View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

foxdoog50
4 Aug 2006, 00:02
:confused: Ther all good players but i dont know how any1 hasnt mention Steaphan Pearce from Macorna. He is as good as the top footballers playing in this league, he was on richmond list when he was young. His a very good around footballer. Outside chance 4 the league B&F. If they won more games he would of bein right up ther....

Footy Tripper
4 Aug 2006, 09:39
GRFL Team of the Year

Wade Humphereys
Johno Doyle Arren Smith
Jayson moloney Brett Smith Ben parker
Greg Dicksion
Benji Hardman Alan thorpe Shane Harvey
Josh Bode

Any ideas!!!![/quote]

Yeah you would probably require more players to make a team. I can't see those 11 players standing up to a team of 22 players. Either have a real crack or don't do it at all

The Fev
4 Aug 2006, 10:07
How has Benji been playing?

PARROT9
4 Aug 2006, 10:24
Have you seen my baseball???????????????????????????????????:confused:

Kenny12
4 Aug 2006, 10:41
How has Benji been playing?

yeh benji is going real well

Trent the flight Steward
4 Aug 2006, 12:53
Greg 'Iceman' kennedy would be a shoe in for the back flank for team of the year, and poodle morris as well as shawny lawry, with Coote a roughie

super snooper
4 Aug 2006, 13:24
Greg 'Iceman' kennedy would be a shoe in for the back flank for team of the year, and poodle morris as well as shawny lawry, with Coote a roughie
Coote might make the third best side... might.

super snooper
4 Aug 2006, 13:27
So whos gonna win this week?

Wandella, Hay, Nully all by a big margin, Wakool and Murrabit will be good, with the Blues taking the points.

foxdoog50
4 Aug 2006, 13:33
Yeah they will all win but i think Macorna migh upset Hay this week

super snooper
4 Aug 2006, 14:24
they might, but would need a big form reversal. Tigers have been dissapointing this season.

foxdoog50
4 Aug 2006, 14:33
they might, but would need a big form reversal. Tigers have been dissapointing this season.

Toatally agree with u super snooper, vey dissaponting

local lad
4 Aug 2006, 17:51
GRFL Team of the Year

Wade Humphereys
Johno Doyle Arren Smith
Jayson moloney Brett Smith Ben parker
Greg Dicksion
Benji Hardman Alan thorpe Shane Harvey
Josh Bode

Any ideas!!!!

Yeah you would probably require more players to make a team. I can't see those 11 players standing up to a team of 22 players. Either have a real crack or don't do it at all[/quote]

Is this what this thread has resorted to, bagging people on here for trying to generate some reasonable and decent discussion topics!:thumbsd:

I think KENNY might have been trying to get the ball rolling and suggested a few names to start and let others offer other names and opinions. I don't know how you can suggest to KENNY to "have a crack" when you haven't even had a go yourself FT!!!

Weak as pi$$:thumbsd:

nogood
4 Aug 2006, 22:42
Yeah you would probably require more players to make a team. I can't see those 11 players standing up to a team of 22 players. Either have a real crack or don't do it at all

Is this what this thread has resorted to, bagging people on here for trying to generate some reasonable and decent discussion topics!:thumbsd:

I think KENNY might have been trying to get the ball rolling and suggested a few names to start and let others offer other names and opinions. I don't know how you can suggest to KENNY to "have a crack" when you haven't even had a go yourself FT!!!

Weak as pi$$:thumbsd:[/quote]

Exactly. The tripper was just trying to get some conversation going. Here is another one. Bout a month ago people had a go at league best and fairests. With three rounds to go who's in for a chace at taking out this years league B&F ?????

nogood
4 Aug 2006, 22:45

Weak as pi$$:thumbsd:

Exactly. Kenny was just trying to get some conversation going. Here is another one. Bout a month ago people had a go at league best and fairests. With three rounds to go who's in for a chace at taking out this years league B&F ?????[/quote]

behind_post
6 Aug 2006, 20:30
word on the street, is that a former classy wandella forward is looking to make he's way back there in the coming year. the man who only wants to be referred to as the J-Train, is looking to make amends with his former club and finally get the chance to have that prized medal draped around he's neck on that one day in september.

super snooper
7 Aug 2006, 00:07
word on the street, is that a former classy wandella forward is looking to make he's way back there in the coming year. the man who only wants to be referred to as the J-Train, is looking to make amends with his former club and finally get the chance to have that prized medal draped around he's neck on that one day in september.
is the 'J-Train' Nathan Johns? He is a tool.

Kenny12
7 Aug 2006, 11:47

Weak as pi$$:thumbsd:[/quote]

If they had of had a lok i had any ideas under neath the team make ya own see what ya can come up with on ya locl lad cheers

ROOBOY14
7 Aug 2006, 12:32
Rooboy just got the exclusive nod to inform all bigfooty fans that Jimmyboy is the proud new father of a little baby boy Parker, we welcome Parker to the big footy family. Jimmy says he does not have a user name yet but as soon as the little fella can type he's in.:D :D :D :D :D :D

Absolutely
7 Aug 2006, 13:12
Congrats Rooboy. Is the choice of name an early tip for league B & F? I think its a fair call.

