View Full Version : Golden Rivers FL
danielkerr
11 Jul 2008, 17:45
Scotty can play the game certainly. Have had him all season but only started playing about 6-8 weeks ago. Never stops battlin his arse off all day, and wins a lot of the footy. Has been a valuable inclusion to the team both on and off the field!
although scotty is a dwarf he has always been a good footballer right through juniors...gave it away for a couple of years, came back and did his knee but looks as though he has recovered form that very well...
The Messenger
14 Jul 2008, 21:04
Went to Wandella to watch the young boys go around in the interleague. What is with the GRFL not being able to organise boundary umpires for the game. They had some little kid (about 10 at the most) doing one side of the ground and the poor little bugger couldn't keep up or throw the ball in. Then an older guy went over to help him but they obviously couldn't find him a whistle.
It was mickey mouse and the league should be disgusted with themselves, but I'm sure there not. If you are going to host an interleague fixture show some professionalism and do the job right. I don't care if LVFL were supposed to supply an boundary or not, GRFL was the host and should have made sure things were organised better.
Really doing a great job supporting our young up and coming stars.
Footy Pie
15 Jul 2008, 18:15
Went to Wandella to watch the young boys go around in the interleague. What is with the GRFL not being able to organise boundary umpires for the game. They had some little kid (about 10 at the most) doing one side of the ground and the poor little bugger couldn't keep up or throw the ball in. Then an older guy went over to help him but they obviously couldn't find him a whistle.
It was mickey mouse and the league should be disgusted with themselves, but I'm sure there not. If you are going to host an interleague fixture show some professionalism and do the job right. I don't care if LVFL were supposed to supply an boundary or not, GRFL was the host and should have made sure things were organised better.
Really doing a great job supporting our young up and coming stars.
The league has these young kids who can barely throw over their heads officiating at a senior level every week, so i dont see why they would make any exceptions to a one off junior league game
DOCKERS
15 Jul 2008, 19:16
The league has these young kids who can barely throw over their heads officiating at a senior level every week, so i dont see why they would make any exceptions to a one off junior league game
surely a couple of the kids parents could've done it?
Wh!sPeReR
16 Jul 2008, 21:48
surely a couple of the kids parents could've done it?
do take note that it was raining! I'm sure they were more comfortable sitting in there cars or in the rooms!
footy bloke
17 Jul 2008, 21:45
been to a few nully games this year, whos the number 49 running round goes in pretty hard and use's the ball pretty good. any info??
coach_carter
18 Jul 2008, 21:28
been to a few nully games this year, whos the number 49 running round goes in pretty hard and use's the ball pretty good. any info??
yeah i think it is luke johnson and i have seen him this year and isnt a dud anyway
footy bloke
18 Jul 2008, 21:38
yeah, he gets alot of the ball from what i've seen and isnt a sheep dog- puts his head over the ball and doesnt mind the hard stuff.
whats his history? been watching nully seniors for a few yrs now & have only noticed him this yr. seems a handy inclusion
coach_carter
18 Jul 2008, 21:44
yes he played last year as well but had come back from a 3 year break off footy i heard so started in seconds and broke into the seniors late last year and i think he makes the trip from melbourne every week coz used to come from swan hill
Centre Circle
18 Jul 2008, 23:05
Not the leagues fault re the size of the boundary umpires. Typically people are ready to throw muck,but are unable to pick up a whistle. These kids will grow bigger, hopefully they will still be around after the crap they get from supporters,some players and tools like you.
Hey hows Coota Dunstone going over at Moula, is he gettin a kick?
Footy Pie
21 Jul 2008, 10:42
Not the leagues fault re the size of the boundary umpires. Typically people are ready to throw muck,but are unable to pick up a whistle. These kids will grow bigger, hopefully they will still be around after the crap they get from supporters,some players and tools like you.
Well bring them up through the juniors until they develop and then have them boundary umpiring the seniors. It maybe a minor league, but it is still senior footy therefore the standard of the game should be at the highest levelmade to the highest level possible!
