View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Go Cohuna
14 Jul 2006, 16:39
least I go running and I will play more 1's games then you will run water for:p
Cmon pat i haven't seen you in the seniors all my life mate.

LOCKETT
14 Jul 2006, 17:46
Rumour about that Bode and Hardman from Nulli trained with Deniliquin Rams and look like playing there next year - both impressed with the professionalism at the club and the prospect of playing in a flag next year.

jimmyboy
14 Jul 2006, 18:57
IAMFOOTY Can you tell me where my old mate Ben Parker has got too, we seem to have a new scribe doing the Golden Rivers write ups in the paper. Hope all is well with Benny boy:p

facts_rite
14 Jul 2006, 19:13
Rumour about that Bode and Hardman from Nulli trained with Deniliquin Rams and look like playing there next year - both impressed with the professionalism at the club and the prospect of playing in a flag next year.

Ah lets not jump 2 anything to rash there Lockett. Havnt thought of the fact that maybe footballers train to keep fit and Bode and Hardman both live in Denni therefore decided maybe to train there instead of venturin to Nully?? Seems pretty simple

facts_rite
14 Jul 2006, 19:14
Benny Parker is still playing some good footy altho has been plagued by injury to his back but will b playin all guns blazin come satdy

Catter
14 Jul 2006, 23:05

From the horses mouth , Hardman will stay if Bode stays. And from all talks around the club Bode will stay for another season. They have been training for another club abviously but we hope they do to keep up their fitness. Not a stupid comment Lockett by all means but i think they it may be squashed a bit.
Benny Parker has had a sore back (had it since being at the crows) but ready to fire up once more!

champ
15 Jul 2006, 10:26
From the horses mouth , Hardman will stay if Bode stays. And from all talks around the club Bode will stay for another season. They have been training for another club abviously but we hope they do to keep up their fitness. Not a stupid comment Lockett by all means but i think they it may be squashed a bit.
Benny Parker has had a sore back (had it since being at the crows) but ready to fire up once more!
Big call catter, my mail says external pressures ( work & woman) will guarantee Josh will be a deni boy once again next season, and like you said from the horses mouth hardman will stay if Bode stays.

Kelvin 69
15 Jul 2006, 11:38
Is Pickering a chance at Ultima rumors around the sale yards he's good enough

I have seen a couple of Ultima games this season and Jason Pickering has dominated on both occasions. He has been named in the best most weeks and just oozes class. His ball getting ability is second to none. He would have to be one of the favorites for the league medal also, (he told me that himself).

The_KNIFE
16 Jul 2006, 13:34
I have seen a couple of Ultima games this season and Jason Pickering has dominated on both occasions. He has been named in the best most weeks and just oozes class. His ball getting ability is second to none. He would have to be one of the favorites for the league medal also, (he told me that himself).

Thanks Kelvin .He cuold be the one spreading the rumor around the sale yards.He had big raps When he moved across from Echuca.Heard a few CMFL clubs were dissapointed when they didnt pick him up

Kelvin 69
16 Jul 2006, 15:24
Thanks Kelvin .He cuold be the one spreading the rumor around the sale yards.He had big raps When he moved across from Echuca.Heard a few CMFL clubs were dissapointed when they didnt pick him up

Yes, I know for a fact that that a certain club over the river offered him a s h i t load and knocked it back for a better offer at Ultima. Loves the cash.;)

glen_winderlich
16 Jul 2006, 15:58
Yes, I know for a fact that that a certain club over the river offered him a s h i t load and knocked it back for a better offer at Ultima. Loves the cash.;)

what sort of figure are we talking about Kelv?

The_KNIFE
16 Jul 2006, 19:29
[quote=glen_winderlich]what sort of figure are we talking about Kelv?
[/quote

Heard the same story good $$$$ has won someB&F in the past
]

Tassie Devil
16 Jul 2006, 23:53
Is there anyone who can shed some light on the reasons why the GRFL play the Grand Final at Kerang and not out at Murrabit. Best GF venue in the district. Kerang has nothing going for it other than a bigger score board. How the league can allow this to happen is a puzzle.

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 09:15
Is there anyone who can shed some light on the reasons why the GRFL play the Grand Final at Kerang and not out at Murrabit. Best GF venue in the district. Kerang has nothing going for it other than a bigger score board. How the league can allow this to happen is a puzzle.
I agree, if they are going to play it outside of the league, they might as well play it at a decent venue. Kerang is always windy, no shelter, not oval, surface has got worse over the years, and there is no atmosphere.

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 09:27
Some shocking conditions over the weekend, with some old fashioned wet weather football coming to the fore. This was reflected in every scoreline except the wakool ultima match. Did the rain hold off over at Wakool?

Wandella move into the box seat for 4th position with Hay going off the boil... and Ultima... not sure what to make of them.

rex1965
17 Jul 2006, 09:46
[quote=glen_winderlich]what sort of figure are we talking about Kelv?
[/quote

Heard the same story good $$$$ has won someB&F in the past
]

Who gives a crap, sounds like Kelvin & the Knife must be sittin on each others lap, or are they the same person????

champ
17 Jul 2006, 09:51
Some shocking conditions over the weekend, with some old fashioned wet weather football coming to the fore. This was reflected in every scoreline except the wakool ultima match. Did the rain hold off over at Wakool?

Wandella move into the box seat for 4th position with Hay going off the boil... and Ultima... not sure what to make of them.

