View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
September
22 Jun 2006, 17:10
Which inclusions in the GRFL top 30 are you objectiong to?
Keith's done pretty well this time round, his attempt after last season was ordinary to say the least. Korp is the only guy that has been flattered in my opinion
Spoton's week-end predictions in this weeks GRFL:
Ultima over Macorna by 17 pts
Quambatook to defeat Moulamein by 42 pts
Nullawill to beat Murrabit by 44 pts
Wakool over Hay by 34 pts
Should be a great round of footy, good luck to all!!
telstra101
23 Jun 2006, 13:32
Spoton's week-end predictions in this weeks GRFL:
Ultima over Macorna by 17 pts
Quambatook to defeat Moulamein by 42 pts
Nullawill to beat Murrabit by 44 pts
Wakool over Hay by 34 pts
Should be a great round of footy, good luck to all!!
Ultima by 42 points- confidence would be high, could rodman kick another 6, n what is he doing down forward anyways!!!
Quamby by 8 goals- although moul would see this as there best chance for a while
Nullawil by 2 goals- much depends on parker for me
Wakool by 11 goals- too good, see another signing of a player from uni blues...
September
23 Jun 2006, 15:22
Ultima by 42 points- confidence would be high, could rodman kick another 6, n what is he doing down forward anyways!!!
Quamby by 8 goals- although moul would see this as there best chance for a while
Nullawil by 2 goals- much depends on parker for me
Wakool by 11 goals- too good, see another signing of a player from uni blues...
My tips:
Quamby by 1 goal over moula - quality onballers missing for saints
Ultima and Macorna to draw
Murrabit to defeat Nully by 2 goals
Wakool by 4 goals over Hay
Greg Dickson to win league medal - has by far the best disposal in the league
HappyDayz
23 Jun 2006, 18:28
Don't want to be the bearer of bad news but hey Golden Rivers was falling down the league list towards page 2. Now that its official i might as well let the rest of you know.
Keith's no. 13 best player in the league Jamie Wilson has been cleared from Quamby to play for Newland in the Central Highlands league.
Should hurt their already thin onball stocks for the rest of the season.
September
23 Jun 2006, 19:42
Don't want to be the bearer of bad news but hey Golden Rivers was falling down the league list towards page 2. Now that its official i might as well let the rest of you know.
Keith's no. 13 best player in the league Jamie Wilson has been cleared from Quamby to play for Newland in the Central Highlands league.
Should hurt their already thin onball stocks for the rest of the season.
Why the mid season move, umpires not returning the love?
You'll need to speed up your recovery Dayz.
My tips:
Quamby by 1 goal over moula - quality onballers missing for saints
Ultima and Macorna to draw
Murrabit to defeat Nully by 2 goals
Wakool by 4 goals over Hay
Some very ordanary tips there september, here are the results.
Nully over Murrabit by 16 points
Quamby over Moulamien by 76 points
Ultima over Macorna by 55 points
Wakool over Hay by 5 points.
I was at the Ultima Macorna game and the tigers pushed all day but to no avail. Otoole kicked 9 for the roos and fresh out of retirement the dangerous Khan Mason kicked 4 for the tigers.
Any news on any other games? Wakool V's Hay must have been a cracker.
super snooper
25 Jun 2006, 12:52
Rumour has it that 4 wakool players have walked out. Can anyone shed some more light?
jimmyboy
25 Jun 2006, 19:32
Rumour has it that 4 wakool players have walked out. Can anyone shed some more light?
Who are the players super pooper and how did this info fall in your lap?
jimmyboy
25 Jun 2006, 19:39
Some very ordanary tips there september, here are the results.
Nully over Murrabit by 16 points
Quamby over Moulamien by 76 points
Ultima over Macorna by 55 points
Wakool over Hay by 5 points.
I was at the Ultima Macorna game and the tigers pushed all day but to no avail. Otoole kicked 9 for the roos and fresh out of retirement the dangerous Khan Mason kicked 4 for the tigers.
Any news on any other games? Wakool V's Hay must have been a cracker.
Does anyone know who got in the best for Ultima? Did John Boyd slip in for a vote.
super snooper
25 Jun 2006, 21:48
Who are the players super pooper and how did this info fall in your lap?
not sure who the players were, was the talk at a local hotel on saturday night.
Tassie Devil
25 Jun 2006, 21:58
The Wakool game was a cracker
Wakool 2-5 5-6 13-11 17-13
Hay 7-2 11-5 12-6 17-8
Done some invetigation and the scores in second quarter were 11-5 to 2-5 before Wakool started playing football kicking 6 goals in about 5 minutes. Thats 9 goal turn around by 3 quarter time. Must say that would hurt Hay.
Harvey booted another 6 and played mainly in defence.
According to my source players are still yet to play for Wakool and not any going. But if it's true it will soon become fact.
HappyDayz
26 Jun 2006, 13:22
That's very interesting Tassie, why the turnaround? Injuries/wakool pull their fingers out?
