View Full Version : BigFooty AFL Emerging Star Award

Lonie_from_50
28 Mar 2006, 17:12
This is the announcement of the newest edition to the BigFooty Medal, and what's best is that everyone can participate.

Announcing the 2006 BigFooty AFL Emerging Star Award.

This is very similar to the National Bank's AFL Rising Star Award in the AFL, except this is the BigFooty's version.

Each week, a poll will be placed up after the conclusion of each round with 5 possible nominee's for an Emerging Star nomination. The poll will be running until votes are tallied, normally 5:30pm Mondays. These days (and times) are scheduled due to the predicted release of the weekley results thread, which will feature finalised votes, current leaderboard, weekley best 22, player of the week and now, the BigFooty Emerging Star nominee.

Criteria
• The player must be at an age of under 21 as of 1/1/2006 (all players born in 1985 onwards).
• The player must have played 10 or less games at the start of the season

sante
28 Mar 2006, 22:01
Nice idea :thumbsu: Maybe if this hits we can have another medal which AA sends to the winning player...

eddiesmith
30 Mar 2006, 00:46
I take it like the NAB Rising star once a player is nominated they wont feature again?

Lonie_from_50
30 Mar 2006, 08:09
true, but however, they can be in the polls for 22 weeks and never get a nomination :D

celtic_pride
30 Mar 2006, 12:43
I personally think fans should be inpartial and not be allowed to give votes from players from their own side, otherwise you'll have Pies fans voting for dale thomas every bloody week.

Lonie_from_50
30 Mar 2006, 13:46
Hmmm, i think you might be right. There is that thing called conflict. I will put a poll up on the AFL Main Board, to get more attention!!!

eddiesmith
30 Mar 2006, 16:56
I personally think fans should be inpartial and not be allowed to give votes from players from their own side, otherwise you'll have Pies fans voting for dale thomas every bloody week.
But then Thomas and even Murphy may go the whole year and never win a poll seeing as they are hated by all outside their club

Lonie_from_50
30 Mar 2006, 16:58
A poll is up everyone, would be great to get an opinion.

LukeHodge15
2 Apr 2006, 16:16
Grant Birchall (HAW)

billybrownless16
2 Apr 2006, 16:56
Grant Birchall (HAW)
I'll second that nomination:thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
2 Apr 2006, 17:25
There will be a poll up Tuesday, with the winner decided on Wednesday Night.

So far players considered for nomination will be:
- Nathan Foley
- Andrew Raines
- Mitch Clark
- Danyle Pearce
- Grant Birchall

metallichris
2 Apr 2006, 17:45
- Andrew Raines
:thumbsu:

eddiesmith
2 Apr 2006, 17:46
After 1 qtr I nominate Marc Murphy

Lonie_from_50
2 Apr 2006, 20:02
Marc Murphy has got it in the bag, great game, but their will still be a nominee thread.

mcphee_is_a_gun
2 Apr 2006, 20:12
There will be a poll up Tuesday, with the winner decided on Wednesday Night.

- Nathan Foley
- Andrew Raines
- Mitch Clark
- Danyle Pearce
- Grant Birchall
Patrick Ryder??? ;) :cool:

Lonie_from_50
2 Apr 2006, 20:16
5 players get in...at the moment, they will be

- Nathan Foley
- Mitch Clark
- Danyle Pearce
- Grant Birchell
- Marc Murphy

ODDS so far for week 1 nomination

- Foley ($26)
- Clark ($51)
- Pearce ($26)
- Birchell ($12)
- Murphy ($1.20)

billybrownless16
2 Apr 2006, 20:48
5 players get in...at the moment, they will be

- Nathan Foley
- Mitch Clark
- Danyle Pearce
- Grant Birchell
- Marc Murphy

ODDS so far for week 1 nomination

- Foley ($26)
- Clark ($51)
- Pearce ($26)
- Birchell ($12)
- Murphy ($1.20)
Where can we put a bet on?:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
2 Apr 2006, 20:55
can;t lol - nobody's gonna rig it either, lol

LukeHodge15
3 Apr 2006, 10:55
Beau Waters - West Coast Eagles

this kid will be a STAR, think he is eligible?