I was at the Wakool Ultima game and the rain did hold of and turned out to be good conditions for footy. Wakool did it with ease but the Ultima boys were not discraced putting in a good effort for three quaters (apparently had a few injuries). The loss makes there task of playing finals very difficult. From a spectators point of view Wakool look good and have some quality players which may take them all the way. Can somebody tell me when Wakool last won a senior flag?

iamfooty
17 Jul 2006, 10:50

It's an interesting one isn't it. I presume the league has some major sponsors over Kerang way. Mind you, if the league looked at it carefully, in terms of quality Hay has the best facilities in the league by a mile. Would say Murrabit's playing surface would be the best, but getting splinters in your ass isn't the greatest way to prepare for a grand final. Hay's set-up is like a modern Tyntynder ground -- they have even got a gym downstairs now.....government grants...gotta love em.......Just a pitty the place is too far away.

Hay and Murrabit both s h i t on Kerang's venue and would both easily hold as many people.....but I guess the gate takings the league has got over the past few years suggests there is no reason to change....I reckon the league would make more if Swan Hill hosted it. Two consecutive grand finals in two weeks (GRFL then CMFL) would attract plenty of following...

madpie
17 Jul 2006, 11:34
I was at the Wakool Ultima game and the rain did hold of and turned out to be good conditions for footy. Wakool did it with ease but the Ultima boys were not discraced putting in a good effort for three quaters (apparently had a few injuries). The loss makes there task of playing finals very difficult. From a spectators point of view Wakool look good and have some quality players which may take them all the way. Can somebody tell me when Wakool last won a senior flag?I Think they won the seniors flag in the old KDFL in 1990 ??around then

HappyDayz
17 Jul 2006, 12:25

I would suggest the fact that the Blues have played off umpteen dozen times in the past decade or more has something to do with it. They are probably just trying to be fair, for example, if wakool were to have to play murrabit this year.

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 12:30
gates are bigger because the admission price have risen.

Wakool won back to back flags in 89/90 (not certain on the exact years)

Hay changerooms are very small. but excellent room up stairs

The_KNIFE
17 Jul 2006, 12:38
Dont know who kelvin is Pat. Have seen Pickering play before havent seen him for some time How did he go on the weekend conditions shoud have siuted him

jimmyboy
17 Jul 2006, 13:54
I would suggest the fact that the Blues have played off umpteen dozen times in the past decade or more has something to do with it. They are probably just trying to be fair, for example, if wakool were to have to play murrabit this year.
Silly arguement happydays, every other league in australia at some stage would have a home ground team play of fin a grand final. Its like saying play the AFL Grandfinal in Sydney so Melbourne dont have a home ground advantage over Adelaide (example). Money is the sole reason for the game being played in Kerang. I play for Ultima and agree that our grand final should be played at Murrabit.

Absolutely
17 Jul 2006, 14:07
Thorpe and Harvey 21 goals b/w them. Day out i imagine???

rex1965
17 Jul 2006, 14:09
Dont know who kelvin is Pat. Have seen Pickering play before havent seen him for some time How did he go on the weekend conditions shoud have siuted him

He went OK, big form is Brendan McKenzie, would have to be the no. 1 ruckman in the league, l would think several CMFL clubs would be talking to him over the pre-season.

rex1965
17 Jul 2006, 14:12
Thorpe and Harvey 21 goals b/w them. Day out i imagine???

Harvey set the game up, was far too slippery for the several defenders that played on him for the day. Thorpe, was very well held by young Lee Bull until the last qtr when pure supply gave Thorpe easy opportunities and allowed him to kick 5 l reckon.

HappyDayz
17 Jul 2006, 14:20
Silly arguement happydays, every other league in australia at some stage would have a home ground team play of fin a grand final. Its like saying play the AFL Grandfinal in Sydney so Melbourne dont have a home ground advantage over Adelaide (example). Money is the sole reason for the game being played in Kerang. I play for Ultima and agree that our grand final should be played at Murrabit.

Fair point Jimbob but we're not talking AFL here simply GR and a matter of Kms. I do remember a GF being taken away from Murrabit in the mid 90's for the sole reason of home ground advantage, and they hadn't even won one for a while in those days, played at Wandella from memory. I'm not saying this time around it's the sole reason but surely it must play a part. I am for a Murrabit G.F, thought the gate was pretty good but maybe the league knows better with the dirt road and all from S.H. Maybe Keith and Co. can put an explanation in the editorial of this weeks footy record, as it appears to be a little short for material over the last week or 2.;)

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 18:44
Can anyone tell me how Leigh Scoullar went in his first game for Wakool? What type of player is he?

jimmyboy
17 Jul 2006, 19:20
Can anyone tell me how Leigh Scoullar went in his first game for Wakool? What type of player is he?
He was reasonably quiet, not much room in that forward line with Thorpe, Harvey and Smith. Scoullar took a couple of strong marks. Apparently first game for the year so should improve, he'd have to be 6'4" or 6'5".:thumbsu:

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 19:44
He was reasonably quiet, not much room in that forward line with Thorpe, Harvey and Smith. Scoullar took a couple of strong marks. Apparently first game for the year so should improve, he'd have to be 6'4" or 6'5".:thumbsu:
Surely there isn't room for Thorpe (6'2), Smith (6'5), Pollock (6'6), and Scoullar in the forward half? Very big, but very slow. Smith and Pollock would be sweating a bit.

