View Full Version : KISS - The Greatest Live Act in History
The Starchild
1 Dec 2001, 10:40
Following from a post on 'train' that suggested seeing a band live was the truest judgement of their worth, I will state here and now that KISS are consistently rated the benchmark live act in the world because for overall entertainment value they are the greatest live act of all time.
The absolutely amazing pyro display, awesome choreographic work, Stanley on the flying fox out to middle for LoveGun, Ace shooting fireworks from his guitar and exploding lights on the roof, Gene spitting blood(classic) and flying up top the stage in green light to sing GodofThunder, incredible stage lighting non-stop, the stadium absolutely totally filled with glittering confetti everywhere for Rock'n'RollAllNight, flaming drumsticks when Eric does his solo, Stanley doing acoustic on his own on a chair, Firehouse when Paul donn's a fireman's hat and the sirens start up and flashing red lights all over, the list is endless.
KISS are, were, always will be the greatest live act that the world has ever seen.
The Hitman
1 Dec 2001, 10:48
...ever seen AC/DC live? ;)
The Hitman
The Starchild
1 Dec 2001, 10:58
Yeah and they rock but KISS have too much they do aside from the music, ACDC are basically just music with a few little stunts like Angus hopping across stage but not much. KISS absolutely blow the places to bits not just with their music but the effort they put into their overall performance, flying around in the air etc just kills anything ACDC have ever done.
Bands like ACDC are awesome, but when their cd stops so do they, they have no other product other than their music. KISS though, the cd stops then you go flick through your KISS cards, then if that's boring you go play a KISS pinball machine, I mean what other band ever had their own pinny I ask you!!!
Then if you are really bored you hop on a plane and go to the States where you can attend a KISS convention which tours the country and is attended by thousands at a time. If that gets tiresome you can go to Los Vegas and try gambling at the KISS Casino, called KISSINO!!! Can you believe it!!!
They are just unique, there is no other band like KISS.
Santos L Helper
1 Dec 2001, 11:17
Sorry Starchild, but that live show sounds like a load of over the top w ank to me. I'd rather see a band on stage just playing hard and with unbridled passion.
I understand the thing about a whole show etc, but personally I enjoy a band doing what a band does best...........play!! Watching guys who are completely intop their music gives me more pleasure than theatrics.
Thank christ there's no other band like KISS.;)
SydneyBomber
1 Dec 2001, 14:12
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Sorry Starchild, but that live show sounds like a load of over the top w ank to me. I'd rather see a band on stage just playing hard and with unbridled passion.
I understand the thing about a whole show etc, but personally I enjoy a band doing what a band does best...........play!! Watching guys who are completely intop their music gives me more pleasure than theatrics.
Thank christ there's no other band like KISS.;)
Generally I would agree...
But we are talking about KISS here!;)
I grew up with them as a little tacker, and finally got to see them a few years ago (the tour before the make-up came back on), and must admit the entire atmosphere was one of a massive party!
Even Paul Stanleys TOTALLY gay (not that there's anything wrong with that!) stage moves brought a smile to the face of this cynic!
Yes they are the epitome of a 'cash in', but I think everyone who likes some sort of guitar music should experience KISS live.
It was a great night, but the sort of thing I'd probably only ever do once...
Love Gun WAS killer though!:D
I have seen both Kiss and AC/DC live multiple times and although I prefer the music of Kiss, AC/DC put on a better show in my opinion.
AC/DC still have their share of pyros & fire, the cannons, the wrecking ball in the Ballbreaker tour, the gigantic inflatable dolls, the stage risers, the video screens, the catwalk, Angus' guitar solo, the striptease & the run through the crowd on the road manager's shoulders.
When the show is over, I play with my light up devil horns and my Angus Young doll.
Bulldog1954
1 Dec 2001, 17:00
The problem with Kiss in my view is that their music sucks
hehehe.. i actually watched 'Detroit Rock City' the other nite on video.. haha..
best live act... in terms of big budget, mega concerts.. i'd say U2 would be up there...
the very first concert i went to was a ZooTV extravaganza at the SFS.... blardy brilliant !
Nah......Bob Marley with all the Wailers
or James Brown TGOS:eek:
The Starchild
2 Dec 2001, 09:21
Sorry Starchild, but that live show sounds like a load of over the top w ank to me.You bet your undersized little chickenballs it is Santos, way WAY over the top. Over the top like no other band can do.
I'd rather see a band on stage just playing hard and with unbridled passion.
I understand the thing about a whole show etc, but personally I enjoy a band doing what a band does best...........play!! Watching guys who are completely intop their music gives me more pleasure than theatrics.KISS put as much effort into their actual music as any other performer on the planet, even 25yrs after they hit it big. Couldn't see the Beatles doing that. Paul Stanley would have to be just about the best frontman for a band ever, if he's not no.1 then I'd like to know who is! It's just that they put on a monster show in conjunction with the music and that's what makes them so good.