Sets up a massive game this week against the roos at home. Winner to take outright 4th.
telstra101
26 Jun 2006, 13:35
ominous signs for the contenders for 4th spot, hay pushing wakool certainly surprised me, but maybe not others, and lachy otoole seems to be hitting form, although maybe he is just spending more time down forward after sometime on the wing early in season???
See our Ben hardman straight into the best for nully snagging 2 goals, how did he play catter???
Tassie Devil
26 Jun 2006, 23:00
Happy dont think it was injuries just decided it was time to play footy after another trip from down south. But then they done the same thing against Ultima in the early rounds.
Looking at the ladders on GRFL web page interesting rounds of football to come. Its still anyones guess as to the top 4 as wandella are still just hanging on.
Benji Hardman now at Nulli, mmmmm as he was on Deni Rovers injury list waiting to return and now at Nulli don't think Rovers would be happy there as he was one off there home grown heros. It's also been said that both Hardman and Bode are off to Blighty next year in the Picola league for a hugh pay increase with only 30km to training rather than over 200.
Wakool have lost a player who has done his knee and will miss the rest of the year.
Not sure of his name but heard he was on $800 a game.
super snooper
27 Jun 2006, 11:56
Wakool have lost a player who has done his knee and will miss the rest of the year.
Not sure of his name but heard he was on $800 a game.
Was it Ryan Smith? CHF.
Was it Ryan Smith? CHF.Yes you are right
super snooper
27 Jun 2006, 15:49
Smith did his medial ligament earlier on in the season and missed about 6 then played last week (round 9). Has he done it properly now?
Footy Tripper
27 Jun 2006, 17:52
Happy dont think it was injuries just decided it was time to play footy after another trip from down south. But then they done the same thing against Ultima in the early rounds.
Looking at the ladders on GRFL web page interesting rounds of football to come. Its still anyones guess as to the top 4 as wandella are still just hanging on.
Benji Hardman now at Nulli, mmmmm as he was on Deni Rovers injury list waiting to return and now at Nulli don't think Rovers would be happy there as he was one off there home grown heros. It's also been said that both Hardman and Bode are off to Blighty next year in the Picola league for a hugh pay increase with only 30km to training rather than over 200.
Don't think it is over 200km to Nully from Deni, would be 170km at the most. Deni Rovers may not be happy with him going to Nully but for the Home grown hero a change may be what he needs right about now. Musn't have been too injured to get in the best...anyway, any comments on Matt Fleming getting red carded as was stated in the Northern Times??? Just before half time apparently, and it does say he had his number taken and was sent from the ground for the match. Rumour has it an elbow to Ben Parkers head then abusing the umpire?? Can anyone confirm???
in the blues
28 Jun 2006, 12:56
Watch for Hay's Joel Griffiths to shut down Shane Harvey yet again this weekend. Did a number on the AFL outcast in round one and is primed for another big one. Also, John Fitzpatrick paying $1.25 for League Medal and even shorter odds to send another 4 blokes to hosipital this week.
the rumour has it is that fitzy was used for a step ladder on the weekend a few times the only way they were going to hospital was from a lack of oxygen can any one confirm
BigfellaH
28 Jun 2006, 15:51
Can any body confirm the following injury list from Murrabit. Henery shoulder, Egg Bray knee, Hutchins Hamstring, Fleming to get minimum 2weeks All from Satudays game
footyfan5
28 Jun 2006, 15:53
Heard a little rumour that Kleenex Dillion had his tears out on saturday night when two of the local quamby females had a bit to say to him about his attitude and his little fibs he tells.........good to see the the quamby club has taken over from nyah with supplying him with the tissues.
HappyDayz
28 Jun 2006, 16:33
Can any body confirm the following injury list from Murrabit. Henery shoulder, Egg Bray knee, Hutchins Hamstring, Fleming to get minimum 2weeks All from Satudays game
Has been confirmed by the inner sanctum. Henry out till pretty much finals at least. Bray's knee uncertain at this stage. It seems the bye couldn't have come at a better time.:(
in the blues
28 Jun 2006, 18:35
who is a chance for best in comp any ideas?
bode
ben parker
shane harvey
fitzy
FLAMMABLE
28 Jun 2006, 19:40
Yes can confirm that. With Matty Graham riding high twice in about 2 minutes over Fitzpatrick back. Fitzpatrick didnt no what had hit him. After seeing Fitzpatrick on the weekend hes the most overated player in the league. hes hopeless. Did nothing all day.
Jono Doyle from wakool For league B n F. The kid is the best defender going around. He can run fast, jump bloody high and can kick over 50 on both feet. I definetly wouldnt wana be running away from him. Cant believe he only comes in at number 20 on keiths list.
footyfan5
28 Jun 2006, 19:49
BigfellaH
Can you tell me what fleming did for him to get two weeks
BigfellaH
29 Jun 2006, 11:05
Hit to stomach followed by elbow to head throat area, minimum 2 weeks
super snooper
29 Jun 2006, 11:37
Hit to stomach followed by elbow to head throat area, minimum 2 weeks
I heard he took 1 week.
telstra101
29 Jun 2006, 13:15
Heard a little rumour that Kleenex Dillion had his tears out on saturday night when two of the local quamby females had a bit to say to him about his attitude and his little fibs he tells.........good to see the the quamby club has taken over from nyah with supplying him with the tissues.
