View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

foxdoog50
21 Aug 2007, 22:04
Make sure you take plenty of vasoline and some runners, Macorna ground in terrible condish

September its alot better than the last time you played a few weeks ago, i can a sure ya it will be in great shape for saturday...

Nackas
22 Aug 2007, 11:22
I predict Wakool just......Nullawil are a better team in the finals, and with the likes of the smith boys, jase moloney, the poyners and fawcett, they can do alright. The only downside i believe nully has is they rely to much on their midfielders to kick goals! Yeah who will play on Harvey...they need someone fit, QUICK and someone taller than he is! Maybe JAse Maloney.

Wandella will win the two's, macorna the thirds, hay the forths and dont care about the netball.

HARVEY, Shane
Wakool
KEARNEY, Adam
Wakool
LAURSEN, Jay
Wakool
POLLOCK, Adam
Wakool
BURMEISTER, Damien
Wakool

SMITH, Glenn
Nullawil
ATKIN, Kieran
Nullawil
GOLDSMITH, Sam
Nullawil
SMITH, Arren
Nullawil
KORP, Steven
Nullawil

Nully will struggle to have the firepower up forward by the looks of this! But this also shows that you only need to shut down Harvey and Kearney to get on top of Wakool, but a lot easier said than done i no!

footyplayers
23 Aug 2007, 12:16
We are looking for players for 2008. If interested PM me.

Appin Vet
23 Aug 2007, 12:20
The only way Nully could stop Harvey is if they ring Ben Johson. Not doing much for the rest of the year for the Pies. Against Nully, Harvey would be averaging around 10 goals or so in his 2 years in the league. Coming of 14 last week against them doesn't look good for the Maroons. Wakool by 16pts.

carntheblue&whitehoops
23 Aug 2007, 12:20
I predict Wakool just......Nullawil are a better team in the finals, and with the likes of the smith boys, jase moloney, the poyners and fawcett, they can do alright. The only downside i believe nully has is they rely to much on their midfielders to kick goals! Yeah who will play on Harvey...they need someone fit, QUICK and someone taller than he is! Maybe JAse Maloney.

Wandella will win the two's, macorna the thirds, hay the forths and dont care about the netball.

dont know how you can say nulla are a better team in the finals!!! i seem to recall wakool 2 nill up in last years finals.

Footy Pie
23 Aug 2007, 12:59
Harvey only kicked 4 against Nully the 1st time they met. Harvey was unable to get into the game as Nully won most of the ball out of the centre! So i think u'll find that whoever has the majority of the centre clearances for the day will get up!!!!

Appin Vet
23 Aug 2007, 14:52
Wait till next week to spend your hard earned. Will be a game for the ages.

macedonian marvel
23 Aug 2007, 16:11
You would think Nully would need to play an extra man in defence to help out with Harvey, at least early in the game. Centre breaks are the key though, if it doesn't get down there quickly, he can't kick goals!!

Nackas
23 Aug 2007, 16:34
You would think Nully would need to play an extra man in defence to help out with Harvey, at least early in the game. Centre breaks are the key though, if it doesn't get down there quickly, he can't kick goals!!

What is going to hurt Nully on the weekend is the lack of a ruckman. This has hurt them through out the year, but in saying that Atkin should play satdy therefore giving Nully another rucking option. A loose man in defence would have to be a smart footballer to still cut Harvey off, but it could be done. Matt Graham will be influential in the outcome of the game, so to big Wizz Pollock. Both are known to have off days, but finals is a different game all together.

macedonian marvel
23 Aug 2007, 16:43
What is going to hurt Nully on the weekend is the lack of a ruckman. This has hurt them through out the year, but in saying that Atkin should play satdy therefore giving Nully another rucking option. A loose man in defence would have to be a smart footballer to still cut Harvey off, but it could be done. Matt Graham will be influential in the outcome of the game, so to big Wizz Pollock. Both are known to have off days, but finals is a different game all together.

You are right about the ruck. Matt Graham doesn't work that hard though, just plays the middle of the ground, which is all he has to do I guess. Wizz is possibly the dumbest footballer in the league, so you can expose him with enough pressure. The centremen will be key on the day, should go a long way to deciding the result. Laursen will need to be stopped, can have a huge influence on the game. Nully haven't fired in the forward line for a while. You wouldn't think Humphreys and G Smith will play forward much this week, so will have to find other ways to goal. Haven't heard much of Sam Goldsmith lately, what is the go there? Bill Hewitt may have to play more forward. Atkin will need to kick a bag, hasn't done much in his last few games. A lot of players are under the pump, who can produce at the right time of year? Nully have the cattle, they just have to put it all together!

facts_rite
23 Aug 2007, 17:38
You are right about the ruck. Matt Graham doesn't work that hard though, just plays the middle of the ground, which is all he has to do I guess. Wizz is possibly the dumbest footballer in the league, so you can expose him with enough pressure. The centremen will be key on the day, should go a long way to deciding the result. Laursen will need to be stopped, can have a huge influence on the game. Nully haven't fired in the forward line for a while. You wouldn't think Humphreys and G Smith will play forward much this week, so will have to find other ways to goal. Haven't heard much of Sam Goldsmith lately, what is the go there? Bill Hewitt may have to play more forward. Atkin will need to kick a bag, hasn't done much in his last few games. A lot of players are under the pump, who can produce at the right time of year? Nully have the cattle, they just have to put it all together!

This may have something to do with the fact that Kieran hasnt played for a couple of weeks

Sneezewell
23 Aug 2007, 19:56
Harvey only kicked 4 against Nully the 1st time they met. Harvey was unable to get into the game as Nully won most of the ball out of the centre! So i think u'll find that whoever has the majority of the centre clearances for the day will get up!!!!

