View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
facts_rite
23 Jul 2007, 14:05
Well what an interesting round. Moula's still got a slight pulse. If it wasn't for a nulli boundary ump that paid 2 free's for centre square infringments, that gave nulli goals, the swannies would have been home. It's a joke. Just hope the ump can sleep at night.
Would u like to comment on a few centre ball ups that occured in the last quarter mate??
PARROT9
23 Jul 2007, 15:31
With the finals just round the corner, what are peoples thoughts on the Grand Final venue?? Just personally, I think it should be at Riverside but that is just me.
Sounds good A.V. Neutral venue and a big crowd.:thumbsu:
September
23 Jul 2007, 15:57
With the finals just round the corner, what are peoples thoughts on the Grand Final venue?? Just personally, I think it should be at Riverside but that is just me.
What are peoples thoughts on other finals venues, Wakool, Quamby and Macorna. With specific finals yet to be assigned one would imagine that the Second Semi will be held at Wakool as they are currently likely to be involved in the first semi and possibly the prelim. First semi at Macorna and Prelim at Quamby for mine.
Having the Grand Final at Kerang is only good due to the neutral positioning! When at the Granny, the crowd is dead an there is no atmosphere at all! Didnt even have a stretcher there last year!! Its just no good havin it as the GRFL grand final venue
switch the play
23 Jul 2007, 16:32
What was Wandella vs Wakool final score on the weekend boys?Paper listed Wakool today as 0.0.
The Messenger
23 Jul 2007, 17:13
What was Wandella vs Wakool final score on the weekend boys?Paper listed Wakool today as 0.0.
The Herald Sun listed all the U17 scores instead of the ones.
Home TeamvAway Teamhttp://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258274&comp=4856&orgid=213)Moulamein 13.13 (91) vNullawil 13.13 (91) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258275&comp=4856&orgid=213)Wandella 21.17 (143) vWakool 16.12 (108) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258276&comp=4856&orgid=213)Macorna 9.7 (61) vMurrabit 12.19 (91) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258277&comp=4856&orgid=213)Ultima 22.23 (155) vHay 10.18 (78) Quambatook 0.0 (0) vBye 0.0 (0)
There you go champ.
macedonian marvel
23 Jul 2007, 17:14
Well what an interesting round. Moula's still got a slight pulse. If it wasn't for a nulli boundary ump that paid 2 free's for centre square infringments, that gave nulli goals, the swannies would have been home. It's a joke. Just hope the ump can sleep at night.
Why does it matter if he is from Nully, if it is there you have to pay it. People never like the centre square infringement, but most of the time it is there. It's not hard to stay behind the line until the ball is thrown up. Not called that much because kids are usually doing the boundary (which is another issue altogether!). I reckon he would sleep pretty well, it's just footy, not the end of the world! I would think you would have bigger issues going on in your life than a boundary decision.
switch the play
23 Jul 2007, 17:32
The Herald Sun listed all the U17 scores instead of the ones.
Home TeamvAway Teamhttp://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258274&comp=4856&orgid=213)Moulamein 13.13 (91) vNullawil 13.13 (91) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258275&comp=4856&orgid=213)Wandella 21.17 (143) vWakool 16.12 (108) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258276&comp=4856&orgid=213)Macorna 9.7 (61) vMurrabit 12.19 (91) http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://www.grfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=258277&comp=4856&orgid=213)Ultima 22.23 (155) vHay 10.18 (78) Quambatook 0.0 (0) vBye 0.0 (0)
There you go champ.
Thank you:thumbsu:
Why does it matter if he is from Nully, if it is there you have to pay it. People never like the centre square infringement, but most of the time it is there. It's not hard to stay behind the line until the ball is thrown up. Not called that much because kids are usually doing the boundary (which is another issue altogether!). I reckon he would sleep pretty well, it's just footy, not the end of the world! I would think you would have bigger issues going on in your life than a boundary decision.
Obviously words coming from someone who has never seen Johnny Doyle boundary umpire :D
can play
23 Jul 2007, 17:45
Would u like to comment on a few centre ball ups that occured in the last quarter mate??
The way Juddy tapped it down to Jamo who kicked it long into our forward line was just sensational!:D
david_flood
23 Jul 2007, 17:49
What are peoples thoughts on other finals venues, Wakool, Quamby and Macorna. With specific finals yet to be assigned one would imagine that the Second Semi will be held at Wakool as they are currently likely to be involved in the first semi and possibly the prelim. First semi at Macorna and Prelim at Quamby for mine.
shouldnt they pick the best grounds for the finals? cant see how murrabit dont have a final...probably has on of the best surfaces in country vic and the facilities are tip top too:thumbsu:
can play
23 Jul 2007, 17:55
The moula fella chased his opponent in there, but they paided it against moula. It's always going to be an issue unless all the umps are neutral, and that's not going to happen.
facts_rite
23 Jul 2007, 18:01
The moula fella chased his opponent in there, but they paided it against moula. It's always going to be an issue unless all the umps are neutral, and that's not going to happen.
