View Full Version : WA Kids

wizard_9
23 Mar 2006, 18:56
Can someone please give me as much information a spossible on the WA Kids?

I know a fair bit about the Sa based boys if you want some info on them guys but unfortunatley know jack ******** about the WA boys. I'm thinking Gumbelton, Jetta etc.

outsider
23 Mar 2006, 21:22
Keep an eye out for.

Leroy Jetta
Clayton Collard South Freo
Morgan Cooper

Courtney Moores
Cameron Heise Subiaco
Blake Broadhurst

Scott Cumbleton
Hayden Ballantyne Peel

Shaun Colbung jr
Gary Moss East Perth

Alex Ciotti East Freo

Blake Arnold
Dion Alec West Perth

Clint Benjamin
Darren Harper Claremont

David Nankervill
Trevor Johnson Swan Dist

Aaron Zucconi
Tom Wilday Perth

mojo31
23 Mar 2006, 22:12
Can someone please give me as much information a spossible on the WA Kids?

I know a fair bit about the Sa based boys if you want some info on them guys but unfortunatley know jack ******** about the WA boys. I'm thinking Gumbelton, Jetta etc.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=225797

The WA players are there.

Brock O'Brien
Jetta
Collard
Mackenzie
Gumbleton
Colbung
Moss
Leuenberger

and a few more.

Lingsface
23 Mar 2006, 22:33
Keep an eye out for.

Leroy Jetta
Clayton Collard South Freo
Morgan Cooper

Courtney Moores
Cameron Heise Subiaco
Blake Broadhurst

Scott Cumbleton
Hayden Ballantyne Peel

Shaun Colbung jr
Gary Moss East Perth

Alex Ciotti East Freo

Blake Arnold
Dion Alec West Perth

Clint Benjamin
Darren Harper Claremont

David Nankervill
Trevor Johnson Swan Dist

Aaron Zucconi
Tom Wilday Perth
Morgan Cooper-are you serious??
Courtney Moores-Good player but lacks pace and is probably past it how old is he now 20? to be 20 and drafted hes going to have to have a year like priddis and seeing that he couldnt crack many games last year would surprise me.
Hayden Ballantyne- WOuld of been taken last year if thought good enough, started of well but was found out.

My List
Clinton Benjamin
Erick Mckenzie
Brennan Mills
Jarryd Morton Claremont

Gary Moss
Shawn Colbung jnr
Matthew Leunberger
Chris Monterosso
Luke Sampey
Paul Collins
Daniel Mcauley East Perth

Clayton Collard
Leroy Jetta
Justin Hill
Leigh Kelly South Fremantle

Brett Speldiwinde
Grae Grant
Sharod Wellington Perth

Brock Obrien
Kyle Remiers
Robert Beswick
Scott Gumbelton
Bryce Thronton Peel Thunder

eastlakes rule
24 Mar 2006, 08:23
chris masten, kyle reimers, david myers. all ais/afl academy 06

Ted38
24 Mar 2006, 09:03
Courtney Moores-Good player but lacks pace and is probably past it how old is he now 20? to be 20 and drafted hes going to have to have a year like priddis and seeing that he couldnt crack many games last year would surprise me.
Hayden Ballantyne- WOuld of been taken last year if thought good enough, started of well but was found out.

My List
Clinton Benjamin
Erick Mckenzie
Brennan Mills
Jarryd Morton Claremont

Gary Moss
Shawn Colbung jnr
Matthew Leunberger
Chris Monterosso
Luke Sampey
Paul Collins

Clayton Collard
Leroy Jetta
Justin Hill

Brett Speldiwinde
Grae Grant
Sharod Wellington Perth

Brock Obrien
Kyle Remiers
Robert Beswick
Scott Gumbelton

What about the other WAFL Clubs, dont they have any?

4th Tier
24 Mar 2006, 11:33
Brock Obrien
Kyle Remiers
Robert Beswick
Scott Gumbelton

Definate's to be drafted from Peel this year

Reimers (AIS)
O'Brien (AIS + League experience in 2005)
Gumbleton (2005 AIS + League 2006)
James Hawksley (AIS)

..possibly Bryce Thornton (depending on this season)

nismo_6064
24 Mar 2006, 19:58
add to that list ...
perth
james thompson
michael van de klshorst
daniel venditti

east perth
matt seal
cade trigg

subiaco
jordan adamson-holmes
greg broughton
courtney moores
robbert forrest
blake broadhurst
cameron heise

west perth
andrew crosby
nathan rodger????
dion alec

swans
james embley
dennis amrfield

outsider
26 Mar 2006, 22:29
Nice to see those how played from my original list had outstanding games,and YES Iam serious about Morgan Cooper wait and see?small but team player.

