View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
clifton's lookalike
5 Mar 2008, 13:56
how are teams going with organising practice matches with no night series being held in swan hill? who has matches lined up with opponents and venues?
ruddi zarsoff
5 Mar 2008, 19:17
Ordinary policy rejecting clearances. Everyone gets cleared eventually these days, unless contracted or owing money. All you are doing is leaving a bad taste in players mouths and reducing the chances of them returning.
ordinary policy you think bernard that advice comes from years of experience organising what team was it ?on past eperience clearing lauchy bott,troy+matt coates ,luke treacy ,shawn mckenzie,greg dickson to name a few with out a fight hasn't seen them return any quicker,maybe wandella trying a different policy?
bernard the bipolar bear
5 Mar 2008, 21:08
ordinary policy you think bernard that advice comes from years of experience organising what team was it ?on past eperience clearing lauchy bott,troy+matt coates ,luke treacy ,shawn mckenzie,greg dickson to name a few with out a fight hasn't seen them return any quicker,maybe wandella trying a different policy?
If those players don't want to play at your club, why should they be made to? And why would they come back when they know they cannot ever leave? You cannot force loyalty.
ruddi zarsoff
5 Mar 2008, 22:05
[quote=bernard the bipolar bear;10251577]If those players don't want to play at your club, why should they be made to? And why would they come back when they know they cannot ever leave? You cannot force loyalty.[/quote
true you can't force loyalty maybe wandella should look at buying it like other club in the league?
Sockit151
6 Mar 2008, 09:18
If those players don't want to play at your club, why should they be made to? And why would they come back when they know they cannot ever leave? You cannot force loyalty.
Agree that fighting for a players loyalty or trying to force them too stay is a futile exercise, but there are many more reasons why clearances are initially rejected..
i would suggest that in the majority of cases the former club is just looking for the chance to talk it over with the player is question, if they give them that curtesy and then still want to leave, then i would say 99.9% would get there clearance!!
bernard the bipolar bear
6 Mar 2008, 11:16
true you can't force loyalty maybe wandella should look at buying it like other club in the league?
which club that?
Have to agree with you Sockit. Common cuortesy to talk with "your" club and let them know of your intentions rather than just have a clearence shoved in your face without a valid reason. If we dont fight for our own players we all might end up in a prediciment that Quamby, Wakool and Hay find themselves in.
Beez Kneez
6 Mar 2008, 14:36
Have to agree with you Sockit. Common cuortesy to talk with "your" club and let them know of your intentions rather than just have a clearence shoved in your face without a valid reason. If we dont fight for our own players we all might end up in a prediciment that Quamby, Wakool and Hay find themselves in.
I think you will find that "the players" in question at "the club" made their intentions quite clear early. Training with another club up to two months prior to the first clearence being sumbitted is a pretty good indication of what a "player" intends to do.
You would think that a "club" would be proactive in contacting the player in those months prior to the first submission and not after two or three clearances are knocked back.
ruddi zarsoff
6 Mar 2008, 15:39
I think you will find that "the players" in question at "the club" made their intentions quite clear early. Training with another club up to two months prior to the first clearence being sumbitted is a pretty good indication of what a "player" intends to do.
You would think that a "club" would be proactive in contacting the player in those months prior to the first submission and not after two or three clearances are knocked back.
I think you'll will find that these players in question were contacted by club and club made its intentions clear early as well?What we are all losing site of here is that golden rivers clubs can't be used as breading ground for so called major league clubs or many more teams will struggle for numbers as wakool hay and quamby are at the present.
ruddi zarsoff
6 Mar 2008, 15:44
which club that?
we all know who the clubs are that pay good money to players and when a player is paid well its amazing how loyal he becomes isn't it?
TEE-R-OTTER
6 Mar 2008, 15:59
I think you'll will find that these players in question were contacted by club and club made its intentions clear early as well?What we are all losing site of here is that golden rivers clubs can't be used as breading ground for so called major league clubs or many more teams will struggle for numbers as wakool hay and quamby are at the present.
Sick of this club stuff, so lets talk about who we are actually talking about.
So from what i have read....
Wandella by the sounds don't like their players going into kerang, it takes too long for them to come back.... and if they don't come back they will be like quamby, hay and wakool?
So Kerang players never go out to Wandella?
and Wandella don't pay players?
Roughhead
6 Mar 2008, 16:29
Looking at the draw and see that Moula take on Murrabit 1st up at Murrabit, surely Moula would be looking to get a couple of pracci matches in before hand! Not only for fitness but getting the new team to gel! Any news from the moula boys on this??
ruddi zarsoff
6 Mar 2008, 16:44
Sick of this club stuff, so lets talk about who we are actually talking about.
So from what i have read....
