View Full Version : I feel sick

passamore
6 Mar 2006, 11:45
Oh, help me.
Not only am I now reading Rucci writing about how good we are but I am hearing him on radio tipping us to win the flag.
I am sick.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 11:53
Oh, help me.
Not only am I now reading Rucci writing about how good we are but I am hearing him on radio tipping us to win the flag.
I am sick.

The old reverse psychology.

relapse
6 Mar 2006, 13:12
I am sure that Rucci doesnt really expect us to win the flag, this would be a way of creating an expectation so that he can be the first one there to stick the knife in when we don't win the premiership (I think West Coast and St Kilda would be far better flag chances IMO).

Mind you if it did happen and we won it, it would be a very very dark day in the Rucci household.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 14:15
I am sure that Rucci doesnt really expect us to win the flag, this would be a way of creating an expectation so that he can be the first one there to stick the knife in when we don't win the premiership (I think West Coast and St Kilda would be far better flag chances IMO).
Mind you if it did happen and we won it, it would be a very very dark day in the Rucci household.

Bingo.

Sheeds
6 Mar 2006, 14:32
I cannot see the issue. The Crows finished minor premiers last season, most media experts have the Crows tipped around the mark again this season. Rucci is not the only one making this prediction.

Last year he tipped Port to go back to back, he copped criticism for this because it was seen as Rucci supporting Port. After a good year last season he tips the Crows and it is deemed as a hidden agenda.:p

Dare I say, he along with many others may think the Crows are a good premiership chance.

GERVAIS
6 Mar 2006, 15:36
I cannot see the issue. The Crows finished minor premiers last season, most media experts have the Crows tipped around the mark again this season. Rucci is not the only one making this prediction.

Last year he tipped Port to go back to back, he copped criticism for this because it was seen as Rucci supporting Port. After a good year last season he tips the Crows and it is deemed as a hidden agenda.:p

Dare I say, he along with many others may think the Crows are a good premiership chance.

I agree - I think when the pre-season guide is released that quite a few of the "experts" will have you as their premiership tip.

You may just have to accept that you are a flag favourite.

In regards to Rucci - it seems that he can't win. He's damned if he puts you down, and he's damned if he talks you up.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 15:40
I actually agree with Sheeds. I dont like Rucci but the bloke is on a hiding to nothing on these boards. If he didnt tip us for the flag people on here would be whinging and whining, now he does pick us for the flag and people are still complaining.

The whole Rucci obsession has gone too far and is now getting boring and predictable.

Cove Cobra
6 Mar 2006, 16:12
I actually agree with Sheeds. I dont like Rucci but the bloke is on a hiding to nothing on these boards. If he didnt tip us for the flag people on here would be whinging and whining, now he does pick us for the flag and people are still complaining.

The whole Rucci obsession has gone too far and is now getting boring and predictable.

Nail. Hammer. Head. ;) :D

RogerRabbit69
6 Mar 2006, 17:43

It's impossible for a lot of Crows supporters not to be suspicious of Rucci because of two simple facts:

1. He loves Port Adelaide

2. He hates the Crows

Perhaps he is being objective and there aren't any ulterior motives to what he writes - but it's only natural for Adelaide fans to suspect otherwise

rayven
6 Mar 2006, 18:00
I saw craigs press conference after last weeks game and rucci asked most of the questions and they were quite intelligent and constructive :eek:

however it didnt last long with his final question being dodgy as and handled beautifully by craig

Truck Rutten
6 Mar 2006, 18:26

You don't think that he is largely responsible for this situation by being overly critical when we've been travelling poorly, by making ridiculous statements like "who's your daddy", and by carrying out a personal vendetta against our former coach? It's only reasonable that people think he's being disingenuous when he suddenly turns around and starts lavishing praise on the club. Some of his recent articles have been quite readable, but I can't help but treat them with a little scepticism based on his history.

Stiffy_18
6 Mar 2006, 19:35

Well said :thumbsu:

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 20:23
I agree that he has written some terrible articles, I actually wrote a letter to the Editor which was published.

However, it just seems people are getting paranoid that EVERYTHING he writes has a double meaning. I actually dont think he or anyone would go to that much effort.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 20:32

You're right, this whole obsession with Rucci has got out of hand. Maybe we could do with a Bryce Gibbs thread instead. It must be all of a day since we had one of those. Mate, most boards regurgitate the same topics over and over again. Lighten up.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 20:39
You're right, this whole obsession with Rucci has got out of hand. Maybe we could do with a Bryce Gibbs thread instead. It must be all of a day since we had one of those. Mate, most boards regurgitate the same topics over and over again. Lighten up.