I hope that you are both a friend of dillons and be willing to make such a statement to his face otherwise i think its pretty gutless to write such a comment on here.
September
29 Jun 2006, 13:19
Yes can confirm that. With Matty Graham riding high twice in about 2 minutes over Fitzpatrick back. Fitzpatrick didnt no what had hit him. After seeing Fitzpatrick on the weekend hes the most overated player in the league. hes hopeless. Did nothing all day.
Jono Doyle from wakool For league B n F. The kid is the best defender going around. He can run fast, jump bloody high and can kick over 50 on both feet. I definetly wouldnt wana be running away from him. Cant believe he only comes in at number 20 on keiths list.
Jonno is certainly a medal chance, is a natural athlete with footy instincts. Doesn't receive the recognition or respect he deserves. Probably been under rated for a couple of seasons now, Hows Dave Thompson jnr going at the minute, lots of potential but seldom delivers?
super snooper
29 Jun 2006, 13:29
Jonno is certainly a medal chance, is a natural athlete with footy instincts. Doesn't receive the recognition or respect he deserves. Probably been under rated for a couple of seasons now, Hows Dave Thompson jnr going at the minute, lots of potential but seldom delivers?
This is doyles first year back since he was a kid.
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 13:53
another player going to wakool he is a crap why in hell would you sign a ****man up i heard he couldnt get a game at fitzroy reds d grade amos which doesnt say much about his ability
HappyDayz
29 Jun 2006, 14:29
Doyle impressive against us. Couldn't see him taking votes ahead of Kearney, Whelan, Harvey and the like most weeks.
carntheblue&whitehoops
29 Jun 2006, 14:30
two more guys from melbourne going to wakool, whats the big attraction?
another player going to wakool he is a crap why in hell would you sign a ****man up i heard he couldnt get a game at fitzroy reds d grade amos which doesnt say much about his ability
ey in the blue, who is the new player that wakool has signed that you say is ****? have you seen this person play? you sound like that you have tickets on yourself.....or are you a typical critic who likes to hide behind the pc and bag players.
touch of class
29 Jun 2006, 14:47
well out of all the boys at wakool this year shane harvey would be the only in melbourne who would get a game at a div 1 senior team so what does it say about the grfl if some of these blokes at best were average div 2 seconds players you got some good players that went there but are way past there prime in the big leagues is it a case of big fish little pond syndrome
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 14:56
ey in the blue, who is the new player that wakool has signed that you say is ****? have you seen this person play? you sound like that you have tickets on yourself.....or are you a typical critic who likes to hide behind the pc and bag players.
hey boora whats the matter is he your boyfriend we will soon see cause just like the rest of the players from melb they are pretty crap he is just another on a long list of crap. ive been in footy for over 30 years and i know what a good player are. why else do they travel from melb to play 2nd diversion country. to get a kick where they cant any where else
well out of all the boys at wakool this year shane harvey would be the only in melbourne who would get a game at a div 1 senior team so what does it say about the grfl if some of these blokes at best were average div 2 seconds players you got some good players that went there but are way past there prime in the big leagues is it a case of big fish little pond syndrome
of course it is a lower league, gee if i didn't have injuries i would definately go and have a run for the $'s that they are paying alot of them guys, who wouldn't.
i am sure matthew graham, clint wheatly could still handle themselves in divvy 1 DV, the other guys like adam kearney, ryan smith, michael harrison and allan thorpe would still have something to offer to wakool.
They could all play some footy in there time, they may be abit slower but you never lose your footballing ability and smarts. The standard of DV has dropped considerably over the years compared to the late 90's and early 2000's i watched a couple of games this year and thought gee it really isn't as good as afew year ago.
footyfan5
29 Jun 2006, 15:05
I dont know him personally telestra 101 but I have seen him use and abuse the nyah club and definetley seen the tears come out on the bench of the nyah games when he was dragged............... I also know some of his footy team mates and he is not the friend that he thinks he is
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 15:12
totally agree with you the best players that were supposally to come up were kane kooper and shane potter until they realized that they couldnt get a kick in 2nd div country these melb people should stay out this part of the country bunch of no good, good for nothing cant kick cant play loosers
September
29 Jun 2006, 15:17
This is doyles first year back since he was a kid.
Yeh but he was underated at the club he played at last year, wherever that was.