Footy Pie
21 Jul 2008, 12:46
yeah, he gets alot of the ball from what i've seen and isnt a sheep dog- puts his head over the ball and doesnt mind the hard stuff.
whats his history? been watching nully seniors for a few yrs now & have only noticed him this yr. seems a handy inclusion
If you have been watching Nully seniors for a few years now you would probably know his name mate...being a bigfooty newbie and talking him up so much makes me suss if you follow my drift!
danielkerr
21 Jul 2008, 13:20
Well bring them up through the juniors until they develop and then have them boundary umpiring the seniors. It maybe a minor league, but it is still senior footy therefore the standard of the game should be at the highest levelmade to the highest level possible!
it would be safe to say they are only being used because they are all we have...if we were to develop them through the juniors it would leave us with no boundries for the seniors...
footy bloke
21 Jul 2008, 15:41
If you have been watching Nully seniors for a few years now you would probably know his name mate...being a bigfooty newbie and talking him up so much makes me suss if you follow my drift!
As I said Footy Pie I have been watching a few Nully SENIORS games over the past few years and I hadnt noticed him until this year.
As I have now been informed by Coach Carter, he joined the club last year in the reserves.
Centre Circle
21 Jul 2008, 18:19
Danielkerr has got it right. So therefore they have to start at senior level and learn the ropes there. Is better than having clubbies doing senior games and copping flak from opposition supporters and being accused of favouritism with any close calls. So bend an arm Footy Pie and pat a few of these kids on the back for having a go. Encourage, don't discourage.
footy bloke
21 Jul 2008, 19:01
I reckon the young fellows have been doing a great job doing the boundary. If it wasnt for them the players would probably be doing it.
coach_carter
21 Jul 2008, 19:46
I reckon the young fellows have been doing a great job doing the boundary. If it wasnt for them the players would probably be doing it.
i think that the young fellas are doing a fantastic job for there size... but i agree with footy pie in saying that they need to start at a lower level. most clubs would have under 17's players who could do the boundry if needed or even the parents
DOCKERS
21 Jul 2008, 21:43
are you silly? the kids are obviously the best you can get otherwise there would be older kids / adults doing it wouldnt they, leave the kids alone, most of them have already played under 17's and under 14's and are sacrificing running around and kicking the footy with all of their mates to make the game that you play run more smoothly... have a think smithy
Footy Pie
22 Jul 2008, 11:09
are you silly? the kids are obviously the best you can get otherwise there would be older kids / adults doing it wouldnt they, leave the kids alone, most of them have already played under 17's and under 14's and are sacrificing running around and kicking the footy with all of their mates to make the game that you play run more smoothly... have a think smithy
I think you'll find that the initial debate was why was there a kid running the boundary in the Junior Interleague match, in which the point was made that there is these kids in seniors through out the league so why would it be any different for a Junior Interleague game?
coach_carter
23 Jul 2008, 22:06
I think you'll find that the initial debate was why was there a kid running the boundary in the Junior Interleague match, in which the point was made that there is these kids in seniors through out the league so why would it be any different for a Junior Interleague game?
most under 17's would be happy to do it on some sort of rotational system if say $15 - $20 was up for grabs. they can all so have a kick at half time with their mates so it isnt as if they are missing out completely. and with the junior interleague game, i think that it is fine in juniors but for 10 yr old kids to be doing it at a senior level is going overboard and expecting to much of the young fellas... but i still say they do a fantastic job considering
can play
25 Jul 2008, 22:03
Hey Foxdoog and Co. How are you looking for tomorrow. Will you be at full strenght? Will there be any excuses after the game?
footy bloke
27 Jul 2008, 18:19
so theres three games left, whos looking good for the b+f from each club???
danielkerr
27 Jul 2008, 22:38
ultima - luke wilson
quambatook - luke maher
wakool - willie cossack
hay - bill auldist/rory redfern
these four would nearly be definates...
nully - glenn smith
wandella - will callow
moulamein - kane bannam
murrabit - simon morton
macorna - unsure
thats just a rough guess on what ive seen and read in the results...
Footy Pie
28 Jul 2008, 11:33
ultima - luke wilson
quambatook - luke maher
wakool - willie cossack
hay - bill auldist/rory redfern
these four would nearly be definates...
nully - glenn smith
wandella - will callow
moulamein - kane bannam
murrabit - simon morton
macorna - unsure
thats just a rough guess on what ive seen and read in the results...
Macorna - Brendan Murchie???
footy bloke
28 Jul 2008, 21:46
Luke Wilson for Ultima for sure, not so sure bout Glen Smith for nully but. Has'nt had the year like last and has missed a few games.
Quambatook: Luke Mahar
Wakool: Willie Cossack
Moula: Kane Bannan
Who saw the umpiring at nully on the weekend, bloody shocking!!!!!!!!
on_the_money
29 Jul 2008, 15:21
I see that Johnson was named best on ground for Nully again this week. Surely he will take out Nully's best and fairest comprehensively, and should go close to the league best and fairest.
