View Full Version : Official Damien Martyn thread
davidgoes4wce
26 Oct 2005, 01:40
Im still wondering if Damien martyn has a future left in the test cricket side. DO you guys think he should have been dropped in the 1st place? sure his average was 17.66 on ashes tour but lets give the guy some slack he was 'Australian test player of the year' and nearly won the 'Allan border medal'. Who made this decision? Merv hughes? Trevor hohns? buchanan?
If it wasnt for some farcical decisions (2 or 3 martyn recieved LBW ) he would have been still safe.. What are your guys thoughts?
Tough one. An average of 17 is appalling from a top order batsman. Yes, he got some dodgy lbw's but there is no saying he would of gone on and got big scores, although he was looking solid at Old Trafford 2nd innings.
Age will start to go against him sooner or later. I would have him in there instead of Katich though definatly, who looks out of his depth most of the time at this level.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
26 Oct 2005, 01:52
Damien Martyn, im afraid had to go, it was controversial but at times on the tour Martyn didnt appear to want to "dig in" and play ugly to slowly build a score, his at times risky shot play was not needed and considering a player of his experience and skill, it was a poor performance. There is no doubt that Martyn is a VERY good batsmen, however, Katich was one batsmen who seemed to dig in and has more of a future than Martyn. I think the right decision was made, having said that, Katich better lift his test average or he can join Martyn in state cricket.
Good point. In times of need he did do some careless things.
He played a lazy shot in the 1st innings at Lords with the score on 66/3, he ran himself out at Edgbaston in a crucial period, chipped one tamely to midwicket in a crucial period, ran out the captain at Trent Bridge which was huge going by the nervousness of Englands run chase. If Ponting has stayed in there I think Australia would of won. And then at the Oval there was that pathetic lazy shot in the 1st 10 mins of the days play.
He didn't cover himself in glory. You could say he rather deserved the dodgy lbw's.
While he did get some dodgy decisions and I thought that Katich or Hayden may have been in the gun before Martyn... once the decision is made then its time to move on. If Lehmann makes 4 100s in a row should he come back? I dont think so and the same with Martyn for me. Its Hussey or Hodge time , lets inject some youth, carefully and not just for youth..but hell Hussey has just played his 100th shield game... how much longer does he need?
Australian cricket used to select players at 21, 22...now they wait till they are 27+ before they get a game.
Johnson#26
26 Oct 2005, 07:31
Probably a bit unlucky. Deserved more faith. Hodge may shut the door forever...
dan warna
26 Oct 2005, 07:57
if martyn were katich or lee or clarke or m.waugh...
very unlucky was martyn.
martyn>katich and CLarke IMO.
I think unfortunately Martyn suffers a bit from the Mark Waugh Syndrome , because he makes things look so easy most of his dismissals tend to look soft and tend to come at bad times for the side .
His age will count against him from now on and although he was a bit of a scapegoat from the Ashes series an average of 17 is not good enough , bad luck or not .
dan warna
26 Oct 2005, 09:31
I think unfortunately Martyn suffers a bit from the Mark Waugh Syndrome , because he makes things look so easy most of his dismissals tend to look soft and tend to come at bad times for the side .
His age will count against him from now on and although he was a bit of a scapegoat from the Ashes series an average of 17 is not good enough , bad luck or not .
damien martyn>>>>>m.waugh.
Not disagreeing with you there , but simply think Martyn has that M.Waugh tendancy to look as if he is doing it easy making most of his dismissals seem a touch on the soft side
SorryIHammerChicken
26 Oct 2005, 11:15
Damien Martyn, im afraid had to go, it was controversial but at times on the tour Martyn didnt appear to want to "dig in" and play ugly to slowly build a score, his at times risky shot play was not needed and considering a player of his experience and skill, it was a poor performance. There is no doubt that Martyn is a VERY good batsmen, however, Katich was one batsmen who seemed to dig in and has more of a future than Martyn. I think the right decision was made, having said that, Katich better lift his test average or he can join Martyn in state cricket.
Katich is fine, the tons him and Clarke made saved his spot.
eddiesmith
26 Oct 2005, 12:01
Katich is fine, the tons him and Clarke made saved his spot.