Lonie_from_50
3 Apr 2006, 15:05
Ahhh, great he is LH15

He is just eligible, playing 10 games. I sort of left him out of researching considering two facts. I thought he had played just over 10 games (atleast 15) and i thought he was over 21 (he is 19 turning 20!). Great player, will certainly be nominated during the season unless he gets hit by a taxi again or has OP (likely he won't). I am a big fan of him!!! Probably will be up for nomination this week before Mitch Clark. Dale Thomas will have a ripper though so...lol

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Apr 2006, 22:04
The 3 talked about the most have been Murphy, Thomas and Knights.

Murphy 17 possessions and a goal, Thomas 16 possessions and 2 goals, Knights 16 possessions. Thomas a big mark and burned off McLeod plus took 8 marks. Most of Murphy's possessions were contested in close so that should count for something plus he made the top 5 for Inside 50's for the game with 5. Also chipped in traffic to Betts and found Fev on the lead.

It's a close call. Will be interesting to see if the AFL and BigFooty agree.

eddiesmith
3 Apr 2006, 22:09
The 3 talked about the most have been Murphy, Thomas and Knights.

Murphy 17 possessions and a goal, Thomas 16 possessions and 2 goals, Knights 16 possessions. Thomas a big mark and burned off McLeod plus took 8 marks. Most of Murphy's possessions were contested in close so that should count for something plus he made the top 5 for Inside 50's for the game with 5. Also chipped in traffic to Betts and found Fev on the lead.

It's a close call. Will be interesting to see if the AFL and BigFooty agree.
Will be very interesting, most of Bigfooty hate Thomas and Murphy :p

Lonie_from_50
4 Apr 2006, 08:34
New thread up!!!

Lonie_from_50
9 Apr 2006, 19:37
So, who is up for nomination this week, remember, Dale Thomas not up for nomination, he has already won round 1.

Embers
9 Apr 2006, 19:50
Matt Rosa

27 possessions, 9 marks and his opponent Mattner only got 9 possessions. In the bag

borntigerfan
9 Apr 2006, 20:19
andrew raines kept milne goalless

Leg_Spinning_Sensation
9 Apr 2006, 20:27
Vote Dale Thomas again :p

My nominee is Rhan Hooper, showed poise and skill in his debut getting 9 touches, making 7 tackles and kicking a goal, he played better than those possession stats I thought.

And I second Rosa's nomination, fantastic game by the youngster!

LukeHodge15
9 Apr 2006, 21:14
beau waters

Pie 4 Life
9 Apr 2006, 21:58
Zac Dawson ;) :p

(Sorry, I was too tempted :D )

Bartram_Class
9 Apr 2006, 22:00
Clint Bartram, two solid games.

Top effort from a no.53 draft pick.

jules101
9 Apr 2006, 22:41
Clint Bartram, two solid games.

Top effort from a no.53 draft pick.

Doesn't matter wat draft pick he was drafted at its if they are the best or not

sante
9 Apr 2006, 23:28
Andrew Raines or Thursfield even though he was injured he killed Riewoldt in 3 quarters

Lonie_from_50
10 Apr 2006, 08:51
Looks like the nominees for round 2 are:
- Matt Rosa
- Beau Waters
- Rhan Hooper
- Clinton Young
- Andrew Raines

unlucky - Clint Bartram, Michael Rischitelli, Marc Murphy, Danyle Pearce

Lonie_from_50
11 Apr 2006, 10:07
Okay people, yesterday BigFooty went haywire for some reason and wouldn't let me post a poll - i tried three times. I will have another attempt, and at the same time, try and get the other threads cleaned up.

Benno_900
11 Apr 2006, 20:24
Matt Rosa for Rnd 2 IMO.

