View Full Version : Hawks v Crows @ Aurora Stadium

Pages : [1] 2

johnnyhoward
4 Mar 2006, 17:02
Should be an interesting game, Adelaide should win but I reckon the Hawks are a chance here at Aurora...their lineup is not as ravaged when compared to the Crows so should be a close one.

Sploosh
4 Mar 2006, 17:09
Come on the crows. Fire up and get stuck in, and let's speak like pirates, me hearties!

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:18
Anyone got a live feed for me to the game; radio, the afl.com.au site is allowing the game to come up!

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:30
Sounds like the 5AA feed carked it.

Cove Cobra
4 Mar 2006, 17:31
http://www.5aa.com.au/

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:32
http://www.5aa.com.au/

They're playing the best of 5AA.

Adam BK
4 Mar 2006, 17:36
They're playing the best of 5AA.

Yeh I noticed that, they were playing the pre match talk though before but its gone now.

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:36
Can you get a live feed off ABC 774 Melbourne, or don't they have a live feed thing on the website?

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:39
What's up with the AFL website; it saids it on and active but it doesn't load up the page.

Now it's just silent, I tell you the AFL site sucks

Cove Cobra
4 Mar 2006, 17:39
Yeh I noticed that, they were playing the pre match talk though before but its gone now.

Yeah. It's not good, is it?

Listening to Byner sounds like scratching on a chalk board!

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:40
No live feed for Melbourne, only Sydney.

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:44
6 Pointer to Bode

ADEL 0.1.0.6
HAW 0.0.0.0

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:46
6 Pointer to Knights

ADEL 0.2.0.12
HAW 0.0.0.0

Still no audio.

OnlyOneShaneCrawford
4 Mar 2006, 17:47
No live feed for Melbourne, only Sydney.

I'm in Sydney and it doesn't work for me!

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:47
6 Pointer to Hentschel, looks like a thumping already

ADEL 0.3.0.18
HAW 4 BAGELS

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:48
I'm in Sydney and it doesn't work for me!

I was referring to an earlier question about ABC streaming...Apols.

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:49
This sucks, no audio and 19 points behind after 5 minutes :mad:

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 17:51
Hawks away through a 6 pointer to Ladson

ADEL 0.3.1.19
HAW 0.1.0.6

AUDIO is finally back.

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:52
About bloody time to!

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 17:54
Hawks kick a behind.

For anyone watching, are we playing ******** or are Adelaide playing great footy.

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 18:02
Hawks kick a behind.

For anyone watching, are we playing ******** or are Adelaide playing great footy.
Things just aren't working for the Hawks up forward in terms of their structure..Franklin looks alright though.

Adelaide should be 6 goals in front by now, they're a strange team in that they have lots of forward play but just chip away and slowly increase their lead, then in the final quarter they quickly bang on goals. They did it all last year (see the Hawks game at Launceston last year)

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 18:05
Things just aren't working for the Hawks up forward in terms of their structure..Franklin looks alright though.

Well make things happen :mad:
Screw the forward line, who needs them when you can kick 55 metres ;) (as all AFL standard players should be able to do!)

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 18:07
Ladson's had a squillion possessions (14 to be precise according to the AFL stats). He misses after the siren.

QUARTER TIME
ADELAIDE 0.3.3.21
HAWTHORN 0.1.3.9

6 POINT GOALS
ADEL: Bode, Knights, Hentschel
HAW: Ladson

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 18:08
Doesn't sound promising, bloody hell kick OVER the forward line!

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 18:13

Adelaide should be 6 goals in front by now, they're a strange team in that they have lots of forward play but just chip away and slowly increase their lead, then in the final quarter they quickly bang on goals. They did it all last year (see the Hawks game at Launceston last year)
MMM not the game style I like ..but meh I am not the coach. I think Adelaide had the most inside 50s last year... against WC in the prelim we had more and we lost that as well.