Thats not true mate! I was standing on the point of the square at the time it happened, was clearly in! Ran in on his own, didnt go chasin any nully blokes in there!
ironmunger
23 Jul 2007, 18:07
How do you know that, I thought most players are watching the ball up at that point not watching if other players are infringing on the square.:thumbsu:
Daryl Somers
23 Jul 2007, 18:16
Theres always gunna times where people think what if in a drawn game, for example what about the 3 times the central (paid umpire) didn't even throw the ball above the ruckmans head and moula got them all to advantage and also got 3 goals. I think you will find what goes around comes around. Don't blame umpires for your what if's.
On the track
23 Jul 2007, 18:16
Agree, with Can Play, not sure what Keith has been sniffing but the Swannies are back in the hunt! Who would have thought that percentage will probably come into play at the end of the year now with the draw earlier in the year?
Who would have thought that the Swannies would get two points let alone almost a win?
Big game for the Hawks this week against the Tiggies, Hawks lose, Hawks gone? Not sure if the Saints can get over the Swannies at home?
May come down to percantage and the Swannies play Lions, Ultima and Saints. May come down to how much of a percantage boost the Swannies can get in these games?
This is surely one of the best years this league has seen for a while what a pisser
On the track
23 Jul 2007, 18:18
Anywhere in the GRFL as long as neutral to senior games the grounds are good enough to play on all year there good enough for the granny:cool:
On the track
23 Jul 2007, 18:28
Theres always gunna times where people think what if in a drawn game, for example what about the 3 times the central (paid umpire) didn't even throw the ball above the ruckmans head and moula got them all to advantage and also got 3 goals. I think you will find what goes around comes around. Don't blame umpires for your what if's.
i think can play maybe trying to point out that if you are doing the boundary, goal, central what ever be honest and consistent dont have a one eyed view we all want our sides to win but at the end of the day if they get into finals through dodgie decisions it wont help them at finals time, we all know that and no I'm not making comment on umpires to much they got a tough job to do call it as you see it but be consistent
The Messenger
23 Jul 2007, 19:52
shouldnt they pick the best grounds for the finals? cant see how murrabit dont have a final...probably has on of the best surfaces in country vic and the facilities are tip top too:thumbsu:
The finals are on a rotation so each club gets a final every 3 years. Wan, Mur and Mac share one. Quam, Ult and Nully and Moula, Wak and Hay share one. I think it is a pretty good system and it's a lot fairer than some leagues. I spoke to somebody from the league about this and if they had the power to choose grounds for finals they would pick Mur, Wan and Mac or Quam because they are the closest to Kerang and it guarantees them a good crowd. I can't see other teams in the comp liking that idea.
On the track
23 Jul 2007, 20:58
The finals are on a rotation so each club gets a final every 3 years. Wan, Mur and Mac share one. Quam, Ult and Nully and Moula, Wak and Hay share one. I think it is a pretty good system and it's a lot fairer than some leagues. I spoke to somebody from the league about this and if they had the power to choose grounds for finals they would pick Mur, Wan and Mac or Quam because they are the closest to Kerang and it guarantees them a good crowd. I can't see other teams in the comp liking that idea.
Good crowds is only a easy excuse to keep the final in KERANG can they honestly expect the people in the league to believe that they wont get a good crowd to the granny if it was held somewhere else eg Swanhill ( Swan hill being around the same distance for a lot of the clubs as Kerang) of course you will get the crowd everyone makes an effort to see their side play in the big one. Oh thats right they get the crowd from Kerang crap its only our clubs at the finals Kerang are in the CMFL and feel they are above us. The takings should be filtered through the towns in our league which Kerang are not, through service stations shops etc reaping some reward for the town holding the final, as we know the canteen etc are shared by different clubs each year.:thumbsd:
ROOTA#6
23 Jul 2007, 21:04
What would you blokes think if the GF was played in Swan Hill???
Good crowds is only a easy excuse to keep the final in KERANG can they honestly expect the people in the league to believe that they wont get a good crowd to the granny if it was held somewhere else eg Swanhill ( Swan hill being around the same distance for a lot of the clubs as Kerang) of course you will get the crowd everyone makes an effort to see their side play in the big one. Oh thats right they get the crowd from Kerang crap its only our clubs at the finals Kerang are in the CMFL and feel they are above us. The takings should be filtered through the towns in our league which Kerang are not, through service stations shops etc reaping some reward for the town holding the final, as we know the canteen etc are shared by different clubs each year.:thumbsd:
Kerang isnt above you or better than you. You are another one who continues the "Us Vs Them" mentality, why do you do it. Time to get over it, move on, i did years ago.
facts_rite
24 Jul 2007, 10:54
How do you know that, I thought most players are watching the ball up at that point not watching if other players are infringing on the square.:thumbsu:
Its not hard to catch out the corner of ur eye mate. N when the whistle was blown the Moula bloke was atleast 5 paces in, and he knew he had infringed!!!
can play
24 Jul 2007, 11:26
Its not hard to catch out the corner of ur eye mate. N when the whistle was blown the Moula bloke was atleast 5 paces in, and he knew he had infringed!!!