footy02
17 Jul 2006, 19:54
Fair point Jimbob but we're not talking AFL here simply GR and a matter of Kms. I do remember a GF being taken away from Murrabit in the mid 90's for the sole reason of home ground advantage, and they hadn't even won one for a while in those days, played at Wandella from memory. I'm not saying this time around it's the sole reason but surely it must play a part. I am for a Murrabit G.F, thought the gate was pretty good but maybe the league knows better with the dirt road and all from S.H. Maybe Keith and Co. can put an explanation in the editorial of this weeks footy record, as it appears to be a little short for material over the last week or 2.;)

been following your post on cmfl and here and i got to tell you, your are not making much sence..
the goldern rivers have got it right.. great facilities, in kerang ( THe major town) no home ground advantage.. good oval.. good netball courts.. if the cmfl could do the same they would.... also bigger crowds, more central..

jimmyboy
17 Jul 2006, 19:56
Surely there isn't room for Thorpe (6'2), Smith (6'5), Pollock (6'6), and Scoullar in the forward half? Very big, but very slow. Smith and Pollock would be sweating a bit.
Smith still goes ok, Thorpe would be lucky to be pushing 5'10 and pollock doesnt venture into the forward line. Only my personel observations though.

facts_rite
17 Jul 2006, 19:57
It's an interesting one isn't it. I presume the league has some major sponsors over Kerang way. Mind you, if the league looked at it carefully, in terms of quality Hay has the best facilities in the league by a mile. Would say Murrabit's playing surface would be the best, but getting splinters in your ass isn't the greatest way to prepare for a grand final. Hay's set-up is like a modern Tyntynder ground -- they have even got a gym downstairs now.....government grants...gotta love em.......Just a pitty the place is too far away.

Hay and Murrabit both s h i t on Kerang's venue and would both easily hold as many people.....but I guess the gate takings the league has got over the past few years suggests there is no reason to change....I reckon the league would make more if Swan Hill hosted it. Two consecutive grand finals in two weeks (GRFL then CMFL) would attract plenty of following...

must say have 2 disagree with you on hay's facilities. made the long trip north only 2 b greeted by a cold shower at games end. unders were rushed throught the showers but nothing could stop the hot water from running out. could have used a snorkle on the ground as surface was anything but crash hot (in defence theres been sum good rains). good 2 c u hit the nail on the head bout the distance factor. looks like Kerang will still provide best venue for the flag; central for teams, good surface, no home advantage.

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 20:23
Smith still goes ok, Thorpe would be lucky to be pushing 5'10 and pollock doesnt venture into the forward line. Only my personel observations though.
Thorpe is over 6' and if pollock doesn't play forward, where does he play, coz Graham does most the rucking?:confused:

jimmyboy
17 Jul 2006, 20:28
Thorpe is over 6' and if pollock doesn't play forward, where does he play, coz Graham does most the rucking?:confused:
graham didnt play on the weekend just gone so pollock played in the ruck all day. Dont know where pollock plays when graham is in. I dont follow them just getting my info from the weekends game.

ricky gervais
17 Jul 2006, 21:07
Doesn't sound like the jason pickering i know. sure he's been a paid player in the past, but he went out to ultima this year to play with mates at no cost to the club. in actual fact he spends most weekends helping out on the new extensions at the club, and volunteers to work on the gate and in the bar most weeks. money means very little to young pickas, as shown on the weekend where he shouted the bar most the night at a little get together of mates. an absolute gem of a bloke. :thumbsu:

super snooper
17 Jul 2006, 22:32
graham didnt play on the weekend just gone so pollock played in the ruck all day. Dont know where pollock plays when graham is in. I dont follow them just getting my info from the weekends game.
cheers.:thumbsu:

boora
17 Jul 2006, 23:17

thats very interesting, why didn't he play on the weekend i wonder he may of thrown it in or just can't be bothered.

Kelvin 69
18 Jul 2006, 00:13
Doesn't sound like the jason pickering i know. sure he's been a paid player in the past, but he went out to ultima this year to play with mates at no cost to the club. in actual fact he spends most weekends helping out on the new extensions at the club, and volunteers to work on the gate and in the bar most weeks. money means very little to young pickas, as shown on the weekend where he shouted the bar most the night at a little get together of mates. an absolute gem of a bloke. :thumbsu:

Nah mate you must have the wrong bloke, the Jason Pickering I know is as tight as a fishes ring gear he wouldn't shout if a shark bit him.:D

pecker69
18 Jul 2006, 13:41
Nah mate you must have the wrong bloke, the Jason Pickering I know is as tight as a fishes ring gear he wouldn't shout if a shark bit him.:D

Big call he hasn't paid you for the work on his home yet. Might not either.

BigfellaH
18 Jul 2006, 16:33
been following your post on cmfl and here and i got to tell you, your are not making much sence..
the goldern rivers have got it right.. great facilities, in kerang ( THe major town) no home ground advantage.. good oval.. good netball courts.. if the cmfl could do the same they would.... also bigger crowds, more central..

