View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Nackas
5 Sep 2007, 11:42
Come on lads, fire up! We are deep in the finals and there hasn't been a post for 24 hours! Anyone would think the season is over! Any mad Monday stories??

Mad Monday Stories, well after Conrad smashed a keg Gastev pulled off a dog out at the Moulanese Monday! Turns out he swallows!!!

Footy Pie
5 Sep 2007, 15:21
Come on lads, fire up! We are deep in the finals and there hasn't been a post for 24 hours! Anyone would think the season is over! Any mad Monday stories??

Here here Mildred this place is a yawn!! I never thought I would say this but this blog would be great if the Moulamein boys made it to the finals!! And everyone would be able to can them, but yeah come on ladz lets get into it she's aPrelim on the weekend who's ones to watch, who's gunna win, Key match ups anything lets just get into the finals atmosphere!

TEE-R-OTTER
5 Sep 2007, 16:40
Here here Mildred this place is a yawn!! I never thought I would say this but this blog would be great if the Moulamein boys made it to the finals!! And everyone would be able to can them, but yeah come on ladz lets get into it she's aPrelim on the weekend who's ones to watch, who's gunna win, Key match ups anything lets just get into the finals atmosphere!

Murrabit will welocme back the services of Ettershank whom they missed greatly last week. Him coming back into the side will release Rooney forward and hopefully straighen them up in front of goals.

You would expect B Smith to return for the maroons to further bolst their running brigade
Should be a great contest if the last game shows any indication

Mildred
5 Sep 2007, 17:06
Murrabit will welocme back the services of Ettershank whom they missed greatly last week. Him coming back into the side will release Rooney forward and hopefully straighen them up in front of goals.

You would expect B Smith to return for the maroons to further bolst their running brigade
Rooney will play on the ball i reckon! He is one of the better runners in the side. Should be a good contest anyway! Murrabit to win just, also in the 2nds, with Tyson Christianson to play a blinder who went missing last week. Murrabit also in 4ths, and macorna in the 3rds!!

Truck
5 Sep 2007, 17:08

How has Rooter been going this year I'v seen him in the best a bit, could be a very physical game if he lined up on Andy Hewitt...

Nackas
5 Sep 2007, 17:31

Hahaha U crack me up Otter! I guess he would have to step up if Henry goes missing. But hopefully Roota will work on the kicking style before this weekend!!! Any thoughts Wally??

Cable Tie
5 Sep 2007, 18:05
Hahaha U crack me up Otter! I guess he would have to step up if Henry goes missing. But hopefully Roota will work on the kicking style before this weekend!!! Any thoughts Wally??

Your kicks don't have to look good to kick goals, just ask Doran. Rooney doesn't miss many i'm told

ROOTA#6
5 Sep 2007, 19:25
Rooney will play on the ball i reckon! He is one of the better runners in the side. Should be a good contest anyway! Murrabit to win just, also in the 2nds, with Tyson Christianson to play a blinder who went missing last week. Murrabit also in 4ths, and macorna in the 3rds!!

Is this Justin Rooney you are talking about???

scoreboard attendant
5 Sep 2007, 20:46

And i qoute.
"Friends, Big Footyians, Golden Riverians lend me your Moulanese"

"Brother, could you lend me a Moulanese"
:thumbsu::D:thumbsu::D

thatsthethingboutfootball
6 Sep 2007, 00:34
Your kicks don't have to look good to kick goals, just ask Doran. Rooney doesn't miss many i'm told

Bugger me!! You've got to be kidding me!! He has been a welcome addition to the Murrabit side and I love the bloke to pieces but if you're looking at him to be a match winner you may well come up short, good honest backman who works his ass off for the team, but on baller or forward, i think not...

May not have missed any but dare say he hasn't kicked many either...

Nackas
6 Sep 2007, 09:10
Bugger me!! You've got to be kidding me!! He has been a welcome addition to the Murrabit side and I love the bloke to pieces but if you're looking at him to be a match winner you may well come up short, good honest backman who works his ass off for the team, but on baller or forward, i think not...

Tend to agree with Greg Champion on this one, hell of a manreally, but not a forward! Has been a handy inclusion to Murrabits team yes, but as a backman!

Beez Kneez
6 Sep 2007, 13:31

Yes i dare say a little bit of Big Footy banter,
Rooney has played well at half back all year and i can't see the mowhawk heading forward at any stage on saturday.

It is finals i spose and anything can happen...............

