View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
ROOBOY14
29 Aug 2006, 11:41
after reading your previous quotes, i know who you are and this j train you speak of is in fact julian lake and will play for ultima before he plays for wandella... thanks current south backman!
Aparantley ultima need a couple more from bendigo to make it an even car load or 2 from bendigo !:D
HappyDayz
29 Aug 2006, 12:28
Aparantley ultima need a couple more from bendigo to make it an even car load or 2 from bendigo !:D
Apparently you need a truck load from bendigo or anywhere else for that matter. Did you really loose to Moula in a nail biter? Must have been a fair effort from your reserve team, how many of them backed up on the day?
telstra101
29 Aug 2006, 13:27
Apparently you need a truck load from bendigo or anywhere else for that matter. Did you really loose to Moula in a nail biter? Must have been a fair effort from your reserve team, how many of them backed up on the day?
your continual bagging of Ultima will neva grow old on me happy dayz, keep up the good work johnny mac :thumbsu:
DOCKERS
29 Aug 2006, 13:31
after watching you play aginst ultima happy dayz, i hope you played two games because you definately weren't up too it!
HappyDayz
29 Aug 2006, 14:17
after watching you play aginst ultima happy dayz, i hope you played two games because you definately weren't up too it!
Just checked my posts history Telstra and i don't beleive i've bagged Ultima (although i only went back as far as April). As for you dockers i was on the bench for probably 3 qtrs or so of the game because it had been decided i'd only come on to replace anyone injured. Unlucky for me Nick Dillon came off with a sore foot after playing on you and kicking 5 from a HFF. But hey at least you made a difference to the result, i'll give you that.
And i was serious about the backing up bit. We had 3 or 4 do it last game and it showed. The blues kicked 20 goals in a half. I was being sincere, i know you blokes were depleted. Sorry if you took offence but after some of your posts in recent weeks i really don't give a ****.
He would have lined up in the one's for Ultima though
Appin Vet
29 Aug 2006, 14:39
Will it matter much where the Preliminary Final is played anyway? Murrabit although a good side, too far off the pace.The top 2 sides are clearly Wakool and Nullawil. Nullawil by a lazy 6 goals GF day.
As far as Ultima goes... it is about time that they had their turn at the other end of the ladder. Had to come sooner or later. But MOULAMEIN??? C'mon fellas... Conrad Ivers isn't that surly that you can't tackle him.
HappyDayz
29 Aug 2006, 15:10
Thanks Catter but i'm done scrapping, time to get back to work. I hear you blokes had a fair workout Saturday arvo on the Swan Hill Rec Reserve. Maybe you should have trained on the Sunday at Kerang and get a feel for the surroundings... I was told that Woomalang (being in the same boat as you) requested a bit of a pracky match? You blokes certainly did the right thing by declining. Nully to win the big one by 4 goals.
I heard the story about W/L but no truth. Had a 3 hr training in the afternoon. It was good to have a good blow out. But all that hard work didn't mean much by 5 am watching Basil Faulty. Everyones fit and raring to go.:thumbsu:
super snooper
29 Aug 2006, 15:59
I heard the story about W/L but no truth. Had a 3 hr training in the afternoon. It was good to have a good blow out. But all that hard work didn't mean much by 5 am watching Basil Faulty. Everyones fit and raring to go.:thumbsu:
Catter, it seems strange to train saturday arvo, weren't too worried about wandella or Murrabit?
Of course we were interested, but our main focus is this weekend and we just need a good build up and be prepared. Blokes are coming back so they may be a bit underdone.
ROOBOY14
29 Aug 2006, 18:23
As long as its not a truck load of sh it like Quamby picked up this year we will be happy.
facts_rite
29 Aug 2006, 18:33
Well we have played Murrabit and Wandella twice each this year, dont think that it was necessary for us 2 go watch! All we needed to know was the results n hu played well. 3 hours of training was a great gesture from Bode and we should b peachy coming in2 the game satdy, hopfully anyway!! haha
Appin Vet
30 Aug 2006, 12:57
Well we have played Murrabit and Wandella twice each this year, dont think that it was necessary for us 2 go watch! All we needed to know was the results n hu played well. 3 hours of training was a great gesture from Bode and we should b peachy coming in2 the game satdy, hopfully anyway!! haha
After reading that piece of cockiness, I hope that Wakool come out and flog you blokes senseless. C'mon Harvs! Show the footy public why you are getting the money you are. Nothing would please me more than to see the Nully boys and their fickle supporter base with their tails between their legs holding hands and crying together.
telstra101
30 Aug 2006, 13:28
As long as its not a truck load of sh it like Quamby picked up this year we will be happy.
haha, still beat you mate, and would say that although not finishing higher on the ladder, quamby performed much better this season than last? considering they were left with only a handful of players, to have the season, although not as successful as some, was a positive looking forward to next season... If u are too pig headed to see that then pis off and stop wasting our time.
nully by 6 goals
After reading that piece of cockiness, I hope that Wakool come out and flog you blokes senseless. C'mon Harvs! Show the footy public why you are getting the money you are. Nothing would please me more than to see the Nully boys and their fickle supporter base with their tails between their legs holding hands and crying together.