HappyDayz
29 Jun 2006, 15:24
So i'm guessing you signed up to this site 'Footy Fan' just to bag out the bloke. Well now that you've done that you can ***** off. This site aint for cheep shots of a personal nature. (Unless its Ultima FC in general, i quite enjoy those)
Jonno is certainly a medal chance, is a natural athlete with footy instincts. Doesn't receive the recognition or respect he deserves. Probably been under rated for a couple of seasons now, Hows Dave Thompson jnr going at the minute, lots of potential but seldom delivers?If he is anything like his old man he will be allright,Dave was a very handy footballer.
hey boora whats the matter is he your boyfriend we will soon see cause just like the rest of the players from melb they are pretty crap he is just another on a long list of crap. ive been in footy for over 30 years and i know what a good player are. why else do they travel from melb to play 2nd diversion country. to get a kick where they cant any where else
why you jealous, you want a piece of him too?
so your saying that they are all crap, 30 years makes you an expert. you know what a good player is, so thorpey, matty graham, ryan smith, clint wheatly, adam kearney and harrow are ****?.
afew are abit past there prime but gee you never lose your ability or footballing smarts do you and i am sure that sitting 2nd on the ladder must say something about them don't you think it seems that you have abit of a problem with them or is it personal or you just having a cry?.
Someone told me that there was 3 very very handy footballers (probably 3 of the greatest ever to play in the grfl/kdfl)running around in the wakool 2s last week.David Landini,Andrew Herbert and Simon Freeman is this true??
In there day these blokes where absolute guns.
totally agree with you the best players that were supposally to come up were kane kooper and shane potter until they realized that they couldnt get a kick in 2nd div country these melb people should stay out this part of the country bunch of no good, good for nothing cant kick cant play loosers
kane and pottsy both good footballers, i am sure the travel was a factor in them not going up there. i think that they can play abit, they haven't lost a game since the 1st round haven't they not? you need to have a lie down i think or have a beer you seem to be working yourself up abit there boy.
carntheblue&whitehoops
29 Jun 2006, 15:44
hey do you know who jack layh and henry button are? if so can they play?
September
29 Jun 2006, 15:51
If he is anything like his old man he will be allright,Dave was a very handy footballer.
Ah, thats funny, if your refering to David Thompson the ex club president/still playing, he is not the father of the guy i have labelled Dave Thompson jnr, it is simply my way of distiguishing between the two given they have played in the same side for the last 5 or 6 years. Jnr Dave's parent have no ties with the Wakool FC and his fathers first name is definitely not David.
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 15:59
kane and pottsy both good footballers, i am sure the travel was a factor in them not going up there. i think that they can play abit, they haven't lost a game since the 1st round haven't they not? you need to have a lie down i think or have a beer you seem to be working yourself up abit there boy.
look all im saying is bring some real talent seen alan thorpe, matty graham, wheatly,kearny and harrison play havent seen much well over rated couldnt get a game in melb im just glad there not sucking thr life out of our club waste of money
Absolutely
29 Jun 2006, 16:06
The KDFL/GRFL has been a graveyard for over the hill and on the fringe CMFL players looking for a bit of coin for decades. I don't know why these similar players from Melbourne are such an issue.
touch of class
hey do you know who jack layh and henry button are? if so can they play?
no i dont know them 2 blokes mentioned but i do know most of the others dont get me wrong a few of them were guns and i wouldnt doubt that theywould be very good players in the grfl
as for you in the blues you just keep headbutting trucks goose i dont know potsy but kane cooper is a good mate of mine and i have seen him play for years now he played seniors at 2 vfl clubs played in dvfl senior premierships and is a gun for the leagues sake you are lucky he never came cause he would of made any dill playing in that league look retarted so to say he wouldnt get a kick shows how much you actually know about footy
Yaaablett
Ah, thats funny, if your refering to David Thompson the ex club president/still playing, he is not the father of the guy i have labelled Dave Thompson jnr, it is simply my way of distiguishing between the two given they have played in the same side for the last 5 or 6 years. Jnr Dave's parent have no ties with the Wakool FC and his fathers first name is definitely not David.
I reckon one is Thompson and the other Thomson. Not sure. How is the younger one going? Very talented, I imagine he would be thriving with better players around him.
clifton's lookalike
29 Jun 2006, 16:19
Can anybody tell me where is Atkin from the Roos? This thread was all Atkin, Atkin, Atkin at the start of the season and now there is no talk of the great man.
look all im saying is bring some real talent seen alan thorpe, matty graham, wheatly,kearny and harrison play havent seen much well over rated couldnt get a game in melb im just glad there not sucking thr life out of our club waste of money
i am sure that they all could get a game in melb still, and your club would be? if a footy club wants to pay that sort of money well thats there business and they may just get a premiership out of it. alot of clubs around victoria do it every year pay top dollar for players past there prime and some win the big one and some don't but thats footy for you.
HappyDayz
29 Jun 2006, 16:43
I see Josh Barbetti is another recent clearance to Nully. Things are ticking over just nicely for the Moroons at present.
Dedicated Man
29 Jun 2006, 17:01
Can anybody tell me where is Atkin from the Roos? This thread was all Atkin, Atkin, Atkin at the start of the season and now there is no talk of the great man.
