View Full Version : NAB Cup Semi Final: Adelaide v Melbourne, AAMI Stadium Friday night
McLeodMagic
5 Mar 2006, 12:37
Four in doubt for Friday semi
10:54:40 AM Sun 5 March, 2006
David Burenshaw
afc.com.au
Adelaide has four new injury concerns from Saturday night's NAB Cup win over Hawthorn in Tasmania.
Hayden Skipworth (calf), Robert Shirley (hip), John Hinge (foot) and Nathan Bock (back) all finished the game on the bench and may miss Friday night's semi-final against Melbourne at AAMI Stadium.
And defender Jason Torney, who did not make the final 24 for the Hawks clash, reported a quad strain after training on Friday and also is unlikely to be available.
These new injuries may force Adelaide to introduce more young players into the mix on Friday night.
Experienced Ben Hart, who travelled to Tasmania as an emergency, is expected to play his first game of the pre-season.
But with captain Mark Ricciuto (hamstring), Matthew Clarke (calf), Jason Porplyzia (quad) and Michael Doughty (knee) all still on the way back from injuries, the Crows may need to call up 2005 draftee Richard Douglas and ruckman/forward John Meesen for their first games at this level.
Nathan Bassett (shoulder), Scott Welsh (stress fracture in leg), Scott Stevens (shoulder) and Darren Pfeiffer (back) will not be available until later this month.
http://afl.com.au/?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=249361
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
5 Mar 2006, 12:57
I am slighty annoyed. I am supposed to be going out to dinner with the girls on Friday night. Now this has come up. I am the one organising it and I feel bad if I don't go - but I love my boys! :( :(
k
xx
Southerntakeover
5 Mar 2006, 13:50
Damn, how many injuries can we get? I guess this is the downside from last years great run.
davo4030
5 Mar 2006, 14:17
No really big losses there, like Rivers will be for us.
We should get back Bruce, Yze, Bizzell, Ferguson and McLean.
Seems to me, that you blokes are fairly close to full-strength, and we're getting there.
Should be a good game.
I can't remember the last time I've seen the Dees win in Adelaide. We'll have as decent chance on Friday night with some big names returning, and the Crows hefty injury list. I'll definitely be there to see the boys for the first time this year.
I look at it as another opportunity for players to impress...new or old
Looking forward to listening to this one ...on some form of radio at work , hopefully ABC or 6PR cover it somehow
No really big losses there, like Rivers will be for us.
We should get back Bruce, Yze, Bizzell, Ferguson and McLean.
Seems to me, that you blokes are fairly close to full-strength, and we're getting there.
Should be a good game.
I'm expecting a top game actually.
Adelaide will still have a few out. Apart from the long term injury of Huddo, Ricciuto, Torney, Bassett, Welsh, Clarke and Doughty are still missing from our first choice 22 of last year. Plus we might have a couple missing with minor injury after the Hawthorn game.
On the plus side our youth brigade are all performing well, with Knights and Van Berlo being the 2 stand-outs.
Melbourne have a good mid-field, and that's where the game can be won or lost.
I'm looking forward to it.
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 18:18
OUTS:
Skip (inj),
Shirley ( inj).
I just hope that if they intend to bring in more than 2 senior players they don't drop any of the younger brigade. I would prfere to see massie and/or jericho dropped before the likes of Vince, Knights, VB. Hinge etc.
One from the left field is it worth giving Gibson a run this week? Maccas19 report on Gibson in the Pot Magpies v Norwood thread sounds very encouraging. Why not give the lad a sniff. If we have injuries to kpp's at some stage this year he maybe called up to play regardless of what stage he is in the development process.
Stiffy_18
5 Mar 2006, 18:23
OUT:
Skippy (inj)
Shirley (inj)
Bock (inj)
Hinge (inj)
IN:
Douglas
Meesen
Hart
Torney?????
