View Full Version : D2 Ammos
Lions Den
6 Mar 2006, 13:56
Who are the main chances in D2 this year?
Coach Hollywood
3 Apr 2006, 10:48
Lions Den, I think Ivanhoe Assumption have picked up few new recruits and look alot younger and fitter than last season? Apparently La Trobe have a heap of players, but they have lost some of their best 5-10 players from last season? Aquinas have recruited strongly i've also heard? Does anyone else know anything about the other teams in D2?
BoogieKnights
5 Apr 2006, 12:04
Go the mighty Hoes!!:thumbsu:
Heres hoping for an Ivanhoe-Assumption revival in 2006.
Too good a club to be down in D2.
I hear the new Full Forward can play coach Hollywood,can you shed any light upon him??
Coach Hollywood
5 Apr 2006, 13:31
BoogieKnights the Full Forward is but one of the many new recruits at Hoe Park, I've noticed Aquinas have put through a fair few transfers this season also, but not too much action from the other D2 sides? The Hoers are definatley looking for a revival this season and may do just that?
2 from 2 in the pracie matches is a good start anyway, even if it was against some weaker opposition.
barrybogan
5 Apr 2006, 14:02
Who are the main chances in D2 this year?
Williamstown easily accounted for Prahran Two Blues (D1) in a practise match at Toorak Park last weekend. Won by 3 or 4 goals but were always in control. Terry Wheeler's son (not sure of his first name) is flying and Williamstown as an outfit don't look too bad.
twoblues
12 Apr 2006, 15:05
Who did Ivanhoe play in the Praccie matches? I have heard a bit about them - who ahve they picked up?
twoblues
12 Apr 2006, 15:07
Who did Ivanhoe play in the Praccie matches? I have heard a bit about them - who ahve they picked up?
twoblues
12 Apr 2006, 15:13
twoblues
12 Apr 2006, 15:15
Coach Hollywood
13 Apr 2006, 11:31
The Hoers have played some weaker opposition as stated in my last post. They played Eltham Collegians, Kew & Assumption College, winning all three. As for the new recruits as per today's Herald Sun - Shane Watson is one of those recruits, another 5-6 from the DVFL, 7-8 from Bush Leagues and few more from other VAFA teams.
Coach Hollywood
20 Apr 2006, 17:21
Anyone want to bite the bullet and predict the top 4 in D2 this year?
Based on other threads on this website and my personal opinion, I'd have to go with Ivanhoe Assumption, Penninsula, Aquinas & Werribee? Anyone else have a prediction
twoblues
27 Apr 2006, 09:48
Did anyone see the Aquinas and Ivanhoe game on the weekend? I saw that Aquinas won by 4 goals but wondering what the standard was like.
In no order
Aquinas
Peninsula
Salesian
Oakleigh
streetball
28 Apr 2006, 21:03
In no order
Aquinas
Peninsula
Salesian
Oakleigh
Aquinas are the front runners in D2, however, Salesian did beat a full strengh peninsula a few weeks ago at peninsula in a praccy game i think ? Salesian's 19's have also folded/or a forfetting according to the vafa record so a few of there young kids from last years strong side will be playing 1's football. Bit early to call though as we are only one round in, give it a couple more rounds i'd say ?
streetball
28 Apr 2006, 21:04
In no order
Aquinas
Peninsula
Salesian
Oakleigh
Aquinas are the front runners in D2, however, Salesian did beat a full strengh peninsula a few weeks ago at peninsula in a praccy game i think ? Salesian's 19's have also folded/or a forfetting according to the vafa record so a few of there young kids from last years strong side will be playing 1's football. Bit early to call though as we are only one round in, give it a couple more rounds i'd say ? :thumbsu:
rightfoot_sloth
1 May 2006, 12:08
It appears Coach Hollywood has lost his tongue :D 0 - 2 will do that to ya.
THE RED MAN
1 May 2006, 14:32
Bit of pressure on Werribee Ammo coach this year. 0-2 so far. Didn't last years coach get the chop after getting them promoted from D2 even when he wanted the job again for season 2006.
Pity cos stories l heard around the traps was that when he took over the Werribee Ammo's they were rabble (last in D4). Six years service and moved the club to D2, still wanted the job and goodbye!!!!!!
Does that mean the new coach, Mr Beddoe gets the chop on anything less than a grand final???
No loyalty in AFL footy or the Ammos it seems!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Coach Hollywood
1 May 2006, 14:38
Sloth, I didn't notice and comments from anyone other then yourself requesting a responce? If you read my previous post's I mentioned Aquinas & Peninsula as top 4 team and they probably the 2 teams predicted to play in the grand final this year? Starting 0-2 against the favourites with 14 new players who have hardly played together, isn't that bad. The next 3-4 weeks will sort out whether I need to loose my tongue or not? Salesian tipped as 3rd also, who we play this week, will sort out if a top 4 spot is on the cards or not?
rightfoot_sloth
2 May 2006, 14:00
Hollywood - Which side impressed you more Aquinas or Peninsula ? I have both these sides in the next few weeks so I would interested in your opinion of them.