Thank christ there's no other band like KISS.;) And never will be, there is only one KISS and I love em.:)
Incidently of all the concerts I've seen them play I think their third in Melbourne on this latest tour was as close to VFL Park as anything I can ever remember. Just totally rocked.
The_Flying_Egg
2 Dec 2001, 10:32
I went to the Kiss Concert. Too mainstream for my liking :)
I think they should have focused on the music rather, than using scarey masks to sell records
I thought the Screaming Jets were better :)
The Starchild
2 Dec 2001, 10:48
What was it that the lead from the jets said before they left the stage..."We're so priveliged to be playing alongside the greatest rock'n'roll band of all time tonight, get ready everyone blah blah..." get the picture???
Incidently mainstream for KISS is 'IWasMadeForLovinYou'.
You try telling me that MrSpeed, LoveGun, Hooligan, AlmostHuman, 100,000years, Parasite, Firehouse, GodOfThunder or any number of their classics are mainstream and you're dreaming mate!!!
KISS were only popular because they were so bloody radical and amazing, they only really had one or two pop hits, the rest were slammin rock'n'roll that got nearly no airplay AT ALL on regular radio ESPECIALLY in Australia. Yeah sure they're the epitome of selling out in so far as merchandise but they did it like no-one has ever done or ever will do and as such they've managed to keep their coolness and appeal to their army of supporters, well mostly.
What other bands fans call themselves an army eh??? (The KISS Army)
Anyway I've a feeling Eggman was just trying to get a rise outa me!!!!
Two words ALICE COOPER. :cool
The Hitman
2 Dec 2001, 11:40
Originally posted by The Starchild
You bet your undersized little chickenballs it is Santos
I bet that Santos has bigger balls than you in the first place.
Absolute tank, tank with a temper...
Paul Stanley would have to be just about the best frontman for a band ever, if he's not no.1 then I'd like to know who is!
Your opinion. Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam for mine, just my opinion. I'm not gonna change yours, you ain't gonna mine.
Eddie and PJ don't need pyro's or makeup or massive stage productions. They have the best music (again my opinion) in the world to use.
I'd rate STP druggie frontman Scott Weiland ahead of Mr. Stanley. It's about the music man, and nothing else.
The Hitman
The Starchild
2 Dec 2001, 11:54
Music is just a part of it.
It's the magic, and Stanley's got so much of that it aint funny.
There was a Kiss concert review thread on the general board earlier this year. I think it was BT who wrote the first post.
IT was a very good show, but even their videos from the 70s (of which I have a few) were more exciting. Maybe the fact they are all in their 50s is a legitimate excuse that they aren't as good as they used to be...Gene looked tired and old, Ace could barely stand up (looked dangerously drunk),and hey I've never liked Paul Stanley so they less said there, the better. But still, it was a good show - in a way that shows what Kiss are : if a good show is Kiss being a shadow of their former selves, they must have been DAMN good at their peak.
I have also seen AC/DC (twice in 1990), and actually prefer their music over that of Kiss. Their stage show was good but Kiss's probably beats it.
Best live gigs I have ever seen were Cathedral a few years ago at Joey;s in Prahran and Megadeth at the Palace, August 2001.
Cathedral put in 100% for their fans, even though it was a tame audience (all ages gig, so mostly under 18s, and no grog) of maybe 40 people. THEY WENT OFF!!!!!
Megadeth were also brilliant, performance and atmosphere second to none, without the help of props or gimmicks.
To my surprise at the time, Smashing Pumpkins were also really good - never a huge fan of their music but enjoyed the night immensely.
Pearl Jam were boring as batpoo (they seemed almost as disinterested as I was), and Tool (at Melbourne Park this year) likewise because they played in a darkened stadium with the backdrop of a video on a big screen. YAAAAAAWN! Their show at Festival Hall a few years back was much better.
Don't like kiss. But my mates were impressed with the concerts.
Angus and the boys wipe the floor with messers Stanley and Simmons.
where's wally?
Originally posted by Wally
Angus and the boys wipe the floor with messers Stanley and Simmons.
I agree
Bulldog1954
2 Dec 2001, 19:02
Originally posted by The Hitman
Your opinion. Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam for mine, just my opinion. I'm not gonna change yours, you ain't gonna mine.
Eddie and PJ don't need pyro's or makeup or massive stage productions. They have the best music (again my opinion) in the world to use.
Agree totally
Savatage
2 Dec 2001, 22:10
Greatest Live act Kiss???
Listen, I have all the Kiss CD's, most of the bootlegs & so much memorabilia it's not funny- but I do not live under any illusions.
They have enough gimmicks to make it SEEM like they are a good live band, but the truth is that they're actually a pretty average bunch of musicians. Stanley voice is awesome these days, but as bass players, guitar players & drummers they are extremely average.
Probably the sloppiest live act that's made it so big.
Eric Singer bumped up the musicianship considerably, but as a live band, they ain't anything special.
Should've seen the Alice Cooper Brutal Planet gig, look & see what an amazing bunch of musicians assemble there, and the stagecraft was superb.
Kiss had the marketing, that's their biggest achievement- good business men...but there are better live acts & this is coming from a hardcore fan.
