
12 Jan 2007, 21:20
Interesting point. I played all my junior footy in Rochy and there we had two under 14 teams, one under 16 team and one under 18 team and that's it. All the guys in the two years I played 3rds with, I had also played under 14s and 16s with. We also all went to the same school and knew each other inside out. Won the '96 flag with certainly not the most talented team in the comp. So getting blokes for 3rds from here and there isn't always an advantage.
Fair point. However its a bit harsh to say poach. If these players were really ready for seniors you would think their club would try and convince them to stay. Another point is that in the Sheppareton area, a lot of boys playing outside the GVFL have really good mates playing witin it and decide to use their last opportunity to play with them. I also believe that thirds football is a far better option then getting belted around in scrubby reserves grade if they do not make seniors. At the end of the day it is the player who makes the decision to leave or stay. Do people really think it would be any different if the age group was the same throughout the leagues?

Manbearpig
12 Jan 2007, 22:08
Fair point. However its a bit harsh to say poach. If these players were really ready for seniors you would think their club would try and convince them to stay. Another point is that in the Sheppareton area, a lot of boys playing outside the GVFL have really good mates playing witin it and decide to use their last opportunity to play with them. I also believe that thirds football is a far better option then getting belted around in scrubby reserves grade if they do not make seniors. At the end of the day it is the player who makes the decision to leave or stay. Do people really think it would be any different if the age group was the same throughout the leagues?

I think at that age you're going to play where you would enjoy it most. And yeah you wouldn't really call it poaching at under 18 level, because the kids aren't changing clubs for money or anything like that.

beaglehound
17 Jan 2007, 21:51
Well its started. Footy training that is. Went down to Wanganui earlier this week to have a look at the United boys. They had great numbers on the track, and a lot of strong, big and skilled boys out there (something they lacked last year) Hopefully they get players registered and finalised asap. The seniors looked a bit short on numbers, anyone know why? I believe Swans and Bears thirds have started, anyone with an update on these teams and how they are going. With a bit of luck the Shepparton based teams will be strong. Last year Bears were left to carry the flag against the rest of the comp. I will keep an eye on the young demons and hopefully let you know who is looking the goods.

Manbearpig
18 Jan 2007, 07:11
Well its started. Footy training that is. Went down to Wanganui earlier this week to have a look at the United boys. They had great numbers on the track, and a lot of strong, big and skilled boys out there (something they lacked last year) Hopefully they get players registered and finalised asap. The seniors looked a bit short on numbers, anyone know why? I believe Swans and Bears thirds have started, anyone with an update on these teams and how they are going. With a bit of luck the Shepparton based teams will be strong. Last year Bears were left to carry the flag against the rest of the comp. I will keep an eye on the young demons and hopefully let you know who is looking the goods.

I believe Shepp resumes this week too. I've heard their numbers were good pre-Christmas and they also have some big strong kids. 4-5 guys over 6'4". Not that that tells you whether they get the footy.

beaglehound
18 Jan 2007, 12:10
I believe Shepp resumes this week too. I've heard their numbers were good pre-Christmas and they also have some big strong kids. 4-5 guys over 6'4". Not that that tells you whether they get the footy.
What are they feeding the kids these days. For a few years we have had a drought of talls and solids. Looks like this year a few may be around. Could be a really good comptetitive season at 3rds levels. Anyone know what the swans and cats are looking like.

nesko_25
20 Jan 2007, 10:09

I know in Rochys case they do try to attract alot of players from the HDFL (Elmore, Colbo and Locky) and even Echuca. tell me if I'm wrong Manbearpig but I belive Sam O'Sully and Brad Ingram, 2 Elmore boys, played in that flag?

I know now that they still try to attract these sort of players by stating you wont go anywere in the HDFL. Pio's, Bushies etc dont look at those leagues so if you want to go places with your footy play GV. In the end its the players choice but some clubs do place alot of pressure on these boys and at that age you should be player where you want without being harassed

Manbearpig
20 Jan 2007, 16:32
I know in Rochys case they do try to attract alot of players from the HDFL (Elmore, Colbo and Locky) and even Echuca. tell me if I'm wrong Manbearpig but I belive Sam O'Sully and Brad Ingram, 2 Elmore boys, played in that flag?