You must be joking, you haven't been to many clubs in GRFL, Facilities at Kerang are not up to standard, No cover for spectators on footy or Netball. No atmosphere, Toilet always overflo, Canteen too small. All the promise of money from Kerang Business Council to play thr Grand Final In Kerang to increase over years, never happened, even decreased one year. And to iamfooty, get on bangwagon to get game away from Kerang, use your influence to get public opinion going on this subject. Wonder if VCFL major sponsor "Worksafe", called into Grand Final to see power cords, gas burners in tents, what would they say.

footy02
18 Jul 2006, 22:11
You must be joking, you haven't been to many clubs in GRFL, Facilities at Kerang are not up to standard, No cover for spectators on footy or Netball. No atmosphere, Toilet always overflo, Canteen too small. All the promise of money from Kerang Business Council to play thr Grand Final In Kerang to increase over years, never happened, even decreased one year. And to iamfooty, get on bangwagon to get game away from Kerang, use your influence to get public opinion going on this subject. Wonder if VCFL major sponsor "Worksafe", called into Grand Final to see power cords, gas burners in tents, what would they say.
\
Have seen every club in the goldern rivers on many many occasions... let me guess... you want it at murrabit.... well for a bloke who is obviously keen on country footy, you are an kidding yourself.. answer the following questions and be honest.. and can other people not from murrabit do the same.. shoulud you all agree then so will i....
1. is their any home ground advantage what so ever at kerang?
2. Does any one give a **** about showers on grandfinal day? (More things to worry about) and easily fixed
3. with the money clubs are spending i would have thought they would have wanted big crowds and more money?
4. except hay, is it the most cenral location, in the biggest town..?
5. Is it not better than the old days at wandella.. (Top showers and facilities.. not)
6. Have murrabit won more flags since the gf is not played at home?
7.is murrabit the only alternate venue..
8. would the terrible road form swan hill affect crowds?
9. does anyone care about power cords and gas burners in tents in a world that is already over governed by ********s?
10. How could this be avoided at another ground???

super snooper
18 Jul 2006, 23:22
\
Have seen every club in the goldern rivers on many many occasions... let me guess... you want it at murrabit.... well for a bloke who is obviously keen on country footy, you are an kidding yourself.. answer the following questions and be honest.. and can other people not from murrabit do the same.. shoulud you all agree then so will i....
1. is their any home ground advantage what so ever at kerang? NO
2. Does any one give a **** about showers on grandfinal day? (More things to worry about) and easily fixed YES
3. with the money clubs are spending i would have thought they would have wanted big crowds and more money? YES
4. except hay, is it the most cenral location, in the biggest town..? YES
5. Is it not better than the old days at wandella.. (Top showers and facilities.. not) NO
6. Have murrabit won more flags since the gf is not played at home? YES
7.is murrabit the only alternate venue.. NO
8. would the terrible road form swan hill affect crowds? NO
9. does anyone care about power cords and gas burners in tents in a world that is already over governed by ********s? NO
10. How could this be avoided at another ground??? NOT SURE

These questions and answers don't change the fact that Kerang is a poor venue.

nogood
19 Jul 2006, 08:34
NOT SURE

These questions and answers don't change the fact that Kerang is a poor venue.

I agree. Im a not a murrabit supporter and believe it should not be played in Kerang. The GRFL is one od the only leagues i know that plays it's grand final out side the league. Central Murray has no worries playing at the Swan Hill ground. Swan Hill has only won 1 out of it's last 6-7 grand final starts. ( i think it is close to that). So there goes your home crowd advantage. One big negative i believe is that during the year teams never get a chance to play at kerang. I know it is the same for both sides, but it would be a better situation if sides knew the ground they were about to play the most important game of the year on. Ideal world play the grand final at murrabit. If people are worried about a home ground advantage have an alternative ground for when Murrabit plays. If not play it at the Swan Hill or Tyntynder ground.

September
19 Jul 2006, 11:46
I agree. Im a not a murrabit supporter and believe it should not be played in Kerang. The GRFL is one od the only leagues i know that plays it's grand final out side the league. Central Murray has no worries playing at the Swan Hill ground. Swan Hill has only won 1 out of it's last 6-7 grand final starts. ( i think it is close to that). So there goes your home crowd advantage. One big negative i believe is that during the year teams never get a chance to play at kerang. I know it is the same for both sides, but it would be a better situation if sides knew the ground they were about to play the most important game of the year on. Ideal world play the grand final at murrabit. If people are worried about a home ground advantage have an alternative ground for when Murrabit plays. If not play it at the Swan Hill or Tyntynder ground.
As a Wakool player that has played finals on most grounds, I would have to say Quamby's ground is in the best condition come September, struggles during the cooler months but is superb during finals

HappyDayz
19 Jul 2006, 12:40
As a Wakool player that has played finals on most grounds, I would have to say Quamby's ground is in the best condition come September, struggles during the cooler months but is superb during finals

Yes Quamby's ground is in great nick at present especially after having last weekend off, and there is lots of room for parking, tents and the like, but i imagine the facilities wouldn't be up to standard. But i guess you'll find that out this week Sept when you make the trip. Can you tell me if and when Harvey is due to play VCFL reps? Are you playing or sitting on the sidelines this weekend?

facts_rite
19 Jul 2006, 12:50
Yes Quamby's ground is in great nick at present especially after having last weekend off, and there is lots of room for parking, tents and the like, but i imagine the facilities wouldn't be up to standard. But i guess you'll find that out this week Sept when you make the trip. Can you tell me when Harvey is due to play VCFL reps? Are you playing or sitting on the sidelines this weekend?

Quambys ground is in great condition. After having a great rainfall over the weekend it has only improved. The facilities are not up to standard by far! Fitting 21 players into the Visitors room is a joke and is really in need of an upgrade. My sources tell me that Harvey infact didnt make it 2 the final 22. Is the man injured or just wasnt dedicated??

nogood
19 Jul 2006, 13:25
you have obviously played finals in the 3rds. It has been a while since the Wakool seniors or reserves played finals. But do ageee Quamby have a good ground for finals. I remember watching Wandella and Nullawil play a 2nd semi there a couple of years ago. Spot on day and i think a gate of around $7000. Fairly central to kerang and Swan Hill. Change rooms are terrible but there is enough space to warm up outside if the weather permits.

