View Full Version : VAFA Practice Matches this weekend

rightfoot_sloth
17 Mar 2006, 09:52
Has anyone got any info on times/venues for any practice matches scheduled for the weekend ?

Cheers,
RFS

demondavey
17 Mar 2006, 10:21
Has anyone got any info on times/venues for any practice matches scheduled for the weekend ?

Cheers,
RFS
De La Vs Trinity at Trinity. U\19s start at 10, then reserves then seniors.

fish1
19 Mar 2006, 17:31
Old Ems played Yarrawonga (O&M) on saturday and were beaten by 16 goals. The boys from yarra just far to good. Old Ems kicked 2 goals in the last due to free kicks, very soft to.

Richo- true champion
19 Mar 2006, 18:59
results Between Old Trinity and De La

19's- De La won by about 40 points....the margin blew out late in the game
Reserves- T's by about 3 goals
Seniors- De La by 3 goals

froggie6
20 Mar 2006, 07:28
St Bernards beat Ararat by about 30 goals. Wasnt there but word is the dogs went extremely well...

Scribe
20 Mar 2006, 10:52
results Between Old Trinity and De La

19's- De La won by about 40 points....the margin blew out late in the game
Reserves- T's by about 3 goals
Seniors- De La by 3 goals

Spot on.

A very good competitive hitout for both sides on a perfect autumn day for footy. Trinity brains trust were a bit disappointed at our poor conversion, but De La's runners got the ball to the right spots. Good to see Spithill running around. I reckon he will be critical for De La, who were missing about 10 regular senior players I believe. Trinity had about the same number out.

In all, a good chance for some younger guys who've had good pre-seasons so far to show their credentials. No injuries from what I could see, which is the best part. Just a few sore heads and shoulders from those who failed to wear any sunscreen!! :D

Trinity are playing Bernies on Sunday out at Western/Whitten Oval with the usual 10am/12noon/2pm starting times.

FootyFreak69
20 Mar 2006, 11:01
Spot on.

A very good competitive hitout for both sides on a perfect autumn day for footy. Trinity brains trust were a bit disappointed at our poor conversion, but De La's runners got the ball to the right spots. Good to see Spithill running around. I reckon he will be critical for De La, who were missing about 10 regular senior players I believe. Trinity had about the same number out.

In all, a good chance for some younger guys who've had good pre-seasons so far to show their credentials. No injuries from what I could see, which is the best part. Just a few sore heads and shoulders from those who failed to wear any sunscreen!! :D

Trinity are playing Bernies on Sunday out at Western/Whitten Oval with the usual 10am/12noon/2pm starting times.

scribe, do you know if ramsden played for ot's?? if so, how did he go?

Slay Master G
20 Mar 2006, 11:16

Surely if the Big Cat had been playing then OT's would have won in a canter.

Beware A Grade - The Big Cat is as fit and fierce as ever and will be hard to stop in '06.

Destination A Grade
20 Mar 2006, 13:47

I caught the second half and he sat out the third but played the last. Didn't dominate, but his older head got him to the right places more often than not.

Scribe
20 Mar 2006, 14:57
I caught the second half and he sat out the third but played the last. Didn't dominate, but his older head got him to the right places more often than not.

DAG - some of the other OT older heads found ourselves spending more time chasing young forward flankers, than "getting to the right places". :p

FF69 - It'd be fair to say Andrew was happy to let others take a more prominent role in the side which played on Saturday. We ran a very experimental line-up (Andy Cultrera in a back pocket for example).

SMG - I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

Destination A Grade
21 Mar 2006, 05:30
DAG - some of the other OT older heads found ourselves spending more time chasing young forward flankers, than "getting to the right places". :p

The De La boys seemed very fit. Training three nights a week for most of the year has got them in a good position.

I didn't recognise many of the OT boys. Been a few years since we've had to come up against them. I think we've got you blokes in a few weeks - Hopefully on the main oval.

froggie6
21 Mar 2006, 07:25

FF69 - It'd be fair to say Andrew was happy to let others take a more prominent role in the side which played on Saturday. We ran a very experimental line-up (Andy Cultrera in a back pocket for example).

SMG - I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

Looking for a good hitout from the OT boys this weekend. Good to start matching up the sides for this year...as experimental as these games are.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
21 Mar 2006, 07:51
I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

My mail is The Big Cat won't have any hamstring trouble this year. Apparently he has been doing some secret walking training down Langston St in Northcote with a mysterious man known only as "Lex"

Slay Master G
21 Mar 2006, 10:30
My mail is The Big Cat won't have any hamstring trouble this year. Apparently he has been doing some secret walking training down Langston St in Northcote with a mysterious man known only as "Lex"

It's not his hamstring that I'm concerned about, it's his constant sightings in the boutique stores of Oxford street with an anonymous male companion...

Handsome.B.Wonderful
21 Mar 2006, 11:58
It's not his hamstring that I'm concerned about, it's his constant sightings in the boutique stores of Oxford street with an anonymous male companion...

Who is that bloke?
He speaks with such a thick Eastern European accent, like he's from Amsterdam or something.

Slay Master G
21 Mar 2006, 12:43
Who is that bloke?
He speaks with such a thick Eastern European accent, like he's from Amsterdam or something.

I recently discsussed this issue with The BC's cousin Kane, he was also alarmed by this Dutch "gentleman" known to frequent the BC's Darling Point pimp pad.

Snoozer
21 Mar 2006, 14:38
St Bernards v Ararat practice match was a waste of time. Might as well have had a token pressure training run.

Most of the older heads for Bernards only played a half.

The Big Pineapple
21 Mar 2006, 14:41
Most of the older heads for Bernards only played a half.

All of the rude heads played though! :D

Handsome.B.Wonderful
27 Mar 2006, 07:14
Any results from the matches on the weekend?

Son of a Gun
27 Mar 2006, 07:49
Blacks and Friars had an even contest with Whitefriars winning the early games and the senior (if you can call it that) game being very close - 1 point the difference.

No noticeable injuries.

Supa Frank
27 Mar 2006, 09:05
Results from any C grade teams playing practice matches?

The Big Pineapple
27 Mar 2006, 09:12
Old Essendon defeated Old Ivanhoe

PooBrown
27 Mar 2006, 10:07
didnt get a chance to watch senior OI Vs OE game.

What was score, and any standout players from either team??

PooBrown
27 Mar 2006, 10:12
missed the OI VS OE Game.

What was score, and was there any standout players for either side??

The Big Pineapple
27 Mar 2006, 10:30
missed the OI VS OE Game.

What was score, and was there any standout players for either side??

For Old Essendon Hakim was back to his best and VFL recruits Goulette & Teal dominated the midfield.

Was very surprised to hear Luxon has gone chasing $$$... where is he playing?

Is Butler (ex-Port Adel SANFL) playing at OI this year?

Handsome.B.Wonderful
27 Mar 2006, 10:35
For Old Essendon Hakim was back to his best and VFL recruits Goulette & Teal dominated the midfield.

Velardo's return to the OEG forward line will also trouble a few backlines this year. A season at Balwyn looks to have put the spark into him and he kicked about 4 or 5

Scribe
27 Mar 2006, 11:02
Bernies came home well with the breeze in stinking hot conditions at Whitten Oval to beat Trinity by 2 goals, kicking 7 goals to 2 in the last.

The Bernies U19s well and truly outclassed a Trinity side which was missing 9 players to higher duties or work/social commitments.

The seconds saw Trinity lead from go to woe, but Bernies finished well, falling 4 goals short.

As you'd expect all three games were pretty open, and it was a good chance for players to run the ball and sharpen their skills under less pressure.

Trinity host Xavs this Saturday (on the Daley Oval possibly), with the usual 10/12/2 start times.

Destination A Grade
27 Mar 2006, 11:02

Luxon went up to Queensland to work for his old man. Still up there despite his old man selling up.

Butler is playing with Geelong in the VFL. He will play with Old Ivanhoe when not playing with the Senior VFL side.

Homer101
27 Mar 2006, 11:33
Nobspfc Defeated Old Camberwell By 1 Goal In Seniors

Slay Master G
27 Mar 2006, 13:00
Why is it that Old Ivanhoe's form seems to dip when they don't attend Motel for a period of time?

Stuart Low's hamstring could benefit greatly from leaning on the bar in Old Ivanhoe corner, and Destination A Grade could benefit equally from busting a few of his rancid dance moves on the floor.

Is it true the Gieschen has been sticking to the Pure Blonde's in an effort to be cherry ripe for season 06.

Destination A Grade
27 Mar 2006, 13:09
Why is it that Old Ivanhoe's form seems to dip when they don't attend Motel for a period of time?

Stuart Low's hamstring could benefit greatly from leaning on the bar in Old Ivanhoe corner, and Destination A Grade could benefit equally from busting a few of his rancid dance moves on the floor.

Is it true the Gieschen has been sticking to the Pure Blonde's in an effort to be cherry ripe for season 06.

Strings and Rancid were sighted on the weekend just gone, but with no sighting of the 'Strutting Beak' they left disappointed.

I think Gieschen has been swallowing pillows over summer

The Big Pineapple
27 Mar 2006, 13:36
Strings and Rancid were sighted on the weekend just gone, but with no sighting of the 'Strutting Beak' they left disappointed.

I went to Old Ivanhoe corner on Saturday night but only found it full of leggy blondes.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
27 Mar 2006, 13:53
I went to Old Ivanhoe corner on Saturday night but only found it full of leggy blondes.

I thought SMG said they weren't there:D

Slay Master G
27 Mar 2006, 14:39

The Strutting Beak may very well be back this weekend, and in force.

I will have a word to him about Flash 80's at Boo Boo's on Friday then Motel on Saturday, followed up with a special Grand Prix Sunday session.
DAG, see you in OI corner.

Destination A Grade
27 Mar 2006, 15:02
The Strutting Beak may very well be back this weekend, and in force.

I will have a word to him about Flash 80's at Boo Boo's on Friday then Motel on Saturday, followed up with a special Grand Prix Sunday session.
DAG, see you in OI corner.

The way I ran around on the weekend i probably should hit Flash this week. I couldn't go any worse - I hope.

Slay Master G
27 Mar 2006, 15:12
The way I ran around on the weekend i probably should hit Flash this week. I couldn't go any worse - I hope.

Did Elvis Hakim towell you up...?

Surely there have been worse performances, like me against OI, in 2004. Barely touched it, although the tightness of J Stevens shorts meant that I couldn't concentrate.

Destination A Grade
28 Mar 2006, 06:17
Did Elvis Hakim towell you up...?

It reminded me of the couple of weeks i strung together a few years ago where Hawkins kicked 9 on me and then the next week Greig kicked 9 on me. Great memories.

Scribe
28 Mar 2006, 07:59
It reminded me of the couple of weeks i strung together a few years ago where Hawkins kicked 9 on me and then the next week Greig kicked 9 on me. Great memories.

DAG,

Towelled up by a couple of handy bloodnuts!!!! :D

Never mind, the fact you were chosen by OI for such a mammoth task alone speaks volumes for your capability. Having said that, here's hoping the Big Cat has a chance to dance with you in round 2!!

Last season David Beardsley played tight as a drum on Lynch from Xavs and still had 7 kicked on him. Some days are better than others.

Scribe

Destination A Grade
28 Mar 2006, 08:49
Who is the Big Cat?? Is it Walsh??

Scribe
28 Mar 2006, 09:01

Correct.

Slay Master G
28 Mar 2006, 09:03

Yes it's Walsh.

Scribe, how did the BC go on Saturday, he tells me he was a bit rusty.

How do the Snow Dogs go, did the No.1 all time greatest VAFA reserves footballer, Justin Evans, star playing loose across half back in the curtain raiser.

Scribe
28 Mar 2006, 10:41
Yes it's Walsh.

Scribe, how did the BC go on Saturday, he tells me he was a bit rusty.

How do the Snow Dogs go, did the No.1 all time greatest VAFA reserves footballer, Justin Evans, star playing loose across half back in the curtain raiser.

SMG,

BC looked in pretty good shape, kicked a couple and was involved in a couple more, but he did struggle a touch to find the pill. You could put it down to the midfield not being quite as direct as he'd like at times. Bernies chased well defensively to put pressure on a ball carriers. I think a few night's straight with his mum's home cooking once he returns from Syd-a-knee should see him back in good touch.

As for the more important game - It probably wasn't the best outing I've seen from A reserve's greatest CHB. Knowing how important he is to their structure, we played a decoy CHF who basically ran under the ball at every opportunity to deny Evo the chance to rebound. :D

He still would've been in their better players, but needs to get back into the long sleeve #8 jumper instead of insulting himself with a sleeveless #50 - what's going on there????

Red Roy
29 Mar 2006, 09:43
Some Results from last week (only a couple sorry)
B section

Mazenod spanked by Old Brighton

C Section

NOBS over Old Camberwell by about a goal

Fitzroy Reds absolutely flogged T/Penola

Nobs beat Old Camberwell by a goal

willydave
29 Mar 2006, 14:36
Some Results from last week (only a couple sorry)
B section

Mazenod spanked by Old Brighton

C Section

NOBS over Old Camberwell by about a goal

Fitzroy Reds absolutely flogged T/Penola

Nobs beat Old Camberwell by a goal

Collegians over OM's by a 3 or 4.

Scribe
31 Mar 2006, 10:50
Trinity host Old Xavs at Bulleen tomorrow in the dress rehearsal for the Charles St Perpetual Trophy.

U19s @ 10 am
Magoos @12 noon
Seniors @ 2 pm

Weather predictions are for cloudy periods with a few showers - mmm....some welcome respite after last Sunday's stinker!!

I see Scotch have The Hoers at Camberwell, whilst De La should enjoy hosting Whitefriars. Not sure about any others......

froggie6
31 Mar 2006, 11:10
Trinity host Old Xavs at Bulleen tomorrow in the dress rehearsal for the Charles St Perpetual Trophy.

U19s @ 10 am
Magoos @12 noon
Seniors @ 2 pm

Weather predictions are for cloudy periods with a few showers - mmm....some welcome respite after last Sunday's stinker!!

I see Scotch have The Hoers at Camberwell, whilst De La should enjoy hosting Whitefriars. Not sure about any others......

Going out to watch Bernards play OM's at Whitten oval.

Dropkicker
31 Mar 2006, 12:58
Uni Blues are heading down to Sleepy Hollow to play North Shore. Be interesting to see how a GFL side shapes up against one of the benchmarks in the ammos.

Supa Frank
31 Mar 2006, 14:22
Uni Blues are heading down to Sleepy Hollow to play North Shore. Be interesting to see how a GFL side shapes up against one of the benchmarks in the ammos.

SKOB's V MAZENOD @ Waverley Sat

BEAUMARIS V PHILLIP ISLAND @ PI

Robbie
1 Apr 2006, 17:50
Caught a few minutes down at Camberwell today, Old Scotch had an easy win despite having a number of guys out I hear. Bit of a stiff breeze going to the city end making conditions a bit difficult. Score was something like 11.11 to 1.4 at 3/4 time before a few late goals brought it back to approx 13.13 to 5.8. Sorry for lack of specifics.

jogger
1 Apr 2006, 20:37
Caught a look of Old Brighton and Collegians with a typical windy/cold day at the beach. Collegians got up by a couple of goals in the end. Nick Roach slotted back into the collegians back line with ease, controlling the full back line at every opportunity...

Red Roy
2 Apr 2006, 11:08
Any news on C Section Games yesterday?

Parkdale v mordiallic - would have been a cracker considering mordy have had a bout 10 at training and Parkdale about 20

Any other results?

froggie6
2 Apr 2006, 11:28
Going out to watch Bernards play OM's at Whitten oval.

In shocking conditions the Doggies ran all over OM's. Ended up around 10 goal winners. Dogs fitness is awesome.

brian speaking
2 Apr 2006, 16:09
SKOB's V MAZENOD @ Waverley Sat

BEAUMARIS V PHILLIP ISLAND @ PI

The Nodders defeated SKOB in ridiculous conditions at Mazenod. Wind gusts of cyclonic proportions.

buffolo bill
2 Apr 2006, 17:28
monash blues thumped an ordinary old carey.

Moss Rocket
3 Apr 2006, 09:34
Don't worry about Old Carey. When they start the season with their full side in round 1, they will be super competitive. Never easy playing a side in C section. Was a tricky, windy day and OC's looked a little rusty. Missing 8-10 key players. Was only about an 8 goal loss wasn't it?? I left early!

uglydermie
3 Apr 2006, 10:11
What was Dolly sent off for? Surely you can't be reported in a pracie game?

Moss Rocket
3 Apr 2006, 10:31
Done for elbowing. Not sure if it is an official report (goes to tribunal) or whether just a send off for entire game. Doubt very much tribunal gets involved in praccy matches, as i heard last week even an A-Grade praccy was being umpired by a club rep due to non appearance by umpire.

Max Leader
3 Apr 2006, 10:47
Moss,

VAFA take these matches seriously, and yes players can be suspended.

Clubs have the right to lodge an investigation for any incident in any game if the club feel it is warranted.

Plumber
3 Apr 2006, 10:59
Any word on how Xavs are travelling? Word is they have lost a few and may struggle to back up this year...

Snoozer
3 Apr 2006, 11:06
Josh Madden is under review by the Ammo's executive board after making unnecessary contact with an umpire during the St Bernards v OM's game.

Moss Rocket
3 Apr 2006, 11:44
Any word on how Xavs are travelling? Word is they have lost a few and may struggle to back up this year...

I have heard the opposite. Supposedly lost nobody worth mentioning, recruirted a few guns, and have a power of young U19's pushing for selection. I think they towelled Old Trinity @ Trinity on Saturday, and also won the praccy the week before against Marcillan (may have wrong team, but whoever it was against, they beat)

Richo- true champion
3 Apr 2006, 13:06
I have heard the opposite. Supposedly lost nobody worth mentioning, recruirted a few guns, and have a power of young U19's pushing for selection. I think they towelled Old Trinity @ Trinity on Saturday, and also won the praccy the week before against Marcillan (may have wrong team, but whoever it was against, they beat)

yeh they beat Old trinity by about ten goals, in a game where 3 players for OT's were sent off....it got a little bit willing towards the end.

However, the reserves for Old Trinity continued on their winning ways, defeating XAVS by a few points.

Whilst Xav's won the 19's clash by 70 points.

Vafa06
3 Apr 2006, 13:13
Josh Madden is not under review by the VAFA. wrong information posted by a bored, lost person

Benny MOF
3 Apr 2006, 13:23
Josh Madden is not under review by the VAFA. wrong information posted by a bored, lost person

vafa06, what are you going to do with your name next year...?

Vafa06
3 Apr 2006, 14:00
vafa06, what are you going to do with your name next year...?

Change it to VAFA07

Tribe
3 Apr 2006, 15:15
Xavs indeed looked stacked this year and quietly think they may have improved from 2005. It's easy to forget they staggered into the Finals before catching fire (again) on GF day.

Besides the 'big' names (M. Graham and A. Lord) they've picked up 4-5 country kids via the Bones Richardson AFL network who are pushing regulars out of the 1sts.

The coach is already slightly stressed about team selection. Big names could be playing early doors in 2006.

brian speaking
3 Apr 2006, 15:27
Xavs indeed looked stacked this year and quietly think they may have improved from 2005. It's easy to forget they staggered into the Finals before catching fire (again) on GF day.

Besides the 'big' names (M. Graham and A. Lord) they've picked up 4-5 country kids via the Bones Richardson AFL network who are pushing regulars out of the 1sts.

The coach is already slightly stressed about team selection. Big names could be playing early doors in 2006.

Time they changed their name from Old Xavs to No-one from Xavs...

Moss Rocket
3 Apr 2006, 16:30
Time they changed their name from Old Xavs to No-one from Xavs...

What a wonderful recipe it is down at Toorak Park Brian! A great mix of home grown talent, a sprinkling of outside influence, all topped off with a special sauce from the envy tree. Available for your consumption at all Bakers Delight & Boscastle Pie shops!

Dropkicker
7 Apr 2006, 14:22
Who is playing whom this weekend? I assume most sides would be looking to field a side as close as possible to their round 1 team? This weekend might give a better indication of who really has recruited well. I know Bernards is playing Uni Blues at the snakepit. Let me know any details of other praccy matches to be played this weekend.......

Max Leader
7 Apr 2006, 15:00
Who is playing whom this weekend? I assume most sides would be looking to field a side as close as possible to their round 1 team? This weekend might give a better indication of who really has recruited well. I know Bernards is playing Uni Blues at the snakepit. Let me know any details of other praccy matches to be played this weekend.......

DK

Visit the following sites for all practice matches.

http://www.vafa.com.au/_content/document/00046685-src.xls

Max

Supa Frank
7 Apr 2006, 15:26
OMs V Old Hail will be a pretty willing praccy match if people have nothing on.

Frederik Kanoute
8 Apr 2006, 00:22
OM's were rubbish last week and don't look like getting a whole lot better
Hail should put them away by 10 if they field a decent side

Frederik Kanoute
8 Apr 2006, 00:25
Josh Madden is under review by the Ammo's executive board after making unnecessary contact with an umpire during the St Bernards v OM's game.

Don't know where the hell you got this from?!?!? The "unnecessary contact" was giving the ball back a bit too hard.
Clearly going nowhere in life snoozer

couchgrinder
9 Apr 2006, 08:55
Anyone see how Skobbers went against MHSOB yesterday ??

Axel1980
9 Apr 2006, 21:37
Scotch beat Marc by 5-6 goals in a pretty good contest, the Scotch 2's also snuck over the line

froggie6
10 Apr 2006, 09:17
St Bernards beat Uni in a very high standard game. Ended up being a 2 goal win, but the dogs were up by 4-5 most of the day. Great game to watch.

Doc Wieldon
10 Apr 2006, 11:44
Skob were up by 7 goals at 1/4 time then lost three big names including stand in skipper Duggan and ended up losing by a couple of points. Word is they had at least 6 starting 18 out. Not sure how strong Melbournes line up was.

In another game Old Brighton played St Bedes and from all reports was about even. Hard to gauge as the game was played at Brighton which is a ********house oval when windy.

The Big Pineapple
10 Apr 2006, 12:10
Skob were up by 7 goals at 1/4 time then lost three big names including stand in skipper Duggan and ended up losing by a couple of points. Word is they had at least 6 starting 18 out. Not sure how strong Melbournes line up was.

In another game Old Brighton played St Bedes and from all reports was about even. Hard to gauge as the game was played at Brighton which is a ********house oval when windy.

Is that the reoccurrence of Duggan’s Ostitis Goochus???

Doc Wieldon
10 Apr 2006, 12:27
Correct

muesli
15 Apr 2006, 16:06
Practice Mach Result for Thursday 13th April @ Noble Park
Reserves:
Noble Park 7.12-54 Old Hailebury 3.2-20

Seniors:
Noble Park 4.2 12.5 16.6 22.10-142
Old Hailebury 2.4 3.6 8.9 10.11-71

buffolo bill
15 Apr 2006, 19:58
only a practice match i know, i know.... efl is a good comp, not one ammo team in this pre season who has gone up against a div 1 efl team has come out on top.

caustic
15 Apr 2006, 22:57
North Shore quiet easily accounted for Uni Blues. Must be a pretty good league the GFL

holding
26 Apr 2006, 14:09
Excuse my ignorance but North Shore? GFL?

Who are they? what league is that?

couchgrinder
26 Apr 2006, 14:16
Excuse my ignorance but North Shore? GFL?

Who are they? what league is that?

North Shore are in the Geelong Footy League.
Very strong club ,are like the Old Xavs of that league ,won a load of flags and if they dont win are usually near the top.
Wear Williamstown colours.

holding
26 Apr 2006, 14:37
Thanks mate