Footy Pie
6 Sep 2007, 14:27
Can someone give us a general run down of what they think will happen on the weekend, who will be the better players/game breakers etc etc.....

Appin Vet
6 Sep 2007, 14:35
I'd would say that Murrabit will come out of the blocks early. They started slowly last week and would want to knock that on the head fairly quickly. Then after that it will be an even tussle. Whatever Murrabit lead by at Quarter time will be the margin.
There you go Nully...prove me wrong. I dare ya.

Cable Tie
6 Sep 2007, 14:54
Can someone give us a general run down of what they think will happen on the weekend, who will be the better players/game breakers etc etc.....

You've been around long enough Footy Pie, what do you think will happen?

Cable Tie
6 Sep 2007, 15:07
I personally think it will be a good game to watch, played at a pretty frantic pace. I agree with the Vet that the start of the match will be decisive in the final result.. who will start the best? unsure
Players to watch i imagine you already would be watching Glenn Smith, but also his little Bro too on the ball, both are lightning. Then you have a handy player by the name of Billy Hewitt, game winner if playing forward, but unlikely to do so.
so probably the three keys there for Nully.
Murrabit will need to improve in their forward line, Henry kicked 5 last week in a loosing side so they will need to find other avenues to goal i suspect. So the likes of Randall, McDonald and Coulter up forward will need to kick a few each. On ball a couple of classy players, Hein and Morton probably 25+ touches each a game are a key to the success of the team. Down back ettershank will be improtant too in holding a key forwand to few kicks more than likely a Poyner or Atkin.
All in all a cracker of a game i would imagine, the forcast is fine and the venue is "the best in the league"????
Unable to pick a winner but will pick a margin.... 14pts

Footy Pie
6 Sep 2007, 15:09
You've been around long enough Footy Pie, what do you think will happen?

Team who kicks more goals and points on the day will win!!!
On a serious note, Murrabit have to shut down Smiths, Hewitt and Atkin, Nully have to shut down big Nats, the Heins, Morton. Mite be a ringa ding ding show Murrabit may just have more depth

Piggy Dunstall
6 Sep 2007, 20:49
Good to be back boys! A lot has been happening since I have been away.

Good win to Wandella, give the cup to them now! They will excel on the big ground of Kerang. To win the Grand Final in the Golden Rivers you need to have leg speed and the Bombers have this. The Murrabit boys will be tested by the Maroons this weekend as the Maroons have good leg speed too but not enough depth as the Murrabit boys. The big ground at Quamby will help the Mallee boys as the blue boys do not have a lot of pace. What they do have is a couple of big targets and the Maroons will not be able keep all of these quiet enough on the day.

Blue boys this weekend by 5 goals.

Bombers the week after!

bernard the bipolar bear
7 Sep 2007, 00:25

Good win to Wandella, give the cup to them now! They will excel on the big ground of Kerang. To win the Grand Final in the Golden Rivers you need to have leg speed and the Bombers have this. The Murrabit boys will be tested by the Maroons this weekend as the Maroons have good leg speed too but not enough depth as the Murrabit boys. The big ground at Quamby will help the Mallee boys as the blue boys do not have a lot of pace. What they do have is a couple of big targets and the Maroons will not be able keep all of these quiet enough on the day.

Bombers the week after!

Yes the Bombers have an excellent record on Riverside park.

Piggy Dunstall
7 Sep 2007, 00:33
Yes the Bombers have an excellent record on Riverside park.

What's the record Bear?

How long has the Golden Rivers Grand Final been played at the home of the KRAPPERS?

bernard the bipolar bear
7 Sep 2007, 10:04
What's the record Bear?

How long has the Golden Rivers Grand Final been played at the home of the KRAPPERS?

Been played there since 1999. Wandella are 0 from 2.

Nackas
7 Sep 2007, 10:56
Been played there since 1999. Wandella are 0 from 2.

I was going to say i didnt recall Wandella winning a flag since the Granny started being played @ Kerang!
So its official, whoever wins the Prelim will take the flag :p
Haha, nah I still wouldnt ride off Chums boys yet, but get on the Maroons for this week!!!

Appin Vet
7 Sep 2007, 11:45
Wandella are big on pay backs. The Bombers owe 1 each to both of these sides. Will be keen to erase one of those memories whoever wins.

champ
7 Sep 2007, 11:53
Wandella are big on pay backs. The Bombers owe 1 each to both of these sides. Will be keen to erase one of those memories whoever wins.
They are big on paybacks because they continually fail at the last hurdle. My tip is that they will soon owe nully or murrabit TWO paybacks.