Atkin apparently had a knee reco a couple of weeks ago after hurting knee playing footy against Quamby
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 17:25
no i dont know them 2 blokes mentioned but i do know most of the others dont get me wrong a few of them were guns and i wouldnt doubt that theywould be very good players in the grfl
as for you in the blues you just keep headbutting trucks goose i dont know potsy but kane cooper is a good mate of mine and i have seen him play for years now he played seniors at 2 vfl clubs played in dvfl senior premierships and is a gun for the leagues sake you are lucky he never came cause he would of made any dill playing in that league look retarted so to say he wouldnt get a kick shows how much you actually know about footy
touch of class or should i say touch kanes ass get out of his ass if he is that good where is he now, nowhere where man sounds like you only watch his ass open your eyes to a wider world of footy sounds like your in love with him
in the blues
29 Jun 2006, 17:31
i am sure that they all could get a game in melb still, and your club would be? if a footy club wants to pay that sort of money well thats there business and they may just get a premiership out of it. alot of clubs around victoria do it every year pay top dollar for players past there prime and some win the big one and some don't but thats footy for you.
hey boora are you girl you sound like a girl but then again all them melb people are girls soft do they breed them soft in melb
touch of class
29 Jun 2006, 18:01
touch of class or should i say touch kanes ass get out of his ass if he is that good where is he now, nowhere where man sounds like you only watch his ass open your eyes to a wider world of footy sounds like your in love with him
mate only if you had half a brain you just keep going down on blokes and youll be right im glad he never lowered his colours to take wakools money what are you jealous he makes more on a saturday afternoon playing footy than you make in a week working as for opening up my eyes i watch footy all over victoria and can tell you a bit about every league that is worth watching unlike the grfl which would be 1 of the lowest standards of footy in this state
Tassie Devil
29 Jun 2006, 18:06
Yeh but he was underated at the club he played at last year, wherever that was.
Funny how the club Jono Doyle came from last year, and the club hes been playing for his whole life is Wakool, Hes never played anywhere else. Jack Lahys also a local, These two have just been away at uni and are returning
hey boora are you girl you sound like a girl but then again all them melb people are girls soft do they breed them soft in melb
maybe i am a girl, in the blues....well your entitled to your own opinion if you think all melbourne people are soft. it seems that you have a chip on your shoulder you homophobic neanderthal i surpose that what happens when you keep it in the family.
Kick_it_2_me
29 Jun 2006, 20:05
maybe i am a girl, in the blues....well your entitled to your own opinion if you think all melbourne people are soft. it seems that you have a chip on your shoulder you homophobic neanderthal i surpose that what happens when you keep it in the family.
i think ALL of us on this thread need to stop listening to IN THE BLUES posts. none of them make sense to start with and the sooner we stop replying the sooner he'll go away. he riminds me of that t o s s e r DEAMLY
DOCKERS
29 Jun 2006, 22:55
i think ALL of us on this thread need to stop listening to IN THE BLUES posts. none of them make sense to start with and the sooner we stop replying the sooner he'll go away. he riminds me of that t o s s e r DEAMLY
good call kick it 2me... i think in the blues needs to take some computer and simple grammar classes because i can't really understand what he is saying. i think he is trying to satisfy himself by bagging blokes that are a hell of a lot better than him. i've got plenty of toilet paper here, in the blues, if you would like to attach some to your chin!
Tips this week:
Moulamein v Nullawill Nully to continue winning, plenty of heart at Moula,a couple of key players would do the trick, Nully by 72 pts.
Wandella v Wakool Wakool to keep on their winning ways in a hard fought game. Wakool by 32 pts.
Hay v Ultima Should be a cracker! Hay stiff last week and Ultima boys hitting form. Hay for me by 22pts.
Macorna v Quambatook This has the potential to be a very good game. Both sides dont take backwards steps and even though its at Tigerland and the inclusion of Khan Mason, its the boys from Quamby17 pts.
Murrabit to benefit from week off.
super snooper
30 Jun 2006, 13:11
Tips this week:
Moulamein v Nullawill Nully to continue winning, plenty of heart at Moula,a couple of key players would do the trick, Nully by 72 pts.
Wandella v Wakool Wakool to keep on their winning ways in a hard fought game. Wakool by 32 pts.
Hay v Ultima Should be a cracker! Hay stiff last week and Ultima boys hitting form. Hay for me by 22pts.
Macorna v Quambatook This has the potential to be a very good game. Both sides dont take backwards steps and even though its at Tigerland and the inclusion of Khan Mason, its the boys from Quamby17 pts.
spot on spoton. tips are on the money.
Hay v Ulitima to be match of the round with the winner to obtain a decisive advantage in the battle for 4th spot. Could go either way.
Macorna and Quamby will be a good contest, both have shown some good form, but are just off the pace. Home ground advantage will help the Tigers, but the saints will just get home.
Other two are cut and dry. Watch for a couple of new players for Wakool, with big Leigh Scoullar to make a return to his old club.
telstra101
30 Jun 2006, 13:22
just something that ive been thinking about and wondered on others thoughts..
ARE NULLY THE REAL DEAL??
a lot has been said about nully but i question how good they are, for a few reasons..
I watched them play Ultima, only winning by around 4 goals- ultima had pickering, j condely, lawry all off injured around half time and atkin sent off for possibly the softest decision ever..
Then against quamby, they got off to a flyer, but only won by 5 goals, with quamby missing 4 players.