Appin, tell me the last time we said anything remotely cocky. There a lot of Sh** talk on this site, but you ignorance takes the cake.:thumbsd:
Mark my words Wakool will smash nullawill in the finals ........mark my words,
Different game finals and i bet we will be talking about how wakool smashed nullawill by over 10 goals...you read it here first.
Footy Tripper
30 Aug 2006, 14:08
Mark my words Wakool will smash nullawill in the finals ........mark my words,
Different game finals and i bet we will be talking about how wakool smashed nullawill by over 10 goals...you read it here first.
I'm not like you Madpie and I can't predict the result, but when you say "Mark my words, different game finals" what do you mean by that. I agree that it is a different game, but hasn't Nully played in just about every finals series since joining the league in 1998, including 6 Grand Finals in this time? Mark my words, they would have more of an idea about finals than Wakool. Mark my words also that it should be a cracker of a game!
Footy Tripper
30 Aug 2006, 14:19
, but hasn't Nully played in just about every finals series since joining the league in 1998, including 6 Grand Finals in this time? ![/quote]
Private message informs me that it may only be 5 Grand Finals in this time, being 3 flags and 2 losses...my bad. But still a fair bit of finals experience hey Madpie
Appin Vet
30 Aug 2006, 14:56
I beleive this comment to be saturated with arrogance. It may have not been you Catter, but it sounds as though the Nully boys don't hold the other 3 finalists in high esteem at all. With Wandella out of the race now, Facts Rite might be eating some humble pie if Wakool and Murrabit get their acts together. It would have been a worthwhile exercise just to have a look at the 1st Semi. If Murrabit play like that for the rest of the finals series, they may well hold the Cup aloft come 16th September, 2006. I hate the thought of it and made my skin crawl just typing it! No time for arrogance this time of the year.
DOCKERS
30 Aug 2006, 15:10
haha, still beat you mate, and would say that although not finishing higher on the ladder, quamby performed much better this season than last? considering they were left with only a handful of players, to have the season, although not as successful as some, was a positive looking forward to next season... If u are too pig headed to see that then pis off and stop wasting our time.
nully by 6 goals
still beat us? only once, and we beat you by more than you beat us... you were at full strength the second time... we finished higher on the ladder and probably spent less money. i think it's fair to say we were better than you guys this year, morpy
Kick_it_2_me
30 Aug 2006, 16:41
still beat us? only once, and we beat you by more than you beat us... you were at full strength the second time... we finished higher on the ladder and probably spent less money. i think it's fair to say we were better than you guys this year, morpy
don't go starting to pick who people are on this u tosser! that's the point of every1 having an alias
DOCKERS
30 Aug 2006, 17:11
don't go starting to pick who people are on this u tosser! that's the point of every1 having an alias
how's the knee coming along, patrick?
Well Catter i believe their truth in this story Woomy were lookin to play Nully in all grades netball and footy but good decsion Bode:thumbsu:
facts_rite
30 Aug 2006, 22:04
No way near cockiness mate, if we were cocky then i dare say that all of the nully blokes would have been @ the footy sinkin tinnies. Instead, we decided 2 train on a SATURDAY trying to vasten our fitness and skills leading into the finals!! 2 weeks off isnt going to help us as Wakool played the last round of the year, earning the week off! We havnt played in that time mate, so try n tell me having a training run/match simulation was not more efficient than a day out @ the footy??
facts_rite
30 Aug 2006, 22:07
Well Catter i believe their truth in this story Woomy were lookin to play Nully in all grades netball and footy but good decsion Bode:thumbsu:
Can back up Keithy's comments here. The netballers were going to have a hit out of a thursdy nite, but was cancelled because W/L netballers didnt want to, which is fair enuff. Did not hear a word about the two teams having a hit out tho???
DOCKERS
30 Aug 2006, 22:12
No way near cockiness mate, if we were cocky then i dare say that all of the nully blokes would have been @ the footy sinkin tinnies. Instead, we decided 2 train on a SATURDAY trying to vasten our fitness and skills leading into the finals!! 2 weeks off isnt going to help us as Wakool played the last round of the year, earning the week off! We havnt played in that time mate, so try n tell me having a training run/match simulation was not more efficient than a day out @ the footy??
who said you have to drink at the footy? go and see if they have done anything different since the last time they played ya, or who's in and out possible match ups... all these things count
facts_rite
30 Aug 2006, 22:20
who said you have to drink at the footy? go and see if they have done anything different since the last time they played ya, or who's in and out possible match ups... all these things count
Its not like we didnt have someone there watchin the game mate, we had our sources there 4 sure. I was just making a statement that if there was cockiness then there would have been a cocky approach eg. drinkin @ the footy during finals
DOCKERS
30 Aug 2006, 22:25
Its not like we didnt have someone there watchin the game mate, we had our sources there 4 sure. I was just making a statement that if there was cockiness then there would have been a cocky approach eg. drinkin @ the footy during finals
i would think a good source would be your coach, wouldn't you
facts_rite
30 Aug 2006, 22:27
i would think a good source would be your coach, wouldn't you
Yes tru tru, wont argue with that! But what about the Selection committee?? They have a fair input 2 wat happens
Shows little respect to the opposition in my opinion. Whats wrong with training in the morning, going to Moula in the afternoon.
