View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
Wallygrout
3 Jun 2007, 20:47
[quote=bernard the bipolar bear;7729160]ohh, yeah. Press very ordinary. The northern times is a disgraceful publication in general. Very unprofessional, riddled with mistakes, bland and boring layouts, very little content, generally what you would expect from school newsletter, but with more mistakes (sorry, no offence to the fine people who produce school newsletters). And the golden rivers coverage is contsintant with this. Only have one writer (Ben Carter), who can only witness one game, and therefore cannot accurately report on the other three. Ben, bless his heart, knows very little about the game and would be better suited to writing romance novels. And the photos???? how about taking a shot of someone carrying the ball, or taking a mark, or kicking the ball, rather than an indiscrimate pack of players. I realise that the GRFL is not a major league, but the fact is, more followers of the GRFL buy the Northern Times than followers of the CMFL.
As for radio coverage, equally as bad. Keith den houting does the round up with the other turkey, and do very well to talk for 15 minutes without giving any insight into the actuall football. We do learn who the umpires will be, and what social functions are on though. I realize they probably cant find anyone else, but keith is not the man for the job (either is daryl billing).
So in short: media coverage of the GRFL is s h i t. :thumbsd: well what can we do then
Wallygrout
3 Jun 2007, 20:49
how did he go?only played a half but pulled up good murry played ones so thats good to see
brewery fresh
3 Jun 2007, 20:51
ohh, yeah. Press very ordinary. The northern times is a disgraceful publication in general. Very unprofessional, riddled with mistakes, bland and boring layouts, very little content, generally what you would expect from school newsletter, but with more mistakes (sorry, no offence to the fine people who produce school newsletters). And the golden rivers coverage is contsintant with this. Only have one writer (Ben Carter), who can only witness one game, and therefore cannot accurately report on the other three. Ben, bless his heart, knows very little about the game and would be better suited to writing romance novels. And the photos???? how about taking a shot of someone carrying the ball, or taking a mark, or kicking the ball, rather than an indiscrimate pack of players. I realise that the GRFL is not a major league, but the fact is, more followers of the GRFL buy the Northern Times than followers of the CMFL.
As for radio coverage, equally as bad. Keith den houting does the round up with the other turkey, and do very well to talk for 15 minutes without giving any insight into the actuall football. We do learn who the umpires will be, and what social functions are on though. I realize they probably cant find anyone else, but keith is not the man for the job (either is daryl billing).
So in short: media coverage of the GRFL is s h i t. :thumbsd:
Yeah well thats summed it up pretty well. very unprofessional.
[quote=Grippo;7728907]Absolute rubbish, although these clubs are struggling, they are very proud of being in the CMFL. If anything Lalbert may talk of a merge with Boga or Swan Hill in the future.[/quote:thumbsu: ]GRIPPO what is going on:thumbsu:
Not much mate, just organising the little fulla for school 2morrow, thought i'd have a can and jump on to see what all the news was. What is all the goss? see you boy's went well :cool: who were your better players
Wallygrout
3 Jun 2007, 21:18
[quote=Wallygrout;7728972]
Not much mate, just organising the little fulla for school 2morrow, thought i'd have a can and jump on to see what all the news was. What is all the goss? see you boy's went well :cool: who were your better players:) all the boys played well again its good to see :)
Straunchie59
3 Jun 2007, 22:06
Had 5 out they tell me
Yeh they do have 5 out and lost another 2 senior players on wkend i have been told and 2 seconds players with collerbones not good on the injury front for the boys down there but still murrabit were the better side in the 1's anyway but not the 2's
bernard the bipolar bear
3 Jun 2007, 22:32
Yeh they do have 5 out and lost another 2 senior players on wkend i have been told and 2 seconds players with collerbones not good on the injury front for the boys down there but still murrabit were the better side in the 1's anyway but not the 2's
well thats the main thing.:thumbsu:
what do u think of this weeks results...any surprises?? is it true Moula only one by 1-2 goals against ultima?