But good to see the players working hard so far

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 18:14
Goal to Williams, Hawks back in it despite messing around with it.

ADEL 0.3.3.21
HAW 0.2.3.15

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 18:16
Carn HAwthorn

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 18:17
Are we playing more direct now?

BTW, is the audio working on the 5aa website yet because the AFL website won't open the age for me

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 18:19

BTW, is the audio working on the 5aa website yet because the AFL website won't open the age for me
Yep things have changed, more opportunities being created, but Adealide's defence is very hard to beat.

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 18:21
Mattner concedes a 50 on the wing and Vandenberg nails the resultant 9-pointer.

ADEL 0.3.4.22
HAW 1.2.3.24

Kingpin
4 Mar 2006, 18:24
Hawks a point up with 8:30 to go in the second quarter 24-23

LoneStar
4 Mar 2006, 18:27
Hawks got a late start but have outscored Crows 24 to 4 since 6 minute mark of quarter one. Good defensive half so far for both clubs. Low scoring game.

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 18:28
Hawks a point up with 8:30 to go in the second quarter 24-23
Hawks lead but to me the Crows look to have the edge - Hawthorn needed to capitalise on the good play they were getting and should be at least 2 goals up. If the Crows have a purple patch of a few minutes (they're due) then they'll blow the hawks away.

4 1/2 minutes to go. Crows lead 25-24

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 18:29
Well make things happen :mad:
Screw the forward line, who needs them when you can kick 55 metres ;) (as all AFL standard players should be able to do!)
Which is where I get frustrated when a player is 50 out and chips...wtf ???

LoneStar
4 Mar 2006, 18:29

BTW, is the audio working on the 5aa website yet because the AFL website won't open the age for meTry disabling Norton - starting afl.com.au audio link - re-enabling Norton. That worked for me 6 minutes into the game. Scores level @ 24 atm.

Kingpin
4 Mar 2006, 18:30
Chance Bateman off with a possible corked thigh, copped a bit of a knock.

Hawthorn 24
Adelaide 25

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 18:31
21 touches for Ladson

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 18:32
Which is where I get frustrated when a player is 50 out and chips...wtf ???
Yeah I've noticed that in the NAB Cup especially due to the younger players who don't trust themselves over a long distance. But it's not just them, very annoying whenver it happens :thumbsd:

Kingpin
4 Mar 2006, 18:34
Mark Williams soccers it off the ground and misses to the city end.

25-apiece Half Time

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 18:35
HALF TIME

HAW 1.2.4.25
ADEL 0.3.7.25

9 POINT GOALS
HAW: Vandenberg

6 POINT GOALS
HAW: Ladson, Williams
ADEL: Bode, Knights, Hentschel

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 18:39
Is there a wind at all?

One end seems to be getting all the scores

Lonie_from_50
4 Mar 2006, 18:40
The ground is looking in very good knick, great surface as usual.

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 18:49
Adelaide 93

Hawthorn 96

Yet Adelaide seem to have a better spread of players with touches, Hawks relying on Bateman and Ladson

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 18:51
anyone know if bateman has just a corky?? or has he done something to his ankle, leg??

Kingpin
4 Mar 2006, 19:00
anyone know if bateman has just a corky?? or has he done something to his ankle, leg??
He's back out on the ground playing so must be ok.

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:00
Adelaide 93

Hawthorn 96

Yet Adelaide seem to have a better spread of players with touches, Hawks relying on Bateman and Ladson
Which is why I think the Crows will run away with the game in the end. Hawks, really, are just hanging on.

EDIT: And a goal to Thompson. 33-26

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:01
Goal to THompson (6)

HAW 1.2.5.26
ADEL 0.4.9.33

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:04
2nd goal to Williams

HAW 1.3.5.32
ADEL 0.4.9.33

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:07
Big Max slots one from close in - 1st goal in football

HAW 1.4.5.38
ADEL 0.4.9.33

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:08
Hawks on a sausage roll, Bailey goals after marking in the goalsquare

HAW 1.4.5.38
ADEL 0.4.9.33

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:10
9 Pointer for Knights

HAW 1.4.5.38
ADEL 1.4.9.42

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 19:10
Who is on Williams?