Savatage
2 Dec 2001, 22:15
KISS put as much effort into their actual music as any other performer on the planet, even 25yrs after they hit it big.
That is THE BIGGEST LOAD OF BULL**** I think I have ever read.
You're obviously one of those kiss fans that believes it when Gene says "We released our 68th Greatest Hit CD FOR YOU THE Fan".
WAKE UP! The only thing Kiss (Kiss=Simmons/Stanley) puts effort into is their marketing, the only thing Kiss cares about is the money.
They could not give a **** about you and me & don't you ever forget it.
If they were a fair dinkum band they'd occasionally throw a DIFFERENT song into their setlist, they'd DROP THE PRICE of tickets, they'd reduce the number of cruddy merchandise they put out, they'd care about making sure the other two guys in the band ARE a part of the band & not just hired guns. They just released a box set with 80 tracks (supposed to be a rare unreleased compliation to end all compilations), about 20 tracks are unreleased the rest are easily obtained tracks.
Don't become one of Gene's sheep.
The_Flying_Egg
2 Dec 2001, 23:41
Hitman and Bulldog54 are spot on with Eddie Vedder
If I want to see people with masks and fireworks and crap, I'd go to the circus
McCartney5
2 Dec 2001, 23:48
I went to the Kiss concert and it was alright. I'm not a huge Kiss fan but it was a good SHOW not a concert a SHOW
The best live act I have ever seen would have to Pearl Jam or the Red Hot Chili Peppers
I saw Oasis but it the Be Here Now tour and just as rumours were spreading of a break up and just before the Brisbane incident. Still an unbelievable concert to be at
I would compare the Kiss concert to going to the grand final Footy Show at Melbourne Park
You are looking at ego maniacs that are over the hill and you can't quite hear it as you would like
The best live CONCERT act in the world up until about 1-2 years ago used to be The Prodigy. The most unbelivable band live.
I think however Amen have taken over that mantle now.
Santos L Helper
3 Dec 2001, 08:56
Pearl Jam and Eddie Vedder are about as exciting as watching the Swans 'ultra-flood'.
Musically: Led Zeppelin
Show-wise: Spinal Tap
Its got to be more about the music than the frilly bits on top.
I went to kiss and we put the make up on a couple of years ago. It was very good as a show but I don't like much of their music so wouldn't rate it as the best I have seen
My top three which I find hard to split
1 - Hunters and Collectors (at a nightclub - very initimate and loud, they were amazing)
2- U2 - Rattle and Hum tour - Memorial Drive - Streets have no Name is a great song to start with.
3 - ACDC - they were bloody brilliant.
And I will mention a fourth
4- Roxette - great fun
And of course no-one can argue with me - because its my opinion and its all subjective.
Starchild - you are starting to sound like Dan!!:eek:
PS - Elton John and Billy Joel at Adelaide Oval was awesome too. Great, great ballads.
Fat Pizza
3 Dec 2001, 14:58
I've never been to a KISS concert, so I can't comment on them, but the best concert I've been to was George Thorogood & the Delaware Destroyers at Festering Hall.
Bulldog1954
3 Dec 2001, 15:24
Pearl Jam and Eddie Vedder are about as exciting as watching the Swans 'ultra-flood'.
When did u see them play?
Santos L Helper
3 Dec 2001, 15:53
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
When did u see them play?
At Memorial Drive in 90 whatever year it was, and I've seen the Swans play a few times too.
I really hope you weren't insinuating something here?
Chris_23
3 Dec 2001, 16:03
Agreed. Eddie Vedder couldn't look less interested. If i wanted to see someone stand there and sing i would save my money and ask my dad to belt out a few tunes.
Kiss best live act pfffffft I can think of heaps more Slayer (religious experience) U2, Midnight Oil, Stones, Thorpey the list goes on. :p
Originally posted by McCartney5
I saw Oasis but it the Be Here Now tour and just as rumours were spreading of a break up and just before the Brisbane incident. Still an unbelievable concert to be at
Missed that. :( Is the incident you are talking about the on stage fracar? or the headbutt Liam gave to a news reporter, which happened in perth I think.
Originally posted by M29
Missed that. :( Is the incident you are talking about the on stage fracar? or the headbutt Liam gave to a news reporter, which happened in perth I think.
I went to the Melbourne gig and Noel played on his own while Liam just well did a Liam!! But Noel kept the whole crowd entertained for 4 or 5 songs with just an acoustic gutarrrr. Brillant
elvis voice arrrrr thank thank you very much
The Starchild
3 Dec 2001, 18:41
Originally posted by Savatage
They have enough gimmicks to make it SEEM like they are a good live band, but the truth is that they're actually a pretty average bunch of musicians. Stanley voice is awesome these days, but as bass players, guitar players & drummers they are extremely average......Eric Singer bumped up the musicianship considerably, but as a live band, they ain't anything special.