This game will probably be the toughest of the ones we had so far. Melbourne are a solid side thats getting back a lot of good players. We are the opposite as we are losing players left right and center :mad:
As long as we don't get any injuries out of this game, I will be happy. Give youngsters more responsibility as we have already been doing.
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 18:29
OUT:
Skippy (inj)
Shirley (inj)
Bock (inj)
Hinge (inj)
IN:
Douglas
Meesen
Hart
Torney?????
This game will probably be the toughest of the ones we had so far. Melbourne are a solid side thats getting back a lot of good players. We are the opposite as we are losing players left right and center :mad:
As long as we don't get any injuries out of this game, I will be happy. Give youngsters more responsibility as we have already been doing.
According to Macca, meeson is miles off. By the sounds of it, he is struggling to keep his spot in the Norwoods firsts.:eek:
What did you think of my Gibson idea, cunning plan or a dud?
Stiffy_18
5 Mar 2006, 18:34
According to Macca, meeson is miles off. By the sounds of it, he is struggling to keep his spot in the Norwoods firsts.:eek:
What did you think of my Gibson idea, cunning plan or a dud?
Why not! ;)
As long as one tall comes in and replaces Bock, I will be happy. I wouldn't want to risk Bock especially with a back injury.
Gibson played at FB so might as well give him a game in key defensive post with us against Melbourne.
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 18:41
Why not! ;)
As long as one tall comes in and replaces Bock, I will be happy. I wouldn't want to risk Bock especially with a back injury.
Gibson played at FB so might as well give him a game in key defensive post with us against Melbourne.
Unfortunately, like most teams, we don't have alot of options. It's either Gibson, S Stevens:eek: or Obst. Or maybe sit Meeson in a forward pocket and move Kenny down to CHB. I hope they don't move Trent down back. I would prefer to leave him in the forward and so can continue his development into the quality key forward we hope he will become.
Vic Crow
5 Mar 2006, 23:32
It's always a tense week in our household when we play Melbourne. The rest of my family all go for Melbourne. My Dad even used to play for them and is currently the runner. I'll try and sneak into his bag so I can get to the game on Friday night. But failing that I assume it'll be on TV.
Is it now about winning? I think Melbourne have the team to beat us but I am not going to worry too much if we do lose. As long as we select some more youngsters and see what they can or cant do.
I am concerned about Bock...if he misses McGregor will go back and that leaves Hentschell one out with Rivers... instead of Rivers taking KMac.
But maybe thats a lesson for the Potentsch so a silver lining there
Bring on round 1 and the real stuff
SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 11:24
Is it now about winning? I think Melbourne have the team to beat us but I am not going to worry too much if we do lose. As long as we select some more youngsters and see what they can or cant do.
I am concerned about Bock...if he misses McGregor will go back and that leaves Hentschell one out with Rivers... instead of Rivers taking KMac.
Rivers is out for 6-8 weeks.
Unfortunately, like most teams, we don't have alot of options. It's either Gibson, S Stevens:eek: or Obst. Or maybe sit Meeson in a forward pocket and move Kenny down to CHB. I hope they don't move Trent down back. I would prefer to leave him in the forward and so can continue his development into the quality key forward we hope he will become.
I would prefer that option (McGregor to CHB and Meesen to a forward pocket (or even Scott Stevens as a forward) at the moment rather than throw Chad Gibson to the wolves and play him.
I would not even consider him until this time next season and allow him this year to find his feet in the Norwood A’s and then have some solid SANFL consistent form. Alan Obst would be in the same situation.
Totally agree, Trent Hentschel has to stay as a forward now with Ian Perrie.
It’s about installing a winning structure and system as well as developing the correct playing behaviours the coaches want the younger players to develop.
Winning a pre season competition is a good reward for the players hard work over summer and something the supporters can cheer about it but ultimately it comes down to installing a system that will allow you to win enough games to get to September and then win at that time of the year.
Another positive I like about Neil Craig and his coaching philosophies.