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:12
#3 For Adelade - Massie i Think

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:17
2nd goal for Hentschel

HAW 1.4.5.38
ADEL 1.5.9.48

Kingpin
4 Mar 2006, 19:18
Hentschel pings one for the Crows, now 48-38 Crows up.

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:18
Clarke From 35 - Goal

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 1.5.9.48

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 19:19
#3 For Adelade - Massie i Think
:confused: I said if Motlop had his boots on then Massie would have had 4...and now they put him on someone better??????? They have definitely marked his card '' never to play again''

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:20
3 Quarter Time Scores

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 1.5.9.48

Should be a good final term.

SorryIHammerChicken
Which is why I think the Crows will run away with the game in the end. Hawks, really, are just hanging on.

EDIT: And a goal to Thompson. 33-26
Typical performance from Adelaide...gee they're a pesky team. They'll win by around 20-25 points.

stmookeyj
3 QUARTER TIME

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 1.5.9.48

9 POINT GOALS
ADEL: Knights

6 POINT GOALS
HAW: Williams 2, Ladson, Bailey, Clarke
ADEL: Hentschel 2, Bode, Knights, Thompson

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:25
We will probably go down, but hey we have shown something tonight!

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:27
Does this match remind you of the game in 2005 at Launceston between these two clubs?

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:27
Doing well tho seeing as though were 2nd last for the flag, and the crows are 3rd favorites.

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:28
Does this match remind you of the game in 2005 at Launceston between these two clubs?
Arrghhhhh, Adelaide just sealed the game with a 9 pointer :thumbsd:

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:28
9 Pointer to Jericho (Super-doopa-molly-dooka according to Stephen Rowe)

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 2.5.9.57

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 19:29
Hey your guys have played well dont be down..still a while to go

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:30

Well, it's happening :(

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:32
Another goal to the crows, bigger margin now.. chipping isnt helping at all

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:33
Goal to Hentschel, his 3rd

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 2.6.9.63

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:35
Sealer to Burton

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 2.7.9.69

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:39
Roughead From Straight in front, Goals

HAW 1.6.6.51
ADEL 2.7.9.69

swift24
4 Mar 2006, 19:43
Roughead gets another one - neraly same position

HAW 1.7.6.57
ADEL 2.7.9.69

Hawkk
Hey your guys have played well dont be down..still a while to go
Thanks for the kind words, god a 9 pointer would be handy about now!

stmookeyj
I think I went a little early. 9 Pointer would make it interesting.

swift24
Sealer to Burton

HAW 1.5.5.44
ADEL 2.7.9.69

You just MAY have spoken to soon...

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:44
Here come the HAWKS :D

13 points now; with what 5 minutes left?

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:45
I think I went a little early. 9 Pointer would make it interesting.
I wish, us Hawks need a win, we haven't been close to winnning a cup of any sought for about 4 years :(

stmookeyj
4 Mar 2006, 19:46
Roughead misses. 2 Normal goals to tie. 3 minutes left

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:47
It's uncanny...

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:48
It's uncanny...
How many minutes left :(

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:49
God SA radio sucks!

Have we improved much from last year using this game as an example?

The Mighty Port Power
4 Mar 2006, 19:50
How many minutes left :(
Anyone else really impressed with the Hawks? I sure as hell am.

swift24
game over.. crows by 13

stmookeyj
FINAL SCORES

HAWTHORN 1.7.7.58
ADELAIDE 2.7.11.71

9 POINTERS
ADEL: Knights, Jericho

6 POINTERS
HAW: Williams 2, Roughead 2, Ladson, Bailey, Clarke
ADEL: Hentschel 3, Bode, Knights, Thompson, Burton

swift24

Yes very impressed even with a loss..Ladson played really well..big year for him.