Wandella by the sounds don't like their players going into kerang, it takes too long for them to come back.... and if they don't come back they will be like quamby, hay and wakool?
So Kerang players never go out to Wandella?
and Wandella don't pay players?
you have pritty much worked it out all by yourself tee r otter execpt that wandella would pay players as every club does but the hole point is that clubs have to pay more and more players to replace the ones taken which can't be good for there futures could it?
The Messenger
6 Mar 2008, 18:02
I've got nothing against young guys wanting to go to a higher standard of footy to test themselves against better opposition, although I don't think CMFL is much of a step up might be better having a crack at BFL, GVFL, etc. Older guys coming to the end of there footy are the guys you would like to see a bit more loyalty from.
I think this players moving from GRFL to CMFL goes both ways though. Alot of GRFL kids will go and play in CMFL for a few years to try and better there footy and a lot of border line seniors and older guys from CMFL end up in the GRFL to get more opportunities at senior level. I think Wandella and Kerang, Macorna and Cohuna, Swan Hill clubs and Murrabit, Ultima, Nully and Quamby and Wakool with Deni and Barham have been swaping players for years, sometimes they leave, sometimes they come it just depends on the year.
roosta07
6 Mar 2008, 18:24
For anyone that is interested, Josh Logan kicked 6 for Geelong Amateurs in the GFL but in the 2's...
marty sanders
6 Mar 2008, 18:34
For anyone that is interested, Josh Logan kicked 6 for Geelong Amateurs in the GFL but in the 2's...
Roosta for your info Amateurs play BFL. 2's again?? That club is stuffed, for the world of me can't understand why he wouldn't get a game in the ones. I know most of the players there and he's better than a lot of them unless they've picked up a heap.
marty sanders
6 Mar 2008, 18:37
Looking at the draw and see that Moula take on Murrabit 1st up at Murrabit, surely Moula would be looking to get a couple of pracci matches in before hand! Not only for fitness but getting the new team to gel! Any news from the moula boys on this??
Good call with Moula surely wanting atleast 2 praccos in before season starts. From what i've heard though nothing is organised.
brewery fresh
6 Mar 2008, 19:00
you have pritty much worked it out all by yourself tee r otter execpt that wandella would pay players as every club does but the hole point is that clubs have to pay more and more players to replace the ones taken which can't be good for there futures could it?
Im pretty sure everyone agrees the money going around isnt beneficial for any club. finding funds can be hard. so where do you reckon wandella will finish rudi? they would still make finals wouldnt they?
Roughhead
6 Mar 2008, 20:23
I've got nothing against young guys wanting to go to a higher standard of footy to test themselves against better opposition, although I don't think CMFL is much of a step up might be better having a crack at BFL, GVFL, etc. Older guys coming to the end of there footy are the guys you would like to see a bit more loyalty from.
I think this players moving from GRFL to CMFL goes both ways though. Alot of GRFL kids will go and play in CMFL for a few years to try and better there footy and a lot of border line seniors and older guys from CMFL end up in the GRFL to get more opportunities at senior level. I think Wandella and Kerang, Macorna and Cohuna, Swan Hill clubs and Murrabit, Ultima, Nully and Quamby and Wakool with Deni and Barham have been swaping players for years, sometimes they leave, sometimes they come it just depends on the year.
Good call there messenger. Alot of cmfl players that come to grfl are either borderline players that slot into a grfl side nicely, or an older player in the twilight of there career still with smarts to match it in the grfl. Better quality cmfl players that come to the grfl are usually playing coaches or on good dollars!
ruddi zarsoff
6 Mar 2008, 20:40
Im pretty sure everyone agrees the money going around isnt beneficial for any club. finding funds can be hard. so where do you reckon wandella will finish rudi? they would still make finals wouldnt they?
don't know, would like to see them make finals but at what cost if every club has to keep paying lots of player just to survive what is the point ,all you would do is make footballers richer and small communitys suffer? members , supporters would soon get jack of that wouldn't they?
Footy Pie
7 Mar 2008, 08:26
Couldnt help but notice that the clearances of Brett and Glenn Hay to Wandella have been rejected????
Dr Readaldabooks
7 Mar 2008, 10:11
Couldnt help but notice that the clearances of Brett and Glenn Hay to Wandella have been rejected????
Probably didn't give them the common cuortesy to talk with "their" club and let them know of "their" intentions maybe they just shoved a clearence in the clubs face without a valid reason?
The love doctor
7 Mar 2008, 11:08
Probably didn't give them the common cuortesy to talk with "their" club and let them know of "their" intentions maybe they just shoved a clearence in the clubs face without a valid reason?