*NEWSFLASH* Nully out in straight sets due to lack of respect.:p
Shows little respect to the opposition in my opinion. Whats wrong with training in the morning, going to Moula in the afternoon.
Could be three years in a row.
the gloved 1
30 Aug 2006, 23:23
bit late to be trying to vasten your skills and fitness mith a maximum 3 games to go, maybe maintain fitness and skills would have been a better explanation
, but hasn't Nully played in just about every finals series since joining the league in 1998, including 6 Grand Finals in this time? !
Private message informs me that it may only be 5 Grand Finals in this time, being 3 flags and 2 losses...my bad. But still a fair bit of finals experience hey Madpie[/quote]That is, i agree but lets just wait and see when they play each other then we will continue the discussion
Footy Tripper
31 Aug 2006, 11:56
[/quote]That is, i agree but lets just wait and see when they play each other then we will continue the discussion[/quote]
No discussion to continue mate. You were the one saying "mark my words" this "mark my words" that about how finals is a different game and Wakool will win by 10 goals. I just pointed out that I think Nully would know that as they have the finals experience over the past 8 years, and Wakool haven't played finals for some time. I didn't predict a winner, i said it would be a cracker of a game, so I don't need a "told you so, I know everything" if Wakool do win. Because if they win it won't be because you predicted it.
PS. I still think it will be a great game:thumbsu:
Footy Tripper
31 Aug 2006, 12:01
I'm guessing by these posts that all the Wakool team members were at the game on Saturday, including the Melbourne players.....:confused: :confused:
I also questioned a Nully player about why not train in the morning, and due to some of the players having boys playing finals at Moulamein in the under 14's, they had training in the arvo. These fathers went to Moula, watched their kids play in the morning then went to training in the arvo.
super snooper
31 Aug 2006, 12:24
I'm guessing by these posts that all the Wakool team members were at the game on Saturday, including the Melbourne players.....:confused: :confused:
I also questioned a Nully player about why not train in the morning, and due to some of the players having boys playing finals at Moulamein in the under 14's, they had training in the arvo. These fathers went to Moula, watched their kids play in the morning then went to training in the arvo.
Not many wakool players in attendance. Greg Whelan did some work around his house instread.
telstra101
31 Aug 2006, 13:43
haha, you're an interesting man dockers, im not fussed that u say my name, i have never tried to hide who i am on the big footy website. If i had a crack at Ultima's recruits would u stick up for yourself?? I merely stuck up for myself and the QFC against ROOBOY14.
And dont worry DOCKERS, im not stupid, i do remember u embarrasing us in the night series, how could any of us forget, was extremely humiliating walking off the ground. And then both games were fairly even throughout the season, thought it showed the improvement the club made under dimma.. Thought it was a good little rivalry created on here between Ultima and Quambatook. Just ppl seem to be a little confused about the supposed money that QFC pays out. If u dont know facts (and this isnt directed at u, just in general), then dont comment.
And yes, you were better than us this yr, all i stated was that the QFC had improved this season with our supposed truck load of dud recruits. Which is true
Watched a couple of practice games in melb saw some wakool players having a run then went to melb uni game saw some more wakool players playing
ROOBOY14
31 Aug 2006, 14:35
haha, you're an interesting man dockers, im not fussed that u say my name, i have never tried to hide who i am on the big footy website. If i had a crack at Ultima's recruits would u stick up for yourself?? I merely stuck up for myself and the QFC against ROOBOY14.
And dont worry DOCKERS, im not stupid, i do remember u embarrasing us in the night series, how could any of us forget, was extremely humiliating walking off the ground. And then both games were fairly even throughout the season, thought it showed the improvement the club made under dimma.. Thought it was a good little rivalry created on here between Ultima and Quambatook. Just ppl seem to be a little confused about the supposed money that QFC pays out. If u dont know facts (and this isnt directed at u, just in general), then dont comment.
And yes, you were better than us this yr, all i stated was that the QFC had improved this season with our supposed truck load of dud recruits. Which is true
Telstra you are very sensitive about the QFC probably shouldn't have singled you out just taking out some frustrations after a very frustrating year at the UFC for all involved. Till we meet again in 2007 best of luck.
Too true Roo....:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
super snooper
1 Sep 2006, 12:03
So who will win the clash of the heavy weights? Looking forward to it, should be a top game.
Can Nully contain the dangerous wakool forwards?, Can wakool win enough ball in the mid feild to supply their forwards? Is wakools defence up to covering all of nully's avenues to goal? These questions will be answered, and a grand finalist will advance.