I know now that they still try to attract these sort of players by stating you wont go anywere in the HDFL. Pio's, Bushies etc dont look at those leagues so if you want to go places with your footy play GV. In the end its the players choice but some clubs do place alot of pressure on these boys and at that age you should be player where you want without being harassed

You are correct. But since Brad and Sam went to Rochy High with everyone its a tad different.

I've seen the troubles in a 3rds side when you get a guy who was a top player in an under 16 team come to a Shepp club and be well back in the pecking order. If not the kid themselves, then the parents tend to cause trouble.

Footy08
27 Jan 2007, 18:09
Jye Warren new player for shepp united will be a killer this year.. look out for him with his great skills and pace! has done alot over the pre season..

beaglehound
27 Jan 2007, 20:28
Jye Warren new player for shepp united will be a killer this year.. look out for him with his great skills and pace! has done alot over the pre season..
I also heard this from a couple of blokes on the committee who have been watching training, they reckon he moves really well and has a lot of speed with silky skills. They reckon he played a game on permit last year but struggled to pick up the GV tempo. Who did he play with last year and how did he go?

Footy08
27 Jan 2007, 23:45
I also heard this from a couple of blokes on the committee who have been watching training, they reckon he moves really well and has a lot of speed with silky skills. They reckon he played a game on permit last year but struggled to pick up the GV tempo. Who did he play with last year and how did he go?

yes played a game on permit last year but nervs got the better of him on the day.. is a good mate and after a few practice matches this year should be a good little player who will be one to go under the radar of other teams! look out for him.. last year he played with strathmerton with 6 games in the seniors.. not surprised he has court the eye of commitee members with the pre season he has put in.. looking forward to improving his football in a better league! good luck to him..

NavyBlues
28 Jan 2007, 10:19
what talent does echuca have coming up, and how do u think they will go this year, they had a good year last year, do you think they can make it one game further and make the granny?

Shire
28 Jan 2007, 12:47
what talent does echuca have coming up, and how do u think they will go this year, they had a good year last year, do you think they can make it one game further and make the granny?

They've lost a lot of good players from last year but still have some talent remaining. The under 16's won the premiership last year so they'll get some good players coming up. Should be competitive.

Dyson_is_da_best
28 Jan 2007, 21:50
umm yeh echuca shood have some good players coming through the 3rds from 16s..i played against em in da granny..there first ruckman is pretty good in the ruck..i think his last name is strachne or sumthing..

bigTonys_son
29 Jan 2007, 18:20
i have heard euroa has had more thirds boys training than seniors with them starting about two weeks ago does any one know if they will compete this year having a bunch of plyers coming from the junior league and they have won about 4 or 5 of the last six grannies and i now think its time for the to get off the bottom

Roy_61
29 Jan 2007, 22:08
Ive heard that the Bears have got a new player from melbourne, very quick and as tough as nails, used to play for wanganui, yet at the moment is only training for them

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 07:05
Ive heard that the Bears have got a new player from melbourne, very quick and as tough as nails, used to play for wanganui, yet at the moment is only training for them

So is he going to play, or is he just training? I've heard the same story. Don't know a name, but apparently hard, tough and fit.

smoothgroova
30 Jan 2007, 09:16
Rite on Marto. The kid is just 15, Has a bright future at the bears. Lets not be against a kid who wants to improve himself and his footy. By going to a higher league he is hopefully going to do just that. The bushrangers hierachy must have seen something in him, and obviously agree with the move to the bears. Good luck to him.

If he wants to improve himself and his footy he should not go to the Bears. That will be his 1st mistake. If he wants to keep level headed and play along side some great blokes he should go to united or swans.

Footy08
30 Jan 2007, 10:02

from melbourne but played at wanganui?? wouldnt be alistar ingrham would it? would either have his natural red hair or might have the bright blonde still in there.. great player

Marto121
30 Jan 2007, 10:14
Why would United or Swans be a better option? I would think Bears would be since they won the premiership last year and would be favourites this year.