He may not of got into the game, he still kicked four. If anyone else kicked four you would be saying they had a decent run. To be honest I can see the hawks burying nully and hopefully the premiership cup will stay in NSW for another year. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Footy Pie
24 Aug 2007, 10:14
He may not of got into the game, he still kicked four. If anyone else kicked four you would be saying they had a decent run. To be honest I can see the hawks burying nully and hopefully the premiership cup will stay in NSW for another year. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

As Harvey kicks a large percentage of the teams goals, u keep him to four and the team will only kick around 10, therefore thats a win as far as im concerned!!!!

The Messenger
24 Aug 2007, 11:00
Good luck to all teams in the upcoming finals series, lets hope we get some entertaining games.

Well done to Macorna, Moula and Quamby this year, all 3 teams managed to put competitive teams on the field this year and all claimed some impressive scalps during the year. Lets hope all these teams can keep the nucleus of there team and add to it for next year. I know Macorna have re appointed Mason and Cocks as coach and ac again for next year so that is a very good start. Is Chopper coaching again at Quamby and Trav at Moula?? Are there any other coaching appointments that people know for next year, Josh Chum, Smithy, Ice, Nook and Stewy all going again?? Also good luck to Ultima and Hay on there recruiting for next year, Ultima are never down for long so I would expect them to come out hard next year and as for Hay they may have some trouble getting off the bottom but fingers crossed they can put 2 teams on the field next year.

The one positive for these teams not making the finals is they have a 3 week head start on the top teams to get stuck into the recruiting and I have heard that all 3 have already spoken with some big names for next year.

Lets hope we see an even more competitive finals race next year. Again good luck to all the teams for the finals.

September
24 Aug 2007, 11:14
Good luck to all teams in the upcoming finals series, lets hope we get some entertaining games.

Well done to Macorna, Moula and Quamby this year, all 3 teams managed to put competitive teams on the field this year and all claimed some impressive scalps during the year. Lets hope all these teams can keep the nucleus of there team and add to it for next year. I know Macorna have re appointed Mason and Cocks as coach and ac again for next year so that is a very good start. Is Chopper coaching again at Quamby and Trav at Moula?? Are there any other coaching appointments that people know for next year, Josh Chum, Smithy, Ice, Nook and Stewy all going again?? Also good luck to Ultima and Hay on there recruiting for next year, Ultima are never down for long so I would expect them to come out hard next year and as for Hay they may have some trouble getting off the bottom but fingers crossed they can put 2 teams on the field next year.

The one positive for these teams not making the finals is they have a 3 week head start on the top teams to get stuck into the recruiting and I have heard that all 3 have already spoken with some big names for next year.

Lets hope we see an even more competitive finals race next year. Again good luck to all the teams for the finals.
Chopper will be coaching Quamby in 2008

Appin Vet
24 Aug 2007, 13:35
A big fat "GOOD LUCK" to the Wandella 2's. Who will be vying for a spot in the Preliminary. And to the rest of the Wandella fraternity who will be enjoying the sunshine and the smell of fresh VB's, oops I meant cut grass.

And just a skinny little good luck to the rest of the sides in the finals.

Fonc
24 Aug 2007, 14:27
A big fat "GOOD LUCK" to the Wandella 2's. Who will be vying for a spot in the Preliminary. And to the rest of the Wandella fraternity who will be enjoying the sunshine and the smell of fresh VB's, oops I meant cut grass.

And just a skinny little good luck to the rest of the sides in the finals.

Make sure u suck in the H2O also she's going to be a warm one! Will the senior players be sampling any beveridges like Richie did a few years ago and made a stella impression????

Appin Vet
24 Aug 2007, 14:54
That would have to be that day at Nully! Yeah, was really poorly behaved. Don't worry, he was heavily repremanded by the other Wandella boys that were there.
Nah I couldn't see the boys being that stupid. They will definitely make a showing though. Maybe a couple after half time.

facts_rite
24 Aug 2007, 15:35
That would have to be that day at Nully! Yeah, was really poorly behaved. Don't worry, he was heavily repremanded by the other Wandella boys that were there.
Nah I couldn't see the boys being that stupid. They will definitely make a showing though. Maybe a couple after half time.

Haha yes do recall that day actually, was a final @ nully an ol' Richie was in sensational form!!!!

Appin Vet
24 Aug 2007, 16:24
Could be an understatement there, Facts. Any surprises for tomorrow?? Shock selections??

facts_rite
24 Aug 2007, 17:18
Could be an understatement there, Facts. Any surprises for tomorrow?? Shock selections??

Ahhhhhh just u wait and see my good friend :rolleyes:

Sneezewell
24 Aug 2007, 19:54
I just heard that one reece poyner will ont be playing where will that leave nully as far as a ruck man goes

macedonian marvel
24 Aug 2007, 22:19
I just heard that one reece poyner will ont be playing where will that leave nully as far as a ruck man goes

Won't have any effect on the ruck, considering he never plays in that position. No R Poyner would be a big loss though, really provides a strong target up forward! Heard a whisper that Baz Smith trained on Thursday and may be right if Nully make it through this week! Don't know what shape he is in though. What about Doyle for Wakool, will he play?

Position: Half Back Bench
26 Aug 2007, 10:21
Nullawil 5-3 8-7 15-11 22-16 148 Wakool 2-0 6-3 10-6 13-9 87

Doesn't matter where the goals come from as long as you kick more goals then the other team!

Nully seem to pull it together at the right time. Heard Smithy gave a couple of good speeches.

Hugh Jars
26 Aug 2007, 13:31
Nullawil 5-3 8-7 15-11 22-16 148 Wakool 2-0 6-3 10-6 13-9 87

Doesn't matter where the goals come from as long as you kick more goals then the other team!

Nully seem to pull it together at the right time. Heard Smithy gave a couple of good speeches.