Cheers,
Sloth
P.S I will post my top 4 shortly.
Coach Hollywood
3 May 2006, 12:55
Sloth, I would have to say Peninsula are a better team, but Aqunias are harder at it and come finals time I'd expect Aqunias to do better. The Peninsula team is filled with runners with good skills, but if you keep the pressure on them they will crumble. Which club are you from anyway sloth? Williamstown maybe?
Interesting weekend of results did anyone see the Werribee game or were all the supporters watching the coach and waiting for the opportunity to stick a knife in his back
streetball
8 May 2006, 11:13
A very interesting weekend in results, a lot of people have put peninsula and aquinas as the to sides to beat in this comp, but, both ended up going down on the weekend to werribee and st johns. Both sides will still be the sides to beat this season in my opinion but it is still to early to tell. A few more games and sides will start to sort themselves out. What are the chances of sides like St John's who have started thge season really well and Salesian which have a very good mix of young players and older season campainers? Thoughts?:thumbsu:
rightfoot_sloth
8 May 2006, 12:15
My feel is that D2 is a wide open race. The sides that can keep their best 22 on the paddock the longest will be thereabouts come finals time. Ivanhoe and Willi aren't completly out of it. But they would want to have a win this weekend.
streetball
8 May 2006, 14:51
My feel is that D2 is a wide open race. The sides that can keep their best 22 on the paddock the longest will be thereabouts come finals time. Ivanhoe and Willi aren't completly out of it. But they would want to have a win this weekend.
Fair call sloth. Maybe ivanhoe could get shane watson back ? ;) ..Who are they key players from the each of the clubs in the D2 Section? eg payze at peninsula? If he is going well generally so are his side. Thoughts? :thumbsu:
Lions Den
9 May 2006, 10:54
The season of coach Hazell will very much determine where Salesian finish this year. I think they will only get better as the year goes on and will very challenge come September.
Thoughts?
streetball
9 May 2006, 17:41
The season of coach Hazell will very much determine where Salesian finish this year. I think they will only get better as the year goes on and will very challenge come September.
Thoughts?
very good comment lions den, he is one of the best players in this competition and didnt play all of last year, well respected by people in the higher grades of amateur footy. They will get better as the season goes on like you said, they have 9 teenangers in the senior side due to the 19s salesian side folding due to a lack of numbers. what are your thoughts on some of there kids? no anything about the ones playing ones or that have steped up from playing under 19s last year? More senior experience will surely be better for the kids as they gain more senior footy experience. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:
Salesian does have 4 young kids that are on the Casey Scorpions VFL list that will be handy additions if they can qualify for finals and a couple of there young boys that are good enough to be in the D2 team of the year. Combined with the likes of Hazell,Oldfield,Nannes etc they mite be competitve come finals if they stay healthy. Timothy Madder from peninsula old collegians football club is also a kid i have a bit of time for. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:[/QUOTE]
Lions Den
10 May 2006, 10:20
Don't think I have seen Madder play, what position does he play and number?
As for Salesians as I said, the kids will only get better but they will rely heavily on the names you have mentioned along with Bonnici (best tackler in D2) and number 1 (not sure of his name) when they came up against the top sides.
Do you know much about the 2 side which have come up streetball?
streetball
10 May 2006, 10:45
As for Salesians as I said, the kids will only get better but they will rely heavily on the names you have mentioned along with Bonnici (best tackler in D2) and number 1 (not sure of his name) when they came up against the top sides.
Not sure of timmy's number but was said to have spent the early stages of pre season with a vfl club. Will find out for you and let you know. He's one of there only good young kids as a lot have left i heard. Think Aaron Stevens according to the amateur footballer is number 1, very fit and hard running player from what i recall, has had some bad injuries though.
Im sorry lions den, don't really know much about the sides that come up, will keep you posted though if anything comes to mind. by the way what is your affiliation with the D2 Section ?
Lions Den
10 May 2006, 11:40
Just a keen follower of ammo footy, but I do have a soft spot for the Hoes.
streetball
10 May 2006, 17:20
Just a keen follower of ammo footy, but I do have a soft spot for the Hoes.
Good work mate:thumbsu: . .The hoes played Salesian last week so maybe if you have a couple of mates there or something they mite be able to give you an idea of some of the younger players at salesian from the w/e along with the efforts of oldfield, nannes,bonnici and stevens and the likes of dunne, morsello, singh, phillips and norman who bring youth and enthausiasm. Looked at last years amo footballers and they did do pretty decent for themselves. Also i asked a close mate of mine at the pirates, Tim Madder is number 31 and runs around on the ball, swaps on the hff/hbf.
