View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Hugh Jars
14 Sep 2007, 09:31
Apin Vet can you please pass onto Chum not to play injured players on the home ground of the Crappers as you can't afford it!

At least the weather won't be as hot at the GF this weekend as it was last year and this will make for a better contest!

Given that I am not a fan of either side but unfortunately one of these two sides has to win!

What I want out of the game is BIFF! Bring back the BIFF! I hope the Blues and Bombers smash each other! Do any of these sides have any hard men? Who enjoys the BIFF?

Here here

facts_rite
14 Sep 2007, 09:45
Apin Vet can you please pass onto Chum not to play injured players on the home ground of the Crappers as you can't afford it!

At least the weather won't be as hot at the GF this weekend as it was last year and this will make for a better contest!

Given that I am not a fan of either side but unfortunately one of these two sides has to win!

What I want out of the game is BIFF! Bring back the BIFF! I hope the Blues and Bombers smash each other! Do any of these sides have any hard men? Who enjoys the BIFF?

Yeah well lets hope there is a few dust ups, plenty of blokes belting the living suitcases out of each other, the spectators enjoy with a nice cold frophy.

End Result, lets hope its a draw so we can come back and do it all again next week!!!!!

facts_rite
14 Sep 2007, 09:46
:thumbsu:Haha nice work there Facts Rite, you may be the "Hutchy" of the GRFL....

I hope not.............................

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 10:35
Surely Brian O'Connor should get the main game. Has to be one of the best umpires that i have come across
mmmm, i have seen better!

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 10:36
So who are the umpires for saturday? Was facts Right???

Stray Cat
14 Sep 2007, 11:11
According to todays Northern Times facts rite is correct about the umpires

facts_rite
14 Sep 2007, 12:09
So who are the umpires for saturday? Was facts Right???

I was never in doubt Mildred!!!!!!! :D

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 12:33
I was never in doubt Mildred!!!!!!! :D
na na, good work mate! Cos u are never wrong, pick the 4 winners on the day and best on for each game! This will test ya!

facts_rite
14 Sep 2007, 12:56
na na, good work mate! Cos u are never wrong, pick the 4 winners on the day and best on for each game! This will test ya!

Hahahaha nah well that maybe pushing it mate, will be able to tell ya by 5.30 Satdy! Got a bit of faith in the Nully boys will be rite behind them this weekend!!!! Seniors should be a belta, I honestly am going to struggle to pick between the both! Murrabit can't let Wandella get the start they did in the 2nd Semi, certainly cost the blues the game!

From50
14 Sep 2007, 13:01
Tips
u/17 Wandella: Been the class side all year can go past them.

Reserves: Nully to make it 2 in a row beating wandella

Seniors: Murrabit to cause wandella more grand final pain getting over the line by lets say...29points

Good Luck to everyone involved
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 13:12
Where's the VET. Thought he would be up and about since he has 4 teams in tomorrow!

Catter
14 Sep 2007, 13:38
Tips
u/17 Wandella: Been the class side all year can go past them.

Reserves: Nully to make it 2 in a row beating wandella

Seniors: Murrabit to cause wandella more grand final pain getting over the line by lets say...29points

Good Luck to everyone involved
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Get behind the maroons unders!!!

Murrabit pretty good last week, if they can keep th momentum going they should go all the way.:thumbsu:

goalposts
14 Sep 2007, 14:03
Get behind the maroons unders!!!

Murrabit pretty good last week, if they can keep th momentum going they should go all the way.:thumbsu:

Obviously Nully tuggers talking here.
How is the full back from Nully twos i heard is under a big injury cloud????

Appin Vet
14 Sep 2007, 14:07
Where's the VET. Thought he would be up and about since he has 4 teams in tomorrow!

It isn't the amount of teams that make it to the GF...it is about how many medals are won. But having four in the GF's is one hell off an effort. The 2 under age games are monty's but the Seconds and Seniors will be hard fought slog fests.

The Bombers will end years of pain and bring the Cup back to Windy Hill by 13 points. Go Bombers!!

Catter
14 Sep 2007, 14:16
Obviously Nully tuggers talking here.
How is the full back from Nully twos i heard is under a big injury cloud????

Hahaha, what are you trying to say Hutchy?:D

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 15:36
It isn't the amount of teams that make it to the GF...it is about how many medals are won. But having four in the GF's is one hell off an effort. The 2 under age games are monty's but the Seconds and Seniors will be hard fought slog fests.