Pretty good effort by the Nully boys by the looks of it, good to see them turn it around after the disappointing second half of the h&a season. Wasn't at the game, so interested to know would Murrabit and Wandella have seen anything to give them a few worries? The apparent ease of Nully's win may suggest so. What are peoples thoughts?

brewery fresh
26 Aug 2007, 15:38
well done nully. clearly wanted it more and made wakool look like the disgrace that they are.
wakool showed their true colours, when the going got tough all their wanker melb recuits lost the plot. far too many blokes who couldnt give a stuff about the club, just happy to put their grubby hands out for the cash.

a few interesting points about the hawks:

harvey, kearney, wheatley, harrison and co are that arrogant they think they dont have to pay at the gate to get into the footy. this matter has been brought up lately in the local paper, and you would think these tools would pull their heads in and pay the money. no. at macorna yesterday they did the same thing, simply drove straight though without a care in the world. with a combined footy income of lets say $4000 - $5000 per week for the car load (which they dont put a cent back into the community) you would think the could spare $8. disgrace.
apparently harrison, who has played on the bench all year, simply turning up so he can get his reported $800 a game, was left out of the selected side on thursday before the 1st semi. good move you would think, give a guy who wants to play a go. no. his bum buddy graham rings the club and threatens none of the melbourne mob would turn up if harrison wasnt given a game. obviously the club had no choice. disgrace.
when harrison got his opportunity on the ground, in the last quarter when the game was in the balance, what did he do? mouthed off at either warra (ump) or his team mates (or both) and got sent off. good team player. disgrace
kearney saw the writhing on the wall mid way through the last quarter. being the big man he is he thought he would go down swinging (mind you piss poor effort, all show and no go) had only one thing on his mind and that was to get as many cheap shots in as possible. result = send off. then went on to head butt a member of the crowd (poor rick sheahan). disgrace.
when the game was up for grabs and wakool needed to take control where was harvey? twiddling his thumbs at full forward. i know, not a bad bloke to have at full forward, but they needed to win the footy in the mid field. you dont see glen smith hiding at full forward when the game was in the balance, he was winning the ball around the ground and still kicked 5! not real intelligent.
graham hired a car at the start of the year (i dont think wakool even knew he booked it down to the club), crashed it, wrote it off and who got the bill? wakool footy club. the committee did the right thing and sacked him, not really the kind of guy you want around the club. coach whelan goes behind the clubs back, rings him up and re hires him! disgracewith blokes like this in the club their stupidity starts to rub off on some of the locals, namely lashbrook. who himself let his side down with numerous undiciplined acts with at least one costing a goal. i know he thinks he is tough because he has a tatoo but sometimes you need to pull your head in.

in summary the club is now a joke. a circus. there is a lot to be said about the quality of players you recruit, it should never be soley on footy ability, but also on character......

theteamplayer
26 Aug 2007, 18:20
well done nully. clearly wanted it more and made wakool look like the disgrace that they are.
wakool showed their true colours, when the going got tough all their wanker melb recuits lost the plot. far too many blokes who couldnt give a stuff about the club, just happy to put their grubby hands out for the cash.

harvey, kearney, wheatley, harrison and co are that arrogant they think they dont have to pay at the gate to get into the footy. this matter has been brought up lately in the local paper, and you would think these tools would pull their heads in and pay the money. no. at macorna yesterday they did the same thing, simply drove straight though without a care in the world. with a combined footy income of lets say $4000 - $5000 per week for the car load (which they dont put a cent back into the community) you would think the could spare $8. disgrace.
apparently harrison, who has played on the bench all year, simply turning up so he can get his reported $800 a game, was left out of the selected side on thursday before the 1st semi. good move you would think, give a guy who wants to play a go. no. his bum buddy graham rings the club and threatens none of the melbourne mob would turn up if harrison wasnt given a game. obviously the club had no choice. disgrace.
when harrison got his opportunity on the ground, in the last quarter when the game was in the balance, what did he do? mouthed off at either warra (ump) or his team mates (or both) and got sent off. good team player. disgrace
kearney saw the writhing on the wall mid way through the last quarter. being the big man he is he thought he would go down swinging (mind you piss poor effort, all show and no go) had only one thing on his mind and that was to get as many cheap shots in as possible. result = send off. then went on to head butt a member of the crowd (poor rick sheahan). disgrace.
when the game was up for grabs and wakool needed to take control where was harvey? twiddling his thumbs at full forward. i know, not a bad bloke to have at full forward, but they needed to win the footy in the mid field. you dont see glen smith hiding at full forward when the game was in the balance, he was winning the ball around the ground and still kicked 5! not real intelligent.
graham hired a car at the start of the year (i dont think wakool even knew he booked it down to the club), crashed it, wrote it off and who got the bill? wakool footy club. the committee did the right thing and sacked him, not really the kind of guy you want around the club. coach whelan goes behind the clubs back, rings him up and re hires him! disgracewith blokes like this in the club their stupidity starts to rub off on some of the locals, namely lashbrook. who himself let his side down with numerous undiciplined acts with at least one costing a goal. i know he thinks he is tough because he has a tatoo but sometimes you need to pull your head in.

in summary the club is now a joke. a circus. there is a lot to be said about the quality of players you recruit, it should never be soley on footy ability, but also on character......

Bravo. I doubt that anyone (apart from the aforementioned - you've got right of reply but you'll be wrong, whatever your response) will dispute anything that was said in this post. Hard-hitting reporting there, Hutchy!

bernard the bipolar bear
26 Aug 2007, 19:39

Tell us what you really think Brewery. Tend to agree with you though, dissapointing performance by the Hawks. They may have won the flag last year, however they certainly have not won any respect. One wonders what next year may bring for Wakool.:thumbsd:

Position: Half Back Bench
26 Aug 2007, 20:17
What about the story going around about the wakool player which was sent off, did he really head but someone in the crowd?

