View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
I want honest answers from the golden rivers faithful,will any side come even close to wakool this year?.
Number 16
15 Apr 2007, 13:44
an interesting round 1... makes for a good season. surprised to see quamby get up, the murrabit boys must be shattered along with their fans. Wandella's 13 goal last quarter destroyed any hope of their close game!
who saw the games? who looked the goods?
MacTiger
15 Apr 2007, 20:43
an interesting round 1... makes for a good season. surprised to see quamby get up, the murrabit boys must be shattered along with their fans. Wandella's 13 goal last quarter destroyed any hope of their close game!
I heard morso for mouli looked in great form
Footy Pie
15 Apr 2007, 21:48
Murrabit and quamby must have been a cracker of a game?? Can any viewers of the game tell me who were the stand outs for Quamby? New coach must be doin a super job!!! Murrabit must have a fetish for cliff hangers in the first round coz im pretty sure they scraped in over Nully in the first round last year to claim the 4 points????
ruddi zarsoff
15 Apr 2007, 23:57
moula look the goods lack fitness wandella run over top
Where abouts did Shane Harvey line up on the weekend?? Seemed rather odd only gettin 4 but Great Effort from Kearney smashin home 12! Hadda big pre season or just mannin the goal square? Hay must be really disappointing, all players in the bests under the age of 20?? And 2 playing bests Reserve players last yr! Could be a cruise in the park for whoeva has them this weekend!
bernard the bipolar bear
16 Apr 2007, 19:27
Could be set for an interesting year in the GRFL. Quamby, Macorna, and even moula (apart from last quarter) look like they are much improved, while the top 3 may be slipping back to the pack.
Peter Mac
16 Apr 2007, 19:46
Any mail on Ben Parker who played with Nullawill last season? Heard a whisper that he had put in a clearance to Robinvale in the Sunraysia Footy League.
Could be set for an interesting year in the GRFL. Quamby, Macorna, and even moula (apart from last quarter) look like they are much improved, while the top 3 may be slipping back to the pack.
Well I am back from holidays and whos on here with a quote ,the bear well, well its only round one and you have come up with that, wheres your mate bobby from raiders they didnt do to good according to the results now dont get on here and tell me to go back on hols .by the way bobby never answered my last post great to be back ps gee bear you bounce from the cmfl to the grfl
Any mail on Ben Parker who played with Nullawill last season? Heard a whisper that he had put in a clearance to Robinvale in the Sunraysia Footy League.
Just check on the net but its not robinvale
Peter Mac
16 Apr 2007, 20:04
Clearance lodged on Friday the 13th of April according to www.sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au .
bernard the bipolar bear
16 Apr 2007, 20:20
Well I am back from holidays and whos on here with a quote ,the bear well, well its only round one and you have come up with that, wheres your mate bobby from raiders they didnt do to good according to the results now dont get on here and tell me to go back on hols .by the way bobby never answered my last post great to be back ps gee bear you bounce from the cmfl to the grfl
Meehan, you are a champion bloke. I wish i could get to know you better.
Can my beloved Hay Lions stumble into the finals this year ?
bernard the bipolar bear
16 Apr 2007, 21:45
Can my beloved Hay Lions stumble into the finals this year ?
No..
Footy Pie
16 Apr 2007, 21:59
Well by the GRFL Website Parker applied for a clearance to Euston, got rejected and has now applied for a clearance 2 Robinvale??? All in the space of 11 days!! Work that one out???
Peter Mac
16 Apr 2007, 23:29
He may have found out that Euston were only playing in a minor league (Millewa). He got a good write up on the GRFL VCFL web site (Top 30), so I presume the guy must be able to play?
Just a note to let you all know that the Hutchins boys from up at Murrabit have started well in their new environment at Kolora-Noorat in the Warrnambool and District Football League. Shane was named in the best in round 1 and Jason in the best in round 2.
Bobby Rivers
17 Apr 2007, 10:11
I must be honest with you Meehan, I actually got a little bored with the whole Raiders/Wakool tiff so you going on holidays was quite timely. Catching some sun on the white sandy Carribean beaches were we while inspiring Ricky & the boys to greater heights. They tell me Jay & Burmy went well on saturday which is good to hear.
how did justin rooney go for murrabit
catch me if u can
17 Apr 2007, 17:04
just out of intrest, a question for any one, who would u rate as the top five players at your club this year?
Daryl Somers
18 Apr 2007, 08:51
just out of intrest, a question for any one, who would u rate as the top five players at your club this year?
This isn't a bad question, i will have a stab at Nullawils
1. Glenn Smith
2. Andrew Hewitt
3. Ben Parker
4. Colin Fawcett
5. Jayson Moloney, Brett Smith, Stephen Korp
Apologies if i have forgotten anyone.
I think big Ralph Pollington could be up there by the end of the year if he continues his good form.:thumbsu:
bernard the bipolar bear
18 Apr 2007, 09:06
This isn't a bad question, i will have a stab at Nullawils
1. Glenn Smith
2. Andrew Hewitt
3. Ben Parker
4. Colin Fawcett
5. Jayson Moloney, Brett Smith, Stephen Korp
Apologies if i have forgotten anyone.
I think big Ralph Pollington could be up there by the end of the year if he continues his good form.:thumbsu:
Isn't ben moving on?
Appin Vet
18 Apr 2007, 16:45
[LEFT]Ben Carter from the Northern Times should write a letter of apology to the Moultown FC. Getting their hopes up like that is criminal. Shame to everybody who tipped against the Bombers at Windy Hill.
I pity the team who play Murrabit next week...
ruddi zarsoff
18 Apr 2007, 20:08
Wandella's look something like this
1.chum chamberlian
2.paul meehan
3.poodle morris
4.ryan lancaster
5.jamie pay/brant laidlaw
blow in
18 Apr 2007, 21:13
Have been to a few Murrabit games, and in no specific order would say that Simon Morton, Brad Hein, Matt Jackman, Josh Bray, and Cam Coulter would make up the top 5 this year, with Nick Hein very close behind.
The One Who Watches
18 Apr 2007, 21:39
Have been to a few Murrabit games, and in no specific order would say that Simon Morton, Brad Hein, Matt Jackman, Josh Bray, and Cam Coulter would make up the top 5 this year, with Nick Hein very close behind.
Have been watching the Blues for a few years now:
1. Josh Bray (if the gammy knee comes good)
2. Brad Hein
3. Simon Ettershank
4. Nathan Henry
5. Cam Coulter
Morto tries hard but he couldn't kick it into the ocean if he was standing on a boat. The blues will miss the physicality of K. Bray, apparently his knee and groin are stuffed. The return of the three legged man will be very important for the blues. Will be interesting to see how the kids come up.
blow in
18 Apr 2007, 21:47
Morto tries hard but he couldn't kick it into the ocean if he was standing on a boat. The blues will miss the physicality of K. Bray, apparently his knee and groin are stuffed. The return of the three legged man will be very important for the blues. Will be interesting to see how the kids come up.[/quote]
Bit harsh on Morto there. He was runner up in the league medal last year, and won the medal for best on in the grand final the previous year. Definitely knows how to get the ball, and is my tip for the league medal this year. Agreed, Egg will be sorely missed at Murrabit this year, as would have been one of the harder players going around in the GRFL, in the last 10 years.
bernard the bipolar bear
18 Apr 2007, 22:44
Ok, the GRFL tipping comp is up and running.
Last weeks results:
Bernard 3
Foxdoog 3
Footy Pie 3
Footy tripper 3
China 2
Catter 2
Happy dayz 2
Bowser 2.
anyone who failed to put there tips in can have the away teams who scored 1 (quamby) in round 1.
My tips for round two are:
Nully to defeat hay by 104 points
Wakool to defeat Quamby by 45 points
Murrabit to defeat Ultima by 51 points
Macorna to defeat Moula by 2 points in a cracker.
Bit harsh on Morto there. He was runner up in the league medal last year, and won the medal for best on in the grand final the previous year. Definitely knows how to get the ball, and is my tip for the league medal this year. Agreed, Egg will be sorely missed at Murrabit this year, as would have been one of the harder players going around in the GRFL, in the last 10 years.[/quote]
Everyone out at Murrabit seems to always be defending morto saying how gd he is and i definitely agree-a top player....y is it they rate him so high out there but wouldnt give him the coaching job??? which by the sounds of it he deserved...
Also a tie between Glenn Smith and Steven Pearce for the league medal will be my tip...
Not much has bn said bout Macorna since the w/e they look like they had a gd win... with alot of there new guys rating in the best....do others believe they could be a strong club this year?????
Daryl Somers
19 Apr 2007, 11:43
[quote=bernard the bipolar bear;7272316]Ok, the GRFL tipping comp is up and running.
Last weeks results:
Bernard 3
Foxdoog 3
Footy Pie 3
Footy tripper 3
China 2
Catter 2
Happy dayz 2
Bowser 2.
anyone who failed to put there tips in can have the away teams who scored 1 (quamby) in round 1.
Sorry boys, will have to get the 1, forgot to put them in last week
Tips are
Nully by around 7 goals
Wakool by 2 goals, Quamby to put up real fight but will just go down
Moula to get on the board by 10 points
Murrabit by 15 goals
Wandella should bet up but the bye did perform well last week against Nully
The Messenger
19 Apr 2007, 16:02
Not much has bn said bout Macorna since the w/e they look like they had a gd win... with alot of there new guys rating in the best....do others believe they could be a strong club this year?????
I think it's a bit early to be assessing any team at this time of year. Yes they have had 1 very good win but the quality of the opposition may not have been great. Looking at the ins and outs it looked like Ultima had recruited quite well and Macorna hadn't picked up many but it is about the quality of recruits not about the quantity.
I think after Rd 2 we will have a better idea Ultima play Murrabit who are coming off a loss and will be looking to hit back hard, Macorna play Moula who looked good for 3/4 last week, we see Nully for the first time against a depleted Hay and Quamby get to show if last week was a fluke or they are a real contender this year against Wakool.
Looks like a great weekend of footy in the GRFL.
Just drove past the Hay training track tonite noticed some very tall mobile lads putting in maybe a surprise coming up ? :)
bigfevola
20 Apr 2007, 10:03
I'll have a stab at Murrabit and Ultima, seen quite a bit of both of them lately
Murrabit
1 Josh Bray
2 Brad Hein
3 Nathan Henry
4 Simon Morton
5 Simon Ettershank
Ultima
1 Luke Wilson
2 Shaun Lawry
3 Nathan Condely
4 Brendan McKensie (very important to roos)
5 Justin Condely
kidgorgeous
20 Apr 2007, 11:46
Wandella's look something like this
1.chum chamberlian
2.paul meehan
3.poodle morris
4.ryan lancaster
5.jamie pay/brant laidlaw
Choco not quite there Ruddi?
Footy Tripper
20 Apr 2007, 12:39
If he was playing at Wandella he would be definately in. Spoke with him satdy night and he said this week would be his last game with Wandella.
On to tips:
Nully to beat hay by 50 points
Wakool to beat Quamby by 43 points
Murrabit to beat Ultima by 100 points
Moulamein V Macorna would have to be game of the round....and I will go with....ummm...
Macorna to beat Moula by 12 points
Footy Tripper
20 Apr 2007, 12:41
If he was playing at Wandella he would be definately in. Spoke with him satdy night and he said this week would be his last game with Wandella.
On to tips:
Moulamein V Macorna would have to be game of the round....and I will go with....ummm...
Should be next game will be his last game, as I realise Wandella have the bye
Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 12:47
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!
(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)
METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench
VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)
Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)
Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)
WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)
Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)
Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)
Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]
Footy Pie
20 Apr 2007, 14:00
[quote=bernard the bipolar bear;7272316]Ok, the GRFL tipping comp is up and running.
Last weeks results:
Bernard 3
Foxdoog 3
Footy Pie 3
Footy tripper 3
China 2
Catter 2
Happy dayz 2
Bowser 2.
Sorry boys, will have to get the 1, forgot to put them in last week
Tips are
Nully by around 7 goals
Wakool by 2 goals, Quamby to put up real fight but will just go down
Moula to get on the board by 10 points
Murrabit by 15 goals
Wandella should bet up but the bye did perform well last week against Nully
Great to be here Daz. look forward to ur company through out the season.
I will back nully comfortably enough over Hay, Will be intersting 2 c how Hay bounce back after last week, but dont think they can
Wakool narrowly over Quamby, I still got faith in Harvey running riot!
Macorna by the skin of a bee's d i c k over Moula
Murrabit should accounter for Ultima quite easily, as mentioned previously the Roos maybe in 4 a tough sesaon
HappyDayz
20 Apr 2007, 15:04
I'm tipping with the Footy Pie and the Tripper.
Nully by 30 points
Wakool by 50 points
Murrabit by 60 points
Macorna by 20 points
This week should give us a good indication i think of most teams
blow in
20 Apr 2007, 17:46
Everyone out at Murrabit seems to always be defending morto saying how gd he is and i definitely agree-a top player....y is it they rate him so high out there but wouldnt give him the coaching job??? which by the sounds of it he deserved...
Also a tie between Glenn Smith and Steven Pearce for the league medal will be my tip...
Not much has bn said bout Macorna since the w/e they look like they had a gd win... with alot of there new guys rating in the best....do others believe they could be a strong club this year?????[/quote]
Wouldn't look too much in to Macorna's win over Ultima, as it looks as though they may be fighting out spoon honours with Hay. I think Macorna will be an improved side, but may still miss finals action.
foxdoog50
20 Apr 2007, 20:40
Nully by 30 points
Wakool by 50 points
Murrabit by 60 points
Macorna by 20 points
This week should give us a good indication i think of most teams
Thats correct china, be good to see:thumbsu:
Nully to get of 2 a good start
Wakool 2 easy
Murrabit 2 rebound
And the Tigers to make it 2 from 2..
Number 16
21 Apr 2007, 11:17
Nully - 28 points
Wakool - 15 points
Murrabit - 10-15 goals
Moulamein - 7 points
MacTiger
21 Apr 2007, 11:29
Nully to beat hay by 80 points
Wakool to beat Quamby by 11 points
Murrabit to beat Ultima by 60 points
Macorna to beat Moulamein by 35 points
killerkelvin
21 Apr 2007, 11:35
Nully by 60 points hay will be to weak
Wakool by 35 points Quamby will give it a good shot.
Murrabit by 80 point Ultima will be out gunned by a quality team
Moulamein by 24 points Macrona will strugle against a resurgent mouli
Position: Half Back Bench
21 Apr 2007, 13:06
Want to know how nully went today all the way up in Hay? If any could post the best and goal kickers that would be great!
Close to half time at Hay
Hay 1.0.6 v Nullawill 13.7.85
what a shamozzle..
Final Score
Hay 5.1.31 Nullawill 30.21.201
Long year for us up here in the Riverina :(
ruddi zarsoff
21 Apr 2007, 19:38
thought we were talking about top 5 players at each club i did wandellas not east geelongs kid
Straunchie59
21 Apr 2007, 23:28
Want to know how nully went today all the way up in Hay? If any could post the best and goal kickers that would be great!
yeh the bald headed bloke AKA Bernie (Baldy) Rogers brang his blokes to victory but with big poyner trying to take out team mates. easy win 18 goals Tony doran 12 goals. Under 17's brang game alive
Glenn smith brang seniors over line kick 8 himself good team effort all round
GASTEV GOES BANG
22 Apr 2007, 10:43
yeh the bald headed bloke AKA Bernie (Baldy) Rogers brang his blokes to victory but with big poyner trying to take out team mates. easy win 18 goals Tony doran 12 goals. Under 17's brang game alive
The mighty swans showed that they will be in the mix yesterday..... everyone played well and i think i will be right in saying that the league is more even than everyone thinks.....
22 Apr 2007, 15:20
So the two's had a good win! What does the two's side looks like? Any room for some to play Half Back Bench?? Who did big poyner try and kill?
There is nothing like seeiong big ralphy "float like a butterfly" pollington run flat out passed you in the centre and kicking stright to Tony "F@#$ the handpass" Doran. Pure artistry!
Footy Pie
22 Apr 2007, 21:13
Was talkin 2 a Nully bloke satdy nite, was pretty happy with the performance. Got told that the man 2 watch out 4 this year is Billy Hewitt as he calved it up!! Was also told that Korp was great crummin in the forward line and the Smith trio will be a potent mix this season. There was also a buzz around a new recruit playin @ Centre Half Forward, cant rememba his name tho, but musta went alrite by the sounds of things
doubting thomas
23 Apr 2007, 09:07
Was talkin 2 a Nully bloke satdy nite, was pretty happy with the performance. Got told that the man 2 watch out 4 this year is Billy Hewitt as he calved it up!! Was also told that Korp was great crummin in the forward line and the Smith trio will be a potent mix this season. There was also a buzz around a new recruit playin @ Centre Half Forward, cant rememba his name tho, but musta went alrite by the sounds of things
You cant help talking you and your brothers up can you aaron. I couldnt imagine glen being to happy about it.:thumbsd:
facts_rite
23 Apr 2007, 10:10
You cant help talking you and your brothers up can you aaron. I couldnt imagine glen being to happy about it.:thumbsd:
???????
Mobbenfuhrer
23 Apr 2007, 12:14
Doran's STILL playing?
He must have more goals than an Exxon mission statement by now!
kidgorgeous
23 Apr 2007, 13:47
On to tips:
Bad news for Wandella then. Who will come up from the 2s to cover for him or are they looking to recruit someone else?
kidgorgeous
23 Apr 2007, 13:52
thought we were talking about top 5 players at each club i did wandellas not east geelongs kid
Sorry Ruddi, Craig Hutchison didn't keep me up to speed on Choco's movements.
facts_rite
23 Apr 2007, 18:39
I think u mite have got ur wires crossed there champ?!?!?!
bernard the bipolar bear
23 Apr 2007, 22:37
GRFL TIPPING RESULTS.
LEADER BOARD AFTER ROUND 2:
(those who failed to lodge their tips got the away teams who won 3)
Bernard the Bipolar Bear 3 (this round) 6 (total)
Foxdoog 3 6
Footy Pie 3 6
Footy Tripper 3 6
China 3 5
Catter 3 5
Happydayz 3 5
Bowser 3 5
Daryl Somers 4 5
Number 16 4 5
Killerkelvin 4 5
MacTiger 3 4
Congrats Daryl, Number 16 and Killerkelvin on tipping 4.
Interesting round. Moula fair dinkum, Macorna back to earth, Quamby pleasing, Murrabit struggling, Ultima competitive, Hay in strife.
Anyone report on the quamby wakool game? Must have been entertaining. Quamby kicked 6 in 2nd, wakool kicked 13.8 in third, and quamby finished the day with 10 in the last.
September
24 Apr 2007, 11:29
GRFL TIPPING RESULTS.
LEADER BOARD AFTER ROUND 2:
(those who failed to lodge their tips got the away teams who won 3)
Bernard the Bipolar Bear 3 (this round) 6 (total)
Foxdoog 3 6
Footy Pie 3 6
Footy Tripper 3 6
China 3 5
Catter 3 5
Happydayz 3 5
Bowser 3 5
Daryl Somers 4 5
Number 16 4 5
Killerkelvin 4 5
MacTiger 3 4
Congrats Daryl, Number 16 and Killerkelvin on tipping 4.
Interesting round. Moula fair dinkum, Macorna back to earth, Quamby pleasing, Murrabit struggling, Ultima competitive, Hay in strife.
Anyone report on the quamby wakool game? Must have been entertaining. Quamby kicked 6 in 2nd, wakool kicked 13.8 in third, and quamby finished the day with 10 in the last.
Scores published in Guardian were incorrect for the Wakool / Quamby game.
Margin at 3/4 time was a couple of points, not the 12 goals as suggested in the paper.
Bit of a shootout with the biggest margin of the day being a 3 and a 1/2 goal lead to Quamby mid way through the third quarter. Again Quamby were 15 pts up with about 10 minutes to go but Wakool hit overdrive and slammed on a few in a hurry to get home by a couple.
Quamby in front for 80% of game but not when it mattered.
Wakool still a major force
HappyDayz
24 Apr 2007, 12:54
With Kelly out i would have thought Quamby would have lacked the firepower up forward. Who stood up on Saturday September and kicked multiple goals?
September
24 Apr 2007, 13:22
With Kelly out i would have thought Quamby would have lacked the firepower up forward. Who stood up on Saturday September and kicked multiple goals?
Free 4, Coote 3 then a host of others kicked a couple
HappyDayz
24 Apr 2007, 15:02
Free 4, Coote 3 then a host of others kicked a couple
Free must be somewhat fitter this year then didn't kick that many for the entire season last year. Coote kicks the footy straighter than Robin Hood shoots an arrow, would have been 3.0 i imagine.
Where are the Wakool boys at? Many to come back in? I recall Quamby took it up to you boys this time last year. Are you fellas just going through the motions in anticipation for September (no pun intended).
Footy Tripper
24 Apr 2007, 16:38
What was Spearos doing? Is he injured? Did we ever hear how severe the knee injury to Whelan was? Has he played yet?
September
24 Apr 2007, 17:22
Free must be somewhat fitter this year then didn't kick that many for the entire season last year. Coote kicks the footy straighter than Robin Hood shoots an arrow, would have been 3.0 i imagine.
Where are the Wakool boys at? Many to come back in? I recall Quamby took it up to you boys this time last year. Are you fellas just going through the motions in anticipation for September (no pun intended).
If Coote is No. 39 he missed a few actually.
Theres a couple to come back, Ice didn't play but played round 1, he shouldn't be too far away.
Can't afford to go thru the motions Happy Days, quite a few sides appear to have improved so we will need to be at our best at finals time assuming we get there.
Number 16
24 Apr 2007, 21:46
from what i heard quamby had a few of handy players out but still looked somewhat impressive. despite free and coote booting 7 between them they still looked to lack the big mick kelly. wakool's backline looked a bit suspect at times, so when quamby got it in there they often converted. both midfields went thru dominate patches with wakool's finishing the game off better, allowing laursen and harvey to get more of it. was a great comeback in the last quarter to come from almost 4 goals down halfway through the last to win be 17 points.
good game all around, very entertaining, and shows that wakool may be challenged a bit more this year.
Footy Tipper - was talking to the spear at the game on saturday and said he should be back this week.
foxdoog50
25 Apr 2007, 11:07
Ive heard the Quamby have a few players on permit from the Ballarat League.. Is that true?
Number 16
25 Apr 2007, 12:42
Ive heard the Quamby have a few players on permit from the Ballarat League.. Is that true?
any names of these players? just judging by the clearances on the grfl website and who played on saturday there didn't seem to be any on permits.
GASTEV GOES BANG
25 Apr 2007, 21:18
Chopper Mcintyres odds for the league medal would have to be coming way back at this stage.. any other stand outs? a roughy from out moula way Mick O'neill....
GASTEV GOES BANG
25 Apr 2007, 21:20
oh and jeez the macorna boys like a sook.. when they get tackled its like someone shot them.... very soft i thought!
bernard the bipolar bear
26 Apr 2007, 09:12
Chopper Mcintyres odds for the league medal would have to be coming way back at this stage.. any other stand outs? a roughy from out moula way Mick O'neill....
Mick O'neill hey, what position does he play?
GASTEV GOES BANG
26 Apr 2007, 10:31
Mick O'neill hey, what position does he play?
Everywhere!!
Appin Vet
26 Apr 2007, 12:29
Christ... Moulamein win a game and suddenly someone from there is going to win the league medal. Next thing they will start talking up their finals chances. Moula in the finals??? Am I in Bizzaro world??
DOCKERS
26 Apr 2007, 14:48
are you trying to smith brothers are no good? give credit where it's due mate
Number 16
27 Apr 2007, 09:30
Wakool over Ultima
Moulamein to win in a close one against the out of form (or so it seems) Murrabit
Quamby to beat Nully
Wandella by 9 goals over Macorna
Footy Pie
27 Apr 2007, 10:36
Wakool over Ultima
Moulamein to win in a close one against the out of form (or so it seems) Murrabit
Quamby to beat Nully
Sorry 2 young smithy over the week there mate, will never speak of u or ur family again :o .
Now to me tips
Wakool to pumble Ultima
Murrabit to get up over Moula
Nully in a nail biter over Quamby. Home ground advantage mite be enough to get them over the line.
Wandella to get up over Macorna, with a small margin
Footy Tripper
27 Apr 2007, 10:44
Wakool over Ultima
Quamby to beat Nully
Good to see a bit of rain around lads....lets hope it continues for the day to put some much needed water on some grounds in our league :thumbsu:
Tips for this weekend:
Murrabit to beat Moula, even though Moula have the most damaging forward in the comp, this years League BnF and Essendons newest recruit.
Nully to scrape over the line at home against the improving Quamby boys
Wandella comfortably over Macorna
Can anyone tell me how Shane and Jason Hutchins from Murrabit went last year?
GASTEV GOES BANG
27 Apr 2007, 12:45
Good to see a bit of rain around lads....lets hope it continues for the day to put some much needed water on some grounds in our league :thumbsu:
Tips for this weekend:
Murrabit to beat Moula, even though Moula have the most damaging forward in the comp, this years League BnF and Essendons newest recruit.
My picks Moula by 14pts
Quamby by 19pts
Wandella by 55pts
as for the comment about moula mate at least someones getting on here and stirrin' up a few people at the moment its as boring as S H I T!
My picks Moula by 14pts
Quamby by 19pts
Wandella by 55pts
as for the comment about moula mate at least someones getting on here and stirrin' up a few people at the moment its as boring as S H I T!
What about the Hawks no tip
bernard the bipolar bear
27 Apr 2007, 13:16
Nully to beat quamby 9 points
Wakool to beat ultima 41 points
Murrabit to beat moula 12 points
Wandella to beat Macorna 23 points, although wet weather may suit the tiges.
Ultima in a close wet scrap over Wakool
Murrabit in a close one
Nully by 5-8 goals
Wandella by 3 goals over Macorna
TEE-R-OTTER
27 Apr 2007, 14:16
Can anyone tell me how Shane and Jason Hutchins from Murrabit went last year?
To quote Damien Hirst, 'Shane is just a supreme athlete'
But seriously, he is a top player. Very versatlie and an extremely good mark.
Jas, the younger of the two (by about 15 years by the looks!) was damaging for Murrabit on a wing with his pace and long kicking.
Shane is a former B&F winner as well as a leading goals
Murrabit are missing them both this year by the looks of it.
HappyDayz
27 Apr 2007, 15:58
Wakool 35 points
Murrabit 18 points
Nully at home in a thriller
Wandella by16 points
killerkelvin
27 Apr 2007, 16:51
Wakool will be to strong for Ultima (34pts)
Moulamein to cause a little upset against Murrabit (14pts)
Nully over Quamby by (45pts)
Macorna will bounce back aginst Wandella (30pts)
Hay will get the only points for the year with the bye!
Christ... Moulamein win a game and suddenly someone from there is going to win the league medal. Next thing they will start talking up their finals chances. Moula in the finals??? Am I in Bizzaro world??
With Moulamein with the most potent forward line and the league b&f winner, we all mayswell just give them the trophy now!!!!! and we can all enjoy our sat arvos in the pub.....
I'm sure the entire MOULAMEIN FERAL COMMUNITY would agree!!!!!
Tips are Wakool, Murrabit, Macorna and Nulliwal
GOODLUCK ALL
MacTiger
27 Apr 2007, 17:36
Wakool 60pts
Murrabit 4pts
Nully 11pts
Wandella 60pts
foxdoog50
27 Apr 2007, 18:16
Wakool will be to strong for Ultima (34pts)
Moulamein to cause a little upset against Murrabit (14pts)
Nully over Quamby by (45pts)
Macorna will bounce back aginst Wandella (30pts)
Hay will get the only points for the year with the bye!
Wakool
Nully
Tigers
Murrabit (Game of the round) be a good game to watch
Tips for this weekend:
Murrabit
Nully
Wandella
Wakool
And for the roughy HAY to get over the against the bye
DOCKERS
27 Apr 2007, 22:52
tips:
ultima to beat a tall wakool team that hopefully don't perform in the wet!
moula to have there first win over murrabit for a few years
nully and quamby in a low scoring draw
wandella to scrape over the line against macorna
and my most certain tip for this week, hay won't play anyone
other tip's:
jason murphy enjoys the company of naked men behind closed doors
justin rooney needs a hair cut
goof mcallister does a knee
28 Apr 2007, 23:41
Any results from this round???
1ST
http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258219&comp=4856&orgid=213)Nullawil 15.21 (111) vQuambatook 7.10 (52) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258220&comp=4856&orgid=213)Wakool 15.11 (101) vUltima 13.10 (88) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258221&comp=4856&orgid=213)Murrabit 10.16 (76) vMoulamein 6.2 (38) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258222&comp=4856&orgid=213)Macorna 7.4 (46) vWandella 12.11 (83)
2NDS
Nullawil 23.13 (151) vQuambatook 1.1 (7) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258313&comp=4860&orgid=213)Wakool 25.18 (168) vUltima 2.1 (13) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258314&comp=4860&orgid=213)Murrabit 15.8 (98) vMoulamein 2.1 (13) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258315&comp=4860&orgid=213)Macorna 10.5 (65) vWandella 4.6 (30)
Footy Pie
29 Apr 2007, 14:33
tips:
ultima to beat a tall wakool team that hopefully don't perform in the wet!
moula to have there first win over murrabit for a few years
nully and quamby in a low scoring draw
wandella to scrape over the line against macorna
and my most certain tip for this week, hay won't play anyone
other tip's:
jason murphy enjoys the company of naked men behind closed doors
justin rooney needs a hair cut
goof mcallister does a knee
Wat a big week its bin in the GRFL. Ultima nearly upstagin wakool and surely the roos are sick of just being pipped. Murrabit finally delivered a stock standard score after beating the next club inducted to the AFL, moulamein! Conrad luvzit! Wandella have to be the dark horse of the comp as far as im concerned!! Quamby contenders or pretenders?? Just some bull s h i t bantering to go on Big footy! Good to see some rain fall with hopefully a lot more 2 cum!!:thumbsu:
TEE-R-OTTER
29 Apr 2007, 19:23
mmm looks like the headlines might read
GASTEV'S BALLOON GOES BANG!
Moula might not be as good as the think they are:eek:
catch me if u can
29 Apr 2007, 22:29
haha i like it tee-r-otter! any word on how thinks are goin out murrabit way? things seem to be looking up after a bit of a rocky start:thumbsu:
TEE-R-OTTER
30 Apr 2007, 09:37
haha i like it tee-r-otter! any word on how thinks are goin out murrabit way? things seem to be looking up after a bit of a rocky start:thumbsu:
Yes not the starts anyone at Murrabit would have hoped for but things are beginning to look a little better, a few players back in from injury, team starting to play a little better and the recruits beginning to show some class.
Still probably 4 players from best team but teams are rarely at full strength as we all know.
Moula will be competitive but not the AFL class that they are all talking themselves up to be:p
ROOTA#6
30 Apr 2007, 14:20
Yes not the starts anyone at Murrabit would have hoped for but things are beginning to look a little better, a few players back in from injury, team starting to play a little better and the recruits beginning to show some class.
Still probably 4 players from best team but teams are rarely at full strength as we all know.
Moula will be competitive but not the AFL class that they are all talking themselves up to be:p
How is Kingers going?
tooleytang09
30 Apr 2007, 16:35
Did anyone see Karl Delmenico's twin brother on page 6 of todays Guardian???