Here are some other suggestions:
Harvey (Wakool)
Fitzy (Hay)
Dicko (Wand)
Maher (Quamby)

Trent the flight Steward
7 Aug 2006, 13:35
is the 'J-Train' Nathan Johns? He is a tool.

I beleive the J-Train to not be nathan johns, but a player who now resides in melbourne, looking for a move back to the country is said to be a long raking left foot kick, that is if he can get over his injuries

The Whisper
7 Aug 2006, 14:07
Exactly. Kenny was just trying to get some conversation going. Here is another one. Bout a month ago people had a go at league best and fairests. With three rounds to go who's in for a chace at taking out this years league B&F ?????[/quote]

Yeh poor old kenny was just trying to get the ball rolling. i'm wif u nogood:thumbsu:

super snooper
7 Aug 2006, 14:36
I beleive the J-Train to not be nathan johns, but a player who now resides in melbourne, looking for a move back to the country is said to be a long raking left foot kick, that is if he can get over his injuries
more clues... or can you just state his name?

Catter
7 Aug 2006, 14:44
There has been a lot of numbers been thrown around but can anyone confirm the amount of players out of the Ultima senior line up. Is there light at the end of the tunnel for this once powerhouse?

gocats99
7 Aug 2006, 14:48
There has been a lot of numbers been thrown around but can anyone confirm the amount of players out of the Ultima senior line up. Is there light at the end of the tunnel for this once powerhouse?

i have heard upwards of 10-12 players... well that was where it was at in one of the past games

nogood
7 Aug 2006, 14:49

A few hopefully, judging by the score. Your team is travelling along nicely at the moment catter. Any secrets ?? Who is playing well ??

The Whisper
7 Aug 2006, 14:57

Dunno bout the numbers..... but they didn't perform to well on Saturday against nully!!!!

The Whisper
7 Aug 2006, 15:00
Congrats Rooboy. Is the choice of name an early tip for league B & F? I think its a fair call.

Harvey (Wakool)
Fitzy (Hay)
Dicko (Wand)
Maher (Quamby)
Bode (Nully)

Catter
7 Aug 2006, 15:02
A few hopefully, judging by the score. Your team is travelling along nicely at the moment catter. Any secrets ?? Who is playing well ??

Sam Goldsmith played one of his best games for the club. We still have a few to come back (Urquaet, Haslam, Hewitt, Atkins). Josh Barbetti is playing good footy. Local coming back over seas. Hardman has given us with a another good avenue to go through. All looking good , but we have to get over quamby.

pecker69
7 Aug 2006, 16:03

Brett Atkin (knee), Pat Mahon (knee), Jarrod Phelan (thumb), Josh Woolhouse (ribs), Brendan McKenzie (cheek bone), Ash Roberts (middle leg), Karl Delmenico (foot), Stewart Brousard (finger), Nathan Condely (baby), Shagga (thigh)(can't remember his real name). All these players were out of saturdays side. I've probably forgotten 1 or 2, played with that many different blokes its hard to remember them all.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

behind_post
7 Aug 2006, 16:17
more clues... or can you just state his name?
ahhh Trent is on the right track there! ooooo that left foot of the J-Train will pull the crowds, and not to mention the women who will venture out there to try there luck on the star wandella man!

The player is question has had the year off and will be looking the goods for the coming pre-season! look out all!!!

has anyone had ne luck trying to guess who this may be?

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 16:18
Bode (Nully)
doyle Wakool

Footy Tripper
7 Aug 2006, 16:21
ahhh Trent is on the right track there! ooooo that left foot of the J-Train will pull the crowds, and not to mention the women who will venture out there to try there luck on the star wandella man!

The player is question has had the year off and will be looking the goods for the coming pre-season! look out all!!!

has anyone had ne luck trying to guess who this may be?

Was thinking Ben Doyle when you said the women will be venturing out, but I don't think he kicks left foot!! When did this bloke last play for Wandella?

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 16:31
Was at Wakool v murrabit game some one said wakool was slow far from it murrabits halfback line ran down the ground to create play the ball was turned over one hand ball two boucnes one kick and thorpe marked and goaled murrabit half back line just made it back to the centre when the goal was kicked wakool played very smart footy didnt panic and ran over the top of murrabit That doyle is every bit equal to parker played on ball change chb saw him kick sixty

nogood
7 Aug 2006, 16:35
Was at Wakool v murrabit game some one said wakool was slow far from it murrabits halfback line ran down the ground to create play the ball was turned over one hand ball two boucnes one kick and thorpe marked and goaled murrabit half back line just made it back to the centre when the goal was kicked wakool played very smart footy didnt panic and ran over the top of murrabit

How did harvey play ? Did he kick a couple ? Who were in Wakool's best ?

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 16:43
How did harvey play ? Did he kick a couple ? Who were in Wakool's best ?
Pollock,doyle harvey,mcnaul very even side

nogood
7 Aug 2006, 16:49

Good to see Pollock bounce back into some form. I thought he got killed against Nullawil a week ago. Is harvey playing in the mid field yet or still hanging around the forward line ? Is there a reason he is down there ? Injured ??