Got no idea who will win, but will say Nully by 27 points.
telstra101
1 Sep 2006, 13:34
no worries rooboy, yeah just got to point sick of all of us who went out there being slagged off as going there for money and are duds (i know i didnt get a kick but..), i think we improved the club, and the club would be very happy to have recruits that put there money back into the club.
all the best over your off season, lets hope we both recruit well and instead off fighting for 6th and 7th be fighting for a finals spot.
Nully should win, but who knows.. should be a cracker out at ultima.
HappyDayz
1 Sep 2006, 17:21
Telstra, with a poor harvest likely this year reports are that Quamby will be looking to spread the money more wisely next season and so unless you poll a vote on Saturday night you'll be paying for your own petrol next year.
P.S So if you do snag a vote or two will I be right for a ride each Tues/Thurs night in 2007?
That is, i agree but lets just wait and see when they play each other then we will continue the discussion[/quote]
No discussion to continue mate. You were the one saying "mark my words" this "mark my words" that about how finals is a different game and Wakool will win by 10 goals. I just pointed out that I think Nully would know that as they have the finals experience over the past 8 years, and Wakool haven't played finals for some time. I didn't predict a winner, i said it would be a cracker of a game, so I don't need a "told you so, I know everything" if Wakool do win. Because if they win it won't be because you predicted it.
PS. I still think it will be a great game:thumbsu:[/quote]WHATEVER
All the speculation of whom will get up in the 2nd semi will be determined in 24 hours, and being an egar on looka, I cant wait for proceedings to kick off. The dual in the centre will b great with Bode and Graham going head to head in the ruck with midfielders such as Whelan and Smith also going head to head. My opinion, the game will be one out of the centre. Whoever can give both potent 4wards 1st use will Advance 2 the Showdown in Kerang! Its 2 close for me 2 pick anyone, so im gunna throw me hat in2 the ring and say that the scores will be locked @ the final siren and have 2 go in2 extra time! :D
local lad
1 Sep 2006, 21:19
Looks like someone is still crying themselves after losing on the weekend maybe AV?
As for fickle supporter base, I don't know about that, Nully always seem to bring a fair contingent over when they play over our way. And I hear they make a lot of money in their goods and services auction each year, which comes directly from their so-called fickle supporters reaching into their pockets to donate goods and buy items on the night. I admire their off field efforts, some other clubs in the league could do a lot worse than take a leaf out of their book.
have you seen them with their tails between their legs, holding hands and crying after playing wandella in a final AV?
FLAMMABLE
1 Sep 2006, 21:31
how bout a few of use boys vote for who you think will win the granny on the [B]Winner of the GRFL grand final thread
Tassie Devil
9 Sep 2006, 19:47
What happened to the home club today at Murrabit. Was it a case of not good enough or not switched on. I though they might win considering Nullawils hard game last week.
Scrappa's Love Child
11 Sep 2006, 11:09
Ok boys, who is going to win the league medal tonight?
Would have to be out of Josh Bode and Shane Harvey wouldn't it?
TEE-R-OTTER
11 Sep 2006, 11:51
Bode, without a doubt... althought he does squeel like a girl towards the umpires i must say, which could go against him:p
backpocket93
11 Sep 2006, 14:10
I think you are right Bode has been the stand out player from Nully, probably got 6 votes against us and Harvey while he played OK,Wakool had multiply good players in our 2 games and would have only picked up votes because of who he is ( not knocking him, more of a reflection on Umpires, who would only be human by being aware of him)
Tim Robinson will win the rookie. Read his resume in the Record and at this stage of his career, his reads better than Smith ( Nully) and Millard (Murrabit).
Appin Vet
11 Sep 2006, 14:37
League B&F- Josh Bode from Shane Harvey and Matt Chamberlain.
Rookie- Tim Robinson from Arren Smith and Leigh Millard.
Congrats to Wakool and Nully on proving that u were the best 2 in the GRFL. Hope you turn it on for the spectators and please KdH.
Remember...
Winners are grinners and who remembers 2nd place!
Nothing against the Nully boys (Good people, Not arrogant nor fickle), but Wakool to win their first flag since 1990 by 4 goals.
Trent the flight Steward
11 Sep 2006, 15:23
what about dicko white boots golden tips sure to attract the umpires eye, is this man the crawford of the golden rivers
Footy Tripper
11 Sep 2006, 15:54
I'm going with a Nully Exacta....Josh Bode to beat Benny Parker, with Nullawils Grant Dunstone to win the Scooby Doo's!
HappyDayz
11 Sep 2006, 16:28
Just a few questions: -
6.30 Start is that correct? I'll be a bit late if this is the case fellas. Thanks Keith.
I wonder if Harvs will travel up to receive his award?
Has there been a seat saved on the Moula table for Rocket?