Then on the weekend, against a murrabit team that apparently had a handful of injuries, and a red card at half time, they only managed to win by 4 goals..
They are all aware that bode, hardman and aitkin, at least will be departing at end of season, and yes, there midfield are class players, but they arent young, and the longer the season goes the harder it will be for them. just a thought..
super snooper
30 Jun 2006, 13:38
a lot has been said about nully but i question how good they are, for a few reasons..
I watched them play Ultima, only winning by around 4 goals- ultima had pickering, j condely, lawry all off injured around half time and atkin sent off for possibly the softest decision ever..
Then against quamby, they got off to a flyer, but only won by 5 goals, with quamby missing 4 players.
Then on the weekend, against a murrabit team that apparently had a handful of injuries, and a red card at half time, they only managed to win by 4 goals..
They are all aware that bode, hardman and aitkin, at least will be departing at end of season, and yes, there midfield are class players, but they arent young, and the longer the season goes the harder it will be for them. just a thought..
Nully are around the mark.
Good midfeild, excellent clearance team, handy (but small) forward line.
Supect down back, lack height and rely on bode a lot.
Not world beaters, but capable of winning a flag if things go their way.
Scrappa's Love Child
30 Jun 2006, 15:57
Apparently there has been a bit of talk surrounding Wakool's 5-point win over Hay last week, Apparently Wakool kicked a goal, which was clearly a behind, and the local goal umpire waved it through for six points. Hay were livid from all reports and even Wakool gun full forward Alan Thorpe told his direct opponent (Greg Stewart) that was bull**** after it was called a goal. The goal umpire in question apparently has a reputation for being dodgy. Look at it down the track-- that could be a vital win and/or loss, depending who you follow. I could imagine how the Lions will be feeling if its robs them of a finals spot come September.....
telstra101
30 Jun 2006, 16:10
Apparently there has been a bit of talk surrounding Wakool's 5-point win over Hay last week, Apparently Wakool kicked a goal, which was clearly a behind, and the local goal umpire waved it through for six points. Hay were livid from all reports and even Wakool gun full forward Alan Thorpe told his direct opponent (Greg Stewart) that was bull**** after it was called a goal. The goal umpire in question apparently has a reputation for being dodgy. Look at it down the track-- that could be a vital win and/or loss, depending who you follow. I could imagine how the Lions will be feeling if its robs them of a finals spot come September.....
still follow hay do u??? what happened to eagles?
but will support u on this, he is ordinary and did the same against us
HappyDayz
30 Jun 2006, 17:32
If its the same one i'm thinking of, i believe we are currently trailing about 1-5 with his goal umpiring gaffes/clangers this year. Two went against us at wakool coincidently, maybe he's got a soft spot for the brown and gold...
jimmyboy
30 Jun 2006, 18:02
I dont think it matters what is happening next year, I would assume that they have their eyes on the prize this year and see what happens. I think that as long as they keep getting the job done they would be happy enough. You can only beat the opposition side that is put on the ground.
jimmyboy
30 Jun 2006, 18:06
Tips this week:
Nully over Moula easily enough.
Ultima to beat Hay in a finals type contest
Wakool to account for Wandella
Quamby and Macorna a very tough one, although I think Quamby.
Absolutely
30 Jun 2006, 18:18
Nully by 12 goals. Only get worse for Moula i'm sorry
Wakool by 5 goals. To much class
Hay by 7 goals. At home 5 goal better team at least
Quamby by 5. Will kick away in the end.
Andyt30
30 Jun 2006, 23:08
Nully were very good in the SouthernMallee /Mallee they wouldn't lie down if their down 3 or 4 goals they would hit back hard like back in 1987 grandfinal brim v Nullawil we lead and nullawil never gave in they had chances ya never under estimate the Nully
glen_winderlich
2 Jul 2006, 13:14
made the trek up to Hay on the weekend to see the Roo Boys fight hard up until the last ten minutes where it was 14 pts only to see the Lions kick away at the end to give a scoreline that didnt do the boys justice... Was just wondering if the Ultima faithful could answers a few questions for me...
How much longer will Grant O'Brien and Pig Farrell be missing? When will Jason Pickering get a hardball get? What was Broussard doing out there when i talked to him on friday and he said he was out with the same problem as the previous week? Did Joel Griffiths get reported for his brain fade in the last qtr?
mutton chops
2 Jul 2006, 17:37
how are Nullawil going over there this year. Are they a chance to take it out ? Is Tony Doran still going around ? Who are their other good players ?
Any info would be appreciated.
made the trek up to Hay on the weekend to see the Roo Boys fight hard up until the last ten minutes where it was 14 pts only to see the Lions kick away at the end to give a scoreline that didnt do the boys justice... Was just wondering if the Ultima faithful could answers a few questions for me...
How much longer will Grant O'Brien and Pig Farrell be missing? When will Jason Pickering get a hardball get? What was Broussard doing out there when i talked to him on friday and he said he was out with the same problem as the previous week? Did Joel Griffiths get reported for his brain fade in the last qtr?