Strewth man you are HARSH. Singer would have to be in the top 3-4 drummers in the world, did you see him on Unplugged...incredible. When he's got his double bass-drum and all systems go he is unstoppable, it's just a shame they toned him down on this tour otherwise there's no questioning his cred. Ace Frehley set a style for a generation, just ask the lead for the Screaming Jets who his greatest inspiration was and that's just the Jets, there's 100's bands just like them all over the world. Paul Stanley had the lead for Phantom of the Opera in Toronto, 3rd biggest stage-city in the world behind London & NY. He's world class. And as for Gene Simmons well he's not fancy but you'd have to say he is definitely tight and throw in the show he puts on, the antics, unlike any othe bass player in history....7in tongue, platform heels, axe guitar, flying to top of stage for G.O.T. spitting blood etc how can you ever EVER say these guys are an average bunch of musicians???
Quite frankly that's a real trendy thing to say in anti-KISS circles and it's the biggest load of crap I've heard yet on them, so far from the truth it aint funny.
Now, when I say they are the best live band, what's the difference with saying that they put on the best show? Isn't it all part of the experience of seeing a live show?
A big live gig is not just about the music surely, there is so much more to going to a concert as we'd mostly all agree I'm sure. I reckon KISS put on the best overall show even now...for those that say they aint a tight band together are just dreaming.
Add to that the peripherals (pyro, gimmicks, theatrics, overall package besides music) and you get an occasion that no other band can match for energy and entertainment.
Make no mistake, KISS were the first real BIG band to play loud and big, they did it and everyone has been following ever since.
I think whether you like the music or not is irrelevent, I'm talking about the whole overall experience of going to a KISS show and submersing yourself in their magic. You might think, Savatage, that I'm one of Gene's lemmings but I just love what they've done, they are unique and there'll never be another like them.
You can have Pearl Jam, Chilli's, Soundgarden, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Silverchair, Live and the rest, they're all the same band different wrapping paper, but there is no other band like KISS they stand alone and that's why I rate them so high.
Originally posted by Chris_23
Agreed. Eddie Vedder couldn't look less interested. If i wanted to see someone stand there and sing i would save my money and ask my dad to belt out a few tunes.
agree with ya there. Its not just Eddie tho...its the whole bunch of them...they are one of the most uninteresting live bands in t he world.
No ive never been to a concert in the flesh...but ive been forced to sit thru about 5 different 2 hour videos of numerous different festival and own show performances, and ive never seen a more boring live band. (thats not saying they cant play good music tho)
throw in the show he puts on, the antics, unlike any othe bass player in history....7in tongue, platform heels, axe guitar, flying to top of stage for G.O.T. spitting blood etc how can you ever EVER say these guys are an average bunch of musicians???
putting on makeup and spitting blood has nothing to do with how good a musician he/they are.
What do you think about Slipknots masks and boiler suits? or Mudvaynes crazy makeup?
The Starchild
3 Dec 2001, 19:53
Hey Macca point out to me where I ever said they were the best band in the world for their music, just music? I haven't and never will, KISS are much more than just music and you should re-read my posts dude cause I never said they were the best musically.
What I say is that they're the best live band, act, show, performers roll it into whatever you want, but they're the best all round show the world has ever seen.
When it's about KISS, it's not just about the music, it's about the magic. :) <==first time I ever did one of those on Bigfooty.
SydneyBomber
3 Dec 2001, 19:55
Originally posted by Mcchawk
Kiss best live act pfffffft I can think of heaps more Slayer (religious experience) :p
Tell it like it is!
We may not agree on much regarding footy, but that comment deserves a beer! Well done.;)
SydneyBomber
3 Dec 2001, 19:57
Originally posted by Macca19
(thats not saying they cant play good music tho)
I'll say it then... they can't play good music!;)
(Nervously awaiting hideous reprisals whilst hiding under my bed!):eek:
The Starchild
3 Dec 2001, 20:09
KISS are easily the biggest selling non-pop mainstream band of all time. The only bands ahead of them in gold records are Beatles and the Stones, both pretty mainstream and popular with all types.
Biggest grossing sales of memorabilia bar none.
SydneyBomber
3 Dec 2001, 20:28
KISS are easily the biggest selling non-pop mainstream band of all time. The only bands ahead of them in gold records are Beatles and the Stones, both pretty mainstream and popular with all types.
Biggest grossing sales of memorabilia bar none.
Deej, keep carrying on like that, and you'll start to sound like an Essendon fan... :D
Hey Macca point out to me where I ever said they were the best band in the world for their music, just music? I haven't and never will, KISS are much more than just music and you should re-read my posts dude cause I never said they were the best musically.
your quote "how can you ever EVER say these guys are an average bunch of musicians???"
Now the live show and the makeup etc has nothing to do with them as musicians. Musician to me means the musical side of the band.....the live show etc means they are good performers...good artists, but thats got nothing to do with them being musicians.
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
I'll say it then... they can't play good music!;)
(Nervously awaiting hideous reprisals whilst hiding under my bed!):eek:
im glad you said it cos i wasnt going to! :D
SydneyBomber
3 Dec 2001, 20:35
im glad you said it cos i wasnt going to! :D
Should I say it a little louder perhaps?