Bartram_Class
18 Apr 2006, 13:31
Bartram should get another nomination this week, 14 possesions and 5 tackles. Should be taken into account that he is a tagger and most of his work is not shown on his stats sheet.

TheGeneral
18 Apr 2006, 13:57
Marc Murphy has it in the bag if keeps this form up and deserves another nomination more than any other player! :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
18 Apr 2006, 14:51
Yeah, too late to do a thread (I haven't been great organisor this round :o), but yeah, Marc Murphy is the Round 3 Emerging Star.

celtic_pride
18 Apr 2006, 16:58
Yeah, too late to do a thread (I haven't been great organisor this round :o), but yeah, Marc Murphy is the Round 3 Emerging Star.
Great news ... Thanks LF50 ... He had another cracker of a game.

Lonie_from_50
18 Apr 2006, 17:41
Was unlucky not to get it in round 1 some might say, but yeah, he has got it now.

So far
Rnd 1 - Dale Thomas (COLL)
Rnd 2 - Matt Rosa (WCE)
Rnd 3 - Marc Murphy (CARL)

- what i like best is that is diff to NAB.

Funkalicous
18 Apr 2006, 17:46
Was unlucky not to get it in round 1 some might say, but yeah, he has got it now.

I thought he did get it in round 1. Poll. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=232297)

Lonie_from_50
18 Apr 2006, 17:50
Poll had a cut off line, but it wasn't a closed poll, but Thomas was leading by 2 votes. Votes were therefore able to be chucked on after the cut off time i had proposed...doesn't matter now though, he has got it :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
26 Apr 2006, 17:03
Computer problems and lack of a brain made me forget to put up a thread late yesterday about the Emerging Star nominees for Round 4...just nominate through this thread within the next hour, and see what happens. I am looking at stats and will assess.

Lonie_from_50
26 Apr 2006, 17:12
Rnd 4 to nominate
- Andrew Raines (RICH) - 17 touches, consistent form
- Nathan Foley (RICH) - 17 touches, consistent form
- Heath Shaw (COLL) - 25 touches, 15 marks, great form
- Brad Symes (PA) - 22 touches, 9 marks
- Danyle Pearce (PA) - 16 touches, great form

My nominee would be Pearce from Shaw.

Macca19
26 Apr 2006, 17:33
Shaw from Symes and Pearce

Lonie_from_50
26 Apr 2006, 18:02
Flip of a coin between Shaw (heads) and Pearce (tails)

Heads - Shaw is the nominee.

Bartram_Class
29 Apr 2006, 18:19
Couple to consider for this week Lonie -

Bartram - 13 possesions, 6 tackles from limited game time

Bate - 11 possesions, 5 marks and 1 goal.

Lonie_from_50
6 May 2006, 22:48
GEEZ

Bate
Duffield
Polo

whose next, Pendlebury :p

Lonie_from_50
28 May 2006, 11:39
I'm thinking Danyle Pearce has got it in the bag (finally) this week!

goal sneak
5 Jun 2006, 10:23
Chris Johnson should be nominated this week

crazy_big_al
13 Jun 2006, 13:06
Jacob Surjan this week

philhawk
19 Jun 2006, 18:40
Clinton Young - a certainty for this round! :thumbsu:

metallichris
19 Jun 2006, 18:43
Clinton Young - a certainty for this round! :thumbsu:
Agree.

jules101
19 Jun 2006, 21:21
Tom Murphy 16 possesions 8marks :thumbsu:

philhawk
19 Jun 2006, 21:54
Tom Murphy 16 possesions 8marks :thumbsu:

True.

Lonie_from_50
19 Jun 2006, 22:06
Still two more games. Young was good though, been nominated before aswell. Murphy impressive.

Ricketts
20 Jun 2006, 21:51
r12 - Stokes V Freo?

haydnoconnor
29 Jun 2006, 19:58
Clinton Young

TizzaBlues
7 Jul 2006, 17:04
Is Steven Salopek legible for the rising star?

He is averaging 20 pos a game

philhawk
8 Jul 2006, 20:48
Both young Thomas Murphy and Grant Birchall had outstanding games for the Hawks against the Weagles. BShould both definitely come into consideration! :thumbsu:

mcphee_is_a_gun
8 Jul 2006, 21:11
Both young Thomas Murphy and Grant Birchall had outstanding games for the Hawks against the Weagles. BShould both definitely come into consideration! :thumbsu:
As should Johns.

Ricketts
8 Jul 2006, 23:21
Well Stokes was nominated last round but didn't win. Surely he gets nominated again this round.

metallichris
9 Jul 2006, 11:36
Nathan Foley for sure.

13 kicks, 6 handballs, for a total of 19 possesions (10 of them being contested), 5 inside-50s, 7 marks, 7 clearances, 4 tackles from spending a mere 72 minutes on the ground.

Consistant every week, always digging into the packs and extracting the football forward.

Surely he is due.

macca69
9 Jul 2006, 12:17
I'd like to nominate Beau Waters. Has had a solid year to date, has done his job and IIRC hasn't been beaten by an opponent. Defenders rarely get nominated, but I personally thought his hit on Franklin was the turning point of the game. Deserves a nomination IMO.

Was also very good in our loss to Port a few weeks ago, but forgot to nominate him. BTW that game was his last game before today, so effectively he has played 2 very good games in a row.

goal sneak
10 Jul 2006, 16:31
Bartram had another great game. Super consistant, yet to miss a game. Another 13 disposals. 8th time he has had 13 or more touches and only on 3 occassions has he failed to have 10. Deserves a nomination 4 sure

metallichris
10 Jul 2006, 16:33
Bartram had another great game. Super consistant, yet to miss a game. Another 13 disposals. 8th time he has had 13 or more touches and only on 3 occassions has he failed to have 10. Deserves a nomination 4 sure
Not ahead of Foley. ;)

macca69
10 Jul 2006, 16:35
Waters last 2 games

18 possessions, 7 marks, 5 tackles
13 possessions, 5 marks, 2 tackles (including his hit on Franklin) and a goal.

metallichris
10 Jul 2006, 16:41
Look at Foley's consistancy this year.

http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1582

These are all from approximately 70 minutes of game time per game.

Ricketts
16 Jul 2006, 18:58
round 15 - another good game from Stokes. Should definately be in the poll again this week and would surely go close to winning a weekly nomination after quite a few good games in a row.

macca69
16 Jul 2006, 19:35
Hurn played an impressive game and Waters was putting in good performances 2 weeks prior. But Stokes should win it this round, looked very good.

goal sneak
17 Jul 2006, 12:50
What about Moody or has he already won 1

Lonie_from_50
17 Jul 2006, 15:27
Ricketts. Stokes is ineligable and I broke the rules thanks to you weeks ago. You were kind to send me a PM asking me to put the BFES thread up (which i almost forgot) and you mentioned Stokes. Without research, Stokes was chucked into the poll. Then realising, when doing some research, I found Stokes, born before 1985, breaching the criteria age limit, therefore sorry mate.

Matthew Moody, Scott Pendlebury, Troy Chaplin, Grant Birchall are most likely going to get the nod in the poll this week. I like Jay Nash's game, but needs more games under his belt as players like Bartram, Swallow, Waters are also pushing.

Ricketts
17 Jul 2006, 16:12
Ricketts. Stokes is ineligable and I broke the rules thanks to you weeks ago. You were kind to send me a PM asking me to put the BFES thread up (which i almost forgot) and you mentioned Stokes. Without research, Stokes was chucked into the poll. Then realising, when doing some research, I found Stokes, born before 1985, breaching the criteria age limit, therefore sorry mate.

boo-urns to that.

Lonie_from_50
17 Jul 2006, 19:50
I said boo-urns!

(well, it is unfortunate. Now you know not to be disappointed when he doesn't get a RS nomination!)

mcphee_is_a_gun
22 Jul 2006, 18:03
Nash must be a chance this week.

Lonie_from_50
24 Jul 2006, 18:37
Nash is in the poll this week :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50
24 Jul 2006, 18:45
Just a comparison as of Rnd 15

BFES NABRS
Matthew Moody BL x x
Michael Rischitelli BL x x
Cheynee Stiller BL x x
Marc Murphy CARL x x
Heath Shaw COLL x x
Dale Thomas COLL x x
Grant Birchall HAW x
Clinton Young HAW x x
Clint Bartram MELB x
Matthew Bate MELB x
Lynden Dunn MELB x
Danyle Pearce PA x x
Jacob Surjan PA x
Brad Symes PA x
Nathan Foley RICH x
Dean Polo RICH x x
Andrew Raines RICH x x
Matt Rosa WCE x x
Shaun Higgins WB x

macca69
5 Aug 2006, 12:19
Beau Waters has to get nominated this week surely.

metallichris
6 Aug 2006, 18:43
Cameron Howat deserves to be one of the choices. I don't think he'll get it but should be one of the five.

Ricketts
7 Aug 2006, 00:04
Prismall versus Brisbane.

goal sneak
7 Aug 2006, 08:54
Yeah Beau WAters, Master Bate stiff

Lonie_from_50
7 Aug 2006, 18:58
Bate was nominated weeks back, so looks like Waters should take it out...ineligable for the final award or not, still worthy of nomination. Swallow will be unlucky.

wez10000
14 Aug 2006, 21:10
Cam Howat put in another good game to try and get a nomination :thumbsu:

15 Kicks, 4 Handballs, 19 Disposals, 8 Marks, 2 Clearances, 1 Tackle, 1 Goal, 1 Behind, 1 Clanger (probably the poster as this guy always finds a target), 81 mins on the ground.

goal sneak
21 Aug 2006, 09:14
Nathan Jones. Lock it in.

Lonie_from_50
21 Aug 2006, 09:53
Yeah, Jones certainly will be favourite in this weeks poll...had a magnificent start to the year. Be a favourite to poll next year aswell considering he won't have 10 by the end of the year (most likely)

DynamoUltra
23 Aug 2006, 21:37
Has Birchall been nominated yet?

philhawk
23 Aug 2006, 22:10
Birchall has been magnificent, particularly last week ...

Lonie_from_50
25 Aug 2006, 11:03
Has Birchall been nominated yet?

Yeah, Birchall was nominated in Round 19

Ricketts
25 Aug 2006, 17:07
Prismall has played well in more games than most of those nominated this week.

I thought consistency was rewarded here?

Lonie_from_50
25 Aug 2006, 17:15
Prismall hasn't exactly being turning the world on fire, sure I said consistency, which cost him a spot in the nominations against Brisbane, but this week, he wasn't 'awesome' wheras players like Jones and Rusling played games which were very very good (despite Rus playing game 2 of the year), Swallow should get a nomination by seasons end, and the others were deserving of good games.

I actually missed on Chaplin, and I should have been shot for that.

wez10000
12 Sep 2006, 20:35
Who won it? as the thread got deleted i think

Lonie_from_50
13 Sep 2006, 15:11
Pearce won from Raines and Shaw, just like the real thing. I will chuck up the thread once again, just give it time before doing it again I reckon. I may actually chuck up 1 thread with the BF Medallist, BF Emerging Star and BF AA Team.

Deledinho
13 Sep 2006, 18:32
Who won the big one? And why was the thread deleted?

brett_go_cats
13 Sep 2006, 19:30
goodes won the real thing, the threads were deleted in the crash

Lonie_from_50
14 Sep 2006, 10:51

What bgc said. Goodes won from Brad Johnson and Simon Goodwin for memory. I will chuck up the threads tomorrow mate, as I have tomorrow off uni! :thumbsu:

Yeah161
5 Oct 2006, 19:15
Andrew Raines

Lonie_from_50
5 Oct 2006, 19:46
Andrew Raines

Has been decided mate, see the winning thread (titled with Danyle Pearce ;))