Why? Katich always makes big scores for NSW, it never turns into test runs
Sidey_87
26 Oct 2005, 12:32
first there should have been talk of him getting dropped, then he would have made a few big scores like he has done the last few times theres been talk of it.
I've said it before and i'll say it again, Katich should have been dropped long before Martyn. Katich is rubbish.
Martyn is an unfortunate victim of circumstance, umpires Blind Bowden and Bucknor and clown ********zen are partly to blame.
Martyn is still in our top 4 batsmen easily.
At least he's still in the ODI side, he won't be back in the test side though.
Shame about Martyn he was great to watch like Lee, Warne and Gilchrist.
But sadly Martyn has to accept responsibility for the ashes defeat.
Martyn forever the fall guy.
playaplaya
9 Jan 2006, 18:46
you reckon we would ever play for australia again
i would have him before brad hodge anyday
Bartram_Class
9 Jan 2006, 18:55
Thats right, one good innings in a hit and giggle match,
Jeez lets rush him back into both teams. Drop them all, play Hopes too.
Bartram_Class
9 Jan 2006, 18:56
Choked as well.
The Majestic
9 Jan 2006, 19:01
Martyn might be given a chance, I am not sure he would be rushed back in though.
Bentleigh
9 Jan 2006, 19:03
Thats right, one good innings in a hit and giggle match,
Jeez lets rush him back into both teams. Drop them all, play Hopes too.
One good knock hey?
Martyn, Damien
ODI
Average - 42
Strike rate - 80
Average 105 when opening.
Pretty handy 1 day batsman.
Bartram_Class
9 Jan 2006, 19:06
One good knock hey?
Martyn, Damien
ODI
Average - 42
Strike rate - 80
Average 105 when opening.
Pretty handy 1 day batsman.
I dont think he should be selected if the selectors want the team to be heading in the right direction.
He'd only be filling in till Jacques is ready anyway, no point.
i would have him before brad hodge anyday
Are you as dumb as Tony Greig ?
Martyn is in the VD squad.He was only ever out of the NZ tour because he had a broken finger.
Are you as dumb as Tony Greig ?
Martyn is in the VD squad.He was only ever out of the NZ tour because he had a broken finger.
The poor guy. Those Venereal diseases can be really painful.
9 Jan 2006, 19:29
is it just me, or has "Marto" dropped a stack of weight?
Bartram_Class
9 Jan 2006, 19:31
is it just me, or has "Marto" dropped a stack of weight?
He seems to be good at dropping things.
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 11:02
The fact that Martyn has been recalled to the Test side without having made any runs domestically or in ODIs suggests that the selectors acknowledge their mistake in dropping him after the Ashes.
It's a bizarre development.
Syd Kennets
7 Mar 2006, 11:03
Marto's Back 13 Cabs, Marto's back yellow cabs. Na na na.
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 11:04
i would have him before brad hodge anydayYou got your wish.
Cassius_Clay
7 Mar 2006, 11:07
Clarke >>> Matryn >>>> Hodge
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 11:11
Clarke >>> Matryn >>>> HodgeThat may be so.
But Hodge scored 200 five innings back. Martyn has done nothing since being dropped to command a recall.
It's hard to see the justification for Martyn's selection ahead of Hodge.
Bentleigh
7 Mar 2006, 11:11
Jaques
Clarke
Cosgrove
Hodge
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 11:13
Jaques
Clarke
Cosgrove
Clarke is in the squad.
How you know that Martyn will even play in the First Test?
Bentleigh
7 Mar 2006, 11:14
Clarke is in the squad.
Derrr
How you know that Martyn will even play in the First Test?
I dont.
I know he was picked in the squad :mad:
Bentleigh
7 Mar 2006, 11:15
:confused:
Damien Martyn
Current age 34 years 137 days
Phil Jaques
Current age 26 years 308 days
2005-06 Pura Cup Averages
PA Jaques 50.84
DR Martyn 23.66
Michael Clarke is overrated.
Bentleigh
7 Mar 2006, 11:19
Michael Clarke is overrated.