Which occasion are we talking about? He paid more than one..........and that's a fact!
facts_rite
24 Jul 2007, 12:51
Which occasion are we talking about? He paid more than one..........and that's a fact!
The one in the later parts of the last quarter, #34 for Moula got a bit excited and did infringe! But its in the past now mate, both teams ended the day with 2 points each!!!!
Trent the flight Steward
24 Jul 2007, 13:12
Kerang isnt above you or better than you. You are another one who continues the "Us Vs Them" mentality, why do you do it. Time to get over it, move on, i did years ago.
kerang would have to have the best surface to play on in the district as well, and the facilities are above all GRFL grounds so as sam kekovich says you know it makes sense
September
24 Jul 2007, 13:39
kerang would have to have the best surface to play on in the district as well, and the facilities are above all GRFL grounds so as sam kekovich says you know it makes sense
I'm all for the GF being played in Kerang with the one exception, the bloody ground runs east-west and after half time you cant see s h it.
TEE-R-OTTER
24 Jul 2007, 14:20
I would have doubts as to Kerang having the best ground surface, the ground itself is quite uneven with a few low points over the ground, it is good but not on the pedistal that most put it on.
Macorna's ground by all reports was nice and soft.
Appin Vet
24 Jul 2007, 16:12
Kerangs surface is good enough to host an Interleague fixture (CMFL v BendigoFL) and so should be fit enough to host the GRFL GF. The surface is nothing short of beautiful and let's not forget where most of the Sponsorship comes from within the League. I'm pretty sure they wouldn't mind having it a little closer to the main street of Kerang. There are some good surfaces around the area though regardless of the drought.
On the track
24 Jul 2007, 18:28
I'm all for the GF being played in Kerang with the one exception, the bloody ground runs east-west and after half time you cant see s h it.
you took the words right out of my mouth, the ground is like a bloody balloon also. Its playing surface would be struggling against Murrabit, now you are talking a terrific surface. if the GRFL grounds are good enough for all the other finals why not the GF or is it to do with our board members all being members of the Gannawarra Shire perhaps thoughts on this???:confused:
On the track
24 Jul 2007, 18:30
Facilities if you call piss and crap running out the doorway of the dunny because they block every year well perhaps your right but normal people dont appreciate these conditions.:eek:
brewery fresh
24 Jul 2007, 22:50
you must be taking the piss. the ground is average, runs the wrong way, is always windy, has no atmosphere, is not in the league, has limited shelter for fans and has nothing to do with the grfl. surely we could hold the granny at a neutral ground in our own league???:eek: the day is supposed to showcase OUR league, not kerang.
theteamplayer
25 Jul 2007, 00:44
you must be taking the piss. the ground is average, runs the wrong way, is always windy, has no atmosphere, is not in the league, has limited shelter for fans and has nothing to do with the grfl. surely we could hold the granny at a neutral ground in our own league???:eek: the day is supposed to showcase OUR league, not kerang.
Have had the pleasure of playing on the surface a couple of times on the big stage and never had any troubles. Imagine the uproar if a team was allowed to play a home grand final. Its unlikely, but it could happen if the GF were to be played at one of the grounds in the league. kerang seems like a good neutral spot for the granny to me, but then again, im a simple man. Homage to the old KDFL, i reckon. And its pretty good visibility from everywhere with plenty of space for supporters.
Your right about the toilet situation though. Terrible. But that aside, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Mildred
25 Jul 2007, 15:42
I know one thing, it sure gives the pubs a boost in Kerang. I am happy with Kerang's surface, except the pitches when its muddy, but their facilities r pretty poor. Rooms are too small, everything is blocked (toilets and shower) and you can here what the other team is talking about next door. There is no shelter from the whether and the ground runs the wrong way. So yeah, the only good thing about kerang is the surface and the pubs. I still think murrabit should be the venue. It was always a better atmosphere there and the facilities are much better is every aspect. As for if Murrabit were in the grand final, i think it is irrelevant. Look at the afl, if west coast play in the gf, they know it will be at the mcg, and they know they may come across a team which plays there as their ground. It needs looking at i believe.