HappyDayz
19 Jul 2006, 13:58
My sources tell me that Harvey infact didnt make it 2 the final 22. Is the man injured or just wasnt dedicated??

Actually now that you mention it, i was chatting to a few Ultima guys Sat night over several pots and they mentioned he played mostly fwd pocket on sat and didn't play the whole game, which seemed unusual. So maybe he has something minor. Not that his opponents would feel any sympothy.

September
19 Jul 2006, 14:08
Actually now that you mention it, i was chatting to a few Ultima guys Sat night over several pots and they mentioned he played mostly fwd pocket on sat and didn't play the whole game, which seemed unusual. So maybe he has something minor. Not that his opponents would feel any sympothy.
Yes harvs is carrying an injury at the moment and wil not fulfill state duties.
He will play this week, but in reply to you earlier post I will be absent for 1-2 weeks. Think a few guys have been a bit harsh on Quambys away rooms, from memory there not too bad, certainly not as bad as Wandella or Murrabit for that matter. Wandella's are an absolute disgrace and take me back to the days of playing out at Appin.

rex1965
19 Jul 2006, 14:29
He will play this week, but in reply to you earlier post I will be absent for 1-2 weeks. Think a few guys have been a bit harsh on Quambys away rooms, from memory there not too bad, certainly not as bad as Wandella or Murrabit for that matter. Wandella's are an absolute disgrace and take me back to the days of playing out at Appin.

What about ice is he in the squad? or to much travel involved?

The_KNIFE
19 Jul 2006, 14:32
He shouted!!!!!!!!!

nogood
19 Jul 2006, 14:34
i dont think they select coaches in the squad.

September
19 Jul 2006, 14:37
Wasn't chosen in initial squad, probably a good thing as i doubt he would put his own interests above that of the club and miss a round, though he is good enough

The_KNIFE
19 Jul 2006, 14:44

He shouted!!!!!!!

pecker69
19 Jul 2006, 15:48
He shouted!!!!!!!

I recall him having his hand in his pocket all weekend at the cricket with you.

facts_rite
19 Jul 2006, 18:56

Again i will disagree with such comments 2wards quambys rooms!! Dead set couldnt even fit a team of midgets in those rooms!! MUrrabits may not be state of the art but atleast there is breathing space within!! No such chance of having a warm up in something like that! Wandella would have the worst away teams in the league, but is the only place i no 2 have showers in a tin shed!!!

nogood
19 Jul 2006, 19:09
Again i will disagree with such comments 2wards quambys rooms!! Dead set couldnt even fit a team of midgets in those rooms!! MUrrabits may not be state of the art but atleast there is breathing space within!! No such chance of having a warm up in something like that! Wandella would have the worst away teams in the league, but is the only place i no 2 have showers in a tin shed!!!

Tin shed, thats being a bit to nice. It is a disgrace that a visiting side has to change in those sheds. The only good thing about it is that you can run straight out of the rooms and down the hill. I reckon Wandella would be doing themselves out of some bar business having the visitors way over there. The last thing you want to do is treak across the oval to have a couple of beers. Agree with the quamby rooms, not good at all. But as i said before if the weather is fine there is plenty of room to warm up out the back. I would rather warm up out the back and play at Quamby than play at kerang..

facts_rite
19 Jul 2006, 19:43
Tin shed, thats being a bit to nice. It is a disgrace that a visiting side has to change in those sheds. The only good thing about it is that you can run straight out of the rooms and down the hill. I reckon Wandella would be doing themselves out of some bar business having the visitors way over there. The last thing you want to do is treak across the oval to have a couple of beers. Agree with the quamby rooms, not good at all. But as i said before if the weather is fine there is plenty of room to warm up out the back. I would rather warm up out the back and play at Quamby than play at kerang..

Well lil rig then for the wandella rooms, again agree with the remarks on a disgrace and think that Keith and co @ the league should put the foot down coz it shouldnt b aloud. Again, agree with the bar business, having the rooms so far away really does ruin the atmosphere of the footy!! Its ok walkin down hill 2 get a frophy but uve always gotta make it bak up!! Yeah Quamby do need 2 upgrade but i will have 2 disagree with you on the Kerang factor. Kerang has the ground and facilites to cover any grand final in the region. Although you can blame the ground for the atmosphere problem the crowd makes the atmosphere, and if this is a problem then the supporters should be having a long hard look @ themselves!!!

champ
19 Jul 2006, 20:18
Think a few guys have been a bit harsh on Quambys away rooms, from memory there not too bad, certainly not as bad as Wandella or Murrabit for that matter. Wandella's are an absolute disgrace and take me back to the days of playing out at Appin.
Quambys away rooms would be close to worst in the region. I would much prefer Wandellas away rooms, plenty of room to warm up. Quamby need to do something about there jockey sized rooms.

facts_rite
19 Jul 2006, 21:03
Quambys away rooms would be close to worst in the region. I would much prefer Wandellas away rooms, plenty of room to warm up. Quamby need to do something about there jockey sized rooms.

will back u up there champ on the room size of quamby, but theres something about gettin changed in a tin shed 2 play footy that doesnt really do it for me!!! Wat do u think??

September
20 Jul 2006, 12:08
If I didn't know better I would say that you must play for Wandella and have never set foot in the away rooms. The Big Bad Wolf wouldn't even have to huff and puff and he could knock the bastard over. Murrabit have got a 1920's gym that takes up a significant portion of the away rooms.
Realistically no away rooms in the league allow for a decent warm up.
A bit of a stretch here and there and a 2 metre handball isn't gunna warm anyone up. Hay and Quamby have plenty of room outside to genuinely work a sweat up.

super snooper
20 Jul 2006, 13:20
Alright, enough talk about facilities, let get back to the footy.