The interleague squads are announced shortly arent they for the game against Southern Footy League ? Any players from D2 have a sniff ? Be hard im guessing. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:
Lions Den
11 May 2006, 09:42
Tough to see many D2 players in the squad streetball. Suspect the side would be mainly made up of C grade players although there are some handy types running around in D1.
Chances could be:
Payze
Wheeler
Hazell
HotShoeShuffle
11 May 2006, 12:21
Tough to see many D2 players in the squad streetball. Suspect the side would be mainly made up of C grade players although there are some handy types running around in D1.
Chances could be:
Payze
Wheeler
Hazell
What about all the blokes in your Team of the Year?
HotShoeShuffle
11 May 2006, 14:20
Is Bonnici any relation to the little terrier from DeLa? One tough nugget
Coach Hollywood
11 May 2006, 17:11
Only 3 names mentioned from D2 in the rep squad.
AQUINAS D.DENBRABER
AQUINAS M.GLASSBORROW
OAKLEIGH T.BROMLEY
I doubt many more were even nominated, they gave the clubs 4 days after round 1 to submit nomination selections?
Lions Den
11 May 2006, 17:52
Does that mean the Coach and assistant coach of Aquinas have nominated themselves?
Coach Hollywood
12 May 2006, 12:12
Possibly Lions Den, they may have even been promised selection when they took the jobs or something? Who knows?
HotShoeShuffle
12 May 2006, 15:38
Anyone have any selection news that may alter this weeks predictions?
Oakleigh over Aquinas
Willi to open their account
Likewise Hoes
Trobbers to get over the line against GE
Match of the round - Pirates V Chaddy - out on the hill overlooking the freeway, Chaddy just
Coach Hollywood
12 May 2006, 17:04
The Amateur Footballer has picked:
Aquinas by 22
Willy by 19
St Johns by 8
La Trobe by 35
Salesian by 11
My Tips for Saturday would be:
Aquinas, Willy, Hoes, La Trobe & Salesian all the home teams!
No selection news that I know off?
streetball
12 May 2006, 17:41
Is Bonnici any relation to the little terrier from DeLa? One tough nugget
There brothers mate.
HotShoeShuffle
12 May 2006, 17:53
Thanks Streetball, predictions for the w/end
Coach Hollywood
15 May 2006, 13:04
Tough to pick winners in D2 Ammo's this season, 3 from 5 wasn't too bad seeing the Record and HotShoeShuffle only got the 2. Some more tough games again this week. Salesian Vs St Johns will a be the toughest to pick? Do we think the Salesian boys can bounce back Vs St Johns away from home this week?
streetball
15 May 2006, 13:15
Tough to pick winners in D2 Ammo's this season, 3 from 5 wasn't too bad seeing the Record and HotShoeShuffle only got the 2. Some more tough games again this week. Salesian Vs St Johns will a be the toughest to pick? Do we think the Salesian boys can bounce back Vs St Johns away from home this week?
This competition is very even and if sides aren't switched on then any side can be knocked of. For example St John's lost to Ivanhoe Assumption and a week earlier Salesian won comfortably against St Johns. This week's clash between St Johns and Salesian would be the match of the round, could go either way, St Johns would probably start favourites though with Salesian having a few injuries.
Any standout performers from the weekends games?
rightfoot_sloth
15 May 2006, 14:30
From reading the match reports on the Aquinas web site. It appears the ground is already chopped up pretty badly. It will be tough for sides travelling there to get the points there. It will be interesting to see how sides bounce back after the trip to Ringwood ?
streetball
15 May 2006, 23:04
From reading the match reports on the Aquinas web site. It appears the ground is already chopped up pretty badly. It will be tough for sides travelling there to get the points there. It will be interesting to see how sides bounce back after the trip to Ringwood ?
My mate said the ground is ordinary at best. Indeed RFS...it is probably the toughest road trip in football ;) (d2 section that is)
Coach Hollywood
16 May 2006, 17:30
I would have thought Salesian would be favourites to beat St Johns not the other way around, who are the injuries that aren't helping Salesian's cause streetball? I'd also expect Peninsula to be the toughest road trip not Aqunias but I also have never played at Aqunias so you could be right boys?
rightfoot_sloth
16 May 2006, 17:36
Yeah Coach it will be a tough trip down the Nepean Highway to Mt.Eliza. But physically the conditions at Aquinas might test the fitness of your boys. Good to see you got on the board. D2 looks the most even of all the different sections at this stage.
oldtimer
16 May 2006, 17:42
Yeah Coach it will be a tough trip down the Nepean Highway to Mt.Eliza. But physically the conditions at Aquinas might test the fitness of your boys. Good to see you got on the board. D2 looks the most even of all the different sections at this stage.