The Bombers will end years of pain and bring the Cup back to Windy Hill by 13 points. Go Bombers!!
Just out of interest VET, when did u guys last win the seniors?

Stray Cat
14 Sep 2007, 16:51
Just out of interest VET, when did u guys last win the seniors?

Correct me if I'm wrong Wandella won seniors back in 1993.

Mildred
14 Sep 2007, 17:12
Oh shit, really!! I didn't think it was that long ago! Seems a bit strange since they have always been there abouts nearly every year.

ROOTA#6
14 Sep 2007, 17:29
Good luck to my former team mates in Kingers, Nutsy and Roons for tomorrow. I hope you get the ultimate success that you are after. Kingers to be BOG

david_flood
14 Sep 2007, 20:13

my tip for tomorrow murrabit by 29 points. nicko hein, and the big jackhammer will provide the run of half back and the difference that is needed to win the big one and put wandella out of its misery in the finals for the 3rd year in a row;)

best on: Dave millard

Piggy Dunstall
15 Sep 2007, 22:12
Mmmmmmm

Appin Vet?

Someone call the Doctor for the Vet.

champ
16 Sep 2007, 11:58
The Bombers will end years of pain and bring the Cup back to Windy Hill by 13 points. Go Bombers!![/quote]

What happened vet. I thought the bombers were a real chance when poodle kicked that early goal in the last. Then it turnrd into a 13 goal thumping. WOW.

Appin Vet
17 Sep 2007, 11:52
Great game till 5 mins into the last with 2 goals in it. I still can't believe what happened in the last quarter. Very powerful performance by Murrabit in that last 30 mins.

david_flood
17 Sep 2007, 13:38
BANG! crack it like an egg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ROOTA#6
17 Sep 2007, 14:25
Great game till 5 mins into the last with 2 goals in it. I still can't believe what happened in the last quarter. Very powerful performance by Murrabit in that last 30 mins.

Who was BOG???

The Messenger
17 Sep 2007, 14:56
Nick Hein won the VCFL medal and Nats Henery won the Umpires Medal. I thought Jon Hirst was probably the best player on the ground though, I've never been a huge fan of his footy but he was great on Saturday, very creative in the forward line. Nick Hein stood out because he had a big last quarter. Laidlaw was Wandella's best by a long way, his hard work in the middle kept them in the contest.

Saturday just shows that you should never take injured players into a GF, Wandella made the wrong call on a couple of guys and I think it cost them dearly, espeically in the ruck.

thatsthethingboutfootball
17 Sep 2007, 16:30
Whats the go with no Keithys top 30?? Does anyone want to have a bit of a crack at one??

September
17 Sep 2007, 17:47
Whats the go with no Keithys top 30?? Does anyone want to have a bit of a crack at one??
Top 30 acknowledges mediocre players, heres my top 10

Glen Smith
Luke Maher
Brad Hein
Shane Harvey
Nathan Henry
Simon Morton
Michael Bott
Andrew Hewitt
Brendan McIntyre
Josh Logan

wonker
17 Sep 2007, 20:23
For anyone who knows Tony Bellenger from his coaching days at Wandella, you may be interested to know that he was a run away winner in the M'borough Castlemaine District's league best & fairest award.

He has also managed, in his coaching role, to take the Avoca club from seventh last season into a grand final against Harcourt next Saturday.

facts_rite
17 Sep 2007, 21:50
Good luck to my former team mates in Kingers, Nutsy and Roons for tomorrow. I hope you get the ultimate success that you are after. Kingers to be BOG

Congrats too the Murrabit boys...too good. But can any of the Murrabit boys fill us in on why Kingers came to the Kerang Hotel where the Nully ressies boys were after handing his jumper and premiership medal back to the Murrabit boys at the Royal?? Wally Grout or tee-r-otter??

ROOTA#6
17 Sep 2007, 22:51
Congrats too the Murrabit boys...too good. But can any of the Murrabit boys fill us in on why Kingers came to the Kerang Hotel where the Nully ressies boys were after handing his jumper and premiership medal back to the Murrabit boys at the Royal?? Wally Grout or tee-r-otter??

Oh know Kingers what have you done now???