After watching several Nully games this season there is no doubt he is a class above the rest of the team. Johnson's polished skills and hard as nails approach to the ball would have him in top 5 players of the league. If Nully had more Luke Johnsons, there is no doubt that come September they would have been a dynamic force!
Footy Pie
29 Jul 2008, 16:38
I see that Johnson was named best on ground for Nully again this week. Surely he will take out Nully's best and fairest comprehensively, and should go close to the league best and fairest.
After watching several Nully games this season there is no doubt he is a class above the rest of the team. Johnson's polished skills and hard as nails approach to the ball would have him in top 5 players of the league. If Nully had more Luke Johnsons, there is no doubt that come September they would have been a dynamic force!
Pretty sure he won't be a contender in the league best and fairest. Big Will Callow would near have that wrapt up this year. Elwood has had a pretty good year and would be a chance to win Nully's best and fairest particularly with Smithy and Scotty Mathiske missing so many games. Nully didn't require to many more Luke Johnsons this year, they needed a Centre Half Forward and Centre Half Back, and a ruckman to assist Stobaus would have been handy! He was probably in the top 5 for Nully on Saturday, but I could think of 3 others that should have been before him.
footy bloke
29 Jul 2008, 18:39
Pretty sure he won't be a contender in the league best and fairest. Big Will Callow would near have that wrapt up this year. Elwood has had a pretty good year and would be a chance to win Nully's best and fairest particularly with Smithy and Scotty Mathiske missing so many games. Nully didn't require to many more Luke Johnsons this year, they needed a Centre Half Forward and Centre Half Back, and a ruckman to assist Stobaus would have been handy! He was probably in the top 5 for Nully on Saturday, but I could think of 3 others that should have been before him.
Dont think your giving him the credit he deserves footy pie, i've heard word that he's being chased by melb clubs now that he's living down there permanently
can play
29 Jul 2008, 20:28
Wandella: Ross (50 metre penalty) Frantz
Footy Pie
30 Jul 2008, 09:40
Dont think your giving him the credit he deserves footy pie, i've heard word that he's being chased by melb clubs now that he's living down there permanently
I guess you would know, so which clubs are chasing you??
footy bloke
30 Jul 2008, 09:45
I guess you would know, so which clubs are chasing you??
maybe you should ask him mate, as i said i've only heard this from other people round the traps
Team of elwoods would be great there would be a team that runs straight into blokes gets caught and there would be no handballing realy handy. Wat u think?
bernard the bipolar bear
30 Jul 2008, 13:36
I gather all this talk about Luke Johnson is tongue in cheek? Because from what i've seen Johnson is just a battler that needs to shed a few pounds.
danielkerr
30 Jul 2008, 15:04
im certain that a lot of players are being "chased" by other clubs already...nothing to write home about that 1 nully player is aswell...
footy bloke
30 Jul 2008, 18:09
If thay had half the hardness as Jez vero, ash martin, johnson and josh poyner and a couple of others they would go a long way. Theres nothing worse then seenin players trying not to get a hit and their is a few of them.
footy bloke
30 Jul 2008, 18:11
If thay had half the hardness as Jez vero, ash martin, johnson and josh poyner and a couple of others they would go a long way. Theres nothing worse then seenin players trying not to get a hit and their is a few of them. So at least his putting his head over yhe ball and taking the hard bumps.
Premiership Season
30 Jul 2008, 21:14
Don't know about massive years with these but worth a look...
Michael Harrower from Wandella got a mention a bit towards the end of last year, expect him to improve.
Jordan Simpson from Macorna, for 16 he is quite a solid lad! should be a perminent fixture i would say in their line up.
3 from Murrabit could be worth looking at Blair Monk, Kieran Thorne and Leigh Millard should be a part of the mix you would think.
No one springs to mind from Quamby..
as for the others i don't know
Jordan Simpson is a gun heard some rumors he may be concidering commin it the cmfl. Is a great bakc flank or foward flank even in the guts can play anywhere and is great value to a team
foxdoog50
30 Jul 2008, 23:14
Can Play, u boys were good on the week end u deserve to win... I even heard u shout a few things from the crowd....
So Wandella boys how bad is Will Callow???