Average round of matches this week, with comfortable margins expected.

Macorna to record another win against Moula
Wakool to belt Quamby
Nully to do it easy against Wandella
Murrabit to beat Hay.

Hay and Wandella will be keen to pinch a win against a team above them, and if they can do so, they will firm up their finals chances. However i think they will both fall short.

nogood
20 Jul 2006, 14:39

Wakool to belt Quamby
Murrabit to beat Hay.

Hay and Wandella will be keen to pinch a win against a team above them, and if they can do so, they will firm up their finals chances. However i think they will both fall short.

Nullawil and Wandella could be a close one. Wandella have been travelling well of late. Also Hay in an unpet over Murrabit if big Fitzpatrick plays in the ruck all day.

HappyDayz
20 Jul 2006, 15:08
I agree. Wandella aren't without a chance. Hay are terribly out of form at the moment, maybe the long bus ride every second week is finally taking its toll on the motivation levels of a few.

Spoton
21 Jul 2006, 11:44

Wakool to belt Quamby
Murrabit to beat Hay.

Your on the money there SS,expect bigger things from Hay this week, options slowly drying up and a win against the blues will keep the wolves, sorry Bombers, at bay until the final round when all will be revealed!! Moula's last chance on sat and going back 12 months at the same venue, thay had a win. Unfortunately, Macorna, will be too strong this time round
Good luck to all !!!!

September
21 Jul 2006, 16:27
My tips for this week:

Wakool just over quamby, got a few blokes out and quamby pushed us last time

Nullawil by less than a kick over Wandella

Macorna easily over Moulamein

Murrabit comfortably over Hay

The weather to be fine

Wandellas away rooms to fall down

super snooper
21 Jul 2006, 17:17
My tips for this week:

The weather to be fine

Whos out September, and where you lining up?

HappyDayz
21 Jul 2006, 18:15
According to the paper Kearney and Graham are back in this week. They are some pretty big ins. There must be some big outs for you to be worried???

facts_rite
21 Jul 2006, 18:52
My tips for this week:

The weather to be fine

My tips for the weekend

Nullawil by 4 goals against wandella, is poodle morris in??

Murrabit Hay will b a craka, Hay have a point 2 prove but Murrabit will get up just....

Macorna Moula, battle of the titans only 2 c Macorna just against Pryor's boys

If wakool cant beat quamby comfortably, i dont know wat 2 think!!! Although Quamby can seem 2 b potent, i cant see an upset!

madpie
23 Jul 2006, 13:21
Any scores from yesterday boys?
Did the mighty wakool hawks win again???

MasterOfRoc
23 Jul 2006, 14:06
Nullawil 20.15 (135) v Wandella 6.7 (43)
Murrabit 21.18 (144) v Hay 14.9 (93)
Moulamein 25.14 (164) v Macorna 17.11 (113)
Quambatook 10.13 (73) v Wakool 33.11 (209)

Tassie Devil
24 Jul 2006, 00:07
Watched Wakool thump Quamby and they done it easy. Harvey with 11 and all without going out of the 50 line was great to see. Wakool had 4 players out and Doyle on the bench injured in the second half and still kicked 33 goals. Also word has it that another Melbounre star (and x AFL) is set to make an appearance this weekend and if so he will drew big crowds each week.
The Quamby ground was excellent but definitly no room in the changerooms for half a team.

nogood
24 Jul 2006, 09:59
Watched Wakool thump Quamby and they done it easy. Harvey with 11 and all without going out of the 50 line was great to see. Wakool had 4 players out and Doyle on the bench injured in the second half and still kicked 33 goals. Also word has it that another Melbounre star (and x AFL) is set to make an appearance this weekend and if so he will drew big crowds each week.
The Quamby ground was excellent but definitly no room in the changerooms for half a team.

being able to have Harvey in the forward 50 on a full time basis could cause opposition teams a bit of a headache. Where did big leigh schoular play ? did he ruck or did graham and pollock do most of the ruck work. Good to hear there was a good crowd at quamby. With all the negative talk about what wakool is paying out for players the extra gate money that clubs are getting because of these players is good for the clubs and the league, i hope everyone realises that.

Footy Tripper
24 Jul 2006, 10:42

Couldn't find the x AFL bloke on Wakools list of players that signed prior to June 30, and it is too late for clearances now, so is this really true Tassie Devil? If it is surely you would drop a name for you fellow Big Footy readers.

facts_rite
24 Jul 2006, 13:29
Couldn't find the x AFL bloke on Wakools list of players that signed prior to June 30, and it is too late for clearances now, so is this really true Tassie Devil? If it is surely you would drop a name for you fellow Big Footy readers.

I would take a particular interest in knowing just who will be lining up for Wakool this weekend?? Will this X AFL star be donning the hawkers guernsey or just there 2 sink cans and watch some good footy? :confused:

telstra101
24 Jul 2006, 13:31
well got to be out there for the mighty display by the hawks. Are the best team by far. Harvey is just a freak, gets excited easily though!!! Leigh Schouller played CHF, a big unit, pollock rucked with grahem playing as ruck rover all day and dominating. Quamby outplayed them in the first quarter but kicked 1.8. Cost us big time, after 1/4 time the just ran forward at all costs and killed us on the rebound. Will be interesting to see how they go in a tight match as they wil not be able to puch forward as hard, might be vulnerable there. Good to see Ben Ditta play his first game in seniors, unfortunately the nerves got to him when the big gust of wind pushed his set shot from the goal square wide and through for a point!!! bad luck ditta

nogood
24 Jul 2006, 13:38
well got to be out there for the mighty display by the hawks. Are the best team by far. Harvey is just a freak, gets excited easily though!!! Leigh Schouller played CHF, a big unit, pollock rucked with grahem playing as ruck rover all day and dominating. Quamby outplayed them in the first quarter but kicked 1.8. Cost us big time, after 1/4 time the just ran forward at all costs and killed us on the rebound. Will be interesting to see how they go in a tight match as they wil not be able to puch forward as hard, might be vulnerable there. Good to see Ben Ditta play his first game in seniors, unfortunately the nerves got to him when the big gust of wind pushed his set shot from the goal square wide and through for a point!!! bad luck ditta

very heavy in the middle if pollock is rucking and graham is ruck roving. He is the biggest ruck rover since jonathon brown !!! there may be a bit more pressure on them this weekend from Nullawil. Should be a cracker of a game out at Wakool.

September
24 Jul 2006, 14:19
Bit harsh on Ditta, ball appeared to strike a bird in mid flight thus causing the deviation. Think he may have been as confident as Daniel Motlop yesterday.
Full credit to the ground staff (or weather gods) out at Quamby as the ground was in pristine condition. Boys are playing some good footy at the minute, just need to make sure we carry this form into the finals. Wasn't a good sign to see our players arguing amongst themselves quite heatedly when we were 20 goals up, weren't too many reasons to be upset.
Does anyone know what the finals venues are for this season?

facts_rite
24 Jul 2006, 15:07
Bit harsh on Ditta, ball appeared to strike a bird in mid flight thus causing the deviation. Think he may have been as confident as Daniel Motlop yesterday.
Full credit to the ground staff (or weather gods) out at Quamby as the ground was in pristine condition. Boys are playing some good footy at the minute, just need to make sure we carry this form into the finals. Wasn't a good sign to see our players arguing amongst themselves quite heatedly when we were 20 goals up, weren't too many reasons to be upset.
Does anyone know what the finals venues are for this season?

Obviously having an erray of Melbourne players was catching up with the folk @ wakool. Maybe due to the lack of team bonding?? I guess it doesnt matta when winning games tho all the same. Finals this year im pretty sure are @ Murrabit, Moulamein and Ultima

in the blues
24 Jul 2006, 16:48
who is this x melb star going to wakool, his name that is

Scrappa's Love Child
24 Jul 2006, 16:52
who is this x melb star going to wakool, his name that is

Any truth to the rumour Thorpe is bringing Craig Bradley down with him this weekend?

facts_rite
24 Jul 2006, 17:15
Any truth to the rumour Thorpe is bringing Craig Bradley down with him this weekend?

Would such a name be aloud 2 come back and play on a match permit because clearances have finished? Or is Braddles thinkn about coming down and havin a few frophies whilst watching the footy??

footy02
24 Jul 2006, 18:30
seems wakool may revolve a little around the slightly built ex afl man. He is a gun no doubt, how long until the opposition teams iron him out, or will they just wait until the finals??? worst thing that can happen is the opposition go down a player for a half. and wakool go down a gun for the match..... any thoughts.. Not trying to be prick cause i am hoping wakool will win, but just stating the obvious.. any thoughts september.

Tassie Devil
24 Jul 2006, 18:32
FT all he needs is a registration and he can play. Giving out names is not my way of protecting him from being attacked on here and elsewhere.
September didn't see or hear any arguing from the team at Quamby but there is plenty of **** flying around from a few in reguards to when its time to give the game away or stay and think your invincable.

nogood
24 Jul 2006, 18:33
Would such a name be aloud 2 come back and play on a match permit because clearances have finished? Or is Braddles thinkn about coming down and havin a few frophies whilst watching the footy??

i dont think he would be playing even if he could get a match permit. Wakool would have to be idiots to play someone like when they are having a top of the table clash. Good for the town, club, game and crowd if he is there having a couple of quiet ones though.

champ
24 Jul 2006, 18:36
seems wakool may revolve a little around the slightly built ex afl man. He is a gun no doubt, how long until the opposition teams iron him out, or will they just wait until the finals??? worst thing that can happen is the opposition go down a player for a half. and wakool go down a gun for the match..... any thoughts.. Not trying to be prick cause i am hoping wakool will win, but just stating the obvious.. any thoughts september.
Even if someone put him out of the game they still have too many avenues to goal to trouble most sides but may be found out when playing against good opposition who actually know each others names.

champ
24 Jul 2006, 18:38
i dont think he would be playing even if he could get a match permit. Wakool would have to be idiots to play someone like when they are having a top of the table clash. Good for the town, club, game and crowd if he is there having a couple of quiet ones though. I am undre the impression that after june 30 there can be no movement into or out of a club which means no new players, could be wrong though.

meehan
24 Jul 2006, 21:34
Travelled from melb to catch up with my Wakool mate what i saw was a group of players that get on very well and enjoy there footy if they were not happy would not have one the close games

facts_rite
24 Jul 2006, 21:42
Travelled from melb to catch up with my Wakool mate what i saw was a group of players that get on very well and enjoy there footy if they were not happy would not have one the close games

Simple system, wakool players arent playing for the love of the game, simply playing for the pat cash! Having come against a melbourne man on field i do recall him saying 'i may as well have stayed in melbourne with umpiring like this!' Really faithful to the club, but hey if they can buy a premiership good luck 2 them!!

facts_rite
24 Jul 2006, 21:44
i dont think he would be playing even if he could get a match permit. Wakool would have to be idiots to play someone like when they are having a top of the table clash. Good for the town, club, game and crowd if he is there having a couple of quiet ones though.

Tru that, would be great for the game if Bradley did rock up but lets b honest, from AFL legend 2 GRFL, she aint gunna happen!! But would love 2 c him there on the weekend, the likes of Lahy n co the younga pedigree may get some attention and maybe be targeted by higher grade clubs in the future years

meehan
24 Jul 2006, 23:51
Simple system, wakool players arent playing for the love of the game, simply playing for the pat cash! Having come against a melbourne man on field i do recall him saying 'i may as well have stayed in melbourne with umpiring like this!' Really faithful to the club, but hey if they can buy a premiership good luck 2 them!!
He was taking about the umpiring wasnt he nothing else

LENNY69
25 Jul 2006, 09:54

Credit where credit is due. Witnessed first hand on sat at Nully 2 very good umps in action. Let the game flow, had a laugh and always in control and i dont think either side would have any thing to complain about. Older bloke with the moustache gets on well with all the players, been around for a while , i think. Your friend from Melb, wouldn't have much to complain about in this league. They go allright, long as you dont notice them,they have done whats required.

HappyDayz
25 Jul 2006, 10:33

I agree. Finals are a whole different ball game.

P.S. Setember, how would you know what happened at the game. I seen you perched up next to the Wakool box at the start of the match. You would have been on your 2nd or 3rd stubbie.

telstra101
25 Jul 2006, 13:36
i dont know how any wakool person can get on here and say that they werent argueing. what a load of crap, all day, at each other. Over nothing, there is a huge gap between the travellers and locals. Locals u may not realise this, but have spoken to a few travelers and listened to them talk throughout the game, and if they arent there for the money, ill be f uck ed. but good luck to wakool, would be favourites in my book, but i think that footy02 may be onto something come finals time.

September
25 Jul 2006, 14:02
i dont know how any wakool person can get on here and say that they werent argueing. what a load of crap, all day, at each other. Over nothing, there is a huge gap between the travellers and locals. Locals u may not realise this, but have spoken to a few travelers and listened to them talk throughout the game, and if they arent there for the money, ill be f uck ed. but good luck to wakool, would be favourites in my book, but i think that footy02 may be onto something come finals time.
Yeah the boys aren't the best of friends, but they can play footy.
Agree that harvey will be a target come finals and we would be brought back to the field quite quickly without his presence. Although we have a plethera of goal kickers, harveys presence alone is a massive motivational factor for the rest of the side, not to mention the fact he generally kicks a bag and sets up his team mates with clean ball handling.

Yes Days I consumed a couple of beverages during the senior match saturday, actually might have started a bit earlier, but didn't miss any of the action and was quite impressed by your performance.

woof woof
25 Jul 2006, 15:11
Found this on the ninemsn news page!

Wilson admits he is scared to dump girls
Luke Wilson has told how he is too scared to dump girls — so he acts up until they leave him, he admits he is gutless but he says it often works out better that way.

He said: "Even if I want out, I don't have the guts to just leave.

"I just start acting really surly and cranky until theyleave me. I don't think anything's over the line when you want out. You see the fence, and you just start running for it."

Asked how long he normally has to wait before the girl runs for it "I'd say you need 90 days. It's almost like double time, though, because three months feels like six months because you're so horrible to be with."

Thats our Lukey sure the boys out at Ultima here about this stuff all the time!

HappyDayz
25 Jul 2006, 15:20
Re:Wilson admits he is scared to dump girls

Woofa you have us all R.O.T.F.L

CLIFTON WANNABE
26 Jul 2006, 00:15
Credit where credit is due. Witnessed first hand on sat at Nully 2 very good umps in action. Let the game flow, had a laugh and always in control and i dont think either side would have any thing to complain about. Older bloke with the moustache gets on well with all the players, been around for a while , i think. Your friend from Melb, wouldn't have much to complain about in this league. They go allright, long as you dont notice them,they have done whats required.

that umpire with the moustache needs to get a life and shave that thing off and move away from the pornstar era!!
Seriously he would be one of the fairest and most knowledgable umpires going around. Certainly is a shame that there aren't many like him coming through the ranks. :) :thumbsu:

Tassie Devil
26 Jul 2006, 01:11
Yeah the boys aren't the best of friends, but they can play footy.
Agree that harvey will be a target come finals and we would be brought back to the field quite quickly without his presence. Although we have a plethera of goal kickers, harveys presence alone is a massive motivational factor for the rest of the side, not to mention the fact he generally kicks a bag and sets up his team mates with clean ball handling.

Yes Days I consumed a couple of beverages during the senior match saturday, actually might have started a bit earlier, but didn't miss any of the action and was quite impressed by your performance.

What a load of **** September. You name a local that is unhappy about them playing or is it just the fact that one certain player and his band of merry men and supporters can't come to terms with not playing 1's as he has been past it for a few years and only player shortage has kept him in there. It is all a few of you talk about in the pub when a someone trys to have few quiet one with his mates.
Have got to know the Melbourne crew and they are a great group of players who stir each other up on the feild as if they hate each other to spur themself on.. one group are all school mates not bloody enemies. Some also work together,travel to games together and are very happy with the relaxed way the club runs. Why don't ya get off the grog early and have a talk to them rather than abuse them on here as all your doing is bringing them down for nothing other than crap. Oh how easy it is with a mouth full of grog.