View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
super snooper
15 Sep 2006, 15:58
What does everyone think about the umpires who will be doing the games tomorrow?
Peter H & Lefty - Seniors
Brian & Brent H - Seconds
Mick & Geoff - Thirds
From what i have seen this year i thought maybe young Brent Howden could have been in the mix for the senior game
Brent Howden is average, his old man much better.
Yes Meehan I made my way to Nully last night and they had a healthy 44 on the track, but you would expect that with two teams in the Granny.
Also have noticed that a lot of people who were on this site before the 2nd semi pumping Wakool's tyres up aren't saying anything this week. They were obviously all players that have been told to keep off this site...would that be a fair assumption???
Yes i agree you would expect nully to have more at training the other part i think players from both clubs have been on here and surpporters
backpocket93
16 Sep 2006, 10:17
Here it is G/F morning. Perfect day for footy . No breeze to speak about at the moment, more likely it will get up as the day goes on but I don't think it will be to bad, no excuses for any team and given that then, Wakool to win, Murrabit in the Reserves, Hay to return the favour in the Thirds and Wandella to go through undefeated in the Fourths. Any way I better get off to footy, had to wait for some people to have a shower so I thought I do my tips for today.
Fletcher
16 Sep 2006, 10:58
I noticed there was a stretch of 2 or 3 games where Harvs was averaging double figures and he didn't poll a vote and finished about 4th. There next tear of top players did pinch them.
Also great effort by Maher, and Josh Logan especially, who came equal 6th playing for the bottom team. Very consistant years picking up lots of 1s and 2s. I think Pickering from Ultima also polled well from teams from the bottom half.:thumbsu:
Pickering has always been popular with the umpires its like when a grey runs in the Melbourne Cup no matter how the perform they get noticed! He has also been known to go and have a beer and a shower with them after some games, im not saying that its a bad thing he spends time with the umps I just think it may influence there votes at times!:)
Congrats to Thorpey - whilst I never wanted Rumba to beat us when they were Yea's CGFL opponents Im delilghted that Thorpey got himself a flag after 2 runners-ups in 04 & 05 :thumbsu:
DOCKERS
17 Sep 2006, 15:59
what an end to a superb season of footy yesterday, perfect day and a thrilling match, well done wakool. just a point of interest, has anyone seen josh bode, apparently he went missing yesterday(saturday) at around 2:30 and hasn't been seen since, anyone with information, can you please contact the nullawil football club?
DOCKERS i think he has been pollishing his B & F medal mate. Do you know what one of them look like?? Nah didnt think so.
Tassie Devil
17 Sep 2006, 17:40
DOCKERS i think he has been pollishing his B & F medal mate. Do you know what one of them look like?? Nah didnt think so.[/quote]
Plenty of ppl know what they look like, and he had a shocker and didnt get much of the ball at any stage.
Was a nail bitter in the end and how they can justify the 35+ minute quarters is a mistory. Very hard on both teams on a hot day.
Well done to Wakool who have shut a few knockers up. All the players attended the post game wake along with plenty of there families also there. I think they are a closer team of players than many think.
Thomson umpires medal was a disgrace and followed the way they controlled the second half. BOG could of gone to a number of players from each team.
Overall a great game for the crowd they enjoyed it just a pitty only one team could win.
DOCKERS i think he has been pollishing his B & F medal mate. Do you know what one of them look like?? Nah didnt think so.
Plenty of ppl know what they look like, and he had a shocker and didnt get much of the ball at any stage.
Was a nail bitter in the end and how they can justify the 35+ minute quarters is a mistory. Very hard on both teams on a hot day.
Well done to Wakool who have shut a few knockers up. All the players attended the post game wake along with plenty of there families also there. I think they are a closer team of players than many think.
Thomson umpires medal was a disgrace and followed the way they controlled the second half. BOG could of gone to a number of players from each team.
Overall a great game for the crowd they enjoyed it just a pitty only one team could win.[/quote]Yes Great game interesting to see the parker charge both umpires wright and doyle had a clear view was a disgrace no report how do i know caught on dvd
TEE-R-OTTER
18 Sep 2006, 12:10
Yes Great game interesting to see the parker charge both umpires wright and doyle had a clear view was a disgrace no report how do i know caught on dvd[/quote]
I assume you are talking about the bump on Ash Hobson?
The umpires set the standard in the second semi when young Lashbrook over -ran the ball and laid out Jayson Moloney with the head-high hit with his forearm.
Result - 15min break on the pine
The Parker bump was within the parameters of a fair bump, arm tucked in, Ash was holding onto the ball and so forth.
Similar in some ways to the Giansiracusa bump on Koschitzke, poor Ash just didn’t see Parker coming and was not braced for the contact.
Result - Well the only disgraceful thing to come out of it was the fact the league had played three grand finals that day without the access to a stretcher!!
Shame shame Mr den Houting and your merry men….