You would think that it would have been a done deal considering they had there photos in the paper a week ago:confused:
Dr Readaldabooks
7 Mar 2008, 11:24
You would think that it would have been a done deal considering they had there photos in the paper a week ago:confused:
yeah it is a bit unlike Wandella to jump the gun on things ................. stubby holders??:p
The love doctor
7 Mar 2008, 11:50
yeah it is a bit unlike Wandella to jump the gun on things ................. stubby holders??:p
haha true..i wonder if they've made their frame for there wooden spoon this year:thumbsu:
bernard the bipolar bear
7 Mar 2008, 11:52
haha true..i wonder if they've made their frame for there wooden spoon this year:thumbsu:
What do you mean? I read the paper this morning and it said that they are flying.
bernard the bipolar bear
7 Mar 2008, 11:57
They will be cleared, without doubt. Just like the players leaving will be. The only hope they have got is talking them out of leaving. If it goes to an appeal, do you think the VCFL are going to deny players wanting to play at a higher level? particularly the younger ones.
The love doctor
7 Mar 2008, 12:15
What do you mean? I read the paper this morning and it said that they are flying.
haha true...sorry i could be wrong!!! the more u look at their ins and outs the better they look and not to mention this new coach they've got, he seem to be quite a hit with all the boys at bomber land:D
The love doctor
7 Mar 2008, 12:16
They will be cleared, without doubt. Just like the players leaving will be. The only hope they have got is talking them out of leaving. If it goes to an appeal, do you think the VCFL are going to deny players wanting to play at a higher level? particularly the younger ones.
how are things looking out your way bear?
bernard the bipolar bear
7 Mar 2008, 13:17
how are things looking out your way bear?
good thanks
I hear Wakool have picked up a of handy recruite in Willy Cosack with possibly a couple of his mates.
IKE TURNER
10 Mar 2008, 15:17
I hear Wakool have picked up a of handy recruite in Willy Cosack with possibly a couple of his mates.
FROM DARWIN?
The Messenger
11 Mar 2008, 08:39
I hear Burkey is no longer heading out to Nully, big loss for the Maroons would have taken some pressure of Smithy in the middle. Willy Cossack and Kerry Davis are the boys heading to Wakool I have heard, they both played at Kerang a couple of years back. They might need to bring another 10 mates to replace the losses out there though. Also heard Josh Bray is still a bit proppy on his leg, can any Murrabit boys confirm if he will be right for Round 1.
With Josh, Chum and Will Callow all under injury clouds the season could start without some of it's big guns.
TEE-R-OTTER
11 Mar 2008, 14:35
I hear Burkey is no longer heading out to Nully, big loss for the Maroons would have taken some pressure of Smithy in the middle. Willy Cossack and Kerry Davis are the boys heading to Wakool I have heard, they both played at Kerang a couple of years back. They might need to bring another 10 mates to replace the losses out there though. Also heard Josh Bray is still a bit proppy on his leg, can any Murrabit boys confirm if he will be right for Round 1.
With Josh, Chum and Will Callow all under injury clouds the season could start without some of it's big guns.
Josh is completing everything at training which suggests that he will be right for round 1.
clifton's lookalike
12 Mar 2008, 08:42
any clubs looking for a practice match on Saturday 29th of March? If so private message me and we can try and work something out.
SilentBob
12 Mar 2008, 12:52
With the current knowledge anyone care to share their predictions on the coming seasons top four finishers?
Dr Readaldabooks
12 Mar 2008, 13:07
With the current knowledge anyone care to share their predictions on the coming seasons top four finishers?
1. Moulamein
2. Murrabit
3. Macorna
4. Nullawil
5. Wandella
6. Wakool
7. Quambatook
8. Ultima
9. Hay
1. Moulamein
2. Murrabit
3. Macorna
4. Nullawil
5. Wandella
6. Wakool
7. Quambatook
8. Ultima
9. Hay
1. Moulamein
2. Murrabit
3. Nullawil
4. Wandella
5. Wakool
6. Macorna
7. Ultima
8. Quambatook
9. Hay
foxdoog50
12 Mar 2008, 21:02
1 Murrabit
2 Nullawil
3 Macorna
4 Moulamein
5 Wandella
6 Wakool
7 Ultima
8 Hay
9 Quambatook
Ahhhh wo really knows. just a punt really, will find out who is the real show bout half way threw the season
Footy Pie
13 Mar 2008, 11:18
1 Murrabit
2 Nullawil
3 Macorna
4 Moulamein
5 Wandella
6 Wakool
7 Ultima
8 Hay
9 Quambatook
Ahhhh wo really knows. just a punt really, will find out who is the real show bout half way threw the season
1. Murrabit
2. Moulamein
3. Macorna
4. Nullawil
5. Wandella
6. Ultima
7. Wakool
8. Quambatook
9. Hay
Here here foxy, no idea really!!!
Dr Readaldabooks
13 Mar 2008, 11:31
Mitiamo have cancelled the practice match with Murrabit this Saturday. It was going to be too hot for them. :mad:
Anyone else got a game on this weekend?