Appin Vet
7 Sep 2007, 12:00
Will have to wait till next week won't we, Champ?

Go Wandella 2's!

Footy Pie
7 Sep 2007, 12:47
Will have to wait till next week won't we, Champ?

Go Wandella 2's!

Am I sensing a bit of cockyness in the Wandella camp Vet????

david_flood
7 Sep 2007, 13:54
Am I sensing a bit of cockyness in the Wandella camp Vet????

yeah heard they are gettin their stubbie holders made so they can have the for the prlim this week:thumbsu:

Fonc
7 Sep 2007, 14:37
Just wondering how both teams are shaping up for this weeks encounter? Any injuries or concerns?

bernard the bipolar bear
7 Sep 2007, 14:54
Just wondering how both teams are shaping up for this weeks encounter? Any injuries or concerns?

Korp's done his knee, B Smith to take his place.
Ettershank should be back this week for Murrabit

Appin Vet
7 Sep 2007, 15:00
Please understand this if nothing else: I wasn't trying to be cocky like you guys think. I was just saying we will have to wait till next week to see who the Bombers will be playing.

Cable Tie
7 Sep 2007, 15:10
yeah heard they are gettin their stubbie holders made so they can have the for the prlim this week:thumbsu:

C'mon guys give wandella a break, Stubby holders were so '05!

This year they are going for the shirt and matching slacks along with getting premiers07 shaved into their heads at sambo's on monday.

macedonian marvel
7 Sep 2007, 15:44
Lets talk about this weeks big game a bit more. We all know who the big match ups are, who are some of the lesser known players who do the job week in, week out? Every club has always got a few who are not stars, but continually get the job done. Wade Humphries springs to mind, hardly ever gets beaten. In fact, the Nully back six have been good all year. Murrabit seem to have had different names pop up in the best throughout the year, which suggests good depth. Who do others see as consistent 'non-stars' in these teams?

Footy Pie
7 Sep 2007, 15:57
C'mon guys give wandella a break, Stubby holders were so '05!

This year they are going for the shirt and matching slacks along with getting premiers07 shaved into their heads at sambo's on monday.

Hahahahaha that is pure gold my friend :thumbsu:

Appin Vet
7 Sep 2007, 16:10
I'll wait till next week. I'm fighting the unwinnable fight. Good luck to this weeks combatants. See you again later for the big climax to the end of the 2007 season.

Mildred
7 Sep 2007, 16:46
Lets talk about this weeks big game a bit more. We all know who the big match ups are, who are some of the lesser known players who do the job week in, week out? Every club has always got a few who are not stars, but continually get the job done. Wade Humphries springs to mind, hardly ever gets beaten. In fact, the Nully back six have been good all year. Murrabit seem to have had different names pop up in the best throughout the year, which suggests good depth. Who do others see as consistent 'non-stars' in these teams?
Lesser known for murrabit, but very valuable include matt jackman, brent neville, dave millard. etc! Quite a long list, as murrabit have quite a lot of depth.

champ
7 Sep 2007, 17:52
Lesser known for murrabit, but very valuable include matt jackman, brent neville, dave millard. etc! Quite a long list, as murrabit have quite a lot of depth.
Matt Jackman would have to be one of the premier rebounding defenders in the league. For Murrabit to win they need Sam Randall to at least be a second option to take the heat of Nats. Sam had a bad day last week which didnt help the blues.

Number 16
7 Sep 2007, 20:43

Bombers the week after!

Didn't help the mallee boys against Quamby, but certainly helped the blue boys against them! Don't be fooled by the larger ground giving Nullawil's pace an advantage - they got lost out wide. Murrabit played it much better. Should be a cracker game though - ?? by up to 2 goals.
And there is no doubt that Wandella will thrive on the open paddock that is Riverside Park in Kerang..

The One Who Watches
8 Sep 2007, 19:32
Not sure of the details but I have heard that Murrabit have pumped Nullawill to set up a re-match with Wandella next weekend.

Piggy Dunstall
9 Sep 2007, 00:00
Not sure of the details but I have heard that Murrabit have pumped Nullawill to set up a re-match with Wandella next weekend.

Pumped! Bent them over and gave them a jolly good rodgering!!!

My God what happened?