Clarke > Smith
Not even close.
Smith >>>> AB de Villiers >>>> Clarke.
Calcium Man
7 Mar 2006, 11:22
Not even close.
Smith >>>> AB de Villiers >>>> Clarke.
Just a question for a fan of another country! Do you consider the Australian selectors a god send?????
Hahaha :D
To tell you the truth? I think selecting Kaspa is a huge plus for Australia.
Bomaz_Magic
7 Mar 2006, 12:06
M. Cosgrove heard a little rumour he was slightly handy with the bat, then again he's no Damien Martyn, when was the last time Martyn made more than 10 runs for 3 consecutive innings?
andrew_embley
7 Mar 2006, 13:56
dammit Martyn :(
Carn the Coasters
7 Mar 2006, 14:21
In his last 14 innings before the Ashes, Martyn had scored 960 runs at an average of 80.00. He made 5 centuries in that time (top score: 165) and passed 50 on 9 of the 14 occasions. Even including his bad spell in the Ashes, he has still averaged 54.2 over his last 23 Test Innings.
Meanwhile, in his last 29 ODI innings' he has scored a total of 896 runs at an average of 37.33, which is a pretty good average for ODI's over a long period of time.
He is good enough to be at 4 for Australia.
In his last 14 innings before the Ashes, Martyn had scored 960 runs at an average of 80.00. He made 5 centuries in that time (top score: 165) and passed 50 on 9 of the 14 occasions. Even including his bad spell in the Ashes, he has still averaged 54.2 over his last 23 Test Innings.
Meanwhile, in his last 29 ODI innings' he has scored a total of 896 runs at an average of 37.33, which is a pretty good average for ODI's over a long period of time.
He is good enough to be at 4 for Australia.
Martyn was unlucky to be dropped after the Ashes but as unlucky as Hodge to be dropped now? I don't think so. His form before being dropped is irrelevant IMO - he was dropped for a reason (whether justified or not) and has done virtually nothing to win his spot back since.
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 14:34
I dont.
I know he was picked in the squad :mad:You started a thread about players you'd rather see play for Australia than Martyn.
Seems strange to list Clarke when he may well be playing ahead of Martyn anyway.
You could have listed Ponting, Hayden and Hussey as well, but it would have been redundant for the same reasons that listing Clarke is redundant.
Carn the Coasters
7 Mar 2006, 14:35
Martyn was unlucky to be dropped after the Ashes but as unlucky as Hodge to be dropped now? I don't think so. His form before being dropped is irrelevant IMO - he was dropped for a reason (whether justified or not) and has done virtually nothing to win his spot back since.
He has missed virtually the entire Pura Cup season because of ODI duties. As I mentioned, he is still averaging close to 40 in recent ODI's so what more can he do?
Gunnar Longshanks
7 Mar 2006, 14:46
He has missed virtually the entire Pura Cup season because of ODI duties. As I mentioned, he is still averaging close to 40 in recent ODI's so what more can he do?Are you talking about Martyn?
In his last 16 ODIs, he averaging 28. That's poor.
He had enough to knocks in Pura Cup to make runs, but didn't perform.
It was either a mistake to drop him post-Ashes, or a mistake to recall him. He's done absolutely nothing in the interim to command his spot back. Absolutely nothing.
Minotaur
7 Mar 2006, 14:47
Martyn's recall suggests that the panel was pretty evenly divided about axing him in the first place.
To the last poster - his recent ODI may be reasonable, but surely not strong enough to force the issue of his re-selection.
Jeez, there has been a fair bit of discussion on this forum about dropping him from the ODI team!
Stig O'Hara
7 Mar 2006, 15:21
Honestly thought Martyn's time had gone.
Has done nothing to change that view since his return.
Very confusing selection policy atm.
Bennycoff
7 Mar 2006, 16:31
Yes very surprised Martyn has been recalled however he should never have been dropped in the first place.
I feel he should only play tests from now on and be dropped from the one day team, because he is struggling in the one dayers at international level.
Hodge extremely unlucky, poor bloke.