Mildred
18 Sep 2007, 11:25
well well well, we had plenty of doubters but just proved why we finished on top! Too much run for the Wandella boys who were suppose to be suited to the large ground at Kerang! I am sure they will make a few excuses, but yes they did crack like an egg!

Facts, can't tell u about Kinga's! I was tucked in bed for a much needed 2 hours of sleep! Well, i am off to the pub....again!

Piggy Dunstall
18 Sep 2007, 12:34
Well the time has come to look back on the year already!

Who is the coaches that are moving/staying on?

Who were the B and F Winners from each Club?

Who are the Hard Nuts from each Club?

Thoughts on Next Year? From Club perspective, League Perspective?

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Sep 2007, 13:12
Good to be back boys! A lot has been happening since I have been away.

Good win to Wandella, give the cup to them now! They will excel on the big ground of Kerang. To win the Grand Final in the Golden Rivers you need to have leg speed and the Bombers have this. The Murrabit boys will be tested by the Maroons this weekend as the Maroons have good leg speed too but not enough depth as the Murrabit boys. The big ground at Quamby will help the Mallee boys as the blue boys do not have a lot of pace. What they do have is a couple of big targets and the Maroons will not be able keep all of these quiet enough on the day.

Blue boys this weekend by 5 goals.

Bombers the week after!

Piggy, time to hand in your big footy membership, you have lost all creditability. to win a premiership you need more than leg speed.

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Sep 2007, 13:23
Exactly what happened on the weekend Vet. Wandella’s run was just too much for the Murrabit team! Wandella exploded out of the blocks but to Murrabit’s credit they fought back and inaccurate kicking decimated them! Paul Meehan did a great job on Henry, although didn’t realise he still banged home 5! Dave Millard did a hell of a job on Mick Bott. Travy Smith was electric with pace and skill but left the game in the last quarter with a shoulder?? Murrabit seemed to come out of the game injury free but its just hard to believe that Wandella somehow will still have to slot Ice Kennedy and Poodle back into that line up! Judging by Poodle’s celebrations at the end of the game, injury clearly wasn’t that big of an issue! Wandella was the better team on the day and clearly deserved to win, Murrabit I think it maybe time to start pooing a little!!!!

Footy pie, anyone who watched that game carefully and knows anything about football, would know that Murrabit was desperately unlucky to lose that game. In hindsight, perhaps Nully should of been pooing, coz they were about to get smashed by 115 points.

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Sep 2007, 13:27

Brent Howden won Wandella's B & F's this season. Certainly stood up for them in the finals.

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Sep 2007, 13:32

I feel wandella's selection panel should start to pick their best side next year, rather than selecting on sentiment. Not a great move to go into a grand final with 2 full backs on the bench, one of which is 39 years old and clearly past his use by date.

And how many times does fish mcgowan have to let wandella down before they realise he is not the answer?

Nackas
18 Sep 2007, 13:59
I feel wandella's selection panel should start to pick their best side next year, rather than selecting on sentiment. Great move to go into a grand final with 2 full backs on the bench, one of which is 39 years old and clearly past his use by date. He repayed the faith by conceding goals and collecting 1 handball.

And how many times does fish mcgowan have to let wandella down before they realise he is not the answer?

That time of the month bear?!?!

Stray Cat
18 Sep 2007, 16:00
Murrabit's Vote Count Winners
Seniors:Winner:Brad Hein
R/U: Simon Morton
Reserves: Winner: Matt Webb
R/U: Brent McKnight
Pete McDonald
Under 17's Winner: Joe Whyte
Congratulations to all :thumbsu:

Piggy Dunstall
18 Sep 2007, 16:16
Piggy, time to hand in your big footy membership, you have lost all creditability. to win a premiership you need more than leg speed.

Att: Bear

As an avid reader and contributor to the GR page you would noted that I said that you need to enter the game with leg speed on the Krappers home ground, but I also said to the selection comitee out at Bomber land not to play any injured players as you cannot afford to lose anyone! Also you would not have wanted to enter the game looking after people as you do not get an opportunity at a Flag every Year! You need to play your best/fit side, you need to take the emotion out at the selection table.

slippery
18 Sep 2007, 17:06
Brent Howden won Wandella's B & F's this season. Certainly stood up for them in the finals.