CHINA
26 Aug 2007, 22:10

BRAVO-- post of the year.....
Kearney's head, chest did make contact with nulliwal footy club supporter....just a weak prick realy...cheap shots all year he has gave out...neway wakool showed nothing and nulliwal would need to prob step it up another gear for the next final...
Nulliwal should prob invest in sending the Macorna boys up to quamby on a bus cos they got huge support thru the game from them...
Neway Lashbrook is a 2nds footballer and the Melbourne boys can stay there from now on...

Martin Kelly to be in the running for rookie of the year at the age of 15!!!!

wonker
27 Aug 2007, 03:28
Tell us what you really think Brewery. Tend to agree with you though, dissapointing performance by the Hawks. They may have won the flag last year, however they certainly have not won any respect. One wonders what next year may bring for Wakool.:thumbsd:

A mate of mine was talking with the treasurer of the Wakool club at a party in Queensland a bit earlier in the season. The amount of money that he indicated was being paid out to players (if true) at that club was scarey.
It would be interesting to know how such a small town the size of Wakool can raise the huge amount of money that has allegedly been handed out to players over the past couple of seasons. The money issue seemed to be such a huge issue that some at that club thought that folding may be an option out of its present situation. Many eyes around the state will be on the Wakool club to see how it progresses from here.

Sweet_as_bro
27 Aug 2007, 08:58

Rick wouldn't have been doing anything to upset him either........
Can he get suspended for doing that to a crowd member? It happened down near horsham a few years ago, and the bloke got about 10 weeks, for punching a supporter.

Nackas
27 Aug 2007, 10:27
A lot of talk on here about Wakol and their efforts, what about the boys in Maroon!!! Who were the good players for them as i was unable to make the game? Quite an effort really after last weekend and not having won a game for so long.

theteamplayer
27 Aug 2007, 10:41
A lot of talk on here about Wakol and their efforts, what about the boys in Maroon!!! Who were the good players for them as i was unable to make the game? Quite an effort really after last weekend and not having won a game for so long.

Smith's, bill hewitt, jays moloney and the big, bustling V-train Jezza Vearing all had dys out. Sam goldsmith back in town also. Would have been hard to pick 6 best tho. reece poyner presented well and created chances all day long, and brendan crabbe did a pretty handy job on Harvey. Nully won the tactical battle, dropping players back in harvey's space all day, and were ferocious.

theteamplayer
27 Aug 2007, 10:48
Rick wouldn't have been doing anything to upset him either........
Can he get suspended for doing that to a crowd member? It happened down near horsham a few years ago, and the bloke got about 10 weeks, for punching a supporter.

No, of course not!!! I don't think anyone from the opposition has ever wanted to headbutt rick sheahan...:D

there was an incident a number of years ago in a game between wandella and nullawil (I don't remember the details of the player involved, he had long hair tho). a very similar incident: Wandella player gets sent of, and responds to the jeers of the crowd by attacking a crowd member (Ron Pollington in this case). don't remember if he actually punched 'pol', in fact im pretty sure he lost the battle! Don't recall any formal disciplinary action being taken over it.

It's certainly not acceptable, poor effort by Kearney, and wakool as a whole.

No Comment
27 Aug 2007, 11:35
A mate of mine was talking with the treasurer of the Wakool club at a party in Queensland a bit earlier in the season. The amount of money that he indicated was being paid out to players (if true) at that club was scarey.
It would be interesting to know how such a small town the size of Wakool can raise the huge amount of money that has allegedly been handed out to players over the past couple of seasons. The money issue seemed to be such a huge issue that some at that club thought that folding may be an option out of its present situation. Many eyes around the state will be on the Wakool club to see how it progresses from here.

What was Harvey on a game? Is he worth looking at recruiting for next year?

Appin Vet
27 Aug 2007, 12:23
No, of course not!!! I don't think anyone from the opposition has ever wanted to headbutt rick sheahan...:D

there was an incident a number of years ago in a game between wandella and nullawil (I don't remember the details of the player involved, he had long hair tho). a very similar incident: Wandella player gets sent of, and responds to the jeers of the crowd by attacking a crowd member (Ron Pollington in this case). don't remember if he actually punched 'pol', in fact im pretty sure he lost the battle! Don't recall any formal disciplinary action being taken over it.

It's certainly not acceptable, poor effort by Kearney, and wakool as a whole.

I beleive it was Tim Nevin who had that particular Nully supporter pooing his pants. Don't forget about the tattoos. But no punches thrown.

facts_rite
27 Aug 2007, 12:31
I beleive it was Tim Nevin who had that particular Nully supporter pooing his pants. Don't forget about the tattoos. But no punches thrown.

............ and lets not forget the killer mullet!!!! I believe Nevin retaliated after copping a flogging and being called 'pictures' all day! Very intimidating looking man to say the least!!

CHINA
27 Aug 2007, 12:35
What was Harvey on a game? Is he worth looking at recruiting for next year?

Word is he is on $1500 a game give or take $500, haha but dont realy know...Yeah he is a class above in our league kicked100 goals plus both years..very lazy but if all u want is goals would definitely be worth talking to if u have the $$$$

Mildred
27 Aug 2007, 14:09
How was the condition of the ground at Macorna?? Didn't get there to see the day!

facts_rite
27 Aug 2007, 14:18
How was the condition of the ground at Macorna?? Didn't get there to see the day!

Slippery and hard fair bit of skin off the elbows and knees of many players

david_flood
27 Aug 2007, 14:35
Word is he is on $1500 a game give or take $500, haha but dont realy know...Yeah he is a class above in our league kicked100 goals plus both years..very lazy but if all u want is goals would definitely be worth talking to if u have the $$$$

whats that make nath henery worth then......:thumbsu:

The Messenger
27 Aug 2007, 15:26
whats that make nath henery worth then......:thumbsu:

Not as much as Harvey, Henery had a lot better team and delivery than what Harvey recieved this year. Harvey is the best player in the comp but a lack of heart, desire to get the hard ball and passion for his club stops him from performing at his best each week. If he was commited he would play in the middle and destroy the opposition, his ball use is as good as anybody anywhere. Nats is very good and after his goal haul this year I would think some CM clubs would be offering big cash, that's not to say that he would take it.