Oh yeah Brendan Murchie has got a real good shot from Macorna for the league
danielkerr
31 Jul 2008, 01:26
Whats everyones thoughts on the possible grand final location...?
either at ultima, wakool or quambatook...i personally think that ultima has the best ground/clubrooms/bar etc and should host the big day...but i think that the league should hold the grand final at murrabit every year, the grand final should be showcased on the best playing field in the league. Before anyone starts saying about home ground advantage, its country footy the better team will win regardless of where the game is played...
bernard the bipolar bear
31 Jul 2008, 09:39
Whats everyones thoughts on the possible grand final location...?
either at ultima, wakool or quambatook...i personally think that ultima has the best ground/clubrooms/bar etc and should host the big day...but i think that the league should hold the grand final at murrabit every year, the grand final should be showcased on the best playing field in the league. Before anyone starts saying about home ground advantage, its country footy the better team will win regardless of where the game is played...
its at Ultima I believe.
and whats wrong with Will Callow?
Footy Pie
31 Jul 2008, 10:41
If thay had half the hardness as Jez vero, ash martin, johnson and josh poyner and a couple of others they would go a long way. Theres nothing worse then seenin players trying not to get a hit and their is a few of them.
So u are aware of who Ash Martin is and what brand of footy he plays when he only joined the club a quarter of the way through the season yet you'd never heard of Johnson who played last year and seniors all this year? Seems a lil suss to me?
The Messenger
31 Jul 2008, 10:48
If you are this Luke Johnson fella that you say your not your team mates will be very unimpressed after you have called them all soft except for a handful of them. You might want to take that offer from the Melbourne club because you may not be welcomed back at Nully.
footy bloke
31 Jul 2008, 11:19
So u are aware of who Ash Martin is and what brand of footy he plays when he only joined the club a quarter of the way through the season yet you'd never heard of Johnson who played last year and seniors all this year? Seems a lil suss to me?
I watch the seniors, so yes i hadnt heard or seen of johnson untill this year...same goes for ash martin as he plays in the seniors.
some of us have work commitments on sat mornings so i dont have the privledge of watching any reserves matches
Anyway I think that everybody has got the hint that footy bloke is Luke Johnson but lets move onto teams that WILL make an impact come September. Will Callow still got a crook ankle i take it? Any other injuries within the top 4? Ultima will be hosting the GRFL Grand Final. A great initiative by the board and clubs to use a neutral venue within the league to host the Grand Final. Will expect much more of an atmosphere around the Ultima ground than Riverside Park. Grand Finals just seemed dead as it was such a great area with everyone spread everywhere. Only a personal opinon though I must say.
I think it is going to be hard to get a better atmosphere at Ultima for a grand final when there will probably only be a third of the people as usual... they would want to be very vocal!!!! Only my opinion though!
bernard the bipolar bear
31 Jul 2008, 13:09
I think it is going to be hard to get a better atmosphere at Ultima for a grand final when there will probably only be a third of the people as usual... they would want to be very vocal!!!! Only my opinion though!
I doubt there would be only a third of the usual crowd. Ultima is handy to swan hill. only my opinion though.
danielkerr
31 Jul 2008, 14:28
why would there be only a third of the people...? if anything there will be more of a crowd because ultima can draw from swan hill...everyone from the grfl that would go to a grand final in kerang will go to a grand final anywhere in the league...
Wh!sPeReR
31 Jul 2008, 21:17
I doubt there would be only a third of the usual crowd. Ultima is handy to swan hill. only my opinion though.
Although Ultima is close to Swan Hill, i do believe that on the same day as the grand final one of the CMFL finals are on the same day? though they may not be held at Swan Hill, most cmfl people would go to there final rather then ours you would think..
Just my opinion, i think they should of left the granny at Kerang, the crowds may have been spread out but with many of the Kerang locals going it was good Financial wise:confused:
Wh!sPeReR
31 Jul 2008, 21:19
its at Ultima I believe.
and whats wrong with Will Callow?
Will Callow as a foot injury, not sure what exactly though, heard rumours that it was a cracked bone in his foot but don't think its that serious, should be back for finals!:thumbsu:
danielkerr
31 Jul 2008, 22:16
Although Ultima is close to Swan Hill, i do believe that on the same day as the grand final one of the CMFL finals are on the same day? though they may not be held at Swan Hill, most cmfl people would go to there final rather then ours you would think..
Just my opinion, i think they should of left the granny at Kerang, the crowds may have been spread out but with many of the Kerang locals going it was good Financial wise:confused:
kerang ground is a shit place for the grand final, poor surface, poor atmosphere and its outside our league...we should have a bit of pride in the surface at murrabit and want to hold the big day within our league....
totally agree mate....it has been proven in the late 90's that murrabit pull a massive crowd for the grand finals, and since then, the facilities have improved and the playing surface is a million times better! And you couldn't find a more central location....15 mins from kerang, 30 mins from swan hill and 15 mins from barham...u get my drift! Holding a grand final at ultima, pppffff, never heard anything more rediculous.