Cant answer any of those questions, didnt get to the game, but can say that the ultima players would be disapointed. Who is, and what did Griffiths do?
You will be very happy to learn Telstra101 that our Mr Hardman is playing some very good footy. Hard lead, great leap and mark. Very handy player to help out old man Doran. By the way Bode and Hardman will still be there next year. The only player at the moment that we will loose will be Constable Atkins (aka Rexy)
On the week end we didnt have Parker,Korp,Hewitt and Poynter not playing.
how are Nullawil going over there this year. Are they a chance to take it out ? Is Tony Doran still going around ? Who are their other good players ?
Any info would be appreciated.
Nully is travelling very nicely at the moment. Should be up there by years end. Bode, Korp, Parker, both smiths and Brenton Hogan have been the stand outs this year. Old man Doran is still kicking a few, but age may be slowly creeping in to those legs.
some VFL clubs are talking to J Doyle from wakool about playing next year not bad coming from a B grade comp as someone suggested maybe they no nothing about footy .lots of AFL/VFL players have come from the GRFL/KDFL
the gloved 1
3 Jul 2006, 12:06
some VFL clubs are talking to J Doyle from wakool about playing next year not bad coming from a B grade comp as someone suggested maybe they no nothing about footy .lots of AFL/VFL players have come from the GRFL/KDFL
What clubs are speaking to him? How old is this guy and does he live in Wakool or does he travel to play there?
touch of class
3 Jul 2006, 12:56
well i would hate to break it to you but if he was any good he would of got invited down this year to finish off the season as vfl clubs have no restrictions on when a player can register and start playing due to the draft system
Dean and Grant will be available next week. Obviously you were not watching Saturday because I thought Jason was best on even though the roo's went down. I was also watching the game an saw him back back into a pack to effectively spoil a Hay mark in a 3 on 1 situation. So to answer your question on sat he got a hardball. Unsure if he got reported although there was definate grounds for a report, 4 - 5 weeks in my book.
super snooper
3 Jul 2006, 14:50
Dean and Grant will be available next week. Obviously you were not watching Saturday because I thought Jason was best on even though the roo's went down. I was also watching the game an saw him back back into a pack to effectively spoil a Hay mark in a 3 on 1 situation. So to answer your question on sat he got a hardball. Unsure if he got reported although there was definate grounds for a report, 4 - 5 weeks in my book.
What griffiths do? He is a rabbit.
Jarrod Rogers Laid a high tackle on a Hay player and he just went Bannanas.... Yeah Fair Rabbit:thumbsu:
pecker69
3 Jul 2006, 15:02
Glen you little gnome, why didn't you ask those 2 blokes when they were sitting beside you on saturday. What about the other ommissions from saturdays side, Delmenico & Roberts? where were they. Have a look at the Guardian, Pickering got best, Griffiths should have been reported and get atleast 2-4 weeks for his effort. The standard of umpiring in this league is crap, blind freddy could see him dong the young Ultima bloke, yet no report.
BigfellaH
3 Jul 2006, 15:57
Why is it that all players are experts when it comes to umpiring? yet none of them want to have a go at it. At the rate all leagues are going there will be no Umpires shortly, about time some of you "Players" and boundary line experts had a crack at umpiring.
Scrappa's Love Child
3 Jul 2006, 16:16
Why is it that all players are experts when it comes to umpiring? yet none of them want to have a go at it. At the rate all leagues are going there will be no Umpires shortly, about time some of you "Players" and boundary line experts had a crack at umpiring.
Fair call big man -- what's your umpiring uniform colour of choice?
What clubs are speaking to him? How old is this guy and does he live in Wakool or does he travel to play there?
I saw him play against hay he had flu that day according to club officals and was best on ground he is quick 6ft2 kicks both feetand can kick fifty metres either foot hand ball either hand i think around 22 yrs he lives in wakool his father is from melbourne and mother a local both of them are top at sport
Tassie Devil
3 Jul 2006, 23:53
I saw him play against hay he had flu that day according to club officals and was best on ground he is quick 6ft2 kicks both feetand can kick fifty metres either foot hand ball either hand i think around 22 yrs he lives in wakool his father is from melbourne and mother a local both of them are top at sport
Meehan I thought his father was a bit of a bright spark, sportsman not too sure. Have herd he is very keen to head north during the off season for a Darwin club b4 heading south to try the bigger leagues. Was also short listed for a spot in the vic country team but that hasnt happened. I know he also was a state little aths rep and can belt ya around the park at cricket. Think the kids got too much talent.
Tassie Devil
4 Jul 2006, 00:04
Glen you little gnome, why didn't you ask those 2 blokes when they were sitting beside you on saturday. What about the other ommissions from saturdays side, Delmenico & Roberts? where were they. Have a look at the Guardian, Pickering got best, Griffiths should have been reported and get atleast 2-4 weeks for his effort. The standard of umpiring in this league is crap, blind freddy could see him dong the young Ultima bloke, yet no report.