Bestbird
7 Mar 2006, 16:57
Didn't think Marto should have been dropped in the first place although he is very lucky to get a spot in the current touring team. His selection probably indicates that the selectors wanted a battle hardened tourist type player to bolster the fragile middle order against the SA's
On Hodge, was never sure if he was the answer either as besides his double century where even then he was very shaky earlier he never seemed to stand out as a bona-fide test cricketer.
I hope the next batsmen selected for an Aussie cap is an under 30's type player like Jaques or Cosgrove
SorryIHammerChicken
7 Mar 2006, 17:33
Honestly thought Martyn's time had gone.
Has done nothing to change that view since his return.
Very confusing selection policy atm.
There's no policy and no consistency to the selections.
How does Hodge get dropped and how does Bracken get dropped?
It wouldn't surprise me if Martyn's recall to the test team may coincide with him being dropped from the ODIs. He'll play the next two one dayers for sure, as leadup to the tests but after this series?
I can't see how Martyn on form can deserve a spot in both sides, ahead of likes of Hayden and Langer who aren't even considered for one-dayers anymore due mainly to their age with the WC over a year away still. But i hope now he's back in the tests he goes well.
Could see some mass retirements after the Ashes this summer...but then again the money these guys are on, why would you retire!
Minotaur
8 Mar 2006, 11:39
Langer has never been considered for an ODI spot, which is one of the more perlexing selection issues of the last 10 years.
Dropping Hodge and Bracken makes sense to me as it seems to for most other people. Niether player has really looked up to Test cricket.
That is obviously an odd thing to say about a guy with a test 200, but Blewett also scored a test 200 and was never quite up to the standard long-term. Those axing are justified and as someone pointed out that is why we have selectors rather than a computer running statistical analysis to pick the team.
As to the inclusions.
Kaper over Gillespie was touch and go and either could have been justified.
Stuart Clark is odd, but if it is a stop-gap measure it can be justified.
I think Clarke's selection was also justified. Clarke cannot be held responsible for his lack of Pura cup runs when he just doesn't get to play. Therefore selectors are forced to rely on net sessions and the feel of the Captian. As outsiders we are not privy to this and hence cannot really judge.
Martyn's inclusion is inexplicable on recent form. I do not think that the selectors as a group have changed thier minds. I've got a feeling Hohns managed to force the issue of Martyn's axing after the ashes over Ponting, one very relecutant selector and one or two ambivalent selectors. NOw it has been Hohn's turn to get rolled in the selection meeting.
Katich's continued selection in ODI when he is clearly better suited to test cricket also indicates a pertty divided selection panel coming to a compromise agreement.
davidgoes4wce
8 Mar 2006, 11:56
I have a feeling the inclusion of Martyn and Clarke could be a battle between these 2 players for the 1st test.
Batting Line up (top 7) for 1st test:
Hayden
Langer
Ponting
Martyn or Clarke
Hussey
Symonds or Watson
Gilchrist
I believe Australia will still stick with the All rounder policy and at the moment both Clarke and Martyn will probably not play in the same team.
The next couple of one dayers will be decisive in who will get it.
Gunnar Longshanks
8 Mar 2006, 12:22
Could see some mass retirements after the Ashes this summer...but then again the money these guys are on, why would you retire!Like who?
Langer is probably the most likely. McGrath could go either way. He wanted to stick around until the WC, but his situation has chagned recently. Maybe Kasper, but he's hardly an integral part of the team.
Warne isn't going anywhere. Hayden has got a few more years in him. The others are all sticking around until the WC.
People just latch onto these imagined scenarios, like "mass retirements". It won't happen for a while yet, and I actually think those retirements will be quite evenly spaced.
Gunnar Longshanks
8 Mar 2006, 12:27
I have a feeling the inclusion of Martyn and Clarke could be a battle between these 2 players for the 1st test.
Hayden
Langer
Ponting
Martyn or Clarke
Hussey
Symonds or Watson
Gilchrist
I believe Australia will still stick with the All rounder policy and at the moment both Clarke and Martyn will probably not play in the same team.
The next couple of one dayers will be decisive in who will get it.Disagree.
Martyn has been brought back to play at #4. He'll start in the first Test. Lock it in.