It was embarrasing to see the scores flash up on the footy rap, a prelim and a 20 goal win! Will give the Blue boys a bit of confidence to take on the Bombers.

Any injuries?

Still like the pace of the Bombers on the KRAPPERS ground but anything could happen if the tall timber of the Blues foward line fire!!!

Trent the flight Steward
9 Sep 2007, 11:43
Can the bombers break their grand final hoo doo this time round?

Nackas
9 Sep 2007, 19:33
Yes well it is fair to say that Nully did cop a bit of a rear hiding, and Smith surely was embarrassed by the teams performance! Noticed he didnt play much in the guts, was that due to a good job from Murray or Soreness? Hurt Nully a lot and they just didnt look interested, Morton and Brad Hein absolutely polaxed the Maroons and they just looked deflated! Henry and Randall clicked together and played the forward 50 extremely well! Nully started off the day well with young Smith gettin the first couple of centre clearances, but was taken off an from then on Nully struggled to win the ball out of the middle! Full credit to the blues tho, proved why the finished on top of the ladder! She's game on this weekend!

champ
9 Sep 2007, 21:03
Yes well it is fair to say that Nully did cop a bit of a rear hiding, and Smith surely was embarrassed by the teams performance! Noticed he didnt play much in the guts, was that due to a good job from Murray or Soreness? Hurt Nully a lot and they just didnt look interested, Morton and Brad Hein absolutely polaxed the Maroons and they just looked deflated! Henry and Randall clicked together and played the forward 50 extremely well! Nully started off the day well with young Smith gettin the first couple of centre clearances, but was taken off an from then on Nully struggled to win the ball out of the middle! Full credit to the blues tho, proved why the finished on top of the ladder! She's game on this weekend!
If that is aaren smith you are talking about getting those clearances, then they were his only two kicks for the day. Him and his teammates didnt want to be there. Horrible performance.

Truck
9 Sep 2007, 21:21
How did Rooter go??? Did he tear up the midfield, punish them up forward.. or do what he does best, make his opponent earn every kick in the back half.

Mildred
10 Sep 2007, 09:53
Mmmmm, another great writeup/prediction by the marvel himself, Ben Carter. If I recall, he tipped Nullawil by 6 goals. 6 goals equals 36 points, and also add the 115 points they lost by, which equates to a 151 point deficit. Embarrassing! I will be checking the classifieds for some work at the Northern Times next year, cos this man is a joke!

slippery
10 Sep 2007, 10:09
ok fella's, now the final two teams to play off have been finalised, the big question is, who do we see as umpiring the big one. Not here to bag out umpy's, serious discussion.
My tip: young Howden and maybe Warra or Frantzy?? The bloke O'connor from Swan Hill goes ok?? as does Hancock,
Any thoughts??

Footy Pie
10 Sep 2007, 10:42
Also something that should be pretty topical at this point in time is who will win the League Medals tonight. Few Predictions from myself include

Seniors: Glenn Smith is favourite, Luke Maher shouldn’t be too far behind him I wouldn’t say, if not may even pip smith at the post. Harvey to poll ok coz its Harvey.

Reserves: Russell Gillingham if he had a full season would be a good chance, not to mention ol Tony Doran from Nully would be a fair show.

Thirds: Marty Kelly will poll well, as will Max Perignon from Hay. The Gibbons boys from Wandella should go alrite.

Rookie of the Year: 2 horse race between Millard and Smith, would have to say Smith as he is a bit bigger and more recognised on a footy field as he plays key positions.

bernard the bipolar bear
10 Sep 2007, 11:36
ok fella's, now the final two teams to play off have been finalised, the big question is, who do we see as umpiring the big one. Not here to bag out umpy's, serious discussion.
My tip: young Howden and maybe Warra or Frantzy?? The bloke O'connor from Swan Hill goes ok?? as does Hancock,
Any thoughts??

Brent Howden would have been favourite two weeks ago, however had a shocker in the second semi. Word has it that the free kick count for that game second semi was 32 to 12 in favour of Wandella.

Mildred
10 Sep 2007, 12:20
My money is on Warra and hancock! Should be that way anyway!

slippery
10 Sep 2007, 12:58
My money is on Warra and hancock! Should be that way anyway!

Fair call Mildred, whats with Brent Howden's old man not umpiring? Seen him at the footy Saturday and looks as fit as anyone. A bloody good umpire too. Has he retired??