Russ74
27 Aug 2007, 16:52
Not as much as Harvey, Henery had a lot better team and delivery than what Harvey recieved this year. Harvey is the best player in the comp but a lack of heart, desire to get the hard ball and passion for his club stops him from performing at his best each week. If he was commited he would play in the middle and destroy the opposition, his ball use is as good as anybody anywhere. Nats is very good and after his goal haul this year I would think some CM clubs would be offering big cash, that's not to say that he would take it.

I've seen big Nathan play a few times and believe he should have a crack at the CMFL. Certainly good enough to kick 80+ and more in a good side.

Nackas
27 Aug 2007, 17:07
Smith's, bill hewitt, jays moloney and the big, bustling V-train Jezza Vearing all had dys out. Sam goldsmith back in town also. Would have been hard to pick 6 best tho. reece poyner presented well and created chances all day long, and brendan crabbe did a pretty handy job on Harvey. Nully won the tactical battle, dropping players back in harvey's space all day, and were ferocious.

When you say the Smiths, did all 3 of them play?? Reece Poyner played?? Well I thought he was severely injured?? They gave Crabbe the job on Harvey?? Good effort from the man considering he kicked 14 last week! Nully were furocious? Thought they may have been a bit softer than the likes of Graham, Kearney, Pollock, Carroll etc....?

bernard the bipolar bear
27 Aug 2007, 18:14
When you say the Smiths, did all 3 of them play?? Reece Poyner played?? Well I thought he was severely injured?? They gave Crabbe the job on Harvey?? Good effort from the man considering he kicked 14 last week! Nully were furocious? Thought they may have been a bit softer than the likes of Graham, Kearney, Pollock, Carroll etc....?

Softer than Pollock? Is that possible?????

TEE-R-OTTER
28 Aug 2007, 11:14
Softer than Pollock? Is that possible?????

My kid has a bipolar teddy bear that is harder than Pollock!

theteamplayer
28 Aug 2007, 11:40
What is the word around the Wandella and Murrabit footy clubs ahead of this weekends 2nd semi? Any injuries or comebacks?

Appin Vet
28 Aug 2007, 12:01
Big game this week... Wandella kicking some big scores without having to rely on any one player to get a bag. Something new needs to be applied on Henry (maybe a sleeper hold), 12 goals in the last meeting and clearly the difference. Chum will have his work cut out for him during the week that is for sure. Good 2 see the Bombers 2's get up over their rivals in Macorna. Take that Messenger and China!! haha
Trav Smith to be the dark horse for the Bombers (pardon the pun). Sensational form leading into the finals I hear. Doesn't mind the rough and tumble either.

Mildred
28 Aug 2007, 16:44
Big game this week... Wandella kicking some big scores without having to rely on any one player to get a bag. Something new needs to be applied on Henry (maybe a sleeper hold), 12 goals in the last meeting and clearly the difference. Chum will have his work cut out for him during the week that is for sure. Good 2 see the Bombers 2's get up over their rivals in Macorna. Take that Messenger and China!! haha
Trav Smith to be the dark horse for the Bombers (pardon the pun). Sensational form leading into the finals I hear. Doesn't mind the rough and tumble either.
I think both sides are full strength....no excuses...should be a good game!

Mildred
28 Aug 2007, 17:24
Righto boys and girls, since the home and away season is done and dusted, can i have a few selections for the league b & f....any grades??
My selections;
Seniors: Glenn Smith with Chopper McIntyre the smokey
Reserves: Brent McKnight with the smokey being T. Doran
Thirds: Joe White with a smokey being Marty Kelly (not a real smokey i know)

Thoughts?

Footy Pie
28 Aug 2007, 17:48
Righto boys and girls, since the home and away season is done and dusted, can i have a few selections for the league b & f....any grades??
My selections;

Thoughts?

Well your not far off with your seniors there cobba but I would have

Seniors: Glenn Smith, Luke Maher or Brad Hein may go alrite
Reserves: To be honest couldnt tell ya, all good 2's players near end up in the 1's but i really couldnt tell you
U17's: Jared Franzini, Marty Kelly, Kyle Doran, Mitch Moloney

CHINA
28 Aug 2007, 17:49
My selections;

Thoughts?

Ill agree with you Mildred with Glenn Smith and Jay Laursen the smokey
Havent seen a great deal of reserves but T doran would have a gd shot
and in the thirds hopefully Marty Kelly and Matthew Ladson tie

Mildred
28 Aug 2007, 18:16
Ill agree with you Mildred with Glenn Smith and Jay Laursen the smokey
Havent seen a great deal of reserves but T doran would have a gd shot
and in the thirds hopefully Marty Kelly and Matthew Ladson tie
yeah jay laursen is a good bet! Very good player!

Sneezewell
28 Aug 2007, 19:49
Seniors.G.Smith and Dark horse being L Maher

Reserves. T Challis or B Mcknight
Under/ 17 M Kelly dark horse Mathew Morson

FLAMMABLE
28 Aug 2007, 21:04
have any club best and fairests been decided?

Sneezewell
28 Aug 2007, 21:49
have any club best and fairests been decided?

Moulamein
Seniors- Rob Lowing
Runner Up- Mick Oneil

Reserves- Tim Challis
Not sure who got runner up

U/17 - Adam Buckingham
Runner Up - Lackie Obrien

david_flood
29 Aug 2007, 12:14
Heard a few reports that the surface of Kerangs ground is starting to get pretty hard and due to restrictions they cant water it...If theres no more rain in the next few weeks leading up to they granny will the ground be in playable condition?

Mildred
29 Aug 2007, 16:35
Heard a few reports that the surface of Kerangs ground is starting to get pretty hard and due to restrictions they cant water it...If theres no more rain in the next few weeks leading up to they granny will the ground be in playable condition?
mmm, very interesting!! Surely they can put a little water on it. Are the restrictions that bad in Kerang...i wouldn't know being from Nar Nar Goon.

