View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

GASTEV GOES BANG
3 Jul 2007, 09:26
Looks like Gastev and co. need to put the MEAN back into moula
it will be back mate! :thumbsu:

On the track
3 Jul 2007, 20:33
Maybe so, but wakool have to play the top 3 sides in their last four games. Cant see them getting too many points then.
Whats the latest on injuries out at Wakool have they got everyone back yet last I heard Ice was for the season any truth in this

blow in
3 Jul 2007, 23:49
[quote=Daryl Somers;7999192]Yes Hay was a little disappointing on weekend, however they seem to have a lot of kids which is a plus. Believe also that they could be on the move next year as NSW clubs go through a restructure.

They were however pretty happy on saturday when Glenn Smith took mark of the year, (better than the one at Murrabit) and this one is on tape. One of the Hay guys even saying, well at least we are gunna be on TV.

If anyone wants to put a bet on someone for the league medal, willing to take will give 5's the field as i believe Glenn Smith has it sown up, he's at $1.02

About the same odds as Murrabit for the flag!

Piggy Dunstall
4 Jul 2007, 00:05
Looking at the draw Wakool need to beat Ultima, Moula and Macorna and lose to the top three to make it! If they lose to Moula or Macorna they are gone unless Moula or Macorna lose to someone that they should not or unless Wakool beat any of the top three sides to make up for the loss! Wakool play the Swannies and the Tiggies at home which will help the cause.

Catter
4 Jul 2007, 13:18
With 7 rounds to go in the season th ladder currently looks like this

» TeamWonLostDrawnByesForAgst%Ptshttp://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23272&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Murrabit 9 1 0 1 1276 567 225.04% 36 http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23277&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Wandella 7 1 1 2 1108 664 166.87% 30 http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23273&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Nullawil 7 2 0 2 1274 630 202.22% 28 http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23276&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Wakool 5 4 1 1 1189 1236 96.20% 22 http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23271&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Moulamein 5 5 0 1 1138 1160 98.10% 20 http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif» (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=23270&Comp=4856&OrgID=213) Macorna 5 5 0 1 1045 1096 95.35% 20

It seems that the top 3 wont change, with Murrabit beating all challengers, Wandella hitting form and Nully getting a few key position players back.
The next three is where things get interesting, with Wakool, Moulamein and Macorna all with 5 wins (Wakool has the extra 2 points because of the draw with the bombers). Wakool and Macorna have to still to play the top 3 again, Moula has to play Nully and the Blues. Who do you think is going to take out the last spot and Why.

FWIW I beleive Wakool because of the extra 2 points they have, the players coming back and the crunch games coming up are played at the Hawk's Nest (Moulamein and Macorna).

Piggy Dunstall
4 Jul 2007, 13:21
Whats the latest on injuries out at Wakool have they got everyone back yet last I heard Ice was for the season any truth in this

On the Track: I spoke with a source at the Hawks who said that Ice Welan may be back this year, he is having scans on his knee in a week or two to see if he can play or if he needs a reco! Johno Doyle is still a couple of weeks away from a Hammy. Their captain Carroll has not played a game all year with a broken foot and Jack Lahy may or may not be back from a break in his wrist! Old Thommo retired 4-6 weeks ago and that is all they have to come back!:rolleyes: Not sure if it is enough?

kidgorgeous
4 Jul 2007, 16:04
Moula really need this win to have any comfort in the 4. fair call.

basically kidgorgeous is a toss and that is all i wanted to say. pretty sure everyone, not just the moula boys are talking about the top 4. and bad luck but moula are there. now gentlemen there is not too much moula talkings up at the moment are there? this is just general top 4 talk. so go and suck a large penis and take a **** in the ass and go back to whereever you came from. kidgorgeous you stupid ugly mofo twit.

Where have you gone sanchez?

(crickets chirping)

:D:thumbsd:

On the track
4 Jul 2007, 19:23
On the Track: I spoke with a source at the Hawks who said that Ice Welan may be back this year, he is having scans on his knee in a week or two to see if he can play or if he needs a reco! Johno Doyle is still a couple of weeks away from a Hammy. Their captain Carroll has not played a game all year with a broken foot and Jack Lahy may or may not be back from a break in his wrist! Old Thommo retired 4-6 weeks ago and that is all they have to come back!:rolleyes: Not sure if it is enough?
Looks like a very interesting back half of the year guess it may come down to who can deal with the pressure the best eh?

On the track
4 Jul 2007, 19:25
the grfl forum appears to be very quiet this week whats all the news there must be some surely.

Wallygrout
4 Jul 2007, 20:01
the grfl forum appears to be very quiet this week whats all the news there must be some surely. :thumbsu::thumbsu::)MOULAMEIN BOYS ARE BANNED FROM BIG FOOTY :)

can play
4 Jul 2007, 21:40
the grfl forum appears to be very quiet this week whats all the news there must be some surely.
See what happens when there is no moula talk on here. The thread is dead. About as exciting as watchin BB07. So I think murrabit should do the right thing and let moula win this week, so this thread can "return to what it use to be like". Full of moulanesse.;)

ROOTA#6
4 Jul 2007, 21:48
How did you cop the yellow card Wally?

Piggy Dunstall
4 Jul 2007, 23:25
[quote=kidgorgeous;8013795]Where have you gone sanchez?