What are you suffering from tool, Wakoolitis. Be gracious in the win, both umpires worked well together on saturday, no probs from anyone i spoke to and don't be a coward bagging out people on this site. Hard enough to get umpires as it is, maybe you'd like Frantzy for another 10 years!!!!

bernard the bipolar bear
18 Sep 2007, 18:43
What are you suffering from tool, Wakoolitis. Be gracious in the win, both umpires worked well together on saturday, no probs from anyone i spoke to and don't be a coward bagging out people on this site. Hard enough to get umpires as it is, maybe you'd like Frantzy for another 10 years!!!!

Yes, i apologize, probably a little harsh this morning, must be something i drank. I am generally not into umpire bashing, but Howden was ordinary. Seen the video of both the second semi and gf and there was a lot of questionable calls. Warra did a top job though.

catch me if u can
18 Sep 2007, 19:01
Yes, i apologize, probably a little harsh this morning, must be something i drank. I am generally not into umpire bashing, but Howden was ordinary. Seen the video of both the second semi and gf and there was a lot of questionable calls. Warra did a top job though.

yes i think its pretty fair to say that howden was well below par with his umpiring in the granny!! some shocking decision and i know that its hard to get umpires and all but for f*&k sake....its the grand final and his performance was almost bad as wandellas :D

slippery
19 Sep 2007, 09:09
yes i think its pretty fair to say that howden was well below par with his umpiring in the granny!! some shocking decision and i know that its hard to get umpires and all but for f*&k sake....its the grand final and his performance was almost bad as wandellas :D

Experience is a great thing, you cannot put an old head on young shoulders. A few more his age, and the league will not have to resort to club umpy's doing senoirs, which as we all agree, is not good for the league. May be you can swap places with him and lets see how you go, at least he has the balls to have a crack.

19 Sep 2007, 12:00
Just thought id have a bit of a crack at my team of the year....

B: J.Rooney (Mur), R.Lowing (Mou), N.Condely (Ult)
HB: B.Hein (Mur), P.Meehan (Wan), D.Duggan (Hay)
C: J. Logan (Mou), B.Laidlaw (Wan), S.Lawry (Ult)
HF: M.Bott (Wan), N.Henry (Mur), J.Hirst (Mur)
F: S.Harvey (Wak), A.Cocks (Mac), S.Broussard (Ult)
R: B.Mackenzie (Ult), G.Smith (Nul), L.Maher (Qua)
I: J.Pay (Wan), B.McIntyre (Qua), B.Caldwell (Mou)

The Messenger
19 Sep 2007, 13:41

Not a bad effort, I would make a few changes. Hirst out and Khane Mason onto a flank, didn't think Hirst's year was great (except the GF) and Mason was probably Macorna's best over the entire year. Duggan out, he's a goer but not in the class of others in this team, Maher to a HBF and Jay Laursen to 1st rover. Caldwell and Pay lucky to be on the pine, I think Leigh Whelan, Brendan Murchie, Simon Morton and Billy Hewitt all had better years than these 2 guys.

19 Sep 2007, 14:04
Not a bad effort, I would make a few changes. Hirst out and Khane Mason onto a flank, didn't think Hirst's year was great (except the GF) and Mason was probably Macorna's best over the entire year. Duggan out, he's a goer but not in the class of others in this team, Maher to a HBF and Jay Laursen to 1st rover. Caldwell and Pay lucky to be on the pine, I think Leigh Whelan, Brendan Murchie, Simon Morton and Billy Hewitt all had better years than these 2 guys.

Yeah agree with you on most of those, was just struggling for a few names for those last two spots...

champ
19 Sep 2007, 14:05

Wouldnt it be good to see an interleague side running around again next year

19 Sep 2007, 15:07
Wouldnt it be good to see an interleague side running around again next year

Or even an official "team of the year" with little plaques or something... Gives a bit of recognition to the guys who dont win B'n'F's or Goalkicking awards but have had good years

macedonian marvel
19 Sep 2007, 17:38
Or even an official "team of the year" with little plagues or something... Gives a bit of recognition to the guys who dont win B'n'F's or Goalkicking awards but have had good years

I reckon I would rather get a plaque than a 'plague'!!

foxdoog50
19 Sep 2007, 22:24

Done a good job there, but it looks like you follow Ultima reasonable well. A few small changes but not many.
Any way Lets hope the Cats win the next 2 games. What you think Messenger:thumbsu:? Can they go all the way

candy man
19 Sep 2007, 22:40
Hutchy returning to the milk drinkers, word is the ink has already dried!

