View Full Version : Movie Is "Chopper" Australia's Greatest Movie?
jerry springer
11 Mar 2006, 20:18
Absolute Cult Classic but is it our greatest movie?
Greg Miller= Messiah
11 Mar 2006, 20:35
Mad Max 2 for me. I need to see more Aussie movies
Brittany
11 Mar 2006, 20:37
I think yes, because it's a classic, and Eric Bana is in it :thumbsu: :)
Noddy Holder
11 Mar 2006, 20:58
Bad Boy Bubby gets my vote.
GhostofJimJess
11 Mar 2006, 21:07
Been plenty of better ones, but not many in that genre.
As far as Aussie crime movies go, I'd definitely have "The Boys" and "Blue Murder" (TV movie) well ahead of "Chopper", with "Two Hands" also up there with the best of them. I've also got a soft spot for "The Big Steal" and "Death in Brunswick", though they're both a bit lighter than these other four great Australian crime flicks.
TheGeneral
11 Mar 2006, 21:58
Mad Max, Picnic at Hanging Rock, The Castle,....Young Einstein.
Falchoon
11 Mar 2006, 22:03
Too disjointed, no great flow. The story is just not that great.
Banas performance on the other hand was outstanding.
In one word, Chopper was "crap". :thumbsd:
Special Agent
12 Mar 2006, 00:12
One of Peter Weir's early films would be it for me. Picnic at Hanging Rock or The Last Wave.
I did enjoy Chopper, though.
Brittany
12 Mar 2006, 00:23
What about great Aussie classics like..
Thunderstruck
The Wog Boy
Fat Pizza
Take Away
Crackerjack
The Wannabees
The Nugget
Etc
Etc
:rolleyes:
agitator
12 Mar 2006, 04:15
picinic is an over rated snoozefest, 'sunday too far away' and breaker morant are the best ive seen.
as far as chopper goes, any film that tries to make a low life scumbag into a celebrity dont rate with me.......havent seen whopper and not going to donate my money to that arsewipe.
Power21
12 Mar 2006, 08:41
picinic is an over rated snoozefest, 'sunday too far away' and breaker morant are the best ive seen.
as far as chopper goes, any film that tries to make a low life scumbag into a celebrity dont rate with me.......havent seen whopper and not going to donate my money to that arsewipe.
Haven't seen it therefore can't comment on it.
Magpiespower
12 Mar 2006, 08:50
Not even close.
Too disjointed, no great flow. The story is just not that great.
It's a series of events rather than a dramatic narrative.
Magpiespower
12 Mar 2006, 08:51
Thunderstruck
The Wog Boy
Fat Pizza
Take Away
Crackerjack
The Wannabees
The Nugget
Etc
Etc
We actually made films before 2000 ;)
TheColeTrain
12 Mar 2006, 09:03
Thunderstruck
The Wog Boy
Fat Pizza
Take Away
Crackerjack
The Wannabees
The Nugget
Etc
Etc
dont knock crackerjack, very funny movie, and chopper is a good movie but far from the greatest
juzza316
12 Mar 2006, 11:04
Romper Stomper ;)
rick James
12 Mar 2006, 11:59
Aussie films are terrible - we don't have anywhere near as much talent as the united states when it comes to cinema.
Wouldnt even put it in the "good" category..
TheGeneral
12 Mar 2006, 12:24
Proof is a greater film than Chopper.
As is Maslin Beach.
Captain Sensible
12 Mar 2006, 13:06
As is Maslin Beach.
:D
As far as Aussie crime movies go, I'd definitely have "The Boys" and "Blue Murder" (TV movie) well ahead of "Chopper", with "Two Hands" also up there with the best of them. I've also got a soft spot for "The Big Steal" and "Death in Brunswick", though they're both a bit lighter than these other four great Australian crime flicks.
Did you get forget about The Interview GOJJ or do you not dont rate it? I thinkit's easily the best Aussie flick I've seen.
The Proposition is the best Australian movie I've seen in recent years.
Bad Boy Bubby gets my vote.
Good one. I thought that movie had all but erased from my memory till I read your post LOL
TheGeneral
12 Mar 2006, 14:11
Did you get forget about The Interview GOJJ or do you not dont rate it? I thinkit's easily the best Aussie flick I've seen.