HappyDayz
7 Aug 2006, 17:04
Good to see Pollock bounce back into some form. I thought he got killed against Nullawil a week ago. Is harvey playing in the mid field yet or still hanging around the forward line ? Is there a reason he is down there ? Injured ??

I'm not in any position to say but i'll have a stab. Until last week Whelan, Kearney, Harrison, Graham and co. were doing a fine job in the middle. Wakool have been served well with Harvey and Thorpe kicking bags within the arc. He still kicked a bag but i assume the midfield had an off day, ditto the rest of the fwd line .
Wakool still have a bit up the sleave don't worry about that.

nogood
7 Aug 2006, 17:10
I'm not in any position to say but i'll have a stab. Until last week Whelan, Kearney, Harrison, Graham and co. were doing a fine job in the middle. Wakool have been served well with Harvey and Thorpe kicking bags within the arc. He still kicked a bag but i assume the midfield had an off day, ditto the rest of the fwd line .
Wakool still have a bit up the sleave don't worry about that.

no doubt. Their loss last week might awakin the sleeping giant. They are still ontrack for a big shot at the flag. Probably should be still favourates. I totally agree. Everyone has a bad day at somestage and last week was Wakool's. Better to have it then than in the finals.

pecker69
7 Aug 2006, 17:44
no doubt. Their loss last week might awakin the sleeping giant. They are still ontrack for a big shot at the flag. Probably should be still favourates. I totally agree. Everyone has a bad day at somestage and last week was Wakool's. Better to have it then than in the finals.

After seeing Nulli, Wakool won't and shouldn't blow wind up their backsides. Nulli have much greater depth, and have quality players, who from what l saw going at 3/4 pace. If they decide to play Parker on the ball, let him kick out, he'll jamm it down the full forwards throat. They are too well drilled for Wakool, and play for each other. This will be most evident come finals. Against quality opposition, there are too few to carry the load at Wakool, Harvey can't do it all, and Nulli should be a lot wiser about him next time round.

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 17:47

I agree have seen them 3 times hay nully and murrabit they are a very good side so is hay and nully it sets up a great finals i would think the grfl would be happy as with all surporters of country footy its great to see a club like wakool make the finals I had a close look at the hawks a very well run club the people behind the scenes do a good job

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 17:52
After seeing Nulli, Wakool won't and shouldn't blow wind up their backsides. Nulli have much greater depth, and have quality players, who from what l saw going at 3/4 pace. If they decide to play Parker on the ball, let him kick out, he'll jamm it down the full forwards throat. They are too well drilled for Wakool, and play for each other. This will be most evident come finals. Against quality opposition, there are too few to carry the load at Wakool, Harvey can't do it all, and Nulli should be a lot wiser about him next time round.

They werent to well drilled in the first round according to the record wakool beat them at home didnt they sides like nully and wakool not often they have close games

ROOBOY14
7 Aug 2006, 18:46

Harvey (Wakool)
Fitzy (Hay)
Dicko (Wand)
Maher (Quamby)

Absolutely you idiot its not my kid congratulate Jimmyboy

super snooper
7 Aug 2006, 19:00
Was at Wakool v murrabit game some one said wakool was slow far from it murrabits halfback line ran down the ground to create play the ball was turned over one hand ball two boucnes one kick and thorpe marked and goaled murrabit half back line just made it back to the centre when the goal was kicked wakool played very smart footy didnt panic and ran over the top of murrabit That doyle is every bit equal to parker played on ball change chb saw him kick sixty

At the game also, Doyle played CHB all game, had a good tussle with Magnussen, and took the honours.

Wakool have some smart operators, and they make the most of their opportunities. Murrabit had the chance to put them away in the first half but kicked poorly. Harvey was held goaless by No. 56 (Murray i think?) until the third quarter, and did not venture into the midfeild. Slotted 3 or 4 nice goals in the second half when their midfeild started to win more of the ball.

Ice whelan was the game breaker, with three third quarter goals and several assists after a quiet first half. Entertaining game.

Nully flag favourites, with Wakool not far behind.

ps: Can people (meehan, kenny12) write their posts in english, they are very hard to follow (full stops would be handy);)

meehan
7 Aug 2006, 19:20
At the game also, Doyle played CHB all game, had a good tussle with Magnussen, and took the honours.

Wakool have some smart operators, and they make the most of their opportunities. Murrabit had the chance to put them away in the first half but kicked poorly. Harvey was held goaless by No. 56 (Murray i think?) until the third quarter, and did not venture into the midfeild. Slotted 3 or 4 nice goals in the second half when their midfeild started to win more of the ball.

Ice whelan was the game breaker, with three third quarter goals and several assists after a quiet first half. Entertaining game.