"THEY SUCK!"
AIC were so FAR above them it's not funny...
(I'm still hiding under my bed!):D
The Starchild
3 Dec 2001, 21:57
your quote "how can you ever EVER say these guys are an average bunch of musicians???"
Now the live show and the makeup etc has nothing to do with them as musicians. Musician to me means the musical side of the band.....the live show etc means they are good performers...good artists, but thats got nothing to do with them being musicians. You bein stupid or just trolling for the hell? That above statement is not me saying they're the best musically in the world. And as I said, Singer is one of the top drummers in the world TODAY, Stanley has a voice good enough to lead on Phantom of the Opera in Toronto no less, Ace Frehley is a great guitarist who influenced a whole generation of would-be guitarists and Gene puts on a great overall display.
These guys are not "average" musicians Macca. An average musician does not play the drums like Eric Singer nor sing like Paul nor rip off a solo like Ace.
Can you reply to me and refute what i say logically next time dude?
And...erm...SydneyBomber I barrack for f#cking Carlton who are more successful over the history of the total 104 years than essendon are, so if I sound arrogant then I sould like a Carlton supporter buddy, not essendon, cause Carlton's what I am kapish?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by The Starchild
You bein stupid or just trolling for the hell? That above statement is not me saying they're the best musically in the world.
Are you plain illiterate or just acting dumb? When did i say you said they were the best?? I never said you said that. I never thought you said that.
These guys are not "average" musicians Macca. An average musician does not play the drums like Eric Singer nor sing like Paul nor rip off a solo like Ace.
your right, they are good musicians. Your sentence before tho made it look like you were saying they were great musicians BECAUSE of the dressing up, the make up, the 7 inch tongue, the antics. All i said was - dressing up in makeup doesnt make anyone a good musician and has nothing to do with it - which it doesnt.
Can you reply to me and refute what i say logically next time dude?
please - try and read what i actually wrote next time and youll be right!
The_Flying_Egg
3 Dec 2001, 23:42
You can have Pearl Jam, Chilli's, Soundgarden, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Silverchair, Live and the rest, they're all the same band different wrapping paper, but there is no other band like KISS they stand alone and that's why I rate them so high.
Kiss are just like Wasp or Alice Cooper.
Or maybe the Wiggles. They dress up. They make movies. They get pretty excited when they perform. They sell heaps of merchandise. And there musics crap
**HOT OFF THE PRESSES**
Judas Priest go alright too! :)
McCartney5
4 Dec 2001, 00:58
Originally posted by M29
I think both happened in Brisbane
I remember they arrived in Perth off the plane and there was the whole deal with Cathay Pacific
Then they got to Brisbane and everything went mad
I remember watching the news and people were leaving half way through the concert
The Melbourne show was still very good but they would be 10 times better now. They played 2 songs off Definately Maybe and about 3 off Morning Glory. The rest were Be Here Now :mad:
SydneyBomber
4 Dec 2001, 06:18
And...erm...SydneyBomber I barrack for f#cking Carlton who are more successful over the history of the total 104 years than essendon are, so if I sound arrogant then I sould like a Carlton supporter buddy, not essendon, cause Carlton's what I am kapish?
I know who you barrack for... Arrogant bastards - LOL!
:p
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
Tell it like it is!
We may not agree on much regarding footy, but that comment deserves a beer! Well done.;)
Off season my son, the sun has melted my brain. But I'll be back oh yes I'll be back....:p
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 18:20
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Kiss are just like Wasp or Alice Cooper.
Or maybe the Wiggles. They dress up. They make movies. They get pretty excited when they perform. They sell heaps of merchandise. And there musics crap Haw haw haw such wit!!!
1976-77-78-79 Rolling Stone Magazine rated KISS the biggest band in the world, Wasp, Alice Cooper, RollingStones, Live, Nirvana, Prodigy, Chemical Brothers, Nana Mouskouri and Doofus McStupid all put together don't equal that.
The music you can give or take, that's personal preference. But the facts are the facts.
KISS were THE band of the 20th century. NO-one compares, no-one.
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 18:22
Strewth man you are HARSH. Singer would have to be in the top 3-4 drummers in the world, did you see him on Unplugged...incredible. When he's got his double bass-drum and all systems go he is unstoppable, it's just a shame they toned him down on this tour otherwise there's no questioning his cred.
What part of my "Eric Singer bumped up the musicianship considerably" did you not understand?
Ace Frehley set a style for a generation, just ask the lead for the Screaming Jets who his greatest inspiration was and that's just the Jets, there's 100's bands just like them all over the world.
Ace IS one of the most influential guitarists ever, I AM an Ace Frehley fan, but he is one of the sloppiest guitar players around. FACT.
Paul Stanley had the lead for Phantom of the Opera in Toronto, 3rd biggest stage-city in the world behind London & NY. He's world class.
Mentioned how good his voice is, he can't play guitar.