Appin Vet
29 Aug 2007, 16:38
I am pretty sure the ground will be in tip top shape come GF day.

clifton's lookalike
29 Aug 2007, 17:13
I am pretty sure the ground will be in tip top shape come GF day.

Vet have watched your input on these threads with some time now and they are very informative and rarely wrong so can I ask you 2 questions?
Will the Kerang ground be watered prior to 2nd semi in CMFL?
Who has catering rights for GRFL Grand Final?
Your answers would be much appreciated.
P.S. for people who drink Corona beer is a fashion, for people who love their Carlton Draught it's a passion.

Footy Pie
29 Aug 2007, 17:26
Vet have watched your input on these threads with some time now and they are very informative and rarely wrong so can I ask you 2 questions?
P.S. for people who drink Corona beer is a fashion, for people who love their Carlton Draught it's a passion.

I think you'll find that Murrabit had some catering rights in the Granny but threw it in about 3 or 4 weeks ago because "They will be too busy on Grand Final day because they would have too many teams playing, therefore not enough people to man a stall"

clifton's lookalike
29 Aug 2007, 17:34
I think you'll find that Murrabit had some catering rights in the Granny but threw it in about 3 or 4 weeks ago because "They will be too busy on Grand Final day because they would have too many teams playing, therefore not enough people to man a stall"

So my question still footy pie is who has them?

The One Who Watches
29 Aug 2007, 19:31

Not being from Kerang I am not sure of its current condition however I have checked with a few people regarding the prospects of watering the ground.

Apparently the dam used to water the ground is dry.

Dam is filled from the Loddon River. Water allocation on the Loddon System is 0%. Hence they have no allocation with which to fill the dam.

Kerang is serviced by Lower Murray Water and the town is on Stage 4 restrictions meaning that outside watering is banned.

Given the recent warm weather and the forecast for 27 degrees tomorrow, is it going to be possible to keep the ground in a playable condition??? :rolleyes::(:eek:

The Messenger
29 Aug 2007, 21:19

Don't know about the watering of the ground but the catering rights are divided up between each team in the comp. One gets the bar, one the canteen, one the BBQ, etc. It's to allow each team the opportunity to make some coin from the game.

If that's true about Murrabit not taking there allocated job for GF Day they would want to hope they perform in the coming weeks. Could be embarresing if a couple of there teams go out in straight sets. They haven't made up premiership stubbie holders as well have they!!

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 21:32
Just wondering what you guys think of Matthew Ladson from Maccorna U17s?

Hugh Jars
29 Aug 2007, 21:42

hahaha lucky then the grand final is not at murrabit!!!!:p

Stray Cat
29 Aug 2007, 22:12
Murrabit have not taken on a job for a couple of years. They pay the scout or guides to cover their shifts, doing the community a service really.

Cable Tie
30 Aug 2007, 13:31
Murrabit have not taken on a job for a couple of years. They pay the scout or guides to cover their shifts, doing the community a service really.
Yeah i spose it would save doing it yourself.

No injury concerns noted, so both Wandella and Murrabit have full lists to pick from. Should result in a fine performance on the weekend.
What are the peoples predictions?
I think Murrabit could go into the GF this week in the 1's - just
We will see Nullawil win in the 2's
I think Wandella will go through undefeated in the 3rds like in '97
No doubt Condely's Crew will win in the 4th's

Nackas
30 Aug 2007, 16:27

No injury concerns noted, so both Wandella and Murrabit have full lists to pick from. Should result in a fine performance on the weekend.

Should be a belter in the senior match, and both teams are @ full strength yeah?? Well at that rate its going to be a ball busta, but i'd have to say Murrabit not coz they're a better team, but Wandella's characteristic choking habits!

Nully should get up in the 2's, old man Doran will take some beatin!!!

U17's should be a cracker, but the bombers will win out by the slimmest of margins

and Bombers easy in the U14s

clifton's lookalike
30 Aug 2007, 16:35
Don't know about the watering of the ground but the catering rights are divided up between each team in the comp. One gets the bar, one the canteen, one the BBQ, etc. It's to allow each team the opportunity to make some coin from the game.

If that's true about Murrabit not taking there allocated job for GF Day they would want to hope they perform in the coming weeks. Could be embarresing if a couple of there teams go out in straight sets. They haven't made up premiership stubbie holders as well have they!!

Messenger could you tell me who has the rights to the bar then please? That is what was getting at all along but didn't know that different clubs had different sections

TEE-R-OTTER
30 Aug 2007, 16:36

Well Wandella rested a few in their last game so there will be a few players coming off a long stint without playing, they should be ready to go!
But it wont matter, Murrabit will win in a cracker!
I hope Cable tie is wrong in the two's but...:confused:
Bombers can have to two early games, a good year for the little fella's and just quietly they are confident in doing it easily!!

Mildred
30 Aug 2007, 16:53
Well Wandella rested a few in their last game so there will be a few players coming off a long stint without playing, they should be ready to go!
But it wont matter, Murrabit will win in a cracker!
I hope Cable tie is wrong in the two's but...:confused:
Bombers can have to two early games, a good year for the little fella's and just quietly they are confident in doing it easily!!
Nothing much has changed then Tee-r-otter!! Pretty sure they put more effort into their banner in the 97' thirds gf than their actual opponents!! Funny day that one.

TEE-R-OTTER
31 Aug 2007, 09:48
Nothing much has changed then Tee-r-otter!! Pretty sure they put more effort into their banner in the 97' thirds gf than their actual opponents!! Funny day that one.

Yes you are right Mildred, they did in fact go through the year undefeated back in '97, got the bomber cheer squad to make up a BIG banner and then fell on their faces running through, it going down by 59 pts.