Have you looked at c grade!!!
twoblues
17 May 2006, 10:29
I reckon the Aquinas road trip is harder. Most years they beat the flag favourite at their ground towards the end of the year when it chops up badly. At least going to Peninsula you get a good ground and the clubrooms are awesome.
streetball
17 May 2006, 12:51
I would have thought Salesian would be favourites to beat St Johns not the other way around, who are the injuries that aren't helping Salesian's cause streetball? I'd also expect Peninsula to be the toughest road trip not Aqunias but I also have never played at Aqunias so you could be right boys?
Nannes was out last week, Davey, Stevens, Cant, Barry, Wilson (Casey VFL), Crowley (Casey VFL), Wishmann,Kelly,Sing (Casey VFL) mite all be out although more than likely one would play this week at St Johns. A mate of mine from uni said they have 15 guys out, not all 1's players though, he thinks maybe 7-8 players will come back into that 1's side in the next month or so, thats probably why i suggested St Johns would be favourites on there on turf in the glorious surroundings of doveton meddows. :p
Also a mate of mine who players for doveton in Casey Cardinia league or something said that this St Johns side in Doveton is pretty young and pretty tough at it. It will be another interesting week in D2 footy :thumbsu:
Coach Hollywood
17 May 2006, 14:37
As For C section OldTimer, they have an undefeated team sitting on top just like the rest of the grades so far, D2 doesn't have any undefeated teams and that was the point I was trying to make. As for the Salesian Vs St Johns match, that list does seem quite long Streetball and wouldn't help there cause for the big match this week. Why weren't there that many out 2 weeks ago against the Hoers. Surely having the Under 19 boys available would help fill these positions?What are your tips for this week boys? HotShoeShuffle are you backing the Hoers again?
HotShoeShuffle
17 May 2006, 15:50
As For C section OldTimer, they have an undefeated team sitting on top just like the rest of the grades so far, D2 doesn't have any undefeated teams and that was the point I was trying to make. As for the Salesian Vs St Johns match, that list does seem quite long Streetball and wouldn't help there cause for the big match this week. Why weren't there that many out 2 weeks ago against the Hoers. Surely having the Under 19 boys available would help fill these positions?What are your tips for this week boys? HotShoeShuffle are you backing the Hoers again?
Coach, from what i've heard and read this week, the Hoes were very good last week. Long and direct to the forwards. Not sure if St Johns are as tough as many suggest, although quite nimble. Peninsula surprised me last week, although they are fit and run all day long. Trobes could be the sleeping giant this year, disappointed last year, underestimated this year i think.
Tips are :
Aquinas easily
Peninsula comfortably - Payze to have 8 by halftime, 11 for the game
Latrobe on the road
Salesian to hit back
Hoes to back it up
streetball
17 May 2006, 16:13
Coach, from what i've heard and read this week, the Hoes were very good last week. Long and direct to the forwards. Not sure if St Johns are as tough as many suggest, although quite nimble. Peninsula surprised me last week, although they are fit and run all day long. Trobes could be the sleeping giant this year, disappointed last year, underestimated this year i think.
Tips are :
Aquinas easily
Peninsula comfortably - Payze to have 8 by halftime, 11 for the game
Latrobe on the road
Salesian to hit back
Hoes to back it up
Yeah i agree pretty much with that..Payze to have 8 by half time and 11 for the game would be good to see, he was soundly beaten last week by a very good defender and im sure he will be pumped to have a big one.
Coach Hollywood
17 May 2006, 17:44
It will be interesting to see how the Record bloke tips this week?
Streetball who are you tipping?
My tips will be:
Aquinas.
Peninsula.
Werribee @ home.
I'll go St Johns but I think Salesian are a big chance.
Hoers.
Can anyone tell me how Marty Walsh is going for Werribee???
He was an absolute gun as a junior and can be a freak at times but doesn't play very consistently.
If only he could realise his potential.
Walsh = Crapola. Think he was playing ressies rd.1
HotShoeShuffle
19 May 2006, 17:01
Gone a bit quiet on the D2 front boys, anybody got anything of note before the weekends games........
akkadakka
19 May 2006, 20:25
Werribee seem to be going along nicely in their first season in D2, was anyone at the Werribee vs Peninsula game? who impressed for Werribee?
rightfoot_sloth
22 May 2006, 16:05
Any comments from the weekend games ? Werribee pumped 'Trobers, Willi almost beat Payzesula at the beach, Aquinas had to work hard for the 4 points against GE, Oakleigh gave Hoers a touch up and Salesian between St.Johns. ?
streetball
22 May 2006, 17:12
Any comments from the weekend games ? Werribee pumped 'Trobers, Willi almost beat Payzesula at the beach, Aquinas had to work hard for the 4 points against GE, Oakleigh gave Hoers a touch up and Salesian between St.Johns. ?