Also like the Sydney Swans I had a gut feeling that Nully's stenghth around the flanks would get them over the line in the G.F but i'm afraid to say as i have mates at nully, that with some shattered bones from Saturday, so has my belief. Wakool by 4 goals.
dazza08
11 Sep 2006, 23:18
i would like to ask a question to everyone, how come bodey can win the league b & f yet go missing in every final i've seen him play in? big games get to him? i thought good players step up when their team needs them....
my predictions for saturday... wakool by 5 goals, vcfl meadal - harvey
theteamplayer
12 Sep 2006, 00:36
Just a few questions: -
6.30 Start is that correct? I'll be a bit late if this is the case fellas. Thanks Keith.
I wonder if Harvs will travel up to receive his award?
Has there been a seat saved on the Moula table for Rocket?
Also like the Sydney Swans I had a gut feeling that Nully's stenghth around the flanks would get them over the line in the G.F but i'm afraid to say as i have mates at nully, that with some shattered bones from Saturday, so has my belief. Wakool by 4 goals.
Shattered bones?? please shed some light for the punters! Who are your mates out nully way??
Footy Tripper
12 Sep 2006, 09:56
i would like to ask a question to everyone, how come bodey can win the league b & f yet go missing in every final i've seen him play in? big games get to him? i thought good players step up when their team needs them....
You obviously weren't at Saturdays game there Dazza. Bodey stepped up big time with physical presence and won plenty of the ball. Was Nully's best easily!:thumbsu:
super snooper
12 Sep 2006, 10:53
Shattered bones?? please shed some light for the punters! Who are your mates out nully way??
Hardman and Maloney both broke their arms. May effect their premiership aspirations.
foxdoog50
12 Sep 2006, 13:56
Can someone tell me who got the most for each Club?
Appin Vet
12 Sep 2006, 15:33
If Wakool wins it will be because Greg Whelan has spoon fed Shane Harvey throughout the afternoon. Excellent user of the ball and is a 70m player. Either foot.
Speaking of distances... how far was Parkers goal at Murrabit??? Heard it was from the centre circle and went through half post height.
Appin Vet
12 Sep 2006, 15:41
what about dicko white boots golden tips sure to attract the umpires eye, is this man the crawford of the golden rivers
Trent,
I think it is fair to say that the way Dicko gets the attention from the Umpires and opposition teams is from his relentless run and accurate disposal. Anything else I can help you with mate?
Hugh Jars
12 Sep 2006, 16:18
I'm going with a Nully Exacta....Josh Bode to beat Benny Parker, with Nullawils Grant Dunstone to win the Scooby Doo's!
Nice little exacta there tripper, and throw in the RESERVES winner as well, all in a days work eh mate?:thumbsu:
Now can you look into that crystal ball for Saturday, and tell us what we want to hear?
Sockit151
12 Sep 2006, 16:20
Nice little exacta there tripper, and throw in the RESERVES winner as well, all in a days work eh mate?:thumbsu:
Now can you look into that crystal ball for Saturday, and tell us what we want to hear?
Can anyone give some details of the result??
Footy Tripper
12 Sep 2006, 16:33
Can anyone give some details of the result??
yeah Sockit if you look at one of ol Trippers previous posts he hit the nail right on the head.
Seniors Best and Fairest
Josh Bode (Nully) 25 votes
Ben Parker (Nully) 19 votes
Simon Morton (Murrabit) 19 Votes
Reserves Best and Fairest
Grant Dunstone (Nully) 19 votes
Tim Coffey (Nully) 13 votes
Lachie Allison (Quamby) 13 votes
and as I look into my crystal ball for the last time this season I see......................................................... ..................................... ....................................................... Nully by 17 points:thumbsu:
Sockit151
12 Sep 2006, 16:53
yeah Sockit if you look at one of ol Trippers previous posts he hit the nail right on the head.
Seniors Best and Fairest
Josh Bode (Nully) 25 votes
Ben Parker (Nully) 19 votes
Simon Morton (Murrabit) 19 Votes
Reserves Best and Fairest
Grant Dunstone (Nully) 19 votes
Tim Coffey (Nully) 13 votes
Lachie Allison (Quamby) 13 votes
and as I look into my crystal ball for the last time this season I see......................................................... ..................................... ....................................................... Nully by 17 points:thumbsu:
What happened to the Hawks? Too even to get a player into the top 3??
Absolutely
12 Sep 2006, 17:59
What happened to the Hawks? Too even to get a player into the top 3??
I noticed there was a stretch of 2 or 3 games where Harvs was averaging double figures and he didn't poll a vote and finished about 4th. There next tear of top players did pinch them.
Also great effort by Maher, and Josh Logan especially, who came equal 6th playing for the bottom team. Very consistant years picking up lots of 1s and 2s. I think Pickering from Ultima also polled well from teams from the bottom half.:thumbsu:
backpocket93
13 Sep 2006, 11:03
Can someone tell me who got the most for each Club?