Big Sticks
4 Jun 2007, 09:02
13 unavailable for Nully (1s and 2s) on the day. Seniors, Unavailable J.Barbetti (CHB), R.Poyner, (CHF), C.Fawcett (C), B.Crabbe (BP). Wes Lynas who was playing CHB got K.O'd in the 2nd 1/4, Danny Crabbe forgot to tell the coach he was carrying a crook back into the game, got one bump and it was over 5 mins into the game, and Nully left with one on the bench, and he'd played a full game of 2's. That coupled with Murrabit being better on the day!
Hmmmm....
GASTEV GOES BANG
4 Jun 2007, 11:29
the game was in the balance till the last quarter until GASTEV WENT F***ING BANG and in the sign of a good player he carried the form to the moulamein bowling club where he was racking up possessions at will at the workers bar!!!!
the sunday barrell sucks...
BigfellaH
4 Jun 2007, 11:38
ohh, yeah. Press very ordinary. The northern times is a disgraceful publication in general. Very unprofessional, riddled with mistakes, bland and boring layouts, very little content, generally what you would expect from a school newsletter, but with more mistakes (sorry, no offence to the fine people who produce school newsletters). And the golden rivers coverage is contsintant with this. Only have one writer (Ben Carter), who can only witness one game, and therefore cannot accurately report on the other three. Ben, bless his heart, knows very little about the game and would be better suited to writing romance novels. And the photos???? how about taking a shot of someone carrying the ball, or taking a mark, or kicking the ball, rather than an indiscrimate pack of players. I realise that the GRFL is not a major league, but the fact is, more followers of the GRFL buy the Northern Times than followers of the CMFL.
So in short: media coverage of the GRFL is s h i t. :thumbsd:
Bernad you seem to have a lot to write on here why don't you fill in sometime on Sunday and write a match report of your own to have printed in The Northern Times and still hide behind your non de plume. Or maybe still ring Keith and offer your services to to the radio to see if you can improve the standard, the offer has been there all year to to the radio, maybe you will just contine to write shit on here without backing up your statements!
Its funny how GRFL supproters often have to log on to this site to get stories adn accurate reports about games. Maybe Ben can ask some of us to help out:D Gastav and Benard could be the next Mike and Bruce:D
GASTEV GOES BANG
4 Jun 2007, 12:17
I caught the scores today and it seems that all the moula boys may be getting ahead of themselves. Just scraping over the line against a team that is seriously struggling, surly they couldnt be a force in your league.
it is right that we didn't play our best footy and had a few out on satdy but still got the points... give some credit we deserve to be in the 4.
bernard the bipolar bear
4 Jun 2007, 13:22
Big fella, do you disagree that the media coverage is poor? The question was asked and i answered it honestly.
The Northern Times is a bussiness that employs full time journalists. If i was one of those employees, i would sit down on sunday, and most other days and write match reports and various articles. What other bussiness get away with being so unprofessional? I will say it again, the northern times is a disgraceful publication.
As for the radio, they may have trouble filling the role, but that doesn't change the fact that it is a poor coverage.
Im sorry if i offended you, but i am not going to say the coverage of the GRFL is good when it is sub standard.
Big Sticks
4 Jun 2007, 15:04
Big fella, do you disagree that the media coverage is poor? The question was asked and i answered it honestly.
The Northern Times is a bussiness that employs full time journalists. If i was one of those employees, i would sit down on sunday, and most other days and write match reports and various articles. What other bussiness get away with being so unprofessional? I will say it again, the northern times is a disgraceful publication.
As for the radio, they may have trouble filling the role, but that doesn't change the fact that it is a poor coverage.
Im sorry if i offended you, but i am not going to say the coverage of the GRFL is good when it is sub standard.
I don't know Ben Carter, don't like having a go at people I don't know, but it really is a pretty ordinary write up. I remember him earlier on in the year trying to make a point about Hay, and how their accuracy in front of goal could see them over the line against Ultima (I think it was, round 4) because they had managed 23:15 at 65.2%, while Ultima in front of goal were only scoring at 49.8%, having kicked 41:42 in the same time... Ben, a bit of research might indicate that although Hay are kicking straight (ish) they are having 30+ goals scored against them regularly. And for the sake of interest you want to talk the games up, but lets call a spade a spade, Hay are ordinary. Not going to win a game for the year, which is unfourtunate, but shit happens. Its dissapointing after a good game of footy to go the back pages of the Northern Times, or the Gaurdian and read the GRFL write up, because it wastes valuable seconds.