:rolleyes:

Most boards may regurgitate the same crap but the goods one dont.

I actually think this used to be a pretty good board until certain people decided to take an over the top approach to everything.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 20:52
:rolleyes:

Most boards may regurgitate the same crap but the goods one dont.

I actually think this used to be a pretty good board until certain people decided to take an over the top approach to everything.

Name names.

EDIT No on second thought, don't name names.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 20:58
I dont visit this board as much as I used to because during the off season things became very stale and repetitive. I agree you that the whole Bryce Gibbs thing was done to death.

I was hoping at the resumption of the footy season things would change, but sadly things dont seem to heading that way. Time will tell I guess.

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 21:02
I dont visit this board as much as I used to because during the off season things became very stale and repetitive. I agree you that the whole Bryce Gibbs thing was done to death.

I was hoping at the resumption of the footy season things would change, but sadly things dont seem to heading that way. Time will tell I guess.

I think you will find it's a general trend across most BigFooty boards at the moment. Look at the main board, it's terrible. I think most of us are just becoming bored and this will change once the real stuff starts.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 21:05
Another board I do not visit for the exact reason. IE Bickley Vs Voss Vs Hird etc etc.

I hope it does get better around here, because I used to feel the Adelaide board was the best board around with thoughtful threads and posts, at the moment the quality seems to going down hill.

I think once the footy gets back into full swing people will start to concentrate on the footy rather than just trying to start threads for the sake of it.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 21:07
Name names.

EDIT No on second thought, don't name names.
I wasnt going to name names, that would just create another ******** fight which would defeat the purpose of my whole point. ;)

SpringChoke
6 Mar 2006, 21:16
I wasnt going to name names, that would just create another ******** fight which would defeat the purpose of my whole point. ;)

Exactly. That's why edited my post after I re-read it.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 21:20
No worries mate, roll on season 2006.

macca23
6 Mar 2006, 22:24
Another board I do not visit for the exact reason. IE Bickley Vs Voss Vs Hird etc etc.

I hope it does get better around here, because I used to feel the Adelaide board was the best board around with thoughtful threads and posts, at the moment the quality seems to going down hill.

I think once the footy gets back into full swing people will start to concentrate on the footy rather than just trying to start threads for the sake of it.

I wouldn't worry about it too much BR&G.

Just post in the threads that you rate and ignore the crap - there's always going to be some.

It's standard for the off-season. Not as bad as the main board though which is just juvenile shyte.

Crow-mo
6 Mar 2006, 23:07
I agree - I think when the pre-season guide is released that quite a few of the "experts" will have you as their premiership tip.

You may just have to accept that you are a flag favourite.

In regards to Rucci - it seems that he can't win. He's damned if he puts you down, and he's damned if he talks you up.

yeah, pretty good analysis really.

jmorg1
7 Mar 2006, 08:24

Well, he brought it unto himself. If he wasn't such an incompetent fool he may have earnt himself some respect as a journalist. But let's face it. He's nothing but an amateur Port Power supporter who, without a doubt is the worst journalist in this country.

By the way, I notice you still haven't made any contributions to the Port Power board. Do you find it boring like everyone else?

GERVAIS
7 Mar 2006, 09:57
Well, he brought it unto himself. If he wasn't such an incompetent fool he may have earnt himself some respect as a journalist. But let's face it. He's nothing but an amateur Port Power supporter who, without a doubt is the worst journalist in this country.

Hey, I agree with you here. I'm not a great fan of his writing or his sanctimonious ramblings on the radio.

By the way, I notice you still haven't made any contributions to the Port Power board. Do you find it boring like everyone else?

What ?? I just did the count myself, of my last 20 postings 17 have been on the Port Board, including starting a couple of threads.

I don't understand why you are so touchy about Port people posting on your board. You seem to raise it in nearly every post you make.

I could undertsand it if they were trolling or making inflammatory comments, but my last two posts on "your" board were contributing to the discussion in a genuine way.

Lighten up.

swanfan
7 Mar 2006, 16:20
I feel a dead horse has been flogged. :)

drakeyv2
7 Mar 2006, 16:25
The trouble is we just can't handle the truth.

I'm off now to find my daddy