View Full Version : Crows Youngsters

Drummond
4 Mar 2006, 21:25
Here are my thoughts on our young players tonight:

To be honest I thought John Hinge was one of our better youngsters tonight, whenever he was on the ground he impressed me. He has neat skills, and he seems to know how to find the footy, he’s a strong tackler and looks to be a player with real promise. He may not get a game this season, however he looks to be a real find and he is definitely one to keep an eye on.

I thought Bernie Vince did some nice things, highlighted by his strong mark at the beginning of the third quarter. He didn’t find much of the footy, but he looks clean and could be a handy player. I still don’t think he warranted the No.32 selection though.

I’m convinced Nathan Van Berlo is going to be a star for the Crows. He is full of courage, always put his head over the footy and is one of the best tacklers we have. Chris Knights is already a ball magnet, if he gets decent playing time there’s no reason why he couldn’t win the Rising Star Award. I can’t recall a player that finds so much of the footy, just seems to always be in the right place. And his supergoal was brilliant.

Ivan Maric looks like an excellent prospect; he looks comfortable when rucking and he is quite quick for someone so tall. He falls back into defense too which is great to see. I don’t think he can be relied upon to really defeat his opposition ruckman, but I think he could easily allow Biglands or Clarke to have a few minutes rest because he can hold his own.

I have always been extremely critical of Jericho, and after tonight’s performance I don’t really know what to say. I’ll start off by saying that I thought he was brilliant in the first quarter. His skills were great, he got plenty of possessions and he always found a target. However as the rest of the game wore on, other than his great supergoal, he was kept quiet and his effort at times was once again lacking. His first quarter performance did enough to suggest that he could easily play AFL if he wants to, but the rest once again showed his lack of desire and commitment. It’s frustrating because he has all the skills and pace to be a good player, but he doesn’t put it all together.

Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 21:43
\I have always been extremely critical of Jericho, and after tonight’s performance I don’t really know what to say. I’ll start off by saying that I thought he was brilliant in the first quarter. His skills were great, he got plenty of possessions and he always found a target. However as the rest of the game wore on, other than his great supergoal, he was kept quiet and his effort at times was once again lacking. His first quarter performance did enough to suggest that he could easily play AFL if he wants to, but the rest once again showed his lack of desire and commitment. It’s frustrating because he has all the skills and pace to be a good player, but he doesn’t put it all together.Fair assessment of him I thought - have to say that -subject to seeing the replay- he seemed to not quite commit to a contest on the outer wing in the last 1/4.

Overall I am really satisfied with the younger players - probably too early to comment on Vince's 32 pick value but he looks ok.

Gets!
4 Mar 2006, 21:46
Here are my thoughts on our young players tonight:

To be honest I thought John Hinge was one of our better youngsters tonight, whenever he was on the ground he impressed me. He has neat skills, and he seems to know how to find the footy, he’s a strong tackler and looks to be a player with real promise. He may not get a game this season, however he looks to be a real find and he is definitely one to keep an eye on.

I thought Bernie Vince did some nice things, highlighted by his strong mark at the beginning of the third quarter. He didn’t find much of the footy, but he looks clean and could be a handy player. I still don’t think he warranted the No.32 selection though.

I’m convinced Nathan Van Berlo is going to be a star for the Crows. He is full of courage, always put his head over the footy and is one of the best tacklers we have. Chris Knights is already a ball magnet, if he gets decent playing time there’s no reason why he couldn’t win the Rising Star Award. I can’t recall a player that finds so much of the footy, just seems to always be in the right place. And his supergoal was brilliant.

Ivan Maric looks like an excellent prospect; he looks comfortable when rucking and he is quite quick for someone so tall. He falls back into defense too which is great to see. I don’t think he can be relied upon to really defeat his opposition ruckman, but I think he could easily allow Biglands or Clarke to have a few minutes rest because he can hold his own.

I have always been extremely critical of Jericho, and after tonight’s performance I don’t really know what to say. I’ll start off by saying that I thought he was brilliant in the first quarter. His skills were great, he got plenty of possessions and he always found a target. However as the rest of the game wore on, other than his great supergoal, he was kept quiet and his effort at times was once again lacking. His first quarter performance did enough to suggest that he could easily play AFL if he wants to, but the rest once again showed his lack of desire and commitment. It’s frustrating because he has all the skills and pace to be a good player, but he doesn’t put it all together.

Nice read.

Although Vince got 15 touches...in his first game, and took 6 marks.

Not worth pick 32?

How many other picks in the 30's have a game like that on debut. He looked like he 'belonged'.

Drummond
4 Mar 2006, 21:50
Nice read.

Although Vince got 15 touches...in his first game, and took 6 marks.

Not worth pick 32?

How many other picks in the 30's have a game like that on debut. He looked like he 'belonged'.
Yeh I must admit I didn't know Vince got so many touches, I thought he got maybe 10, but 15 is a good effort. I must have got him confused with Hinge a few times. And he's actually a little taller than I remembered him.

He may prove to be worth pick 32, it's just that I don't think there is too much up-side to Vince. We'll see.

Stiffy_18
4 Mar 2006, 22:01
I thought all of our youngsters did a pretty reasonable job tonight and none of our senior players really stamped themselves on the game. We won this one without a big impact from the senior players.

Van Berlo - this kid has GREAT courage. Skills under pressure need a bit of a tidy up. He kicked a few around his body tonight in the Matthew Bod fashion but this kid has a HUGE heart and courage to match it. Will throw himself into every contest regardless of the circumstances. He is putting his hand up for round 1.

Maric - you can see how raw he is but you can also see the potential with the lad. He plays a style very similar to Matthew Primus. He holds his own in the ruck contest but he also follows it up when the ball hits the ground. In time he could be a REALLY good ruckman

Knights - Probably a bit quieter in the 2nd half but a solid hitout regardless. Kicked 2 goals (including a supergoal) and picked up a decent number of possesions.