FROGDOG17
4 Jun 2007, 15:08
What do you want mate.......match of the round televised after the sunday footy show. At least Kieth and Darryl have a go at it, if they did'nt, it would be even worse. I bet you still buy a copy of the Northern Times to see whats in there...........and besides, its the GRFL mate not the AFL.
bernard the bipolar bear
4 Jun 2007, 15:30
What do you want mate.......match of the round televised after the sunday footy show. At least Kieth and Darryl have a go at it, if they did'nt, it would be even worse. I bet you still buy a copy of the Northern Times to see whats in there...........and besides, its the GRFL mate not the AFL.
good point frogdog:thumbsu:
facts_rite
4 Jun 2007, 18:28
And then if that happened, games would probly only be on fox anyway!!
Wallygrout
4 Jun 2007, 21:17
BEAR is the flu going around up there . Just won on sat
Wallygrout
4 Jun 2007, 21:23
it is right that we didn't play our best footy and had a few out on satdy but still got the points... give some credit we deserve to be in the 4.:mad: They all have the flu up there at MOULATOWN:mad:
scoreboard attendant
4 Jun 2007, 22:01
while it was a great team effort and there could have been any number of people claim 3 votes Gastev was a clear bog, winning many hard balls and 2nd efforts!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:
Wallygrout
4 Jun 2007, 22:10
while it was a great team effort and there could have been any number of people claim 3 votes Gastev was a clear bog, winning many hard balls and 2nd efforts!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: AND who does the MOULA BOYS play after the long weekend:thumbsu:
can play
4 Jun 2007, 22:14
:thumbsu: AND who does the MOULA BOYS play after the long weekend:thumbsu:
the appin vets mob
Wallygrout
4 Jun 2007, 22:19
the appin vets mob:) The bye then them is that right :)
scoreboard attendant
4 Jun 2007, 22:23
:) The bye then them is that right :)
that is correct walter, are you tipping the swans to get over the line?
2007 Year of the swan!!!!!!!!
Wallygrout
4 Jun 2007, 22:27
that is correct walter, are you tipping the swans to get over the line?
2007 Year of the swan!!!!!!!!ITS WALLY not WALTER not sure only be 1 or 2 goals in it i think
GASTEV GOES BANG
5 Jun 2007, 10:25
i feel that conrad ivers was 3 votes on sunday his aggressive play around the first pot was outstanding. pity there was only 2 more pots after that for old fella..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Footy Pie
5 Jun 2007, 11:05
i feel that conrad ivers was 3 votes on sunday his aggressive play around the first pot was outstanding. pity there was only 2 more pots after that for old fella..... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Should have run a charcoal rinse thru his hair!! Good on Conrad the ol silver fox!!
GASTEV GOES BANG
5 Jun 2007, 13:41
Should have run a charcoal rinse thru his hair!! Good on Conrad the ol silver fox!!
lol :thumbsu:...... sunday barrell again scoreboard attendant:D:D?????
TEE-R-OTTER
5 Jun 2007, 14:24
Just a quick refresher to the moula boys, you have your own thread to talk about the weekends gay antics
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=327768
USE IT!
MacTiger
5 Jun 2007, 14:41
Just a quick refresher to the moula boys, you have your own thread to talk about the weekends gay antics
USE IT!
Sounds like moultown is the place to be.
The party capitol of the GRFL not to mention that they are sitting comfortably 4th on the ladder.
catch me if u can
5 Jun 2007, 16:28
USE IT!
couldnt agree more tee bag! this site is more for talkin bout football than what goes on socially on the weekends! u moula boys and your consistantly crap banter about how good u are and what u do out side of football is slow but surely wrecking this forum!
catch me if u can
5 Jun 2007, 16:30
Sounds like moultown is the place to be.
The party capitol of the GRFL not to mention that they are sitting comfortably 4th on the ladder.
i myself would rather be at murrabit havin a fish n sitting on top of the ladder! how is it goin out a tiger land 4 u any way? ;)
switch the play
5 Jun 2007, 18:04
Heading up that way this weekend,is there any footy on?If so what would be the game of the round to watch?
what the ........