Sweet_as_bro
25 Jul 2007, 15:55
I played in a league where all the finals were played at the one ground. That had its good and bad points, but at least you knew where you were going to be playing. I think all the teams in that league are happy with it.
As for Kerang, I think its a crap ground, thats too big, and no atmosphere.
Kerang isn't that bad, it central, nuetral and not bad facilities. I believe we can attract a bigger crowd at riverside park. Where else could we realisticly have it?:confused:
Mildred
25 Jul 2007, 17:41
Kerang isn't that bad, it central, nuetral and not bad facilities. I believe we can attract a bigger crowd at riverside park. Where else could we realisticly have it?:confused:
aaahhhh, murrabit! Where it has been in the past. Come on Catter!!
brewery fresh
25 Jul 2007, 19:52
why would there be a bigger crowd at kerang? the only reason the gate figures are larger is because they started to charge u/17 entry when the granny went to kerang. not that keith has ever reconised that. the one and only real reason some clubs dont want the granny in our league is because they dont want to play a granny against a home side. not that that would really matter, if your gonna win it your gonna win it. but we can still play it on a neutral ground:
- the league selects 4 grounds for finals in july.
- approaching finals they select which games would be "clashes" (home sides playing)
- arrange the games so there is no clashes, with a minimum 2 weeks notice for clubs to organise their final.
bob is your uncle, nothing out of our league, clubs can strive to improve their grounds to hold the pinnacle of the year, no unrest from clubs outside the kerang district.
obviously to get everything neutral it may not be quite as easy as that but there is a way around it.
how do other leagues do it, wouldnt think many would hold it outside their league unless the ground was clearly better eg grandstands, perfect surface
The One Who Watches
25 Jul 2007, 21:04
why would there be a bigger crowd at kerang? the only reason the gate figures are larger is because they started to charge u/17 entry when the granny went to kerang. not that keith has ever reconised that. the one and only real reason some clubs dont want the granny in our league is because they dont want to play a granny against a home side. not that that would really matter, if your gonna win it your gonna win it. but we can still play it on a neutral ground:
- the league selects 4 grounds for finals in july.
- approaching finals they select which games would be "clashes" (home sides playing)
- arrange the games so there is no clashes, with a minimum 2 weeks notice for clubs to organise their final.
bob is your uncle, nothing out of our league, clubs can strive to improve their grounds to hold the pinnacle of the year, no unrest from clubs outside the kerang district.
obviously to get everything neutral it may not be quite as easy as that but there is a way around it.
how do other leagues do it, wouldnt think many would hold it outside their league unless the ground was clearly better eg grandstands, perfect surface
Another League which uses a neutral venue for a final is the Picola League. They play the 1st and 2nd Semi Finals as a double header on the same day at Barooga (which is not in the League - in the Murray FL).
This is (apparently) done because it is a central venue - the venue has outstanding facilities. The whole thing is pretty unpopular with the clubs - more so from the double header perspective rather than the neutral venue.
The Kyabram and District League are currently considering using a neutral venue for their Grand Final - will either by Kyabram, Tatura or Mooroopna (all GVFL venues). Main reasons for this are much better facilities, better security and central location.
Having watched footy at Barooga, Mooroopna, Kyabram and Tatura they all make Kerang look like a hovel. The facilities are crap - bad toilets, no grandstand and the ground is oriented the wrong way.
If the GRFL continue to use a neutral venue for the Grand Final it should be because it is a superior venue to that which can be provided by the clubs. I dont think Kerang can do it - it might have a great playing surface but from a crowd / spectator perspective it is crap
The Messenger
25 Jul 2007, 21:08
The only problem I see with holding the Grand Final in our league is Hay. To be fair Hay would need to be given a GF, clubs will make a lot more money hosting a GF than they would hosting any of the other finals so Hay would have to be given one. I don't know how the crowd figure would look if Hay was to host a GF.
The other thing is having a neutral GF in all grades would be tough, I know we are just talking about a neutral senior GF but you tell some of the 2's or 3's boys they have to play Murrabit at Murrabit or Wandella at Wandella with there intimate knowledge of the hill, I can't imagine they would be to happy.
Same goes for the netty a lot of the netty courts have different rings which would be a distinct advantage to the home side.
Mildred
26 Jul 2007, 10:04
To solve this problem, have the finals at the 3 best grounds in the league and the gf at murrabit and divide the funds evenly between all clubs. This way, the clubs will strive to lift the facilities of their ground and supporter areas, unlike macrona, who know they have a final and absolutely trashed their ground by putting heaps of water on it. Central Murray have no problems with holding the finals at the best grounds and the gf at swan hill. If swan hill r in the grand final, stiff, everyone knows where it is going to be. Correct me if i am wrong, but swan hill have lost a few grand finals in the past 5 years haven't they? Yeah great home ground advantage. Seriously, it has 4 posts at each end and once the ball is bounced, all is forgotten. They only reason i would see a home ground an advantage is during the year, as u would expect more of your supporters to be there, but in the gf, that is a non-issue, as all ur fans should be there.
