View Full Version : Battrick
Bartram_Class
19 Mar 2006, 20:07
Anyone on here play this?
Need someone to play in a friendly next week, wondering if anyone was interested.....
Yze_Class
RoosterLad
19 Mar 2006, 20:17
Southern Guns (5829) if you want a game
andrew_embley
19 Mar 2006, 22:33
Anyone on here play this?
Need someone to play in a friendly next week, wondering if anyone was interested.....
Yze_Class
Thanks for hammering me today mate. I was no match :D :(
if anyone else needs a friendly also:
Roys Boys
and i am crap ..... ask Yze :D
Bartram_Class
19 Mar 2006, 22:36
Thanks for hammering me today mate. I was no match :D :(
if anyone else needs a friendly also:
Roys Boys
and i am crap ..... ask Yze :D
Nah last time you took me to the last ball.....
Today can be forgotten, at least your last pair put on 20 or so, and 130 on a batsmans deck isnt too bad ;)
Your bowlers did well for you though....:D
Bartram_Class
19 Mar 2006, 22:37
Southern Guns (5829) if you want a game
You got a friendly for next week?
I'll challenge you, you can accept if you want....:thumbsu:
RoosterLad
21 Mar 2006, 10:44
no friendly lined up yet
Glenno23
21 Mar 2006, 11:54
what is battrick and where do i play it?
I'm up for any challenges. My team is the Tassie Titans (6281).
RoosterLad
21 Mar 2006, 20:00
what is battrick and where do i play it?
Battrick is an online cricket management game, like Hattrick but you may have never played that either.
www.battrick.org
Renegade
22 Mar 2006, 17:06
Renegade Enterprises (714)
Just signed up, having never played hattrick b4 looks a bit confusing for now, only skimmed over it though so will have a better look..
Feel free to offer any tips though....
Cheers
king_Brown
24 Mar 2006, 10:01
My team is Eastenders:thumbsu:
Dunno the number but I'm a Windies side so if anyone wants a Freindly then post on this thread and we'll sort it out:)
Currently #1 in my league:D
crowsarethebest
24 Mar 2006, 10:58
My team names bonecrushers. Anyone welcome to challenge me.. Just started though so you'll probably smash me.
I have my opposition 8/55 in the 24th over.
Looks like another win on the way...
Lol im all out for 70 odd, just reading the rules atm trying to figure wtf i am supoosed to do, looks ok though...
Do i buy heaps of trainers now??
or do i try n buy a decent player with my cash??
Just dont want to rush in and spend unecessary cash.
Sidey_87
24 Mar 2006, 11:25
Lol im all out for 70 odd, just reading the rules atm trying to figure wtf i am supoosed to do, looks ok though...
Buy 5 batting coaches and 5 bowling coaches, because you can only allocate 10 sessions per week.
Have a good look at your squad, there's a fair chance you might be able to pick up a more decent player than you have in your starting 11 for 1 or 2 grand.
I would work on developing youth players if i were you.
If you have handy youngsters who are better that mediocre at batting or bowling, give them all 5 sessions.
No point trying to get the worser players trained because you will most likely buy better ones anyway.
When buying a player, don't worry too much about their battrick rating, because they may be great fielders but can't bat or bowl.
Look at the rating of batting/bowling and make sure it's atleast mediocre.
Cheers.
My team is Bangladesh, i'll play a friendly against you next week.
Buy 5 batting coaches and 5 bowling coaches, because you can only allocate 10 sessions per week.
Have a good look at your squad, there's a fair chance you might be able to pick up a more decent player than you have in your starting 11 for 1 or 2 grand.
I would work on developing youth players if i were you.
If you have handy youngsters who are better that mediocre at batting or bowling, give them all 5 sessions.
No point trying to get the worser players trained because you will most likely buy better ones anyway.
When buying a player, don't worry too much about their battrick rating, because they may be great fielders but can't bat or bowl.
Look at the rating of batting/bowling and make sure it's atleast mediocre.
Cheers.
My team is Bangladesh, i'll play a friendly against you next week.
Yeh ok , thx for that sidey, much appreciated!!
corporal
24 Mar 2006, 13:35
Love Battrick, into my 2nd season and just starting to get a great sqaud together,
If anyone wants to play a friendly my team is corporals 11 ID: 665
I'm #3 in IV.58 league
corporal
24 Mar 2006, 13:39
Buy a good batsmen and a good bowler (competent-respectable) and a decent alrounder,
From my experience the youth academy can have varied results and it can be cheaper just to not invest anything and just shop around for bargains,
The more training sessions for one player the less effective they become so I like to spread them around, concentrate on developing your best 11 with a few backups (I had a complete 2nd 11 team at one stage but realised I wasn't getting anywhere)
king_Brown
24 Mar 2006, 14:56
hey guys...
how do you challenge someone to a freindly??