5 Jun 2007, 18:09
Heading up that way this weekend,is there any footy on?If so what would be the game of the round to watch?
na mate no footy on due to the long w.e, theres footy on this w.e in the central murray, not sure whos playen tho.
what the ........
5 Jun 2007, 18:12
mate its a footy site....
then wat are u sooking about??
GASTEV GOES BANG
5 Jun 2007, 18:12
mate its a footy site....
an integral part of footy is the beers you have after the game just commenting on a few people who had fine performances on the weekend! :thumbsu:
GASTEV GOES BANG
5 Jun 2007, 18:14
anyways how bout quamby can you safely say "always next year"?????
or can they get back??
what the ........
5 Jun 2007, 18:16
anyways how bout quamby can you safely say "always next year"?????
or can they get back??
neaxt year for them...top 4 is fixed:):thumbsu:
Number 16
5 Jun 2007, 21:09
neaxt year for them...top 4 is fixed:):thumbsu:
i'd say 4th spot is still up for grabs - moula. wakool. (quamby outside chance if they can find form but if not then no)
news round the traps is that mark free's knee injury from saturday's game is fairly serious. Chopper's boys will be spewin after a bad run of luck with injuries.
[quote=Number 16;7751761]i'd say 4th spot is still up for grabs - moula. wakool. (quamby outside chance if they can find form but if not then no)
Will have to agree there, would say that the top 4 is certainly still up for grabs!! Altho i think that Nully and Moula had betta start the battle for the 4th position as i would say that Wakool will hit their straps in the 2nd half of the year and finish in the top 4, starting after the long weekend against Nully?!? Its pretty simple tho, both Nully and Moula just have to keep winning, and there in!! Wandella may drop, but theres no way that Murrabit will loose their spot in the 4! I hope for the sites sake that moula miss out on percentage!! Haha, nah only jokin Gastev good 2 c u blokes up there!!
scoreboard attendant
5 Jun 2007, 22:21
tip for this week, the queen to be one year older and the ladder to remain the same:thumbsu::thumbsu:
if u think wakool are going to hit their straps in the second half of the year, then who are they going to pick up or who is going to step up to the plate.?
Big Sticks
6 Jun 2007, 08:21
rumours are getting stronger... Harvey to Balranald. If Nully knock off the Hawks next week, making it difficult for them to squeeze into a finals berth then they are going to be reluctant to fawk out however many $'s for a losing cause and I'm sure a team that has endless $'s such as Balranald would be only too happy to snap him up.
Footy Pie
6 Jun 2007, 10:23
rumours are getting stronger... Harvey to Balranald. If Nully knock off the Hawks next week, making it difficult for them to squeeze into a finals berth then they are going to be reluctant to fawk out however many $'s for a losing cause and I'm sure a team that has endless $'s such as Balranald would be only too happy to snap him up.
Lets be realistic here, do u honestly think Wakool will clear him?? Rumours maybe strong that he wants to go to Balranald, but Wakool wont clear him, simple. And if Wakool would be to clear him, it would be a stupid move on their behalf
TEE-R-OTTER
6 Jun 2007, 11:30
Yeah only the one game on this weekend up at moula, they a playing with themselves again.
Should be an interesting contest with gastev going toe to toe with the munger in a serious hand in each others pants match, scorebaord to be the umpire.
They should both come out with a smile on their face but won't be much of a spectacle to watch. I suggest you head to the local fish and chip shop to watch the fat boil, bout the same amusement factor.
Yeah only the one game on this weekend up at moula, they a playing with themselves again.
Should be an interesting contest with gastev going toe to toe with the munger in a serious hand in each others pants match, scorebaord to be the umpire.
They should both come out with a smile on their face but won't be much of a spectacle to watch. I suggest you head to the local fish and chip shop to watch the fat boil, bout the same amusement factor.
HAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAH Thats funny coz its tru!!