4th Tier
27 Mar 2006, 23:01
WAFL - Round One

Player Stats
http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/assoc_page.cgi?client=%40WAFL%402393%40%40%40%40%40%404%40%4 01%40&sID=47&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=182934&sectionID=47

Match Results
http://reg.sportingpulse.com/onlineresults_new/rpt_progressive.cgi?a=MR_&aID=7&ext=1

Lingsface
27 Mar 2006, 23:41
Mcnamara 50 possesions 15 marks!!!!!!!!! ********

Pafloyul
31 Mar 2006, 10:45
Sign him up!

wellsy
3 Apr 2006, 00:52
Matthew Leuenberger will go in the draft and is just a matter of which number. Has had an interupted pre-season so far but has played both games for East Perth so far. First game started in the ruck but went forward after tiring and kicked a lazy 4. Best tap ruckman in the colts by far, works hard around the ground and has good skills for someone so big. Will be a great AFL player given the time is about 202cm last time we did the height and i cant remember his weight but it would be around 90kg.

Shawn Colbung Jnr is another player who has footy smarts from his father. Not lightning quick but still quick none the less. Can use both sides of the body and can go in and get the hard ball. The kid is solid at such a young age and sits there and just gathers up possie afte possie. Will probably play some league games towards the end of the year but will look to take out the Jack Clarke medal this year. Finished 2nd last year for the East Perth colts best and fairest if i recall. Expect him to go but im not too sure if he can go father son to West Coast or not?

Gary Moss, last year was struck with injuries but so far has been training hard with the league side and done a hard pre-season. First game picked up a lazy 39 possies and this week against South Freo would of been in the high 20's. Has a knack for getting the footy and is usually a good use of the footy on his left (? ******** how much do i pay attention as i cant remember! haha) and has the footy smarts aswell. More of an outside midfielder but can go in and get the footy itself if need be. Silky smooth and would compliment Xavier Ellis on the other wing.

Chris Monterosso, big kid thats for sure! Another interupted pre-season but has worked hard and played his first game this week against South Freo. Played at CHB but i personally think he prefers CHF. Cause he is pretty solid at this level he isnt afraid to run through packs like this week. Running forward from the backline and going through kids. Long kick and a good mark overhead. Should be pushing for 18's honours aswell as the rest of the players mentioned.

We play East Freo this week so i will see how this McNamara bloke is...

mattyc2422
3 Apr 2006, 02:56
Mcnamara 50 possesions 15 marks!!!!!!!!! ********
:eek: Who the hell is this guy?

Streaker
3 Apr 2006, 12:01
Bairstow also played in the colts on the weekend. Named amongst the best but didn't see the game.

theorangeapple
3 Apr 2006, 12:23
Shawn Colbung Jnr is another player who has footy smarts from his father. Not lightning quick but still quick none the less. Can use both sides of the body and can go in and get the hard ball. The kid is solid at such a young age and sits there and just gathers up possie afte possie. Will probably play some league games towards the end of the year but will look to take out the Jack Clarke medal this year. Finished 2nd last year for the East Perth colts best and fairest if i recall. Expect him to go but im not too sure if he can go father son to West Coast or not?

At the moment he isnt eligible, a similar situation to Bryce Gibbs because his dad did play enough games but not in the right time frame. He had to have played them all before 1987, unfortunatley, he played into the 1990's.

wellsy
3 Apr 2006, 23:21
At the moment he isnt eligible, a similar situation to Bryce Gibbs because his dad did play enough games but not in the right time frame. He had to have played them all before 1987, unfortunatley, he played into the 1990's.

Thanks for clarifying that mate.

Also that McNamara bloke only had 5 possies this week... fair contrast to a couple of weeks ago!

carntheeagles
6 Apr 2006, 00:22

My List
Clinton Benjamin
Erick Mckenzie
Brennan Mills
Jarryd Morton Claremont

Gary Moss
Shawn Colbung jnr
Matthew Leunberger
Chris Monterosso
Luke Sampey
Paul Collins

Clayton Collard
Leroy Jetta
Justin Hill

Brett Speldiwinde
Grae Grant
Sharod Wellington Perth

Brock Obrien
Kyle Remiers
Robert Beswick
Scott Gumbelton
haha yes lacking a few teams there lingface :p
but from the guys you had down, surprised that you didnt have:

-james thompson. claremont
-neil martin, micheal vanderklashorst. perth
-callum wilson. south fremantle
-jacob williams. peel

would have thought these guys would be in most people's thoughts for the 18's along with the ones you mentioned

Lingsface
6 Apr 2006, 01:26
haha yes lacking a few teams there lingface :p
but from the guys you had down, surprised that you didnt have:

-james thompson. claremont
-neil martin, micheal vanderklashorst. perth
-callum wilson. south fremantle
-jacob williams. peel

would have thought these guys would be in most people's thoughts for the 18's along with the ones you mentioned
YEah couldnt be ********ed doing the other teams but...on your thoughts.
Most of those players were eligible last year and werent drafted.
Jacob Williams was eligible and was over looked so dont see him going this year.
James Thompson could be apossibility for a rookie listing just because of his athleticism and size but was eligible last year.
Michael Vander Klohst-No!