Mildred
10 Sep 2007, 13:29
Fair call Mildred, whats with Brent Howden's old man not umpiring? Seen him at the footy Saturday and looks as fit as anyone. A bloody good umpire too. Has he retired??
I have a feeling he may have had some kind of trouble with his heart earlier in the year? Don't quote me, but that is what i thought, cos yes, he is a good umpire!

Appin Vet
10 Sep 2007, 14:04
Brent Howden would have been favourite two weeks ago, however had a shocker in the second semi. Word has it that the free kick count for that game second semi was 32 to 12 in favour of Wandella.[/quote]

What is it that you are trying to say there Bipolar?? Are you saying that Wandella didn't deserve the win?? Sounds like sour grapes to me...

Anyway that was 2 weeks ago. The main game between 2 bitter rivals for the 2007 Premiership Cup will be another ball biter, regardless of who umpires. A great effort to see Wandella get the 4 teams in the GF. I'll wait till Friday to give a prediction.

Good luck to all participating...players and umpires alike.

Beez Kneez
10 Sep 2007, 14:09

Yeah 5-way bypass slowed him down a little this year.. as you would expect.
I think it maybe Howden Jnr and P Warren... Dunno really.

Well done to the Quamby Football club too on the weekend, what a picture the ground was in, never seen it that good before. Pleasure to play on.

TEE-R-OTTER
10 Sep 2007, 14:15
What is it that you are trying to say there Bipolar?? Are you saying that Wandella didn't deserve the win?? Sounds like sour grapes to me...

Anyway that was 2 weeks ago. The main game between 2 bitter rivals for the 2007 Premiership Cup will be another ball biter, regardless of who umpires. A great effort to see Wandella get the 4 teams in the GF. I'll wait till Friday to give a prediction.

Good luck to all participating...players and umpires alike.

Is this becaue there are still fitness concerns around Morris - Sternum and Laidlaw - Hamstring?

Appin Vet
10 Sep 2007, 14:28
Yes Tee-r-otter, but I'm sure the boys will get up for the match.

Cable Tie
10 Sep 2007, 14:30

GOALS
Murrabit
STEPHEN RANDALL 7, NATHAN HENRY 4, JONATHON HIRST 2, GREG SAIT 2, JOSHUA BRAY 2, DAVID MILLARD 2, BRADLEY HEIN 1, KAIN VEHLEN 1, BRAD KINGWILL 1
Nullawil
SAM GOLDSMITH 1, JAYSON MOLONEY 1, REECE POYNER 1, BRETT SMITH 1, GLENN SMITH 1

BEST
Murrabit
BRADLEY HEIN, STEPHEN RANDALL, CHRISTOPHER MURRAY, NATHAN HENRY, JOSHUA BRAY, DAVID MILLARD
Nullawil
ANDREW HEWITT, JAYSON MOLONEY, ARREN SMITH, REECE POYNER, NICHOLAS BRADLEY, LANCE STOBAUS

Mildred
10 Sep 2007, 14:40
GOALS
Murrabit
STEPHEN RANDALL 7, NATHAN HENRY 4, JONATHON HIRST 2, GREG SAIT 2, JOSHUA BRAY 2, DAVID MILLARD 2, BRADLEY HEIN 1, KAIN VEHLEN 1, BRAD KINGWILL 1
Nullawil
SAM GOLDSMITH 1, JAYSON MOLONEY 1, REECE POYNER 1, BRETT SMITH 1, GLENN SMITH 1

BEST
Murrabit
BRADLEY HEIN, STEPHEN RANDALL, CHRISTOPHER MURRAY, NATHAN HENRY, JOSHUA BRAY, DAVID MILLARD
Nullawil
ANDREW HEWITT, JAYSON MOLONEY, ARREN SMITH, REECE POYNER, NICHOLAS BRADLEY, LANCE STOBAUS
A nice spread there.........

September
10 Sep 2007, 16:00
Yeah 5-way bypass slowed him down a little this year.. as you would expect.
I think it maybe Howden Jnr and P Warren... Dunno really.

Well done to the Quamby Football club too on the weekend, what a picture the ground was in, never seen it that good before. Pleasure to play on.
Spoke to umpires boss Geoff Douthat on weekend and he said a decision on GF umpires wouldn't be made until later in the week.

youngsanchez
10 Sep 2007, 21:11
has the league best and fairest been run yet?
winners? team by team votes or anything available anywhere?