Pickin a Winner
13 Mar 2008, 15:18
Is this the last year of the Golden Rivers as we know it?
Will the league grow some balls and stand up to those clubs that are dragging the league and other clubs in it, down with them?
I know of one club that will investigating their options and possibly looking for another league to play in if the GRFL doesn't get firm with the clubs in question this year.
Things will only get worse for the league in the coming years. Player numbers will diminish even further. So if this club has the "balls" to jump ship and be part of a more secure competition then they should. Getting firm will do nothing, you either have the players and the funds, or you don't. By imposing harsher penalties you may as well scrub a line through 4 clubs, then this club "investigating their options" will have to pack up and move on anyway.
TEE-R-OTTER
13 Mar 2008, 16:54
Things will only get worse for the league in the coming years. Player numbers will diminish even further. So if this club has the "balls" to jump ship and be part of a more secure competition then they should. Getting firm will do nothing, you either have the players and the funds, or you don't. By imposing harsher penalties you may as well scrub a line through 4 clubs, then this club "investigating their options" will have to pack up and move on anyway.
So you expect clubs to sit back and watch the league die? Surely not?
TEE-R-OTTER
13 Mar 2008, 17:04
Will the league grow some balls and stand up to those clubs that are dragging the league and other clubs in it, down with them?
I know of one club that will investigating their options and possibly looking for another league to play in if the GRFL doesn't get firm with the clubs in question this year.
I'm sure we are not the only league in this situation, clubs are always battling for numbers. If it gets too much then they fold or merge. It is a part of Football. Not ideal though
Club folds = players play elsewhere.
Less clubs = stronger competition.
brewery fresh
13 Mar 2008, 19:50
snibs i suggest the three clubs in question find the balls to either have a properly run football club with two senior teams or f*#@ off. it is useless pricks like them who are dragging this league down. i will put it simply for you, put up or shut up and fold
tigers4spoon08
14 Mar 2008, 06:32
so will every team be able to field sides or what?
i am afraid that the grfl is going to be a joke this year, but fingers crossed all teams can get decent sides together and we can have a competitive league.
i see the predeictions have moula on top, why is this?
snibs i suggest the three clubs in question find the balls to either have a properly run football club with two senior teams or f*#@ off. it is useless pricks like them who are dragging this league down. i will put it simply for you, put up or shut up and fold
What an egotistical comment, take that pole from up you arse and dispose of it.
If you were involved at one of the stuggling clubs then you would have a different opinion. These clubs will continue to fight to remain viable because of their proud histories and so they can continue to provide an avenue to football for their juniors, but like I have said many times there will be a time real soon where clubs will need to make the call, Fold or Merge. Have some respect and get down from your pedestal
So you expect clubs to sit back and watch the league die? Surely not?
No, not at all, I was genuine in saying that if a club wants to be part of a more stable and secure competition then they should, while they can.
TEE-R-OTTER
14 Mar 2008, 10:19
so will every team be able to field sides or what?
i am afraid that the grfl is going to be a joke this year, but fingers crossed all teams can get decent sides together and we can have a competitive league.
i see the predeictions have moula on top, why is this?
Because they have been such a strong club over the past 10-15 years, they deserve to be on top.:p
Nah seriously, picked up some handy recruits. Will be a competitive side this year. Could be the team to beat. Prob top 3, where in the three hard to say without seeing them play together
TEE-R-OTTER
14 Mar 2008, 10:36
Snibs i can see your point, but the line seems already be half way through the 4 clubs you fear for. I think if the league do nothing, like you say, things will get worse and other clubs in the league will be affected due to the lack of games played by seconds players. It wont take years it may only take 1!
ROOTA#6
14 Mar 2008, 11:09
If the league gets too firm with some of the struggling clubs then the club you speak of will have no option but to find a new league as the Golden Rivers will cease to exist. If a club within the league thinks that they are above the league then they should piss off and find somewhere else to play. I would only hope that they then get belted week in week out in that new league to find out just how hard it is for struggling clubs. Now is not a time for arrogance from individual clubs it is time for everyone to come together and find solutions to the problems otherwise in 10 years our young blokes won't have a game to play
Pickin a Winner
14 Mar 2008, 12:53
If the league gets too firm with some of the struggling clubs then the club you speak of will have no option but to find a new league as the Golden Rivers will cease to exist. If a club within the league thinks that they are above the league then they should piss off and find somewhere else to play. I would only hope that they then get belted week in week out in that new league to find out just how hard it is for struggling clubs. Now is not a time for arrogance from individual clubs it is time for everyone to come together and find solutions to the problems otherwise in 10 years our young blokes won't have a game to play
I'm sure a strong 6 or 7 team GRFL would be far better than one with 9 that are not having sides on the park each week.