Kapow!!!
4 Mar 2006, 19:51
game over.. crows by 13

Well that's an anti-climax.

philhawk
4 Mar 2006, 19:52
Up here in Sydney they didnt show it :(

For those guys who watched, could you kindly just tell me

1) Where did Roughy play - forward or back?
2) Did Franklin have a bigger impact than he did last week?
3) How did Big Max go in the ruck?

Cheers guys, unfortunate that we went down - but still some promising signs I would think? :thumbsu:

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:53
Anyone depressed...I sure as hell am :(

I made a bet with a Melbourne friend of mine that we would make it further on into the NAB Cup then the Demons, another bet lost :(

Thanks for your comments guys, QLD Channel 9 sucks!

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 19:55
In 2005 the Hawks matched it with the Crows for most of the game until the Crows started to run away with it, then in the dying minutes the Hawks made a comeback only to fall 10 points short.

It was an improved performance by the Hawks, but at times they were very scrappy and should have capitalised at certain moments in the game. They played a few games like this last year where they came close but couldn't get over the line, so it's hard to tell if they've improved. I think they'll win about 7-8 games.

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:55
Stmookeyj, thanks for the link :thumbsu:

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:56
In 2005 the Hawks matched it with the Crows for most of the game until the Crows started to run away with it, then in the dying minutes the Hawks made a comeback only to fall 10 points short.

It was an improved performance by the Hawks, but at times they were very scrappy and should have capitalised at certain moments in the game. They played a few games like this last year where they came close but couldn't get over the line, so it's hard to tell if they've improved. I think they'll win about 7-8 games.
I would settle for that :thumbsu:
Disappointed I won't get to see Jeff's jacket on the replay though :(

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 19:58
Adelaide seemed impressive in the 1st and last quarters. Fair analysis?

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 20:05
Just before I'm over and out, did anyone catch the crowd?

How was the York Park playing surface?

- PC -
4 Mar 2006, 20:05
Adelaide seemed impressive in the 1st and last quarters. Fair analysis?
Possibly

Hawthorn were also impressive but I feel they just didnt have the firepower

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 20:11
Possibly

Yep they had many chances to close it out, but give credit to Adelaide's defence.

The York Park (I heard Liam Pickering on the radio say that Aurora and York Park were two different stadiums....idiot! :)) surface looked very good, definitely one of the best in the AFL. :thumbsu:

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 20:15
Yep they had many chances to close it out, but give credit to Adelaide's defence.

The York Park (I heard Liam Pickering on the radio say that Aurora and York Park were two different stadiums....idiot! :)) surface looked very good, definitely one of the best in the AFL. :thumbsu:
Agreed on both parts, our young KPP will take time to mature and give us firepower; 2-3 years.

The most frustrating thing is...we have a super midfield, but an immature forward line which lacks firepower!

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 20:17
Possibly

That's why I said at the start of the game, the midfielders should bypass the forward line and go for goal from down town!

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Mar 2006, 20:43
That's why I said at the start of the game, the midfielders should bypass the forward line and go for goal from down town!
Yeah you could have played Williams in the midfield and just have him bomb em from 55 ;)

Hawkk
4 Mar 2006, 20:53
Yeah you could have played Williams in the midfield and just have him bomb em from 55 ;)
At least we have a 90% chance of getting a score!
:D

Blues_Man
4 Mar 2006, 20:54
Just before I'm over and out, did anyone catch the crowd?

How was the York Park playing surface?
For some weird reason the game was broadcast live into launceston on FTA :confused: so the crowd was smallish .
Officials and players from both teams stated before the game that Aurora stadium has the best playing surface in the comp .

It was an exceptional night for footy ..about 25 degrees slighty humid with not a breath of wind ...no excuses for the players out there