Mallee Mick
18 Sep 2006, 16:29
Tassie, what a great game to watch!!! If you think that Thompson wasn't the best (which he wasn't) who do you think should have got the Medal. Both sides had great players such as Harvey (8.7), Graham and G.Whelan for the Hawks. I thought Hogan (4 goals), Hewitt (6 goals) and B.Smith for Nully. Tassie you played in the game what are your thoughts???
super snooper
18 Sep 2006, 16:43
Best grand final in recent memory. looked to be all over at half time, but nully staged a brave comeback. last quarter was sensational, looked like nully were going to come over the top, but wakool ralled with two goals against the flow.
umpires must have been disillusioned by the heat to award thomson BOG. what a mockery of a highly coveted award. there was a host of great players from both sides. the candidates would be kearney, harvey, or doyle from wakool or hogan and hewitt from nully. My pick would be Harvey, because he was the difference, and had the greatest influence on the match.
He is the best player seen in the grfl and manufactures goals from nothing. all wakool needed to do was get the ball in his area, and he was a chance to goal.
well done to wakool, proved to be the best side in the comp. (even if it did cost a cool $125k);)
Best grand final in recent memory. looked to be all over at half time, but nully staged a brave comeback. last quarter was sensational, looked like nully were going to come over the top, but wakool ralled with two goals against the flow.
umpires must have been disillusioned by the heat to award thomson BOG. what a mockery of a highly coveted award. there was a host of great players from both sides. the candidates would be kearney, harvey, or doyle from wakool or hogan and hewitt from nully. My pick would be Harvey, because he was the difference, and had the greatest influence on the match.
He is the best player seen in the grfl and manufactures goals from nothing. all wakool needed to do was get the ball in his area, and he was a chance to goal.
well done to wakool, proved to be the best side in the comp. (even if it did cost a cool $125k);)
Wasn,t doyle BOG and a cool 125 maybe you should come to the wakool AGM and find out i think you are wrong again Nully only got back in the game because of very poor umpiring the dvd confirms it maybe you should take time out and veiw it
Yes Great game interesting to see the parker charge both umpires wright and doyle had a clear view was a disgrace no report how do i know caught on dvd
I assume you are talking about the bump on Ash Hobson?
The umpires set the standard in the second semi when young Lashbrook over -ran the ball and laid out Jayson Moloney with the head-high hit with his forearm.
Result - 15min break on the pine
The Parker bump was within the parameters of a fair bump, arm tucked in, Ash was holding onto the ball and so forth.
Similar in some ways to the Giansiracusa bump on Koschitzke, poor Ash just didn’t see Parker coming and was not braced for the contact.
Result - Well the only disgraceful thing to come out of it was the fact the league had played three grand finals that day without the access to a stretcher!!
Shame shame Mr den Houting and your merry men….[/quote]
Read the rule book parker should have got a yellow just like lashbrook it was the same umpire on both times one rule for nully another for wakool
telstra101
18 Sep 2006, 17:13
Wasn,t doyle BOG and a cool 125 maybe you should come to the wakool AGM and find out i think you are wrong again Nully only got back in the game because of very poor umpiring the dvd confirms it maybe you should take time out and veiw it
well done to wakool. dont think the money should be an issue, as long as the club survives and is happy, then no one else should complain. Missed the game due to footy trip, but would love to get me hands on the game, by all accounts was a great game.
LENNY69
18 Sep 2006, 17:38
Well SS just finished reading the Guardian to quote 'David Thomson was magnificent in the backline particularly in the dying stages'.
Are you sure you were at the right game?
local lad
18 Sep 2006, 18:03
I would hate to have seen what you would have been like if Wakool lost Meehan because you are proving to be a very poor winner:thumbsd:
All you've done is bag the umpires and given nully no credit for their effort in the game, simply saying the umpires got them back in it. I would like to think that your attitude towards what was a great grand final is not typical of most other Wakool players/supporters.
You talk about how all the players went back to Wakool after the game which shows how committed they are to the club and how much they love the place. Bullshi t, wonder what it would have been like had they lost..................
super snooper
18 Sep 2006, 18:36
Lenny your creditability just took a severe blow. thomson was magnificent in the dying stages, taking two consecutive saving marks, but did little else and and was far from BOG.
can you honestly tell me that thomson had greater influence on the game than harvey, kearney, doyle, etc, etc.
what do others think?
LENNY69
18 Sep 2006, 19:00
Lenny your creditability just took a severe blow. thomson was magnificent in the dying stages, taking two consecutive saving marks, but did little else and and was far from BOG.
can you honestly tell me that thomson had greater influence on the game than harvey, kearney, doyle, etc, etc.
what do others think?
Snoop, dont get personal old mate, merely pointing out what was written in the Guardian. Would have to agree that one or two players from either side were worthy of the medal. Great game though!!
I would hate to have seen what you would have been like if Wakool lost Meehan because you are proving to be a very poor winner:thumbsd:
All you've done is bag the umpires and given nully no credit for their effort in the game, simply saying the umpires got them back in it. I would like to think that your attitude towards what was a great grand final is not typical of most other Wakool players/supporters.