Fair point:thumbsu:
The Messenger
26 Jul 2007, 13:27
Swan Hill were beaten by better teams, home ground advantage only comes into play if the teams are very close in ability. It won't always make a difference but sometimes it does and if it gives a team an extra 2% on there performance sometimes that can be the difference between winning and losing.
Home ground knowledge is a huge advantage, the dimensions of the grounds in the GRFL are a lot different. Murrabit's ground is a lot bigger than Wakool and Moula. Quamby is very wide and Macorna is quite narrow I think a neutral ground makes a difference also in the preparation, being in your own club rooms, feeling comfortable with the surroundings, it all makes a difference.
Also dividing the money up between all the clubs would never work, do you think any of the clubs that host a final will declare all of there takings. There would be a lot of money that wouldn't get declared and also clubs wouldn't be happy doing all the work to then see the money split between all clubs. Running a final takes a lot of hard work from a lot of people and clubs would not want to host a final if they can sit back do nothing and still make the same money as the club that works there butt off to run the thing.
September
26 Jul 2007, 13:54
Swan Hill were beaten by better teams, home ground advantage only comes into play if the teams are very close in ability. It won't always make a difference but sometimes it does and if it gives a team an extra 2% on there performance sometimes that can be the difference between winning and losing.
Home ground knowledge is a huge advantage, the dimensions of the grounds in the GRFL are a lot different. Murrabit's ground is a lot bigger than Wakool and Moula. Quamby is very wide and Macorna is quite narrow I think a neutral ground makes a difference also in the preparation, being in your own club rooms, feeling comfortable with the surroundings, it all makes a difference.
Also dividing the money up between all the clubs would never work, do you think any of the clubs that host a final will declare all of there takings. There would be a lot of money that wouldn't get declared and also clubs wouldn't be happy doing all the work to then see the money split between all clubs. Running a final takes a lot of hard work from a lot of people and clubs would not want to host a final if they can sit back do nothing and still make the same money as the club that works there butt off to run the thing.
Lets be honest, the current system is probably the best.
Why don't we move on and talk about something else, i'm bored.
Trent the flight Steward
26 Jul 2007, 14:01
Lets be honest, the current system is probably the best.
Why don't we move on and talk about something else, i'm bored.
correct there september, its just murrabit people having ths sulks because its not played there any more
TEE-R-OTTER
26 Jul 2007, 14:34
correct there september, its just murrabit people having ths sulks because its not played there any more
You will find Trent, if you attend a league meeting, that it is more than just Murrabit that are unhappy with the current system.
kidgorgeous
26 Jul 2007, 14:34
Probably shouldn't start drinking at 10am then. ;)
Who really cares where the Grand Final is played? The crowd will still be huge and everyone goes home happy.
Appin Vet
26 Jul 2007, 14:36
Nice can of worms I opened there, eh? Seriously, the horse has been flogged enough. It is now dead on its feet. Change of subject please.
Footy trips would be spoken about this time of year. Where is everybody off to??
Sweet_as_bro
26 Jul 2007, 14:54
I heard Nully is off to NZ...
PK is good but not that good, :D. You are way....way,way off. Try just up the highway!
Footy Tripper
26 Jul 2007, 16:43
The Nully boys will be heading to the Caulfield Guineas and have a couple of nights in Melbourne.....something different from Adelaide!
On the track
26 Jul 2007, 18:47
What would you blokes think if the GF was played in Swan Hill???
no problems with me, good grounds, good facilities:thumbsu:
On the track
26 Jul 2007, 18:59
The only problem I see with holding the Grand Final in our league is Hay. To be fair Hay would need to be given a GF, clubs will make a lot more money hosting a GF than they would hosting any of the other finals so Hay would have to be given one. I don't know how the crowd figure would look if Hay was to host a GF.
The other thing is having a neutral GF in all grades would be tough, I know we are just talking about a neutral senior GF but you tell some of the 2's or 3's boys they have to play Murrabit at Murrabit or Wandella at Wandella with there intimate knowledge of the hill, I can't imagine they would be to happy.
Same goes for the netty a lot of the netty courts have different rings which would be a distinct advantage to the home side.
I'm pretty sure that hay could come to an agreement with Wakool or Moulamein to use their ground for the GF and still reap the rewards and limit everyones travel time they are all NSW based afterall, possibly Barham ?
Position: Half Back Bench
26 Jul 2007, 21:33
So Murrabit would play a Grand Final against Wandelal at Wandella or Nullawil at Nullawil?
The Grand Final should be played at a Neutral venue!