(crickets chirping)

:D:thumbsd:

Very Funny Kidgorgeous :) The Moulanese may be back from Holidays after the Murrabit Game pumping up their tyres for the game against the Hawks! Will be season on the line for both clubs! The winner gets fourth. Swannies rest up this week for the game against the Hawks! Percentage won't come into it this year for the fourth spot due to the draw the Hawks had!

facts_rite
5 Jul 2007, 10:33
See what happens when there is no moula talk on here. The thread is dead. About as exciting as watchin BB07. So I think murrabit should do the right thing and let moula win this week, so this thread can "return to what it use to be like". Full of moulanesse.;)

Although when the Moulanese are on here, they tend to resemble Michelle from Big Brother :D

GASTEV GOES BANG
5 Jul 2007, 14:28
Well gentleman another crunch round in the GRFL....
Have been a little quiet this week but i'm sure ill be back in the mix when the swans hit forth spot once again....
TIPS.....
Gastev feels that Quamby are gone and the difference between them and nully will be about the same length as Damo Fogertys Man Weapon!
Nully by 100pts

Gastev also feels that Ultima have improved mainly because Benny Mahon has been putting on a football clinic in the past few weeks so therefore going a roughy.
Ultima by 27pts

Gastev has been pondering what has been going wrong out moula way and has came up with the conclusion... THE F**KING SUNDAY BARRELLS
Since we played away last week Gastev did not show up to church on sunday so therefore may perform and win the game for the swans booting 5 majors.
Moula by 13pts

Gastev has declared this the match of the round, but feels that Wandella are just starting to flex there muscles and are making Nully and Murrabit look over there shoulder....
Wandella by 88pts

GO THE SWANS!

ironmunger
5 Jul 2007, 14:56
can anyone from quamby tell me was there any reprecussions from dimma waving the flags for the goal umpire last week how did chopper take it. I must say even though it cost them the game it would of been a pisser to see.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

HappyDayz
5 Jul 2007, 16:32
can anyone from quamby tell me was there any reprecussions from dimma waving the flags for the goal umpire last week how did chopper take it. I must say even though it cost them the game it would of been a pisser to see.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Demaria to goal umpire the 3rds match on Saturday after an impressive audition last week in the seniors thrilling loss to Wakool.

brewery fresh
5 Jul 2007, 17:22

how about someone fill us all in with what exactly happened with the demaria flag waving incident. how did it cost quamby the game?

September
5 Jul 2007, 17:51
With the exception of a minor miracle the game was done and dusted. Spot on Dayz, he will be goal umpiring the thirds this weekend. Funniest thing i've seen in a long while.

Sockit151
5 Jul 2007, 17:57
With the exception of a minor miracle the game was done and dusted. Spot on Dayz, he will be goal umpiring the thirds this weekend. Funniest thing i've seen in a long while.
WHAT HAPPENED??

Footy Tripper
6 Jul 2007, 09:59

Have only heard third hand what happened....but no one else is saying wot happened so will have a go. Correct me if I'm wrong.

A dubious free kick was given to Wakool with a few minutes to go when they were 1 point up, then a 50m penalty resulting in a kick on the goal line. The goal was kicked, dimma grabbed the goal umpires flags and waved them, threw them away and called the umpy a f*ckwit. Another free kick was given from the goal line and before you knew it it was a 13 point margin and game over.

Not the smartest thing I have heard a player do.....but it has to be up there with the funniest.

Footy Tripper
6 Jul 2007, 10:03
[quote=GASTEV GOES BANG;8023121]Well gentleman another crunch round in the GRFL....
Have been a little quiet this week but i'm sure ill be back in the mix when the swans hit forth spot once again....
TIPS.....
Nully by 100pts

Ultima by 27pts

Moula by 13pts

Wandella by 88pts

quote]

Tripper says:
Nully over quamby - 37pts
Wakool to beat Ultima, with an 8 goal last quarter by 42pts.
Murrabit to beat Moula and start ordering the Turkeys
Are Macorna contenders or pretenders....time will tell. But Wandella by 55pts for me.

Ova.

ironmunger
6 Jul 2007, 10:11
Speaking to his brother and you hit the nail on the head footy tripper pretty much exactly what happend.

Mildred
6 Jul 2007, 10:17
[quote=Footy Tripper;8030932][quote=GASTEV GOES BANG;8023121]Well gentleman another crunch round in the GRFL....
TIPS.....
Nully by 100pts

Ultima by 27pts

Moula by 13pts

Wandella by 88pts

quote]

Tripper says:
Nully over quamby - 37pts
Wakool to beat Ultima, with an 8 goal last quarter by 42pts.
Murrabit to beat Moula and start ordering the Turkeys
Are Macorna contenders or pretenders....time will tell. But Wandella by 55pts for me.

Big call....you think Moulamein has what it takes to beat murrabit or you just hoping at this stage. I dont reckon i could handle bigfooty next week if moula won. They would all come out from their caves after lasts weeks humiliation.

Footy Pie
6 Jul 2007, 10:30
Have only heard third hand what happened....but no one else is saying wot happened so will have a go. Correct me if I'm wrong.

A dubious free kick was given to Wakool with a few minutes to go when they were 1 point up, then a 50m penalty resulting in a kick on the goal line. The goal was kicked, dimma grabbed the goal umpires flags and waved them, threw them away and called the umpy a f*ckwit. Another free kick was given from the goal line and before you knew it it was a 13 point margin and game over.

Not the smartest thing I have heard a player do.....but it has to be up there with the funniest.

Turns out Dimma's performance was rather impressive and Geoff Douthat has been in negotiations with the man, trying to get him to retire from playing and commence being a goal umpire strait away as he has an uncanny ability with the flags!!