20 Sep 2007, 11:53
Done a good job there, but it looks like you follow Ultima reasonable well. A few small changes but not many.
Any way Lets hope the Cats win the next 2 games. What you think Messenger:thumbsu:? Can they go all the way

Haha! Yeah it is safe to say that i follow Ultima but think they're spots are deserved...

GASTEV GOES BANG
20 Sep 2007, 13:01
congrats to the murrabit boys on the weekend.. very deserving winners.
Watch out GRFL the red and white army will be on the march in 08!
Anyways Gastev signing off for 07.

The Messenger
20 Sep 2007, 13:36
The years been run and won so let's talk about next year. Any new recruits already agreed to terms. It sounds like Hutchy will be back with the blues, very handy pick up there. Mitrovic is returning to the Tigers, he anounced it to his team mates after the Hurst lost last Sunday. Ice, Liegh and Jay have announced there return to the raiders and the Wizz is also moving on and the Melb group look like they won't return, where does that leave Wakool. Any news from Moula, Wandella, Quamby or Ultima.

Some rumors some may wish to confirm or deny, Luke O'Toole has been asked to coach Ultima again, Garth Russel to coach Hay next season and Josh Bray will be stepping down at Murrabit. Is there any truth to any of these.

Appin Vet
20 Sep 2007, 14:44
I wouldn't think the Bombers would be active just yet. Hopefully Chum stays on. Born leader of men.
Will Wayno be bringing any with him or will the Tigers rape and pillage from the local area??

Sockit151
20 Sep 2007, 14:50
The years been run and won so let's talk about next year. Any new recruits already agreed to terms. It sounds like Hutchy will be back with the blues, very handy pick up there. Mitrovic is returning to the Tigers, he anounced it to his team mates after the Hurst lost last Sunday. Ice, Liegh and Jay have announced there return to the raiders and the Wizz is also moving on and the Melb group look like they won't return, where does that leave Wakool. Any news from Moula, Wandella, Quamby or Ultima.

Some rumors some may wish to confirm or deny, Luke O'Toole has been asked to coach Ultima again, Garth Russel to coach Hay next season and Josh Bray will be stepping down at Murrabit. Is there any truth to any of these.
Heard quite a few murmours at Nyah last week about the O'Toole's returning to Ultima to be led by Luke, but all crowd talk no idea if it's true??

The Messenger
20 Sep 2007, 15:34
I wouldn't think the Bombers would be active just yet. Hopefully Chum stays on. Born leader of men.
Will Wayno be bringing any with him or will the Tigers rape and pillage from the local area??

Little bit of both I would say Vet. A few from Echuca, few from Cohuna and a few from Bendigo is usually how it goes. We let Wandella pick over the carcass of Kerang for players and Quamby, Ultima and Murrabit usually don't leave much meat on the bones of the Swan Hill area.

I would imagine a few retirements might stick out at Wandella this year after GF day. I wouldn't think we will see the same assistant coach out there this coming season or will they give him another crack.

Appin Vet
20 Sep 2007, 16:51
Apparently, Goose thinks sunshine comes out of Wandella's arse(In which I would have to agree, wholeheartedly. Pardon the pun!). I would say he would be doing everything in his power to be in Black and Red in '08.
In regard to Wayne, how much pull does he have with recruiting? Any in the pipeline already??

20 Sep 2007, 16:58
Putting three O'Tooles into any side would make for a formidible opponent, usually if they can get those guys back then a few others may come out with them from in town, eg like a Clint Kelly or Marcus Nalder or the like... Nothing actually happening there as far as I'm aware merely just my opinion... Would also keep the younger guys coming back for a bit of a taste of success that they havent felt yet.

FROGDOG17
20 Sep 2007, 22:07
Putting three O'Tooles into any side would make for a formidible opponent, usually if they can get those guys back then a few others may come out with them from in town, eg like a Clint Kelly or Marcus Nalder or the like... Nothing actually happening there as far as I'm aware merely just my opinion... Would also keep the younger guys coming back for a bit of a taste of success that they havent felt yet.
I personally would like to see Luke stay in the Central Murray. Heading back to Ultima at this stage of his career will not do his footy any good (though he would still dominate for many years to come). Getting top three in the leauge b&f should inspire him to stay. I would like to see how far he can go. Just feel he'd be going backwards to go out there again even though i'm ex Ultima and a good mate.

doubting thomas
21 Sep 2007, 18:21
I personally would like to see Luke stay in the Central Murray. Heading back to Ultima at this stage of his career will not do his footy any good (though he would still dominate for many years to come). Getting top three in the leauge b&f should inspire him to stay. I would like to see how far he can go. Just feel he'd be going backwards to go out there again even though i'm ex Ultima and a good mate.