Clarke is there as a reserve batsman and may replace Symonds if we revert to playing 3 quicks, or if Symonds continues to struggle.
At a venue like The Wanderers, which is unlikely to take spin, we'll dropp MacGill and play 3 quicks. In that scenario, Symonds' bowling will be less of a rpiority, and that could open the door for Clarke to come into the side.
Clarke won't bat at #4 this series. Martyn will. Lock it in.
Hayden
Langer
Ponting
Martyn or Clarke
Hussey
Symonds or Watson
Gilchrist
The next couple of one dayers will be decisive in who will get it.
Watson is not in the touring squad for the Tests.
Like who?
Langer is probably the most likely. McGrath could go either way. He wanted to stick around until the WC, but his situation has chagned recently. Maybe Kasper, but he's hardly an integral part of the team.
Warne isn't going anywhere. Hayden has got a few more years in him. The others are all sticking around until the WC.
People just latch onto these imagined scenarios, like "mass retirements". It won't happen for a while yet, and I actually think those retirements will be quite evenly spaced.
I'm not "latching" on to any scenario Gunnar, the fact is we've included 2 players into our squad who are in the twilight of their careers.
Retirements after the Ashes:
Langer? Possibly.
Martyn? Probably not.
MacGill? Possibly.
Gilchrist? May well retire from tests after the Ashes and focus on ODIs alone til the World cup.
Hayden? No younger than any of the above, possibly.
Warne? Indicated he'll play on.
McGrath? Very possible given his situation so who knows.
Kaspa? Possibly.
That's 8 players who are in the test picture right now who are, what, 34+?
That's a heck of a lot.
OK - more likely than not there won't be "mass" retirements immediately after the ashes, but at least one of the succession plans the selectors seemed to be developing over summer, playing Brad Hodge at #4 ahead of Martyn, has been thrown out the window which makes this an issue again.
Armageddon
9 Mar 2006, 18:56
The selectors admit they were wrong or will they continue to persist and just hope he makes a big score.
This will be interesting but i think if he fails badly, they will give him Bangaladesh and when he makes a score there, they will probably make up some crap that his selection has been justified or something.
If he has a consistent series and makes a ton agqainst South Africa he will no doubt go to Bangas but if he fails will he be dropped or will he be continued on to the ********ty series against Bangas?
I think, like most others, that this selection has been a mistake. Brad Hodge really didn't deserve to get dropped but if he did why Martyn, i just can't figure out, why Martyn.
HE has a worse record in the Pura Cup for the last few matches or this season and his One dayers haven't been flash at all though he has made a couple of half tons. But really, this does not justify his selection, i really think he will actully make a score this series but struggle after that. If he makes a double ton in his 3rd innings and doesn't do much else for that series and the Bangas will he get dropped? Will he get the Hodgey treatment.
Will be very interesting to see what happens but i just hope he doesn't do well, not because i dislike him, just to see what the slectors do if their decision is proved a dud.
Thoughts?
Renegade
9 Mar 2006, 18:59
They'll recall Katich. Hilarity will ensue
Armageddon
9 Mar 2006, 19:04
They'll recall Katich. Hilarity will ensue
Please no!
Milo the border collie
9 Mar 2006, 19:16
If he doesn't succeed, at 34 surely the end is nigh. He won't be recalled again if he gets dropped for poor performances.
Armageddon
9 Mar 2006, 20:12
If he doesn't succeed, at 34 surely the end is nigh. He won't be recalled again if he gets dropped for poor performances.
agrred.
pinkus maximus
9 Mar 2006, 20:18
I dont think he will fail. Martyn has a great away record
but if he did Clarke will come back and Hussey will move to 4
Bomaz_Magic
9 Mar 2006, 20:30
Hodge won't play again.
The Reaper
9 Mar 2006, 22:05
Martyn is past it. he is termially on the decline. he shoudl retire now and be remembered as a good player who was screwed by umpires and the selectors.
GoSydneySwans
9 Mar 2006, 22:18
Martyn is past it. he is termially on the decline. he shoudl retire now and be remembered as a good player who was screwed by umpires and the selectors.