Bode Nully 25
Morton Murrabit 19
Parker Nully 19
Chamberlain Wandella 16
Harvey Wakool 16
Maher Q'Took 15
Logan Moulamein 15
Bunyan Hay 15
Pearce Macorna 14
Dickson Wandella 12
Hein Murrabit 11
Whelan Wakool 10
Smith Nully 10
Lawry I think was best for Ultima
Appin Vet
13 Sep 2006, 12:13
Hey facts rite,
Just wondering if you could enlighten me on the Ben Parker bomb that sailed thru half post height. Was it from the centre circle as reported? Bloody big kick if true.
TEE-R-OTTER
13 Sep 2006, 12:38
Hey facts rite,
Just wondering if you could enlighten me on the Ben Parker bomb that sailed thru half post height. Was it from the centre circle as reported? Bloody big kick if true.
centre square more than centre circle....
Nully was kicking to the river end, he was slightly towards the canteen from the centre line, wind behind him, he roosted it from about 70m i'd say...
big kick...
Footy Tripper
13 Sep 2006, 13:03
centre square more than centre circle....
Nully was kicking to the river end, he was slightly towards the canteen from the centre line, wind behind him, he roosted it from about 70m i'd say...
big kick...
I'd guess half way between the centre circle and the start of the square. I'm with you Tee-r-otter, would guess about 70-75m was where he kicked it from, but it did go through post high, dropping quickly though
Bode Nully 25
Morton Murrabit 19
Parker Nully 19
Chamberlain Wandella 16
Harvey Wakool 16
Maher Q'Took 15
Logan Moulamein 15
Bunyan Hay 15
Pearce Macorna 14
Dickson Wandella 12
Hein Murrabit 11
Whelan Wakool 10
Smith Nully 10
Lawry I think was best for Ultima
I couldnt help but notice that Jason Pickering polled well early, is he the so called "J-Train"??
super snooper
13 Sep 2006, 13:34
Was a massive goal by Parker. He sure can kick the ball, although his problem of late has been getting the ball. Seems that he is only interested in winning the ball when he is 20m clear.
Obviously a very dangerous player, he must be carrying injury, coz his finals form has been dissappointing. He only broke away in the final quarter last saturday when the blues could no longer afford to defend.
Needs to lift on Saturday, and will, unless Wakool pay attention to him.
foxdoog50
13 Sep 2006, 13:39
Nully by 31 points Ben Parker will be b.o.g
Appin Vet
13 Sep 2006, 14:10
Nully by 31 points Ben Parker will be b.o.g
I know Parker can play. But I think Nully have received too many injuries of late and Wakool have had the extra rest. Nully will be competitive for 2 1/2 qtrs on heart alone but the class of Wakools midfield will rise. Thus feeding Harvey's and Thorpe's appetite for goals. Just can't see Nully keeping up with the pace for the whole day.
Harvey has kicked 22 goals in the last 2 meetings. How do you stop him??? He has proven that taking him to the boundary isn't quite the tactic. Chloroform and a rag in his taggers sock may be the only answer.
behind_post
13 Sep 2006, 20:40
I couldnt help but notice that Jason Pickering polled well early, is he the so called "J-Train"??
i thort everyone must have forgotten about the j-train. have not heard anything from the wandella locals as to whether he will be pulling on a jumper. but i can give u all some great news since talking to the great one recently, it is true about recommencing he's career there. so watch out for the wandella boys next year. he'd be a sure thing to create an impact much similar to harveys this year
TEE-R-OTTER
13 Sep 2006, 23:38
i thort everyone must have forgotten about the j-train. have not heard anything from the wandella locals as to whether he will be pulling on a jumper. but i can give u all some great news since talking to the great one recently, it is true about recommencing he's career there. so watch out for the wandella boys next year. he'd be a sure thing to create an impact much similar to harveys this year
So the J-Train is...
Chris Judd :eek:
or maybe
Jason Johnson, Mark Johnson, Courtney Johns??
Impact similar to Harvey.... Doubtful unless it is one of these...
super snooper
14 Sep 2006, 00:22
So the J-Train is...
Chris Judd :eek:
or maybe
Jason Johnson, Mark Johnson, Courtney Johns??
Impact similar to Harvey.... Doubtful unless it is one of these...
the J train is julian lake?
TEE-R-OTTER
14 Sep 2006, 09:47
the J train is julian lake?
Ok we have established that the J-train is Julian Lake....
So now who da **** is Julian Lake?:confused:
Appin Vet
14 Sep 2006, 09:50
Is it Jugga Scott??
(prolific ball winner)
Is it Allen Jakovich??
(enough said)
Is it Jason Akermanis??
(let us prey)
Does anybody know who this 'J-Train' is? Could it be Jason Greenwood??
behind_post
14 Sep 2006, 10:33
Ok we have established that the J-train is Julian Lake....
So now who da **** is Julian Lake?:confused:
the j-train is not julian lake, as stated in earlier posts!!!
i don't even think he has played at wandella before
Trent the flight Steward
14 Sep 2006, 10:42
the j-train is not julian lake, as stated in earlier posts!!!
i don't even think he has played at wandella before
The J-Train is not lakes, the J-Train spent the the year 02 at bomberland managing only 6 games through injury i hear he is keen to repay the club, has been training the house down with frankston in the VFl where his cousin plays
Appin Vet
14 Sep 2006, 12:17
Is the J-train Jemaul O'Neil??