Pecker agree 100% about the standard of umpiring in the GRFL as it's a damn disgrace at times. The local guys who do the minor grades do a far better job than most of the top grade umpires. Ive seen a few incidents this season that should of had a few weeks of thinking time for players but not even a yellow card was issued. Some days I think they only see one team on the ground.
Simple answer Tassie, put your hand up and offer to help out and do something useful instead of being negative. What you fail to mention is that 6 of the umpires that are running around are all ex-players(long term) with 2 of them being ex-coachs as well. People with a feel for the game and an understanding of what the players go through. All these blokes stay back and have a beer and support the clubs where they umpire and unlike you put something back into the game.Five of these guys are pulling the pin at the end of the year, which ultimately leaves football in a poorer situation. As for clubbies umpiring senior footy, think long and hard of the situations that will arise and ask yourself is this good for footy. We need to encourage not discourage!!!!!!!!!!!!!
pecker69
4 Jul 2006, 10:55
Simple answer Tassie, put your hand up and offer to help out and do something useful instead of being negative. What you fail to mention is that 6 of the umpires that are running around are all ex-players(long term) with 2 of them being ex-coachs as well. People with a feel for the game and an understanding of what the players go through. All these blokes stay back and have a beer and support the clubs where they umpire and unlike you put something back into the game.Five of these guys are pulling the pin at the end of the year, which ultimately leaves football in a poorer situation. As for clubbies umpiring senior footy, think long and hard of the situations that will arise and ask yourself is this good for footy. We need to encourage not discourage!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Lenny, l saw a bloke get spear tackled on saturday and recieve no free kick. In the same game after a strong but high tackle was made the 3rd man in punched a player in the head, which all could see, no report. There is no consistancy in the umpiring. Grabbing the ball out of the ruck, every second week they pay a free kick when the ruckman is tackled, on the other weeks nothing. Footballers get bagged all the time, yet umpires disregard anything thats said to them, cos you are whinging. I spoke to one umpire after a game and said they did a pretty good job, but over umpired in the 1st qtr, and was told l was a whinging sook. From what l hear the politics in the umpiring fraternity is worse than most footy clubs, do they need to sort out this side of themselves, which inturn might make umpiring more attractive to ex-players and sports fans in general.
HappyDayz
4 Jul 2006, 11:11
Can we talk about something other than the umpires. They're are doing the best they can, form probably has been down after a sensational start to the season, but we all go through that, hopefully they start protecting the bloke going the ball more is my view. They have been a hell of a lot better than the umpires in a neighbouring league.
Lenny, l saw a bloke get spear tackled on saturday and recieve no free kick. In the same game after a strong but high tackle was made the 3rd man in punched a player in the head, which all could see, no report. There is no consistancy in the umpiring. Grabbing the ball out of the ruck, every second week they pay a free kick when the ruckman is tackled, on the other weeks nothing. Footballers get bagged all the time, yet umpires disregard anything thats said to them, cos you are whinging. I spoke to one umpire after a game and said they did a pretty good job, but over umpired in the 1st qtr, and was told l was a whinging sook. From what l hear the politics in the umpiring fraternity is worse than most footy clubs, do they need to sort out this side of themselves, which inturn might make umpiring more attractive to ex-players and sports fans in general.
Fair call Pecker, but you would have witnessed two umps at the lower end of the scale in action on sat. The majority of the umps in this league are good blokes on the field as well as off it. Two bruised apples dont mean the whole bunch are rotten. As for politics in umpiring as well as sport in general,too many good people have been lost to this cancer.Good post Pecker, we need good umps which in turn lifts the standard of the footy and football in general, but losing a lot of these guys at the end of the year doesn't help.
Is it true that Wakool is buying more players from Melbourne. You have to wonder where they get the dosh from. I can understand that the committee would have not spent the money if they are unable to afford it but sure they may be able to afford it this year but what about next year. From all reports these blokes are complete merceneries and will take the money and run. Sure they are Flag favorites but at what cost. How can they attract more players next year when they put all the eggs in one basket to soon. Its a classic example of over spending by clubs. Balranalds the same. This is their last roll of the dice. NNW won back to back but nearly folded 2 years later. Any thoughts?
Tassie Devil
4 Jul 2006, 13:05
I would Lenny but the body won't allow it.
Tassie Devil
4 Jul 2006, 13:12
Is it true that Wakool is buying more players from Melbourne. You have to wonder where they get the dosh from. I can understand that the committee would have not spent the money if they are unable to afford it but sure they may be able to afford it this year but what about next year. From all reports these blokes are complete merceneries and will take the money and run. Sure they are Flag favorites but at what cost. How can they attract more players next year when they put all the eggs in one basket to soon. Its a classic example of over spending by clubs. Balranalds the same. This is their last roll of the dice. NNW won back to back but nearly folded 2 years later. Any thoughts?
I can see your point Catter but by all acccounts many of the Melbourne crew are ex locals and not on payments of any great amounts. Also some just travelling with there mates and playing in the 2's thus is the reason for their improvement over last month. As for the financial downslide YES it can have a hugh effect on clubs and with Wakool next few seasons will tell all of us on here if it has worked for them. Overall a very good point you have made.
hard at it i see 69!