The Messenger
1 Aug 2008, 09:27
totally agree mate....it has been proven in the late 90's that murrabit pull a massive crowd for the grand finals, and since then, the facilities have improved and the playing surface is a million times better! And you couldn't find a more central location....15 mins from kerang, 30 mins from swan hill and 15 mins from barham...u get my drift! Holding a grand final at ultima, pppffff, never heard anything more rediculous.
Suggesting the GF should be at Murrabit every year is ridiculous, you can use that same argument for any ground in the league. Macorna is 20min from Kerang, 20 min from Cohuna, 20 min from Pyramid Hill, 3 hrs from Melbourne, 10 hrs from Adelaide, if people want to go to the game they will go as long as they have a vested interest in the result. It will pull a crowd at any ground because people want to see it not because it's close to there house. Murrabit's surface is the same as every other ground in the league, rock hard, every ground has a good enough surface to host the GF. I think every club has the facilities to host a GF (Quamby's changerooms are small but I'm sure it would be fine).
To be honest Hay has the best set up of any team in the league to put on a GF if only it was 2 hrs closer to everyone else. I think every team should get the chance to show off there ground, facilities and local community to a wider audience. I'm sure Ultima will do a great job and I have no doubt there will be a great crowd there to support all the teams involved.
Its about time you Murrabit people realised that there is another 8 clubs in the league! The league does not revolve around ya's, you do not deserve every Grand Final! You resemble Donald in the North Central, think ya's run the show and funnily enough ya's wear the same colours!
brewery fresh
1 Aug 2008, 18:33
Its about time you Murrabit people realised that there is another 8 clubs in the league! The league does not revolve around ya's, you do not deserve every Grand Final! You resemble Donald in the North Central, think ya's run the show and funnily enough ya's wear the same colours!
i think you are over generalising there mate. murrabit couldnt give a crap about where the granny is held. i do think it should be in our league, and am quite happy with the idea of not having a finals home ground clash. ultima will do a good job with the day.
krackerjack
2 Aug 2008, 20:20
do a good job ? hope the charlie chans are colder than the gf last year
were the diet cokes a bit too warm for you jacko?
krackerjack
4 Aug 2008, 22:45
diet cokes are for CEO'S ultima will put on a good show cant say i agree with the logistics of it gate takings down 8k
Murrabit 15 12 3 0 0 0 0 1660 564 294.33% 48
Nullawil 14 11 3 0 0 0 0 1491 565 263.89% 44
Moulamein 14 10 3 0 0 0 1 1342 527 254.65% 44
Macorna 15 9 5 0 0 0 1 1311 532 246.43% 40
Wandella 14 8 5 0 0 0 1 1144 714 160.22% 36
With the Seniors top four pretty much consolidated i couldnt help but notice the tightness of the reserves competition! Should be interesting come 2 weeks time! Looking forward to what promises to be an exciting finals series this season!
Wh!sPeReR
5 Aug 2008, 18:16
Murrabit 15 12 3 0 0 0 0 1660 564 294.33% 48
Nullawil 14 11 3 0 0 0 0 1491 565 263.89% 44
Moulamein 14 10 3 0 0 0 1 1342 527 254.65% 44
Macorna 15 9 5 0 0 0 1 1311 532 246.43% 40
Wandella 14 8 5 0 0 0 1 1144 714 160.22% 36
With the Seniors top four pretty much consolidated i couldnt help but notice the tightness of the reserves competition! Should be interesting come 2 weeks time! Looking forward to what promises to be an exciting finals series this season!
This weeks match between Wandella and Macorna will decide 4th spot... Macorna have the bye in the last round and Wandella play Ultima, so you would think who ever wins would make the finals!:confused:
bernard the bipolar bear
8 Aug 2008, 15:43
I see Ben Carter was at his best in today's Northern Times, stating that the Semi finals are set. By my calculations if Wandella beat Macorna tomorrow then Moulamein will finish a game ahead in second.
Footy Pie
8 Aug 2008, 17:51
I see Ben Carter was at his best in today's Northern Times, stating that the Semi finals are set. By my calculations if Wandella beat Macorna tomorrow then Moulamein will finish a game ahead in second.