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 10:19
If he wants to improve himself and his footy he should not go to the Bears. That will be his 1st mistake. If he wants to keep level headed and play along side some great blokes he should go to united or swans.

Yeah the bears have had no success the last two years. Must be a crap place to play...

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 10:23
from melbourne but played at wanganui?? wouldnt be alistar ingrham would it? would either have his natural red hair or might have the bright blonde still in there.. great player

Just checked my sources and yeah its Alastair Ingram. Went to Scotch College. Sounds like he can play.

smoothgroova
30 Jan 2007, 12:10
Yeah the bears have had no success the last two years. Must be a crap place to play...

They may have had success but doesnt necessarily mean its a great club to play for. From reports the young kids are all full of themselves and thats why they are the most hated going around

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 12:51
They may have had success but doesnt necessarily mean its a great club to play for. From reports the young kids are all full of themselves and thats why they are the most hated going around

Doesn't mean that its a crap place to play either. Because opposition don't like them, doesn't mean their not all good mates.

I'm not from Shepp myself, just know a few blokes there, but my god Shepp FC cop a lot of crap on here.

Footy08
30 Jan 2007, 14:44
Why would United or Swans be a better option? I would think Bears would be since they won the premiership last year and would be favourites this year.

r u serious? favourites? they lost about 16 from last years premiership side and havent picked up that much.. i would say they will still be a good side and probably still make finals but no favourites...

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 14:53
r u serious? favourites? they lost about 16 from last years premiership side and havent picked up that much.. i would say they will still be a good side and probably still make finals but no favourites...

They haven't lost that many and they have recruited well.

Trent Lovelock
30 Jan 2007, 16:32

from memory i actually remember everybody writing off the bears half way throu last season, yet come finals, they were a sure thing again, sure bushranger players may play a big part in that.. but it would take a brave person to write them off again!
knowing the bears as the proud club it is, im sure they'll try n give the thirds the best chance possible to get that three peat...

Footy08
30 Jan 2007, 16:55
should be a great deakin derby in round 3!! cant wait ;)

Manbearpig
30 Jan 2007, 17:02
from memory i actually remember everybody writing off the bears half way throu last season, yet come finals, they were a sure thing again, sure bushranger players may play a big part in that.. but it would take a brave person to write them off again!
knowing the bears as the proud club it is, im sure they'll try n give the thirds the best chance possible to get that three peat...

Actually interesting point you made at the end there. I think at team selection, the last few years the club has picked thirds players to play in the seniors even when the ones are out of finals contention, and hasn't "stacked" the thirds team. Some might think that's fair enough, but interesting nonetheless.

Spoke to their coach after two 100+ thumpings in round 3 and 4 and he said that his side just didn't know how to play football. The next week they beat Ky with probably only one player back in the side and then lost only one more game for the year.

akka dakka
31 Jan 2007, 08:14
Actually interesting point you made at the end there. I think at team selection, the last few years the club has picked thirds players to play in the seniors even when the ones are out of finals contention, and hasn't "stacked" the thirds team. Some might think that's fair enough, but interesting nonetheless.

Spoke to their coach after two 100+ thumpings in round 3 and 4 and he said that his side just didn't know how to play football. The next week they beat Ky with probably only one player back in the side and then lost only one more game for the year.

interesting quote from the coach, sounds like he was a bit premature in his evaluation either that or he didn't know alot about his playing group. In my days as a player I know if I had of heard that sort of comment it would have spurred me on to prove him wrong. I wonder if these comments were used in any of his half time addresses?

Manbearpig
31 Jan 2007, 08:33
interesting quote from the coach, sounds like he was a bit premature in his evaluation either that or he didn't know alot about his playing group. In my days as a player I know if I had of heard that sort of comment it would have spurred me on to prove him wrong. I wonder if these comments were used in any of his half time addresses?

Actually I probably meant to say that he said his boys just couldn't play football the way he wanted. His boys certainly had talent and athleticism etc. I think after those big losses he got them to play a more crash and bash style and got more numbers to the footy. Changed the way they trained according to that.