Anyway to my tips
Nully comfortably, Dimma to look super in the orange!!
Wakool to pump Ultima, Hello September for the Hawks!
Moula to put up a grand battle against Murrabit, but Murrabit will get up by 2goals
Wandella to beat Macorna, only coz its being played @ Wandella. Margin 5 goals

Peace out

GASTEV GOES BANG
6 Jul 2007, 10:48
Dimma is a very funny man!! Thats is the best thing ive heard in a long time!
Marcus Demaria would have to have the downlow medal wrapped up wouldn't he???

brewery fresh
6 Jul 2007, 11:52
nully over quamby 60 pts
wakool over an ordinary roos outfit, 40 pts
murrabit should prevail over a stubborn moula, 36 pts
wandella wont have too many troubles defeating macorna, 85pts

Mildred
6 Jul 2007, 14:01
TIPS

Wandella just against Macorna (Macorna must win to keep their hopes alive)
Murrabit over Moulamein, but wont have it all their own way
Wakool easily over Ultima
Nullawil by 4-5 goals against quamby

September
6 Jul 2007, 14:02

Two variances to your account of incident:

1. Margin was 7 pts before incident with only 90 secs remaining.

2. Dimma waved the flags as Kearney lined up for goal, not afterwards.

Mildred
6 Jul 2007, 14:04
Can someone tell me what has happened to Ultima the last couple of years. I noticed they are sitting 2nd bottom in the seniors, and last in all other three grades. Did they spend too much a few years ago when they claimed the premiership and are saving some coin for next year or what?? It just seems wierd as they have been a power-house of the league for so long now. Its like seeing Murrabit, wandella or Nullawil at the bottom, which i dont think we will ever see. Thoughts???

bernard the bipolar bear
6 Jul 2007, 14:17
Nully will beat quamby
Wakool should beat ultima
Murrabit should beat moula
Wandella will beat macorna

Piggy Dunstall
6 Jul 2007, 14:20
Wet Weather will make the games a slog this week and an upset could be on the cards? Who that is I don't know!
Bombers to win, will be hard to keep the ball in play on the tilt ground!
Murrabit over the Swannies, will be close but the Blues to pull away in the third!
Nullawil over the Saints, not enough pace in the Saints outfit! A little too top heavy in the rain!
Hawks over the line just! Ultima are better at home the Hawks do not travel well up to that place and will not handle the wet conditions very well?

Waiting on an upset to see what that throws into the mix for the rest of this year!!!

the gloved 1
6 Jul 2007, 15:53
Wet Weather will make the games a slog this week and an upset could be on the cards? Who that is I don't know!
Murrabit over the Swannies, will be close but the Blues to pull away in the third!
Nullawil over the Saints, not enough pace in the Saints outfit! A little too top heavy in the rain!
Hawks over the line just! Ultima are better at home the Hawks do not travel well up to that place and will not handle the wet conditions very well?

Waiting on an upset to see what that throws into the mix for the rest of this year!!!

you were great on the footy show last night chief, great to see you back

brewery fresh
6 Jul 2007, 16:02
Can someone tell me what has happened to Ultima the last couple of years. I noticed they are sitting 2nd bottom in the seniors, and last in all other three grades. Did they spend too much a few years ago when they claimed the premiership and are saving some coin for next year or what?? It just seems wierd as they have been a power-house of the league for so long now. Its like seeing Murrabit, wandella or Nullawil at the bottom, which i dont think we will ever see. Thoughts???

ultima havent got a strong local player base, which means they need to recruit farely heavily to be a top side. it is obviously hard to do that every year so thats why they find themselves at the wrong end of the ladder. sides like murrabit, wandella, and nully all have strong local representation which allows them to still be competitive in their leaner years. thats what i reckon anyway.

danielkerr
6 Jul 2007, 17:44
ultima havent got a strong local player base, which means they need to recruit farely heavily to be a top side. it is obviously hard to do that every year so thats why they find themselves at the wrong end of the ladder. sides like murrabit, wandella, and nully all have strong local representation which allows them to still be competitive in their leaner years. thats what i reckon anyway.

Ultima had fantastic local representation, that is why they were so strong. O'toole bros, petzke, atkie, wilsons etc...all the boys that came out from swan hill played juniors and under17's with ultima.

Big Sticks
6 Jul 2007, 17:50
Nully to get over the saints, wet weather did nothing for quambys skill level last time the two sides met. Maroons by 10 goals

Wandella to beat Macorna comfortably, scoreline won't reflect the game, macorna to give it their all, but just not up to scratch. bombers by 12 goals.

Murrabit will look to further dint the swannies confidence will a well deserved win... keep saying Murrabit will slip up at some stage, but i don't think anyone could stand reading the swannies posts if they get up this week. for this reason alone the blues won't let this one slip, to get up by 23 points.

and wakool to easily account for the roos, who must have been very dissapointed with last weeks efforts. the hawks have to make the most of games against the bottom teams, as they have wandella, nully, murrabit and the swannies in 4 of their next 5 (the other against Macorna which is no easy game in itself). Hawks by 68 points.

good luck lads, go Nully

brewery fresh
6 Jul 2007, 18:39
Ultima had fantastic local representation, that is why they were so strong. O'toole bros, petzke, atkie, wilsons etc...all the boys that came out from swan hill played juniors and under17's with ultima.

well the base is no longer there

On the track
6 Jul 2007, 19:38

Go Ultima the upset of the round is on the way boys

On the track
6 Jul 2007, 19:41
Your right on the money if you have a look at Wak Ult Moul etc not a lot of players locally, it's only a matter of time and the res will disappear from this league and everyone will only field one side within the next ten years I reckon

brewery fresh
6 Jul 2007, 20:02
Your right on the money if you have a look at Wak Ult Moul etc not a lot of players locally, it's only a matter of time and the res will disappear from this league and everyone will only field one side within the next ten years I reckon

well lets cross our fingers and hope it doesnt come to that, but it is a distinct possibility. not sure how clubs would go about reversing the lack of numbers trend. has to start with the juniors i guess, but how you keep those players in the club at senior level i dont know. get footy into the kids blood and hope they repay the club i suppose

foxdoog50
6 Jul 2007, 20:10
Nully will beat quamby
Wakool should beat ultima
Murrabit should beat moula
Wandella will beat macorna

