View Full Version : Adelaide Crow(d)s Song

- PC -
6 Mar 2006, 22:15
Just watching the replay of the NAB cup match and watching Hentschell take on 2 players and kick the goal from the boundary in the first quarter...and having a think about what Neil Craig has done.

And I started singing. And the more I sang the more I believed...because I do. I believe I believe, I believe we can fly.

Last year we had a discussion about involving the crowd , either at the start of the game or at the end by using a song to get the crowd involved. I would like to suggest I Believe by R Kelly.

''I Believe I Can Fly"

I used to think that I could not go on
And life was nothing but an awful song
But now I know the meaning of true love
I'm leaning on the everlasting arms

If I can see it, then I can do it
If I just believe it, there's nothing to it

[1] - I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly

See I was on the verge of breaking down
Sometimes silence can seem so loud
There are miracles in life I must achieve
But first I know it starts inside of me, oh

[Repeat 1]

Hey, cuz I believe in me, oh

[Repeat 1]

Hey, if I just spread my wings
I can fly
I can fly
I can fly, hey
If I just spread my wings
I can fly
Fly-eye-eye

How appropriate is this. From Bock to Hentschell to all those who believe in themselves and have found that spark to lift that notch.

To sell the idea I would run an advert with six selected players saying '' I believe '' and then running clips of some good stuff they have done while the song plays in the background. The last player has to be Birdman Burton...his line as he looks to the sky and smiles is '' I believe I can fly'' and then play clips of his hangers . :D

It is also a song we as supporters can embrace as well. Because we do believe as well.. we believe our team will do well. We believe our players will bounce back.

Oh and Triggy if you use this all I want is 2 tickets to the next Crows GF at the MCG ;)

macca23
6 Mar 2006, 22:17
Oh and Triggy if you use this all I want is 2 tickets to the next Crows GF at the MCG ;)

Ermmm, I don't like your chances, PC!! ;)

- PC -
6 Mar 2006, 22:40
Ermmm, I don't like your chances, PC!! ;)
What...of getting tickets or the AFC using the idea?:o

Gets!
6 Mar 2006, 22:53
Mate, that would be the death of football in SA...

- PC -
6 Mar 2006, 22:57
Mate, that would be the death of football in SA...
Explain?

The club asked if the supporters had some ideas this time last year. So its not something thats new .

Gets!
6 Mar 2006, 22:59
Yeah the idea is good...

Oh hang on I thought you meant the Crowd would chant it...

Hmmm I dunno?

I honestly reckon this would be the best song to use:

Foo Fighters - Best of You.

- PC -
6 Mar 2006, 23:06
Yeah the idea is good...

Oh hang on I thought you meant the Crowd would chant it... Well yes if the crowd choose to. Can you imagine 35,000 singing I believe at the end of the game after a win.

Post some lyrics lets have a look

Gets!
6 Mar 2006, 23:10
’ve got another confession to make
I’m your fool
Everyone’s got their chains to break
Holdin’ you

Were you born to resist or be abused?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Are you gone and onto someone new?

I needed somewhere to hang my head
Without your noose
You gave me something that I didn’t have
But had no use
I was too weak to give in
Too strong to lose
My heart is under arrest again
But I break loose
My head is giving me life or death
But I can’t choose
I swear I’ll never give in
I refuse

Has someone taken your faith?
Its real, the pain you feel
Your trust, you must
Confess

Oh...

Ohhhhhh
Ohhhhhh
Ohhhhhh
Ohh

The life, the love
You die to heal
The hope that starts
The broken hearts
Your trust, you must
Confess

I’ve got another confession my friend
I’m no fool
I’m getting tired of starting again
Somewhere new

Were you born to resist or be abused?
I swear I’ll never give in
I refuse

Your trust, you must
Confess
Oh...

Downlo...err buy it :thumbsu:

outback jack
7 Mar 2006, 00:38
haha

New Sensation
INXS

Live baby live
Now that the day is over
I got a new sensation
In perfect moments
Impossible to refuse

Sleep baby sleep
Now that the night is over
And the sun comes like a god
Into our room
All perfect light and promises

Gotta hold on you
A new sensation
Right now
Gonna take you over
A new sensation

Dream baby dream
Of all that's come and going
And you will find out
In the end
There really is
There really is no difference

Cry baby cry
When you've got to get it out
I'll be your shoulder
You can tell me all
Don't keep it in ya
Well that's the reason why I'm here

Are you ready for a new sensation
A new sensation
Right now
Gonna take you on a new sensation
A new sensation

Hate baby hate
When there's nothing left for you
You're only human
What can you do
It'll soon be over
Don't let your pain take over you

Love baby love
It's written all over your face
There's nothing better we could do
Than live forever
Well that's all we've got to do

Hey now I'm gonna take a new sensation
A new sensation

- PC -
7 Mar 2006, 00:56
I like that as well jack:thumbsu:

SpringChoke
7 Mar 2006, 07:23
Just watching the replay of the NAB cup match and watching Hentschell take on 2 players and kick the goal from the boundary in the first quarter...and having a think about what Neil Craig has done.