Kerang is still the best option! The day could be ran better, they could get portable toilets etc. And maybe they could pick up the ground and move it!
PARROT9
27 Jul 2007, 01:02
Well done to Glenn Smith on making the Vic country team.
Interesting choice on the weekend!!!:thumbsu:
Sweet_as_bro
27 Jul 2007, 08:54
I haven't ever seen that Smith bloke play a decent game.
His brothers can play though.
Sneezewell
27 Jul 2007, 09:44
Ive seen him play plenty and he deserves his spot. I remember one day he was still playing unders. He kicked 22 goals in the u/17 and then kicked 8 in the ones.
Sweet as, smithy can play taller than his size. He plays in the similar vain as that big bloke that played in the Nully reserve premiership side, the big H train. Wonder what ever happened to him:D
Straunchie59
27 Jul 2007, 10:30
Sweet as, smithy can play taller than his size. He plays in the similar vain as that big bloke that played in the Nully reserve premiership side, the big H train. Wonder what ever happened to him:D
lets not forget the J Bode on the back flank either past nully coach made the cut and past player joel wilson in the SA team
ROOTA#6
27 Jul 2007, 11:42
I seem to recall Glenn playing many great games. One that springs to mind was a CMFL grand final a few years ago which Lake Boga won. Glenn took home the VCFL medal for best on ground.
He can certainly play and well done to him for making the side
Mildred
27 Jul 2007, 12:42
Smithy is a gun, and he can certainly back it up with his from..Does anyone know the guidlines on the rookie of the year?
Guidelines for Rookie of the Year are pretty simple, u have to come from either Murrabit or Wandella!!!!
darren melton
27 Jul 2007, 14:40
speaking of guys who cant get a kick how is clint wheatley going and what type of year is he having at wakool
Mildred
27 Jul 2007, 17:40
Guidelines for Rookie of the Year are pretty simple, u have to come from either Murrabit or Wandella!!!!
haha, righto. good call! Seriously, anyone have a clue?
HappyDayz
27 Jul 2007, 17:42
Should be a cracker of a game out at Quamby. Just been speaking to none other than Luke Wilson himself who said spoiling Quamby's big reunion party and any chance of finals was a huge incentive. He also mentioned he was looking forward to seeing Dan Demaria being sat on his arse sometime in the first quarter.
A good argument but i can't go passed Quamby, by 28 points.
P.S. Are the rumours of a Dillon reunion for this clash true, if so the huge crowd should get their moneys worth.
Hugh Jars
27 Jul 2007, 22:00
Tips for this week
Nully to beat Wandella by 5 pts on a gut feeling
Macorna to beat Wakool by 18 pts and keep the finals race alive
Moula to beat Hay by 103 pts to stay in touch
Quamby to beat Ultima by 32 pts and still have a sniff
Murrabit to order the turkeys
ruddi zarsoff
29 Jul 2007, 15:56
Tips for this week
Nully to beat Wandella by 5 pts on a gut feeling
Macorna to beat Wakool by 18 pts and keep the finals race alive
Moula to beat Hay by 103 pts to stay in touch
Quamby to beat Ultima by 32 pts and still have a sniff
Murrabit to order the turkeys
nully by 5 pts on gut feeling make a doctors app you got the trots big time
Hugh Jars
30 Jul 2007, 09:11
nully by 5 pts on gut feeling make a doctors app you got the trots big time
nah mate just ate a packet of gravox that fixed it.
Appin Vet
30 Jul 2007, 12:29
Factsrite... Now tell me, what the hell happened to you blokes at home on Saturday? Any players out apart from your brother who had the game Sunday?? How did Glenn go anyway?? Or could it be that the Bombers are Murrabit's only real threat on their day.
Aaron Fiora
30 Jul 2007, 15:40
Just wondering if anyone can tell me anything about Brant Laidlaw who plays for Wandella. Reckons that he's a fair chance for a top five finish in the league medal this year and says he would be leading the clearences for his club if they were counted. just want to know other peoples thoughts on him and if he's as good as he says he is because quite frankly we are sick of hearing about it.
Brandt is not a bad footballer, but no way near top 5 in the league! There are a lot more players better than him going around. Sounds like ol Brandt has woken up stuck to the sheets dreamin about himself on a few occasions!!!
football head
30 Jul 2007, 23:59
[quote=Aaron Fiora;8257876] plays for Wandella. quote]
speaking of wandella i have heard a whisper that tony bellenger may be considering a return in a playing capacity only next season? any one heard this?
TEE-R-OTTER
31 Jul 2007, 09:30
speaking of wandella i have heard a whisper that tony bellenger may be considering a return in a playing capacity only next season? any one heard this?
mmm... Don't know haven't heard that one. plenty of other news from out there though
Jas McLean invited his team to his house for a few beers and BBQ, saturday night due to his ban, only one player turned up.:p
Also AC Howard's car is in a bit of a mess, He's a lucky lad!