Stray Cat
10 Sep 2007, 21:48
Matthew Ladson from Macorna won best and fairest for Under 17 and Kyle Doran from Nullawil came runners up. Thats all the results that have been on the radio so far.

Stray Cat
10 Sep 2007, 22:33
Tony Doran B & F from Nullawil for Res
Jason Crichton R/U from Macorna for res

Sweet_as_bro
11 Sep 2007, 08:47
Tony Doran B & F from Nullawil for Res
Jason Crichton R/U from Macorna for res

Anymore results??

Footy Pie
11 Sep 2007, 09:48
Anymore results??

Luke Maher took out a few media awards
Glenn Smith League B n F and Most Valuable player
Arren Smith Rookie of the Year

Mildred
11 Sep 2007, 10:27
Luke Maher took out a few media awards
Glenn Smith League B n F and Most Valuable player
Arren Smith Rookie of the Year
On ya Glenn!!:thumbsu:

From50
11 Sep 2007, 10:37
When was the last time 2 brothers took out both the Rookie of the Year and Senior BnF.

Nackas
11 Sep 2007, 12:10
I cant think of a time that I have seen it happen anywhere to be honest! Quite an effort from the Smith family, great achievement! Both good blokes and good footballers!

Mildred
11 Sep 2007, 12:27
Just out of interest, who are the other 7 clubs hoping wins Saturday encounter between the bombers and the blues??

Catter
11 Sep 2007, 12:35
Just out of interest, who are the other 7 clubs hoping wins Saturday encounter between the bombers and the blues??

Wandella (Only in the ones:D)

Sweet_as_bro
11 Sep 2007, 12:42
I cant think of a time that I have seen it happen anywhere to be honest! Quite an effort from the Smith family, great achievement! Both good blokes and good footballers!

I still Haven't seen Glenn play a decent game of footy, and he stole a box of Corona's (Mexican Dancing Beers) off me not long ago. I'm not too sure about you comment there Nackas

Appin Vet
11 Sep 2007, 13:47
When was the last time 2 brothers took out both the Rookie of the Year and Senior BnF.

Did it happen with the O'Toole brothers? Lachy and Luke??

Congrats to all award winners at the GRFL Vote Count.

Cable Tie
12 Sep 2007, 13:27
What are people most looking forward too on the weekend?
A. Beer
B. Footy
C. Netball
D. The Skirt
E. The chance Wandella might go home with no wins :(
F. All of the above

Catter
12 Sep 2007, 13:49
A. Beer
B. Footy
C. Netball
D. The Skirt
F. All of the above

Uuummmmmmmm.......mmmmm.... lock in arrrrr.. F. Yep lock in F Eddie

facts_rite
12 Sep 2007, 14:16
A. Beer
B. Footy
C. Netball
D. The Skirt
F. All of the above

A for sure!!!!

Things may tend to get a bit tough, going to be a perfect day for it. Forecasted 20 degrees, perfect to sit in the sun and watch some good footy!

clifton's lookalike
12 Sep 2007, 16:36
Will Simon Ettashank & Justin Rooney be the difference this weekend? Both gun key position backman in the CMFL and should have a day aout if the experts are right in what they are predicting in the paper on Friday

Footy Pie
12 Sep 2007, 17:13
Will Simon Ettashank & Justin Rooney be the difference this weekend? Both gun key position backman in the CMFL and should have a day aout if the experts are right in what they are predicting in the paper on Friday

Probably a huge call considering they will be coming up against the likes of Mick Bott, Chum Chamberlain, Kyle Gillingham who are all capable footballers so I wouldnt say they'd be the difference! Huge job in stopping Henry and Meehan proved in the 2nd semi he is more than capable of that! Randall kicked his goals for the year last year so wouldnt be getting too worried about him Wandella boys!!

HappyDayz
12 Sep 2007, 18:16

Carna Blues, i'm a little biast though as i played in a premiership there a long while back.:thumbsu:

I'm actually interested in the magoos game this weekend. Who are some of the players, from both teams, that could make the difference. I'm not talking about Doran etc i'm looking for the 2 rung of players that might stand up when it counts.

I'm also choosing F by the way

Mildred
12 Sep 2007, 18:17
Probably a huge call considering they will be coming up against the likes of Mick Bott, Chum Chamberlain, Kyle Gillingham who are all capable footballers so I wouldnt say they'd be the difference! Huge job in stopping Henry and Meehan proved in the 2nd semi he is more than capable of that! Randall kicked his goals for the year last year so wouldnt be getting too worried about him Wandella boys!!
There's a few more they might have to contain also. What do you mean about Randall? Lets just hope it is a good game to watch and hopefor a good crowd!