Must have been the Rochy in him coming out. Very similar style to the way their seniors have played under D. Williams.

beaglehound
31 Jan 2007, 12:09
They haven't lost that many and they have recruited well.
You can never write of the bears. They have been there consistently over a decade or so. They have lost a large part of their list from last season which is usual for thirds team every second year. And yes they have picked up some quality from Notra Dame u16's and other areas. I don't think they will have as good as side as last year but never the less will be top 3 again. Over the years they have been a well coached and committed group. They had two hiccups during the year, but in the end the cream rose to the top. I don't think they will have as much cream this year but will still be a strong combination.

From what I hear the Swans are also putting together a much improved list from last year. Anyone out there with names or further info on this. It has been a while since the swanies have been competitive.

smoothgroova
31 Jan 2007, 14:22

Hey Piggy, A couple of quotes back you said you were not from shepp. Only knew a few blokes. How come you know so much about them then??? Who do you play for then?? No one in the GVL obviously if your taking sides with the bears

Manbearpig
31 Jan 2007, 14:30
Hey Piggy, A couple of quotes back you said you were not from shepp. Only knew a few blokes. How come you know so much about them then??? Who do you play for then?? No one in the GVL obviously if your taking sides with the bears

Bloke who coaches Shepp is an old mate from Rochy, which is where I'm from. Talk to him quite a bit about his boys. When I used to play against Shepp I used to hate them too, so I can understand to an extent the dislike for them.

smoothgroova
31 Jan 2007, 15:29
Bloke who coaches Shepp is an old mate from Rochy, which is where I'm from. Talk to him quite a bit about his boys. When I used to play against Shepp I used to hate them too, so I can understand to an extent the dislike for them.

fair call:thumbsu:

beaglehound
31 Jan 2007, 20:01
Sorry to say but I think that is a hard call. I support the Dees but at the same time know a lot of the players at Bears and would not say that they are full off themselves. Yes there are a few big heads, but that would be the case at all clubs, I know that the Dees have a couple in the thirds. Anyway I don't think its fair to put them all in the same class. Lastly, it would be great to have a top player choose us ahead of the bears but at the end of the day the bears are also a top club at providing a football education to their group. They have had a good rate of thirds go on to play seniors.

smoothgroova
1 Feb 2007, 10:47
Sorry to say but I think that is a hard call. I support the Dees but at the same time know a lot of the players at Bears and would not say that they are full off themselves. Yes there are a few big heads, but that would be the case at all clubs, I know that the Dees have a couple in the thirds. Anyway I don't think its fair to put them all in the same class. Lastly, it would be great to have a top player choose us ahead of the bears but at the end of the day the bears are also a top club at providing a football education to their group. They have had a good rate of thirds go on to play seniors.

Yes most clubs are like that. I just said what i have been told! :thumbsu:

bigTonys_son
1 Feb 2007, 19:49
anybody no news on euroa can they play on their gronud.... how will their thirds boys go this year got a few young promising players any new gun recruits??

Alley cat
1 Feb 2007, 20:18
anybody no news on euroa can they play on their gronud.... how will their thirds boys go this year got a few young promising players any new gun recruits??

Euroa's ground should be ok.
Will be using recylced water.

roberts-thompson
3 Feb 2007, 09:58

disappointing news that the maggies lost gun recruit steven threlfall, heard avenal are paying him a bit of coin and i dont think euroa could compete with that at thirds level. although euroas training is made up of 80% thirds at this stage get a alot more on the track than last year which is a promising sign for the boys. hopefully us boys at violet town dont struggle too much with them stealing a few players of us.

how are rochy, mansfield, tat n a few other clubs that dont get a great mention on here looking?

mansfield would be likely to have a fair few playing bushies wouldnt they?

also is it true that ryan butler went to ky, why is this so?

bigTonys_son
3 Feb 2007, 19:24
disappointing news that the maggies lost gun recruit steven threlfall, heard avenal are paying him a bit of coin and i dont think euroa could compete with that at thirds level. although euroas training is made up of 80% thirds at this stage get a alot more on the track than last year which is a promising sign for the boys. hopefully us boys at violet town dont struggle too much with them stealing a few players of us.