Big Sticks
6 Jun 2007, 12:08
I don't know if it would be a stupid move? He served his purpose last year, helped to win them a flag. I don't know what Wakool finances are like, or what they are paying him, i'm tipping it would be a fairly large amount though. Would it be worth while running the club financially into the ground if finals are looking slimmer and slimmer? I don't know, not my decision. If he didn't want to be there, or if it was going to put a strain on finances, i think you would be silly not to listen to offers
catch me if u can
6 Jun 2007, 13:17
will be interesting to see who comes out on top:thumbsu:
scoreboard attendant
6 Jun 2007, 14:58
for someone who doesnt appear to like moultown you spend a lot of time talking about the swans. Is there some hidden deep down love that you have for moultown? There are still plenty of tickets for the moultrain so get on board we will have you.TOOT TOOT
2007 YEAR OF THE SWAN:thumbsu:
can play
6 Jun 2007, 15:45
Righto sooks lets talk some footy. Do you reckon there is a conspiracy to get the cup back in the Gannawarra shire? All the league officals work for the shire and the umps seem to look after the teams from there.:D
ironmunger
6 Jun 2007, 16:13
Whats wrong buddy, you keep the insults coming mate but the moula boys are here to stay. Your saying that you want to start talkin footy, but all you are talking about is me and gastev are you sure their is not a little bit of jealousy their.
TEE-R-OTTER
6 Jun 2007, 16:22
Whats wrong buddy, you keep the insults coming mate but the moula boys are here to stay. Your saying that you want to start talkin footy, but all you are talking about is me and gastev are you sure their is not a little bit of jealousy their.
It wasn't intended to be an insult, and yes you got me there i do deep down wish i was a swan and i am jealous that i am not in your love triangle.:mad:
ironmunger
6 Jun 2007, 16:28
It wasn't intended to be an insult, and yes you got me there i do deep down wish i was a swan and i am jealous that i am not in your love triangle.:mad:
Thats good to hear, how about we end this little tiff. Do you think that the top four is already cemented going on what you have seen in the first half of the year,
TEE-R-OTTER
6 Jun 2007, 16:29
Do clubs have anything planned for the weekend off?
It sounds like it has come at a good time for some clubs, Nully with the 47 injuries and also
Wakool have stated that you don't win premierships in May, but you do have to win in may to make the finals! Ice has said that all the injured players should be back after the break.
Wakool will be almost gone if Nully get up over them after the bye with a loss to the swans, loss to the tigers, draw with the bombers, loss to the blues two byes and a possible loss against Nully.
Thats 8 weeks without a win
ironmunger
6 Jun 2007, 16:35
It is possible lets hope not but wakool could go undefeated for the second half of the season including finals that is with a fit side on the paddock.
switch the play
6 Jun 2007, 17:43
It is possible lets hope not but wakool could go undefeated for the second half of the season including finals that is with a fit side on the paddock.
Meehan are you there?You have gone very very quite:cool:
Footy Pie
6 Jun 2007, 17:50
i dont like to go back on the past, but i think that a few blokes were on the money after i took the time to read today's edition of the guardian, and took a particular interest to the GRFL round up!! The coverage is appauling, so much so i feel that the footy coverage of the Swan Hill Junior competition was far more superior than the GRFL! It maybe time that the Northern times take sa leaf out of the Guardians book, getting a person who is actually at the game to reflect on the weeks footy?? Any thoughts??
Unless its voluntary it will be very hard.
can play
6 Jun 2007, 18:36
Maybe they should read bigfooty before they write their articles. That way they could get an insight into the mouli game atleast.
GASTEV GOES BANG
6 Jun 2007, 18:48
lol what does yellow card mean under my name?? surely not from writing abuse lol
GASTEV GOES BANG
6 Jun 2007, 18:49
ive been sent off for 15min lol
GASTEV GOES BANG
6 Jun 2007, 18:50
Dear GASTEV GOES BANG,
You have received an infraction at BigFooty.
Reason: Mid-Range
-------
language, abuse
-------
This infraction is worth 3 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.
GASTEV GOES BANG
6 Jun 2007, 18:51
lol 194 demerit points wasn't head high, sostill eligible for the brownlow
The Messenger
6 Jun 2007, 18:56
I think it could work, lets say they pay someone $50 a game to do a bit of a write up. That's $200 a week to get some decent comment on the game, that's probably what they pay Ben Carter anyway to attend 1 game and write an ill informed description on the result. He will often talk about players who aren't even playing the game, one of the write ups on our club mentioned that a certain player faded in the 2nd half and that player didn't even play. It's not just a matter of looking in the record if he doesn't know a player then he should ask someone who knows who it is.