Vince - I like this kid. He has a bit of flair about him. He did a couple of noce things tonight that left me asking "how'd he do that" but missed his opportunities in front of goal. I am pretty happy with his first AFL hitout. 15 possesions (8 contested) and 6 marks is pretty good return from Bernie. He does have a bit of class

Jericho - Showed a bit of both worlds. Did some fantastic things but had some periods where he was soft as butter. I thought he was sensational early. Really liked his game early. Then he went missing for 2 quarters and returned to have a pretty good final term. Kicked a super goal of one step. A better hitout than last week but I know he can do better.

Reilly - I think he is set for a fairly good year. His attack on the man and the ball is excellent. For a midfielder, the best way to get into the game is to tackle and then tackle some more. He has REALLY stepped up in this part of his game. His tackling is excellent. 17 possesions, 5 marks and 8 tackles :eek: is a pretty good return from a player who hasn'ttrained pretty much for a whole week. If there is one thing that ********ed me off about his game tonight, its that he was handball happy. 11 handballs is over the top IMHO. He has a great kick, its probably his best weapon so use it. Apart from that, can't complain :)

Hentschel - probably broke even with his opponent for the night. Took a couple of great pack marks and kicked 3 goals (missed a couple of sitters as well). Of those 3, 2 were snap shots that tall players just shouldn't kick :D

Hinge - Didn't really stand out but he wasn't out of his depth either. Attacks the contest well and used it OK when he got it.

Mattner - OK he is not exactly a "youngster" any more but I have to give him special praise here. His stats might not show it but I really liked his game tonight. He was giving away both height and weight but he played a very good negating game on one of the most promising tall forwards in the country. REALLY liked his game.

Bock - He was servicable. Nothing spectacular.

From the backbone players:

Massie - For a 2nd week in a row I think he did a quite reasonable job for us. Played pretty well on Williams who can always be a bit of a handful. Hasn't done his chances any harm IMHO.

Bode - It was a good game from Bodster. Missed some gettable goals (but just about everyone did tonight for some reason) but got plenty of the footy and disposed of it reasonably well. Keep it up Bodster :thumbsu:

From the Hawks perspective, how bloody good is Roughead?????? That kid will be something special. He more than held his own against Rutten IMHO. That in itself is a pretty big achievement. I wish we had a young key forward like that coming through the ranks.

Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 22:06
From the Hawks perspective, how bloody good is Roughead?????? That kid will be something special. He more than held his own against Rutten IMHO. That in itself is a pretty big achievement. I wish we had a young key forward like that coming through the ranks.Actually what about Max Bailey - pick 18! - should we have taken him?

Gets!
4 Mar 2006, 22:09
Actually what about Max Bailey - pick 18! - should we have taken him?

Nah we dont need Bailey. We got Clarke, Biglands, Maric, Meesen and Griffin. Gibson can also pinch hit in the ruck.

Stiffy_18 Vince only had one shot at goal...and it was a snap.

Drummond
4 Mar 2006, 22:10
From the Hawks perspective, how bloody good is Roughead?????? That kid will be something special. He more than held his own against Rutten IMHO. That in itself is a pretty big achievement. I wish we had a young key forward like that coming through the ranks.
Great summary mate.

I actually think Roughead is more suited to the backline, but tonight he was great up forward. The kid can play, there's no doubt that he could turn into one of the best players in the competition. To be honest I thought he beat Rutten tonight on many one-on-one contests, I don't know what was wrong with Rutten but he looked slow tonight. He struggled to contain Roughead on many occasions in the last quarter, and it just looked as though he wasn't quite 100% fit. Anyone else get the same feeling?

Stiffy_18
4 Mar 2006, 22:15
Actually what about Max Bailey - pick 18! - should we have taken him?
With the number of developing ruckman on our list, I wouldn't :)

Stiffy_18 Vince only had one shot at goal...and it was a snap.True but that shot was after a classy one handed pick up and a spin to get out of trouble. A bit of a real classy work followed but a shanked kick. If he kicked that goal it would have been special.

Vince reminds me of Vardy just a little bit. He is good in the air and he has that bit of sense around packs. If he gets to be as good as Vardy we would be laughing all the way to the bank ;)

Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 22:36
Great summary mate.

I actually think Roughead is more suited to the backline, but tonight he was great up forward. The kid can play, there's no doubt that he could turn into one of the best players in the competition. To be honest I thought he beat Rutten tonight on many one-on-one contests, I don't know what was wrong with Rutten but he looked slow tonight. He struggled to contain Roughead on many occasions in the last quarter, and it just looked as though he wasn't quite 100% fit. Anyone else get the same feeling?I wonder whether Rutten is better against players he knows something about - gets a chance to work out how to play them. He would have seen a lot of the likes of Tredrea and Hall - so knows what to expect. Probably a few looks at Roughead will improve his performance. I thought Franklin looked pretty good too! Hawthorn did well with their P/Picks - but glad that system will be changed.

Capitalist
4 Mar 2006, 22:38
I was very impressed with Vince, I think he will make a great goal sneak in the future

Hentschel had a quiet game - but if he has quiet games like that and kicks 3 goals then so be it

Knights - Gun

Maric - ok maybe I was wrong about him, seems to be getting better and better.

Rielly - looking good, I reckon this is going to be his year

Jericho - still picked up 13 touches, I only saw the first three qtrs his first qtr was great and from reports it seems so was his last, his best is still in front of him.

Hinge - needs a bit more time

for what its worth I hear that Meeson got killed in norwoods trial game so Maric is in front for a Rd1 game

Stiffy_18
4 Mar 2006, 23:01
I was very impressed with Vince, I think he will make a great goal sneak in the future
One thing that might hold him back is his pace over the first 5-10 meters. If he was quick off the mark he could be that Vardy Type forward that we have been missing ever since, well Vardy.
Rielly - looking good, I reckon this is going to be his year
What changed your mind? :D :p

Nige_Bix
4 Mar 2006, 23:14
for what its worth I hear that Meeson got killed in norwoods trial game so Maric is in front for a Rd1 gameThat's dissapointing considering comments were made about his expected improvement following a good preseason.