how are rochy, mansfield, tat n a few other clubs that dont get a great mention on here looking?

mansfield would be likely to have a fair few playing bushies wouldnt they?

also is it true that ryan butler went to ky, why is this so?

i woulnt call it stealing your players they are from euroa mainly and its their decision were to play violet town will struggle to get a team anyway if use had them players

Footy08
6 Feb 2007, 20:51
united and swans to play practice match on the 24th of march.. should be good!

waddo #6
8 Feb 2007, 10:36
good to hear josh.. whos coaching?

i noticed your getting a bit of height n weight about you, you little bastard, they better watch out for you this year!!!

you would be keeping the majority of your group wouldnt you, besides dundon hesse manix n mchenzie?

Carl Ure is taking the raines this year.. fairly experienced bloke with a big emphasis on fitness and going hard..

yeah, probly put on 3-4 inches and about 12 kilo since last season.. yet to hit the gym flat out, doing a little bit, but i hear it calling my name ;)

yeah, only lost those few blokes, but we gain a plenty of juniors from the SDJFL that are very handy players.. we will gain plenty of height and speed from the up-n-comers.. something we probably lacked a little bit last year..

Johnny Tapp
8 Feb 2007, 10:53
Read on the GVFL forum that Rochy are playing Shepp United in a practice match. Does that include the 3rds as well? Anyone know why two GV teams are playing each other in a practice match - seems a little odd.

Footy08
8 Feb 2007, 15:01
Read on the GVFL forum that Rochy are playing Shepp United in a practice match. Does that include the 3rds as well? Anyone know why two GV teams are playing each other in a practice match - seems a little odd.

yer im pretty sure the 3rds are also playin.. not to sure y:confused:

roberts-thompson
14 Feb 2007, 19:04
Carl Ure is taking the raines this year.. fairly experienced bloke with a big emphasis on fitness and going hard..

yeah, probly put on 3-4 inches and about 12 kilo since last season.. yet to hit the gym flat out, doing a little bit, but i hear it calling my name ;)

yeah, only lost those few blokes, but we gain a plenty of juniors from the SDJFL that are very handy players.. we will gain plenty of height and speed from the up-n-comers.. something we probably lacked a little bit last year..

sounds very promising mate.. yeah we sound a bit like you as well, getting a fair bit of talent out of the sdjfl, they have been producing a few good players lately.

you fit yet? im ********house, probably started a tad late and drank about 1000 beers over the hols, still working though

you got any trying out for the bushies?

is it ben ure? does he play for you guys? his dad is it?

waddo #6
15 Feb 2007, 11:16
sounds very promising mate.. yeah we sound a bit like you as well, getting a fair bit of talent out of the sdjfl, they have been producing a few good players lately.

you fit yet? im ********house, probably started a tad late and drank about 1000 beers over the hols, still working though

you got any trying out for the bushies?

is it ben ure? does he play for you guys? his dad is it?

yeah, plenty of good players from there..

yeah, im always pretty fit mate.. apart from all the massive amount of piss i drank of the holi's, im pretty fit.. we got a praccy coming up nxt weekend tho.. against wangaratta i think.. not too sure :o

i think grant hateley and benny clifton had a crack, but hately got an apprenticeship and cliffo got appointed skipper of Assumption 1's..

yeah, its benny ure's old man..

VCFL_FAN
15 Feb 2007, 15:22
Ok just been reading through this thread as i hadnt signed in for awhile...

Few things i noticed and want to reply to..

Ryan Butler as far as i know of is going to Kyabram for what im guessing would be closer for him and as far as i know off attends school in Kyabram?

Heard around town that Tyson DiPetta to Tatura?