You talk about how all the players went back to Wakool after the game which shows how committed they are to the club and how much they love the place. Bullshi t, wonder what it would have been like had they lost..................
I am not a wakool local i umpire in melbourne was at the sec/semi and GF parkers was the same as lashbrook I was told the umpire that sent lashbrook off was howden he was correct saturday was wright he was wrong and saw him make quite a few basic errors like not looking at the goal umpire who signaled out on the full it gave nully a goal ,the head area is protected every umpires knows this ,the problem here is its on dvd and I surpose you dont like that
DOCKERS
18 Sep 2006, 21:06
haven't got one of those but i'm sure josh would've much rathered a premeirship medal to polish, but if all he plays for is personal glory, good on him. he certainly didn't play like a league medal winner on saturday! many people measure how good a player is on how they perform when it counts, he certainly hasn't shown much when pressure is on
DOCKERS
18 Sep 2006, 21:11
I am not a wakool local i umpire in melbourne was at the sec/semi and GF parkers was the same as lashbrook I was told the umpire that sent lashbrook off was howden he was correct saturday was wright he was wrong and saw him make quite a few basic errors like not looking at the goal umpire who signaled out on the full it gave nully a goal ,the head area is protected every umpires knows this ,the problem here is its on dvd and I surpose you dont like that
parker jumped off the ground and it was a forearm to the head, the fact that it was called play on sums up the shocking year of umpiring in the GRFL..
I agree I did not see all games but umpiring is not that bad just some basic errors
buddy buddy
18 Sep 2006, 22:29
Overall a great game for the crowd they enjoyed it just a pitty only one team could win.[/quote]
Tassie why were they attending a wake? Don't you celebrate after winning a flag? A wake is something that occurs when something/someone dies. Is your choice of words proving that the Wakool people believe that thier club may have played thier last games in the league?
dazza08
18 Sep 2006, 23:09
totally agree there dockers, a players reputation can be made during finals (ash connick) and i'm sorry to say the past three years j.bode has made a reputation for himself
That would be the same Ash Connick who has 2 VCFL medals for best ons in GF's would it Dazza? He has played in about 8 GF's and has played poorly in 3 which are the last 3 and the only one's you've seen. I also saw Bode play a fantastic game when Boga beat Swan Hill in the CMFL granny a few years back. I know both blokes pretty well so unless your record is as good as these 2 maybe pipe down. Your past posts indicate you dont like Bodey, taking cheap shots on here isn't real brave.
TEE-R-OTTER
19 Sep 2006, 11:22
what do others think?
Have to agree with you snoop, thomson was lucky to receive the medal, he did struggle all day to find a match up that suited him, he may have even moved forward at one stage??
However, he did take two marks in the last quarter and the quarters being so long and the heat and all, the umpires may have forgotten who played well throughout the day?? :p
Just like they forgot to blow the whistle on a few occasions.:thumbsd:
Clearly Harvey was best on ground(and in the air and body on body) he was the difference between the teams simple...
carntheblue&whitehoops
19 Sep 2006, 12:46
from what i hear nully have spent more money than wakool, i hear nully went out and baught more players after wakool beat them early on in the year. i hear the umpires were shocking and that they let nully back into the game.
super snooper
19 Sep 2006, 13:22
Have to agree with you snoop, thomson was lucky to receive the medal, he did struggle all day to find a match up that suited him, he may have even moved forward at one stage??
However, he did take two marks in the last quarter and the quarters being so long and the heat and all, the umpires may have forgotten who played well throughout the day?? :p
Just like they forgot to blow the whistle on a few occasions.:thumbsd:
Clearly Harvey was best on ground(and in the air and body on body) he was the difference between the teams simple...
great minds think alike trotter:thumbsu:
super snooper
19 Sep 2006, 13:24
from what i hear nully have spent more money than wakool, i hear nully went out and baught more players after wakool beat them early on in the year. i hear the umpires were shocking and that they let nully back into the game.
un-informed comment hoops. nully did spend money, but no where near as much.
iamfooty
19 Sep 2006, 13:40
what do others think?
I must have been p i s s e d or at the wrong game but it was Jono Doyle who was awarded the VCFL medal for best on ground, not David Thompson. Thommo got an umpires award or something. Harvey and Kearney were clearly the two best on the ground, but Hogan couldn't have been far off. He got about 20 kicks in the last quarter and almost single handedly won them the game. Thank god for a bloke called Harvey hey Wakool fans?...
oneteaspoon86
19 Sep 2006, 13:46
"We're a happy team at wakooolll........ "
That is correct young Jono Doyle received Best on Ground, Thommo received Umpires award.
Wakool's defence was strong and consistant, so there were 2 worthy winners.
Was a great exciting game in the dieing stages, the best team came through & won.
Definately wasn't a 'wake' as someone previously called it out at wakool on the weekend, there was a club function organised no matter what the result was, with all players planning on attending. And a great turn out there was.
The Wakool locals and community are extremely proud of their efforts this year.
Can only be a big boost for the Wakool FNC for 2007.