And I started singing. And the more I sang the more I believed...because I do. I believe I believe, I believe we can fly.

Last year we had a discussion about involving the crowd , either at the start of the game or at the end by using a song to get the crowd involved. I would like to suggest I Believe by R Kelly.

''I Believe I Can Fly"

I believe I can soar
I believe I can fly

[Repeat 1]

[Repeat 1]

I can fly
I can fly
I can fly, hey
I can fly
Fly-eye-eye

How appropriate is this. From Bock to Hentschell to all those who believe in themselves and have found that spark to lift that notch.

To sell the idea I would run an advert with six selected players saying '' I believe '' and then running clips of some good stuff they have done while the song plays in the background. The last player has to be Birdman Burton...his line as he looks to the sky and smiles is '' I believe I can fly'' and then play clips of his hangers . :D

It is also a song we as supporters can embrace as well. Because we do believe as well.. we believe our team will do well. We believe our players will bounce back.

I reckon the acid kicked in right about now.

Capitalist
7 Mar 2006, 08:27
I reckon the acid kicked in right about now.

amen to that :D

why don;t we just use a celin dion song :eek:

Gets!
7 Mar 2006, 08:31
Tracks that could be played on the big screen pre game:

Foo Fighters - Times Like These, Best of You, Learn To Fly
Bon Jovi - Living On a Prayer
Von Bondies - C'mon C'mon (I listen to this before games, gets you pumped)
Dandy Warhols - We Used To Be Friends

Just a few that would suit I reckon.

afc9798
7 Mar 2006, 09:42

I fail to see why this song seems to keep cropping up everywhere. I've seen it on lifestyle shows, I've seen it on My Restaurant Rules etc. yet I fail to see its' relevance to any of those shows or the context it is used in. Besides that, what relevance to football????

If this Dandy Warhols song can be used then I suggest another artist from my collection of equal relevance:
Hey there, people, I’m bobby brown
They say I’m the cutest boy in town
My car is fast, my teeth is shiney
I tell all the girls they can kiss my heinie
Here I am at a famous school
I’m dressin’ sharp ’n’ i’m
Actin’ cool
I got a cheerleader here wants to help with my paper
Let her do all the work ’n’ maybe later I’ll rape her

Oh God I am the american dream
I do not think I’m too extreme
An’ I’m a handsome sonofabitch
I’m gonna get a good job ’n’ be real rich

(get a good
Get a good
Get a good
Get a good job)

Women’s liberation
Came creepin’ across the nation
I tell you people I was not ready
When I f****d this dyke by the name of freddie
She made a little speech then,
Aw, she tried to make me say when
She had my balls in a vice, but she left the **********
I guess it’s still hooked on, but now it shoots too quick

But now I smell like vaseline
An’ I’m a miserable sonofabitch
Am I a boy or a lady...i don’t know which

(I wonder wonder
Wonder wonder)

So I went out ’n’ bought me a leisure suit
I jingle my change, but I’m still kinda cute
Got a job doin’ radio promo
An’ none of the jocks can even tell I’m a homo
Eventually me ’n’ a friend
Sorta drifted along into s&m
I can take about an hour on the tower of power
’long as I gets a little golden shower

With a spindle up my butt till it makes me scream
An’ I’ll do anything to get ahead
I lay awake nights sayin’, thank you, fred!
Oh god, oh god, I’m so fantastic!
Thanks to freddie, I’m a sexual sp*stic
And my name is bobby brown
Watch me now, I’m goin down,
And my name is bobby brown
Watch me now, I’m goin down, etc.