And it is not a case of clubs being above the league or arrogent more that they see that if the league doesn't put a stop to the crap that is being put forward then they will have to do it whether they like it or not!
There is more than one club in this situation.
I'm sure a strong 6 or 7 team GRFL would be far better than one with 9 that are not having sides on the park each week.
And it is not a case of clubs being above the league or arrogent more that they see that if the league doesn't put a stop to the crap that is being put forward then they will have to do it whether they like it or not!
There is more than one club in this situation.
Roota's spot on.
Let not get ahead of ourselves though, at this stage only Hay have had trouble fielding a seconds side ( last year) and although there has been plenty of talk at league level a ball is yet to be bounced. Lets see where each club is at mid season, this will give a better indication of where we are all at. Footys a funny game, if we have a big harvest I know of at least 2 clubs that will be right back on track. Don't prematurely dump on teams, give them a chance to show some fight. If you think a 6 team league would be far better then your dilusional.
The Messenger
14 Mar 2008, 13:08
I understand what your saying Roota and I think everyone would like to see all GRFL teams with plenty of numbers and all being competetive but a stand needs to be made by the league and the clubs. If reserve games of football aren't played on a regular basis then the clubs who do have good numbers start to lose players who will play where they can get a game every week. It's not about kicking these clubs why there down it's about the integrity of the competition and not dragging the strong clubs down as well.
These battleing clubs should do everything in there power (which I'm sure they are) to get a reserve team on the ground each week. If that means thirds kids play 2 games and senior players play 2 games then that's what needs to be done. If they forfiet the year then the 5 or 6 reserve players they do have leave and you have none at the start of next year. It's not the first times clubs have battled for numbers, Moula have done it tough over the last 10 years and Macorna had some tough times before that with talks of folding and mergers 20 years ago. You have to battle through it, I remember thirds kids playing 3 games in one day.
If these clubs don't fight through these tough times it won't be the stronger clubs suffering Wandella could join NCFL, Macorna could join LVFL, Nully and Ultima could join MalleeFL, Moula could join PicolaFL and Murrabit could probably have a crack at CMFL. GRFL have to ensure a competitive competition with 4 grades of footy or it won't last because clubs have other options.
I don't want to see any club go under and hopefully the measures have been put in place (reduced team numbers, loaning of players, etc) to make sure footy is played every week. You can't just let clubs say "we won't have 2's this year, we will try again next year" because the league will not exist if clubs do the right thing by there players and join a league that allows there players to get a game each week.
Clubs must do the right thing by there own club first and foremost to ensure there own survival.
I understand what your saying Roota and I think everyone would like to see all GRFL teams with plenty of numbers and all being competetive but a stand needs to be made by the league and the clubs. If reserve games of football aren't played on a regular basis then the clubs who do have good numbers start to lose players who will play where they can get a game every week. It's not about kicking these clubs why there down it's about the integrity of the competition and not dragging the strong clubs down as well.
These battleing clubs should do everything in there power (which I'm sure they are) to get a reserve team on the ground each week. If that means thirds kids play 2 games and senior players play 2 games then that's what needs to be done. If they forfiet the year then the 5 or 6 reserve players they do have leave and you have none at the start of next year. It's not the first times clubs have battled for numbers, Moula have done it tough over the last 10 years and Macorna had some tough times before that with talks of folding and mergers 20 years ago. You have to battle through it, I remember thirds kids playing 3 games in one day.
If these clubs don't fight through these tough times it won't be the stronger clubs suffering Wandella could join NCFL, Macorna could join LVFL, Nully and Ultima could join MalleeFL, Moula could join PicolaFL and Murrabit could probably have a crack at CMFL. GRFL have to ensure a competitive competition with 4 grades of footy or it won't last because clubs have other options.
I don't want to see any club go under and hopefully the measures have been put in place (reduced team numbers, loaning of players, etc) to make sure footy is played every week. You can't just let clubs say "we won't have 2's this year, we will try again next year" because the league will not exist if clubs do the right thing by there players and join a league that allows there players to get a game each week.
Clubs must do the right thing by there own club first and foremost to ensure there own survival.
Not sure about Wakool and Hay, but Ultima are no better off than Quamby believe you me.
Just noticed Mick Bott has finally put in a clearance to Kerang.
bernard the bipolar bear
14 Mar 2008, 13:47
Well put. saved me a lot of time.
Whats the update on Moula? Have the geelong boys decided to stick around? not many clearances out, and a shite load in, including an extra one from geelong. They may experience the opposite problem and have too many players.
brewery fresh
14 Mar 2008, 17:47
some very good points there messenger.
to have a 2nds side all you need :
6 2nds players + 3 3rds + 3 seniors + 2 loaned players
= 14 players and a game.