GO THE HAWKS!
wazzabp
19 Sep 2006, 14:12
Congratulations to Wakool, my dad lives up there, so I usually take a bit of notice to see how they are going.
I must have been p i s s e d or at the wrong game but it was Jono Doyle who was awarded the VCFL medal for best on ground, not David Thompson. Thommo got an umpires award or something. Harvey and Kearney were clearly the two best on the ground, but Hogan couldn't have been far off. He got about 20 kicks in the last quarter and almost single handedly won them the game. Thank god for a bloke called Harvey hey Wakool fans?...
Yes you were ****ed thank god nully had hewitt and I will repeat the only reason nully got back inthe game was poor umpiring check free kick count in the last term remember four goals from 50,s
super snooper
19 Sep 2006, 19:53
thomson got the umpires vote for best on ground.
Straunchie59
19 Sep 2006, 22:06
No i dont think so but i have heard that ben parker will be staying on and bode, hardman,atkin and their is a fair chance that parkers brother Sammy will come down as well to play next year.
backpocket93
19 Sep 2006, 22:34
Congrats to Wakool, Forget about the umpires, Nully probably lost the game during the second quarter when they left Atkin on Harvey (5/6 goals at half time) when he had no idea how to stop him. Interesting that after Atkin went elsewhere Nully started to win more of the ball and Wakool's loose defence started giving up more goals. The umpires giving an award to Thomson is the reason why they don't give out the VCFL medal. Not bad to win an G/F award for a couple good marks, important that they were.
Well done to Nully in the Reserves. I thought with two players going up into the Seniors they might not make it. Murrabit lead 7 goals to 5 at one stage but certainly ran out of petrol tickets after that. Ricky Sheahan didn't win any friends with his antics running into an open goal either.
Hay were just to strong in the thirds and Trent Garner was a worthy winner of the VCFL medal. And the Wandella fourths undefeated all year was a good effort, couple of promising kids running around there
Tassie Devil
19 Sep 2006, 22:56
Tassie, what a great game to watch!!! If you think that Thompson wasn't the best (which he wasn't) who do you think should have got the Medal. Both sides had great players such as Harvey (8.7), Graham and G.Whelan for the Hawks. I thought Hogan (4 goals), Hewitt (6 goals) and B.Smith for Nully. Tassie you played in the game what are your thoughts???
MM wish i was still playing but thats another story.
After finaly getting a look at this DVD of the game, Id say Doyle can hold his head high about his award as he didnt give his oponent's much all day. Yes many other players - Graham, Kearney, Wheatley also but Harvey was again brilliant, not many players can do what he does with ease. Hogan, Hewitt and Smith best for Nulliwil.
Also the Parker issue is very interesting as it clearly shows him jump upwards off the ground at Hobson, with umpire looking at it from close range. Was definately worth a card and the goal not allowed.
Has anyone from other clubs seen it to comment.
LENNY69
20 Sep 2006, 09:35
Yes you were ****ed thank god nully had hewitt and I will repeat the only reason nully got back inthe game was poor umpiring check free kick count in the last term remember four goals from 50,s
Stick to writing Harry Potter novels!! I was also at the game and remember a set shot on the boundary from Hewitt when he kicked a goal, and Hogan's goal on the run,both in the last quarter, need to go on ?
Facts peanut, not fiction.
dazza08
20 Sep 2006, 17:41
That would be the same Ash Connick who has 2 VCFL medals for best ons in GF's would it Dazza? He has played in about 8 GF's and has played poorly in 3 which are the last 3 and the only one's you've seen. I also saw Bode play a fantastic game when Boga beat Swan Hill in the CMFL granny a few years back. I know both blokes pretty well so unless your record is as good as these 2 maybe pipe down. Your past posts indicate you dont like Bodey, taking cheap shots on here isn't real brave.
i guess i should say sorry there russ, i have only been in the district for about 3 years, came up here from melbourne for work. prob wrong on the connick comment, but stick by saying bode hasnt had gr8 games in finals. not to say he isn't a fantastic player throughout the season, was just saying on my observations that the preassure may get to him in big games
niterider
20 Sep 2006, 18:45
i guess i should say sorry there russ, i have only been in the district for about 3 years, came up here from melbourne for work. prob wrong on the connick comment, but stick by saying bode hasnt had gr8 games in finals. not to say he isn't a fantastic player throughout the season, was just saying on my observations that the preassure may get to him in big games
Being a Nully supporter have seen every final over the last 5-6 years. Over the last 3 years Bodey has played 3 bad finals. 2004 granny this years 2nd semi and as we all know saturday's grand final. The other final games he has been best on or close to it. dont forget that he was best on in the prelim at murrabit playing on a fractured foot. Those that watched saturdays game will agree that he looked far from 100%. THat is the opinion of a person close to the nullawil football club.
Stick to writing Harry Potter novels!! I was also at the game and remember a set shot on the boundary from Hewitt when he kicked a goal, and Hogan's goal on the run,both in the last quarter, need to go on ?
Facts peanut, not fiction.
Please go on you for got to mention the ball kicked out on the full by nully thrown back on the ground by someone in the crowd picked up by a nully player and kicked though the goals and the unpire calls allclear hello
Being a Nully supporter have seen every final over the last 5-6 years. Over the last 3 years Bodey has played 3 bad finals. 2004 granny this years 2nd semi and as we all know saturday's grand final. The other final games he has been best on or close to it. dont forget that he was best on in the prelim at murrabit playing on a fractured foot. Those that watched saturdays game will agree that he looked far from 100%. THat is the opinion of a person close to the nullawil football club.
What a **** topic to be talking about we all know he can play footy because he has just won a league medal, the boy can seriously play. Didnt he get best on in a grandfinal at deni. Show a bit of respect to a man that has shown he is a better player than each and every one of you that are playing in the same league.
TEE-R-OTTER
20 Sep 2006, 21:51
Yes must agree niterider,
Second semi game was similar to the Gandfinal: limping around and clearly on his mind as he dropped 3-4 marks inside 50 in the last quaer that would have been handy to score off, then cast your mind back to the second semi where he hit the post from the goal line. The pain must have been distracting.
Yet in the Prelim he ran around like a man posessed and played to his true form.
Interesting:rolleyes:
theteamplayer
20 Sep 2006, 21:55
What a **** topic to be talking about we all know he can play footy because he has just won a league medal, the boy can seriously play. Didnt he get best on in a grandfinal at deni. Show a bit of respect to a man that has shown he is a better player than each and every one of you that are playing in the same league.
good call there. Bode has been struggling with a foot injury for a number of weeks now, has been playing through the pain almost exclusively unaided. No one is more passionate about footy than josh bode, and noone would be more dissapointed about how the season turned out for the nully team than Josh bode.
Great game by wakool though. Im sure they had their injuries too, but a fit bode, moloney and hardman would have made for an interesting result (not that the actual result wasn't interesting enough)
LENNY69
21 Sep 2006, 09:17
Please go on you for got to mention the ball kicked out on the full by nully thrown back on the ground by someone in the crowd picked up by a nully player and kicked though the goals and the unpire calls allclear hello
So you have conceded that there was no 4 goals from 50/s in the last quarter and now you come up with this c rap, what next, the umpires came from Nully with a mission to get Nully over the line. Give the Nullawill FC the credit they deserve and stop posting your c rap on this site.P ISS OFF
Yes must agree niterider,
Second semi game was similar to the Gandfinal: limping around and clearly on his mind as he dropped 3-4 marks inside 50 in the last quaer that would have been handy to score off, then cast your mind back to the second semi where he hit the post from the goal line. The pain must have been distracting.
Yet in the Prelim he ran around like a man posessed and played to his true form.
Interesting:rolleyes:
what are you trying to say TEE?
TEE-R-OTTER
21 Sep 2006, 12:39
what are you trying to say TEE?
That both games against Wakool he looked bad, played bad and the reult was bad.
Against Murrabit he ran around with no obvious signs of discomfort, and played well?
Peaked a week too early?
theteamplayer
21 Sep 2006, 13:34
That both games against Wakool he looked bad, played bad and the reult was bad.
Against Murrabit he ran around with no obvious signs of discomfort, and played well?
Peaked a week too early?
Every game you play is the biggest game of the year, tee. So you play 100% to the best of your ability every week. No point resting yourself in the prelim to save it up for the grand final if your the coach and your team is by no means a certainty to make it to the big one.
super snooper
21 Sep 2006, 13:38
How'd wakool's celebrations go? how was mad monday?
Tassie Devil
21 Sep 2006, 17:02
Ok Wakool have won, Bode was shocking, we have all had a bash about things. How about who will be moving on and who will be staying at clubs, who's not worth keeping etc. Has anyone got any thoughts on this subject, yes season has just finished but some of us must know some of the talk at clubs.
As I support Wakool will Thorpe and Smith be worth another year as they didn't do much at the end of season. I haven't heard who is staying or going yet.
PS. SS They havent stopped yet from what ive been told and will fire up again in full Saturday night at the presenations.
HappyDayz
21 Sep 2006, 17:49
Ok Wakool have won, Bode was shocking, we have all had a bash about things. How about who will be moving on and who will be staying at clubs, who's not worth keeping etc. Has anyone got any thoughts on this subject, yes season has just finished but some of us must know some of the talk at clubs.
As I support Wakool will Thorpe and Smith be worth another year as they didn't do much at the end of season. I haven't heard who is staying or going yet.
PS. SS They havent stopped yet from what ive been told and will fire up again in full Saturday night at the presenations.
Tassie, at the league medal the other night i was told by a young bloke with a Wakool shirt on that Harvey was a d:Dhead etc etc. You probably know who this player and his mate is who were unhappy with the setup out there. Did this bloke attend the celebrations and how far up the 'great one's' his ar:p s did he get at one stage.
Tassie Devil
22 Sep 2006, 13:38
Tassie, at the league medal the other night i was told by a young bloke with a Wakool shirt on that Harvey was a d:Dhead etc etc. You probably know who this player and his mate is who were unhappy with the setup out there. Did this bloke attend the celebrations and how far up the 'great one's' his ar:p s did he get at one stage.
Didnt attend so no idea there, from my views at celebrations couldnt say any of them are DH's as they all attended and mixed with all who was there. As for the young bloke and his mate i could only say possibly one of the players who missed out on making team, and if this is so have been told one got pissed b4 game and the other spent all day sulking along with his mother. From my brief chats etc with the recruits I havent found any of them to be DH's or A HOLES, its a few locals who fit that bill.
Sockit151
22 Sep 2006, 13:53
Didnt attend so no idea there, from my views at celebrations couldnt say any of them are DH's as they all attended and mixed with all who was there. As for the young bloke and his mate i could only say possibly one of the players who missed out on making team, and if this is so have been told one got pissed b4 game and the other spent all day sulking along with his mother. From my brief chats etc with the recruits I havent found any of them to be DH's or A HOLES, its a few locals who fit that bill.
I have heard a rumour that Wakool got Harvey by luck this yr..
He simply asked a few mates pre-season where they were playing and they said Wakool. He sort of said where's that, can i come too sort of thing.. While not for a moment saying he didn't get paid a heap (and worth it probably) it seems they didn't ONLY come for the money and run each Saturday and quite enjoyed the country atmosphere, hang around after games quite a bit, and even took the opportunity to spend a bit of time out bush.. Can anyone confirm this?? Or shoot it down in flames??
ROOBOY14
22 Sep 2006, 16:00
[quote=Tassie Devil]Ok Wakool have won, Bode was shocking, we have all had a bash about things. How about who will be moving on and who will be staying at clubs, who's not worth keeping etc. Has anyone got any thoughts on this subject, yes season has just finished but some of us must know some of the talk at clubs.
quote]
Tas heard on the grape vine Moulamien have already been busy recruiting, Ryan Tieney, Kane Banam, Scott Brown all linked to the swans in 2007. Another was Brock Parsons at Murrabitt??????????? Great time of year the rumor mill is flying.
Tassie Devil
22 Sep 2006, 17:05
From what ive heard and seen you have it right Sockit. Wasnt any of them just wanting to ripe money out of a club they wanted to enjoy football and win a premiership and thats what they done. Word has it that Harvey actually put alot of money on the bars in Wakool over weekend and didnt return to Melbourne until Tuesday.
Rooboy alot of sh-t was fired towards Wakool about their players but the league should thank as im sure the players who will come to the league next year will make it a very good comp. If the players you talk about do come on board it will be great.
BLUES25
25 Sep 2006, 18:24
How Many Years Did Peter Ryan Be Secretary Of Nullawill?
Straunchie59
26 Sep 2006, 22:11
How Many Years Did Peter Ryan Be Secretary Of Nullawill?
not sure but i belive it is between 15-10 years why you ask?
Footy Tripper
28 Sep 2006, 09:47
not sure but i belive it is between 15-10 years why you ask?
I believe it is closer to 20 years:thumbsu:
Joeyboy
28 Sep 2006, 14:41
Adam Pollock who played for Wakool this year any good.
Are any of the Pollock's any good?
super snooper
28 Sep 2006, 15:32
Not worth the money he will be demanding. Played some decent footy towards end of season. would be a handy pick up for the right price if you don't have a ruckman. would be a complete dud if he was normal size.
which club you from?
LENNY69
28 Sep 2006, 17:02
Not worth the money he will be demanding. Played some decent footy towards end of season. would be a handy pick up for the right price if you don't have a ruckman. would be a complete dud if he was normal size.
which club you from?
It might be worth remembering super snooper that Pollock touched up bodey (league medal winner) in the last two games and instrumental in Wakool's flag. Easy to bag players behind an alias.
Yaaablett
28 Sep 2006, 18:49
Are any of the Pollock's any good?
Shaun's pretty quick and has a nice outswinger.
ROOTA#6
28 Sep 2006, 20:56
It might be worth remembering super snooper that Pollock touched up bodey (league medal winner) in the last two games and instrumental in Wakool's flag. Easy to bag players behind an alias.
Too right Lenny. Pollock carved up the league medalist and showed some great leadership, Was also the only bloke who got into the Nully boys when Hobson was felled. Showed great passion all day and was one of the reasons why the flag is hanging at Wakool
TEE-R-OTTER
28 Sep 2006, 22:45
Lenny i think you will find that snoop did mention that Pollock did play some good footy towards the end of the year, which are the games you mentioned.
I think he was just giving the opinion that hey may well be asking for a bit of coin, an amount that he may well not be worth?
Bodes Broken foot could have a bit to do with the battles though??
Kelvin 69
29 Sep 2006, 10:39
Humerous...:D :D :D
Footy Tripper
29 Sep 2006, 10:54
Too right Lenny. Pollock carved up the league medalist and showed some great leadership, Was also the only bloke who got into the Nully boys when Hobson was felled. Showed great passion all day and was one of the reasons why the flag is hanging at Wakool
Turn it up Roota for a bloke that big Pollock is as soft as butter! What did he give someone a push did he? Tough work
ROOTA#6
29 Sep 2006, 14:05
Turn it up Roota for a bloke that big Pollock is as soft as butter! What did he give someone a push did he? Tough work
Was more than any of the other Wakool blokes did
And also took over for me as captain and served Sth Africa well, after I was unfairly and harshly dealt with by Indian coppers and the King Commission :D
Kelvin 69
29 Sep 2006, 14:28
And also took over for me as captain and served Sth Africa well, after I was unfairly and harshly dealt with by Indian coppers and the King Commission :D
Dug your way out of the grave to write that post did u hansie.:)
iamfooty
2 Oct 2006, 12:58
Uncle Graeme plays with a straight bat....sublime through the offside......:thumbsu:
behind_post
3 Oct 2006, 11:32
so with the recent signing of the J-Train out at wandella, do people think this will be the key to success in the coming year??
iamfooty
3 Oct 2006, 11:49
so with the recent signing of the J-Train out at wandella, do people think this will be the key to success in the coming year??
Who cares...the J-Train...sounds like a rap artist, not a footballer...I think GRFL fans could spend their time better by keeping and eye and ear out for some of the struggling clubs and who they are recruiting. I'm talking about the likes of Quamby and Moualmein...the latter in particular opening up the chequebook for season 2007.
Names that have been rumoured to be heading that way include enigmatic Woorinen star Ryan Tierney, Kane Bannam (coach), Michael "Spear" Kelly and reports suggest they have offered Tyntynder youngster Josh Jenkins an absolute packet to head out that way.....
Quamby are lining up a senior footballer from the Central Murray league to coach them next year, and I'm not talking about Marcus "I'm gonna be Quamby president" Demaria either. Talk is if they can get this premierhsip player to coach, he may be able to bring a few with him.......
Watch this space........:thumbsu:
gocats99
3 Oct 2006, 15:40
Who cares...the J-Train...sounds like a rap artist, not a footballer...I think GRFL fans could spend their time better by keeping and eye and ear out for some of the struggling clubs and who they are recruiting. I'm talking about the likes of Quamby and Moualmein...the latter in particular opening up the chequebook for season 2007.
Names that have been rumoured to be heading that way include enigmatic Woorinen star Ryan Tierney, Kane Bannam (coach), Michael "Spear" Kelly and reports suggest they have offered Tyntynder youngster Josh Jenkins an absolute packet to head out that way.....
Quamby are lining up a senior footballer from the Central Murray league to coach them next year, and I'm not talking about Marcus "I'm gonna be Quamby president" Demaria either. Talk is if they can get this premierhsip player to coach, he may be able to bring a few with him.......
care to elaborate on who this CMFL Premiership player is as well as just how much young JJ is being offered?
Appin Vet
4 Oct 2006, 09:56
I really hope that Moultown get these recruits as it will get them out of the duldrums next year, and it will advertise our league quite well indeed.
Mobbenfuhrer
4 Oct 2006, 10:10
Just saw the Appin Vet reference and wanted to chime in quickly to let you know I saw Appin play a match @ Appin once, presumably 1980s, when I was in my early teens.
The ground was in a swamp or something! I can hardly remember it, but it was well off the beaten track.
Anyhoo, just wanted to pipe up while the thought was in my head. Play on ....
Just saw the Appin Vet reference and wanted to chime in quickly to let you know I saw Appin play a match @ Appin once, presumably 1980s, when I was in my early teens.
The ground was in a swamp or something! I can hardly remember it, but it was well off the beaten track.
Anyhoo, just wanted to pipe up while the thought was in my head. Play on ....
Just near a swamp actually Mob boy, played on the swamp monster himself one day years ago and kicked a few sausage rolls. He was pretty undisciplined that day kicking left foot torps out of defence!:thumbsu:
Appin Vet
4 Oct 2006, 16:40
Just near a swamp actually Mob boy, played on the swamp monster himself one day years ago and kicked a few sausage rolls. He was pretty undisciplined that day kicking left foot torps out of defence!:thumbsu:
As the old adage goes...
The older you you get the kick more goals you kick. As for the undisciplined comment, I think someone is jealous becos the only spirals you see from Parrot9 is when he is having pasta. Geez Mr. Come-back-a-meter looked after you mate!!
foxdoog50
4 Oct 2006, 22:47
I heard last week the the Pollock brothers are goin to play for River raiders next year. Leigh is a gun but, adam isnt much chop.
Appin Vet
5 Oct 2006, 11:08
I heard last week the the Pollock brothers are goin to play for River raiders next year. Leigh is a gun but, adam isnt much chop.
Wasn't Adam Pollock a Vic Country Rep at junior level??
Appin Vet
5 Oct 2006, 11:16
As for the Appin oval, it was one of the better grounds to wear elbow and knee pads on. They eventually found another use for ice out there and Vaseline was at a premium. Parrot9 must have been playing on the great 'Horse' Graham that fateful day. Can't remember him kicking many left foot torps though...
Apparently Tim Donahue and Cade Davidson may be making their way back to Hay next year! Would be a couple of handy recruits.
super snooper
5 Oct 2006, 19:58
Apparently Tim Donahue and Cade Davidson may be making their way back to Hay next year! Would be a couple of handy recruits.
who's coaching hay next year scratch? Has Learmonth moved on?
Any news on coaching appointments and reappointments at other club?
all is good
5 Oct 2006, 21:51
Wasn't Adam Pollock a Vic Country Rep at junior level??
Yes Adam played in the under 15's Vic Country with the likes of Chris Tarrant and Adam Goodes.
Appin Vet
6 Oct 2006, 10:12
who's coaching hay next year scratch? Has Learmonth moved on?
Any news on coaching appointments and reappointments at other club?
Apparently their club dentist has copped a pay rise...
I am still watching this space big fella, but nothing is happening
and word has it gashy is on his way back to play full time after a stint with the bendigo bombers
theteamplayer
9 Oct 2006, 18:20
Nullawil: Bye bye Josh Bode, hello Glenn Smith!
Daryl Somers
11 Oct 2006, 10:54
Yes it will be good to see young smithy back at Nully next year, will be interesting what recruits he can bring to the club. Maybe his brother Scott from Horsham way maybe making the journey, very good footballer, played in Boga's last premiership with Glenn. Would be a good sight all the smith boys playing together
Appin Vet
11 Oct 2006, 13:42
Just heard on the grape vine the Bombers may be gaining some depth with some of the old fold coming back to wreak some havoc. The recruitng committee have been busy indeed. Congrats fellas!!
Chum did a great job with many of the 2005 Seconds Premiership team playing Seniors most of last Season. To make the Finals was monumental.
Appin Vet
11 Oct 2006, 13:43
Nullawil: Bye bye Josh Bode, hello Glenn Smith!
Is Bode leaving? If so, who to?
TEE-R-OTTER
11 Oct 2006, 14:02
Just heard on the grape vine the Bombers may be gaining some depth with some of the old fold coming back to wreak some havoc. The recruitng committee have been busy indeed. Congrats fellas!!
Chum did a great job with many of the 2005 Seconds Premiership team playing Seniors most of last Season. To make the Finals was monumental.
Yes they still had their top quality players this year though, so they were always going to be competitive.
I believe Bellenger is returning as well as Nathan "J-train" Johns with a few mates? Truth in this Parrot?
behind_post
11 Oct 2006, 21:03
Yes they still had their top quality players this year though, so they were always going to be competitive.
I believe Bellenger is returning as well as Nathan "J-train" Johns with a few mates? Truth in this Parrot?
i'm pretty sure that the j-train is not nathan johns
facts_rite
11 Oct 2006, 22:49
Yes it will be good to see young smithy back at Nully next year, will be interesting what recruits he can bring to the club. Maybe his brother Scott from Horsham way maybe making the journey, very good footballer, played in Boga's last premiership with Glenn. Would be a good sight all the smith boys playing together
Yeah mate, would be super 2 have a year with us boys all together, although wont help being the dudd of the group thats 4 sure!! Somehow cant see Scott makin the trip ova from Horsham to GRFL territory every week 2 play footy! But again, would be super!!!
Appin Vet
12 Oct 2006, 14:55
Yeah mate, would be super 2 have a year with us boys all together, although wont help being the dudd of the group thats 4 sure!! Somehow cant see Scott makin the trip ova from Horsham to GRFL territory every week 2 play footy! But again, would be super!!!
If you were pressured, how would you rank your brothers?
(As you can feel, I am applying pressure.)
Daryl Somers
12 Oct 2006, 15:17
If you were pressured, how would you rank your brothers?
(As you can feel, I am applying pressure.)
I will rank them for you AP,
Rylee
Glenn
Scott
Brett
Arren
As you can see the best one hasn't even pulled on the boots yet, but is hard to rank them when each one has their own attributes. Glenn is quick and flashy, Scott is hard and determined, Brett can drink and loves too and Arren is only just starting to find his feet. One thing for sure they can all play the game.
Appin Vet
12 Oct 2006, 16:46
Apart from Smith being added to your already imposing roster, who else may be donning the Maroon jersey this year?
Where is Bode heading to??
Daryl Somers
12 Oct 2006, 18:20
Apart from Smith being added to your already imposing roster, who else may be donning the Maroon jersey this year?
Where is Bode heading to??
I suppose Bode will be heading to one of the Deni clubs, he has had several offers as you would expect with someone as good as he is. its too early to tell who maybe donning the Maroon jersey for 07 but with Smith as coach it is sure to get some interest from his mates that play down the Bendigo way. the biggest thing at this point is to hold onto the players we already have.
Heard Bodie has been offered big money to coach the raiders in cmfl.