Excellent point you make Bear! Moula have Hay and Quamby the last 2 rounds, games that u would not expect them to lose taking their tally to 56 points.
If Macorna lose this weekend they have the bye the last round leaving them on 52 points. Macorna win tomorrow they consolidate a top 2 position and finish on 56 points.
If Wandella lose this weekend they play Ultima in the final round and would expect them to win which will push them to 56 points for the season.
But if the bombers win the next two games they'll finish the season on 60 points.
Moula's percentage is not as strong as the other two teams so their best chance of finishing top 2 is if Macorna get rolled tomorrow. I didnt realise myself just how big of a game it will be @ Wandella tomorrow! Pressures on Tigers!!!!!
brewery fresh
9 Aug 2008, 19:53
our dumb ass reporter has stuffed up again. looks like being a macorna vs murrabit 1st semi. you would think as it is his job he wouldnt make such simple mistakes. will be interesting to see how he covers his ass in tuesdays edition
rockcool
10 Aug 2008, 19:24
Wat does everyone think of the young guns comming up for the thirds this year?
a few have already got a spot in their senior side eg. Matt Ladson- macorna Tyler Miles-wandella Jordan Simpson-macorna.
all three have could still play this year but have moved up from thirds to play seniors and all two of the team are in the finals.
Just wanting to know how you rate these three players and any other young guns doing the same?
bernard the bipolar bear
10 Aug 2008, 19:51
Wat does everyone think of the young guns comming up for the thirds this year?
a few have already got a spot in their senior side eg. Matt Ladson- macorna Tyler Miles-wandella Jordan Simpson-macorna.
all three have could still play this year but have moved up from thirds to play seniors and all two of the team are in the finals.
Just wanting to know how you rate these three players and any other young guns doing the same?
i reckon: Ladson is very good, Miles will be good, and Simpson.... not so much.
No Clue
11 Aug 2008, 19:39
Can anyone tell me where the finals are being played this year ?
Wh!sPeReR
11 Aug 2008, 19:59
Can anyone tell me where the finals are being played this year ?
1st Semi Wandella
2nd Semi Nully
Preliminary Hay
Granny Ultima....
As for the three young guns, couldnt agreee with u more Bear:thumbsu:
Its that time of the year where everybody can make their league predictions for awards, so I may as well get this show on the road.
Seniors
Best and Fairest: Will Callow (Wan)
Runner up: Kane Bannam (Moul)
Rookie of the Year: Matt Ladson (Mac)
Reserves
Best and Fairest: Hayden Mcqualter (Moul)
Runners up: Tony Doran (Null)
Thirds
Best and Fairest: Daniel Watts (Null)
Runners up: Daniel Baker (Wan)
footy bloke
12 Aug 2008, 16:20
Its that time of the year where everybody can make their league predictions for awards, so I may as well get this show on the road.
Seniors
Reserves
Thirds
I dont see any reserves games but I agree with your predictions about the seniors.
ROOTA#6
12 Aug 2008, 16:26
Who is going to coach Nully next year??? Some people on the CMFL friend have pretty much confirmed that Smithy is taking on the Boga job
Wh!sPeReR
12 Aug 2008, 18:17
Seniors
Reserves
Thirds
Agree with ya on everything there, tough one in the Thirds though, Daniel Watts should win it but as for Baker not to sure, Wandella thirds are a very strong side and have several players that can get votes. Baker is a fair chance to win it but i also think there are others in his team that can as well.. Bad thing for all of them is they steal votes off each other...
On that note, just wondering if anyone takes the thirds competition seriously and your opinion on whether the Wandella U17's can go back to back Premiers Undefeated??
Cheers,:thumbsu:
coach_carter
12 Aug 2008, 21:40
agree with you Nackas, Daniel Watts and Kyle Doran have both been very good for nullawil in unders and with doran getting runner up last year will help as well, as for wandella baker is a very good player as well but as is miles, gibbons, macdonald and many more. these guys will take points off each other so i will say that watts or doran will walk away with the trophy...
No Clue
13 Aug 2008, 09:28
1st Semi Wandella
2nd Semi Nully
Preliminary Hay
Granny Ultima....