And as for Gene Simmons well he's not fancy but you'd have to say he is definitely tight and throw in the show he puts on, the antics, unlike any othe bass player in history....7in tongue, platform heels, axe guitar, flying to top of stage for G.O.T. spitting blood etc how can you ever EVER say these guys are an average bunch of musicians???
Gimmicks that Gene performs do not distract the fact that he's an average singer & bass player.
Quite frankly that's a real trendy thing to say in anti-KISS circles and it's the biggest load of crap I've heard yet on them, so far from the truth it aint funny.
I'm not an Anti-Kiss circle, I probably have more Kiss stuff than you could imagine. I'm just a realist.
Now, when I say they are the best live band, what's the difference with saying that they put on the best show? Isn't it all part of the experience of seeing a live show?
They put on a great show for first time viewers, once you realise that the setlist hasn't changed in 5 years & the gimmicks are very repetitive- it does lose the magic after a while.
A big live gig is not just about the music surely, there is so much more to going to a concert as we'd mostly all agree I'm sure. I reckon KISS put on the best overall show even now...for those that say they aint a tight band together are just dreaming.
They are one of the sloppiest live acts going, not so in 1974 (watch the Winterland 1974 bootleg, or a 1975-1977 bootleg).
Look at them from 1979 onwards (forgetting non makeup era for a second), extremely sloppy.
Add to that the peripherals (pyro, gimmicks, theatrics, overall package besides music) and you get an occasion that no other band can match for energy and entertainment.
Make no mistake, KISS were the first real BIG band to play loud and big, they did it and everyone has been following ever since.
Make no mistake, Kiss were the first band that knew how to MARKET their product.
I think whether you like the music or not is irrelevent, I'm talking about the whole overall experience of going to a KISS show and submersing yourself in their magic. You might think, Savatage, that I'm one of Gene's lemmings but I just love what they've done, they are unique and there'll never be another like them.
I'm just saying that you need to look above the gimmicks & face reality, as a band - Average, as an experience - Fantastic. They should how retired in 1997 on a HIGH.
I agree with most of that. They don't make bands like they used to.....
But Judas Priest ****ing rocked....
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 18:25
Haw haw haw such wit!!!
1976-77-78-79 Rolling Stone Magazine rated KISS the biggest band in the world, Wasp, Alice Cooper, RollingStones, Live, Nirvana, Prodigy, Chemical Brothers, Nana Mouskouri and Doofus McStupid all put together don't equal that.
Gene Simmons is the one that bags Rolling Stone magazine for being a bunch of worn out hippies, I guess their opinion doesn't matter to him, and it doesn't matter to me either.
Ask Ace & Peter where the idea from Kiss was & Alice Cooper springs up...
Ask Gene & Paul & they'll slap themselves on the arse & claim it was all their handy work....would you like me to point out the kiss songs that have been blatant rip offs of other bands material? Don't get me started.
The music you can give or take, that's personal preference. But the facts are the facts.
Again, I believe Kiss's manager Bill Aucoin was the brains behind the band- Take away the makeup & tell me what remains...
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 19:06
Take away the makeup & tell me what remains... Dude, why the hell would you want to take away the makeup of KISS? That's part of the magic!!!
Tell me, when you found out Santa wasn't real did it ruin a little part of the whole xmas experience?
There's no band ever that comes close to KISS in the magic department, dude I remember the hysteria when no-one had ever seen them without their makeup and it was huge! Magazine articles enquiring where they had come from (the stars??? hell???), swap cards, pinball machines, makeup, massive concerts, its all part of the magic.
I couldn't care less about this reality you speak of, you can be as mature and grown up about this as you like. Well marketed? Who cares. Good management? Who cares. What they became was something no other band has ever since been able to reproduce and never will.
If they wrote a book with all greatest, most unique and influential bands of all time in it, KISS would be top billing alongside the Beatles, no doubt.
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 19:22
Dude, why the hell would you want to take away the makeup of KISS? That's part of the magic!!!
Tell me, when you found out Santa wasn't real did it ruin a little part of the whole xmas experience?
Dude, do not quote Gene Simmons quotes from interviews to get your point across. I have all the bootlegs, I know all their lines, it's not the angle I am going for.
My point is that without makeup, Kiss wouldn't have been the success that they are. The entire non makeup era of the band showed them playing clubs & smaller venues, reduced record sales- a lot of lost revenue. Re-uniting was purely a financial reason. Like I said, if they bowed out in 1996- I wouldn't have a problem. but for Christ's sake how many greatest hits cd's do you want? How many times do we have to listen to Rock & Roll All Nite??? Retire!!!!
There's no band ever that comes close to KISS in the magic department, dude I remember the hysteria when no-one had ever seen them without their makeup and it was huge! Magazine articles enquiring where they had come from (the stars??? hell???), swap cards, pinball machines, makeup, massive concerts, its all part of the magic.
Marketing.
I couldn't care less about this reality you speak of, you can be as mature and grown up about this as you like. Well marketed? Who cares. Good management? Who cares. What they became was something no other band has ever since been able to reproduce and never will.