Is it Jeremy Dean??
Is it Jester Prendergast??
Is it Jarrod Phelan??
Is it Julian Pollard??
It can't be James Gillies because he is still at Wandella...
The suspence is killing me!!
Trent the flight Steward
14 Sep 2006, 13:23
Is the J-train Jemaul O'Neil??
Is it Jeremy Dean??
Is it Jester Prendergast??
Is it Jarrod Phelan??
Is it Julian Pollard??
It can't be James Gillies because he is still at Wandella...
The suspence is killing me!!
Lets hope to god its not Julian Pollard, i wouldnt be surprised next time i see him to be in a wheelchair as his body has fallen apart finally
super snooper
14 Sep 2006, 13:55
Good guessing vet, it has to be julian Pollard.
Now that we have resolved that, lets discuss the grand final that is only two days away.
Will the wide expanses of riverside park suit Nully or Wakool? Nully have played in 4 grand finals at the venue, while Wakool haven't even trained there. Can be a tricky ground to play too, usually windy and unusually large.
Can Nully recover from two solid hit outs, and cover the injuries to Hardman and Parker? Korp will return, and maybe Tony Doran my slot in as well. Wakool on the other hand will be at full strength, but perhaps short of a run? Not a lot of training goes on out Wakool way (or Melbourne way).
Is it possible to win a premiership without complete team unity and harmony? Normally i would say no, but Wakool may be the first to do it.
Shall be a battle of the midfield and forwards with both side boasting average defensive units. Nully's back half contains Humphries and Barbetti who are both very good stoppers, but otherwise lack depth, class and a suitable match up for Harvey. They will need a plan to combat harvey, not like the second semi, when they played mediocre opponents on him and gave them no support. Whoever gets the job will need help from another defender (or ruckman) who zones off and plays the third man up role.
Wakools defence is probably worse. Doyle holds them together, Carroll is ok, but the rest are only just. Hobson on Hewitt is a no no, and wheatly is the most unaccountable back flanker to play the game. Nully need to get a dangerous player on wheatly and hurt him on the scoreboard.
So it comes down to who wins the pill in the midfield, coz whoever does will score and score heavily. Nully's midfield had a bad day two weeks ago, but were much better last week. Still didn't dominate the stoppages as they usually do though, with B Smith being tagged out of it and Bode not clearly winning taps. Wakool need to watch the Bode/ Smith combination. Parker needs to stop playing like a lady, and run hard, and if he does that Nully's midfield looks complete.
Wakool were excellent out of the centre at Ultima. They rotated their onballers of the bench with good effect and won the overall battle. Pollock rucked well, although bode should give more opposition this time around. Nully need to limit the amount of ball that whelan wins, coz every touch he gets is quality. Kearney is also a good ball winner and may warrant attention.
Nully probably still have the edge in this department... just.
All that said, still not sure who will win. should be a ripper, Maybe Harvey swings me to say Wakool, but don't be suprised if the Hawks self destruct.:thumbsu:
HappyDayz
14 Sep 2006, 14:15
Great work Snoop:thumbsu:. Clifton, its not too late to cut and paste the above for your Friday write up...
How many Wakool players that will be actually playing this weekend will be at training tonight. My guess is 10. I hope im wrong, what a great grand final training it would be if this was true.
super snooper
15 Sep 2006, 00:01
How many Wakool players that will be actually playing this weekend will be at training tonight. My guess is 10. I hope im wrong, what a great grand final training it would be if this was true.
Harvey, Graham, Wheatly, Thorpe, Harrison, Beattie, Carroll, Thompson, Schollar, Smith, Kearney all travel, plus pretty sure that lashbrook and gleeson are away at uni. So 10 on the track would be a good result.
Good guessing vet, it has to be julian Pollard.
Now that we have resolved that, lets discuss the grand final that is only two days away.
Will the wide expanses of riverside park suit Nully or Wakool? Nully have played in 4 grand finals at the venue, while Wakool haven't even trained there. Can be a tricky ground to play too, usually windy and unusually large.
Can Nully recover from two solid hit outs, and cover the injuries to Hardman and Parker? Korp will return, and maybe Tony Doran my slot in as well. Wakool on the other hand will be at full strength, but perhaps short of a run? Not a lot of training goes on out Wakool way (or Melbourne way).
Is it possible to win a premiership without complete team unity and harmony? Normally i would say no, but Wakool may be the first to do it.
Shall be a battle of the midfield and forwards with both side boasting average defensive units. Nully's back half contains Humphries and Barbetti who are both very good stoppers, but otherwise lack depth, class and a suitable match up for Harvey. They will need a plan to combat harvey, not like the second semi, when they played mediocre opponents on him and gave them no support. Whoever gets the job will need help from another defender (or ruckman) who zones off and plays the third man up role.