As for the three young guns, couldnt agreee with u more Bear:thumbsu:
:thumbsu:
facts_rite
13 Aug 2008, 11:09
Who is going to coach Nully next year??? Some people on the CMFL friend have pretty much confirmed that Smithy is taking on the Boga job
I wouldnt go believing everything ya read on bigfooty Roota
ROOTA#6
13 Aug 2008, 11:37
Hmm interesting. I wasn't saying i believed it i was just passing on what others are saying. If it is not true then someone better tell whoever the Boga person is that is saying it to neck up :thumbsu:
Wh!sPeReR
13 Aug 2008, 17:22
agree with you Nackas, Daniel Watts and Kyle Doran have both been very good for nullawil in unders and with doran getting runner up last year will help as well, as for wandella baker is a very good player as well but as is miles, gibbons, macdonald and many more. these guys will take points off each other so i will say that watts or doran will walk away with the trophy...
Agree with ya there Carter, Although i still think Watts has had the better season then Doran, but the Umpires might think differently..
Baker would be the favourite from Wandella, seems miles has missed the second half of the Season due to playing Seniors, Gibbons has had a bad run with injury missing almost half the season with a heart problem than a finger, McDonald could be one to take some votes, is leading there goalkicking and doesn't play in the forward line every week from wat i have seen, so musn't be too bad???
but as you said there are many more to pick from...
Would you follow him over if he was to go?? nearly ready for you to have a crack at the bigger stage isnt it.
I have heard Wakool are paying 17 and 18 year olds up to $100 per game to play seniors. Is this true?
rockcool
15 Aug 2008, 23:31
Matt Ladson from macorna must be the best young talent around.
If he played thirds all year he would walk away with his second league b & f, i wouldnt be suprised if he got votes in league for seniors.
I have seen him play in the seniors and he holds his ground very well breaking tackles and side stepping other senior players very easierly.
other young talent around are kyle symmonds from ultima (with the all round skill, still with a year to go in the thirds i think) benet gibbons from wandella (with the goal kicking) jordan simpson from macorna (built like a tank) and jack baker from quambatook (with the agility) all doin very well in the seniors this season. all should secure a spot next year and years to follow in the seniors.
Hmm interesting. I wasn't saying i believed it i was just passing on what others are saying. If it is not true then someone better tell whoever the Boga person is that is saying it to neck up :thumbsu:
get a life roota!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ROOTA#6
16 Aug 2008, 22:45
get a life roota!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I have a great life benjii thanks
bernard the bipolar bear
17 Aug 2008, 20:00
I have a great life benjii thanks
Obviously.
bernard the bipolar bear
17 Aug 2008, 20:02
Congrats to Arren Smith on booting 10 in the twos.
foxdoog50
18 Aug 2008, 14:31
Congrats to Arren Smith on booting 10 in the twos.
Was he playing 2s:eek::confused:. His one bloody good footballer. I dont know how he couldnt get a gig in the Pioneers last year. He does love a beer or 2... Good bloke, wish he played footy for Macorna:):thumbsu::D
Wh!sPeReR
18 Aug 2008, 17:16
Was he playing 2s:eek::confused:. His one bloody good footballer. I dont know how he couldnt get a gig in the Pioneers last year. He does love a beer or 2... Good bloke, wish he played footy for Macorna:):thumbsu::D
He also played in the 1's, he only played 2's coz they were short
Sockit151
18 Aug 2008, 19:00
He also played in the 1's, he only played 2's coz they were short
Short on what?
players or percentage, maybe both??
Wh!sPeReR
18 Aug 2008, 19:06
Short on what?
players or percentage, maybe both??
players i hear, not too many bothered to make the trip up to Hay!
Footy Pie
19 Aug 2008, 09:50
players i hear, not too many bothered to make the trip up to Hay!
Sort of correct Whisperer. Nully's injury toll has built towards the end of the season, 5 players attended Adam Bennetts wedding, and yes, some people just didn't want to go to Hay.
So the ressies were down a little on numbers, and with 6 under 17's already playing ressies and 2 in the seniors, Arren went back to help out.
Then Arren, Tony Doran, James and Brett Barker, Cameron and Jarrod Tomlins, Patto Ryan, Mitch Moloney and Paddy Rogers stepped up to play seniors, which shows how our numbers were down on the day, and why we only beat Hay by 20pts!!
Hopefully a few of the ressies start pulling there fingers out and getting to training from now on!!!
bernard the bipolar bear
19 Aug 2008, 11:11
Sort of correct Whisperer. Nully's injury toll has built towards the end of the season, 5 players attended Adam Bennetts wedding, and yes, some people just didn't want to go to Hay.
So the ressies were down a little on numbers, and with 6 under 17's already playing ressies and 2 in the seniors, Arren went back to help out.