Correct. They're an institution.
If they wrote a book with all greatest, most unique and influential bands of all time in it, KISS would be top billing alongside the Beatles, no doubt.
They'd be up there no doubt.
Forgetting all the gimicks, all the merchandise & all the hysteria- there lies 4 guys with limited musical capabilities with good chemistry. Don't overrate their musical ability!
there lies 4 guys with limited musical capabilities with good chemistry. Don't overrate their musical ability!
Ok Sav - for Round 2 you're matched against Jod23. Try telling HIM the same thing about the Beatles! ;)
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 19:37
Originally posted by Darky
Ok Sav - for Round 2 you're matched against Jod23. Try telling HIM the same thing about the Beatles! ;)
Ahem.....I haven't been following any threads....but judging by the quote you took off from my post, I'd have to agree...
Now let me get back to singing THE RIPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 19:46
I take your point, but I don't think it's really relevent or important.
If it wasn't for Sheeds Essendon wouldn't be half of what they are now, if you took out Zidane, Petit, Desailly and Viera from the French team they wouldn't win the world cup, the facts are that the product is what it is because of all the elements combined and each is important in the history and aura of KISS.
Ok sure take away the makeup, merchandise and you're left with another band, but they do have it all and you have to take it all into account because that's what they are.
I suspect we both think and realise the same thing, just I look at it from a slightly different perspective.
PS...do you have the Unplugged bootleg when they play GOT hillbilly style?
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 19:57
I take your point, but I don't think it's really relevent or important.
If it wasn't for Sheeds Essendon wouldn't be half of what they are now, if you took out Zidane, Petit, Desailly and Viera from the French team they wouldn't win the world cup, the facts are that the product is what it is because of all the elements combined and each is important in the history and aura of KISS.
Ok sure take away the makeup, merchandise and you're left with another band, but they do have it all and you have to take it all into account because that's what they are.
I suspect we both think and realise the same thing, just I look at it from a slightly different perspective.
I understand what you're saying- I just am very passionate about this subject, because I no longer am prepared to put up with Simmons & Stanleys crap. I also believe that once playing as a band has lost its purpose then it's time to give it away & I believe for the last 5 years they have been playing physically but there is no spirit left! I celebrate the band for what it is....I am just not prepared to kiss P&G's ass because they want another $300 in their wallets...anyways enough of that!
PS...do you have the Unplugged bootleg when they play GOT hillbilly style?
Yes I do! Lol
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 20:03
Mine's rooted but I'm getting another off the guy at Carribean Gardens this weekend!
What do you think of Gene's tongue waggle at the end of Exposed?
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 20:10
Mine's rooted but I'm getting another off the guy at Carribean Gardens this weekend!
That Rob dude?
What do you think of Gene's tongue waggle at the end of Exposed?
I remember one in Exposed....can't remember one at the end! Must be getting dopey...
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 20:23
I remember one in Exposed....can't remember one at the end! Must be getting dopey... How can you forget Exposed? Reckon if they weren't muso's they could've been comedians.
The Starchild
4 Dec 2001, 20:28
And by the way Savatage, if KISS really didn't give a rats about the fans then why did their latest gig's go for a full 2 and a half hours eh? I don't know any other bands that have pumped out a world tour based on gigs that rock hard for 2.5 hrs, was a bloody good effort if you ask me and well worth every cent I paid.
And this tour was better than the 96.
Savatage
4 Dec 2001, 21:17
How can you forget Exposed? Reckon if they weren't muso's they could've been comedians.
I remember exposed, I can't remember a reference about Gene wagging his tongue at the END of exposed.
The_Flying_Egg
4 Dec 2001, 22:30
Haw haw haw such wit!!!
Perhaps they should have stopped while they were ahead.
And you're kidding yourself if you think they're bigger than The Beatles.
And by the way Savatage, if KISS really didn't give a rats about the fans then why did their latest gig's go for a full 2 and a half hours eh? I don't know any other bands that have pumped out a world tour based on gigs that rock hard for 2.5 hrs, was a bloody good effort if you ask me and well worth every cent I paid.
And this tour was better than the 96.
The Prodigy's world tour in 1997/98. There sets went for 2 1/2 hours. I remember going to the Thebarton Theatre gig in January 98, The Prodigy came on stage at 10:30....and they didnt finish playing till 1:00. Speaking to other Prodigy fans over the net from around the world it seems like these 2 1/2 hour shows were a regular occurence worldwide. Obviously the festival shows they played on this tour wouldnt go for 2 1/2 hours (seeing most festival headlining bands are limited to a max of 1 1/4 hours).
Just another reason why Prodigy are the best live band of the last decade.
Speaking to other Prodigy fans over the net from around the world it seems like these 2 1/2 hour shows were a regular occurence worldwide.
I don't know about that last statement Macca!
Given that there are multiple members playing predominantly electronic music, I would have thought 2.5 hours would be a minimum! DJ's down at your local techno joints will play sets between 3-4 hours (granted with the aid of Bickies in many cases).