Top film and you know who is great whenever he plays an evil bastard. ;)
I haven't seen it but I will have to get it on DVD.
Even though I haven't seen Somesault, I thought Abbie Cornish's performance was pretty good. :cool:
RoosterLad
12 Mar 2006, 14:49
ease up, she was only 2 in the year 2000
i voted yes but its a tough one
the castle is brilliant
i like Take Away mainly for the start, "You Bastard" that bit cracks me up everytime!
funny to think one of those lads is now on Ramsay St
Magpiespower
12 Mar 2006, 15:26
Aussie films are terrible - we don't have anywhere near as much talent as the united states when it comes to cinema.
Yeah right.
Explains why Hollywood has poached the best talents from around the world since day one.
Including Australia.
Brittany
12 Mar 2006, 15:34
I know that jeez
I was just showing what classic movies we have made lately
P.S The Wog Boy was made before 2000.
RoosterLad
12 Mar 2006, 15:34
aussie films are wonderful, our budgets are usually much smaller
Chopper, the Castle, Wolf Creek, great movies and wouldnt have cost much
our movies are so down to earth, not like the bloody yank films which make americans out to be universal heroes
im sick of the septics
Jumpin' Jimmy
12 Mar 2006, 15:41
Very good but not the greatest.
Proved Bana could play a serious role which I would not have believed beforehand.
There are heaps of other good Aussie movies including
Mad Max
Croc Dundee
Alvin Purple
The Castle
Sunday Too Far Away
Man from Snowy River
Travelling North
Dons party
The Club
Malcolm
Gallipoli
Priscilla
Muriels Wedding
Babe
Breaker Morant
Young Einstein
Puberty Blues
Monkster
12 Mar 2006, 16:20
The odds of producing talent are far better when you have a population of 200 million as opposed to a population of 20 million.
TheGeneral
12 Mar 2006, 16:35
Very good but not the greatest.
Proved Bana could play a serious role which I would not have believed beforehand.
There are heaps of other good Aussie movies including
Mad Max
Croc Dundee
Alvin Purple
The Castle
Sunday Too Far Away
Man from Snowy River
Travelling North
Dons party
The Club
Malcolm
Gallipoli
Priscilla
Muriels Wedding
Babe
Breaker Morant
Young Einstein
Puberty Blues
Some great movies on that list! :thumbsu: :)
Death in Brunswick.
But where's Get Skase? :confused:
The Castle gets my vote, too.
The odds of producing talent are far better when you have a population of 200 million as opposed to a population of 20 million.
Exactly. actually I think some of the best movies come out of Great Britain, mainly Scotland & Ireland.
My all time favourite movie is "Shallow Grave". awesome movie & the one I just watched yesterday from Ireland I rank as better than anyting I have seen from America, "Freeze Frame".
Edit: For some reason Australia seems too scared of making these types of movies, they tend to make "safe" movies, the number of scripts they reject because they are too violent, or contraversial is a disgrace.
Monkster
12 Mar 2006, 18:15
Exactly. actually I think some of the best movies come out of Great Britain, mainly Scotland & ireland.
My all time favourite movie is "Shallow Grave". awesome movie & the one I just watched yesterday from Ireland I rank as better than anyting I have seen from America, "Freeze Frame".
Ahem Ireland is not part of Great Britain :P
To get back on the subject of your post, I'm not a huge fan of British movies, actually I'm not sure I can think of one I like, however I do think they make the best Comedy TV Shows.
Edited to include Mantis edit:
"For some reason Australia seems too scared of making these types of movies, they tend to make "safe" movies, the number of scripts they reject because they are too violent, or contraversial is a disgrace."
The main reason for that would be money, Australian films don't make alot of money at the best of times, let alone if it's a movie that doesn't have broad appeal, Comedies are a much safer bet on getting your money back, hopefully now that a few Aussie movies are making some sort of money in America (Wolf Creek made 16 million IIRC) we'll see a lot more chances being taken with movies.
I hope so, my son is sick of getting his scripts rejected, so much so, that in June he is heading overseas for awhile, hoping that he will be more successful there.