McLeodMagic
5 Mar 2006, 00:17
I was really happy with all the kids tonight. All of them did relatively well, Vince showed a bit of class but needs to improve on his kicking. Delighted with the work Big Ivan did in the ruck and around the ground.

With Skippy and Shirley being doubtful for next week, could we see Richard against the Dees? :D

RooDog
5 Mar 2006, 10:19
Yeh I must admit I didn't know Vince got so many touches, I thought he got maybe 10, but 15 is a good effort. I must have got him confused with Hinge a few times. And he's actually a little taller than I remembered him.

He may prove to be worth pick 32, it's just that I don't think there is too much up-side to Vince. We'll see.
Vince did some very nice work in close feeding the ball out... a couple of very nice handballs out from traffic to find a player on the run... A lot of this tends to go unnoticed

noddy
5 Mar 2006, 10:37
Vince did some very nice work in close feeding the ball out... a couple of very nice handballs out from traffic to find a player on the run... A lot of this tends to go unnoticed

Clean hands, good evasive skills & also does not panic.

Like what i saw from him.:thumbsu:

Thought Jericho started off really well but bloody hell he must learn to keep his head over the ball & not worry too much about what's coming at him, took the gloss off of a fair game from him.

Capitalist
5 Mar 2006, 10:50
One thing that might hold him back is his pace over the first 5-10 meters. If he was quick off the mark he could be that Vardy Type forward that we have been missing ever since, well Vardy.

What changed your mind? :D :p

lets just say that from this weeks game he looked much more impressive than I have ever seen - I have to admit his foot skills are greatly improved from last yr

SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 12:32
Really impressed with Reilly. As others have said, he has gome in leaps and bounds from last year. His attack at the contest has improved outof sight.

The other youngster who is really impressing me is Van Berlo. He has heaps of courage and is pretty hard at it form one so young. I also detect a bit of mongrel in him in the way he attacks the oppositon.

*PAF
5 Mar 2006, 12:53
As I said in the Reilly Vs Salopek thread, too much is expected of players before they gain enough experience nowadays. Very very few players can make an impact early in their career, yet we expect all of them can do it.
All good things come to those who wait.
He is now approaching 50 games, so this year and next we will see just what sort of a player he will be for the rest of his career.

SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 13:07
As I said in the Reilly Vs Salopek thread, too much is expected of players before they gain enough experience nowadays. Very very few players can make an impact early in their career, yet we expect all of them can do it.
All good things come to those who wait.
He is now approaching 50 games, so this year and next we will see just what sort of a player he will be for the rest of his career.

Spot on PAF. Too be honest, i'm astounded by Reilly's last few weeks. I didn't think he had that type of game in him.

Thunderstruck
5 Mar 2006, 13:46
Happy with the youngsters tonight, they all showed a bit.

Vince - Love this bloke, very good effort for his first game, adds some flair around the contest and runs to the right positions to get the ball, something that I consider very important. Def has that x-factor.

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18 :eek:

Hinge - Not a heap of gametime due to injury but when he was on he did some nice things. Has a fair body on him and hopefully we will see him cement a spot in the middle for Glenelg this year.

Reilly - Impressive game from him, really starting to stand out with his neat skills, time he is 25 he will be an elite player for us. Up with the Goodwin/Edwards sort of standard.

Maric - Gary Lyon loves him, and boy he is a big lad. Has a real go and his skills wern't that bad at all. Clearly well ahead of Meesen now.

Jericho - Started off like a blazing gun but totally dropped away and did some silly things, but kicked a nice goal later. Better effort than last week that's for sure. Still not convinced on him tho, especially with others coming thru the ranks.

macca23
5 Mar 2006, 14:58
Happy with the youngsters tonight, they all showed a bit.

Vince - Love this bloke, very good effort for his first game, adds some flair around the contest and runs to the right positions to get the ball, something that I consider very important. Def has that x-factor.

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18 :eek:

Hinge - Not a heap of gametime due to injury but when he was on he did some nice things. Has a fair body on him and hopefully we will see him cement a spot in the middle for Glenelg this year.

Reilly - Impressive game from him, really starting to stand out with his neat skills, time he is 25 he will be an elite player for us. Up with the Goodwin/Edwards sort of standard.

Maric - Gary Lyon loves him, and boy he is a big lad. Has a real go and his skills wern't that bad at all. Clearly well ahead of Meesen now.

Jericho - Started off like a blazing gun but totally dropped away and did some silly things, but kicked a nice goal later. Better effort than last week that's for sure. Still not convinced on him tho, especially with others coming thru the ranks.

All good comments.

Just on Reilly, he was a Nick Stevens type of winger when we drafted him - definitely an outside receiver.

He's copped a fair bit of flak in the last couple of years while the club has been changing his role from that to an inside mid-fielder - that's chalk and cheese in anyone's book.

Last year in particular he was being groomed in short bursts for this role because of the need for skilled players to step up into this role when the big 4 we currently have all depart virtually at the one time.

Including the game against Norwood, he's been one of our hardest working, fiercest tackling mid-filders in all 3 games, while still showing some silky skills.

I picked him before a ball was bounced in anger this year to be the big improver of those already in the team, because of the learning process forced on him by Craig last year.

So far he's looking damned good!!

macca23
5 Mar 2006, 15:07

Now if only Craig can perform the same miracle on Jericho!!

He did do some really good things, and some very silly ones as you correctly pointed out.

My criticism is still based on his attck on the ball and the player being too soft and at times that was on display for all to see again yesterday.

That half-hearted effort on the outer wing early in the last quarter was not a pretty sight.

If Jericho toughens up he could be a footballer. If he doesn't he'll be gone.

Now he is a challenge for Craigy!!

mattyc2422
5 Mar 2006, 21:48
Haha, we hope he'll be special too. And he should be. He almost took over the game last night at the tender age of 19. Not many players can do that.

Buddy gets the hype, but Roughead will be a dominant force in the game.