Shepp bears from my belief do not pay there players on a weekly basis but as mentioned do "reward" players (from outside clubs) for making the u/15 bushrangers with $50 cash

Montgomery moved to Swans a few years ago because he was told it would be a better move for bushrangers noticability and also as he works for Watters Electrical (Whos owner has a high role with swans)

By my knowlodge it is against the rules to pay any player within the U/18 competition but inncentives/awards such as best on grounds etc may recieve say $10 cash etc. from sponsers

Roy_61
15 Feb 2007, 19:21
Ok just been reading through this thread as i hadnt signed in for awhile...

Few things i noticed and want to reply to..

Ryan Butler as far as i know of is going to Kyabram for what im guessing would be closer for him and as far as i know off attends school in Kyabram?

Heard around town that Tyson DiPetta to Tatura?

Shepp bears from my belief do not pay there players on a weekly basis but as mentioned do "reward" players (from outside clubs) for making the u/15 bushrangers with $50 cash

Montgomery moved to Swans a few years ago because he was told it would be a better move for bushrangers noticability and also as he works for Watters Electrical (Whos owner has a high role with swans)

By my knowlodge it is against the rules to pay any player within the U/18 competition but inncentives/awards such as best on grounds etc may recieve say $10 cash etc. from sponsers

finally someone making some sense

NavyBlues
20 Feb 2007, 11:35
it was good to see a good turnout at echuca training on thursday. Few boys down there looking fit and trim ready for a big season. Star recruit ben holmes is gonna do big things this year, watch out for him.

smoothgroova
20 Feb 2007, 13:53
it was good to see a good turnout at echuca training on thursday. Few boys down there looking fit and trim ready for a big season. Star recruit ben holmes is gonna do big things this year, watch out for him.

hey Ben, how u going mate?? I see you are talking yourself up again!

NavyBlues
20 Feb 2007, 14:54
hey Ben, how u going mate?? I see you are talking yourself up again!

if u were from echuca u would no who bens holmes is and u would be laughing, so shut up

numba4
21 Feb 2007, 14:56
Im not from Echcua but i know benny, is he really playing haha? godo effort by him

NavyBlues
21 Feb 2007, 19:05
Im not from Echcua but i know benny, is he really playing haha? godo effort by him

hahah yeh, he did the first few drills then had to go take a cold shower in the change rooms so that he wouldnt pass out, could all the clubs give a few names of kids coming up into there teams, echuca have a good bunch. Marcus joyner, jake wilkinson, josh strachan ( if not in pios) and many others

Dyson_is_da_best
21 Feb 2007, 20:46
hahah yeh, he did the first few drills then had to go take a cold shower in the change rooms so that he wouldnt pass out, could all the clubs give a few names of kids coming up into there teams, echuca have a good bunch. Marcus joyner, jake wilkinson, josh strachan ( if not in pios) and many others
josh strachan....his alright..playd against him in da ruck last year in da granny for about 5 minutes and bet him a few times..he was killn our other ruckman but yeh..he is pretty good

beaglehound
22 Feb 2007, 10:11
Just read on the GVFL transfer list that Newb's has been cleared to Dookie United from Shepp United. Does anyone know what the go is here. Newbs still had two years of thirds left and may have developed ok this season. Interested to find out why he left.

United will have some handy players this year. The core will still be Bingham, Daniels S Campbell and Rendina. But they have picked up some quality boys from Notra and also some talls and strength from the other leagues, Keddell, Warren,Senior and Longmore. I am sure there are a lot more but I don't know them that well, but it looks like they have recruited around 15 top quality players to add to those that they keep from last year and they should have a strong list of around 26. They have about 24 training on most nights and have had around 32 players try out. I understand the coach will be looking at talking to a few boys about game time opportunities. This might be why Newbs left ? Should greatly improve from last year.

beaglehound
22 Feb 2007, 10:15
Have the bushies had a cut yet? If so does anyone know how the boys from Mooroopna,United, Bears and Swans have fared. They had a lot of bottom age players trying out.

God's Country
22 Feb 2007, 10:30
Have the bushies had a cut yet? If so does anyone know how the boys from Mooroopna,United, Bears and Swans have fared. They had a lot of bottom age players trying out.

James Marks & Simon Russell were both cut.
Hockey & Warnett right, as with bottom agers Riley Milne & Jake Kyle at this stage.