RFS- I went down at watched my mate play in the salesian reserves as i was playing the following day. Did stick around for the seniors on a wonderfully crafted oval amongst many a fine person to enjoy a pretty tough and at times firey game of footy.
Basically Salesian tore apart St Johns in the first quarter kicking 7 unanswered goals, 3 from there full foward who did kick a few more. There backline gave them a lot of run the whole day but the first quarter saw very good movement of the pill. St Johns fought back in the second quarter and got within 3 goals at half time.
Both sides answered each others goals in the second half mainly but salesian did kick away late in the last quarter with there young players providing a bit of run.
One thing to note was that St John's discipline was at times very dissapointing and many a 25m penalty was given away. I Thought they would have been favourites but a few Salesian players got under there skin and sucked them in.
Salesian Captain along with there full foward were probably there two best players id say. St Johns did have 3-4 guys that did play very well (not sure of names) but they were on ballers who can hold there heads up.
I hope that is sufficient, how'd the other sides go ? anything interesting in the world of D2 football. :thumbsu:
rightfoot_sloth
23 May 2006, 11:28
Did Mick Hazel (1's Coach) play for Salesian on the weekend against St.Johns ?
streetball
23 May 2006, 14:25
Did Mick Hazel (1's Coach) play for Salesian on the weekend against St.Johns ?
He was in the 22 that lined up i think however he probably only came on and played 20 mins or so in which he pretty much dominated. .He spent the rest of the time coaching. I don't think he is keen to play always, prefers to coach from the sidelines, pretty unselfish of the guy i reckon.
Coach Hollywood
23 May 2006, 17:02
Well Guys, A big week in D2. Here are my findings from the weeks events.
Aqunias continued to plot along nicely.
Salesian showed they are a top 4 contender.
Peninsula survived a scare.
Oakleigh showed they could play finals this year.
Willy shoed they rely on Wheeler alot.
Ivanhoe came back to earth with a thud.
St Johns probably though they where better than they really were.
La Trobe are probably just making up the numbers again.
Glen Eira D2 is just as hard as D1.
Werribee showed they wont be beaten at home.
Good summary Coach.
Peninsula and Aquinas probably the flag favourites now
Coach Hollywood
26 May 2006, 17:51
Selections this week are:
Werribee, Hoes, La Trobe, Oakleigh & Peninsula.
bestbooy
27 May 2006, 15:16
Anyone want to bite the bullet and predict the top 4 in D2 this year?
Based on other threads on this website and my personal opinion, I'd have to go with Ivanhoe Assumption, Penninsula, Aquinas & Werribee? Anyone else have a prediction
Werribee will make the grand final, young list, apply excessive amount of physical pressure on opposition and getting on a roll at the moment
akkadakka
27 May 2006, 22:36
seems werribee are going along nicely at the minute, with wins over aquinas and peninsula. who has been starring for werribee, i hear that they have a relation to the great e.j playing for them.
streetball
29 May 2006, 23:04
seems werribee are going along nicely at the minute, with wins over aquinas and peninsula. who has been starring for werribee, i hear that they have a relation to the great e.j playing for them.
yeah mate thats correct, It's Ted EJ Whitten's grandson i believe. Also has anyone got any reports or results from the weekends matches in D2 section ? :thumbsu:
tha man
29 May 2006, 23:44
in regards to hollywood's comments about the goings on thus far in d2 i found the part concerning werribee was flawed.
hollywood makes a fair call suggesting that werribee will be unbeaten at home this year because last year soldiers reserve was an inpenetrable fortress. most every team who journied down the highway to werribee were soundly beaten. however im afraid his comment is flawed because at werribees first home game glen eira snatched a thrilling 1 point win.
So hollywoods theory of werribee remaining undefeated at home this season are completely incorrect.
Having said this i've heard the boys down there are on an absolute roll with no signs of slowing down.
watch out come finals times cos these boys will be there shaking the place about and could be in for an early promotion to d1.
Coach Hollywood
30 May 2006, 14:48
Yeah minor slip up there Tha Man. The point I was trying to make though was they shouldn't be beaten at home for the "rest" of the year. Hopefully I'm wrong, because we play the Werribee boys at soldiers this weekend and we'd love to knock them off. Tipped 5 from 5 last week so my predictions can't be all that bad? Where's your assesment for each team's progress so far???
HotShoeShuffle
30 May 2006, 16:40
Yeah minor slip up there Tha Man. The point I was trying to make though was they shouldn't be beaten at home for the "rest" of the year. Hopefully I'm wrong, because we play the Werribee boys at soldiers this weekend and we'd love to knock them off. Tipped 5 from 5 last week so my predictions can't be all that bad? Where's your assesment for each team's progress so far???
Peninsula, Werribee, Oakleigh look like they be playing in September.