You blokes are on the right track though too Stiffy. I dunno if its your recruiting department or the way you blood your youth or a combination of both, but your youngsters always seem to impress me.

Crow-mo
5 Mar 2006, 21:55
All good comments.

Just on Reilly, he was a Nick Stevens type of winger when we drafted him - definitely an outside receiver.

He's copped a fair bit of flak in the last couple of years while the club has been changing his role from that to an inside mid-fielder - that's chalk and cheese in anyone's book.

Last year in particular he was being groomed in short bursts for this role because of the need for skilled players to step up into this role when the big 4 we currently have all depart virtually at the one time.

Including the game against Norwood, he's been one of our hardest working, fiercest tackling mid-filders in all 3 games, while still showing some silky skills.

I picked him before a ball was bounced in anger this year to be the big improver of those already in the team, because of the learning process forced on him by Craig last year.

8 tackles for reilly shows a real committment to the 1%'ers.

but what is far more remarkable, and I've seen no one mention this:
8 tackles in a game is great
8 tackles in preseason is freaking unbelievable!!

bigman
5 Mar 2006, 22:45
Vince - he is clean - and he has a penatrating kick - he was worth pick 32 - take it from me.

Knights - very good with the footie- he runs to the right spot - but he must improve defensive part of his game - tackling needs to improve.

Van Berlo - will play round 1 - so courageous and assured for one so young. Future captain.

Maric - believing in himself more each week. Needs gametime at this level.

Skippy - out of form even before injured. Other players have gone past him at this stage.

Jericho - that goal told us what he can do - he needs more self beleif at his level. With belief comes improves performance and a better more confident attack on the ball.

Bode -much much better effort, but still does not kick enough goals. Worked his butt off - good defensive pressure.

Perrie- no-one works harder but you cannot afford to kick into the man on the mark from 15m out. Once again this poor effort changed the momentum of the game.

Stiffy - seems out of sorts at the moment.

Rutten - agree with somneone else earlier also looked out of sorts on the night.

Hinge - better effort but still needs to hit through the ball more and increase acceleration when he has ball.

Birdman - ability to infuriate or shower heaps of praise - he needs to make less mistakes though at his age however.

Macca, Goody and Tyson relatively quiet. Better last quarter from the MAc man.

Mattner train did well on much taller opponents - needs to be freed up though so he can give us that offensive run out of defense.

Hentschell - continuing to show us more in his armoury.

Reilly - looks ot have lost a bit of bulk and has more pace this year. Like his more physical approach.

Thomo - we need to see more from him as well.

Our backline will look and act more effectively when Bassett and Hart return. How long before Bassett makes it?

Biglands - would like to see him take the bit between the teeth more often. A couple more grabs per game needed. Thought he was Ok though.

Forwards seemed to get in each others way more this week. We do not seem to play this ground that well. What do others think?

- PC -
5 Mar 2006, 23:56

Oi I was first :p

Dolemite
6 Mar 2006, 11:38
Nah we dont need Bailey. We got Clarke, Biglands, Maric, Meesen and Griffin. Gibson can also pinch hit in the ruck.

Stiffy_18 Vince only had one shot at goal...and it was a snap.

Speaking of Gibson, I heard the new Norwood coach on the radio and he said that he was really impressed with his game against Port. He said that he still has a lot to learn but was very clean down back. Very happy with Vince in his first game.

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 13:15
Great summary mate.

I actually think Roughead is more suited to the backline, but tonight he was great up forward. The kid can play, there's no doubt that he could turn into one of the best players in the competition. To be honest I thought he beat Rutten tonight on many one-on-one contests, I don't know what was wrong with Rutten but he looked slow tonight. He struggled to contain Roughead on many occasions in the last quarter, and it just looked as though he wasn't quite 100% fit. Anyone else get the same feeling?

reckon roughhead needs to be played the rest of his career at CHF-FF. not one of his better games, but has just turned 19 in january, so has plenty of time ;) anyone that can take a contested mark like roughhead has the potential to tear games apart in this league. check out this link

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18

u are **********ting me, u have some sorta gun on ur hands here. couple of u guys called this very very early last year.:eek:

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 13:18
Great summary mate.

reckon roughhead needs to be played the rest of his career at CHF-FF. not one of his better games, but has just turned 19 in january, so has plenty of time ;) anyone that can take a contested mark like roughhead has the potential to tear games apart in this league. check out this link, couple of marks from last year when roughy was playing for box hill :D

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=179794&highlight=Roughead

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18

u are **********ting me, u have some sorta gun on ur hands here. couple of u guys called this very very early last year.:eek:

Crowked
6 Mar 2006, 13:30
Great summary mate.

Didnt Rutten have a groin issue? I was under the impression he was going to be rested this week because he left the track early with groin soreness. He definately looked like he wasnt moving freely.

Roughead does look good, so does Franklin. Theyre both top 5 picks though, so they should be emerging stars.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 15:50
Franklin looked the best to me, always provided a strong lead and had great hands below his knees, obviously still a bit rough but will be awesome when he puts it all together.

Markthirtytwo
6 Mar 2006, 16:05
Although Boogie played really well again and looks all class, I thought the Count was a tower of strength on the HBF.

He looks like he's much bigger than last year and his reading of the play was exceptional.

The Bernie was very classy in parts and didnt look out of place on the big stage. Will be interesting to see him play more pre season games.

Hinge did a few nice things but couldnt get into the game IMHO.

To be fair on The Wall (Jericho) you cant play well and sit on the bench at the same time. Some here thought he went cold in the 2nd and early in the
3rd term but he was on the bench.

Big Evaaaaan also did some nice work and his 2nd and 3rd efforts were something that took my eye.

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 16:11
Franklin looked the best to me, always provided a strong lead and had great hands below his knees, obviously still a bit rough but will be awesome when he puts it all together.
both roughy and franklin just turned 19. so they have time.

do u guys reckon VB is in ur best 22, looks another midfielder u have scored late in the draft.

who is ur recruiting guy?

Gets!
6 Mar 2006, 16:13
VB is definetely in our best 22. Was taken at pick 24.

Chris Knights was taken at pick 56 which is quite amazing really...

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 16:29

do u guys reckon VB is in ur best 22, looks another midfielder u have scored late in the draft.

I understand they are only young, they will be exceptional talents.

VB is a Definate midfielder if you ask me, but at the moment I like seeing him come off the half back line.

crowsarethebest
6 Mar 2006, 17:03
I have a feeling Meeson is home sick. Now i didn't expect him to set the world on fire but he hasn't really shown anything. Yeah he could be a late bloomer and its only been 1 year but i've been a bit dissapointed. At the moment it looks like Maric has overtaken him.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 17:07
I tend to get the same feeling, I have nothing to base this on and could be (more than likely) well off but I just have the same gut feeling I had with Fungus.

AdelUniCrowFan
6 Mar 2006, 18:07
VB is definetely in our best 22. Was taken at pick 24.

Chris Knights was taken at pick 56 which is quite amazing really...

Is VB there yet. I have Knights and Reilly ahead of him.

B: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Bock Hart
C: Mattner Ricciuto Goodwin
HF: Thompson McGregor Perrie
F: Welsh Hentschel Burton

R: Biglands McLeod Edwards

INT: (Maric or Clarke), Shirley, (2 of Knights, Reilly, Van Berlo, Doughty, Massie, Skipworth, Bode, Jericho, Vince, Hinge, Porplyzia, and whoever else)

macca23
6 Mar 2006, 18:59
Is VB there yet. I have Knights and Reilly ahead of him.

B: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Bock Hart
C: Mattner Ricciuto Goodwin
HF: Thompson McGregor Perrie
F: Welsh Hentschel Burton

R: Biglands McLeod Edwards

INT: (Maric or Clarke), Shirley, (2 of Knights, Reilly, Van Berlo, Doughty, Massie, Skipworth, Bode, Jericho, Vince, Hinge, Porplyzia, and whoever else)

Hell. When you look at it on paper like that, if all players are available, selection is going to be damned tough.

Your starting 18 all have to be in the 22 IMO.

One ruckman and Shirley look to be a must as well.

Knights and Reilly also have to play IMO.

Yet VB deserves to be in there as does Bode. The others will have to queue behind this pair.

What a problem to have - a good one. Injury will probably sort it out though.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 20:29

Sorry mate I missed that last question.

Our recruiting manager is James Fantasia. Has a great record of plucking talent late in the draft.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 20:45

Fantassia but you wouldn't want him as he has a history of wasting high draft picks:

outback jack
6 Mar 2006, 21:03

Our recruiting manager is James Fantasia. Has a great record of plucking talent late in the draft.

James still has a bit of proving to do. If he hadnt picked those late ones (johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner) he wouldnt be our recruiter anymore, cause theres nothing else to add. Reilly maybe thats it. Considering he got lucky in one draft means until the 2004 draft he had a bit of a dry patch. The new pressure NC has brought in to perform has made a few things change in recent times. Just the general feeling you get is that since 2004 we've picked up some good players. Plus JF has been given all the picks which doesnt hurt either.

Big test will be how the likes of skipworth and even shirely who goes up and down a bit perform when the stars go. I notice jimmy was quick to stamp them as quality players and how he had alway had 'faith' in them last yr when asked about them.

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 21:08

seems to have a better record late than early........would that be a fair assesment?

although u guys have been pretty well starved of draft picks the last 10 years.

adelaide

16.douglas
17.pfeiffer
32.vince
48.obst:thumbsu:

8.meeson
24.VB
28.gibson
40.maric
56.knights:thumbsu:

14.watts
31.krueger
58.hudson:thumbsu:

32.jericho
56.shirley'
68.begley

12.reilly
44.finnan
59.schuback

hawks

3.ellis
6.dowler
14.birchall
18.bailey
22.muston:thumbsu:
38.tuck (f-s)

2.roughead:thumbsu:
5.franklin
7.lewis
21.murphy
26.little
53.taylor

25.miller
41.dawson
51.ball

8.brennan
51.boyle
65.veale

2001-where would we be without this draft???

1.hodge:thumbsu:
16.ladson
20.elstone
32.brown
36.mitchell
48.cox

seems both clubs value the draft a bit different now to a few years ago. think all clubs do apart from maybe sydney

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 21:12
seems to have a better record late than early........would that be a fair assesment?

although u guys have been pretty well starved of draft picks the last 10 years.

adelaide

16.douglas
17.pfeiffer
32.vince
48.obst:thumbsu:

8.meeson
24.VB
28.gibson
40.maric
56.knights:thumbsu:

14.watts
31.krueger
58.hudson:thumbsu:

32.jericho
56.shirley'
68.begley

12.reilly
44.finnan
59.schuback

hawks

3.ellis
6.dowler
14.birchall
18.bailey
22.muston:thumbsu:
38.tuck (f-s)

2.roughead:thumbsu:
5.franklin
7.lewis
21.murphy
26.little
53.taylor

25.miller
41.dawson
51.ball

8.brennan
51.boyle
65.veale

2001-where would we be without this draft???

1.hodge:thumbsu:
16.ladson
20.elstone
32.brown
36.mitchell
48.cox

seems both clubs value the draft a bit different now to a few years ago. think all clubs do apart from maybe sydney

Why the thunbs up next to Obst?? Mate, Mitchell at 36 is a steal as hopefully Knights at 56 will be for us. In Fantassia defense, he has done extremely well with some late draft pickies and had a particularly good year in 2001. The jury is still out on 2004, 2005 draft picks..

The Crows Truth
6 Mar 2006, 21:13
Why the thunbs up next to Obst?? Mate, Mitchell at 36 is a steal as hopefully Knights at 56 will be for us. In Fantassia defense, he has done extremely well with some late draft pickies and had a particularly good year in 2001. The jury is still out on 2004, 2005 draft picks..

Spring how did he have a gd year in 01? DO you mean the rookies at the end of 02?

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 21:14
johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner

didnt find these guys in the drafts on afl.com

i'm assuming that they were picked up in the rookie draft or pre-season drafts. good list of guys there.

LukeHodge15
6 Mar 2006, 21:17

was only allowed 6 thumbs,;) i ran out............i rate obst, reckon he is a steal that late.

im a huge fan of KP players though. especially with early picks.......mids should only be taken early if they are absolute stand outs. thats why ellis at 3 irks me.:mad: :mad:

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 21:23
But he did Jack, he did find those gems so your point is irrelevent. I could easily turn around and go, if he didnt stuff up his first round picks he would be the best recruiter in the league.

macca23
6 Mar 2006, 22:35
James still has a bit of proving to do. If he hadnt picked those late ones (johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner) he wouldnt be our recruiter anymore, cause theres nothing else to add. Reilly maybe thats it. Considering he got lucky in one draft means until the 2004 draft he had a bit of a dry patch. The new pressure NC has brought in to perform has made a few things change in recent times. Just the general feeling you get is that since 2004 we've picked up some good players. Plus JF has been given all the picks which doesnt hurt either.

Big test will be how the likes of skipworth and even shirely who goes up and down a bit perform when the stars go. I notice jimmy was quick to stamp them as quality players and how he had alway had 'faith' in them last yr when asked about them.

jackie boy, you are over-looking one thing.

Fantasia recommends players to the selection committee - the coach has the final word. For 5 years before 2004 and 2005 that man was Gary Ayres.

Because they don't know much about the later picks themselves, coaches are more likely to heed their Recruiting team's advice, whereas they seem to have a greater influence on the early picks so perhaps the blame for early picks should be levelled at coaches?

On balance I think our recruiting in the past 2years has been good - is this because Craig puts more faith in Fantasia and his team?

It'd be interesting to know.

Crow-mo
6 Mar 2006, 23:10
Because they don't know much about the later picks themselves, coaches are more likely to heed their Recruiting team's advice, whereas they seem to have a greater influence on the early picks so perhaps the blame for early picks should be levelled at coaches?

that's a really interesting way of looking at it, and you could well be right.

outback jack
7 Mar 2006, 00:26
jackie boy, you are over-looking one thing.

Fantasia recommends players to the selection committee - the coach has the final word. For 5 years before 2004 and 2005 that man was Gary Ayres.

On balance I think our recruiting in the past 2years has been good - is this because Craig puts more faith in Fantasia and his team?

It'd be interesting to know.

I dont reckon we can blame everything on ayres. What seems to have happened was for 2-3yrs the club took their eye off the ball and Gary got the boot and blame, while everyone else kept their job. There has been a noticeable change with somethings, almost an acknowledgement of below-par performance previously of the club as a whole.

With the picks, you could see ayres as the type of person that might override a decision. Maybe a bit harsh though, who knows what goes on behind the scenes. The last two yrs we’ve had better picks too. I think theres no doubt NC has seen it as an area of weakness or atleast undeveloped with the extra appointments we've had in the recruiting department since hes been in charge. Maybe it was a hint or he just thought james needed some extra help! Sometimes when the pressure is put on ppl perform.:)

outback jack
7 Mar 2006, 00:28
But he did Jack, he did find those gems so your point is irrelevent. I could easily turn around and go, if he didnt stuff up his first round picks he would be the best recruiter in the league.

ok but if you were making out that 'its another gem from fanta' like some do, its relevant because he needed those gems to have an acceptable overall drafting record.

Crow-mo
7 Mar 2006, 00:58
ok but if you were making out that 'its another gem from fanta' like some do, its relevant because he needed those gems to have an acceptable overall drafting record.

logic's not a strong point of yours is it jack?

Have you heard the saying "if your aunty had balls she'd be your uncle" ?

SpringChoke
7 Mar 2006, 07:32
Spring how did he have a gd year in 01? DO you mean the rookies at the end of 02?

Actually you're right. I thought it was 01 then I remembered the club saying it was okay they used early draft picks on Carey as we supposedly had 3 rookies ( Rutts, Bock and Mattner )that all would have gone top 20 or 25 ish.

Vader
7 Mar 2006, 08:17
didnt find these guys in the drafts on afl.com

i'm assuming that they were picked up in the rookie draft or pre-season drafts. good list of guys there.

Johncock - #67 at the 2000 National Draft
Hentschel - Pre Season Draft selection (year ?, selection ?)
Bock - #25 2001 Rookie Draft
Rutten - #40 2001 Rookie Draft
Mattner - #51 2001 Rookie Draft

To avoid confusion... 2001 rookie draft is the draft which took place between the 2001 & 2002 seasons. They changed the date of it a while back, so it gets very confusing when trying to work out which draft refers to which year.

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 09:12

To avoid confusion... 2001 rookie draft is the draft which took place between the 2001 & 2002 seasons. They changed the date of it a while back, so it gets very confusing when trying to work out which draft refers to which year.
Hentschel was in the same draft class as Rutten, Bock, Mattner, Reilly, Finnin and Schuback.

Back in those days the National Draft was held in november (same as now) but the pre-season and rookie drafts were held in january of the following year (2002).

So even though those boys were in the same draft some of them got drafted in November of 2001 (Reilly, Finnin and Schuback) and some got drafted in the PS and Rookie drafts in January of 2002 (Hentschel (PSD), Thomas (RD), Bock (RD), Mattner (RD) and Rutten (RD).

Another interesting thing is that Rutten was our last pick in the Rookie Draft and he probably turned out to be the best player for us from that draft class.

LukeHodge15
7 Mar 2006, 10:59

i challenge any team to come up with a better classman of rookies in one year than that.

actually would be an intersting concept to put forward.

Drummond
7 Mar 2006, 17:05
I put pen to paper today and made my side for Round 1. I can't believe some of the players I left out, we have so much depth. Vince, Massie, Maric, Porplyzia, Jericho, Doughty were all left out, and I couldn't even fit in Bode or Van Berlo. :eek: If we remain healthy again this season, there are going to be some extremely difficult decisions to be made by the match committee. It’s a great problem to have though.

Blue Red and Gold
7 Mar 2006, 17:11
Big call to leave VB out.

Drummond
7 Mar 2006, 17:14
Yeh, well I would definitely have him in the side, I don't know what I was doing earlier. :D

He's a future captain, no doubt, his courage is unbelievable. He must be in the side.

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 18:36
I didn't have him in my 22 but now that Torney is out, VB comes in

Blue Red and Gold
7 Mar 2006, 18:45
I actually feel VB is a certainty to be in the 22 come round 1. He has been outstanding, it will be tough to fit him in but after playing 10 or 11 games last year and showing huge signs of improvement this year it would seem weird he wouldnt get a go.

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 18:53
I actually feel VB is a certainty to be in the 22 come round 1. He has been outstanding, it will be tough to fit him in but after playing 10 or 11 games last year and showing huge signs of improvement this year it would seem weird he wouldnt get a go.
I posted my 22 in this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=226741) thread.

I had Clarke, Knights, Reilly and Hart as my interchange players. Van Berlo was in my emergencies.

Blue Red and Gold
7 Mar 2006, 18:58
hmmm it is tough, I really dont rate Shirley, he has been an honest tryer but I think there is a bigger upside to someone like Van Berlo.

I just think it would seem weird by NC, who has stated he wants to give the youngsters more of a go, if he then left VB out of the side after his much improved start to the season.

It will be interesting.

Blue Red and Gold
7 Mar 2006, 18:59
Double post.

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 19:50
All good comments.

:eek: what about all of us long standing supporters of Reilly who have had to put up with DT.

I think I said - watch this kid....now he's added tackling - and he must have layed the most tackles of any Crows player on Saturday... his game will go to a new level.

DT DT where are you????

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 19:58
:eek: what about all of us long standing supporters of Reilly who have had to put up with DT.

I think I said - watch this kid....now he's added tackling - and he must have layed the most tackles of any Crows player on Saturday... his game will go to a new level.

DT DT where are you????
Turn it up why don't ya :P

I am still waiting for your report on all of our youngsters and finge players from the weekend ;)

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 20:13
Here's my rating in 2006 so far of the youngsters I've seen play:

1. Knights - Kid can read the game, a natural footballer not athlete. Bit slow and DEFINATELY need to work on his defensive game to be a real good player.
Not sure how he will handle a tag as he progresses...does he have the capability to lose a tag...not sure. Kicking is a bit iffy but confident that will get better the longer he's in the system.
Needs to run the lines....currently he props and kicks...not good enough. Tackling is very ordinary at present but that's consistent with a non defensive attitude.

2. Vince - Only seen this guy twice, once in last years final and on Saturday night....he will be a ripper and arguably the best of our current crop. Needs to bild up and gain a yard in pace but that'll happen. His touch and ball skills are as good as Macleods when he first started.

3. Van Berlo - will be a good steady player...has definately changed his game since being drafted as he's diving to the bottom of packs. Will get better consequently in man on man duals as he progresses.
Iam worried that he still appears to rush his kicks in his second season - kicks alot under pressure not a sign of a really good player who always appears to have plenty of time.

Saw Ball last week for St Kilda and honestly no-one appeared to want to go near him....that's a sign of a really good player.

4. Porplyzia - again a footballer first and athlete second. Great hands and excllent kick. In and under who can hit targets with his handballs in tight situations. Needs a yard of speed but reads the game well and that can compensate to a degree.

5. Jericho - My pick a few weeks ago (with much derision) of the player to improve in 2006. Saw some aspects on Saturday night of his talent BUT if he doesn't learn to use his body and tackle the bad might outweigh the good.

6. Maric - Second game was a huge improvement on his first. Has courage, a bit of mongrel and a great work ethic. Wants to be an AFL footballer and that's enough to say he's got a good future...how good...too early to tell.

7. Hinge - was unimpressed in his first game but my attention was jolted by some things he did against Hawthorn. Is he better than an average footballer....way too early to predict.

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 20:14
Turn it up why don't ya :P

I am still waiting for your report on all of our youngsters and finge players from the weekend ;)
Off line for 4 days mate - just got back on - its spewing from my finger tips;) :p

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 21:11

1. Knights - Kid can read the game, a natural footballer not athlete. Bit slow and DEFINATELY need to work on his defensive game to be a real good player.
Not sure how he will handle a tag as he progresses...does he have the capability to lose a tag...not sure. Kicking is a bit iffy but confident that will get better the longer he's in the system.
Needs to run the lines....currently he props and kicks...not good enough. Tackling is very ordinary at present but that's consistent with a non defensive attitude.

2. Vince - Only seen this guy twice, once in last years final and on Saturday night....he will be a ripper and arguably the best of our current crop. Needs to bild up and gain a yard in pace but that'll happen. His touch and ball skills are as good as Macleods when he first started.

3. Van Berlo - will be a good steady player...has definately changed his game since being drafted as he's diving to the bottom of packs. Will get better consequently in man on man duals as he progresses.
Iam worried that he still appears to rush his kicks in his second season - kicks alot under pressure not a sign of a really good player who always appears to have plenty of time.

Saw Ball last week for St Kilda and honestly no-one appeared to want to go near him....that's a sign of a really good player.

4. Porplyzia - again a footballer first and athlete second. Great hands and excllent kick. In and under who can hit targets with his handballs in tight situations. Needs a yard of speed but reads the game well and that can compensate to a degree.

5. Jericho - My pick a few weeks ago (with much derision) of the player to improve in 2006. Saw some aspects on Saturday night of his talent BUT if he doesn't learn to use his body and tackle the bad might outweigh the good.

6. Maric - Second game was a huge improvement on his first. Has courage, a bit of mongrel and a great work ethic. Wants to be an AFL footballer and that's enough to say he's got a good future...how good...too early to tell.

7. Hinge - was unimpressed in his first game but my attention was jolted by some things he did against Hawthorn. Is he better than an average footballer....way too early to predict.
Any comments on Reilly and Hentschel?

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 21:20
Any comments on Reilly and Hentschel?
I remember interviews with Thommo who was given advice by Ratten in his only coaching year at Melbourne...he said the best way to get involved in a game is to tackle.

It seems coincidental that after Thommo arriving at Adelaide that suddenly Reilly has taken on that advice....it appears to be a deliberate thought process.

I have said and said that this guy will be a very good player....IMO he's gained a yard in pace, he's a thinker and has sublime hand and foot skills.

What more can I say......

Hentschell - well his confidence is at an alltime high.....really the only thing that's held him back.

Seems to have tried to straighten up his approach to gaol, has a turning circle a midfielder would kill for and starting to really jump for marks - in for a great year.

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 21:26
I remember interviews with Thommo who was given advice by Ratten in his only coaching year at Melbourne...he said the best way to get involved in a game is to tackle.

It seems coincidental that after Thommo arriving at Adelaide that suddenly Reilly has taken on that advice....it appears to be a deliberate thought process.

I have said and said that this guy will be a very good player....IMO he's gained a yard in pace, he's a thinker and has sublime hand and foot skills.

What more can I say......

Hentschell - well his confidence is at an alltime high.....really the only thing that's held him back.

Seems to have tried to straighten up his approach to gaol, has a turning circle a midfielder would kill for and starting to really jump for marks - in for a great year.
Reilly - A role player off the bench like Doughty last year or a genuine midfielder that becomes integral part of our side, a player that amongst first picked every game?????

Hentschel - Are you game enough to set any targets for this year in terms of goals kicked?

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 21:30
Reilly - A role player off the bench like Doughty last year or a genuine midfielder that becomes integral part of our side, a player that amongst first picked every game?????

Hentschel - Are you game enough to set any targets for this year in terms of goals kicked?
If thy're going to play Roo, Macca, and Goody out of the midfield a lot this year - I would suggest Thommo and Reilly would be genuine midfielders.

A lot of last year for Reilly IMO was as much as Craig saying to Reilly look and learn as it was of him role playing.

He's definately come into 2006 a better player.

Hentschell - I'll say 40 - 45 as a roaming forward

bigman
7 Mar 2006, 22:27

Excellent report WW. Agree with all of the things that you have said.

WW - Richard Douglas reminds me very much of one Paul Kelly from the Sydney FC when they were th same age - both skinny kids, but bothe laden with talent and courage and leadership abilities.

I said in an earlier post VB could be a future captain of the club. This boy will not be far behind him.

Credit to the boys in the recruiting dept. - they are picking people with real character and ticker.

Unlkie a few others I hope the Balck Douglas plays this week.

Stiffy_18
7 Mar 2006, 22:31
I think he is almost a dead set certainty to play this week as it Meesen.

Lets face it you would have to be a major dud not to be pushing for selection at this stage. We have 12 players on the injury list and those are not 10 bottom list players either.

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 22:42
Excellent report WW. Agree with all of the things that you have said.

WW - Richard Douglas reminds me very much of one Paul Kelly from the Sydney FC when they were th same age - both skinny kids, but bothe laden with talent and courage and leadership abilities.

I said in an earlier post VB could be a future captain of the club. This boy will not be far behind him.

Credit to the boys in the recruiting dept. - they are picking people with real character and ticker.

Haven't seen Douglas.... but every report pre draft I have seen has without doubt parised this lad in every area.

If the only reason he dropped down the draft order was a perceived inability to put weight on ....then that is to our benefit.

Didn't St Kilda get rid of a young "skinny" Lappin for the very same reason:rolleyes:

Footy clubs surprise me sometimes

Wayne's-World
7 Mar 2006, 22:43
I think he is almost a dead set certainty to play this week as it Meesen.

Lets face it you would have to be a major dud not to be pushing for selection at this stage. We have 12 players on the injury list and those are not 10 bottom list players either.
Pretty harsh on Obst Stiffy considering we are looking for a replacement CHB this week.

tut tut;)

outback jack
8 Mar 2006, 21:50
logic's not a strong point of yours is it jack?

Have you heard the saying "if your aunty had balls she'd be your uncle" ?

hahaha that aunty sounds dodgy if you ask me.

feral
8 Mar 2006, 22:02
Hey Guys and Girls,

How do you reckon young Richard Douglas will go this year?

coldfish99
8 Mar 2006, 22:19
i reckon hingey should get a haircut like nigel, and bernard vincent should as well because no one would be able to tackle their hair which is becoming a big part of the game these days. girls like wayne weideman and john 'the worst hawthorn player in history' platten had a lot of trouble in their troubled careers because of their over exuberant hairstyles. Q: why did nigel smart, mil hannah and john locke win brownlows? A: because they were bald. i rest my case, coldfish99 signing out.

macca23
8 Mar 2006, 22:19
Hey Guys and Girls,

Very impressed with the lad - excellent poise, balance and evasive skills and good usage of the ball. A thinking footballer.

Only one negative at this stage and that's his weight, although he has put on 5 to 6 kgs and is a burly 72 to 73 kgs. ;)

Personally, I think we have drafted a beauty in this lad, and expect him to play SANFL at A grade level all year, and perhaps threaten for an AFL spot towards the end of the year.

I'm amazed he didn't go earlier than #16 in the draft.

bigman
8 Mar 2006, 22:29
Hey Guys and Girls,

Feral see my comments in the Black Douglas thread

Gets!
8 Mar 2006, 23:55
i reckon hingey should get a haircut like nigel, and bernard vincent should as well because no one would be able to tackle their hair which is becoming a big part of the game these days. girls like wayne weideman and john 'the worst hawthorn player in history' platten had a lot of trouble in their troubled careers because of their over exuberant hairstyles. Q: why did nigel smart, mil hannah and john locke win brownlows? A: because they were bald. i rest my case, coldfish99 signing out.

My god I was actually crying with laughter as I read this!!!

Coldy! Never leave BF again.....

LMAO @ The Brownlow bit. Lo Doc.