Agree with u there bear

scoreboard attendant
6 Jul 2007, 21:58
tips for this week
wakool to get over the line against ultima
nully to get the points against quamby
wandella to be to strong for macorna
and moula to cause a big upset by getting the points against murrabit in a must win match for the swans with gastev keeping me busy turning the numbers!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

On the track
7 Jul 2007, 18:39
well lets cross our fingers and hope it doesnt come to that, but it is a distinct possibility. not sure how clubs would go about reversing the lack of numbers trend. has to start with the juniors i guess, but how you keep those players in the club at senior level i dont know. get footy into the kids blood and hope they repay the club i suppose
From what I'm seeing nowadays is that the players dont repay the club as such by playing for them in their adult life as they tend to move out of the bush for work prospects etc. Then you have the players that do stay and feel they arent up to scratch because the god almighty dollar isnt being thrown at them, I believe a lot of players today judge each other on their ability by how much coin they recieve and not actual talent. Thoughts on this?

Piggy Dunstall
7 Jul 2007, 20:28
tips for this week
wakool to get over the line against ultima
nully to get the points against quamby
wandella to be to strong for macorna
and moula to cause a big upset by getting the points against murrabit in a must win match for the swans with gastev keeping me busy turning the numbers!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Disco Stu don't do much!!!! Either does Gastev!

I hope the Swannies were trying to freshen up a few of the boys as well as yourself scoreboard attendant? Not much number changing from the Swannies! Hope the Blues had their own representative doing the number changing as you might be a bit tired!

Well done to the Saints:thumbsu: Great Win for the Club:) . Season not gone for the Saints yet! They could still get into the four with a very favourable draw. 4 possible wins (Hay, Ultima, Moula, Wandella and Macorna)? Can they?

Big Game Next Week Swannies v Hawks at Hawkland!

TEE-R-OTTER
8 Jul 2007, 12:01
From what I'm seeing nowadays is that the players dont repay the club as such by playing for them in their adult life as they tend to move out of the bush for work prospects etc. Then you have the players that do stay and feel they arent up to scratch because the god almighty dollar isnt being thrown at them, I believe a lot of players today judge each other on their ability by how much coin they recieve and not actual talent. Thoughts on this?

Yes and no.. there are quite a few good players out there that aren't getting paid... but then you throw them up against the dud's that are, i suppose they cancel each other out?
You have hit the nail on the head with the work though, tough to keep the 18-20yo around and working in the area.

brewery fresh
8 Jul 2007, 12:13
can someone tell me how quamby beat nully? from what ive seen didnt seem possible. massive upset, they must of played extremely well. hurt nullys chances for a top two finish. with an easy run home the saints are another contender for the fourth spot

Piggy Dunstall
9 Jul 2007, 11:19
can someone tell me how quamby beat nully? from what ive seen didnt seem possible. massive upset, they must of played extremely well. hurt nullys chances for a top two finish. with an easy run home the saints are another contender for the fourth spot

Mr Brewery Fresh: The Saints are not a bad side when they are up and about! They have plenty of height and plenty of marking power to trouble a lot of sides. They are a couple of midfielders short of a good side and lack a little pace! This loss has put a huge dent into the Maroons hopes of getting a double chance, they will now need to beat both the Bombers and the Blues or hope someone else can knock of the Bombers?

Can the Saints make fourth???

To the Gloved 1, I'm glad you enjoyed one of my rare apperances on the Footy Show, if you need more of my expertise then tune into FOXTEL!

Will be giving the Golden Rivers a wrap this week!

Nackas
9 Jul 2007, 12:41

There total score was more than Nully's after the final siren :D

Mildred
9 Jul 2007, 15:02
ribbet ribbet.....where are these moulamein boys!! big footy is lost without them. fancy giving themselves a chance against the ladder leaders. Getting beating by anyside by 93 points in the wet doesnt warrent them a finals spot. say goodbye to 2007 swannies.!

switch the play
9 Jul 2007, 18:39
Meehan may replace them as the Hawks may be on the way back!Have heard though and not sure if it's public knowledge but Ice Whelan won't play again in 2007 due to his knee injury

bernard the bipolar bear
9 Jul 2007, 19:57
finals race is hotting up. Below is the run home for the contenders.

My selections in bold.

Nully 28pts Ultima, Moula, Wan, Mac, Mur, Wak. 44pts

Wakool 26pts Moula, Wan, Mac, Mur, Bye, Nul. 34pts
Moula 20pts Wak, Nul, Hay, Quam, Ult, Bye. 28pts
Macorna 20pts Bye, Mur, Wak, Nul, Hay, Quam. 24pts
Quamby 16pts Hay, Bye, Ult, Moula, Wan, Mac. 32pts

You can draw you own conclusions, but some crunch games coming up. Wakool v Moula, Wakool v Macorna, Moula v quamby, Quamby v Macorna.

I fancy that the winner out of this weeks clash between the hawks and the swans will fill the fourth position.