What do you mean 'how far he can go'. You couldnt posibly be thinking he can get drafted. In my opinion if you dont play AFL you play state footy (VFL SANFL WAFL etc). After that, it really doesnt matter where you play. Send him back to Ultima so we dont have to play him anymore.:D

Footy Pie
24 Sep 2007, 14:55
Glenn Smith to coach Nully again next year, announced last weekend but have been unable to get online! Great news for the Nully Football Club sensational footballer!

The Messenger
24 Sep 2007, 15:39
Brendan Murchie won the Macorna B&F, 3 votes clear of Khane Mason. Very deserved winner. Jas Crichton won the 2's ahead of Mark Dee and Mathew Ladson the Under 17's ahead of Marty Kelly.

Snibs
24 Sep 2007, 17:11
Who's coach'n Moula and Ultima nxt year?
Kane Evans at Moula?

madpie
25 Sep 2007, 13:03
Looks like the money well has run out at Wakool for next year.
Might see the hawks slip way down the ladder.
Sources say that there will be a majority of blokes running around for free next season at hawk land. Any Truth????????

Sneezewell
25 Sep 2007, 18:48
Moula have not yet appointed a coach. But am pretty sure that it wont be Donk evans when they do. :thumbsu:

bernard the bipolar bear
25 Sep 2007, 20:19
Looks like the money well has run out at Wakool for next year.
Might see the hawks slip way down the ladder.
Sources say that there will be a majority of blokes running around for free next season at hawk land. Any Truth????????

I don't think wakool can fill two sides if they don't pay players.

Mildred
26 Sep 2007, 10:40
Yes Bernard, it will be interesting. Wonder if Hay will have their act together also??

Centre Circle
2 Oct 2007, 22:34
I believe Hay have prepared well for next season. Only rumours but Balranald may lose a few to the Lions.

Piggy Dunstall
3 Oct 2007, 22:33
I believe Hay have prepared well for next season. Only rumours but Balranald may lose a few to the Lions.

I have herd that Balranald will lose up to 17 players out of their Grand Final side! Balranald may fall on hard times next year?

If the Lions could pick up anyone out of this side it would be a great help for the Lions in 08!

Piggy Dunstall
3 Oct 2007, 22:44

Mr Bear: I heard from a source that the Hawks may also fall on hard times next year?

Very hard to recruit players to any club! Hard for the Hawks due to their location, hard to get players out of Barham/Koondrook or Swan Hill.

They did well to get some out of Melbourne but most clubs know that recruits only last a year or two!

Got the flag they wanted last year and made the finals this year!

What's in store for the Hawks in 08? Not sure!

Mildred
5 Oct 2007, 00:33
Mr Bear: I heard from a source that the Hawks may also fall on hard times next year?

Very hard to recruit players to any club! Hard for the Hawks due to their location, hard to get players out of Barham/Koondrook or Swan Hill.

They did well to get some out of Melbourne but most clubs know that recruits only last a year or two!

Got the flag they wanted last year and made the finals this year!

What's in store for the Hawks in 08? Not sure!

They're gone mate!! Their locals are not as strong as the likesof nullawil,murrabit and wandella and i know a few left due to putting the recruits before the locals, even when the locals were probably better! Anyhow, any footy trip stories??

TEE-R-OTTER
8 Oct 2007, 16:15
September - is Luke Maher playing at Kerang next year?

September
9 Oct 2007, 13:20
September - is Luke Maher playing at Kerang next year?
No, if he ever played CM it would be at Nyah, but it won't be next year.

david_flood
9 Oct 2007, 14:19
No, if he ever played CM it would be at Nyah, but it won't be next year.

heard off one of kerangs better players who is in the know at the kerang that Luke has showed alot of intrest in going into kerang next year. he would be a top player at kerang and very hard for quamby to replace:thumbsu:

September
9 Oct 2007, 16:05
heard off one of kerangs better players who is in the know at the kerang that Luke has showed alot of intrest in going into kerang next year. he would be a top player at kerang and very hard for quamby to replace:thumbsu:
He will be living in Swan Hill and won't set foot near Kerang. Senior captain at Quamby.