3 forfeits in a year should result in suspension from the league
if any club cannot reach this reduced criteria then they are doomed anyway
jimmyboy
14 Mar 2008, 22:09
Not sure about Wakool and Hay, but Ultima are no better off than Quamby believe you me.
Just noticed Mick Bott has finally put in a clearance to Kerang.
I cant speak for Quamby mate because I dont know their situation, but I can certainly speak for Ultima, and we have great numbers this year. There has never been any doubt about us fielding a reserves side. Cheers.
facts_rite
18 Mar 2008, 11:27
On a serious note there ladz, will Wakool be fielding a team this season?
Because I've heard a yarn that they wont be????
Cockle doodle doo
18 Mar 2008, 13:12
Congrats to the Nully Culgoa A grade cricket team who came from last on the ladder at Chrissy to win the flag. Huge effort!!
Dr Readaldabooks
18 Mar 2008, 13:15
Congrats to the Nully Culgoa A grade cricket team who came from last on the ladder at Chrissy to win the flag. Huge effort!!
Yes a huge effort, but pretty sure this is a footy thread.
danielkerr
18 Mar 2008, 14:32
was told today that the wakool fc have officially gone into recess, anyone confirm this? and also that nully and quamby will not be able to field a reserves team...terrible for the league if either is true...
facts_rite
18 Mar 2008, 17:56
was told today that the wakool fc have officially gone into recess, anyone confirm this? and also that nully and quamby will not be able to field a reserves team...terrible for the league if either is true...
Cheers cockle, was a massive effort!!! From forfeiting a game b4 Christmas to taking home the big one!!!
Yeah I heard the same yarn, thats why i was trying to confirm with any Wakool ppl?? Nully will be fielding a 2's team, have never been in doubt!!!
TEE-R-OTTER
19 Mar 2008, 08:21
As of the league meeting on Monday night there has been no notification to the league.
sashabnd
19 Mar 2008, 15:48
As of the league meeting on Monday night there has been no notification to the league.
If Rob Fisher is coaching Wakool ,he has got Keegan dingo, Willy Cosack, Mark McClean and 2 more other players from NT
TEE-R-OTTER
19 Mar 2008, 15:54
If Rob Fisher is coaching Wakool ,he has got Keegan dingo, Willy Cosack, Mark McClean and 2 more other players from NT
Goodo, any news on the other 12 they need to make a team?
Footy Pie
19 Mar 2008, 17:12
Goodo, any news on the other 12 they need to make a team?
Plus the other 15 needed to make up a reserves team as well??????
But dont u worry, Wakool are gunna have a cracker of a 3rds team, I guess thats the main thing!!!!!!!!!
Appin Vet
20 Mar 2008, 12:31
Cheers cockle, was a massive effort!!! From forfeiting a game b4 Christmas to taking home the big one!!!
Yeah I heard the same yarn, thats why i was trying to confirm with any Wakool ppl?? Nully will be fielding a 2's team, have never been in doubt!!!
I hear that bye is a regular occurance. Happens about Wycheproof Race day every year!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
Sweet_as_bro
20 Mar 2008, 13:21
Mysterious weather patterns in the Mallee near the end of October every year.
El Nino, La Nina??? Who knows.....
buddy buddy
20 Mar 2008, 14:00
keegan dingo is playing a practcie match for a SANFL Club this weekend. Kerang have also offered him 1k per game and his previous club Berwick still wants his services. So if he is going to Murrabit what are they giving him that these other 3 clubs are not?
Charles Mac
21 Mar 2008, 18:52
Is it true what i read in the weekly times. You guys are playing with 16 a side?? If so is that every week or just against those sides that are struggling for numbers?
foxdoog50
21 Mar 2008, 20:37
Is it true what i read in the weekly times. You guys are playing with 16 a side?? If so is that every week or just against those sides that are struggling for numbers?
Yeah its only to the teams who are struggling with numbers...
bigtube
22 Mar 2008, 04:07
Golden Rivers seniors will be 18 on the feild + 3 interchange same as always. Reserves have the option to go as low as 14 a side if need be against the 3 clubs that have indicated they might struggle for numbers. Sounds like Benny Carter has been his usual diligent self when handing on info to the Weekly Times.
itchy&scratchy
26 Mar 2008, 17:08
I Herd a whisper that Sean Beddgood is not likely to play at nully this year.It is rumoured that he is moving to melbourne to play at Cheltehem with the one and only Chris Worner.Has any one else herd of this:confused::confused:
ROOTA#6
26 Mar 2008, 20:34
I Herd a whisper that Sean Beddgood is not likely to play at nully this year.It is rumoured that he is moving to melbourne to play at Cheltehem with the one and only Chris Worner.Has any one else herd of this:confused::confused:
I thought Chris had a reco and was going to be out for the majority of the year. I think Sean should return home to Lalbert
Always Broke
26 Mar 2008, 21:36
keegan dingo is playing a practcie match for a SANFL Club this weekend. Kerang have also offered him 1k per game and his previous club Berwick still wants his services. So if he is going to Murrabit what are they giving him that these other 3 clubs are not?