That ought to warm up the crowd nicely and everyone can sing along.:thumbsu: :) ;)

johnnypanther
7 Mar 2006, 11:27
to involve a crowd you need something simple and easy to remember with a simple musical backing beat as well:

- perhaps i would suggest a song by the Painters & Dockers which went along the lines of "Kill Kill Kill thrill thrill thrill.......etc" :D

bass_drum
7 Mar 2006, 11:29

''I Believe I Can Fly"

I believe I can soar
I believe I can fly

[Repeat 1]

[Repeat 1]

I can fly
I can fly
I can fly, hey
I can fly
Fly-eye-eye

All I can see is Ali G earnestly singing that song now.

afc9798
7 Mar 2006, 11:30
to involve a crowd you need something simple and easy to remember with a simple musical backing beat as well:

- perhaps i would suggest a song by the Painters & Dockers which went along the lines of "Kill Kill Kill thrill thrill thrill.......etc" :D

Or maybe 'Die Yuppie Die'..........That's got a chorus that everyone can sing along to.

Biggest irony ever, seeing a bunch of rich college boys singing this loudly at the General Havelock. Hey boys, that song was directed at people like you:D

SpringChoke
7 Mar 2006, 12:06

*shakes head in agreement*. Now you're talking. What about we dim the lights and have Karoake at half time. That would get the grannies out of their seats, a leather clad Johnny Reid singing "Achy, breaky heart".

Gets!
7 Mar 2006, 12:15
Its better then the Final Countdown every week.

creature-beast
7 Mar 2006, 12:30
Its better then the Final Countdown every week.

NOTHING is better than the final countdown.

i don't recall them even playing it last year tho :(

seriously, there should be more/better music at games. ice hockey games in canada have some awesome music happening and we generally get bugger all.

afc9798
7 Mar 2006, 13:08
The club should just go with 'Walk on' (You'll Never Walk Alone) by Gerry and the Pacemakers.

You can't get much more atmospheric than that one.

And then we could hold our scarves in our hands and sway from side to side and chant "You Reds" "You Reds" over and over. Oh no wait, it's already been done, say it ain't so:)

If something like this is to work, it actually needs to be both original in concept and actually have some relevance to the team and the game. I personally think that Van Halen's "Jump" would be the most appropriate song to use as In can't recall it being used before, it has sporting overtones ie: "I get up and nothing gets me down" "You've gpot to roll with the punches to get to what's real" etc. The whole crowd chiming in with "Jump" at the appropriate moment would be fantastic.:thumbsu:

relapse
7 Mar 2006, 15:59
The club should just go with 'Walk on' (You'll Never Walk Alone) by Gerry and the Pacemakers.

You can't get much more atmospheric than that one.

That would be garbage to have that, it brings back bad memories of the crows cheer squad singing that at games. I could never fathom why they did.

relapse
7 Mar 2006, 16:00
And then we could hold our scarves in our hands and sway from side to side and chant "You Reds" "You Reds" over and over. Oh no wait, it's already been done, say it ain't so:)

If something like this is to work, it actually needs to be both original in concept and actually have some relevance to the team and the game. I personally think that Van Halen's "Jump" would be the most appropriate song to use as In can't recall it being used before, it has sporting overtones ie: "I get up and nothing gets me down" "You've gpot to roll with the punches to get to what's real" etc. The whole crowd chiming in with "Jump" at the appropriate moment would be fantastic.:thumbsu:

Carlton could use Money Money Money - Abba

afc9798
7 Mar 2006, 16:51
Carlton could use Money Money Money - Abba

Port could use:
'It's a long way to the top'-AC/DC;)

Crowz Gal
7 Mar 2006, 17:07
Yeah the idea is good...

Oh hang on I thought you meant the Crowd would chant it...

Hmmm I dunno?

Love it. Love the song, love the idea........Good to sing to. U dont necessarily need to have a good voice and you can shout it out.
mmm Its hard to think......
What about "Hero" by Nickleback??
:)

- PC -
7 Mar 2006, 22:33
Port could use:
'It's a long way to the top'-AC/DC;)
Getting away from the chuckles I actually felt the Port managment missed a huge opportunity to recruit some younger bogans. Thye should have had a kids cheer squad club and used Alice Coopers ''Department of Youth'' as a recruiting song

Were the department of youth
And we've got the Power

Whose got the Power?
Warren Tredrea

( sounds of crickets chirping)

dyertribe
9 Mar 2006, 13:13
NOTHING is better than the final countdown.

Hear hear.

All we need is Gob from Arrested Development (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0367279/) to do one of his magic shows in a Crows guernsey.

creature-beast
9 Mar 2006, 19:36
Hear hear.

All we need is Gob from Arrested Development (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0367279/) to do one of his magic shows in a Crows guernsey.

i like the way you think!