Nackas
9 Oct 2007, 16:23

Yeah certainly be very hard to repleace! I heard along the grape vine that he would be heading out to Nyah due to having family that way or something? Could be wrong, but haven't heard it from the man himself, and obviously Quamby have offered him the captaincy, hence more $$$ so he would be mad to leave! Quamby will be looking at heavily recruiting, were there abouts last season but could be rite up there next year!

macedonian marvel
9 Oct 2007, 16:39
You would think that with the drought the way it is, that most clubs will need to pay players less money next year. Players can't expect to keep putting their hand out if there is no money coming in! Many locals have played for nothing for years, so recruits should start helping out their clubs a bit.

The amount that players get paid now has reached ridiculous levels, what does a club really get in return for the amount they pay someone. Lets be honest, it's not the AFL, so it doesn't bring in extra sponsorship or huge prizemoney, what's the big incentive?

September
9 Oct 2007, 16:58
Yeah certainly be very hard to repleace! I heard along the grape vine that he would be heading out to Nyah due to having family that way or something? Could be wrong, but haven't heard it from the man himself, and obviously Quamby have offered him the captaincy, hence more $$$ so he would be mad to leave! Quamby will be looking at heavily recruiting, were there abouts last season but could be rite up there next year!
Luke was captain for the latter games of 07. What makes you think Quamby let alone anyone else will be in a position to recruit heavily? It hasn't rained for 10 years. Recruiting will be minimal for most clubs one would think. Clubs whom invest wisely will come out on top. Agree with Marvel,don't think recruits will be offered the same as in the past, clubs just can't afford it anymore.

10 Oct 2007, 12:07
Recruiting really comes down to doing the best with what you have... If you have a successful side that has good facilities and a good club atmosphere then if you pick the right recruits then there shouldnt be the need for the big dollars as the other things will help get them over the line. Ultima this year may lose a couple as talks of a few of them going travelling, Nathen Boyd and Jarrod Rodgers i think, maybe Fingers Condely. Cant see big Stewie Broussard travelling for another year. Also, heard talks of the Mahons boys going back into town and the Ayars boys going further out of town to Woomelang? Will Zac Boxall hit it out again this year at Ultima?

Footy Rules34
10 Oct 2007, 12:25
Can anyone tell me who is chasing who or of any rumours on what players are going where? What types of players clubs need? What type of players would clubs need to pick up to?

super snooper
10 Oct 2007, 20:10
Any progress on coaching appointments? Ultima?, Wandella?, Moulamein?, Hay? Wakool?. I understand Macorna, Murrabit, Nullawil and quambatook are as per 07.

Catter
11 Oct 2007, 11:54
Any progress on coaching appointments? Ultima?, Wandella?, Moulamein?, Hay? Wakool?. I understand Macorna, Murrabit, Nullawil and quambatook are as per 07.

Its probably been said before, but is Metro taking the reins at tigerland?:confused:

The Messenger
11 Oct 2007, 13:23
Its probably been said before, but is Metro taking the reins at tigerland?:confused:

No, will be at the club simply in a playing compacity, may do some junior development work. Khane Mason is still coach and Arron Cocks is still a/c.

The rumour about Garth Russell taking the head job at Hay is starting to grow legs. Would be a good get for Hay and you would think he may take some guys up there with him.

Truck
11 Oct 2007, 14:01

Is that metro from the slag heads in bendigo

Nackas
11 Oct 2007, 15:40
Luke was captain for the latter games of 07. What makes you think Quamby let alone anyone else will be in a position to recruit heavily? It hasn't rained for 10 years. Recruiting will be minimal for most clubs one would think. Clubs whom invest wisely will come out on top. Agree with Marvel,don't think recruits will be offered the same as in the past, clubs just can't afford it anymore.