Aquinas, Salesian, Latrobe and Ivanhoe as a smokey, battle for 4th. St Johns, GE and Willi are gone.
here are my tips for round 7 D2 seniors:
aquinas to easily account for willi
salesian in a tight one with glen eira
peninsula to beat la trobe well
werribee to smack the pants off ivanhoe
oakleigh to do the same to JOCS
anyone else got their tips?
where is Tom 'Pizzle" Nixon running around this years is he still at the Hoers or did he head back to the country to play for the bloods, had a fair bit of potential when i saw him run around last yr. wld be good to hear from coach hollywood on this one.
Coach Hollywood
1 Jun 2006, 16:54
Tommy Nixon has gone to Marcellin Fish, He made the Box Hill Hawks list and they told him if he wanted to get better he would need to join an A grade club, rather than staying down in D2. We'd love to have him still but you can't hold back a Kid from giving it a crack?
He's been missing out on the Hawks reserve each week and playing 2's at Marcellin, But I think he played in Marcellin 1's last round, so he looks like being a chance at Box Hill shortly? Good Luck him, he's top kid.
streetball
1 Jun 2006, 22:32
Any tips/previews for the w/e's clash lads, been a bit quiet the last week or so. Also can someone give me some information on the following players in your competition as they seem likee some keys according to match reports/results/records.
Trevor Bromley, McKenzie & Briggs...Oakliegh Krushers
St Johns, C.Pattie (Number 1 think)
Peninsula, S.Payze, not sure of number tho.
Salesian, M.Hazell, A.Ross, L.Kelly and H.Singh
Ivanhoe have a few very handy players.
Also who are the key players from Aquinas and Werribee (heard in the paper that EJ's grandson is down at werribee and is very handy.
Cheers lads :thumbsu:
Coach Hollywood
2 Jun 2006, 10:34
Tips this week could include a few upsets I think? How's Ivanhoe, Williamstown to beat Werribee & Aqunias. Salesian, Peninsula & Oakleigh in the others.
hollywood i think you may have just dropped your bundle. you're probly right that the game between werribee and the hoers is a danger one for werribee which the hoers could easily snatch, however werribee will be too strong at home. But to say williamstown can beat aquinas???
willi are an absolute rabble and i have no doubt that without wheeler they'd be in even worse shape than they're in now (which i don't think is possible)
HotShoeShuffle
2 Jun 2006, 16:29
Tips this week could include a few upsets I think? How's Ivanhoe, Williamstown to beat Werribee & Aqunias. Salesian, Peninsula & Oakleigh in the others.
Coach, Coach, Coach.......Williamstown ? I will streak through the main drag of Willi if they beat Aquinas the W/E. Werribee will be too strong for the Hoes. Oakleigh to win by 100+, Peninsula and LaTrobe to battle out a draw, and Salesian over GE
topcatmay02
2 Jun 2006, 16:33
I live near Werribee and go down and see there games everynow and then. I know some of the guys down there and there expecting a good, hard clash.
Should be good if the rain stays away for us fans!
We shall see Saturday arvo
Dave
Coach Hollywood
2 Jun 2006, 17:40
It may be a bit of a stupid prediction to tip Williamstown and to be honest I'd love for them to get a hiding as we play them next round, but I wasn't the only one to tip them. The Amatuer Record has tipped them by 8 points. He has also tipped Salesian by 2, Peninsula by 55, Werribee by 82? & Oakleigh by 72. I guess we'll see how close they can get tomorrow?
Also Streetball it looked like you had a few good players listed before, but i'm not too sure about Singh? How about you list the best 3 at each club? That would be interesting to see who some people pick. I'll have a think about mine over the weekend and list them on Monday.
Hollywood,
How does one get to read the record this arvo?
Coach Hollywood
2 Jun 2006, 17:57
It's on the VAFA website under the "Publications" Tab. Then click on the "Amatuer Footballer" Season 2006 then open up Round 7. They are printed on the Thursday and then added to the Web on Friday normally.
streetball
2 Jun 2006, 19:41
It may be a bit of a stupid prediction to tip Williamstown and to be honest I'd love for them to get a hiding as we play them next round, but I wasn't the only one to tip them. The Amatuer Record has tipped them by 8 points. He has also tipped Salesian by 2, Peninsula by 55, Werribee by 82? & Oakleigh by 72. I guess we'll see how close they can get tomorrow?
Also Streetball it looked like you had a few good players listed before, but i'm not too sure about Singh? How about you list the best 3 at each club? That would be interesting to see who some people pick. I'll have a think about mine over the weekend and list them on Monday.