Bingle_21
9 Jul 2007, 23:48

Also dont forget about 9 years ago Ultima went through a period of about 3 or 4 years without an Under 17 side. Any young locals that were left needed to go elsewhere to play. So they lost a few in that period added to the going away for work/uni thing as well. Not to mention good players who have played for the roos in juniors that have for various reasons at different stages moved to other clubs. Luke and Matt O'Toole, Marcus Nalder, and Lance Brown all played together in the minis (at a young age) one year at the roos

brewery fresh
10 Jul 2007, 13:37
Also dont forget about 9 years ago Ultima went through a period of about 3 or 4 years without an Under 17 side. Any young locals that were left needed to go elsewhere to play. So they lost a few in that period added to the going away for work/uni thing as well. Not to mention good players who have played for the roos in juniors that have for various reasons at different stages moved to other clubs. Luke and Matt O'Toole, Marcus Nalder, and Lance Brown all played together in the minis (at a young age) one year at the roos

mate, no question the roos have had some great local talent, but the fact still remains that they dont have a strong local playing base. if they had a lot of talented locals playing they wouldnt be bottom of the ladder in every grade. As i mentioned earlier, sides with a good pool of locals only seem to slide to 4th or 5th and still remain competitive.
if this is not the reason then why are they struggling??

Footy Tripper
10 Jul 2007, 13:43
finals race is hotting up. Below is the run home for the contenders.

My selections in bold.

Nully 28pts Ultima, Moula, Mac, Mur, Wak. 44pts

Wakool 26pts Moula, Wan, Mac, Mur, Bye, Nul. 34pts
Moula 20pts Wak, Nul, Hay, Quam, Ult, Bye. 28pts
Macorna 20pts Bye, Mur, Wak, Nul, Hay, Quam. 24pts
Quamby 16pts Hay, Bye, Ult, Moula, Wan, Mac. 32pts

You can draw you own conclusions, but some crunch games coming up. Wakool v Moula, Wakool v Macorna, Moula v quamby, Quamby v Macorna.

I fancy that the winner out of this weeks clash between the hawks and the swans will fill the fourth position.

You have left a pretty important game out between Nully and Wandella at Nully Bear...your thoughts??

bernard the bipolar bear
10 Jul 2007, 15:05
You have left a pretty important game out between Nully and Wandella at Nully Bear...your thoughts??

My bad... Human... errr... animal after all. I was more concentrating on the race for the fourth spot.

That will be a big game too.

FROGDOG17
10 Jul 2007, 23:21
mate, no question the roos have had some great local talent, but the fact still remains that they dont have a strong local playing base. if they had a lot of talented locals playing they wouldnt be bottom of the ladder in every grade. As i mentioned earlier, sides with a good pool of locals only seem to slide to 4th or 5th and still remain competitive.
Who has been the most successful side in the GFL in the past 5 years mate....and throughout the GFL's history? Don't you worry about the roo's mate!!! They're probably still hungover from the three flags in a row just a while back!

Bingle_21
10 Jul 2007, 23:22

I havent seen very much of them in the last few years, but I agree with you, there isnt a lot of great local talent. Was just saying that not having 3rds for a few years and loosing good local talent to other leagues/uni/work may be part of the reason for the lack of local talent there at the moment

FROGDOG17
10 Jul 2007, 23:26
Also 4th or 5th in the GFL is not that competitive with (previously) moula and macorna, wakool having a few tough years.

ROOTA#6
10 Jul 2007, 23:32
Also 4th or 5th in the GFL is not that competitive with (previously) moula and macorna, wakool having a few tough years.

I am not a GRFL man but i reckon anyone who questions or knocks ultima is a very silly man. Probably one of the best country clubs that there has been. The do not need to rely on true locals to be successful. Having said that some of their greatest players are true Ultima people eg the Evan Wilsons and Luke O'Tolles of the world

Bingle_21
10 Jul 2007, 23:34
Who has been the most successful side in the GFL in the past 5 years mate....and throughout the GFL's history? Don't you worry about the roo's mate!!! They're probably still hungover from the three flags in a row just a while back!

Also think Ultima might of had a few years down the lower end of the ladder just before they won those 3 also. Second or third last one or two years before at least.

ROOTA#6
10 Jul 2007, 23:38
Also think Ultima might of had a few years down the lower end of the ladder just before they won those 3 also. Second or third last one or two years before at least.

Yeah i reckon they may have struggled in the years that Bubbles and Barry Benfield coached, but didn't they turn it around

bernard the bipolar bear
10 Jul 2007, 23:38

not sure, south barwon or north shore perhaps.

Mildred
11 Jul 2007, 10:04

If you are looking for consistency over the past few years, i would have to say wandella, murrabit and nullawil. Why is it that there locals stay or head back to the club and ultima's dont? Farming has struggled in the past i spose, but that has been the same everywhere. And from what i know, Ultima has a good social club also. it's just a mystery i think. i dont like it how clubs just load up for maybe one or two years and then they go to shit again. its called buying a premiership, i i tell u what, they may have 3 flags in a row, but it could cost them in the long run. i here lalbert are struggling. Any merg talks

brewery fresh
11 Jul 2007, 10:12
If you are looking for consistency over the past few years, i would have to say wandella, murrabit and nullawil. Why is it that there locals stay or head back to the club and ultima's dont? Farming has struggled in the past i spose, but that has been the same everywhere. And from what i know, Ultima has a good social club also. it's just a mystery i think. i dont like it how clubs just load up for maybe one or two years and then they go to shit again. its called buying a premiership, i i tell u what, they may have 3 flags in a row, but it could cost them in the long run. i here lalbert are struggling. Any merg talks

good call mildred:thumbsu:
instead of answering questions on their current position they get defensive and and hide behind past glorys.

Sockit151
11 Jul 2007, 10:39
No need to get all defensive boys!! I don't think they are trying to have a crack at Ultima or any of they great players they have produced, just trying to get an idea of why they are struggling at the moment??
Maybe depth or number of local players is the way the argument should have been worded as obviously the roos don't think local talent has been a problem??

bernard the bipolar bear
11 Jul 2007, 13:59
See korpy got his mug in the herald sun today. Had someones tooth stuck in his head for 3 weeks.

facts_rite
11 Jul 2007, 14:09
See korpy got his mug in the herald sun today. Had someones tooth stuck in his head for 3 weeks.

Quite funny circumstances to say the least! Happened at the end of the 2nd quarter when playing Wakool. required stitches, and after a lot of muckin around nothing was found. Korpy was @ his joint Fridy nite cleanin it out, when i tooth emereged from the wound, pretty funny stuff!

So the Wakool bloke who lost his tooth in that game, Korpy has it!! haha

thatsthethingboutfootball
11 Jul 2007, 14:13
good call mildred:thumbsu:
instead of answering questions on their current position they get defensive and and hide behind past glorys.

Why not bring us past glories? I dare say it will be a long time before anyone equals or betters their conquests...

You need to look at Ultima from the perspective that unlike the other mentioned teams they dont have to compete with as many different teams trying to scout their players because of the their close proximity to Swan Hill and CMFL teams. When they had a few dull years prior to the 3-peat you will notice not many local talents on their list and all it takes is one or two to commit to coming back and you get the rest coming with it. For example at winning of the first premiership, when both O'Tooles got back on the bandwagon so did Wilson (even Evan pulled on the boots), Atkins, Petzke etc., and with them you saw the likes of Matt Palmer and Brad Carroll filtering through the ranks and with any luck that will happen in the next few years...

From this season to last Ultima lost 3 regular senior players that were homegrown locals to University being Lachlan O'Toole, Lee Bull and Simon Nalder, while they are not stars just yet they well and truly held down a spot.

All locals should be given the opportunity to pursue their footy and family life elsewhere and unfortunatly has seemed to all happen in one go. Matt and Lachlan O'Toole live and play in Bendigo, Brett Aitken works and plays in Donald, Petzke retired, Luke O'Toole playing with brother in law and lifelong friends, Simin Nalder in Wagga, Lee Bull playing in Bendigo, Dean Young enjoying family life in Bendigo and not playing footy. All of which is fair enough

In Ultimas current side you have locals like;
Sam Cleary - runner up best and fairest 2 years ago behind Luke O'Toole
Ayars boys - kids arent stars but both give 110%
Luke Wilson - nothing has to be said about him
Stew Broussard - top 10 in goal kicking with only 2 wins and travels week in week out back from Uni in Ballarat
Dean Farrell - 300 plus games need i say more
Ben Merritt - Rookie of the year nominee (dunno if he won it) first year out of 3rds
Brendan Kelly - been out there for years
Fred Grey and Johnny Young - both loyal servants of the club and have been in and out all year filling the spot when it is necessary
Mahon boys - have an impressive heritage at Ultima as well as Tyntynder

Although most arent to the calibre of O'Tooles, Petzke and the like they are all still locals and giving their all week in week out for the club.

Wallygrout
11 Jul 2007, 20:53
Why not bring us past glories? I dare say it will be a long time before anyone equals or betters their conquests...

You need to look at Ultima from the perspective that unlike the other mentioned teams they dont have to compete with as many different teams trying to scout their players because of the their close proximity to Swan Hill and CMFL teams. When they had a few dull years prior to the 3-peat you will notice not many local talents on their list and all it takes is one or two to commit to coming back and you get the rest coming with it. For example at winning of the first premiership, when both O'Tooles got back on the bandwagon so did Wilson (even Evan pulled on the boots), Atkins, Petzke etc., and with them you saw the likes of Matt Palmer and Brad Carroll filtering through the ranks and with any luck that will happen in the next few years...

From this season to last Ultima lost 3 regular senior players that were homegrown locals to University being Lachlan O'Toole, Lee Bull and Simon Nalder, while they are not stars just yet they well and truly held down a spot.

All locals should be given the opportunity to pursue their footy and family life elsewhere and unfortunatly has seemed to all happen in one go. Matt and Lachlan O'Toole live and play in Bendigo, Brett Aitken works and plays in Donald, Petzke retired, Luke O'Toole playing with brother in law and lifelong friends, Simin Nalder in Wagga, Lee Bull playing in Bendigo, Dean Young enjoying family life in Bendigo and not playing footy. All of which is fair enough

In Ultimas current side you have locals like;
Sam Cleary - runner up best and fairest 2 years ago behind Luke O'Toole
Ayars boys - kids arent stars but both give 110%
Luke Wilson - nothing has to be said about him
Stew Broussard - top 10 in goal kicking with only 2 wins and travels week in week out back from Uni in Ballarat
Dean Farrell - 300 plus games need i say more
Ben Merritt - Rookie of the year nominee (dunno if he won it) first year out of 3rds
Brendan Kelly - been out there for years
Fred Grey and Johnny Young - both loyal servants of the club and have been in and out all year filling the spot when it is necessary
Mahon boys - have an impressive heritage at Ultima as well as Tyntynder

Although most arent to the calibre of O'Tooles, Petzke and the like they are all still locals and giving their all week in week out for the club.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: I think u just took the BAIT :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Wallygrout
11 Jul 2007, 20:56
See korpy got his mug in the herald sun today. Had someones tooth stuck in his head for 3 weeks.Good to see korpy in the papers again for the right things

Bush Legend
12 Jul 2007, 11:04
One would say historically Murrabit was the most successful GRFL/KDFL team in history... if they hadn't choked as poorly as Collingwood during the Dietrich era they may have been even more successful... money can't buy you everything though!

GRFL needs to readmit Lakes, Appin and Rovers and get the old tradition back. There was nothing like ripping your knees open on the bike track at Alexandra Park or freezing to death at Mystic Park.

david_flood
12 Jul 2007, 12:46
Is Josh Bray back playing 1st yet for murrabit, if so hows his form been?