Nully flag favourites, with Wakool not far behind.

ps: Can people (meehan, kenny14) write their posts in english, they are very hard to follow (full stops would be handy);)
well i am sorry super not as good as you if doyle played chb all day what a top footy player he is his running is some thing to see nice young bloke spoke to him loves the club and enjoys playing with harvey and co gee that perkins is a good type doyle for me for the b&f i

Kenny12
7 Aug 2006, 22:10
Who do we all reckon the young guns are at each club.

koutamidas
7 Aug 2006, 23:44
Brett Atkin (knee), Pat Mahon (knee), Jarrod Phelan (thumb), Josh Woolhouse (ribs), Brendan McKenzie (cheek bone), Ash Roberts (middle leg), Karl Delmenico (foot), Stewart Brousard (finger), Nathan Condely (baby), Shagga (thigh)(can't remember his real name). All these players were out of saturdays side. I've probably forgotten 1 or 2, played with that many different blokes its hard to remember them all.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:sam cleary (ribs) brent conway (ankle) :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Trent the flight Steward
8 Aug 2006, 11:09
Was thinking Ben Doyle when you said the women will be venturing out, but I don't think he kicks left foot!! When did this bloke last play for Wandella?
He played with the bombers in 2002, which i beleive he was restricted by injury for the first half of the year, played through the middle, now getting a bit older i believe he has done a riccutio gone forward, also likes to be known as the P-Train or Dr J. I hear he has been training with Werribee to get fit for next years return

Yaaablett
8 Aug 2006, 14:05

Is that young Fraser McNaul? Good kid, with a fair bit of talent. Is Lauchie Gleeson playing? Also is Josh Barnes still at Wakool? I saw a J Barnes kicked a couple for Koondrook last week, is that Josh?

The Whisper
8 Aug 2006, 14:10
Is that young Fraser McNaul? Good kid, with a fair bit of talent. Is Lauchie Gleeson playing? Also is Josh Barnes still at Wakool? I saw a J Barnes kicked a couple for Koondrook last week, is that Josh?

Gleeson is still running around. dunno bout barnes though hasnt been playin last couple of matches

all is good
8 Aug 2006, 14:38
yeh that is the josh barnes your thinking of. Started playing in there bit over month ago and is said to be enjoying it also.

Nackas
8 Aug 2006, 14:44
Who do we all reckon the young guns are at each club.

Young guns from clubs would have to include
Tim Robinson Wandella
Trent Garner & Andrew Mortimer Hay
Leigh Millard & Damien Lipp Murrabit
Arren Smith Nullawil
Craig Lashbrook & Lachie Gleeson Wakool
Give me a rating of all these kids and if they're are any other suggestions I am happy to hear. Was a bit tough when there really isnt that many kids playing senior football for the top teams

Bowser
8 Aug 2006, 15:07
Young guns from clubs would have to include
Tim Robinson Wandella
Trent Garner & Andrew Mortimer Hay
Leigh Millard & Damien Lipp Murrabit
Arren Smith Nullawil
Craig Lashbrook & Lachie Gleeson Wakool
Give me a rating of all these kids and if they're are any other suggestions I am happy to hear. Was a bit tough when there really isnt that many kids playing senior football for the top teams

Arren Smith played really well on the weekend and think he will continue to improve. Don't know any of the others:thumbsu:

Nackas
8 Aug 2006, 15:13
Arren Smith played really well on the weekend and think he will continue to improve. Don't know any of the others:thumbsu:

From all accounts i heard that Smith got a bath against wakool!! Have seen him play and has some talent but nothing really to write home about!! Where did he line up on the weekend??

Bowser
8 Aug 2006, 15:17
From all accounts i heard that Smith got a bath against wakool!! Have seen him play and has some talent but nothing really to write home about!! Where did he line up on the weekend??

He was on the ball all day and on Saturday's game I would say he is something to write home about prob got about 15 clearances:thumbsu: how old is he?

Nackas
8 Aug 2006, 15:21
He was on the ball all day and on Saturday's game I would say he is something to write home about prob got about 15 clearances:thumbsu: how old is he?

On the ball?? Sure ur not talkin bout Brett Smith?? Yeah well as far as i no he represented the league in the U17's this year, but couldnt give u a specific age!

Catter
8 Aug 2006, 15:34
On the ball?? Sure ur not talkin bout Brett Smith?? Yeah well as far as i no he represented the league in the U17's this year, but couldnt give u a specific age!

Brett's the older brother to Arren. Bazz plays in the center. Harry is 16-17 years of age. Has alot of talent. Vice-captain of the interleague squad. Apparantly played a pearler of a game in the interleague. Harvey had just a really good game against Nully that day. Arren didn't do much wrong against him

Bowser
8 Aug 2006, 15:35

Yup 100%, they were both in the middle as well as Col Fawcet and I would be very confident in saying they will take out the flag..... I would nearly say the younger smith will get the 3 from the umps from the weekends game.
Nulli is the best side i have played this year.
7 goal better than the Hawks........

nogood
8 Aug 2006, 16:21
Yup 100%, they were both in the middle as well as Col Fawcet and I would be very confident in saying they will take out the flag..... I would nearly say the younger smith will get the 3 from the umps from the weekends game.
Nulli is the best side i have played this year.
7 goal better than the Hawks........

Saw the Nullawil \ wakool game and i though Arren Smith did a pretty good job, even though Harvey kicked a lazy 10. Beat him to the ball on a number of occasions and beat him a number of marking contests. Harvey kicked 5 or so from the boundary, not lucky ones but absolute talent. Arren did a good job to keep him to the boundary line. Just my opinion. Cant comment on the weekend game as unfortunatly i didnt see it. By the sounds of it though it wouldnt of been hard to get a kick in the nullawil side. Catter would be the best to tell us. Who were the best on Sat for Nullawil.