Lingsface
6 Apr 2006, 01:27
Thanks for clarifying that mate.

Also that McNamara bloke only had 5 possies this week... fair contrast to a couple of weeks ago!
was knocked out wellsy

carntheeagles
6 Apr 2006, 02:10
yeh fair call lingsface, now that i look- all of them except wilson were eligible
and considering last year's draft was pretty weak...they may be struggling this year

wilson had o.p last year but looks to be in contention for an 18's spot this year based on how he played as a 16 yr old in 2004
i think martin will be strong chance as well....had 22 possies on the weekend and is definitely one of perth's better players this year

any info on dane ugle??? he was very exciting in the few games ive seen him play but havent heard about him much for a while now

Dorra
6 Apr 2006, 13:09
was knocked out wellsy

Yeah goodwork lingsface.
Wellingham and McNamara collided heads and both were unable to complete the game. it happened in the first 15mins also so was quite unlucky.
Mcnamara required surgery to fix nerves in his forehead and wellingham was severely concused

4th Tier
7 Apr 2006, 14:21
any info on dane ugle??? he was very exciting in the few games ive seen him play but havent heard about him much for a while now

Broke his leg in round 5 last season, and is due to play colts with Peel Thunder this weekend against South Fremantle, in which will be his first match back.

Has had a limited football preseason, due to his cricketing commitments, seems to be focusing on football now after there was some talk of him going overseas to play cricket.

Been working with the Peel seniors fitness staff and is yet to train with the colts squad this season. A member of the Peel Colts premiership side in 2004 as a 16 year old and a former State u/15 player in 2003. Brother Keiran spent time on the Dockers list and I wouldnt be suprised if they are playing together at South Fremantle within the next couple seasons.

WA CAT ATTACK
7 Apr 2006, 16:29
Dane was going to play cricket over in England at the end of this month. Not sure what has happened :S

wellsy
9 Apr 2006, 20:06
was knocked out wellsy

Yeah i heard he was after i posted and for obvious reasons he didnt play this week against East Perth.

wizard_9
11 Apr 2006, 19:00
As i dont know much about these WA kids could someone pelase go through the names and tell me roughly where they would sit in the draft order this year.

Embers
12 Apr 2006, 00:38
Gumbleton is the best by a mile, a awesome FF, hoping he wud slip under the radar so we cud grab him but appears unlikely, named in the preliminary WA WAFL squad that versus Victoria every year, big wraps, from what ive seen he is probably gonna be ten times the player Lance Franklin is, shud go top 5

Leroy Jetta best midfielder, behind Gibbs and Selwood and probably 3rd best, a good all round player but doesnt impress me that much and doesnt stand out to me, shud go between 10-20.

Colbung is very good but like Swallow little scope for improvement IMO, will go around 30.

Morton is a long term prospect, can play FF or on a wing, going to Eagles father/son and IMO wud of gone around pick 20-35 this year so we dont alright.

Matt Leunberger is a great athlete, probably a long term prospect, one of the better ruckmen in the draft prolly go around pick 20-25.

theorangeapple
12 Apr 2006, 23:36
Leuenburger is top 10 material. Its hard with ruckman because clubs have different policies with them as opposed to other players (see Cam Wood lasting to pick 18 in 2004). I think he is behind Sellar in terms of the best tall/ ruck. If you want a pure ruck then Leunburger is the man. I think he could go from pick 5 to 15.

eagleskickass
16 Apr 2006, 01:55
Shawn Colbung isnt eligible for WCE Father Son, his Dad did play 150 games but not in the required years. He will be free for whoever wants to take him.

I know how good this kid is, I played with him back in Juniors. He is much younger than me but he was so good he started playing U/17's at about 12-13. Was playing league at about 13-14 in the best team in Albany(which won 7 straight GF's so were quite strong)

Will be an amazing talent.

Lingsface
17 Apr 2006, 01:24
Just for a bit of fun how would we see the best 22 for wa u 18 lineup.