Catter
12 Sep 2007, 18:33
Carna Blues, i'm a little biast though as i played in a premiership there a long while back.:thumbsu:

I'm actually interested in the magoos game this weekend. Who are some of the players, from both teams, that could make the difference. I'm not talking about Doran etc i'm looking for the 2 rung of players that might stand up when it counts.

I'm also choosing F by the way

For nully they will be looking for the v-train, the twin towers dasher poyner and ralphy pollington, spider coffee around the ground and the ever reliable Ricky sheehan dropping down back.

melbdocker
12 Sep 2007, 19:06
i'm back on board after living up north for a few yrs back in the early 90's i see murrabit are in the gf again this yr go boys hope u smash them

From50
13 Sep 2007, 09:54
Just a curly one for Appin Vet, will the new rule not allowing u/17 players playing 2 games in a grand final, will this affect the reserves knowing that cant bring anyone up from the unders, and with the seniors in?

Appin Vet
13 Sep 2007, 10:16
I don't believe that will be a problem at the selection table. I think they have a full list to pick from. With 3 players set to come back in the 1st's, that will add depth to the 2nd's which will in turn eliminate the chance of playing 3rd's in the 2nd's.

Here is a certainty on GRFL GF day- Collingwood to beat the West Coast Weasels by 3 goals on their home turf! Go Pies!!

Mildred
13 Sep 2007, 10:22
I don't believe that will be a problem at the selection table. I think they have a full list to pick from. With 3 players set to come back in the 1st's, that will add depth to the 2nd's which will in turn eliminate the chance of playing 3rd's in the 2nd's.

Here is a certainty on GRFL GF day- Collingwood to beat the West Coast Weasels by 3 goals on their home turf! Go Pies!!
Hey Vet, who makes way for ice, brandt and poodle?? I know they are all fit and ready to go, but does the coach omit those who can play seconds (ie. lancaster, moore, hall) or does he go with the best 21??

bernard the bipolar bear
13 Sep 2007, 10:41
Hey Vet, who makes way for ice, brandt and poodle?? I know they are all fit and ready to go, but does the coach omit those who can play seconds (ie. lancaster, moore, hall) or does he go with the best 21??

Anyone can play seconds if both sides play on the same day. But are they all 100%? You wouldn't want to carry anyone in to a grand final, particulary players like poodle and ice who are constantly breaking down.

Appin Vet
13 Sep 2007, 10:51
Can't honestly say with any real degree of accuracy who will play and who won't. Not my place. See Chum, I can keep secrets!

Catter
13 Sep 2007, 10:54

That wont mean much the week after my appin friend!! :D

Appin Vet
13 Sep 2007, 11:00
Are you the No.1 ticket holder of that illustrious fan club? Is it also true there is a waiting list as long as Manchester United's to gain Membership??

Catter
13 Sep 2007, 11:09
Are you the No.1 ticket holder of that illustrious fan club? Is it also true there is a waiting list as long as Manchester United's to gain Membership??

Its a very select group, I thinks its me and.......well. As for the membership, the band wagon still has a couple of seats left. Get on board. Anyway back to GRFL.

facts_rite
13 Sep 2007, 15:21
Umpires for Saturdays Grand Final matches are as follows

Seniors: Brent Howden and Peter Warren with Graham Handock Emerg.

Reserves: Brian O'Conner and Ross Frantz with Graeme Cathie Emerg.

Under 17s: Graham Handcock and Geoff Douthat with Jason Leggett Emerg.

Mother/Daughter combination around the boundary with Johnny and Melissa Doyle patrolling the outer! No doubt Johnny will be as proud as punch jumping higher than Joe Cocker to his point on the centre square, sensational!

Appin Vet
13 Sep 2007, 15:46
That is brilliant work there Facts! Considering that the Umpires are announced tonight at the annual Umpires tea they have each Grand Final week. They could've used you at APEC in Sydney as a sniffer hound.
BTW, congrats on the Rookie of the year.

facts_rite
13 Sep 2007, 15:55
That is brilliant work there Facts! Considering that the Umpires are announced tonight at the annual Umpires tea they have each Grand Final week. They could've used you at APEC in Sydney as a sniffer hound.
BTW, congrats on the Rookie of the year.