Catter
8 Aug 2006, 16:30
Saw the Nullawil \ wakool game and i though Arren Smith did a pretty good job, even though Harvey kicked a lazy 10. Beat him to the ball on a number of occasions and beat him a number of marking contests. Harvey kicked 5 or so from the boundary, not lucky ones but absolute talent. Arren did a good job to keep him to the boundary line. Just my opinion. Cant comment on the weekend game as unfortunatly i didnt see it. By the sounds of it though it wouldnt of been hard to get a kick in the nullawil side. Catter would be the best to tell us. Who were the best on Sat for Nullawil..

Sam Goldsmith played a ripper of a game. Kicked eight. The likes of Bode and Parker picked up possesions at will. As I said in an earlier post we are enjoying the fact that we have a bit more more options up forward with Benji down there. Tony Doran coming back into some good form snagging a few.
We still have got a few handy players to come back befor the finals. Urquet, Haslam, Hewitt, Aitkins are all expected to be back soon. Korpy had his first match back after while on the side lines. Give him a couple of weeks and he will get back to where he was during the middle of season.

Nackas
8 Aug 2006, 16:31
Saw the Nullawil \ wakool game and i though Arren Smith did a pretty good job, even though Harvey kicked a lazy 10. Beat him to the ball on a number of occasions and beat him a number of marking contests. Harvey kicked 5 or so from the boundary, not lucky ones but absolute talent. Arren did a good job to keep him to the boundary line. Just my opinion. Cant comment on the weekend game as unfortunatly i didnt see it. By the sounds of it though it wouldnt of been hard to get a kick in the nullawil side. Catter would be the best to tell us. Who were the best on Sat for Nullawil.

Well i heard that smith did get beaten fairly well on harvey, the man kicked 10 goals!!!! I heard that he dropped his head very early in the day??

DOCKERS
8 Aug 2006, 16:35

Sam Goldsmith played a ripper of a game. Kicked eight. The likes of Bode and Parker picked up possesions at will. As I said in an earlier post we are enjoying the fact that we have a bit more more options up forward with Benji down there. Tony Doran coming back into some good form snagging a few.
We still have got a few handy players to come back befor the finals. Urquet, Haslam, Hewitt, Aitkins are all expected to be back soon. Korpy had his first match back after while on the side lines. Give him a couple of weeks and he will get back to where he was during the middle of season.

i didnt think parker was as damaging as what i was expecting.... i hope that wasn't his best game for the year... certainly showed excellent poise and slick skills though. bode gave ultima a rucking lesson, maybe a bit of payback from when ryan petzke used to scare the hell out of the cat?

DOCKERS
8 Aug 2006, 16:36
Well i heard that smith did get beaten fairly well on harvey, the man kicked 10 goals!!!! I heard that he dropped his head very early in the day??

all harvey has to do in the 50 is get 10 kicks and thats 10 goals, if he was playing on ball and got 10 kicks he wouldn't even get in the best... 10 sounds like young smith did a good job...

HappyDayz
9 Aug 2006, 12:33
Games this week:
Wandella v Macorna
Wakool v Moula
Ultima v Murrabit
Quamby v Nully

On current form can anyone see a game result within 10 goals?
Maybe the Tigers depending on which team turns up this week.

Bowser
9 Aug 2006, 12:41
Games this week:
Wandella v Macorna
Wakool v Moula
Ultima v Murrabit
Quamby v Nully

On current form can anyone see a game result within 10 goals?
Maybe the Tigers depending on which team turns up this week.

Yeah it is a Reunion at Ultima this weekend and there will be some players to return into the side who was flogged by Nulli. I would expext a close encounter and would be my tip for game of the round. I also think that if Quamby have a good game it will be under 10 goals.

Bowser's tips:
Wandella
Wakool
Ultima v Murrabit: Draw
Nully

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

telstra101
9 Aug 2006, 13:25

what would u expect, he's playing on a bloke that played AFL, has there been anyone that has actually beaten Harvey this season., i would doubt it. Would u like to play on him?

Bit scary that Nully has more to go into there team, hopefully they rest them for another week, give us half a chance!

I think Ultima can go with Murrabit but Wandella should beat macorna and wakool vs moula will be very one sided.

HappyDayz
9 Aug 2006, 14:25
Yeah it is a Reunion at Ultima

Is that the 96 Premiership Reunion? In that case i'm tipping Ultima by 8 points with particular mention of Dwayne Grey to haunt Murrabit one last time by snagging a few like he did 10 year ago.

Catter
9 Aug 2006, 14:39
[quote=Nackas]Well i heard that smith did get beaten fairly well on harvey, the man kicked 10 goals!!!! I heard that he dropped his head very early in the day??[/ote]

Harvey was kicking goals from impossible angles. He had just a day out. I believe the Arren played pretty well on him. He got him to lead only to the bourdary line 85% of the time. What else could he done. He run with him all day and didnt give him much room. If anyone one else was down there he could have kicked more. He didnt drop his head he just couldnt believe the snapps Harvey was doing!