I have never seen them live, but I have seen Radiohead and their 2.5 hour show (where they play their own music live) is phenominal and would take some serious beating!!!
[QUOTE]Originally posted by FIGJAM
I don't know about that last statement Macca!
Given that there are multiple members playing predominantly electronic music, I would have thought 2.5 hours would be a minimum! DJ's down at your local techno joints will play sets between 3-4 hours (granted with the aid of Bickies in many cases).
electronic bands hardly ever play for 2 1/2 hours. Ive never heard of the Chemical Brothers or Groove Terminator doing a 2 1/2 hour show. Plus it isnt multiple members playing electronic music. They have 1 person who does ALL the music - Liam Howlett. They also have one MC (Maxim), and one dancer/part time singer (Keith).
I have never seen them live, but I have seen Radiohead and their 2.5 hour show (where they play their own music live) is phenominal and would take some serious beating!!!
Well Prodigy have been rated for YEARS as having the best live show in the world. And Liam plays all the music live. He is one of a kind in this aspect. Every other DJ or band relys on DAT and pre recorded songs. Thats why Chemical Brothers are the most boring guys to watch....two guys with long hair standing behind one or 2 keyboards and synths, twiddling a knob every now and then.
Liam however plays all the music live, which is quite amazing with this type of music. Watch a video of him, or go to the BDO and watch him, he does more work than any other DJ in the world. That is why most DJs/Electronic bands only use 1-2 keyboards, its all pre recorded. Liam has about 6 different keyboards, 6 different synths and all these other gadgets like sample boxes, mixers etc.
And yes...they play their OWN music LIVE.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by FIGJAM
[B]And yes...they play their OWN music LIVE.
Alright then!
I have never seen an electronic "act". To be honest, I think it would suck! At least the Prodigy have always had Keith to jump around and look scary! I agree with you on Jilted (classic), but they have gone downhill with Fat.
I'd rather see electronica stay where it belongs, which is in the clubs and at raves. Live performance would be akin to watching Ross from friends play his "music".
Hardcore techno and a couple of eccies (MDMA only of course)...that's what it's all about!!!
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Alright then!
I have never seen an electronic "act". To be honest, I think it would suck! At least the Prodigy have always had Keith to jump around and look scary! I agree with you on Jilted (classic), but they have gone downhill with Fat.
I'd rather see electronica stay where it belongs, which is in the clubs and at raves. Live performance would be akin to watching Ross from friends play his "music".
Hardcore techno and a couple of eccies (MDMA only of course)...that's what it's all about!!!
I agree electronic music belongs at raves and in the Boiler Room at the BDO....but Prodigy arent really an electronic band. There arent many Electronic outfits that have a guitar player and a drummer...not to mention an MC and a dancer/singer. Prodigy have no genre....they are their own genre. They were the first band to mix elements of rave, trance, dance, house, rock, hip hop, reggae and metal together.
Agree totally with your last sentence tho :D
captain ebert
5 Feb 2008, 09:10
well, its official - the starchild was right (i knew it all along btw) - from kissonline.com -
"KISS IS THE #1 ALL TIME LIVE BAND IN HIT PARADER'S 100 TOP BANDS!
In February's issue of Hit Parader, the magazine takes a look at the All-Time Top 100 Live Bands, ranking KISS #1 ! The issue is on newsstands now."
hi res mag cover -
http://www.hitparader.com/covers_hi_res/hit_parader_jan_feb08.jpg
captain ebert
5 Feb 2008, 09:11
prodigy? who?? last decade??? *yawn*
4 words:
THE MARS VOLTA
BJORK
Mint Condition
6 Feb 2008, 09:08
James Brown
The Who
Parliament/Funkadelic
Queen
Prince
Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band
U2
Grateful Dead
Jimi Hendrix
Allman Brothers
Iggy Pop
Just a small list of other awesome and/or influential live acts. Couldn't see KISS beating out many of these.
clogwearer
7 Feb 2008, 07:17
Can't speak for KISS as I've never seen them live, although I do like a lot of their earlier stuff. Would be doing well to top the Nine Inch Nails performance I saw for sheer theatre. But live shows are memorable for different reasons and to say they're the best based simply on the theatrical aspect of the show would be pretty narrow minded in my opinion. Joe Satriani blew me away for musical brilliance on a scale neither of the above bands could hope to match and I've rarely had as much fun as I had when seeing The Cat Empire play a packed out POW show a couple of years back.
You can rate bands however you like until the cows come home and you'll never get everyone to agree - stating something like "KISS is the greatest live band ever" is just dumb. There's no doubting they have been absolutely huge worldwide and put a lot of effort into the entertainment factor of their shows but the simple fact is some people will like them more than other people. There are so many aspects that go into making a great live show and KISS probably do some of them better than most others, but there's things they miss out on too that other bands and musicians absoutely eclipse them with.
And just so it's on the record, I didn't see it live but geez Roger Waters' 'The Wall' Berlin show in 1990 was outstanding, even on video. If you haven't seen it you should.