And on another note, moula would have to be shattered by the fact that there not gonna make the finals? The biggest chance they've had for i dont no how many years and by the talk on here they were premiers for sure!!! Good to see murrabit put them back in there hole on the weekend! you'd have to wonder how many of the moula recurits will stick round next year???????????

GASTEV GOES BANG
12 Jul 2007, 13:51

And on another note, moula would have to be shattered by the fact that there not gonna make the finals? The biggest chance they've had for i dont no how many years and by the talk on here they were premiers for sure!!! Good to see murrabit put them back in there hole on the weekend! you'd have to wonder how many of the moula recurits will stick round next year???????????

The feeling around the club is that we are going to keep what we have got and build on it... I still think we are heading in the right direction. Don't write us off yet.. you wouldn't want a few of us swannies on here shoving all this back in your face would we!

Bush Legend
12 Jul 2007, 15:09
Moulamein haven't been the same since they lost the great Wes Amor all those years ago...

ironmunger
12 Jul 2007, 15:49

The moula recruits will stick around. Even though where not where we thought we would be at this point of the season, the feeling around the club is great. You have to remember we have not won this many games in a season since 2003, and it will only get better, we are finally starting to get a bit of stabillity around the club, with same people sticking around not only on the field but on the board. It is also the first time since Alex Buckley coached in 95, 96 that we have had the same senior coach for two years in a row. :thumbsu:

Mildred
12 Jul 2007, 18:22

Yep Josh is back playing! His form is good, but will hit peak form come finals i reckon.

Catter
12 Jul 2007, 18:53
The moula recruits will stick around. Even though where not where we thought we would be at this point of the season, the feeling around the club is great. You have to remember we have not won this many games in a season since 2003, and it will only get better, we are finally starting to get a bit of stabillity around the club, with same people sticking around not only on the field but on the board. It is also the first time since Alex Buckley coached in 95, 96 that we have had the same senior coach for two years in a row. :thumbsu:

Paul "Rocket" Jones? geez you blokes trying to forget him that much. No doubt Trav will stick around for another couple.

Piggy Dunstall
13 Jul 2007, 00:09
The feeling around the club is that we are going to keep what we have got and build on it... I still think we are heading in the right direction. Don't write us off yet.. you wouldn't want a few of us swannies on here shoving all this back in your face would we!

Dear Mr GASTEV GOES BANG

I hope all the Moulanese are well rested and freshened up after last weeks debarcle!!! Not sure how many of the boys have been in cotton wool for the past few weeks but are they right to go for the biggest game of the Year for the Swannies???

Maroons to rebound at Home by 14 goals
Murrabit by 6 goals over the Bombers
Quamby should win! but watch out Saints in NSW
and the Winner is
The HAWKS on current form but will be close, whoever wins on Saturday will play off in the finals! Does it get any bigger for the Swannies and Hawks?

Footy Pie
13 Jul 2007, 10:42
My Tips for this round.
Nully V Ultima: Glenn Smith’s boys to bounce back. Smith obviously well held last weekend around the centre as he didn’t rate a mention in the best players, yet slotted home 5? Ultima will be looking to coach Condely to take Atkin, and big Macca in the ruck needs to have one of his usual hard fought games. The Roos have proved they can go with teams for 3 quarters, but expect it close until a last quarter blowout Nully by 7 goals

Wakool V Moulanese: Probably the match that complete the top 4. Wakool have proved that they are a potent force with Harvey and Kearney playing some extroadinary footy 2getha, kicking majority of Wakools score! Big Chubs Evans will have to stand up 2morra as well as the Caldwell boys, but as Moula haven’t been in such a position for a long time now, will trip @ the final hurdle. Wakool by 2 goals

Murrabit V Wandella: Could well be the GF preview! Wandella will be looking for its runners in Bott, McNeil and Laidlaw to go with the likes of the Heins and Simon Morton. Dual of the year would have to be out of Chum Chamberlain & Justin Rooney I would think. The only game Murrabit will loose 4 the rest of the year will be the granny, therefore will back the blues by 4 goals

Hay V Quamby: Quamby, enough said

Footy Tripper
13 Jul 2007, 12:34
Maroons to rebound at Home by 14 goals
Murrabit by 6 goals over the Bombers
Quamby should win! but watch out Saints in NSW
and the Winner is
The HAWKS on current form but will be close, whoever wins on Saturday will play off in the finals! Does it get any bigger for the Swannies and Hawks?

Murrabit by 26pts
Nully by 50pts
Quamby by 104pts
Wakool to make Gastevs bubble go BANG by 33pts

Hugh Jars
13 Jul 2007, 14:45
So Footy Pie, who's going to win the flag? If you know Murrabit is going to lose the granny, you must know who is going to win it

Mildred
13 Jul 2007, 14:51
Tips for tomorrows games!

Wakool easily over moulamein to finally end their season.
murrabit just over the bombers
nullawil too strong for ultima
quamby to get a good % booster against hay

Footy Pie
13 Jul 2007, 15:26
So Footy Pie, who's going to win the flag? If you know Murrabit is going to lose the granny, you must know who is going to win it

I'd say either Wakool, Wandella or Nully mate, cant see Murrabit winning it!! Surely have to come unstuck @ some stage, but dont think they'll loose a game til then!!

Mildred
13 Jul 2007, 15:33
I'd say either Wakool, Wandella or Nully mate, cant see Murrabit winning it!! Surely have to come unstuck @ some stage, but dont think they'll loose a game til then!!

Just out of interest, what makes you say that? are they renound for choking? Their depth is pretty good

bernard the bipolar bear
13 Jul 2007, 15:52
Wakool to beat Moula
Wandella to beat Murrabit (and therefore give the blues a chance to win the grand final)
Nully to beat Ultima
Quamby to beat Hay.