With this latest decision, maybe you're right - he has been screwing the selectors.
How certain is it that he's in the side. There's only 6 spots for batsmen, the top three are secure, as is Hussey, and as the selectors seem to want to keep experimenting with Symonds, it's him or Clarke. Clarke has the age, and he performed well in the couple of Pura Cup matches he played, and he's done a lot more than Martyn since being dropped, so, you'd imagine that Martyn won't be in the best XI.
pinkus maximus
9 Mar 2006, 23:10
How certain is it that he's in the side. There's only 6 spots for batsmen, the top three are secure, as is Hussey, and as the selectors seem to want to keep experimenting with Symonds, it's him or Clarke. Clarke has the age, and he performed well in the couple of Pura Cup matches he played, and he's done a lot more than Martyn since being dropped, so, you'd imagine that Martyn won't be in the best XI.
Do you really think they would bring Martyn back as a reserve batsmen?He will be the #4 no doubt about it
Cassius_Clay
10 Mar 2006, 06:44
Clarke will play in front of Martyn
Cassius_Clay
10 Mar 2006, 06:45
Do you really think they would bring Martyn back as a reserve batsmen?He will be the #4 no doubt about it
They have brought back Clarke aswell :rolleyes:
ECHUCABOY
10 Mar 2006, 07:36
Australia was forced to get rid of a few players after the Ashes and unfortunatley Martyn got the pooey end of the stick. His record before the Ashes averaging over 40 in I dunno how many previous series, shows he is a quality player.
I think the selectors made a blunder and are now trying to make up for it.
Damien Martyn looks like a wasted talent in lower forms of the game, his away record is very impressive and despite what everyone says, the Stats will show that he does make runs when it matters. His series in India was probably the best individual batting performance in a series that I have witnessed.
I hope the great man can get amongst the runs and retain his spot for the Ashes.
ECHUCABOY
10 Mar 2006, 07:38
Clarke will play in front of Martyn
you should probably think about reading an article before you make comments, Hohns said Martyn will be battin at no.4
How much more stability does Martyn give the side.
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Martyn
Hussey
Symonds
Gilchrist
Lee
Warne
McGill
Kaspa
johnnyhoward
10 Mar 2006, 08:08
How much more stability does Martyn give the side.
Well, depends what form he is in. At the moment you'd have to say he is struggling, based on reputation the batting lineup looks better but based on form, hmmmm...
Gunnar Longshanks
10 Mar 2006, 13:53
Clarke will play in front of MartynI look forward to you stammering a lame excuse when you end up being wrong about that. And you will end up being wrong.
Martyn will bat at #4 in the First Test. Clarke won't play unless there's another injury.
dan warna
10 Mar 2006, 16:05
clarke only needs to average about 40 in test cricket to ensure his continued selection...
see mark waugh
weagles_fan
10 Mar 2006, 16:10
Hodge is not good enough to play for Australia. All his scores so far have been the highest I think 60 apart from the 200 he made which boosted his average heaps. He was lucky to not get out a few times in that innings. His average doesn't reflect his skill. His skill would be the equal of a 20-30 average for Australia which is not good enough.
johnnyhoward
10 Mar 2006, 16:32
Hodge is not good enough to play for Australia. All his scores so far have been the highest I think 60 apart from the 200 he made which boosted his average heaps. He was lucky to not get out a few times in that innings. His average doesn't reflect his skill. His skill would be the equal of a 20-30 average for Australia which is not good enough.
You talk alot of ******** but that takes the cake. He has an FC average of 47 which is slightly lower than the likes of your Langers, Haydens etc. He's in poor form at the moment but to say he's not up to it shows a lot of ignorance - which would explain why I don't see you on the cricket board very often.
johnnyhoward
10 Mar 2006, 16:33
I look forward to you stammering a lame excuse when you end up being wrong about that. And you will end up being wrong.
Martyn will bat at #4 in the First Test. Clarke won't play unless there's another injury.
That was Brilliant Pies speaking by the way (I'm assuming you didn't know, as he normally doesn't warrant a response)
The Reaper
10 Mar 2006, 19:29
If we took 200 wickets of Gillespie he would have a pretty ordinary record as well.
Gunnar Longshanks
4 Dec 2006, 15:20
It was either a mistake to drop Martyn post-Ashes, or a mistake to recall him.Well, which one is it?
Since being recalled to the Test side, he's averaged 34.
Not really sufficient to vindicate axing Hodge.
Bentleigh
5 Dec 2006, 12:15
Hack. Drop him.
Hussey's promotion to number four is a fair indication of the amount of faith Ponting has in Martyn.
i_hate_scams
5 Dec 2006, 16:26
who the ******** does he think he is?
That was just totally irresponsible...
that is the last we will ever see of him
The Reaper
5 Dec 2006, 16:27
made a brilliant 1
Missing Doogs
5 Dec 2006, 16:28
He hit a four mate..
It was ironic that a stupid rash shot led to Martyn initially being dropped from the Aussie test team all those years ago, and that another stupid rash shot will officially spell the end of his international test career.
I've been a Martyn fan for a long time, but the shot he got out today when he was already under immense pressure will pretty much all but confirm his departure from the test team. It wasn't needed with the situation well under control and his over-agression cost him (yet to see if it will cost the team as well but at this stage its clear sailiing!)
He's had a decent career, but his moment of madness today will in all likleliness bring it to an end.
He hit a four mate..
That was a great lofted shot, but it seems like he got a rush of blood, and tried to be too aggressive, given the situation. Out the very next ball.
That kind of dismissal won't win him any favours. Like the time he went out in the fourth innings against South Africa.
He's had a decent career, but his moment of madness today will in all likleliness bring it to an end.
Do we need another thread - or can this be merged with the Official Damien Martyn thread?
I completely agree with your assessment of the rash shot though.
Hussey's promotion to number four is a fair indication of the amount of faith Ponting has in Martyn.
I was thinking the same thing. If Watson is fit for the 3rd test, he's gone. If not, he'll probably have 1 more chance.
tcinadelaide
5 Dec 2006, 17:30
who the f*ck does he think he is?
That was just totally irresponsible...
that is the last we will ever see of him
lets hope so!!
time for marcus north.
Bartram_Class
5 Dec 2006, 18:04
He was the least excited of all the Aussies after the game, he knows what we all know, it was his last game.
Great career though, and a nice way to end up.
Bombers_Forever
5 Dec 2006, 18:07
I think it is not quite the end yet but I think he knows that it is very possible that after the WACA test if he fails, he is gone. In saying that, the fact Watson is still injured is probably saving him
R.I.P Martyn's International career
Don't let the door hit you in the arse as you leave
Coin_Toss
5 Dec 2006, 18:21
In comes Watson. Marto let his emotions run wild and that's why he lost his wicket - he should have known better.
If he gets dropped...the end, has nothing left to offer Australian cricket, he's no young pup.
Oh When the Saints
5 Dec 2006, 18:23
Because the Aussies won, they may just give Martyn his home Test in Perth as one last crack at an international career.
Watson and MacGill are pushing hard though ...
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Dec 2006, 18:26
In comes Watson. Marto let his emotions run wild and that's why he lost his wicket - he should have known better.
If he gets dropped...the end, has nothing left to offer Australian cricket, he's no young pup.
I'm prepared to forgive Martyn.
The field was up and a couple of hefty blows and the game was beyond doubt, it looks like he decided to come out with all guns blazing.
He had a plan and it failed but he should live another day.
I'd rather he come in and blaze then stuff around for several overs which can sometimes be a problem in terms of rotating the strike in One Dayers.
At least he backed himself, an over or 2 or martyn in full flight would have reduced the runs required in no time.
The selectors should serve his arse like John McEnroe.
Martyn : Out
Watson: In
I think he deserves one more chance, afterall he was a huge reason we won the Champions Trophy. Top run-scorer by a mile and made them under pressure.
He's been good for Australian Cricket and harshly treated in the past deserves one more chance.
But agreed, skating on thin ice.
davey_magik
5 Dec 2006, 18:35
Has had a very good career but now is the time he should go IMO, although the fact that the next Test is in Perth in his home town may work in his favour.