Thunderstruck
The Wog Boy
Fat Pizza
Take Away
Crackerjack
The Wannabees
The Nugget
Etc
Etc
haha I don't think anyone could construct a list of movies worse than that.
Brittany
12 Mar 2006, 19:05
haha I don't think anyone could construct a list of movies worse than that.
I reckon,
I was feeling embarrassed for the Aussie Film Industry as I was writing it. :thumbsd:
embleygirl
12 Mar 2006, 19:22
Chopper's good but The Castle is miles ahead. IMO.
Mr Eagle
12 Mar 2006, 19:25
The Adventures of Barry McKenzie?
GhostofJimJess
12 Mar 2006, 20:42
Haven't seen The Interview yet, yokel. Your endorsement suggests to me that I must make it a priority. Likewise The Proposition.
NorthBhoy
12 Mar 2006, 20:51
I dunno if it's the best, but it is in my top 3 favorites. Mad Max 2 and Blue Murder (if that counts) are my others. It's hardly based in facts and is well structured at times, but it is slick and possibly the funnist Aussie flick I have seen.
The Interview is a sensational flick. Tony Martin is awesome.
bucksisbest
13 Mar 2006, 03:02
I liked Lantana better than Chopper.
Magpiespower
13 Mar 2006, 07:16
The main reason for that would be money, Australian films don't make alot of money at the best of times,
Believe it or not, Little Fish cost $10m to make.
The main problem with the funding bodies is that they are academics and fat cats.
Most don't even know how to read a script properly.
rick James
13 Mar 2006, 07:51
Australian movies don't make money because the produc tbeing offered generally sucks ass. Persojnally I would rather go to the strippers than watch and Australian movie but then I'd rather go tot he strippers than eat breakfast some days so I guess I'm not realyl making much of a point.
Blues_Man
13 Mar 2006, 08:46
Absolute Cult Classic but is it our greatest movie?
Not even close to our best movie ..not in the top 20
Definitely in the top 20 - Vince Collosimo's portrayal of Neville "F***ing" Bartoss is right up there with Bana's performance.
Also, the "no cash here" scene is now part of Aussie culture.
jerry springer
13 Mar 2006, 09:57
Not even close to our best movie ..not in the top 20
Your joking right?
name 20 better then smart-a.rse...:rolleyes:
Brittany
13 Mar 2006, 10:02
Australian movies don't make money because the produc tbeing offered generally sucks ass. Persojnally I would rather go to the strippers than watch and Australian movie but then I'd rather go tot he strippers than eat breakfast some days so I guess I'm not realyl making much of a point.
Still drunk?
Magpiespower
13 Mar 2006, 13:00
Your joking right?
name 20 better then smart-a.rse...:rolleyes:
Here's 20 off the top of my head...
Gallipoli
The Plumber
Picnic at Hanging Rock
Breaker Morant
The Club
Don's Party
Money Movers
The Fringe Dwellers
Heatwave
Dead Calm
Starstruck
Everynight...Everynight...
The Boys
Bad Boy Bubby
The Quiet Room
Dance Me to My Song
Shine
Struck By Lightning
Fran
The Last of the Knucklemen
The_Flying_Egg
13 Mar 2006, 13:50
Chopper's good but The Castle is miles ahead. IMO.
I agre entirely. Chopper is very good, but the Castle is the best film of all time
Glyndon
13 Mar 2006, 18:08
No, far from it.....I would rate Bad Boy Bubby and Lantana as being two of our best films, although The Chant Of Jimmy Blacksmith is a classic.
Mcchawk
13 Mar 2006, 18:09
Sirens, you see Elle's &*(
GhostofJimJess
13 Mar 2006, 20:31
You know rick, there's some pubs you can go to where you can watch strippers and get breakfast. "T*ts & Toast At The Terminus" immediately springs to mind.
Rusty Brookes
14 Mar 2006, 07:55
Money Movers
I bought this on DVD the other day for 10 bucks. What a score. One of the best hard-boiled crime films I've seen.
Smokin_Joe
14 Mar 2006, 12:18
I remember back in year 9 in English we were watched 2 films with 'rites of passage' as the main theme. The first one was the American classic 'Stand by Me' and the second was an Australian movie with Noah Taylor and Ben Mendelsohn called 'The year my voice broke'. What are your opinions on this film being in the top 20 of all time Australian films?