The Whisper
9 Aug 2006, 14:55

Cummon mate get a hold of ur self. Arren Smith has to be the best youngster going around. would've had 35 touches and 10 clearences on the weekend. has to win the rookie of the year for sure!!!!! didnt even play that bad against harvey. the man is a gun.

The Whisper
9 Aug 2006, 15:00

cummon mate who do ya think u are. the young fella is only 16 playing on a AFL player. if u ask me he did a great job. hav a think about it mate

Bowser
9 Aug 2006, 15:04
Is that the 96 Premiership Reunion? In that case i'm tipping Ultima by 8 points with particular mention of Dwayne Grey to haunt Murrabit one last time by snagging a few like he did 10 year ago.

Yes i hope he does kick a couple too,

Anyone know where all the finals are held?

alfie
9 Aug 2006, 15:13
Yes i hope he does kick a couple, Luke O'Toole will be playing for the day because he is home for the reunion a little bird told me....:D
i can confirm this bowser!

FROGDOG17
9 Aug 2006, 16:13
cummon mate who do ya think u are. the young fella is only 16 playing on a AFL player. if u ask me he did a great job. hav a think about it mateHe may have done a great job but Harvey did still kick ten. Snaps, lucky, call it what you want but anyone who kicks ten on their opponent has clearly won. Arron should take it as a loss and try harder next time, it will make him a better footballer. He has got talent but people telling him he played wicked won't help, or he will think it's o.k to let him kick ten again. Next game he should aim at only letting him kick 4 or 5. Against a player like Harvey in a one on one battle you would nearly go as far as calling that a win for your side. Good luck to him next time around(the big stage maybe).

rooers06
9 Aug 2006, 16:26
jus wondering if anyone knows if simon coote is still around the legue. last i heard was coaching someone but dunno what team or what grade.

HappyDayz
9 Aug 2006, 16:50
jus wondering if anyone knows if simon coote is still around the legue. last i heard was coaching someone but dunno what team or what grade.

Don't know about Simon but Bill is at the bar at Quamby most nights and has a son taking the odd big grab in the ones. Any relation?

Go Cohuna
9 Aug 2006, 17:01
He may have done a great job but Harvey did still kick ten. Snaps, lucky, call it what you want but anyone who kicks ten on their opponent has clearly won. Arron should take it as a loss and try harder next time, it will make him a better footballer. He has got talent but people telling him he played wicked won't help, or he will think it's o.k to let him kick ten again. Next game he should aim at only letting him kick 4 or 5. Against a player like Harvey in a one on one battle you would nearly go as far as calling that a win for your side. Good luck to him next time around(the big stage maybe).
Good call.

Kenny12
9 Aug 2006, 21:17
He may have done a great job but Harvey did still kick ten. Snaps, lucky, call it what you want but anyone who kicks ten on their opponent has clearly won. Arron should take it as a loss and try harder next time, it will make him a better footballer. He has got talent but people telling him he played wicked won't help, or he will think it's o.k to let him kick ten again. Next game he should aim at only letting him kick 4 or 5. Against a player like Harvey in a one on one battle you would nearly go as far as calling that a win for your side. Good luck to him next time around(the big stage maybe).

I will tell ya's all this arren did take it as a loss and knew he got beaten snaps form boundary or not but arren was first to put his hand up for the job knew it was gunna be tough and admitted it was but know one else put there hand up he didn't have to be asked twice on ya arren:thumbsu: :)

Bushy45
9 Aug 2006, 21:22
I will tell ya's all this arren did take it as a loss and knew he got beaten snaps form boundary or not but arren was first to put his hand up for the job knew it was gunna be tough and admitted it was but know one else put there hand up he didn't have to be asked twice on ya arren:thumbsu: :)

yeh good job arron

jimmyboy
10 Aug 2006, 00:18
yeh good job arron
Harvey has kicked 10 or more on a lot older more experianced campainers than arren smith, and he will continue to do it. Good try arren, better luck next time, hopefully grand final day. It was two weeks ago anyway, lets move on.:thumbsu:

Russ74
10 Aug 2006, 10:40
I have seen Wakool twice this year and have yet to see Nullawil. Interesting to note that Harvey and Thorpe are 1 and 2 on the goalkicking with about 70 and 65 apiece yet Nully have 1 guy on about 35. Stating the obvious, but Nully have more points for than Wakool indicating far more goalscoring options, which could decide the GF. You would imagine that if Nully can control 1 of these guys they win and if they control both well they shyte it in. Of course if both fire then Nully might be in strife. Thoughts.

champ
10 Aug 2006, 10:46
I have seen Wakool twice this year and have yet to see Nullawil. Interesting to note that Harvey and Thorpe are 1 and 2 on the goalkicking with about 70 and 65 apiece yet Nully have 1 guy on about 35. Stating the obvious, but Nully have more points for than Wakool indicating far more goalscoring options, which could decide the GF. You would imagine that if Nully can control 1 of these guys they win and if they control both well they shyte it in. Of course if both fire then Nully might be in strife. Thoughts.
On the weekend Murrabit kept them to three a piece, must be there lowest score between them for the year yet Wakool still got up, and I definately wouldnt be discounting Murrabit for a charge at the flag. From what I have seen, if Wakool get there leaky backline sorted then its going to be good contests throughout the finals.