At least if it's someone with a knowledge of the clubs they will get names, positions and other info right. Maybe they could get clubs to submit there own info and he could take the notes from both clubs and put together a half decent article. Not just:
John Smith was in the goals for the home team and Fred Jones also played well.
We can look at the match results to get that info. I would prefer to know if any young guys came up and performed, any particular passages of play that changed the game, any injury's that occur during the match, positional changes that changed the momentum, great marks, great goals, contreversial umpiring calls, any biffo that occured, these are interesting facts about the game.
I think the coverage of the GRFL definetly needs an overhaul. I don't even buy the Northern Times anymore because it tells you nothing you can't find on the GRFL website.
bernard the bipolar bear
6 Jun 2007, 19:03
I think it could work, lets say they pay someone $50 a game to do a bit of a write up. That's $200 a week to get some decent comment on the game, that's probably what they pay Ben Carter anyway to attend 1 game and write an ill informed description on the result. He will often talk about players who aren't even playing the game, one of the write ups on our club mentioned that a certain player faded in the 2nd half and that player didn't even play. It's not just a matter of looking in the record if he doesn't know a player then he should ask someone who knows who it is.
At least if it's someone with a knowledge of the clubs they will get names, positions and other info right. Maybe they could get clubs to submit there own info and he could take the notes from both clubs and put together a half decent article. Not just:
We can look at the match results to get that info. I would prefer to know if any young guys came up and performed, any particular passages of play that changed the game, any injury's that occur during the match, positional changes that changed the momentum, great marks, great goals, contreversial umpiring calls, any biffo that occured, these are interesting facts about the game.
I think the coverage of the GRFL definetly needs an overhaul. I don't even buy the Northern Times anymore because it tells you nothing you can't find on the GRFL website.
agreed:thumbsu:
ironmunger
6 Jun 2007, 19:23
lol 194 demerit points wasn't head high, sostill eligible for the brownlow
That is gold, you will be lucky to see out the rest of the season with that kind of umpiring:thumbsu::thumbsu:
lucy_the_dog
6 Jun 2007, 19:52
Can anybody tell me how young harry smith is playing up there at nully. Heard he has been in the seniors, does his big mouth get him in trouble? Has a few tickets on himself.
can play
6 Jun 2007, 21:13
Hey Scoreboard, wanna buy a racehorse. His name is My Face. Just imagine him running aroundthe home turn and all the girls screamin "COME ON MY FACE"
itchy&scratchy
6 Jun 2007, 21:29
Can anybody tell me how young harry smith is playing up there at nully. Heard he has been in the seniors, does his big mouth get him in trouble? Has a few tickets on himself.
Not sure if he plays but he must go to training at least cause the whole of nully must hav the same ego problem.What I have herd about the nully blokes is they cannot get enough tickets to there own shows,if HARRY is a ones player he would b hard to pic out in the maroon crowd cause ther all the bloody same:D
can play
6 Jun 2007, 21:45
Hey Phil McCrackin, any insight into the quick demise of the kool?
Footy Pie
6 Jun 2007, 22:27
Like, I didnt mean to sound to critical of Ben, as it would be a tough job having such a responsibilty! But it wouldnt be hard for an on-looker, not necessarily needing to be paid to just take a few notes, hence having better footy coverage! And Im sure that football on-lookers would agree, and be willing to maybe put there hand up?? Although it is only a small town paper in a small league, it is only going to turn people away from the competition after reading something that a 11yr old kid could write after reading results!
catch me if u can
6 Jun 2007, 23:57
mm...good point munger! heres some footy talk... you boys have improved a hell of a lot since last year...but i suppose thats calling the pot black! just a question to the moula boys...how many home town/ home grown boys playin in the 1st team at present (no offencnce intended with that either just wondering)? cause it must be a hell of a thrill for those few original lads who have stuck through the bad times to be in the position they are in now! i would probably back u in for a premiership if u had maybe.... a TEE_R playin for u!
On another point...wakool could be the dark horse! would never take them to easy because if the guys who are out return they could be the team to beat for 2007:thumbsu: carn the hawks
i heard a whisper yesterday that Brad Kingwell made another ass of himself on there week off at Lalbert watching the old team play. Played up after the game and was kicked out by Lalberts President and told never to return. Looks like murrabit may have him longer than planned. Can anyone confirm this??
TEE-R-OTTER
7 Jun 2007, 12:01
With half way closing in on us after the long weekend, which players at clubs have really impressed opposition teams?
Young nully Aaron Smith looked pretty good the other week, pretty quick and got a fair bit of the ball.
Also Mick Bott at Wandella seems to be in the best a fair bit, he continues to get a mention and would have to get some attention during a game?
Any others?
ironmunger
7 Jun 2007, 14:22
mm...good point munger! heres some footy talk... you boys have improved a hell of a lot since last year...but i suppose thats calling the pot black! just a question to the moula boys...how many home town/ home grown boys playin in the 1st team at present (no offencnce intended with that either just wondering)? cause it must be a hell of a thrill for those few original lads who have stuck through the bad times to be in the position they are in now! i would probably back u in for a premiership if u had maybe.... a TEE_R playin for u!
On another point...wakool could be the dark horse! would never take them to easy because if the guys who are out return they could be the team to beat for 2007:thumbsu: carn the hawks
Yeah mate its good for the local boys who have stuck it out during the tough years which has pretty much been our whole senoir career. But their would be about 12 local blokes who make up the team. Some of them dont live their anymore but they travel home to play. Their would only be about 5 of those blokes who have been playing seniors for the past 7 or 8 years, the others are young blokes who have stuck around or blokes who have moved to the town. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
ironmunger
7 Jun 2007, 14:26
With half way closing in on us after the long weekend, which players at clubs have really impressed opposition teams?
Young nully Aaron Smith looked pretty good the other week, pretty quick and got a fair bit of the ball.
Also Mick Bott at Wandella seems to be in the best a fair bit, he continues to get a mention and would have to get some attention during a game?
Any others?
Shaun Lawry from ultima palyed a cracker of a game on the wknd dont know about previous rounds though.
CHANCE TO WIN A TRIP TO MELBOURNE FOR TWO!
Go to www. (http://www.lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au/)lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au (http://www.lalbertfc.vcfl.com.au/)
Find the code word and sms it to the number provided.
Winner will be announced at the end of the season!
scoreboard attendant
7 Jun 2007, 19:07
are wakool still that good or are they still being judged on how good they were last year? Every team has players out most weeks. Maybe they are not as strong as last year?
GASTEV GOES BANG
7 Jun 2007, 19:51
forget wakool harveys going to Cashranald anyway.... a loss to nully will put wakool to bed id reckon....
GASTEV GOES BANG
7 Jun 2007, 20:14
Half way mark fellas how about some end of year predictions.. just a bit of something to look back on at the end of the year..
Premiers: Murrabit
Runners Up: Moulamein
Best on ground in the Granny: Josh Logan
The rest in order: Nully,Wandella,Quamby,Wakool,Macorna,Ultima,Hay
League B&F:Glenn Smith & Robert Lowing (joint)
Runners Up: Simon Morton
Leading Goalkicker: Nathan Henry 79
How many goals will Shane Harvey kick for Balranald?: 41
can play
7 Jun 2007, 20:32
Half way mark fellas how about some end of year predictions.. just a bit of something to look back on at the end of the year..
Tony conroy to play a full game without getting injured.
This is becoming to the point of ridiculous. Beat the likes of Murrabit, Wandella and Nully and then we might notice.
forget wakool harveys going to Cashranald anyway.... a loss to nully will put wakool to bed id reckon....
As it been stated Wakool need to clear him. Balranald has 3 weeks to do this, Wakool woud be to proud to be walked over by the boys from the Murrumbigee
can play
7 Jun 2007, 21:13
This is becoming to the point of ridiculous. Beat the likes of Murrabit, Wandella and Nully and then we might notice.
I wouldn't worry too much about nully. Murrabit is the side to beat.
GASTEV GOES BANG
7 Jun 2007, 21:23
sorry catter must of hit a nerve should of put the 2's predictions in sorry mate...
That has nothing to do with it. Beat a side above you. You can talk the talk but cant walk the walk
He been playing really good footy lately in the seniors. Harry is a humble bloke that can go out there and do his job. As for the tickets thing that is total c.r.a.p. Talk to the bloke and you will see he is very genuine.
macedonian marvel
7 Jun 2007, 22:11
I asked the question about the Nullawil defence being the best in the league last week. I guess we got our answer. How did the two 'defences' go in the game? Any standout players for either side?
Footy Pie
7 Jun 2007, 22:49
I asked the question about the Nullawil defence being the best in the league last week. I guess we got our answer. How did the two 'defences' go in the game? Any standout players for either side?
Well Murrabits defence was a class above Nully. Murrabits defence were smart enough to run off their opponents giving their first use to the 4wards, and Nully werent capable of turning the ball over which resulted in an abondence of Murrabit players keeping the ball inside 50! Simon Ettershank on Hewitt was a telling point of the game, keeping him to only one goal which was an outstanding effort. Nullawil seemed to be lacking a Centre Half Forward as young Smith spent a lot of time up the ground making a marking option which for a bloke his age and height, shouldnt happen. Word has it that Nully have a lot of injuries, missing a key centre half forward which hurt them a lot as Atkin couldnt get amongst it and ended up in the Backline! Rooney was superb across half back taking marks and clearing the ball at every opportunity. The game was clearly decided in the centre as Coulter and Saunders ran riot in the ruck as Nully are majorly under maned in this area, giving the likes of Hein and Morton first use of the ball.
can play
8 Jun 2007, 08:33
That has nothing to do with it. Beat a side above you. You can talk the talk but cant walk the walk
Hmmmmm. Don't beleive nully has beat a side above them either!
GASTEV GOES BANG
8 Jun 2007, 08:38
eithers murrabit... :p
GASTEV GOES BANG
8 Jun 2007, 08:39
what do you mean walk the walk we are in the 4 champ.... your lucky im on a yellow card :D
ironmunger
8 Jun 2007, 08:55
what do you mean walk the walk we are in the 4 champ.... your lucky im on a yellow card :D
Dont worry Gastev the second half of the season is coming, We will see at the end of that and CATTER anything can happen in finals football mate.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Footy Tripper
8 Jun 2007, 09:56
Dont worry Gastev the second half of the season is coming, We will see at the end of that and CATTER anything can happen in finals football mate.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Yes anything can happen in finals football, but you aren't there yet...as you just said, the SECOND half of the season is coming. Worry about that before you go talking finals. That goes for all teams except Murrabit, but mainly Moula as you are the blokes talking yourselves up so much
Hmmmmm I realise that. But we havn't been talking our selves up. From the bullshit that gets mentioned on here you would have thought that Moula are the informed side of the competiton.WRONG. But at the end of the day, Moula will only be making up the numbers by finals time. (If you get into it), and you nearly got done by a side that has only won game.
TEE-R-OTTER
8 Jun 2007, 11:28
i heard a whisper yesterday that Brad Kingwell made another ass of himself on there week off at Lalbert watching the old team play. Played up after the game and was kicked out by Lalberts President and told never to return. Looks like murrabit may have him longer than planned. Can anyone confirm this??
Well he might not be welcomed back at the blue land either after he cleaned the President, Coach and runner out in a game of poker last night..
beginners luck :p Onya Saucey!!
Appin Vet
8 Jun 2007, 11:30
Dear Moulville morons,
Your Moulville banter has this thread deteriorating at a fair rate. Please for *&^%'s sake, use those threads you people made. It really is painful just to see your 'non de plumes' on here without reading the crap the goes on in your community. No one cares how many beers Conrad had at the Barrel after church. It is great to see you blokes not holding the ladder up anymore. But spare me and other avid footy followers who enjoy talking footy, the Moulville news. Talk footy on the thread and Private message each other about who loves Gastev the most.
Appin Vet
scoreboard attendant
8 Jun 2007, 11:55
Well he might not be welcomed back at the blue land either after he cleaned the President, Coach and runner out in a game of poker last night..
beginners luck :p Onya Saucey!!
Enough talk about the antics of someone at lalbert on saturday. Also who cares how much he won or who he beat at poker, i thought you all wanted to talk footy not about peoples social lives on this site. FOR SHAME!!!!!!!!