Well mate I feel that my resources are pretty reliable, extremely reliable in fact I guess you could say my 'record' is in tact!! Cheers mate, was good 2 have a win in me 5th yr of senior footy!! :D haha

From50
13 Sep 2007, 16:00
Well mate I feel that my resources are pretty reliable, extremely reliable in fact I guess you could say my 'record' is in tact!! Cheers mate, was good 2 have a win in me 5th yr of senior footy!! :D haha

Hey factsy do you think that nully may throw some surprises in the team considering some blokes can still qualify for the reserves?

Catter
13 Sep 2007, 16:10
Hey factsy do you think that nully may throw some surprises in the team considering some blokes can still qualify for the reserves?

Kieren Atkins
Reece Poyner
Nick "Kiwi" Bradley

The Messenger
13 Sep 2007, 16:11
Anyone know what time the gates are opened on grand final day. I know a few people who want a spot on the fence and I would think they will need to be there pretty early to get a spot.

Catter
13 Sep 2007, 16:15
Anyone know what time the gates are opened on grand final day. I know a few people who want a spot on the fence and I would think they will need to be there pretty early to get a spot.

8 maybe. Messanger we dont want you to start to early:D

facts_rite
13 Sep 2007, 16:18

Plus u have Doug Poyner as well and the flying V Train to slot in there but I'm not a selector but not allowing U17's certainly makes it harder and that rule is the most ridiculous thing I've heard in a while, something the league needs to re-assess. Take Hay's reserves for instance, if they were unable to play 3rds they wouldnt have fielded a team for the whole year, i no this is only a rule in finals but i still find it ridiculous as 3rds do play in the 2's all year.

Gates usually open @ 8 I'm pretty sure! If they're elderly tell them to get an disabled pass or whatever they are, am pretty sure u can and u are entitled to a park on the fence!

Mildred
13 Sep 2007, 17:12
Plus u have Doug Poyner as well and the flying V Train to slot in there but I'm not a selector but not allowing U17's certainly makes it harder and that rule is the most ridiculous thing I've heard in a while, something the league needs to re-assess. Take Hay's reserves for instance, if they were unable to play 3rds they wouldnt have fielded a team for the whole year, i no this is only a rule in finals but i still find it ridiculous as 3rds do play in the 2's all year.

Gates usually open @ 8 I'm pretty sure! If they're elderly tell them to get an disabled pass or whatever they are, am pretty sure u can and u are entitled to a park on the fence!
Hey facts, where did u hear about those umpire selections? Is it true?

Piggy Dunstall
13 Sep 2007, 20:01
Can't honestly say with any real degree of accuracy who will play and who won't. Not my place. See Chum, I can keep secrets!

Apin Vet can you please pass onto Chum not to play injured players on the home ground of the Crappers as you can't afford it!

At least the weather won't be as hot at the GF this weekend as it was last year and this will make for a better contest!

Given that I am not a fan of either side but unfortunately one of these two sides has to win!

What I want out of the game is BIFF! Bring back the BIFF! I hope the Blues and Bombers smash each other! Do any of these sides have any hard men? Who enjoys the BIFF?

blow in
13 Sep 2007, 21:09
Didn't Nats kick 11 or 12 on Spider earlier in the year. I don't think he will be looking forward to standing Nats on the weekend, especially after his dismal effort in the 05 Grand Final, where he went to #*$^ and almost failed to register a stat.

ROOTA#6
13 Sep 2007, 23:09
Umpires for Saturdays Grand Final matches are as follows

Seniors: Brent Howden and Peter Warren with Graham Handock Emerg.

Reserves: Brian O'Conner and Ross Frantz with Graeme Cathie Emerg.

Under 17s: Graham Handcock and Geoff Douthat with Jason Leggett Emerg.

Mother/Daughter combination around the boundary with Johnny and Melissa Doyle patrolling the outer! No doubt Johnny will be as proud as punch jumping higher than Joe Cocker to his point on the centre square, sensational!

Surely Brian O'Connor should get the main game. Has to be one of the best umpires that i have come across

bernard the bipolar bear
14 Sep 2007, 00:26
Hey vet, any truth in the rumour that Laidlaw is carrying a rib injury and not a hamstring?

Hugh Jars
14 Sep 2007, 09:09

:thumbsu:Haha nice work there Facts Rite, you may be the "Hutchy" of the GRFL....