View Full Version : What song is stuck in your head?

Danny Chook Fan Club
7 Dec 2001, 12:23
Me? I was at The Depot last night listening to Jimi Hocking, and he dusted off a cover of The Price I Pay by Billy Bragg. It's a brilliant tune, but such a sad, heart-wrenching song, and I can't stop singing it, which is buggering up my Friday mood-wise.

So, what song is stuck in your head?

The_Flying_Egg
7 Dec 2001, 12:35
My Sacrifice by Creed and Shiver by Screaming Jets

FIGJAM
7 Dec 2001, 13:12
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
My Sacrifice by Creed
My God man...you must be feeling Suicidal by now!!!

Can someone please get this man a head doctor.....QUICKLY!!!

Bee
7 Dec 2001, 13:55
All day long I have had the words to "Miss you nights" swimming around my head.

".....but these miss you nights they're the longest. It's just the same this miss you game....."

It's Driving me mad.

Cliff bloody Richard. Blah!:eek:

McFlurry
7 Dec 2001, 14:40
I've had that System of a Down song in my head since Thursday

The Hitman
7 Dec 2001, 14:58
"Those tree's, those stupid tree's..." :D Trees - Pulp

"I know you well, you are a part of me, I know you better then I know myself!" Part Of Me - Tool

Also 'Sydney Song' is in my head by Eskimo Joe.

I like all three songs, so I'm not complaining! ;) :D

The Hitman

JUBJUB
7 Dec 2001, 15:03
Walk On The Wild Side -The Wiggles [Andrew Denton CD]

Darky
7 Dec 2001, 15:46
"The Final Sacrifice" & "Reach Out For The Light" from Tobias Sammet's Avantasia - The Metal Opera

and "Save Us Now" form Sammet's main band, Edguy.

Nic
7 Dec 2001, 16:16
One quarter of one hour by Something for kate...which is great fun cos thats how long it goes for, too.:( :cool:

roobear
7 Dec 2001, 16:37
Since I read your post, I can't get "The return of the wizard" by jimi (the human) hocking out of my head!

does he still play stuff from that live album he did about 8 years ago?

Macca19
7 Dec 2001, 17:15
I got two songs in my head at the moment:

'Murder At The Holiday Inn' by The Killchoir Project. A local band which just released their first EP title 'no love for the haters'. Pretty good....and the first track is their best track i reckon...goes off live!!!
THE MEMORIES...FOR
THAT I...THE
CALL MY OWN...FOR THE LOVE OF

I also have Provoke by Earth Crisis in my head....that songs been in my hea dthe last month tho!!!
"Last of the last of the last of the sane"

NakedDeadGuy
7 Dec 2001, 17:53
Since last Friday (a week now) I've had that bloody 'would you like to swing on a star, carry moonbeams home in a jar' song in my head. Don't know why, but it's bugging the hell outta me!

I wouldn't rather be a fish BTW

vanders
7 Dec 2001, 18:03
"It's in your eyes,
I can tell what youre thinking,
My heart is sinking too,
It's no suprise,
I've been watching you lately,
I want to make it with you"

For anyone who doesnt know, thats "In Your Eyes" - Kylie Mingoues new song

Danny Chook Fan Club
7 Dec 2001, 18:35
Originally posted by roobear
Since I read your post, I can't get "The return of the wizard" by jimi (the human) hocking out of my head!

does he still play stuff from that live album he did about 8 years ago? Yeah, he's always amenable to a back catalogue plunder.

CowboyFromHell
7 Dec 2001, 20:34
I got that ****ty Alien Ant Farm song in my head. It takes me days to get it out, and when I do, I hear the damn thing on the radio or on T.V again and WHAM.......it's stuck in my head again.

Assholes.

CFH.

aggels
7 Dec 2001, 21:02
"Your winter" by sister hazel, for no real reason other than the fact that it was on in the car when I was driving home. And I'm the sort of person who sings all the way home, whatever song it is :) (that's a secret don't tell anyone)

The scary thing was that earlier in the day, there was an infomercial for some Christian songs, and because one of the songs is one that my mother sings sometimes, I had it in my head for two hours.

lioness
7 Dec 2001, 21:53
"Freedom" by Paul McCartney

"My Sweet Lord" by George Harrison

I found myself humming both tunes today.........and I don't mind at all. :cool:

Nic
7 Dec 2001, 23:25
Ahh - I have heard that Nickelback song so many times, every time I hear even a snatch of it it's stuck in my head.

Top Dog
8 Dec 2001, 17:10
Just keep walking............

I'm so Crazy by Par - T - One and In the End by Linkin Park, I love this song!

mandy
8 Dec 2001, 18:32
"D to the I to the A to the MMMMMMMMMMMM
O to the N to the D to the pearls of love"

Prince - Diamonds and Pearls. It's been in there for 2 days now.

M29
8 Dec 2001, 19:16
My Sacrifice by Creed

Wohoa! You must have done something bad in a previous life to get that punishment.

M29
8 Dec 2001, 19:18
I've got Supergrass' Moving stuck in my head. It rocks. Next week I will get the album. Not much $'s :( this weekend after getting a new DVD player during the week. :D

NYMets
8 Dec 2001, 20:52
'Ohh onto Us A Child is Bo-or-or-orn" LOL ..been rehearsing the Messiah with the Sydney Symphony for the last coupla weeks.

Sly77
9 Dec 2001, 13:30
Through no choice of my own I cant get rid of;

Nah nah nah, nah nah nah nah nah, nah nah nah, nah nah nah nah I just cant get you out of my head.....................

and people wonder why I'm slightly nuts ;)

ant
9 Dec 2001, 14:02
Where's your head at :(

coxon
10 Dec 2001, 14:11
Originally posted by M29
I've got Supergrass' Moving stuck in my head. It rocks. Next week I will get the album. Not much $'s :( this weekend after getting a new DVD player during the week. :D

ahh.. great stuff... great cd...

i got a girl and her name is mary...
i like to shag her on a basis daily..

gaz coombes.. the man with the biggest sideburns in music?

PeteLX
10 Dec 2001, 15:37
Aww CRAP! I wish I hadn't read that Kylie Minogue quote...nah nah nah, nah nah nah nah nahh

So bloody catchy!

She's a bit of a spunk, so I guess I can deal with it for another hour or so on repeat in my head.

M29
10 Dec 2001, 16:57
Originally posted by coxon

ahh.. great stuff... great cd...

i got a girl and her name is mary...
i like to shag her on a basis daily..

gaz coombes.. the man with the biggest sideburns in music?

Yeah, I've downloaded the whole album. But I'm still going to buy it. When is their next album comming out coxon?

Darky
10 Dec 2001, 21:47
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Me? I was at The Depot last night listening to Jimi Hocking, and he dusted off a cover of The Price I Pay by Billy Bragg. It's a brilliant tune, but such a sad, heart-wrenching song, and I can't stop singing it, which is buggering up my Friday mood-wise.

So, what song is stuck in your head?

Much in the same sad, heart-wrenching way, I've now got Hammerfall's "Glory To The Brave" stuck in my head.

So this is goodbye, I take leave of you and
Spread your wings and you will fly away now, fly away now

Nothing on earth stays forever
But none of your deeds were in vain
Deep in our hearts you will live again
You're gone to the home of the brave

coxon
10 Dec 2001, 22:34
Originally posted by M29

Yeah, I've downloaded the whole album. But I'm still going to buy it. When is their next album comming out coxon?

read on one of their fan sites, that Supergrass are currently in a secret location recording new material for the new album due for release early next year.

also read that on the 'Mike Bassett: England Manager' soundtrack, theres a new track called 'Oracle'... (cant seem to find on morpheus yet! $#@)..

i know a place where the sun hits the skyyyyy ~

The_Flying_Egg
10 Dec 2001, 23:16
Originally posted by M29

Wohoa! You must have done something bad in a previous life to get that punishment.

Why does everyone hate Creed so much?

The reason I have it in my head is coz its the best song released since Creeds 'With Arms Wide Open'

I have **** songs in my head a lot. But Im happy with this one

FIGJAM
11 Dec 2001, 12:04
A more pertinent question would be, how the hell do they sell records.

Stale music feeding off the remnants of the grunge era, that is effectively a Christian rock version of Pearl Jam, but that is non-innovative, with undoubtedly the soppiest, laughably cliched lyrics in the history of rock (and that is using the term very loosley!)!!!

What's more the overall package is music's (again used loosely) version of scraping your fingernails down a chalkboard!

I would rather hear such masterpieces as Mambo Number 5, Who Let the Dogs Out and, I can't believe I am saying this, Matchbox20!!!

I am hoping they come out and say that they are a joke band, cause there is no way known that they can be fair dinkum...can they???

Do yourself a favour and go and buy Radiohead's The Bends.

The_Flying_Egg
11 Dec 2001, 12:16
Originally posted by FIGJAM

A more pertinent question would be, how the hell do they sell records.

Stale music feeding off the remnants of the grunge era, that is effectively a Christian rock version of Pearl Jam, but that is non-innovative, with undoubtedly the soppiest, laughably cliched lyrics in the history of rock (and that is using the term very loosley!)!!!

What's more the overall package is music's (again used loosely) version of scraping your fingernails down a chalkboard!

I would rather hear such masterpieces as Mambo Number 5, Who Let the Dogs Out and, I can't believe I am saying this, Matchbox20!!!

I am hoping they come out and say that they are a joke band, cause there is no way known that they can be fair dinkum...can they???

Do yourself a favour and go and buy Radiohead's The Bends.

The reason they sell records is coz they're one of the best bands in the world.

And people bag them for supposedly copying Pearl Jam. If they are (which im not sure of) good luck to them. If you're gonna copy someone it may as well be the greatest band of all time.

And of course I forgot Radiohead are 'real' music coz everybody says they're not mainstream. Creed **** all over Radiohead

coxon
11 Dec 2001, 12:24
agree.... creed suck... ~

FIGJAM
11 Dec 2001, 13:19
And people bag them for supposedly copying Pearl Jam. If they are (which im not sure of) good luck to them. If you're gonna copy someone it may as well be the greatest band of all time.

And of course I forgot Radiohead are 'real' music coz everybody says they're not mainstream. Creed **** all over Radiohead
Radiohead are definitely mainstream. They have released two albums and a live EP in the last 2 years. The only way they are not mainstream is that the music they write is deep, complicated and not afraid to explore.

In fact the album I told you to buy, The Bends, is pretty much like what bands like Coldplay and Travis try to write today, only with better lyrics and a bit of "rocking-out" (so to speak) every now and then!

Pearl Jam are a solid band and I like them a lot. I have read that they have been a bit frustrated over the past couple of albums in finding the sound that they want, probably because of f*ckstick bands like Creed that rip their sound off. And in an article I read Eddie Vedder said how much he loved Kid A and that he hoped he could do something like it someday!

Pearl Jam aren't the best band in the world ever, nor are Radiohead, but they are in the upper bracket. Please don't ever try to diminish the accomplishments of either band by comparing them to that vomit of a band, Creed.

The Hippie
11 Dec 2001, 13:46
Who cares if Creed copied Pearl Jam's sound or not. Pearl Jam themselves aren't exactly an original, one of a kind band, every band going around is a derivative of a number of their influences. It boils down to personal preference, if you like them, listen to them. If you don't, then don't listen to them.

FIGJAM
11 Dec 2001, 14:09
Originally posted by The Hippie
Who cares if Creed copied Pearl Jam's sound or not. Pearl Jam themselves aren't exactly an original, one of a kind band, every band going around is a derivative of a number of their influences. It boils down to personal preference, if you like them, listen to them. If you don't, then don't listen to them.
Bloody hippies! ;)

I don't like them. I was asked what I don't like about them, so I gave an answer.

Without arguments, messageboards suck!

Peace!!!

M29
11 Dec 2001, 17:18

I just don't like them. They make me feel ill.

The Hippie
11 Dec 2001, 23:39

Bloody hippies! ;)

I don't like them. I was asked what I don't like about them, so I gave an answer.

Without arguments, messageboards suck!

Peace!!!

Hey man, don't bring me down and hassle me, man ;) ;) :D

I'm like The Egg, though. It's not like Creed aren't doing anything differently to a million other bands and I know the perception is that they are a Christian band, but they don't preach to anyone, they try to give a positive message through their music rather than negative. The level of vitriol toward them suprises me, that's all.

Personally, I don't mind them, but then my tastes run more mainstream than most others here. :)

FIGJAM
12 Dec 2001, 08:42
Originally posted by The Hippie
Hey man, don't bring me down and hassle me, man ;) ;) :D

I'm like The Egg, though. It's not like Creed aren't doing anything differently to a million other bands and I know the perception is that they are a Christian band, but they don't preach to anyone, they try to give a positive message through their music rather than negative. The level of vitriol toward them suprises me, that's all.

Personally, I don't mind them, but then my tastes run more mainstream than most others here. :)
The fact of the matter is, I have no issues with mainstream. I have issues with lameness!

There are some extremely good Top 40 acts I love and I see enough of them on V and early morning Rage (coming down from a heavy night).

But the likes of Matchbox20, Third Eye Blind & Creed produce the most stale of cliched music. Sure they might have hooks that can suck in enough musically ignorant people, but it doesn't change the fact that their music is complete swill!

At the very least, music (or at least good music), in my opinion, will always have an air of freshness about it. Creed are the exact opposite of fresh.

Porthos
12 Dec 2001, 10:03
the theme to Inspector Gadget

The_Flying_Egg
12 Dec 2001, 11:47

But the likes of Matchbox20, Third Eye Blind & Creed produce the most stale of cliched music. Sure they might have hooks that can suck in enough musically ignorant people, but it doesn't change the fact that their music is complete swill!

So everyone of the millions of people that likes Creed is musically ignorant??

Thats like Starchild saying anyone who likes Live doesn't have a clue about music ... its a crock of ****

My Own Prisons a pretty good album.
Weathered's one of the top 3 or 4 albums of the last few years Human Clay is in the top 10 albums of all time

FIGJAM
13 Dec 2001, 13:20
Human Clay is in the top 10 albums of all time
Yeah, but do you reckon it should be above or below Pet Sounds, Dark Side of the Moon, The White Album, Sgnt Peppers, Are You Experienced, OK Computer, Exile on Main Street, Led Zeppelin II & IV and The Joshua Tree?

I am interested in your response.

The_Flying_Egg
13 Dec 2001, 21:32

Yeah, but do you reckon it should be above or below Pet Sounds, Dark Side of the Moon, The White Album, Sgnt Peppers, Are You Experienced, OK Computer, Exile on Main Street, Led Zeppelin II & IV and The Joshua Tree?

I am interested in your response.

They might be legendary albums and some of the most succesful albums of all time, but I'd rather listen to Human Clay.

The albums I'd rank ahead of it are stuff like Ten, WTS Morning Glory, Blood Sugar Sex Magik and Black

And I couldn't give a **** if you think liking Creed makes me ignorant. I'd hate to listen to some of the albums you've listed there, particularly crap like OK Computer and The Joshua Tree

My answer would definetely be above

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 08:05
And I couldn't give a **** if you think liking Creed makes me ignorant. I'd hate to listen to some of the albums you've listed there, particularly crap like OK Computer and The Joshua Tree
I can understand why someone doesn't like Radiohead and especially OKC/Kid A/Amnesiac, but you can't seriously tell me that The Joshua Tree isn't one of the all time greatest albums!!!

For what it's worth, VH1 had it as number 1 in its most recent 100 Greatest Albums list. Nuff said!

Shinboners
14 Dec 2001, 08:27
I'm with Flying Egg on this one despite the fact that I've never heard a Creed song (or at least I don't think I have) and I'm not that much of a Radiohead fan (so, how much more neutral can you get in this argument).

Who really cares what other people think are great albums. If Flying Egg prefers to listen to Creed instead of Radiohead, then that's his choice. If he believes that the Creed album is one of the greatest records of all time, then that is his opinion. The fact that anyone else thinks that Pet Sounds, Dark Side Of the Moon, Joshua Tree etc. are great albums does not matter.

Figjam has listed a number of albums as being classics, but apart from Pet Sounds, none of them would be in my own list of the greatest 50 records of all time. It's simply due to the fact that I get much more enjoyment listening to other records than these "classics".

Anyway Flying Egg, don't worry about what other people think. Just listen to the music that makes you happy (even though I reckon that if I did happen to listen to a Creed song, I'd probably hate it ;) ).

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 08:45
Gee, way to gang up on me Shinners!

This all stems from the open question by The Eggman "Why does everyone hate Creed so much?". I gave an answer.

Whilst I respect opinions and realise that they are just that, I don't think anyone should have to cop a claim that Human Clay is in the Top 10 albums ever and I argued accordingly.

Some opinions are simply wrong. That's my opinion!

Shinboners
14 Dec 2001, 08:50
Sorry Figjam....didn't mean to gang up.

But I'll defend Flying Egg's right to listen to whatever he wants.....no matter how awful it is. :p

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 09:21
Originally posted by Shinboners
(even though I reckon that if I did happen to listen to a Creed song, I'd probably hate it ;) ).

But I'll defend Flying Egg's right to listen to whatever he wants.....no matter how awful it is.
I am not sure you understand how awful!

But people keep buying their CDs, so what the hell do I know!?!:confused:

IAMDASH
14 Dec 2001, 10:02
Have had a couple of songs stuck in my head over the last two days after hearing them on the all neW whizbang fandangle TRIPLE M while at work. Took me back to my high school days when all my bogan mates where listening to Motley Crue, Skid Row, Poison, GNFNR, Bon Jovi and Cinderella while I was forever championing the cause of OZ rock and letting them know constantly that they were barking up the wrong tree. Anyway perm your hair, crank up that eyeliner and wack on those spandex pants, the two songs stuck in my head are:

POISON - EVERY ROSE HAS ITS THORN
SKID ROW - I REMEMBER YOU

BomberGal
14 Dec 2001, 11:20
Hero by Enrique Inglesias.....:( :( *wipes a tear from eye* and trying very hard not to cry.

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 11:36
Originally posted by BomberGal
Hero by Enrique Inglesias.....:( :( *wipes a tear from eye* and trying very hard not to cry.
I'd be crying too!

Macca19
14 Dec 2001, 11:45

Human Clay is in the top 10 albums of all time

HAHA!!!!!

thats not right!!!

McCartney5
14 Dec 2001, 12:09
You are having a go at Creed??

Who the **** are Mudvayne???

I couldn't give a toss what you guys listen to but millions of people that buy the Creed albums must be wrogn and you guys are right

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 13:27
Originally posted by McCartney5
I couldn't give a toss what you guys listen to but millions of people that buy the Creed albums must be wrogn and you guys are right
Finally Macca, we've talked some sense into 'em!!! :D

Bulldog1954
14 Dec 2001, 13:38
Originally posted by Macca19

HAHA!!!!!

thats not right!!!

From what I have seen you like Mudvayne??? Slipknot and Fear Factory.
All bands who just stand there and yell. They are all pathetic.
Give me Creed, Live and Pearl Jam ahead of them anyday.

Shinboners
14 Dec 2001, 13:41

I am not sure you understand how awful!

I don't think I'm that keen on finding out either.

I'll just take your word for it.

:D

FIGJAM
14 Dec 2001, 14:23
Originally posted by Shinboners
I don't think I'm that keen on finding out either.

I'll just take your word for it.

:D
Well, looks like I've done my good deed for the day! :)

DEVO
14 Dec 2001, 14:40
I watching the cricket at the moment and an ad with Olivia Newton-John's Xanadu came on. I've now got that song stuck in my head and I can't do anything to get it out. I've played all my favourite tunes, I've tried to consciously think of other songs, but I always go back to Xanadu.

I think I'm going to kill myself.

DEES RULE!
14 Dec 2001, 19:34
Well it was my last day of school today and me and my friend sang over and over "its the end of the world as we know it" and now its stuck in my head and i dont really know the rest of the song and so its driving me insane! :mad:

DEES RULE!
14 Dec 2001, 19:37
Originally posted by Bulldog1954

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
God i hate those bands that do nothing but bang the drums and scream! How is that music?? i mean you put 3 teenage boys in a room with drums and you can get the same affect! lol :D

BomberGal
17 Dec 2001, 11:38

I'd be crying too!

Oi! :mad:

'tis a very sad song.....and I was in a sad mood....wasn't good! I really don't care what you think of my music anyway...:o

FIGJAM
17 Dec 2001, 12:17
Originally posted by BomberGal
Oi! :mad:

'tis a very sad song.....and I was in a sad mood....wasn't good! I really don't care what you think of my music anyway...:o
Well, I hope you are out of your sad mood! It's Christmas. :)

Dammit, I shouldn't have mentioed Christmas! Now I have "The Little Drummer Boy" carrol stuck in my head!!!

Pah-rup-up-pum-pum...rup-up-pum-pum...rup-up-pum-pum.

Macca19
17 Dec 2001, 17:04
Originally posted by Bulldog1954

Do you only like the one genre of music?? All the bands you seem to like are just post-grunge bands. Lemme guess....you think the new Nickelback song is fantastic too??

and so what if they yell....they get their point across in a different manner. Kud from Mudvayne sings more than he 'yells' anyway.

They might be pathetic in your eyes - but as i said before in a different post - everyone has different musical tastes. Music is just opinion. For everyone who loves a band, there is someone else who hates the same band.

Macca19
17 Dec 2001, 17:10
Originally posted by DEES RULE!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
God i hate those bands that do nothing but bang the drums and scream! How is that music?? i mean you put 3 teenage boys in a room with drums and you can get the same affect! lol :D

id much rahter listen to 3 guys with drums and screaming than a manufactured pop "group" who sing about nothing except wanting to make love to their girlfriends, breaking up from their girlfriends, and having lots of love to give. They dont even write their own songs? Nor do they play any instruments at all. So how is THAT Music??? Every song ive heard from these pop groups have EXACTLY the same beat in EVERY song. EVERY song. That is not music.

And at least metal bands sing about real issues and topics instead of just love and sex.

Shinboners
18 Dec 2001, 14:59
Originally posted by Macca19

id much rahter listen to 3 guys with drums and screaming than a manufactured pop "group" who sing about nothing except wanting to make love to their girlfriends, breaking up from their girlfriends, and having lots of love to give. They dont even write their own songs? Nor do they play any instruments at all. So how is THAT Music??? Every song ive heard from these pop groups have EXACTLY the same beat in EVERY song. EVERY song. That is not music.

And at least metal bands sing about real issues and topics instead of just love and sex.

It's a bit harsh Macca. To the uninitiated, all punk sounds the same, all metal sounds the same, all jazz sounds the same etc. etc.

Personally, I prefer bands that so sing about falling in love, being in love, and breaking up.....I read and talk enough about issues in my day to day life without having to hear it all over again through music.

As for the manufactured bands, I really don't mind watching them on TV....it's hilarious....you know what dance steps they'll do, their facial expressions, how bad the lyrics are, and everything else....and also, you know the songs are written to be CATCHY......so it's kind of fun to watch them on Saturday/Sunday morning and just take the p!ss out of it all.

FIGJAM
18 Dec 2001, 15:47
No Shinners. Top 40 is for perving on chicks!

Bootylicious! :eek: :p :eek:

Mr Eagle
18 Dec 2001, 20:40
Originally posted by DEES RULE!
Well it was my last day of school today and me and my friend sang over and over "its the end of the world as we know it" and now its stuck in my head and i dont really know the rest of the song and so its driving me insane! :mad:
(and this is all off the top of my head, I would like to point out)

That's great it starts with an earthquake
Birds and snakes and aeroplanes
Lenny Bruce is not afraid
Eye of the hurricane, listen to yourself churn
World serves its own needs, don't misserve your own needs
Beat it up a knock beat, grunt no, strength no
Ladder starts to clatter with fear, fight, down hype
Wire in the fire represents the seven games
with a government for hire at a combat site
Left her, wasn't coming in a hurry
with the furies breathing down your neck
Team by team reported battled trunk tethered crop
Look at that low plane, fine then
Oh oh overflow, population common group but it'll do
Save yourself, serve yourself
World serves its own needs listen to your heartbeat, dummy
With the rapture of the rabid and the right, right
You patriotic patriotic slam bright white light
Feeling pretty psyched

Want the rest? Look it up yourself :)

(now I challenge anyone to read that and not get it stuck in their head :D)

The_Flying_Egg
19 Dec 2001, 02:27
'Its the end of the world as we know it' is a top song. I've spent many a day with that in my head