Mildred
31 Jul 2007, 09:51
Henry or Harvey? Who will win the goal kicking?
catch me if u can
31 Jul 2007, 10:32
would think that all that is is just a rumour! he's doin a pretty good job at avoca and from all reports has got the club back on its feet there, and if they dont win the flag this year i would imagin that next year would be another huge year there for him. so cant see him leavin the dogs.:thumbsu:
Straunchie59
31 Jul 2007, 12:18
PK is good but not that good, :D. You are way....way,way off. Try just up the highway!
off to disney land the way there playing they already over there
Appin Vet
31 Jul 2007, 14:04
So nobody from Nully would like to comment on Saturday's effort. Fair enough.
Fiora, knowing Brant for as long as I have, I don't think I have heard him say anything about his good self. I would love to know why he would start now...
Polished performer in my books.
Is it fair to say that Murrabit have one real challenger for the 2007 flag?
theteamplayer
31 Jul 2007, 15:23
Fiora, knowing Brant for as long as I have, I don't think I have heard him say anything about his good self. I would love to know why he would start now...
Nully just never looked like it on the weekend. Needed to be tighter, 1 on 1 when wandella were in possession due to their "short" style of play from half back, or push back into defence hard to stiffle the bombers. But I wouldn't discount nully yet, a proven club with winning pedigree who have shown glimpses this season. September is always an unknown entity, no matter what.
How's that AV?
whatsit2u
31 Jul 2007, 21:11
With all the talk about the grand final venue. Seem t remember back in the mid 90's ulitma knocking off murrabit at murrabit in the grand final. And came back from being down at 3/4 time. Murrabit lost the thirds as well i think. So home ground advantage is not an issue. Gates are only bigger because the price goes up a $1 each year and kids have to play. As for riverside park having more room thats a joke. cant park your car cant buy food and nowhere to watch the footy and have to walk a mile to have a piss. Play in your own league, be it at murrabit, wandella or even macorna. where ever it is going to be played it dosent matter. the side that wins wins and the side that loses loses. Who ever said about netball should be neutral get a life its only ther because of the football anyway.
[quote=football head;8264027]
mmm... Don't know haven't heard that one. plenty of other news from out there though
Jas McLean invited his team to his house for a few beers and BBQ, saturday night due to his ban, only one player turned up.:p
Also AC Howard's car is in a bit of a mess, He's a lucky lad!
Have always heard the rumours that Howard was a bit of a loose cannon and that is including on and off the field, what an idiot! See he made it into the local in the police notes, great example that bloke, should be dead after that hit the other night, might wake up to himself?
Now what did Jason get done for, didnt like the umpires?? Should try being a bit more backwards in coming forwards some time.
Would have to be a Wandella vs Murrabit GF on current form and it might be a one sided affair, regardless who fronts Murrabit.
darren melton
1 Aug 2007, 11:39
can anyone tell me how clint wheatleys playing this year
Appin Vet
1 Aug 2007, 12:36
Nully just never looked like it on the weekend. Needed to be tighter, 1 on 1 when wandella were in possession due to their "short" style of play from half back, or push back into defence hard to stiffle the bombers. But I wouldn't discount nully yet, a proven club with winning pedigree who have shown glimpses this season. September is always an unknown entity, no matter what.
How's that AV?
Very well said. Any injuries that we should know about?? Wandella also have players out with injury as is the case with most clubs. But it just looked a little one sided. How are you going to fix the goalkicking situation. Or lack thereof. Bad kicking = Bad footy.
Sweet_as_bro
1 Aug 2007, 13:09
Very well said. Any injuries that we should know about?? Wandella also have players out with injury as is the case with most clubs. But it just looked a little one sided. How are you going to fix the goalkicking situation. Or lack thereof. Bad kicking = Bad footy.
Bring back Doran!!!!!
thatsthethingboutfootball
1 Aug 2007, 14:40
Do any of you guys have any suprises packets from '07 so far? Either within your club or others... Some i have noticed are (all young guys)...
Danny Crabbe (nul)- seems to have come along way from being a battler in the twos last year and have noticed him amongst the best a few times this year
Travy Smith (wan)- lost heaps of weight in the pre-season and is playing to how most people knew that he could
Andy White (ult) - first year of senior footy and seems to be holding down a spot in the backline pretty well each week, i think he is still only 19 perhaps 20
Stewart Broussard (ult) - 50 odd goals in a side that has only won 3 game. never really stared as a junior but seems to be maturing, stilll only 21
what are you thoughts on them or any others? two ultima boys i know but as you can tell im an ultima supporter
facts_rite
1 Aug 2007, 17:02
Do any of you guys have any suprises packets from '07 so far? Either within your club or others... Some i have noticed are (all young guys)...