Buy a good batsmen and a good bowler (competent-respectable) and a decent alrounder,
From my experience the youth academy can have varied results and it can be cheaper just to not invest anything and just shop around for bargains,
The more training sessions for one player the less effective they become so I like to spread them around, concentrate on developing your best 11 with a few backups (I had a complete 2nd 11 team at one stage but realised I wasn't getting anywhere)
Sounds like good advice, obviously im just starting so what wld you say would be the maximum i should be spending on buying a new player or players this early on without putting my finances under too much stress...
Because casting my novice eye over my list i feel i desperately do need some better players...
Cheers
RoosterLad
24 Mar 2006, 15:07
yeah the most training sessions i give a player is 3, and thats not all the same type of training
17 year olds improve quicker on primary skills
youth academy is VERY random
get some sports psychologists too, i have 4 currently, they help out your kids who are training
Also, there is a spreadsheet available where you can keep track of your players improving etc, like HAM for hattrick, it can be a little difficult to understand at first but now im used to it i dont mind it at all.
http://virtualdesigns.co.uk/battrick/
if you do try it and have a few problems then ask a question and i should be able to help
anyone want a friendly i am up for it (saying that I am new so chances are you are going to flog the pants off me)
Gremlins (638)
RoosterLad
24 Mar 2006, 17:17
hey guys...
how do you challenge someone to a freindly??
just click on their name, it will bring up a screen with all their details, and challenge will be somewhere on the right
king_Brown
24 Mar 2006, 20:15
just click on their name, it will bring up a screen with all their details, and challenge will be somewhere on the right
Cheers mate:thumbsu: :)
king_Brown
24 Mar 2006, 20:40
If anybody wants a friendly vs a Windies team then my team is - Eastenders (8341)
#1 In my current League and have a very good team as I have only been playing for about 2 months...
BRING IT ON PEOPLE!!!:)
Hahaha..this sucks, i keep getting outbid at last minute.........
Just curious, with training how long roughly does it take to get a player to jump a level?
Also if u fire a player to do u still pay out his contract til end of season? Im guessing you do, i think there is only a few games left in this current season so wldnt mind getting rid of a few of my duds and i doubt anyone wld want to buy them....
Is training set for the monday?, think i read that somewhere but cant see it now???
It does look like a pretty awesome game tho, should be fun, will take ages to build a decent team tho
Sidey_87
26 Mar 2006, 11:48
Hahaha..this sucks, i keep getting outbid at last minute.........
Just curious, with training how long roughly does it take to get a player to jump a level?
Also if u fire a player to do u still pay out his contract til end of season? Im guessing you do, i think there is only a few games left in this current season so wldnt mind getting rid of a few of my duds and i doubt anyone wld want to buy them....
Is training set for the monday?, think i read that somewhere but cant see it now???
It does look like a pretty awesome game tho, should be fun, will take ages to build a decent team tho
Yeah just put your duds on sale for $0, they have 2 bid atleast 1000.
I've been playing for 12 weeks and i'm now winning almost half my games.
RoosterLad
26 Mar 2006, 12:21
yes training is Monday
check your notes under Club > Diary and it tells you when the training update has taken place
Renegade
26 Mar 2006, 16:27
You guys get any decent youth pulls this week?
Bartram_Class
26 Mar 2006, 16:36
I'm second in my league at the minute (9 wins - 1 loss) and on a pretty good run at the minute, 7 wins in a row i think it is.
Looking for a friendly match next week, team name - Otis Centaurs.
nananana catman
26 Mar 2006, 16:38
My Team is Seven XI, you can challenge me if you want.
How long will it take for me to get a team?
Bartram_Class
26 Mar 2006, 19:59
How long will it take for me to get a team?
About 2-3 days, thats how long it took me and my mates.
corporal
27 Mar 2006, 12:12
Sounds like good advice, obviously im just starting so what wld you say would be the maximum i should be spending on buying a new player or players this early on without putting my finances under too much stress...
Because casting my novice eye over my list i feel i desperately do need some better players...
Cheers
The sooner you start winning games the sooner your membership increases = more money, don't be afraid to spend aggressively (but wisely get an idea of what players are worth) so that you can start getting good results.
This week as top up players I've bought a competent 18yo spinner for $20000 and a 17yo competent batsman who also has a mediocre bowling rating for $30000 so there are fairly cheap players who can have instant impacts.
Also when buying players look for good concentration ratings for batsmen, and good consistency ratings for bowlers which is an often over looked skill.
The sooner you start winning games the sooner your membership increases = more money, don't be afraid to spend aggressively (but wisely get an idea of what players are worth) so that you can start getting good results.
This week as top up players I've bought a competent 18yo spinner for $20000 and a 17yo competent batsman who also has a mediocre bowling rating for $30000 so there are fairly cheap players who can have instant impacts.
Also when buying players look for good concentration ratings for batsmen, and good consistency ratings for bowlers which is an often over looked skill.
K thx corp, Yeh i am slowly starting to get the hang of things now, Ive been searching the trade section looking for a decent buy, hopefully i will snag one soon..
and thx to all the ppl who have offered suggestions, been really helpful, Cheers..
and if anyone wants a morale boosting friendly win for your team, my team name is Carringbush Crushers
Yeah just put your duds on sale for $0, they have 2 bid atleast 1000.
I've been playing for 12 weeks and i'm now winning almost half my games.
just started
what is your idea of a dud (just so I know):confused:
(Gremlins is the team name)
crowsarethebest
27 Mar 2006, 14:40
just started
what is your idea of a dud (just so I know):confused:
(Gremlins is the team name)
Someone that doesn't have any potential on improving- the younger the play the better because younger players improve faster.
corporal
27 Mar 2006, 15:02
Someone that doesn't have any potential on improving- the younger the play the better because younger players improve faster.
Don't waste your time on a batsmen/bowler whose primary skill level (batting/bowling) is woeful or less, the only exception to this is if they have a really good concentration/consistency level,
crowsarethebest
27 Mar 2006, 15:58
Don't waste your time on a batsmen/bowler whose primary skill level (batting/bowling) is woeful or less, the only exception to this is if they have a really good concentration/consistency level,
Yeah and stamina. Stamina is important because if they didn't have stamina they wouldn't make many big scores.
beaver's army
27 Mar 2006, 16:02
i just signed up and am waiting to be alocated a team.
Im not sure if i got lucky or not being allocated a team, i signed up and within 5 minutes i had a team
My team name is Trigg's Army. Challenge me if you like I am yet to play a game.
RoosterLad
27 Mar 2006, 22:00
You guys get any decent youth pulls this week?
It's so random. I just had a go then, put 6 of my 10 ITS into bowling cos my bowling stocks are like lindsay lohan. 0 into batting, and a bit into consistency and stamina
Got a respectable batter and woeful bowler! (still probably my best ever)
corporal
28 Mar 2006, 09:00
It's so random. I just had a go then, put 6 of my 10 ITS into bowling cos my bowling stocks are like lindsay lohan. 0 into batting, and a bit into consistency and stamina
For this reason I think it is almost better to not invest in a youth program and just invest in the open market, saying this I have got two respectable batsman out of the program but I have spent a hell of a lot.
After I finish training my current batsman I am going to stop my youth program. Although I am at a stage where I am going to start saving for a $750,000+ player to try and get to the next level
Sheik Mathious
28 Mar 2006, 15:57
Looking for a friendly match
Carlton Hotspurs (5139)
corporal
28 Mar 2006, 16:06
Looking for a friendly match
Carlton Hotspurs (5139)
Funny that I've played you a few times!
Renegade
28 Mar 2006, 19:03
Best way to do it is save your ITS. When you have 30 saved up, use them all on a 17 yr old. If you still want a youth pull that week just pull one without using ITS. Spending the 10 every week doesnt really give you much hope, but using 30 every 3 weeks on a 17 yr old gives you a fair chance.
RoosterLad
28 Mar 2006, 19:18
Yeah thats a good idea then, im pumping 0 bucks into my youth thing now, last couple of weeks i havent used my ITS at all. I was gonna save up but didnt know if it would be worth it or not.
Never know, he might turn into a half decent batter by the looks of him.
Sammy D
28 Mar 2006, 19:22
Fighters of Foo (899)
We should have a Bigfooty Cup next season.
My team chops
I'm Symonds Strikers in division 5 and am winning my league with relative ease. Won all my games this season. :thumbsu::)
Shakin77
20 Jun 2006, 17:31
What the best player that any player has got out of the academy.
My best is this bloke.
Phil Giddings - 17 yo, BT Rating=
LH Batsman, LFM Bowler, superb batting form, superb bowling form, moderate
A cautious player with strong leadership skills and worthless experience.
Stamina: woeful Wicket Keeping: worthless
Batting: respectable Concentration: woeful
Bowling: competent Consistency: competent
Fielding: abysmal
Has since popped in Fielding, Bowling, Batting and Consistency.
Should be a good player.
Has anyone got a player with a primary of strong?