Nackas
10 Aug 2006, 13:09
On the weekend Murrabit kept them to three a piece, must be there lowest score between them for the year yet Wakool still got up, and I definately wouldnt be discounting Murrabit for a charge at the flag. From what I have seen, if Wakool get there leaky backline sorted then its going to be good contests throughout the finals.

Yeh Wakools 4ward line structure seems very limited although is the amount of people that got it in teh 4ward line didnt chip 2 harvey or Thorpe everytime i think that they would have many more goal scorers than just the two

nogood
10 Aug 2006, 15:36
Yeh Wakools 4ward line structure seems very limited although is the amount of people that got it in teh 4ward line didnt chip 2 harvey or Thorpe everytime i think that they would have many more goal scorers than just the two

Murrabit are a big shot at the flag. Last years premiers that have a good mix. No superstars but a good mix with finals experience. If Henrey fires they are a big shot. Especially if they can get passed Hay (i reckon hay will finish 4th), which will be difficult, they will have a home prelim.
Something will have to be done about that. Cannt have a home final, especially with the league playing the GF in Kerang so that this doesnt happen. Any thoughts..

Kick_it_2_me
10 Aug 2006, 22:23
Murrabit are a big shot at the flag. Last years premiers that have a good mix. No superstars but a good mix with finals experience. If Henrey fires they are a big shot. Especially if they can get passed Hay (i reckon hay will finish 4th), which will be difficult, they will have a home prelim.
Something will have to be done about that. Cannt have a home final, especially with the league playing the GF in Kerang so that this doesnt happen. Any thoughts..

i know that the loddon valley switch finals to different venues if a team is going to have a home ground advantage. i don't think this is a good idea as clubs put a lot of time into organising to host a final and to have it switched, a week before the match, would/could cost them money and cause more headaches than it's worth. also to switch finals would mean the club that was to host the final will lose revenue from the bar, bbq, canteen etc and we know how hard it is for clubs to raise money. also if a team has to blame a final's loss on home ground advantage then they aren't obviously good enough to be there in the 1st place because good sides can win at any ground

behind_post
11 Aug 2006, 11:56
He played with the bombers in 2002, which i beleive he was restricted by injury for the first half of the year, played through the middle, now getting a bit older i believe he has done a riccutio gone forward, also likes to be known as the P-Train or Dr J. I hear he has been training with Werribee to get fit for next years return
I've noticed the talk of the J-Train circulating through the crowds at recent games with people excited about the coming football season. People can only hope that someone of the likes of Harvey can stay one more year and go head to head with a former star of the comp. Is anyone able to fill us in on some more info about the new Wandella recruit? It would be a major coup for not only the club but the GRFL

Trent the flight Steward
11 Aug 2006, 12:00
I beleive COl Magnussen is back with Murrabit, i would think he would be able to keep Thorp quiet, but is murrabits midfield up to keeping up with wakools, and i think murrabit will play wandella in the first final, which will be a tough task to get past with wandella foot speed. If wandella play poodle morris on harvey, i think he is the best equiped player in the league to play on harvey, loves a challenge of player on the best forward, as he has shown in lowering Dorans colours over the years, and i think scratcher should be able to hold thorp, my time nully V wandella final nully by 6 goals
Dicko league b&f

Catter
11 Aug 2006, 12:54
I beleive COl Magnussen is back with Murrabit, i would think he would be able to keep Thorp quiet, but is murrabits midfield up to keeping up with wakools, and i think murrabit will play wandella in the first final, which will be a tough task to get past with wandella foot speed. If wandella play poodle morris on harvey, i think he is the best equiped player in the league to play on harvey, loves a challenge of player on the best forward, as he has shown in lowering Dorans colours over the years, and i think scratcher should be able to hold thorp, my time nully V wandella final nully by 6 goals
Dicko league b&f

Dorans not the player to look out for. Cant see the Bombers getting over the Hawks. Hawks in the big one against....dont want to look to far ahead:thumbsu:

Trent the flight Steward
11 Aug 2006, 12:59
I've noticed the talk of the J-Train circulating through the crowds at recent games with people excited about the coming football season. People can only hope that someone of the likes of Harvey can stay one more year and go head to head with a former star of the comp. Is anyone able to fill us in on some more info about the new Wandella recruit? It would be a major coup for not only the club but the GRFL
that match up would certainly bring people flocking out to the game, what a mouth watering match up, The J-Train would have to showcase his defensive skills not sure if his up to it

foxdoog50
11 Aug 2006, 14:07
that match up would certainly bring people flocking out to the game, what a mouth watering match up, The J-Train would have to showcase his defensive skills not sure if his up to it

May i ask who is The J-trains name is?

HappyDayz
11 Aug 2006, 16:40
Anybody get the Guardian today. Near the front. Rockets letter to the editor RE: His response to being sacked. Makes for some interesting reading. I'm suprised no one has mentioned it yet.

Thoughts???

Russ74
11 Aug 2006, 16:44
Anybody get the Guardian today. Near the front. Rockets letter to the editor RE: His response to being sacked. Makes for some interesting reading. I'm suprised no one has mentioned it yet.

Thoughts???

Haven't got the Guardian yet mate. Can you please tell me a few things he wrote?