Danny Crabbe (nul)- seems to have come along way from being a battler in the twos last year and have noticed him amongst the best a few times this year
Travy Smith (wan)- lost heaps of weight in the pre-season and is playing to how most people knew that he could
Andy White (ult) - first year of senior footy and seems to be holding down a spot in the backline pretty well each week, i think he is still only 19 perhaps 20
Stewart Broussard (ult) - 50 odd goals in a side that has only won 3 game. never really stared as a junior but seems to be maturing, stilll only 21
what are you thoughts on them or any others? two ultima boys i know but as you can tell im an ultima supporter
Trungweed has always been in the mix of senior footy @ Nully, its just his work ethic that has let him down in the pas tbut gets on the track a fair bit now! Not the most overly skilled player going round but always has a crack and is fairly quick!
theteamplayer
1 Aug 2007, 21:02
Not a lot on the injury front. Brett Smith had a dislocated thumb which required surgery, and will be back for the 1st semi at the very earliest. Clouds over others (Smith, Humphreys). I guess nully can take solace in the fact that they had a lot of scoring shots, and it's just the finishing skills that needs polishing, maybe tripper would be the man to ask about rectifying it! Field kicking better than at goal though. Who are Wandella's injuries?
TEE-R-OTTER
2 Aug 2007, 13:55
1st semi - Macorna
2nd semi - Wakool
Prelim - Quamby
GF - Kerang
TEE-R-OTTER
2 Aug 2007, 14:02
Yeah Stewie has performed well, played on him a bit and he is a pretty good grab and as you said snags 4 or so a week, a good return.
Dave Millard (Mur) - again one of the younger guys, 20, has performed realy well in the middle and is handy down forward. Big pre-season which has payed off by the looks.
big balls
2 Aug 2007, 17:22
in the riverina the grounds rotate for a neutral venue first week of finals. top of the ladder gets home final then all finals after that at narrandera. catering is then shared around evenly, so you use host facilities & supply the food and drinks yourself
Fernandez
3 Aug 2007, 10:25
can anyone tell me how clint wheatleys playing this year
no where near as good as fabulous phil
Fernandez
3 Aug 2007, 10:28
Bring back Doran!!!!!
can anyone tell me how the nully fags are travelling this year
bernard the bipolar bear
3 Aug 2007, 10:55
Sitting third. Started the season well, but are struggling at the moment. Haven't beaten anyone of note.
Footy Pie
3 Aug 2007, 11:41
Obviously have a hatred towards Nully Fernandez? Got any reason that u would like to share with us?
Tips.
Murrabit to beat Wakool, just! Wakool are making a surge to the finals.
Macorna to upset Nullawil at home, wet or dry! Wonder if there will be any freak showers this time on friday night.
Quambatook to erase all hope of moulamein for the year.
Wandella easily over Hay.
Appin Vet
3 Aug 2007, 14:37
Not a lot on the injury front. Brett Smith had a dislocated thumb which required surgery, and will be back for the 1st semi at the very earliest. Clouds over others (Smith, Humphreys). I guess nully can take solace in the fact that they had a lot of scoring shots, and it's just the finishing skills that needs polishing, maybe tripper would be the man to ask about rectifying it! Field kicking better than at goal though. Who are Wandella's injuries?
Jamie Pay (mystery hip ailment) and Ice Kennedy (hammy) is all that I know of. Ice is still playing with it though. Jimbob is on the sidelines until further notice.
bernard the bipolar bear
3 Aug 2007, 14:56
Murrabit
Wandella
Nullawil
Quamby
scoreboard attendant
3 Aug 2007, 19:22
big round of footy this week in the grfl
murrabit to be to strong for wakool, at least 10 goals
nully to get over macorna, at least 4 goals
wandlla easily over hay, 100 points
moula to get up over quamby to keep the faint finals hope alive:thumbsu::thumbsu:
big round of footy this week in the grfl
murrabit to be to strong for wakool, at least 10 goals
nully to get over macorna, at least 4 goals
wandlla easily over hay, 100 points
moula to get up over quamby to keep the faint finals hope alive:thumbsu::thumbsu:
mmmm.....wakool gaining abit of momentum/players back? or murrabit went away for the weekend?
Murrabit
Wandella
Nullawil
Quamby
What a big round in football Bipolar Bear, or is this really Ben Carter????
Sneezewell
5 Aug 2007, 11:50
Well looks like its over for the moula boys, unless they can make up 50 percentage points this weekend, Just like to say congrats to all the blokes out there, for a well improved season, even though they talk alot of crap on here it is a great club to be involved with. Also well done to Trav Pryor on an excellent effort as coach. LETS MAKE NEXT YEAR THE YEAR OF THE SWAN.:thumbsu::thumbsu: