View Full Version : Family Day- Celebrations!

Shell
19 Mar 2006, 15:48
Should be winding up about now...

Anyway for all the unfortunates working today (ie. me), please feel free to post some (legit) photos/ reports of the day!

Would really love to know!

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:44
OK Shell.
I'll post some photos, not all, maybe 9-10.
Anyway, i didn't get there till just before the jumper presentations so i'm not sure what happened for the first couple of hours. Then there was an autograph signing, people had been waiting for 3 hours, i luckily strolled off to the side of the autograph tent where the players passed on their way to the tables. I wasn't going to get line a 100m long line for autographs. In that spot i got a few nice pics of a few players.
The signings ended after an hour or so, many fans missed out even after waiting for hours. Darren Milburn stayed behind, you could tell he felt bad for all the fans that had been waiting and missed out on autographs, and he was still there signing when i left. I think King hung around for a bit longer too, as did Gazza.

As expected everyone wanted a piece of Jimmy and Gaz. Never seen so many 16 yr old girls barely dressed with 3 kgs of makeup on hoping to get a gaze from Jimmy.

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:47
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/anchorman.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/gaz.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/gazza.jpg

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:51
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/catscup.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/boris.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/boris2.jpg

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:53
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/catters.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/cbomb.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/cbomb2.jpg

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:56
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/dasher.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/gaznjim.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/harls.jpg

Renegade
19 Mar 2006, 17:57
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/king.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c302/Renegade27/smiffy.jpg

skankfest
19 Mar 2006, 18:00
Agreed on the 16 year old tarts.

Had a pretty average day. Was free so I can't really complain, so instead I'll try to point out the positives and the people that made them possible.

Arrived at the ground early, waited til 2. Went in and got straight into the line for autographs. At this time the line ended on the near side of the centre square. Stood out there during all the speaches and presentations and therefore couldn't see or hear much. That's cool. Really wanted some autographs.

When it was announced that they were signing autographs I felt it was worth missing out on hearing the presentations.

However, the line only moved 20m for the entire time we were lined up from 2.30 til ten to 5. Then security came and told us that they had stopped signing autographs. Shoulda seen our faces.

Luckily Bomber, Harley, Dasher and a few younger guys (didn't recognise them :o ) stayed around to autograph some more for about half an hour. until security ushered us out.

Brad Ottens and Travis Varcoe were outside and they graciously signed stuff for anyone who stopped them.

So thanks to the guys who went the extra distance. Much appreciated.

LongBomb
19 Mar 2006, 18:08
Jeez, that sounds a bit rough.
Wouldn't you be better off just getting some autographs after a training session?

skankfest
19 Mar 2006, 18:11
Yeah, we probably shoulda got them at a training session. We discussed this in the car on our way home to Ballarat. :thumbsu:

LifeSpan-Void
19 Mar 2006, 18:23
Boris looks very unwell. :rolleyes:

skankfest
19 Mar 2006, 18:35
http://members.dodo.com.au/geelong35/100_0281.jpg
That's what I've been waiting to see!

Shell
19 Mar 2006, 18:54
OK Shell.
I'll post some photos, not all, maybe 9-10.
Anyway, i didn't get there till just before the jumper presentations so i'm not sure what happened for the first couple of hours. Then there was an autograph signing, people had been waiting for 3 hours, i luckily strolled off to the side of the autograph tent where the players passed on their way to the tables. I wasn't going to get line a 100m long line for autographs. In that spot i got a few nice pics of a few players.
The signings ended after an hour or so, many fans missed out even after waiting for hours. Darren Milburn stayed behind, you could tell he felt bad for all the fans that had been waiting and missed out on autographs, and he was still there signing when i left. I think King hung around for a bit longer too, as did Gazza.

As expected everyone wanted a piece of Jimmy and Gaz. Never seen so many 16 yr old girls barely dressed with 3 kgs of makeup on hoping to get a
gaze from Jimmy.

Thanks Renegade and everyone else!

When I got home from work also caught some of it on the news.

Anyway, it's too bad the players just cant wander around the crowd like they used to, rather than being at 'desks' and everyone having to qeue up in a bloody line! I remember the fam days at the zoo and luna park and they were awesome. :thumbsu:

I would have chucked a mental had i lined up that long and not got any autographs!

And I apologise on behalf on my gender (or were you actually complaining ;) ?) about the 16 year old tarts. Seriously sometimes girls dont have a freaken clue!! And they're wasting their time on Jimmy, hes taken (as far as i know) and she seems like a real nice girl!

Rosella
19 Mar 2006, 18:58
I was there. 3 times as many people as last year. Don't doubt the pulling power of Gaz, my nephew's two half sisters, aged 12 and 9, became members today because the love Gaz. Pity they were too small to see the presentation although their dad lifted them up.

Rosella
19 Mar 2006, 19:00
Normally there would be plenty of time for autographs just they didn't get back til three. I loved the zoo and luna park ones best though

skankfest
19 Mar 2006, 19:01
It's amusing when 80% of people are there in jeans and a cats jumper 19.5% are in flannies and trakkies.

And 0.5% are there in skimpy outfits like a club jumper and boots. How many teenager were in cowboy boots? Is that the fashion? :confused:

I'm sure that these guys can pretty much have thier pick of hot chicky-babes ( to quote Bruno Lucia) any night of the week.

Still, it gave the 16yr old boys something to look at while waiting in line :D

Rosella
19 Mar 2006, 19:04
It's amusing when 80% of people are there in jeans and a cats jumper 19.5% are in flannies and trakkies.

And 0.5% are there in skimpy outfits like a club jumper and boots. How many teenager were in cowboy boots? Is that the fashion? :confused:

I'm sure that these guys can pretty much have thier pick of hot chicky-babes ( to quote Bruno Lucia) any night of the week.

Still, it gave the 16yr old boys something to look at while waiting in line :D

Cowboy things are in fashion - thanks to Brokeback.

They aren't even going to look at a 16 year old. You're right, they can pick and choose who they want.

Turbocat
19 Mar 2006, 19:06
Jeez, that sounds a bit rough.
Wouldn't you be better off just getting some autographs after a training session?

Yeah thats what I was thinking.Looked at the line and had to tell a couple of very disappointed girls that it wasn't worth it. Question what times are training held? Before the new website change it was on GFC.com.au but now I cant find it.

Shell
19 Mar 2006, 19:12
Normally there would be plenty of time for autographs just they didn't get back til three. I loved the zoo and luna park ones best though

Oh and also the one at the pool!! Remember chatting with G.Hocking (and thinking while talking to him "i cant believe im talking to Garry Hocking! :D ) and seeing his and Melindas (?) new bub! Oh and getting Colberts autograph too.

Why cant they have a day somewhere else than KP again?? Maybe the costs involved, but surely you could charge people $10 a pop or something. At least it'd be more interesting than having it at the footy ground.

*koulagirl
19 Mar 2006, 20:10
Yeah thats what I was thinking.Looked at the line and had to tell a couple of very disappointed girls that it wasn't worth it. Question what times are training held? Before the new website change it was on GFC.com.au but now I cant find it.

It's there, you need put your mouse on 'News' and then the link comes up underneath the header.
They recommend you email them to make sure anyway.

Turbocat
19 Mar 2006, 20:26
It's there, you need put your mouse on 'News' and then the link comes up underneath the header.
They recommend you email them to make sure anyway.

Thanks KG

jess_555
19 Mar 2006, 21:48
Unfortunately I couldn't make it to the family day this year. I remember going a few years ago when it was at Lunar Park! It was SOOOOO fun! You could go on rides with players and stuff. I went on a ride with a player... he had red hair but it wasn't Lingy or Timmy. I don't even know who it was but it was cool as! ;) LOL

Maybe we should send an email to the GFC with suggestions of places it could be for next time. Coz it sounds like lots of people didn't really like it that much this year.

Oh and those pictures are great! I'm in love with the half Cat one! BTW why is he called 'half cat'???

Shell
19 Mar 2006, 21:52
Unfortunately I couldn't make it to the family day this year. I remember going a few years ago when it was at Lunar Park! It was SOOOOO fun! You could go on rides with players and stuff. I went on a ride with a player... he had red hair but it wasn't Lingy or Timmy. I don't even know who it was but it was cool as! ;) LOL

Maybe we should send an email to the GFC with suggestions of places it could be for next time. Coz it sounds like lots of people didn't really like it that much this year.

Oh and those pictures are great! I'm in love with the half Cat one! BTW why is he called 'half cat'???

Cause he has the number 1/2 on the back of his jumper? I hope you already knew that but, or i'd be worried!

As for Luna Park thats was aaaaaages ago wasnt it?? COuld it have been Hickmott maybe?

But yeah LP was awesome. It cost something like a tenner and we got unlimited rides!

jess_555
19 Mar 2006, 21:54
HAHAHA I'm SUCH an idiot! LMAO I new half cat had 1/2 on his back but it never really clicked as to why. Oh My Gosh i'm dumb. Sorry about that!

Maybe it was Hickmott. I have no idea. Thanks Shell. :)

Shell
19 Mar 2006, 21:57
HAHAHA I'm SUCH an idiot! LMAO I new half cat had 1/2 on his back but it never really clicked as to why. Oh My Gosh i'm dumb. Sorry about that!

Maybe it was Hickmott. I have no idea. Thanks Shell. :)

Jess are you by any chance a blonde?! Im not trying to be mean, just saying it tounge in cheek! (im blonde btw too)

But you crack me up mate!! :thumbsu:

Good idea too as well about contacting the club. KP should be used for shalacking oppositon clubs. Should get some imagination n transfer the fam days somewhere new!

jess_555
19 Mar 2006, 22:03
No... I have brown hair. :) But people often think i'm drunk when i'm sober so you know, I think i'm just a craZy one. hehehe

Turbocat
19 Mar 2006, 22:05
Really I think they need to organise it a little differently essp if the numbers are any bigger than today. The setup was poor for kids longing to see their heros bring in the Cup and get their jumpers. Maybe the presentation should happen in front of the New Hickey stand , heeps of seat for everyone or get the players/presentation higher in one of the stands so everyone can see them.
I thought the sound was ordinary as well.Billy was clear as a bell but Frankie sounded like he had a mouth full of marbles.Said something about wishing he had two more stands like the New Hickey but basically I couldn't make out much he said at all.

Rosella
19 Mar 2006, 22:17
It was the same setup as last year, but they only had a third of the people and the players weren't having to come back from interstate so there was more of a chance to mingle.

Shocking to see from today - I'm 157 cms so it was difficult enough but worse for the kids - and it is FAMILY day. Kids even had to queue to go on the big slide and pat the animals so they have to think about what happens next year

AnneFran
19 Mar 2006, 22:33
I also went today and found that it wasn't well done. Poor kids couldn't see unless they were propped on their parents shoulders and then that caused everyone else problems.

I was just happy to see the boys and pleased that they won. However, I think most of them need some more media training etc. Most of the time they were looking at the ground, rarely smiling. (Admittedly that was mostly the younger ones) Guys like Hunt and Mooney (moondog especially) were jokers which was great. And Gaz, well u gotta love him.

BTW - 16yr old tarts were in force! What are their parents thinking???? OMG, short shorts, boots and cats jumpers??? Good luck to them I guess. Keep dreaming!!!!

LifeSpan-Void
20 Mar 2006, 05:56
BTW - 16yr old tarts were in force! What are their parents thinking???? OMG, short shorts, boots and cats jumpers??? Good luck to them I guess. Keep dreaming!!!!

nothing to get too fussed about, they're just Geelong's next generation of single mothers :D

RoyalCatFan
20 Mar 2006, 07:57
nothing to get too fussed about, they're just Geelong's next generation of single mothers :D

I prefer to think of them as father son breeding tanks.

Rosso
20 Mar 2006, 15:46
Couldn't make it yesterday but going on the pics in the paper it's no wonder there were a few dissapointed people come days end. If you want to cheer up, just watch the bloody replay again.

I went last year and it was fantastic. My son got nearly everyones autograph with nearly all the players just standing around at various parts of the ground. Obvoiusly with triple the amount of people there it was going to make it hard to please all & sundry but head down to training and most of the guys are happy to sign stuff and pose for photos.