Who is Keegan Dingo ? What possi dose he play ? Is he any good ?
Mildred
26 Mar 2008, 23:44
how is the ben rutten of the area (aka..nick jarman) looking for the 2008 season..heard he has been putting in the hard yards at kerang over the past 2 years and he is ready to carve it up back with the royal blues...can anyone confirm??
Hey there Messenger, I hear the Tigers had thier first practice match on the weekend..... How they look?
The Messenger
31 Mar 2008, 12:20
Hey there Messenger, I hear the Tigers had thier first practice match on the weekend..... How they look?
They didn't put the results in the London Times mate, I'm shocked. No looked OK, jumped out to a 6 goals to 1 lead but I think went down by 2 points in the end so it was fairly even. 5 or 6 senior guys missing and I think the Hill were at almost full stregth so pretty happy with the way it went considering the Hill rolled Leitchy the week before. Got through without any injury concerns which is the main thing at this time of year.
Play Calavil next Saturday and we will have 4 of the guys that were missing in for there first run so fingers crossed everything goes well.
Anyone else got news from any praccy matches, Wandella played Inglewood, any others over the weekend.
If anyones interested in watching a cracking game of country footy this weekend, come along to Tyntynder on Saturday to watch the Quamby Saints battle it out with the Lalbert Eagles for the Mallee Cup. 1pm start
Pickin a Winner
2 Apr 2008, 10:38
If anyones interested in watching a cracking game of country footy this weekend, come along to Tyntynder on Saturday to watch the Quamby Saints battle it out with the Lalbert Eagles for the Mallee Cup. 1pm start
Got a team list of who is playing Snibs? New Faces?
Young Shep get is belly in a saints Jumper?:p
Is it really worth going to see?
Got a team list of who is playing Snibs? New Faces?
Young Shep get is belly in a saints Jumper?:p
Is it really worth going to see?
Come along on Sat and you can answer your own questions.
Could be quite entertaining as there is no love lost between the 2 sides.
CATSfinallydidit
2 Apr 2008, 14:55
would just like to take the opportunity to say thank you to the wakool footy club. thank you for the the opportunity to play with you guys and for your hospitality during my time at the club. i enjoyed my stay at the wakool footy club with its friendly supporters players and people around and involved in the club. and wanted to say thank you for the clearance, i have now moved into a coaching role with the fiztroy stars. will be following you guys over the net this season so i want to wish you all the best.
cheers. henry button
the-rumour-mill
2 Apr 2008, 18:14
Come along on Sat and you can answer your own questions.
Could be quite entertaining as there is no love lost between the 2 sides.
snibs
what will happen next year when these two clubs merge? who will play for the mallee cup then or will you have an intra club?
snibs
what will happen next year when these two clubs merge? who will play for the mallee cup then or will you have an intra club?
these two clubs wont merge, lalbert wont want to go further away from swan hill, lalbert want to merge with ultima
and as for all these blokes playing for wakool, they would want too get some clearances in soon... that includes their so called coach
Number 16
2 Apr 2008, 20:11
just 10 days to go til the start of the season..
any late news in??
who has practice matches this week?
the-rumour-mill
2 Apr 2008, 20:46
these two clubs wont merge, lalbert wont want to go further away from swan hill, lalbert want to merge with ultima
and as for all these blokes playing for wakool, they would want too get some clearances in soon... that includes their so called coach
how the ____ do you know they won't merge? they have had talks with several clubs and have it on good authority that the talks between llbert and quambatook are at the next level. they will play at lalbert given the new changerooms out there, they won't be able to wear the quamby jumper though as tooleytng already wear that in CMFL so they would have to come up with a new one.
the best things these clubs could do would be to move into swan hill together as a merged club as the majority of players from both thse clubs would be travelling from swan hill.
Footy Pie
2 Apr 2008, 21:31
Well one things for certain, Russ Robbins is a user of the Macorna Football Club. As soon as things begin to look a bit difficult, he pisses off to Cohuna, but now that things are looking promising out Macorna way, he's strait back out to milk the cows!!!!
how the ____ do you know they won't merge? they have had talks with several clubs and have it on good authority that the talks between llbert and quambatook are at the next level. they will play at lalbert given the new changerooms out there, they won't be able to wear the quamby jumper though as tooleytng already wear that in CMFL so they would have to come up with a new one.
the best things these clubs could do would be to move into swan hill together as a merged club as the majority of players from both thse clubs would be travelling from swan hill.
As is usually the case Rumour you are miles off the mark.