Coach Hollywood, i mainly followed the amateur football record to be honest, but from what i seen in the only game i watched in your comp: Salesian's standout would be M.Hazell. The others that i mentioned would be ones from the amo footballer. Interesting to hear your thoughts though.. You have a far greater knowledge of the competition so your summary would be better. Although i will try and look at the ones i already entered and come up with one sometime next week. :thumbsu:
HotShoeShuffle
5 Jun 2006, 12:57
Coach (and Record Scribe), your prediction nearly had the locals of Willi ducking for cover if i had to run barea$$ed down there, but Aquinas did enough to get over the line. Oakleigh, Werribee and POBS comfortable victors looking at the results. Anyone care to offer a different view ? And the scribe correctly predicting a 2 point win to Chaddy. They must have had a heap out, GE aren't much chop
Coach Hollywood
5 Jun 2006, 20:21
Well Willy single figures away from forcing a main st streak, maybe their coach posted HotShoeShuffle's post up in the rooms as motivation??
I've been doing a bit of research on this "Top 3 players per team" Post.
I've come up with I think are the 3 best per side at the moment, based on website best players, ability, my perception & talk around the traps.
We're yet to play Willy or La Trobe so judgement may change?
Aqunias - Glassbarrow, DenBraber, Wooden.
Peninsula - Payze, Murphy, Coghlan.
Salesian - Hazell, Payne, Ross.
St Johns - Arnold, Pattie, Rydquist.
Oakleigh - Bromley, McKenzie, Bell.
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis, Massis, Sheedy.
Werribee - Whitten, Mentha, 27 & 7? Unknown due to the record's team list being incorrect.
Williamstown - Wheeler, Taylor, Hynes.
La Trobe - Caldrow, Waterman, Coulter.
Ivanhoe - Hunter, Wilson on currrent form & Harris? (May be a little biased with these tips so feel free to nominate others)
Does anyway else agree or disagree with this list? You may know some of the teams better than I do? Let us know what you think? A bit of help on Werribee would be appreciated also?
Well Willy single figures away from forcing a main st streak, maybe their coach posted HotShoeShuffle's post up in the rooms as motivation??
I've been doing a bit of research on this "Top 3 players per team" Post.
I've come up with I think are the 3 best per side at the moment, based on website best players, ability, my perception & talk around the traps.
We're yet to play Willy or La Trobe so judgement may change?
Aqunias - Glassbarrow, DenBraber, Wooden.
Peninsula - Payze, Murphy, Coghlan.
Salesian - Hazell, Payne, Ross.
St Johns - Arnold, Pattie, Rydquist.
Oakleigh - Bromley, McKenzie, Bell.
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis, Massis, Sheedy.
Werribee - Whitten, Mentha, 27 & 7? Unknown due to the record's team list being incorrect.
Williamstown - Wheeler, Taylor, Hynes.
La Trobe - Caldrow, Waterman, Coulter.
Ivanhoe - Hunter, Wilson on currrent form & Harris? (May be a little biased with these tips so feel free to nominate others)
Does anyway else agree or disagree with this list? You may know some of the teams better than I do? Let us know what you think? A bit of help on Werribee would be appreciated also?
Coach,
You're summary for every teams best players is pretty on the mark i reckon....however for willi i reckon B.Cocks (no.10) could squeeze in there in place of taylor, just my two cents but.
For werribee the 3 best there based on current form would have to be whitten, stornebrink and carson. mentha is back down at werribee vfl reserves and looks to be there for a little while having been in their best on the weekend. one of werribees all time guns would have to m.keogh as well but due to injury has only played a couple of games this year, he is a former captain and has won 3 of the last 5 best and fairests and well as being named in D3's team of the year on the ball and captain last year.
Coach Hollywood
7 Jun 2006, 17:07
Tha Man,
I agree B.Cocks was a "bit stiff" to miss out (ha ha).
I think Stornebrink was the number 7, and the CHB with long hair was the number 27 but don't know his name?. Does anyone know who these guys are and if we're correct?
Any other changes to the list? What do you think about the Ivanhoe top 3?
coach hollywood,
i'm not too sure who you're on about, number 27 plays in our two's and i don't think anyone in the backline has long hair.......???
i played on saturday, tell me what number this mystery player played on and i might be able to shed some light on the subject.
on your top 3 at ivanhoe....definitely have to agree with hunter, probly the best ruckman going around in the comp at the moment. also the bloke who was given b.o.g for the one's, medium sized defender with a good grab number 15 i think, he looks like a good sort. not too sure about harris though....was worn tightly by scotty "the glove" kidd all day and am unsure if he actually gathered a stat. but being captain he must be good so i'll take your word there
Coach Hollywood
7 Jun 2006, 20:34
He had longish wavey hair, played CHB and took a heap of marks. He played on our CHF who was number 19. Obviously he wasn't number 27 then?
Who does everyone think will win in what might be a grand final preview next round between Oakleigh and Peninsula?