Wakools defence is probably worse. Doyle holds them together, Carroll is ok, but the rest are only just. Hobson on Hewitt is a no no, and wheatly is the most unaccountable back flanker to play the game. Nully need to get a dangerous player on wheatly and hurt him on the scoreboard.
So it comes down to who wins the pill in the midfield, coz whoever does will score and score heavily. Nully's midfield had a bad day two weeks ago, but were much better last week. Still didn't dominate the stoppages as they usually do though, with B Smith being tagged out of it and Bode not clearly winning taps. Wakool need to watch the Bode/ Smith combination. Parker needs to stop playing like a lady, and run hard, and if he does that Nully's midfield looks complete.
Wakool were excellent out of the centre at Ultima. They rotated their onballers of the bench with good effect and won the overall battle. Pollock rucked well, although bode should give more opposition this time around. Nully need to limit the amount of ball that whelan wins, coz every touch he gets is quality. Kearney is also a good ball winner and may warrant attention.
Nully probably still have the edge in this department... just.
All that said, still not sure who will win. should be a ripper, Maybe Harvey swings me to say Wakool, but don't be suprised if the Hawks self destruct.:thumbsu:Well snooper l think you are wrong most of the wakool side have played in kerang remember there are four players from the winning u17 side that are playing in the GF.I think that you should get off this site your comments are wrong on all fronts
I made the effort to drive from melb to wakool i counted 27 players training and they have only got one team playing in the GF Was all of nully training havent they got players living in melb that travel as well
super snooper
15 Sep 2006, 09:16
Well snooper l think you are wrong most of the wakool side have played in kerang remember there are four players from the winning u17 side that are playing in the GF.I think that you should get off this site your comments are wrong on all fronts
Does four players equal the majority of the side meehan?:thumbsd:
Appin Vet
15 Sep 2006, 09:52
Does it matter where the players come from?? Still wearing the same jumper. As for the harmony of the Wakool side, it didn't prove the case when the 2 sides met a fortnight ago. Who kicks 8 goals to zip in the last quarter of a 2nd Semi and not be in harmony with each other.
Appin Vet
15 Sep 2006, 09:56
Hey Snoop,
You do realise that the 'Julian Pollard' comment was and still is dripping with sarcasm. Was a handy player b4 his body gave way.
Tassie Devil
15 Sep 2006, 10:05
Does four players equal the majority of the side meehan?:thumbsd:
Not getting too involved with this one but the following have played at Kerang that i know of.
Thompson, Pollock - Kerang
Thorpe, Harrison & 2 Whelans -Barham
Doyle, Loomes, Gleeson, Lashbrook, Lahy, McNaul - Under 17's GF's
Thomson, Hobson, Carroll - have attended previous GF and know the ground.
The ground should not make the difference as to me the winner will be the team who plays better on the day.This has been the case every time they have played so far and I can't see it changing. (although it does assist Nullawil due to it being an East - West ground the same as their ground) There is no clear favourite in this one. Even the injuries to Nullawil means nothing due to their strong player base in the 2's.
Footy Tripper
15 Sep 2006, 12:50
I made the effort to drive from melb to wakool i counted 27 players training and they have only got one team playing in the GF Was all of nully training havent they got players living in melb that travel as well
Yes Meehan I made my way to Nully last night and they had a healthy 44 on the track, but you would expect that with two teams in the Granny.
Also have noticed that a lot of people who were on this site before the 2nd semi pumping Wakool's tyres up aren't saying anything this week. They were obviously all players that have been told to keep off this site...would that be a fair assumption???
super snooper
15 Sep 2006, 13:16
Not getting too involved with this one but the following have played at Kerang that i know of.
The ground should not make the difference as to me the winner will be the team who plays better on the day.This has been the case every time they have played so far and I can't see it changing. (although it does assist Nullawil due to it being an East - West ground the same as their ground) There is no clear favourite in this one. Even the injuries to Nullawil means nothing due to their strong player base in the 2's.
''Will the wide expanses of riverside park suit Nully or Wakool? Nully have played in 4 grand finals at the venue, while Wakool haven't even trained there. Can be a tricky ground to play too, usually windy and unusually large.''
Well pointed out Taz. maybe a poorly researched comment by myself, just posing the question though. Good to see some respone.
So we have determined that the venue won't be a deciding factor.:thumbsu:
LENNY69
15 Sep 2006, 15:11
Hobson has also played in 2 senior finals for murrabit on the Kerang ground.
LENNY69
15 Sep 2006, 15:18
What does everyone think about the umpires who will be doing the games tomorrow?
Peter H & Lefty - Seniors
Brian & Brent H - Seconds
Mick & Geoff - Thirds
From what i have seen this year i thought maybe young Brent Howden could have been in the mix for the senior game
Appin Vet
15 Sep 2006, 15:39
Peter Howden hurt his hamstring again in the 1st Semi at Moultown and may be doubtful. Really need to umpire this game bcoz he is the best we have.