Beez Kneez
13 Jul 2007, 16:11
Just out of interest, what makes you say that? are they renound for choking? Their depth is pretty good

Nah Mildred must be mistaking Murrabit for Wandella, they are the only ones renound for choking in grand finals of recent years...:)
If Murrabit are to drop a game before the finals maybe it would be this week, but i don't think it will alter the top two, these two should finish top two and have the second chance.
Nully and Wakool to fill up the four.

Interesting to note Wandella's team for saturday will have a similar list to that of their 2005 granny side, exciting times out at bomber land.

bernard the bipolar bear
13 Jul 2007, 16:23
Interesting reading in the Northern times today. With 2 huge matches (one a top of the table clash, and the other a do or die encounter that will largely decide the top four), they decided to focus on Macorna.... who have the bye.

This follows up last weeks piece that spoke about how ultima were going to cause some real problems for the top 4.... despite coming off a 20 goal hiding from the top team.

One wonders what goes on in that place?:thumbsd:

Nackas
13 Jul 2007, 16:35
Interesting reading in the Northern times today. With 2 huge matches (one a top of the table clash, and the other a do or die encounter that will largely decide the top four), they decided to focus on Macorna.... who have the bye.

This follows up last weeks piece that spoke about how ultima were going to cause some real problems for the top 4.... despite coming off a 20 goal hiding from the top team.

One wonders what goes on in that place?:thumbsd:

Ben Carter is a moron, its as simple as that!!!

Mildred
13 Jul 2007, 16:39
Ben Carter is a moron, its as simple as that!!!
here here. who is he anyway. he has no concept of what is going on in the league at all.

Nackas
13 Jul 2007, 17:43
here here. who is he anyway. he has no concept of what is going on in the league at all.

No idea wat he looks like, but can just picture a lil dork that has no idea on football @ all as he was more into reading the lord of the rings on a satdy arvo rather than play footy!! Fair dinkum, the bloke has no idea wats happening in the GRFL

thatsthethingboutfootball
13 Jul 2007, 17:45
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: I think u just took the BAIT :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Took the bait? Why bring it up if the guys out there arent looking for a good decent answer...

On the track
13 Jul 2007, 18:37
not sure, south barwon or north shore perhaps.
Nice one Bear should be able to ask some of the Geelong boys out at Wakool this week end LOL

On the track
13 Jul 2007, 18:44
One would say historically Murrabit was the most successful GRFL/KDFL team in history... if they hadn't choked as poorly as Collingwood during the Dietrich era they may have been even more successful... money can't buy you everything though!

GRFL needs to readmit Lakes, Appin and Rovers and get the old tradition back. There was nothing like ripping your knees open on the bike track at Alexandra Park or freezing to death at Mystic Park.
And who could forget the odd cow pad out at lakes eh those were the days

Big Sticks
13 Jul 2007, 19:34
No idea wat he looks like, but can just picture a lil dork that has no idea on football @ all as he was more into reading the lord of the rings on a satdy arvo rather than play footy!! Fair dinkum, the bloke has no idea wats happening in the GRFL

Don't under estimate Ben Carter as a journalist though! He may have no idea about footy but still manages to take quotes out of context. Early on in the season he was doing an interview with Glenn Smith after Nully played Quamby (rd. 3) and smithy told him (concerning the up-coming game with Ultima) "The roos aren't the strongest team going around this season, but they always save their best footy for Nully...."

Quote appears in the paper on the friday arvo Glenn Smith says "Ultima aren't the strongest team"

Made Glenn look like a dill. Evil man that carter

brewery fresh
13 Jul 2007, 20:30
Took the bait? Why bring it up if the guys out there arent looking for a good decent answer...

on the contrary, your post was insightful, interesting and honest. one of the better posts ive read:thumbsu:

bernard the bipolar bear
15 Jul 2007, 16:03
Good round of footy, closer games than expected. Appears Moula's season is over, unfortunately.

Catter
15 Jul 2007, 16:46
Good round of footy, closer games than expected. Appears Moula's season is over, unfortunately.

Dasher Poyner ended up the difference for Nully in the last 10 minutes kicking 4 goals.

On the track
15 Jul 2007, 16:47
About the only way moul will stay in the race is to win every thing on the home run possible plus can't see Wakool beating any top sides in their last couple games moul also require the assistance of macorna to beat wakool should happen but we all seem to have forgot about the saints choppers boys have found their feet and are kicken butt it's still anyones race as yet should be an interesting couple of weeks ahead. :rolleyes:

brewery fresh
15 Jul 2007, 17:00
overheard an interesting conversation from a credible source at the exchange last night, apparently wandella holding commitee meeting concerning assist coach dean howards future.

is his performance matching his price tag?? cant think what else it would be about. surely they wouldny sack him...

Piggy Dunstall
15 Jul 2007, 22:33
About the only way moul will stay in the race is to win every thing on the home run possible plus can't see Wakool beating any top sides in their last couple games moul also require the assistance of macorna to beat wakool should happen but we all seem to have forgot about the saints choppers boys have found their feet and are kicken butt it's still anyones race as yet should be an interesting couple of weeks ahead. :rolleyes:

The season is not over yet football fans!!! Swannies have fallen over of late but have a good run home, Tiggies are still in the hunt and the Saints are comming with a run, go you good things:thumbsu: The Hawks are not out of the woods just yet! They need to beat the Tiggies in two weeks unless the others fall over themselves? Will be an interesting round comming up with the top three taking on the next three! Can anyone cause an upset to put themselves back in the hunt??? What do we think sports fans???