I think Peninsula might win this one, and firm into strong premiership favourites.
topcatmay02
9 Jun 2006, 17:25
Hi All,
You can get some idea on the best/consistent players by going to the below link.
http://www.vafa.asn.au/?s=results
Goto D2 section, click competition stats, sort by # of times in best and buddabing.
You get the matches played under M and NBest will give you the times in the best players. (See *)
Craig Taylor (WILLIAMSTOWN CYMS) (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?player=Craig Taylor&action=PSTATS&player_id=128835252&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039473%40%40%404364002%40WILLIAMSTOWN%20CYMS%404%40D2%20S ection%401%40)703/06/2006111.57327Peter Walker (ST JOHNS OC) (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?player=Peter Walker&action=PSTATS&player_id=128827801&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039473%40%40%404364051%40ST%20JOHNS%20OC%404%40D2%20Secti on%401%40)603/06/200610.171-6Kane Arnold (ST JOHNS OC) (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?player=Kane Arnold&action=PSTATS&player_id=128836164&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039473%40%40%404364051%40ST%20JOHNS%20OC%404%40D2%20Secti on%401%40)603/06/200661.002-6
These are the 3 best players based on this.
Thanks
Davo
Coach Hollywood
9 Jun 2006, 17:29
TopCat, that's the club's best. I think you'd rather see what the oppostion think of each team rather than what their club thinks of them?
Footy addict
11 Jun 2006, 17:34
TopCat, that's the club's best. I think you'd rather see what the oppostion think of each team rather than what their club thinks of them?
GE cant be that bad they keep coming so close.
Coach Hollywood
11 Jun 2006, 17:55
GE cant be that bad they keep coming so close.
Footy Addict, What are you talking about exactly? Are you talking about Williamstown? Because the comment you quoted from was in response to the best players listed on the VAFA website by the clubs, and how I think it is better to hear what other teams think are the best players instead? If you are talking about Williamstown then Yes I agree with you, they have been unlucky. Huge game this week @ Hoe Park.
Footy addict
14 Jun 2006, 14:14
Footy Addict, What are you talking about exactly? Are you talking about Williamstown? Because the comment you quoted from was in response to the best players listed on the VAFA website by the clubs, and how I think it is better to hear what other teams think are the best players instead? If you are talking about Williamstown then Yes I agree with you, they have been unlucky. Huge game this week @ Hoe Park.
Sorry Coach hard to understand you bet, it was sent to the wrong person. Seen a few D2 games this year and cant believe how close the standard is from top to bottom.
Coach Hollywood
15 Jun 2006, 13:13
Definetly pretty close Addict, It depends on how switched on you are for each game I guess? Tips for this week fellas are:
Aquinas, Ivanhoe, Werribee, St Johns & Oakleigh in a ripper at home.
Record Scribe has:
Aquinas, Ivanhoe, Salesian, St Johns, Peninsula.
Tips anyone?
streetball
15 Jun 2006, 17:16
Definetly pretty close Addict, It depends on how switched on you are for each game I guess? Tips for this week fellas are:
Record Scribe has:
Tips anyone?
Coach i think you are spot on the money...Aquinas,Ivanhoe, Werribee to get up by bout 5 goals against Salesian, St Johns to get a win and Oakleigh will knock of peninsula by a couple of goals.
HotShoeShuffle
15 Jun 2006, 17:39
Coach i think you are spot on the money...Aquinas,Ivanhoe, Werribee to get up by bout 5 goals against Salesian, St Johns to get a win and Oakleigh will knock of peninsula by a couple of goals.
I'll take Salesian over Werribee. Am not very impressed with what i've seen of Werribee. The others sound good to me
Darren Black
16 Jun 2006, 15:31
Record Scribe has:
Tips anyone?
Your kidding yourself coach Williamstown will beat Ivanhoe Comfortably Ivanhoe are a poorly coached bunch of rabble.
HotShoeShuffle
16 Jun 2006, 15:44
Your kidding yourself coach Williamstown will beat Ivanhoe Comfortably Ivanhoe are a poorly coached bunch of rabble.
Given that Ivanhoe have won 2 games more than Willi, who are yet to notch a win, what makes them a "poorly coached bunch of rabble" and not Willi. Are they a well coached bunch of hard luck stories ? Or poorly coached bunch of good players, not good enough to win ?
Darren Black
16 Jun 2006, 16:53
Given that Ivanhoe have won 2 games more than Willi, who are yet to notch a win, what makes them a "poorly coached bunch of rabble" and not Willi. Are they a well coached bunch of hard luck stories ? Or poorly coached bunch of good players, not good enough to win ?
We will see come saturday when the final score line has williamstown infornt due to some poor moves from the coach. I have heard that he, a full forward has named himself on the ball this week as he feels he needs the fitness. He is more interested in looking after himself then the team. That is why they are a poorly coached. Willy are due for a win.