FB: ???? ???? Matthew Virgo
CHB: Brock Obrien Eric Mckenzie James Embley
C: Shawn Colbung Gary Moss Clinton Benjamin
CHF: Jarryd Morton Scott Gumbelton Clayton Collard
FF: Paul Collins Dom Foster Kyle Remiers
Ruck: Matthew Leunberger
Leroy Jetta
Chris Masten
I/C: James Hawsley
Bryce Thornton
Matt Genovese
Luke Nugent

4th Tier
17 Apr 2006, 14:09
Anyone have any idea when the WA State 18's Training Squad will be annouced??

Few other possible names ...
David Myers(P) - Current AIS / HB Flanker
Robert Beswick(PT) - Ave 20 touches, Colts Co-Capt, State 15's + 16's
Ben Howlett(PT) - Ave 27 touches, R/UP Peel Colts B+F 2005
Nathan Krakouer(C) - Ave 25 touches, Colts DV Capt
Grae Grant(P) - Kevin Sheehan Medal 2004
Jacob Williams(PT) - State 16's 2004, Currently playing WAFL League, Possible backup ruckman
Brett Speldwinde(P) State 15's + 16's?
Keith Della-Vedova(SD) State 15's + 16's?
Alex Rance(SD) - Bottom Age
Ben Armstrong (SD)

TheGeneral
17 Apr 2006, 20:08
Grae Grant(P) - Kevin Sheehan Medal 2004
Where is Grae Grant?

Is he a chance to be drafted this year?

wellsy
17 Apr 2006, 21:58
Gumbleton is the best by a mile, a awesome FF, hoping he wud slip under the radar so we cud grab him but appears unlikely, named in the preliminary WA WAFL squad that versus Victoria every year, big wraps, from what ive seen he is probably gonna be ten times the player Lance Franklin is, shud go top 5

Has some good hands about him and the WAFL side is playing SA this year aswell. So he will probably do a rare double in playing for the WAFL side and then playing for the 18's.

Matt Leunberger is a great athlete, probably a long term prospect, one of the better ruckmen in the draft prolly go around pick 20-25.

I think a year in the weights room to bulk up a tad and he would be right to play in his first season. Dominate ruckman and also superb around the ground. Would love for Hawthorn to get him but with us getting Bailey last year i doubt we can get him this year.

Eric Mckenzie is a huge lad! I saw him today and fair dinkum he has some size about him. Looked like a man playing in amongst the colts lads today.

Where is Grae Grant?

Still at Perth colts, kicked 5 goals today (unless it is another Grant... which i doubt). Hasnt been a massive ball winner in the previous 2 rounds. Im not really sure until i see him in action. But from the stats i recall hasnt been a major ball winner. Although today he played South Freo so might have gotten a few there!

4th Tier
17 Apr 2006, 22:25
Where is Grae Grant?

Perth Colts

v PT - 15k, 7hb, 5mks
v EF - 12k, 1hb, 5FA
v S - 10k, 6hb
v SF - 5 goals today, named 3rd best for Perth

Doubt if he will be drafted, hasnt grown or bulked up, and from what I saw from one of his matches his form wasn't at a standard where he would be drafted. Although his yellow boots do stand out!!

Obviously caught the eye of some clubs last year and was invited to the Draft Camp

Probably missed out on the State 18's last year due to political off field reasons, should get a gig this year, but will have to start dominating games to be drafted

TheGeneral
17 Apr 2006, 23:07
I wouldn't know him I fell over him but he should really be killing it at Colts level if he was good enough for AFL. Even more so after Marc Murphy had 20 disposals against the reigning Premiers!

4th Tier
17 Apr 2006, 23:49
re: Grae Grant

DOB: 14 March 1988 Hgt: 184cm Wgt: 74kg
Position: Half forward flanker/on baller

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=risingstarprogram&spg=aisacademydisplay&articleid=174518

http://www.perthdemons.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=1&mid=337&ctl=Details&ItemID=33

94_Eagles
17 Apr 2006, 23:56
re: Grae Grant

DOB: 14 March 1988 Hgt: 184cm Wgt: 74kg
Position: Half forward flanker/on baller

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=risingstarprogram&spg=aisacademydisplay&articleid=174518

http://www.perthdemons.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=1&mid=337&ctl=Details&ItemID=33

184cm and 78kgs? That's pretty light.

theorangeapple
17 Apr 2006, 23:58
184cm and 78kgs? That's pretty light.

Not really. Its about average for that age. Put it in perspective, Judd weighs 81kgs and is 189cm.

Limbach_19
18 Apr 2006, 00:01
Not really. Its about average for that age. Put it in perspective, Judd weighs 81kgs and is 189cm.
i didnt realise Judd was only 81kgs

TheGeneral
18 Apr 2006, 00:50
I think TOA meant when he started playing AFL because Andrew Walker is 190 cms and 92 kgs.