Tigger#1
22 Feb 2007, 20:07
wats that little connors kid like, any chance of being as good as his brother

Heard he'll be just as good if not better. If I was any 3rds side in the GV I'd be looking out for him. Might not even play, heard he's been training with pioneers and looking good.

Tigger#1
22 Feb 2007, 20:09
LMAO at Ben Holmes, good on him for trying.

Roy_61
22 Feb 2007, 21:18
Just read on the GVFL transfer list that Newb's has been cleared to Dookie United from Shepp United. Does anyone know what the go is here. Newbs still had two years of thirds left and may have developed ok this season. Interested to find out why he left.

United will have some handy players this year. The core will still be Bingham, Daniels S Campbell and Rendina. But they have picked up some quality boys from Notra and also some talls and strength from the other leagues, Keddell, Warren,Senior and Longmore. I am sure there are a lot more but I don't know them that well, but it looks like they have recruited around 15 top quality players to add to those that they keep from last year and they should have a strong list of around 26. They have about 24 training on most nights and have had around 32 players try out. I understand the coach will be looking at talking to a few boys about game time opportunities. This might be why Newbs left ? Should greatly improve from last year.

Newb's left United because he had cricket training on the same night as United training and he chose to go to cricket. Unfortunatley for him when he turned up to the latest United training they already had a full list so they told him he couldn't play.

The U/16 Bushrangers haven't cut yet but will soon.

Footy08
22 Feb 2007, 21:41

Rendina was cut from united.. braden pullen, andrew edwards, simon thorson and nathan parker were cut from bears and swans still have dash and hebbard in the mix.. squad has been cut down to about 65 and there will be another one following this weekends game in Vic park

Arcadia
22 Feb 2007, 21:54
Newb's left United because he had cricket training on the same night as United training and he chose to go to cricket. Unfortunatley for him when he turned up to the latest United training they already had a full list so they told him he couldn't play.

The U/16 Bushrangers haven't cut yet but will soon.
Not quite right. Newbs has only trained once since the pre season started. His criket training was on different nights. He couldn't be bothered riding his bike to training or walking across the road to get a lift with a team mate. He was informed by other players that before any player was eligible to play a game they had to complete a number of fitness assessments, he chose not to do these. He has not spoken to the coach at all re unavailability and yes he probably would have been told (if he turned up) that he was a long way behind the other players who have been doing the hard work. I think at the end it boiled down to lazyness, bad habits and a high opinion of his own average abilities. He was cleared straight away to Dookie. I get sick and tired of players blaming coaches and others for their own weaknessness and lack of committment. Newbs needs to get off the piss, pull his head in and grow up. No loss to the dees.

Footy08
23 Feb 2007, 20:52
[quote=*CINDI*;6796414]I can not believe rendina was cut and they kept that skinny normington kid[/quote

haha have u seen that "skinny normainton kid" play? there are alot of players just like rendina tryin out that r top agers, end of the day his fittness would have been a big down point and also pace; compared to who he was up against

Footy08
27 Feb 2007, 06:42
Shepp Bears now have non of there players in the bushrangers squad for 2007. This must be a first for quiet some years i would think??

beaglehound
27 Feb 2007, 13:29
Shepp Bears now have non of there players in the bushrangers squad for 2007. This must be a first for quiet some years i would think??
Yes good point, I can't remember the last time this occurred since the start of the Bushies. I would have thought that Edwards would have made the cut. Bonus for Bears as they will have them all year now. United got two in, Normington and Daniels, both are really fit and going well. United will miss both these if they are regulars.

beaglehound
27 Feb 2007, 16:32
Is that jamason daniels your talking about?They say its amazing how much he has come on the last couple of years.And he is so hot.
Yes that's Jamo. He has really improved and should play a few games in Bushies. I don't think the thirds will see a lot of him as he will probably play ones at United when he is not with bushies. I know that the thirds and senior coaches are a big wrap for him. I not too sure how hot he is as I am not that way inclined, but the boy can play football and will probably continue to develop over the next couple of years.