Considering where Quamby finished on the ladder last year September, a couple of key recruits (ie heavy) may just see them slip into the top 4

September
11 Oct 2007, 15:44
Considering where Quamby finished on the ladder last year September, a couple of key recruits (ie heavy) may just see them slip into the top 4
Yes similar to a couple of other clubs, just a couple of key players short of being a contender. Beat both Murrabit and Nully in home and away but lacked consistency to challenge for a top 4 finish.

david_flood
11 Oct 2007, 15:49
Yes similar to a couple of other clubs, just a couple of key players short of being a contender. Beat both Murrabit and Nully in home and away but lacked consistency to challenge for a top 4 finish.

no offence intend towards quamby but they also ways seem to be "looking like having a big year". for the past couple of years they always pick up a few players who are ment to be guns but they still seem to be a bit off the mark.

Catter
11 Oct 2007, 15:52
Is that metro from the slag heads in bendigo

Yep, Captain Slag Head:D

He is orginially from Macorna

September
11 Oct 2007, 17:10
no offence intend towards quamby but they also ways seem to be "looking like having a big year". for the past couple of years they always pick up a few players who are ment to be guns but they still seem to be a bit off the mark.
Agree there floody, but in their defence the hype that you speak of is generated from outside the club not internally

Truck
11 Oct 2007, 20:57
Yep, Captain Slag Head:D

He is orginially from Macorna

Yeah top bloke, pretty handy with the stubbies too. Wyche have tried to get him there for years i believe. Hopefully his body holds up for you boys can win games off his own boot when his at his best.

Fonc
12 Oct 2007, 13:12

i hear nully r chasing birchip player, facts. blokes like cliff ryan and shan coffey. Must have a fair bit of room in the salary cap. Can you verify these rumours?

blow in
13 Oct 2007, 17:02
Just wondering if anybody can tell me how Ben Taylor, from Macorna goes. Apparently played there a couple of years ago, but I can't seem to remember him. Think he might have played at Echuca last year.

Appin Vet
15 Oct 2007, 12:41
Messenger: I heard from a source at the Tigers, that the Whelan brothers may be interested in playing with fromer Koondrook team mate, Khane Mason. Would be a very good recruiting coup for the Yellow and Black. Could they also lure Laursen?? Couple this with the players who have committed to the Tigers for '08. It is looking bright for Macorna.

The Messenger
15 Oct 2007, 13:25
Messenger: I heard from a source at the Tigers, that the Whelan brothers may be interested in playing with fromer Koondrook team mate, Khane Mason. Would be a very good recruiting coup for the Yellow and Black. Could they also lure Laursen?? Couple this with the players who have committed to the Tigers for '08. It is looking bright for Macorna.

I heard this rumour myself but I don't know much not as heavily involved with the recruiting as I have been in the past. Would be a massive get if the 2 Whelan's did come out, they are exactly what is needed out at tigerland some midfielders with a bit of polish. Ice is good mates with Metro and both Whelan boys respect Mason very highly. Pretty sure Laursen has said he is returning to the Raiders. I think it all sounds a long way off at this stage though so I won't be holding my breath.

I also heard that Lee Pollock could be on his way to Wakool as coach, and the Wiz and his other brother will also be out there. Having said that I also heard that the Pollocks were heading to Miti in the LVFL. I guess we will see who the highest bidder is in a few weeks. You would think clubs would want there coaches stitched up very soon so they can attack the recruiting pretty strong.

onthemoney
17 Oct 2007, 11:42
So what club in the GRFL will Cousins be lining up for next year??? Wakool should have a bit of room now that the melbourne blokes are pulling the pin... he'd fit in well with the crew up there no doubt...

scoreboard attendant
17 Oct 2007, 20:52
So what club in the GRFL will Cousins be lining up for next year??? Wakool should have a bit of room now that the melbourne blokes are pulling the pin... he'd fit in well with the crew up there no doubt...
the rumour going around is that Cousins will line up for the new franchise in the grfl, the western ice. Apparently they have had a real crack at some players especially gardiners who can pull chicks but dont act like wankerrs. The new club are convincd that these players are available and will be in a position to smack other teams on the scoreboard if thy can keep there heads!:thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 21:03
the rumour going around is that Cousins will line up for the new franchise in the grfl, the western ice. Apparently they have had a real crack at some players especially gardiners who can pull chicks but dont act like wankerrs. The new club are convincd that these players are available and will be in a position to smack other teams on the scoreboard if thy can keep there heads!:thumbsu:

Very good:thumbsu:

onthemoney
17 Oct 2007, 22:02
Haha... not bad!!!