HappyDayz
11 Aug 2006, 17:40
Haven't got the Guardian yet mate. Can you please tell me a few things he wrote?

Basically he stated that he was sacked for his behavior in the Macorna game, and for taking drugs pre match (currently legal proceedings), and that it was a unanimous decison (which he disputes).
In his defence he gave his account of the game. Said he had given away 2 free kicks and a 50m penalty, which he then took himself off due to team rules. On his way back to the bench he got into a verbal stouch with Macorna supporters hecciling him from the fence. He stated that Macorna had said they had no problems with his actions.
Also said the drugs he was accused of taking were really painkillers for a broken finger.
He also got stuck into the comittee, naming a few as basically incompitent and having a grudge against him from the beggining because he had asked more from them. Also brought up the fact that the club had delibrately played about 7 unregistered players under false names etc.

Nackas
11 Aug 2006, 18:46
Basically he stated that he was sacked for his behavior in the Macorna game, and for taking drugs pre match (currently legal proceedings), and that it was a unanimous decison (which he disputes).
In his defence he gave his account of the game. Said he had given away 2 free kicks and a 50m penalty, which he then took himself off due to team rules. On his way back to the bench he got into a verbal stouch with Macorna supporters hecciling him from the fence. He stated that Macorna had said they had no problems with his actions.
Also said the drugs he was accused of taking were really painkillers for a broken finger.
He also got stuck into the comittee, naming a few as basically incompitent and having a grudge against him from the beggining because he had asked more from them. Also brought up the fact that the club had delibrately played about 7 unregistered players under false names etc.

Wasa good read, although it was very interesting to find that his respect for the Moula footy club has gone out the window. I liked his piece on the drugs also, i had heard many rumours about the fact that he was taking drugs b4 matches and was good 2 get the truth?!? Also i dont think that it was the wisest move to go on about the unregistered players, must really have it in 4 them!!

locallegends
11 Aug 2006, 19:37
who r the best young guns in the golden rivers league?

clifton's lookalike
11 Aug 2006, 19:48
Wasa good read, although it was very interesting to find that his respect for the Moula footy club has gone out the window. I liked his piece on the drugs also, i had heard many rumours about the fact that he was taking drugs b4 matches and was good 2 get the truth?!? Also i dont think that it was the wisest move to go on about the unregistered players, must really have it in 4 them!!

Earlier on this thread I was sceptical about the persona of the man and today has confirmed it for me with the comment about the unregistered players, sounds like a bad case of sour grapes.
One thing in his defence though as I read the letter in the paper is that i do believe he was trying to change the culture and on field behaviour of a club that maybe wasn't ready for him and is still stuck in its ways and not ready to progress because not everybody is pulling in the same direction (some committee members he was referring to).

backpocket93
11 Aug 2006, 20:05
who r the best young guns in the golden rivers league?
Lachy O'Toole Ultima
Lachy Gleeson Wakool
Andy Gleeson Wakool
Jason Maloney Nullawil
Arren Smith Nullawil
Trent Garner Hay
Mick Bott Wandella
Tim Robinson Wandella
Leigh Millard Murrabit
Keiran Thorn Murrabit

DOCKERS
11 Aug 2006, 22:13

murrabit would be a good shot for the flag if they weren't all homosexuals... i believe they are too busy trying to root the opposing players to find the ball... nully will beat wakool in a close encounter.. wandella have no hope coz they all love the c o c k too.. also trent garner from hay is a dud. also arren smith is no good when the pressure is on. jason maloney is really ugly and will probably never find a wife. shane hutchins is just really old looking and should go and live by himself away from everyone so we don't have to look at his face... cheers guys, love from steamroller#6

ricky gervais
11 Aug 2006, 23:00
Earlier on this thread I was sceptical about the persona of the man and today has confirmed it for me with the comment about the unregistered players, sounds like a bad case of sour grapes.
One thing in his defence though as I read the letter in the paper is that i do believe he was trying to change the culture and on field behaviour of a club that maybe wasn't ready for him and is still stuck in its ways and not ready to progress because not everybody is pulling in the same direction (some committee members he was referring to).

i believe there are two sides to every story and if one is put out to the public, both should. rocket went a little low with the unreg thingy, but people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. don't publically bag people if you can't handle repurcussions. nobody knows the real truth, perhaps it should have been kept in house, as lies mean the same as the truth in the paper to most.:(

richard cheese
12 Aug 2006, 04:58

How old is the J-Train?
I don't recall a long raking left footer running around at bomber-land in 02'. Was Fredo's pillow bitter buddy Cam SPENCER coaching at bomber land in season 02'?
I can't recall the club having a league superstar running around in 2002.
I'll take a punt and say the J-TRAIN is Jason GREENWOOD. :)

Kick_it_2_me
12 Aug 2006, 10:36
How old is the J-Train?
I don't recall a long raking left footer running around at bomber-land in 02'. Was Fredo's pillow bitter buddy Cam SPENCER coaching at bomber land in season 02'?

i think the j-train, whoever he or she is, is the 1 pumping their own tyres up on this website

koutamidas
12 Aug 2006, 10:45
How old is the J-Train?
playing today cheesey?:thumbsu: