View Full Version : matthew bode playing well
outback jack
4 Mar 2006, 18:12
Best midfielder so far by all reports. Just starting to cement his place in 22 waynes_world. Good to see.:thumbsu:
Stephen2
4 Mar 2006, 21:04
I thought it was a good display tonight by Crusty. Also Reilly - as someone else noted, this year so far he has been GREAT at attacking the man/inside ball. Eight tackles!
crowsarethebest
4 Mar 2006, 21:09
Knights played well again 2 goals, with 1 a supergoal! Matty BOde played well which is good to see. Birdman did some great stuff but he did some stuff that is a trademark of the birdman.
Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 21:49
I'd like to see Bode start kicking a few goals - seems to be getting the ball enough close to goal. He has come back well and could probably sneak in to the top 22 come real game time.
Vic Crow
4 Mar 2006, 22:39
I'd like to see Bode start kicking a few goals - seems to be getting the ball enough close to goal. He has come back well and could probably sneak in to the top 22 come real game time.
I think if he starts kicking a few goals from those chances he is creating then he would be an easy selection in the 22 for Round 1. We're crying out for a crumbing forward and he has the attributes and sense of someone who could do the job well.
We've got the four talls, there'll always be a midfielder rotating into the forward line, but if we could get a couple of goals out of Bode (or someone similar) most weeks then we'll have an excellent balance up forward.
Bode did play well, but his kicking for goal is a negative so far. He's either just in the starting 22 or just out - but he's certainly having a good crack at it.
Someone mentioned Reilly. I'm wrapped with his 2 efforts to date. No pretty boy stuff but rather doing all the bullocking and tackling needed of a quality mid-fielder.
His use of the ball was first-class.
Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 22:51
Also Reilly - as someone else noted, this year so far he has been GREAT at attacking the man/inside ball. Eight tackles!Yes I was one who said it -and today he did it even better - very happy with that part of his game - will make him an even better player for us.
Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 19:28
Best midfielder so far by all reports. Just starting to cement his place in 22 waynes_world. Good to see.:thumbsu:
:p :p No way has he cemented a spot - he is purely backup
How many shots for goal for a return of one!!!
He has zero hurt factor when he does get it, lacks speed, balance, poise and frankly our other youngsters have gone past him.
Porps and Vince will get a game before him (unless we have injuries to our mature guys)
Why do you post on the basis of "reports" - do you always rely on third hand info????
PS - I have been off-line for 4 days otherwise I would have responded quicker
[QUOTE=Wayne's-World
PS - I have been off-line for 4 days otherwise I would have responded quicker[/QUOTE]
No excuse WW :(
Have you never heard of "pigeon" post ??:thumbsu: :)
As for Body, great start to the year for him just needs to stay fit to make the starting 22.
Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 19:44
No excuse WW :(
Have you never heard of "pigeon" post ??:thumbsu: :)
As for Body, great start to the year for him just needs to stay fit to make the starting 22.
Noddy - have been super impressed with Porplyzia and Vince, particularly Vince who will be special and potentially better than Knights.
Has that ball and touch that not many players have.
I think we now have players to go in and under who are better than Bode - guess TWT
PS - My pidgeon flew into a window
- have been super impressed with Porplyzia and Vince, particularly Vince who will be special and potentially better than Knights.
Has that ball and touch that not many players have.
Hell, I hope you're right because Knights IS going to be a top-liner - make no mistake about it.
By the time Knights is 24 to 25 his average touches per game will be an average that a Test cricketer would be proud of!! :D
Some people forget that this kid is one season out of U/18's and is a ball magnet already.
If Vince is going to be better than him, all I can say is "strike me pink"!!
Big statement WW.
By the way I do like Vince - he goes alright IMO - he does have a touch of class.
Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 22:37
Hell, I hope you're right because Knights IS going to be a top-liner - make no mistake about it.
By the time Knights is 24 to 25 his average touches per game will be an average that a Test cricketer would be proud of!! :D
Some people forget that this kid is one season out of U/18's and is a ball magnet already.
If Vince is going to be better than him, all I can say is "strike me pink"!!
Big statement WW.
By the way I do like Vince - he goes alright IMO - he does have a touch of class.
Not really Macca
How many players have you seen come to Adelaide play 4 games and get picked up by an AFL club without much to write home about from his country footy days.
This guy has been elevated so quickly on the back of something "special" that footy people see.
Forget the normal PS hype on players....no-one is going to refer to a new player as the next Macleod unless there's an element of truth.
Highly skilled, a bit of courage, and a great footy brain...make no mistake he's a beauty!!!
Good one Bigman!
Sorry OJ but I will have to see "Ashley and Martin" more frequently this year if we have Bode, Perrie and the Birdman all playing in the forward half of the ground. The guy just does not kick pressure goals, when it is needed.
I will say though that he is one of the best crumbers in the team. he does run to the right spots to get the ball off hands.
But it is the deflating effect of a missed goal from the Perries, Birdmans, Bodes and Skipworths of the world that cost games and change the momentum of games.
How many times has bad kicking cost the Crows victory? I can remember at least two last year - St Kilda (final) and WCE (Reilly's poor kicking for goal on this day.)
Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 22:45
Sorry OJ but I will have to see "Ashley and Martin" more frequently this year if we have Bode, Perrie and the Birdman all playing in the forward half of the ground. The guy just does not kick pressure goals, when it is needed.
I will say though that he is one of the best crumbers in the team. he does run to the right spots to get the ball off hands.
But it is the deflating effect of a missed goal from the Perries, Birdmans, Bodes and Skipworths of the world that cost games and change the momentum of games.
How many times has bad kicking cost the Crows victory? I can remember at least two last year - St Kilda (final) and WCE (Reilly's poor kicking for goal on this day.)
To be very quickly overtaken by Vince!
I think Bode is currently between 21-24 in team selection. May sneak in or may just miss out...but agreed not for want of effort. Much more pleasing to see
McLeod23
7 Mar 2006, 23:13
Noddy - have been super impressed with particularly Vince who will be special and potentially better than Knights.
That is a huge call, WW.
I like the look of Vince as well, seems to be clean with marking and disposal at all times, and is able to find the ball.
Can he play as a pure midfielder though?
That is a huge call, WW.
I like the look of Vince as well, seems to be clean with marking and disposal at all times, and is able to find the ball.
Youre not "convinced" Macca23.
Wayne's-World
8 Mar 2006, 00:10
That is a huge call, WW.
Wouldn't think so yet - he is probably another 2 pre seasons away from having the aerobic capacity but as a forward crumber he's perfect
In some of his mannerisms reminds me of Scott Welsh.
Could be the blonde hair.
Wayne's-World
8 Mar 2006, 06:55
Their running actions are very similar
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 07:50
You're right he does. Just on Vince, I didn't think his game was that great, I think some maybe exaggerating his output just a tad.
drakeyv2
8 Mar 2006, 08:24
You're right he does. Just on Vince, I didn't think his game was that great, I think some maybe exaggerating his output just a tad.
Yep. Only seen him in the game against the Hawks & he did a couple of nice things (take & evasion on outer wing 3rd quarter was very nice), but still pretty early to make a judgement one way or another.
Whether they are in our best 22 or not is probably irrelevant. It's whether they are in our best AVAILABLE 22 that counts. With 12 injuries at the moment Bode is a definite starter.
Just on Vince, I didn't think his game was that great, I think some maybe exaggerating his output just a tad.
tad, as in tripled actual disposals, or something?
Seriously, he looks OK, but hasnt coinvinced me he's the real thing just yet. He does some freakish things, which certainly has some special value, but its not like he's set the world on fire, he looks very inconsistent for mine. He's got a way to go to be in the round 1 team IMO.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 08:56
tad, as in tripled actual disposals, or something?
Seriously, he looks OK, but hasnt coinvinced me he's the real thing just yet. He does some freakish things, which certainly has some special value, but its not like he's set the world on fire, he looks very inconsistent for mine. He's got a way to go to be in the round 1 team IMO.
I thought he looked okay in patches. The pleasing things is he's not fraid to throw his body at the contest. To compare him to Knights though is mystifying. I'm starting to feel a bad vibe about Knights. If he doesn't get 30 possessions or fluffs up a few kicks there is suddenly "concerns" with regard to his game. Bloody hell the kids 19 years of age and practically dominated as an 18 against men in the SANFL. Along with VB, they would easily be the most promising youngsters we have had at the club in years. I don't remember the likes of Rutten, Mattner, Trent or Bock having the same impact in so few games.
Agreed on all counts Springy.
I do rate young Vince but obviously not as highly as some others who have posted here. I hope he does become a star for us, but ATM he's not there, he's just finding his feet.
Knights and VB are certainties for lots of game time this season, barring injury of course. Both have shown far more than any other youngsters on our list.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 09:35
Agreed on all counts Springy.
I do rate young Vince but obviously not as highly as some others who have posted here. I hope he does become a star for us, but ATM he's not there, he's just finding his feet.
Knights and VB are certainties for lots of game time this season, barring injury of course. Both have shown far more than any other youngsters on our list.
By along way too I would have thought.
Stiffy_18
8 Mar 2006, 09:36
All the concerns that have been raise about Knights are valid IMHO. His defensive game is non-existant. His tackling is attrocious and as such he will ALWAYS get exposed in the AFL.
I find it ironic that same people who praise Knights to high heaven bagged Burton a couple of years ago for his lack of the defensive game. Yet now, Knights is god's gift to football. Yes the kid is a natural footballer who can find the footy with the best of them. However, when the real stuff starts I can bet my life on the fact that opposition coaches will expose his lack of defensive game by playing through his opponent at EVERY oppostunity.
When its all said and done, there is no use of Knights getting 25 touches himself when his opponent picks up 30 and leads his team to the win. Opposition coaches have done that for years with Burton (under Ayres) and Birdman's defensive game at the time was better than Knights' is at the moment.
For this reason, I am starting to think that Knights might not play as many games this year as we are all thinking he will. There is every chance that VB gets picked before Knights for this very reason. I would like to see Craig give Knights a few tagging jobs during the year. We all know his offensive side of the game is exceptional but he does need to work on the defensive side. If the kid can add that aspect of the game to his armoury then we really are looking at an elite midfielder.
We all know his offensive side of the game is exceptional but he does need to work on the defensive side. If the kid can add that aspect of the game to his armoury then we really are looking at an elite midfielder.
Believe Neil Craig has already said as much.
But the kid will learn & really that's all he is a kid that knows how to get the footy & use it the rest of his game will come in time.
Maybe a couple of tagging roles will be the way to go.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 10:58
All the concerns that have been raise about Knights are valid IMHO. His defensive game is non-existant. His tackling is attrocious and as such he will ALWAYS get exposed in the AFL.
I find it ironic that same people who praise Knights to high heaven bagged Burton a couple of years ago for his lack of the defensive game. Yet now, Knights is god's gift to football. Yes the kid is a natural footballer who can find the footy with the best of them. However, when the real stuff starts I can bet my life on the fact that opposition coaches will expose his lack of defensive game by playing through his opponent at EVERY oppostunity.
When its all said and done, there is no use of Knights getting 25 touches himself when his opponent picks up 30 and leads his team to the win. Opposition coaches have done that for years with Burton (under Ayres) and Birdman's defensive game at the time was better than Knights' is at the moment.
For this reason, I am starting to think that Knights might not play as many games this year as we are all thinking he will. There is every chance that VB gets picked before Knights for this very reason. I would like to see Craig give Knights a few tagging jobs during the year. We all know his offensive side of the game is exceptional but he does need to work on the defensive side. If the kid can add that aspect of the game to his armoury then we really are looking at an elite midfielder.
Granted Stiff, he does need to improve on his defense game but its not all bad. The positives far outweigh the negatives. For exmaple take Simon Goodwin, he has a few obvious flaws in that on occasion he ducks his head in marking contests and I have seen him hessitate when he should have put his body on the line. But hey as with Knights, the good far outweighs the bad.
What would you rather Chris Knights or another Luke Jericho who has neither football smarts nor courage?
As Noddy said Stiff, that is an aspect of his game i'm sure Craigy is working on. Look at Reilly, he's like a new player but if you think back to when he started an compare him with Knights, I would suggest Knights is ahead by a fair margin.
I also stand by comment that both he and VB are 2 of the most exciting youngsters we have had at the club for quite awhile.
You sound a little disappointed with him?
BTW I agree, VB should be picked before Knights.
crazy_big_al
8 Mar 2006, 11:12
always liked him.
good little player good to see him doing well
Stiffy_18
8 Mar 2006, 11:22
You sound a little disappointed with him?.
Far from it. I have been VERY impressed with his ability. He is a ball magnet and has the ability to be a match winner. However, he also has some flaws that need to be addressed ASAP. At this stage he is a Matthew Connell clone. If he improves his defensive side of the game he will become a bloody good player. The ball is in his court.
Stephen2
8 Mar 2006, 11:26
Hey now! I'll admit when Matt Connell was around, I was just a young feller and couldn't really analyze a players style that much...
However, Matty Connell was great I thought! He got heaps of the ball... I don't want to drag this post off topic, but could someone point out what Matty Connell's flaws were? My memory is hazy, is it that he had no defence to his game? Or a lack of damage with his many possessions?
Thanks Crows!
Hey now! I'll admit when Matt Connell was around, I was just a young feller and couldn't really analyze a players style that much...
However, Matty Connell was great I thought! He got heaps of the ball... I don't want to drag this post off topic, but could someone point out what Matty Connell's flaws were? My memory is hazy, is it that he had no defence to his game? Or a lack of damage with his many possessions?
Thanks Crows!
Hospital balls was one. He used to chip every kick too high and set up the receiver to be KO'd. Also lacked a bit or maybe a lot defensively as Stiffy implied.
He was a good player though. I liked him too.
Hospital balls was one. He used to chip every kick too high and set up the receiver to be KO'd. Also lacked a bit or maybe a lot defensively as Stiffy implied.
He was a good player though. I liked him too.
Is a club champion as well.
Could run all day & got plenty of the ball but as you say "those hospital balls" :eek:
Kane McGoodwin
8 Mar 2006, 12:49
Still can't see him our best 22. Useful depth player who is great at getting the ball, but others use it better (which keeps him out of our best line-up IMO). Good to see him back though playing good footy.
I just hope Knights doesn't read BigFooty or at at least this thread.
We are talking about a kid who's played 2 AFL games, is learning a new position as a wingman, who has shown greater promise at this age than 99% of all draftees and yet he gets bagged on his weaknesses rather than praised for his abilities!! :(
FFS people, Craig will deal with that side of it. Let's just be happy that we have a genuinely exciting youngster playing for US with a long-term future.
IMO Knights is a certainty to play as from Round 1. VB is only a chance becuase of the competition for the spot he plays in, although he'd be in my 22.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 13:40
We are talking about a kid who's played 2 AFL games, is learning a new position as a wingman, who has shown greater promise at this age than 99% of all draftees and yet he gets bagged on his weaknesses rather than praised for his abilities!! :(
FFS people, Craig will deal with that side of it. Let's just be happy that we have a genuinely exciting youngster playing for US with a long-term future.IMO Knights is a certainty to play as from Round 1. VB is only a chance becuase of the competition for the spot he plays in, although he'd be in my 22.
Spot on Macca...
Markthirtytwo
8 Mar 2006, 16:07
FFS people, Craig will deal with that side of it. Let's just be happy that we have a genuinely exciting youngster playing for US with a long-term future.
IMO Knights is a certainty to play as from Round 1. VB is only a chance becuase of the competition for the spot he plays in, although he'd be in my 22.
Yup, Yup and Yup. Mine too.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 16:52
Yup, Yup and Yup. Mine too.
The kid has special qualities, no doubt about it.
Wayne's-World
8 Mar 2006, 18:51
As Noddy said Stiff, that is an aspect of his game i'm sure Craigy is working on. Look at Reilly, he's like a new player but if you think back to when he started an compare him with Knights, I would suggest Knights is ahead by a fair margin.
I also stand by comment that both he and VB are 2 of the most exciting youngsters we have had at the club for quite awhile.
You sound a little disappointed with him?
BTW I agree, VB should be picked before Knights.
Please do not think we are disappointed - what Stiffy and i are saying is that at 19 he does not have the complete game....that he has a LONG way to go.
That doesn't go against what your saying about him being one of the brightest talents at the club - far from it.
But let's not also gloss over his obvious shortcomings - and that's not being critical or anything that the kid hasn't heard from Neil Craig.
Wayne's-World
8 Mar 2006, 18:55
Disagree
Need to be aware of his shortcomings - otherwise the first time his opponent gets BOG with 30+ possessions this board will rip him apart.
balance between age - experience - expectations;)
Disagree
Need to be aware of his shortcomings - otherwise the first time his opponent gets BOG with 30+ possessions this board will rip him apart.
balance between age - experience - expectations;)
Ever heard of a nobody called Neil Craig, WW?
I believe I referred to the fact that he'll handle this side of it - and about 1000 times better than we would be capable of.
Once they've been on the list for 4 or 5 years and still make the same mistakes - and their name is Smith - then they become fair game. ;)
NikkiNoo
8 Mar 2006, 20:15
Once they've been on the list for 4 or 5 years and still make the same mistakes - and their name is Smith - then they become fair game. ;)
:D gone but not forgotten eh macca?
Wayne's-World
8 Mar 2006, 20:37
Ever heard of a nobody called Neil Craig, WW?
I believe I referred to the fact that he'll handle this side of it - and about 1000 times better than we would be capable of.
:p
Seriously though.............young players are lucky to get to their second season b4 being dumped on.
AKA Jericho, Reilly, ...
But there is a difference with pointing out defficiencies and bagging the developing player.
We do it prior to the draft - that is analyse players strengths and weaknesses to choose the best player/club fit.
We can't do it after their drafted???
outback jack
8 Mar 2006, 21:42
:p :p No way has he cemented a spot - he is purely backup
How many shots for goal for a return of one!!!
He has zero hurt factor when he does get it, lacks speed, balance, poise and frankly our other youngsters have gone past him.
Porps and Vince will get a game before him (unless we have injuries to our mature guys)
Why do you post on the basis of "reports" - do you always rely on third hand info????
PS - I have been off-line for 4 days otherwise I would have responded quicker
haha 'reports' is a nice generalization. It was more tongue in cheek WW. He started well and the inaccuracy is a problem, but i'd say hes just doing nicely to slide into the 22. Pretty critical for him that he doesnt get any injury in the next 5-6 weeks though. Hes better than massie for instance who is purely a depth player.
beagle2
10 Mar 2006, 21:54
haha 'reports' is a nice generalization. It was more tongue in cheek WW. He started well and the inaccuracy is a problem but i'd say hes just doing nicely to slide into the 22. Pretty critical for him that he doesnt get any injury in the next 5-6 weeks though. Hes better than massie for instance who is purely a depth player.
Two easy shots missed tonight Went to ground far too often Trade you two Bodes and a Skipworth for a Jericho
ok.crows
10 Mar 2006, 22:12
Yep. It has already been said, spot on.
outback jack
11 Mar 2006, 00:12
Two easy shots missed tonight Went to ground far too often Trade you two Bodes and a Skipworth for a Jericho
yeah hes on the edge beagle2, the thread was a bit of fun. Although i thought he'd just make the 22 originally. He was good last week, but not so sure now. So far noticable problems with him are his tackling which is poor and his kicking distance and accuracy. Still a chance a chance at the 22 though. Jericho has played games like that before and its easy to do so when we flog them, until he goes in harder the question marks will still be there. With welsh to come back he'll have to find a different role to that leading forward role as well.