Appin Vet
31 Aug 2007, 10:53
Rewinding the clock nicely there you blokes. I must admit that I don't know where there the water is coming from. Maybe we could get Richie Murray to do a drunken rain dance the night before the GF on the hallowed turf. Get back to you on that one...

Appin Vet
31 Aug 2007, 10:55
Reeks of arrogance!

Go Bombers!!

Tommy Guns
31 Aug 2007, 11:07
Now the season is over for Ultima, I heard that they are trying to re-sign Pat Mahon as a playing coach next year.. Couldn't believe it when I first heard it, but after thinking about it there is some sense to it. He's got a very good footy brain and certainly has the connections to bring some high quality players to the club. His off field antics have the potential to cause some instability though... Has anyone else heard anything about this or have any thoughts on it??

Nackas
31 Aug 2007, 11:46
Yes you are right Mildred, they did in fact go through the year undefeated back in '97, got the bomber cheer squad to make up a BIG banner and then fell on their faces running through, it going down by 59 pts.

I also recall one year their seniors made it, Wandella that is, they got the Essendon cheer squad to construct this massive banner, only to loose again!!!!!

Mildred
31 Aug 2007, 11:47
Now the season is over for Ultima, I heard that they are trying to re-sign Pat Mahon as a playing coach next year.. Couldn't believe it when I first heard it, but after thinking about it there is some sense to it. He's got a very good footy brain and certainly has the connections to bring some high quality players to the club. His off field antics have the potential to cause some instability though... Has anyone else heard anything about this or have any thoughts on it??
You would be joking wouldn't you! They had a tough year this year, but that is taking an even bigger step back! Nooga is a good coach and a good bloke, why not stay with him? What are his plans?

Footy Pie
31 Aug 2007, 11:55

Haven’t heard anything on it but will give you my thoughts. It is obviously a joke as there is no way you would appoint Pat Mahon as your coach, unless you’re a dead beat! The bloke is an interchange/back pocket player in a struggling Ultima side, can't see him being a dominant coach. 4 a yappin p r i c k Noogie is an alrite coach yeah, but I think its time that Ultima appointed a new coach to try and bring new faces to the club and begin the re-building phase coz they've been very ordinary for the past few years.

Truck
31 Aug 2007, 12:34
Haven’t heard anything on it but will give you my thoughts. It is obviously a joke as there is no way you would appoint Pat Mahon as your coach, unless you’re a dead beat! The bloke is an interchange/back pocket player in a struggling Ultima side, can't see him being a dominant coach. 4 a yappin p r i c k Noogie is an alrite coach yeah, but I think its time that Ultima appointed a new coach to try and bring new faces to the club and begin the re-building phase coz they've been very ordinary for the past few years.

how olds Mahon did he play a little bit of footy in bendigo??

bernard the bipolar bear
31 Aug 2007, 12:59

I think only those close to the club could comment on his coaching, because from an outsiders point of view, he has a very poor record.

Cable Tie
31 Aug 2007, 14:03
[quote=Footy Pie;8566925]I think you'll find that Murrabit had some catering rights in the Granny but threw it in about 3 or 4 weeks ago because "They will be too busy on Grand Final day because they would have too many teams playing, therefore not enough people to man a stall" [quote]

I see you have put a quote in your post Footy Pie, are you indicating that someone from murrabit actually said this to you or are you asuming that they will be too busy?

Stray Cat has indicated rightly that they have not done a job for some years now prefering to pay a local organisation to complete the allocated duties even if they are in the finals or not.

Cable Tie
31 Aug 2007, 14:12
Reeks of arrogance!

Go Bombers!!

No no my friend, printing '05 Premiers Stubby Holders a week before the GF is what arrogance is all about. Idiots:p

Appin Vet
31 Aug 2007, 14:18
No no my friend, printing '05 Premiers Stubby Holders a week before the GF is what arrogance is all about. Idiots:p

Let me clear that matter up for you Cable Tie. The Stubby holders were printed up by the Publican of the Commercial (now Sporties) and had nothing to do with the club whatsoever. This particular stunt has been a blight on the Wandella FC and I beleive it is unfair that they are portrayed arrogant upstarts, on the behaviour of an individual. I hope this has helped you.

Footy Pie
31 Aug 2007, 15:08
[quote=Footy Pie;8566925]I think you'll find that Murrabit had some catering rights in the Granny but threw it in about 3 or 4 weeks ago because "They will be too busy on Grand Final day because they would have too many teams playing, therefore not enough people to man a stall" [quote]

I see you have put a quote in your post Footy Pie, are you indicating that someone from murrabit actually said this to you or are you asuming that they will be too busy?

Stray Cat has indicated rightly that they have not done a job for some years now prefering to pay a local organisation to complete the allocated duties even if they are in the finals or not.

That was said @ a league meeting recently

whatsit2u
31 Aug 2007, 15:31
where will the game be won Vet. How will Mcgowan go playing against Coulter saunders and Randell all changing on him. How is pete morris's ribs. Will ice kennedy tear the game apart. should be a top game if the weather stays fine, both sides love to run and score freely

Tommy Guns
31 Aug 2007, 15:52

As I understand it he's had a very injury interrupted season, but reliable sources tell me that if he was fit he'd be one of the top attacking backmen in the league.

how olds Mahon did he play a little bit of footy in bendigo??

He's only 22 I think but has great footy smarts. And yeah did play a little bit of footy in Bendigo. Could be the kind of fresh start Ultima needs to turn their fortunes around. As I said earlier, has good connections and I dare say could lure some fairly high profile players out.

Appin Vet
31 Aug 2007, 16:36
Sorry Whatsit2u, I have officially been muzzled. Wandella's Coach, Matthew John Chamberlain, has told the Vet not to leak information of that ilk. One thing I will say is that it will be a ball tearer. It will be interesting to see what sort of tactics are employed to stop Henry.
If Murrabit apply pressure on the Wandella ball carriers, it will give them a fair chance. If it is an open game, Wandella will decimate anyone. But it is hard to see that happening on the small Wakool oval. Anything can happen though. I'll definitely be there cheering my boobs off for the Bombers regardless and hopefully they have a win. Maybe even stain my liver with a couple.