Can guarantee a Quamby / Lalbert merger is not on the table and my authority on that is myself, beleive me I know.
There are 6 Quambatook players travelling from Swan Hill, hardly the majority.
The club is in a sound financial situation, in time the tide will turn.
Get back on the CMFL thread and tell everyone how good Kerang will be, at least you might be close to the mark on that.
As a former Lalbert person and the son of a former president i reckon i could be fairly certain in saying that Lalbert and Quamby won't merge with each other. It was talked about in the past but the main reason it didn't happen is because both clubs have similar issues and bringing the 2 together wouldn't solve this. Issues such as finances derived from farming, attracting kids out of town etc. If Lalbert and Quamby did merge it would not mean that they would necesarrily be better off financially or be able to attract more kids. Having said all that i could be wrong, as i have been known to be in the past.
I do agree with one point you made though rumour mill. Lalbert are now in a much stronger position going in to merger talks with any club as they now have an excellent facililty at Lalbert
danielkerr
3 Apr 2008, 19:16
Well one things for certain, Russ Robbins is a user of the Macorna Football Club. As soon as things begin to look a bit difficult, he pisses off to Cohuna, but now that things are looking promising out Macorna way, he's strait back out to milk the cows!!!!
as soon as things look tough...? russ stuck it out with macorna through the tuough years once everyone left after the 02grand final team...and when he left macorna recruited a decent base of players and looked better than the year before...get your facts rite
ruddi zarsoff
4 Apr 2008, 19:15
russ robbins a user of macorna you have got to be kidding,he had his fair share of tough times at macorna be for going to cohuna,and things always look promising out tigerland this time of year its when the footy starts they have trouble with!!
IKE TURNER
5 Apr 2008, 15:29
Who is Keegan Dingo ? What possi dose he play ? Is he any good ?
PLAYED FOR SOUTHERN DISTRICTS IN NTFL,TALL RUNNNING BACKMAN WHO GOES PRETTY WELL.
the_oneder
6 Apr 2008, 12:01
lalbert should merge with mystic park and relocate there, they are on the highway, closer to swan hill, kangaroo lake, big bonuses to attract players plenty of employment opportunities out there
buddy buddy
6 Apr 2008, 13:49
PLAYED FOR SOUTHERN DISTRICTS IN NTFL,TALL RUNNNING BACKMAN WHO GOES PRETTY WELL.
you won't have to worry about him. playing with balranald for 1k a game and has a 70k a year job with the school working with th eindigenous community as well as getting his rent covered.
foxdoog50
6 Apr 2008, 15:31
How could you say Russ Robins used Macorna.He did coach them by memory i think, in 2005, and did well with the players he had. And I did see him last night, he actually had a Macorna Stubby Holder in his hand, so he is buying some Merchindse with Macorna..
First prediction for the season, Luke Maher to win the league Best and Fairest! Has been very unlucky the past few seasons and i just have a feeling that this year he can pull it off. Although Quamby wont be a great side as snibs has illustrated, he will pick up votes as he's a stand out on the footy field!
clifton's lookalike
6 Apr 2008, 19:59
can anyone tell me how my little mate johnny trower is going out at moulamein? he has left his beloved bulldogs to head out there so i'm just wondering how he's fitting in?
Footy Pie
7 Apr 2008, 23:27
And Golden Rivers Footy is back!!! Has been a long time between drinks but is good 2 finally have a kick again.
Some big game this week so we'll go thru them with a few tips shall we??
First cap off the rank would have to easily be game of the round, a revamped Moula V Murrabit! This promises to be a cracker of a game, Murrabit has a lot of star footballers, as do Moula with the extremely handy inclusions of Bannam and Anderson. This game could swing either way but will get on Murrabit purely on home ground advantage.
Quamby Nully, well both teams will struggle this season after losing a lot of key players. Quamby will heavily rely on Luke Maher and McIntyre, much the same as Nully will rely on Glenn Smith and new recruit Beddgood. Again could go either way, but Nully purely on a home ground basis again.
Hay V Wandella: Both sides again may struggle this year, Wandella lost a few but gained the services of the Hay (not lions) boys who are renowned to be pretty handy footballers. On the other hand Hay will have the ever reliable Dusty Duggan, and the Stewart boys but will find it hard to get up against the bombers, therefore my tip Wandella.
the final match of the round see's Ultima V Macorna: Much hype around the Macorna club with the inclusion of Robbins, along with Joel Carter returning to the club who has been known to play some pretty handy footy!! Ultima on the other hand have lost key players in McKenzie, Stormy Lawry and Broussard which puts a massive dint in2 the team. On that, i'll back the Tigers as they were there abouts last also!
Oh in an interesting encounter, Wakool have had to forfeit to the bye due to lack of numbers!!!:p