Then Arren, Tony Doran, James and Brett Barker, Cameron and Jarrod Tomlins, Patto Ryan, Mitch Moloney and Paddy Rogers stepped up to play seniors, which shows how our numbers were down on the day, and why we only beat Hay by 20pts!!
Hopefully a few of the ressies start pulling there fingers out and getting to training from now on!!!
The twos still managed to battle against the odds and record a 37 goal win. Lucky because extra % was needed to finish top two. I wonder which grade was the priority?
Footy Pie
19 Aug 2008, 12:13
The twos still managed to battle against the odds and record a 37 goal win. Lucky because extra % was needed to finish top two. I wonder which grade was the priority?
A win for the seniors was still very important but a big win in the 2's was a must as well. No different to Murrabit supplying Wakool with a heap of players after Wakool tried to forfeit on Thursday night. Murrabit did what they had to do to get some %, as did we. By all reports Moula ressies spent quite a bit of time trying to get Big Garth his ton and forgetting about kicking a big score, and this was from the mouth of one of there players.
Must be noted that Hay aren't the best reserves team going around, but were able to field a full ressies team without needing any of our players which was a credit to them as we had not many spare....even though the full back for Hay wasn't aware that the full back kick in had to be kicked before you leave the 10m square, they still were able to field a team!
Footy Pie
19 Aug 2008, 12:39
Lets start some real finals chat.
Macorna V Murrabit - 1st Semi this weekend.
Are Murrabit the sleeping giants waking at the right time of the year??? I think so and believe Macorna will be pooing there pants a little about facing them this week.
Murrabit by 20 points
Macorna V Moula in the ressies. I'm sorry Tigers but I'm tipping your year will be all over this weekend, as Moula are a pretty good outfit in the 2's also.
Moula by 60 points
Murrabit V Quamby in the under 17's.
Not real sure about this game, but will go for Murrabit by about 2 goals.
Murrabit V Hay under 14's.
The Hay boys looked pretty good last week, and if they can get a win here it will land them a home Prelim final. Will tip the Lions by 4 goals.
Cockle doodle doo
19 Aug 2008, 15:07
Didn't Ken Townrow and Col McLennan play in both grades on grand final day in the mid 70's? So it seems the tradition continues in Nully.
Footy Pie
19 Aug 2008, 16:34
Didn't Ken Townrow and Col McLennan play in both grades on grand final day in the mid 70's? So it seems the tradition continues in Nully.
Ridiculous call
Cockle doodle doo
20 Aug 2008, 09:55
Ridiculous call
What do you mean ridiculous?? They did! What's wrong in saying that?? How's that having a go at anyone or Nully?? Don't get too prescious FP!
Are Murrabit the sleeping giants waking at the right time of the year??? I think so and believe Macorna will be pooing there pants a little about facing them this week.
Murrabit by 20 points
Macorna V Moula in the ressies. I'm sorry Tigers but I'm tipping your year will be all over this weekend, as Moula are a pretty good outfit in the 2's also.
Moula by 60 points
The Hay boys looked pretty good last week, and if they can get a win here it will land them a home Prelim final. Will tip the Lions by 4 goals.
I wouldnt think after losing to Wandella by 8 points last week there would be any reason to poo pants FP!!!
danielkerr
20 Aug 2008, 15:56
Murrabit by 20 points
Moula by 60 points
ill go with macorna to account for murrabit by 30odd points, as long as someone keeps henry under reasonable control
and moula to win the ressies comfortably...
No Clue
20 Aug 2008, 16:10
Who will the Tigers play on Henry?
foxdoog50
20 Aug 2008, 18:27
Who will the Tigers play on Henry?
Brendan Murchie or Jordan Simpson....
Jordan Simpson? You cant be serious Doog???? If so, then Murrabit will give ya's a hiding!!! And Murch lacks about a foot on Henry! You'd be better off whackin big Cocksy on Henry as his goal kicking has been up the s#!t for the last half of the season, and then maybe giving big Plugger or Maso a go on Randall then leave the goals to be kicked by Rowie, Metro and Joel Carter along with ur midfielders?
foxdoog50
20 Aug 2008, 20:45
Jordan Simpson? You cant be serious Doog???? If so, then Murrabit will give ya's a hiding!!! And Murch lacks about a foot on Henry! You'd be better off whackin big Cocksy on Henry as his goal kicking has been up the s#!t for the last half of the season, and then maybe giving big Plugger or Maso a go on Randall then leave the goals to be kicked by Rowie, Metro and Joel Carter along with ur midfielders?
As the old story says on Big Footy.....
Dont always belive what u read on Big Footy.............