Jumpin' Jimmy
14 Mar 2006, 12:37
Rolf Harris was once asked "which was the best Australian movie?' and his answer was "the one about those two young Australians giving their all on the beach front".
The interviewer said "you mean Gallipoli?"
Rolf replied "no".
Interviewer " huh, what was it then?"
Rolf replied "it was........
Puberty Blues :p
Magpiespower
14 Mar 2006, 13:50
the second was an Australian movie with Noah Taylor and Ben Mendelsohn called 'The year my voice broke'. What are your opinions on this film being in the top 20 of all time Australian films?
Great film.
Would probably get a guernsey.
Might wanna check out the sequel 'Flirting.'
GhostofJimJess
14 Mar 2006, 22:45
I was also a big fan of "Dogs In Space" back in the 80's ... haven't seen it for nearly twenty years, so I'm not sure how it's dated? Had some great music and hilarious moments though ('The Chainsaw Man' immediately springs to mind), and offered an oddly prophetic view of Michael Hutchence.
A couple of other interesting Aussie musical films include "Smoke Em If You've Got Em" (featuring Blue Ruin) and "One Night The Moon" (feat. Paul Kelly). Neither classic, but well worth a look, and far superior to a bunch of other Aussie movies that have somehow reached a lot further.
Jumpin' Jimmy
15 Mar 2006, 06:26
No mention of Ned Kelly, starring that great "Aussie actor' Mick Jagger :rolleyes:
Gallipoli
The Plumber
Picnic at Hanging Rock
Breaker Morant
The Club
Don's Party
Money Movers
The Fringe Dwellers
Heatwave
Dead Calm
Starstruck
Everynight...Everynight...
The Boys
Bad Boy Bubby
The Quiet Room
Dance Me to My Song
Shine
Struck By Lightning
Fran
WAKE IN FRIGHT tops all these. ********ing awesome and disturbing aussie film from the mid seventies.
Brittany
15 Mar 2006, 21:28
I was also a big fan of "Dogs In Space" back in the 80's ... haven't seen it for nearly twenty years, so I'm not sure how it's dated? Had some great music and hilarious moments though ('The Chainsaw Man' immediately springs to mind), and offered an oddly prophetic view of Michael Hutchence.
A couple of other interesting Aussie musical films include "Smoke Em If You've Got Em" (featuring Blue Ruin) and "One Night The Moon" (feat. Paul Kelly). Neither classic, but well worth a look, and far superior to a bunch of other Aussie movies that have somehow reached a lot further.
Oh my god
I love that movie
I thought it was awesome, but I thought if I mentioned it on here everyone would bag me.
Rooms For The Memory is the best song.
No mention of Ned Kelly, starring that great "Aussie actor' Mick Jagger :rolleyes:
OOH OOH, I love that movie. :D
GhostofJimJess
15 Mar 2006, 22:21
Oh my god
I love that movie
I thought it was awesome, but I thought if I mentioned it on here everyone would bag me.
Rooms For The Memory is the best song.
Did you ever go down to the little house in Richmond, Brittany? We used to get drunk at a friends place around the corner in Bridge Road and wander up that side street and just sit outside the house. Highly questionable behaviour, I now realise, but back then I'm sure we thought we were being pretty cool.
"Rooms For The Memory" is a great song, and Nick Cave's "Shivers" and Iggy's "Endless Sea" are just brilliant in that film.
Brittany
16 Mar 2006, 16:11
Did you ever go down to the little house in Richmond, Brittany? We used to get drunk at a friends place around the corner in Bridge Road and wander up that side street and just sit outside the house. Highly questionable behaviour, I now realise, but back then I'm sure we thought we were being pretty cool.
"Rooms For The Memory" is a great song, and Nick Cave's "Shivers" and Iggy's "Endless Sea" are just brilliant in that film.
Nah I haven't coz I live in this budget city of Perth :mad:
I love those songs, the soundtrack to that movie is pretty awesome :thumbsu:
HorseHead
16 Mar 2006, 18:58
Did you get forget about The Interview GOJJ or do you not dont rate it? I thinkit's easily the best Aussie flick I've seen.Agreed.The Interview is an excellent film. If anybody hasn't seen it, track it down at your local DVD library. Hugo Weaving is fantastic in it. :thumbsu:
The Proposition is the best Australian movie I've seen in recent years.Hmmm... I watched it last weekend and I have to say I only thought it was so-so. Not a bad film, but nothing to write home about.
I don't believe I've seen anybody mention Blue Murder? Technically, I suppose you could say it's a mini series rather than a movie, but still, I reckon it's a ripper.
Also, has anybody seen Wolf Creek? I'm not normally a big fan of horror-type flicks, but I saw it a couple of weeks ago on DVD and I thought it was very, very good.
GhostofJimJess
16 Mar 2006, 20:52
I don't believe I've seen anybody mention Blue Murder? Technically, I suppose you could say it's a mini series rather than a movie, but still, I reckon it's a ripper.
Yeah, called that one a bit earlier, horse.
As far as Aussie crime movies go, I'd definitely have "The Boys" and "Blue Murder" (TV movie) well ahead of "Chopper",
Masterpiece of a film, fully deserving of it's own thread.
I reckon we should also be able to include "Rats In The Ranks" in classic Australian films too, even though it never got cinematic release. Another fantastic Australian drama, albeit a kind of "reality" program.
HorseHead
16 Mar 2006, 21:21
Yeah, called that one a bit earlier, horse.
Masterpiece of a film, fully deserving of it's own thread.Sorry Ghost, I was speed reading to try to get up to date; must have missed it. :o
I reckon we should also be able to include "Rats In The Ranks" in classic Australian films too, even though it never got cinematic release. Another fantastic Australian drama, albeit a kind of "reality" program.Hmmmm... I don't recognise the title. Who's in it? Year?
i said 'yes' however i equally love other movies like 'mad max' which really put australian on the 'film industry map'
what about the castle, hahaha i'm always quoting that film, i love it. I worked with this guy called faruk and whenever i said hello to him, i would think of that line 'fu***ing faruk what is it with wogs and bloody cash' hahaha. Anyway one day we were having a convo and it just came out, this guy was a legend and just pyssed himself laughing.
I'm forever quoting that film and most aussies know what i'm talking about... classic.
my 3 fav ; mad max, chopper, the castle :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
hahahaha i just thought of another aussie classic. What about 'the club' - hahahaha, 'you'd better be right jock, you'd just BETTER be right.'
Magpiespower
17 Mar 2006, 03:36
Gotta say that I reckon The Proposition is one of the worst films to come out of Australia for some time.
It's an absolute mess, largely due to an appalling Nick Cave script.
I reckon we should also be able to include "Rats In The Ranks" in classic Australian films too, even though it never got cinematic release. Another fantastic Australian drama, albeit a kind of "reality" program.
Have to throw in Bob Connolly's other doccos as well...
Facing the Music
Black Harvest
Joe Leahy's Neighbours
First Contact
Speaking of docco's, anybody remember COP IT SWEET?
rick James
17 Mar 2006, 07:32
Still drunk?
strewth I don't even remember typing that.
GhostofJimJess
18 Mar 2006, 00:45
Sorry Ghost, I was speed reading to try to get up to date; must have missed it. :o
Hmmmm... I don't recognise the title. Who's in it? Year?
Here's a link to some info on it, Horse. It's a bit of a fly-on-the-wall doco thing (in a similar way to "Year Of The Dogs") about the Leichardt Council elections in 1994 ... it's far better than it sounds.
http://www.filmaust.com.au/programs/teachers_notes/3895RatsintheRanks.pdf
Mr Magoo
18 Mar 2006, 09:35
Eric Bana's performance is nothing short of brilliant as Chopper but i don't think it's Australia's best ever movie. I enjoyed 'The Hard Word' a lot more than Chopper but i'm not sure if that is an Australian movie.
TheGeneral
18 Mar 2006, 10:18
http://www.dvdworld.co.uk/shopimages/products/normal/30-39/97337.JPG
:thumbsu:
Storm Boy. :)
Walkabout. (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067959/)
Coolangatta Gold. (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0087085/) :D
Copernicus
18 Mar 2006, 14:59
I have to say I am missing a lot of good Aussie films from the 'been there done that' list. I did enjoy Chopper a lot, though, mainly on the back of Bana's performance, it was just an amazing portrayal, and dark humour like that always ropes me in.
Someone get me a copy of the Castle pronto - I still haven't bloody seen it!
W W Biscuit
20 Mar 2006, 10:34
Struck By Lightning
Great effort to recall these two. Both films contained some great performances, notable Mike Preston in TLOTK and Garry McDonald in SBL. TLOTK is available on DVD if anyone is interested, as part of a box set containing seven other Tim Burstall films: Alvin Purple, Alvin Rides Again, Petersen, Eliza Fraser, Stork, End Play and High Rolling. Petersen in particular is worth checking out - a strong drama with a great cast: Wendy Hughes, Jack Thompson, Helen Morse, John Ewart, Bud Tingwell, Jacki Weaver and Arthur Dignam.
I'm surprised that no-one has mentioned any of Paul Cox's films, for example Lonely Hearts or Man Of Flowers.
Personally, I enjoyed the performances in Chopper immensely. It is episodic, but I can handle that - certainly not the first successful Aussie film to have a fractured narrative structure (e.g., Monkey Grip).
HorseHead
20 Mar 2006, 11:07
Here's a link to some info on it, Horse. It's a bit of a fly-on-the-wall doco thing (in a similar way to "Year Of The Dogs") about the Leichardt Council elections in 1994 ... it's far better than it sounds.
http://www.filmaust.com.au/programs/teachers_notes/3895RatsintheRanks.pdfCheers for the info. It actually sounds interesting. I'll have to see if it's out on DVD...
Flag Man
20 Mar 2006, 11:18
Ghosts of the civil dead.
Jumpin' Jimmy
20 Mar 2006, 16:07
Can we extend this discussion to Mini-series as well?
Here are two of my favourites:-
Power Without Glory
The Great Bookie Robbery
jerry springer
20 Mar 2006, 16:15
A week into the poll and have 28% of the vote,which isnt too bad.
Some good alternatives thrown up and if anything it shows that there is no clear cut Australian movie that stands alone.From the response here it looks like "the Castle" would proberly be the most popular.
TuskenRaider
21 Mar 2006, 07:43
Also, has anybody seen Wolf Creek? I'm not normally a big fan of horror-type flicks, but I saw it a couple of weeks ago on DVD and I thought it was very, very good.
Watched Wolf Creek the other night. In my opinion it would have to be right up there as one of the most over rated Australian films I can think of. Very ordinary and I'm not quite sure what all the fuss was about. My reaction may have something to do with the great ratings the film got but...
And John Jarrett's character, was that just a mix of Chopper, Crocodile Dundee and some bloke from down the local TAB? Maybe that was the intention.
Does not come close to the likes of Chopper, Two Hands, The Castle or The Year My Voice Broke (going back a few years).
Captain Sensible
21 Mar 2006, 07:55
Bliss is another really good Australian film.
crazy_big_al
21 Mar 2006, 08:57
great movie. but not the best
HorseHead
21 Mar 2006, 10:03
Watched Wolf Creek the other night. In my opinion it would have to be right up there as one of the most over rated Australian films I can think of. Very ordinary and I'm not quite sure what all the fuss was about. My reaction may have something to do with the great ratings the film got but...
And John Jarrett's character, was that just a mix of Chopper, Crocodile Dundee and some bloke from down the local TAB? Maybe that was the intention.
Does not come close to the likes of Chopper, Two Hands, The Castle or The Year My Voice Broke (going back a few years).Well, fair enough. I watched the movie without actually knowing anything about it at all. I'd heard the title mentioned here and there, but as far as the type of movie goes, I had no idea what was coming. From that perspective, I found it to be a pleasant surprise. (Note: I actually never read the blurbs on the back of DVDs. I don't want to know what the movie is speifically about before I watch it. Those blurbs give away way too much plot detail, IMO.)
Jarratt's character definitely had elements of Mick Dundee in him, but I'm not so sure about the Chopper elements you refer to. In the extras section of the DVD, there are specific references made to Mick Dundee's character.
As far as the other films you mentioned go: I am of the opinion that Chopper is a bit on the over-rated side of things. Not to say it's a bad film by any means, but like your views on Wolf Creek, I don't quite understand what all the fuss is about there.
I've seen Two Hands, but I honestly can't remember much about it, which would indicate I didn't think all that highly of it at the time I saw it.
The Castle is one of those films that a lot of people seem to love, yet I simply can't stand. I just don't get it to be honest.
The Year My Voice Broke would be up there in a list of my top ten Aussie films.
HorseHead
21 Mar 2006, 10:04
Bliss is another really good Australian film.How faithful is to Peter Carey's novel?
TuskenRaider
21 Mar 2006, 14:00
Jarratt's character definitely had elements of Mick Dundee in him, but I'm not so sure about the Chopper elements you refer to. In the extras section of the DVD, there are specific references made to Mick Dundee's character.
He kept sort of stuttering like Chopper does, that's where I get the Chopper reference from.
As for your other comments, same thing - fair enough, you make valid points and even though I like The Castle, I can totally understand what you mean.
Hard Ball Get
1 Oct 2009, 23:28
Just watched it again tonight.
Don't know about the greatest, but its bloody good!
The Sultan
2 Oct 2009, 12:30
+ 1 - The Castle
also
MAD Max I + II, two of my fav movies of all time ever
i'd have to go with 'picnic at hanging rock' i think.
Agree.
Notorious_29
2 Oct 2009, 13:44
I voted yes. Followed closely by The Castle.
Young Einstein is up there :D :p
Oakland Raider
2 Oct 2009, 14:57
I liked Lantana better than Chopper.
Me too.
The Castle is good
Mad Max for me.
buzzbuzz
2 Oct 2009, 16:56
I voted before I thought. The Proposition is greater than Chop chop, and Wolf Creek about the same level of greatness as Chopper.
I went on a Western binge and saw TG,tB&tU, Fistful Of Dollars and Once Upon A Time In The West and The Proposition definitely hold its own with those genre classics.
I do love a good crime anti-hero though, and Chopper is the ultimate.
Audacious
3 Oct 2009, 23:21
the castle
Glamorous Heroin Addicts
Aussie Battlers Having a Go
Choose one.
Spermbird
4 Oct 2009, 15:29
Dogs in space was recently released on DVD, comes with a doco on the making of the film and one about the Melbourne punk scene.
Smoke em if you got em is a create little flick. Haven't seen that one is years & doubt I will be able to find it again.
As for the best aussie film no idea although there are many i like. I do like Chopper though
Dixie Flatline
4 Oct 2009, 20:02
Breaker Morant for mine. I'm also partial to The Club.
Plugger35
4 Oct 2009, 21:12
Breaker Morant for mine. I'm also partial to The Club.
Yeah Breaker Morant is one of the greatest films of all time, not just in terms of Australian films either, it's a classic by anyone's standards. Likewise other classic Aussie movies from that era like Gallipoli, Mad Max and Picnic at Hanging Rock. All make an impression that stays with you a long time after you watch them.
Chopper is one of the better Aussie films of the new era. Not a classic but Eric Bana's performance lifts it from average to very good. Bad Boy Bubby, Romper Stomper and Two Hands are a few other stand out Aussie films of recent times that come to mind.
rambopunisher
23 Nov 2009, 12:09
Here is a few aussie movies i know of , but i think CHOPPER IS NOT OUR GREATEST MOVIE EVER, BUT ANYWAY HERE ARE THE AUSSIE MOVIES I KNOW OF OR ARE COMING OUT
Crocodile dundee trilogy
young einstein
reckless kelly
napoleon
joey
rogue
wolf creek
pelican boy
Ferngully
razorback
where the wild things are (coming out soon)
the Rabbitproof Fence
samson and deliah
ten canoes ?
The Crocodile Hunter: collison course
Australia
Mr accident
mad max movies
Charlie and boots
evil angels
strange bedfellows
i know they are not great but my personal fav is the Croc dundee trilogy
buzzbuzz
23 Nov 2009, 12:38
Where The Wild Things Are is not an Australian movie. It's not even an Australian book.
flight23
23 Nov 2009, 13:41
:D
one of the best ive seen for sure