PS- Congrats to my Murrabit friend, Brad Hein. Who has recently become a father. Cheers Brad.

PPS- Go Bombers!!!

Beez Kneez
31 Aug 2007, 16:54
Anyone know when we can stop sitting on the edge of our seats for Keith's top 30, i just can't wait! The suspense is killing me!:p

bernard the bipolar bear
31 Aug 2007, 18:11
where will the game be won Vet. How will Mcgowan go playing against Coulter saunders and Randell all changing on him. How is pete morris's ribs. Will ice kennedy tear the game apart. should be a top game if the weather stays fine, both sides love to run and score freely

Morris has a suspected cracked sternum, which is a tricky injury to carry into a final. Kennedy will most likely miss with a hamstring. Fish has made himself available for the finals series, great news for the bombers.

Footy Pie
3 Sep 2007, 12:09
Sorry Whatsit2u, I have officially been muzzled. Wandella's Coach, Matthew John Chamberlain, has told the Vet not to leak information of that ilk. One thing I will say is that it will be a ball tearer. It will be interesting to see what sort of tactics are employed to stop Henry.
If Murrabit apply pressure on the Wandella ball carriers, it will give them a fair chance. If it is an open game, Wandella will decimate anyone. But it is hard to see that happening on the small Wakool oval. Anything can happen though. I'll definitely be there cheering my boobs off for the Bombers regardless and hopefully they have a win. Maybe even stain my liver with a couple.

PS- Congrats to my Murrabit friend, Brad Hein. Who has recently become a father. Cheers Brad.

PPS- Go Bombers!!!

Exactly what happened on the weekend Vet. Wandella’s run was just too much for the Murrabit team! Wandella exploded out of the blocks but to Murrabit’s credit they fought back and inaccurate kicking decimated them! Paul Meehan did a great job on Henry, although didn’t realise he still banged home 5! Dave Millard did a hell of a job on Mick Bott. Travy Smith was electric with pace and skill but left the game in the last quarter with a shoulder?? Murrabit seemed to come out of the game injury free but its just hard to believe that Wandella somehow will still have to slot Ice Kennedy and Poodle back into that line up! Judging by Poodle’s celebrations at the end of the game, injury clearly wasn’t that big of an issue! Wandella was the better team on the day and clearly deserved to win, Murrabit I think it maybe time to start pooing a little!!!!

Appin Vet
3 Sep 2007, 12:38
A great game was witnessed by a fair crowd on Saturday. Wandella straight through to the big one and with a week off would be very happy with the job done so far. As I said, so far. Chum will be trying to keep a lid on things which will be difficult. With Morris, Laidlaw and Kennedy to come back you would not be crucified for thinking of what could be. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

This week in the 2's I hope Wandela can get up and make it 4 teams in the GF. A great effort in any language. But it won't be easy. Go Bombers.

Catter
3 Sep 2007, 14:19
A great game was witnessed by a fair crowd on Saturday. Wandella straight through to the big one and with a week off would be very happy with the job done so far. As I said, so far. Chum will be trying to keep a lid on things which will be difficult. With Morris, Laidlaw and Kennedy to come back you would not be crucified for thinking of what could be. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

This week in the 2's I hope Wandela can get up and make it 4 teams in the GF. A great effort in any language. But it won't be easy. Go Bombers.

Hows the bloke that got KO in the last quater Appin. Looked nasty when he started convulsing on the ground. I did notice notice he was walking around by the end though (very gingerly).

Appin Vet
3 Sep 2007, 14:28
It didn't look too flash did it? He was fine after the game. He was walking around okay. Luckily he has the week off now to recover properly, along with the other blokes.

Nullawil would probably need to lift a little to trouble Murrabit wouldn't they?? How is Quamby's ground??

September
3 Sep 2007, 14:50
It didn't look too flash did it? He was fine after the game. He was walking around okay. Luckily he has the week off now to recover properly, along with the other blokes.

Nullawil would probably need to lift a little to trouble Murrabit wouldn't they?? How is Quamby's ground??
Better than any other in the league as we speak. You will be pleasantly surprised

Footy Pie
3 Sep 2007, 15:02

I wouldnt go riding Nully off quite yet! Last time they come very close to Murrabit just didnt quite get over the line in the last quarter. mind u this was without Brett Smith, Kieran Atkin, Col Fawcett and Reece Poyner had only just returned from injury so I think that this weekend maybe a bit better game than you've anticipated my friend!

Nackas
3 Sep 2007, 17:20
Anyone know when we can stop sitting on the edge of our seats for Keith's top 30, i just can't wait! The suspense is killing me!:p

Is he even going to publish one this year? Because Keithy boy usually has one through out the year, and then another at the end of the season? The man maybe getting a little lazy!!!! Everyone loves Keith's top 30, Mike Sheahan's top 50 has nothing on it!!!!! :thumbsu:

Appin Vet
4 Sep 2007, 11:52
I wouldnt go riding Nully off quite yet! Last time they come very close to Murrabit just didnt quite get over the line in the last quarter. mind u this was without Brett Smith, Kieran Atkin, Col Fawcett and Reece Poyner had only just returned from injury so I think that this weekend maybe a bit better game than you've anticipated my friend![/quote]

No mate. I wasn't writing Nully off. Proven finals performers. But they would need to play a fair brand to extend Murrabit though. The inclusion of those four players will certainly aide your cause.

Facts Right, where will your beloved Maroons stop a very determined Murrabit outfit and beat them on the scoreboard.

Mildred
5 Sep 2007, 11:28
Come on lads, fire up! We are deep in the finals and there hasn't been a post for 24 hours! Anyone would think the season is over! Any mad Monday stories??