Tickets can be brought here
http://www.bass.net.au/events/nab3.php
Essential Crows members (or Footy Park cat 2as it used to be known) have to pay...not happy!
rick James
6 Mar 2006, 13:03
Rivers is out for 6-8 weeks.
4-6 actually. But yes, Rivers aka our only decent key backman is out.
Mind you, expect to see McLean and Bruce back in.
Stiffy_18
6 Mar 2006, 19:49
I think its still about giving young ones the game time and experience. If we lose so be it as long as youngsters get to play the roles that they have played so far in the NAB Cup.
By all reports there will be 4 outs this week. Skippy and Bock have already been ruled out and Hinge is awaiting scans on his foot which is likely to keep him out as well. Shirley has a sore hip and will need to train at the main session to prove his fitness. There are at least 3 automatic outs. Media reports and some word out of AFC is that Meesen, Douglas and Hart will come in. Sounds reasonable to me.
This quote from Hamilton pretty much sums up our approach to the NAB Cup
"If we were preparing to to win a semi final this week, we'd have really light sessions all week, but we're not going to do that, we are preparing for round one so our sessions will still be difficult and still be hard and as a result you are going to get little injuries as you go along."
Stiffy_18
6 Mar 2006, 19:51
I would prefer that option (McGregor to CHB and Meesen to a forward pocket (or even Scott Stevens as a forward) at the moment rather than throw Chad Gibson to the wolves and play him.
I would not even consider him until this time next season and allow him this year to find his feet in the Norwood A’s and then have some solid SANFL consistent form. Alan Obst would be in the same situation.
Totally agree, Trent Hentschel has to stay as a forward now with Ian Perrie.
Scott Stevens is not available for selection yet. Both Stevens and Bassett had shoulder surgeries over the pre-season and are still unavailable.
Most likely scenario is that Meesen, Douglas and Hart come in for Bock, Skippy and The Door.
IF, and I do use IF papsies , Adelaide were to make the NAB GF , where would it be played. I heard the team who wins by the biggest margin hosts the final. Is that right and if so will it be in Adelaide?
The reason I ask is I will be in Adelaide that weekend...albeit at a surprise 40th... may have to surprise my brother and not show up just go to the footy:p he isnt expecting me so what he wont know wont hurt him
Or will it be held in Perth if Fremantle make it and I wont be here :mad:
Stiffy_18
6 Mar 2006, 20:27
IF, and I do use IF papsies , Adelaide were to make the NAB GF , where would it be played. I heard the team who wins by the biggest margin hosts the final. Is that right and if so will it be in Adelaide?
The reason I ask is I will be in Adelaide that weekend...albeit at a surprise 40th... may have to surprise my brother and not show up just go to the footy:p he isnt expecting me so what he wont know wont hurt him
Or will it be held in Perth if Fremantle make it and I wont be here :mad:
The side that kicks the most goal overall in the NAB Cup will host the GF. At the moment Fremantle are leading with 34 goals, followed by Adelaide (27), Geelong (26) and Melbourne (22)
SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 20:49
I think its still about giving young ones the game time and experience. If we lose so be it as long as youngsters get to play the roles that they have played so far in the NAB Cup.
By all reports there will be 4 outs this week. Skippy and Bock have already been ruled out and Hinge is awaiting scans on his foot which is likely to keep him out as well. Shirley has a sore hip and will need to train at the main session to prove his fitness. There are at least 3 automatic outs. Media reports and some word out of AFC is that Meesen, Douglas and Hart will come in. Sounds reasonable to me.
This quote from Hamilton pretty much sums up our approach to the NAB Cup
That's another 4 injuries to add to our already large injury list. I'm starting to get worried.
RoosterLad
6 Mar 2006, 20:56
the injuries arent really serious and affecting key players
Roo and Hart still to come back
so dont start crapping yourself just yet
The side that kicks the most goal overall in the NAB Cup will host the GF. At the moment Fremantle are leading with 34 goals, followed by Adelaide (27), Geelong (26) and Melbourne (22)
Cheers stiff...so in the event Adelaide and Fremantle play it will be here... and I am in Adelaide :( :mad:
RoosterLad
6 Mar 2006, 21:03
unless Adelaide flog Melbourne again, they always seem to get belted here, much like Geelong
didnt realise Freo had kicked so many goals so far
Stiffy_18
6 Mar 2006, 21:24
Cheers stiff...so in the event Adelaide and Fremantle play it will be here... and I am in Adelaide :( :mad:
You're welcome :thumbsu:
RoosterLad, I was also surprised when I read that Freo kicked that many goals. I know they thumped the Eagles but I thought they would have roughly the same number of goals as us. They kicked 7 more goals than we have and thats without Pavlich :eek:
Adelaide & Freo had a similar number of goals after Rnd 1 of the Mickey Mouse Cup, but Hawthorn's decision to flood our game meant that our quarter final was much lower scoring than the Freo/Collingwood match.
Thus proving he is dead wood and should be traded back to SA ?
Seeking Glory
7 Mar 2006, 15:36
So is the new recuirt form Victoria (Richard Douglas) gunna get a game this week?
Markthirtytwo
7 Mar 2006, 15:40
So is the new recuirt form Victoria (Richard Douglas) gunna get a game this weeek?
Wouldnt surprise me. We have a few injuries and the club needs to look at some new guys we have just picked up.
But our other Victorian recruits will. Look out for Chris Nights and Ivan Maric.
Richie should play this friday, along with Meesen.
neil danniher has stated that we will be going flat out in this game and hes looking forward to it, he used the bulldogs as a example on who aint going flat by saying they have 10 players not playing. we had what 8 last week? and many senior players given light roles.
SpringChoke
8 Mar 2006, 07:53
I haven't seen Meeson play yet so I hope he plays. I want to see for myself what he's like as I haven't heard one good report from those that have seen him play. Surely he can't be that bad.
absolutezero
8 Mar 2006, 09:33
Quick question guys. If Geelong win's and Adelaide wins, will the game be played at Telstra Dome, Skilled Stadium or AAMI?
To answer your question regarding the grand final.
If they can't be split on goals scored (quite possible given Geelong & Adelaide are currently only separated by one goal) then it goes to percentage, just like the normal ladder.
Kane McGoodwin
8 Mar 2006, 18:40
Caught the squad briefly on the news.
Definite outs injured: Bock, Skipworth & Hinge. Shirley apparantly OK.
Lots of ins: Clarke, Meesen, Douglas, Doughty, Hart, Obst & Sugars.
I would expect Craig would be keen to get some match fitness into Clarke (which would probably rule out Meesen as we would have already have 3 rucks), Doughty & Hart. Doubt Obst & Sugars will play. Assuming the experienced trio are fit to play, someone would need to drop out for Douglas to play (perhaps Shirley who would still be some doubt).
Stiffy_18
8 Mar 2006, 19:52
I would expect Craig would be keen to get some match fitness into Clarke (which would probably rule out Meesen as we would have already have 3 rucks), Doughty & Hart. Doubt Obst & Sugars will play. Assuming the experienced trio are fit to play, someone would need to drop out for Douglas to play (perhaps Shirley who would still be some doubt).
Clarke and Doughty will come back through SANFL.
crowsarethebest
8 Mar 2006, 21:31
I heard that Gibson played a blinder last week? So why Obst in?:confused:
AdelUniCrowFan
8 Mar 2006, 23:24
Channel 10's 540pm report stated that Hart and Douglas are "definitely in" and that Burton and Goodwin didn't train yesterday, and therefore it will be up to how they train today (Thursday) as to whether or not they play tomorrow.
showdownhero
10 Mar 2006, 23:32
Was taht enough for the Jericho bashing to stop ... played a great game!!