C: Dew, C.Cornes, Cassisi
HF: Ebert, White, Pettigrew
F: Pearce, Brogan, Motlop
R: Lade, Kane, P.Burgoyne
I: Mahoney, Salopek, Thomson, Walsh
E: Lonie, Symes, Thurstans

Macca19
30 Mar 2006, 17:46
Shocked about Lonie. Thought he'd get a game.

Dissapointed about Symes. Thought he did more than enough.

Porthos
30 Mar 2006, 17:53
Who's that Wanganeen hack? Drop him and bring Symesy in! :D

Nah, I can't complain much about that side, but I hope that we are genuinely ready, nay eager, to drop non-performers from it.

nivek48
30 Mar 2006, 18:00
Shocked about Lonie. Thought he'd get a game.

Dissapointed about Symes. Thought he did more than enough.

My exact thoughts. Hope Symes plays good SANFL footy so he is next picked!

*PAF
30 Mar 2006, 18:25
Good team.
Symes will get his chances soon enough, we do not want to play too many "new" players at once.
The one thing I hope is that Ebert gets his chance in the midfield rather than at HF.

Malibu#27
30 Mar 2006, 18:35
Only potential problem may be talls, with Tredrea out I expect that means Lade and Brogan will have to spend a lot of time up forward as targets. Just maybe Thurstans/Willits could have been sitting on the pine.

EDIT - I suppose we can push Chad forward if need be... so maybe we aren't that bad height wise.

Toots Hibbert
30 Mar 2006, 18:40
Who's that Wanganeen hack? Drop him and bring Symesy in! :D

Nah, I can't complain much about that side, but I hope that we are genuinely ready, nay eager, to drop non-performers from it.
That's the beauty of having a buddy prepared to go to any lengths for his player. Go you good thing, Thommo!

Ford Fairlane
30 Mar 2006, 18:51
It's different to what I expected. Thought Thommo would miss and Lonie would play. Bad luck for Symes, he's had a good pre season, but surely he's close this time. Good rebounding half back line ... Wangas might be wondering when a HBF turned into the bench!

Without Toby there, who's Choco gonna drop to bring back Tredders? ;)

And it just doesn't look the same without Cochrane there ... who do we blame now if it goes pear shaped? :p

Porthos
30 Mar 2006, 18:56
Bishop and Ebert. Duh.

Toots Hibbert
30 Mar 2006, 19:07
It's different to what I expected. Thought Thommo would miss and Lonie would play. Bad luck for Symes, he's had a good pre season, but surely he's close this time. Good rebounding half back line ... Wangas might be wondering when a HBF turned into the bench!

And it just doesn't look the same without Cochrane there ... who do we blame now if it goes pear shaped? :p
Does anyone else besides me think they won't line up that way. I hope Dean Laidley's not reading this but I'm guessing Wangas plays forward and Walsh or Pettigrew play HBF.

I think Lonie not being picked is a good sign. He's going to have to earn his spot and I don't think his pre season was that inspiring. (Still a couple of days for the emergencies to get shoe horned in but.)

*PAF
30 Mar 2006, 19:09
Does anyone else besides me think they won't line up that way. ....
Miles away from how they will line up, but that is not unusual.

Ford Fairlane
30 Mar 2006, 19:11
Does anyone else besides me think they won't line up that way. I hope Dean Laidley's not reading this but I'm guessing Wangas plays forward and Walsh or Pettigrew play HBF.

I think Lonie not being picked is a good sign. He's going to have to earn his spot and I don't think his pre season was that inspiring. (Still a couple of days for the emergencies to get shoe horned in but.)

We never line up as selected. Mind u, swap Wangas and Walsh, and Lade and Brogan and I'd be happy with that. As long as I could be reassured Ebert would get a run on the ball. I remember when I was a boy on ballers would swap on the HFF ... zzzzzzzzzz

dasler
30 Mar 2006, 19:17
Pettigrew is getting a soft ride through AFL ranks

*PAF
30 Mar 2006, 19:30
Pettigrew is getting a soft ride through AFL ranks
Why do you say that? :confused:
He has earned his spot as one of the up and coming talls in our side.

dasler
30 Mar 2006, 19:34
Why do you say that? :confused:
He has earned his spot as one of the up and coming talls in our side.
Disagree, he was pitiful when playing Fremantle here in Perth.

Seems his height bids in his favour. Another couple of years worth of development in the gym and I'll believe he has earned his spot.

Sheeds
30 Mar 2006, 19:54

Well he showed more than enough last season when in the side to dictate a spot.

Fortunately we are not picking the side based on a practice game against Freo.;)

PJ Power
30 Mar 2006, 21:19
Hats off to Mark and the selectors.
This is the right side to pick, with the one contentious selection being Thomson instead of Symes. Even then, I think the call here is a good one and could be justified.

My observations:
1. The outstanding feature of this side is that there is no Lonie and no Thurstans. Those who have expressed surprise that they weren't selected, is it because you thought Choco would have picked them on the basis of his prior history or because he should have selected them based on ability/matchups and form.

I would argue that both players should be made to work very hard for their spots. Neither really seized preseason opportunities that came their way. Both have real question marks over mental and physical toughness and Toby over application also.

We had to play 8, not 9 taller players. Pettigrew was a better pick than Toby because he also has agility and flexibility and a good record against the Roos.
Supplementing Damon with Toby would have got us no nearer to covering Warren. It just would have left us with a top heavy forward line including a player who isn't accountable enough for the contest or his opponent.

Against the Roos, I would prefer inside players. Thomson, although young will not die wondering and will get to the footy and give it his best. Let Lonie show us in the SANFL if he can do that.

2. Good speed in the side.
True pace with Pearce, the Burgoynes and Motlop - burst speed at least.
Good endurance players in Kane and Dom, with Sal also in that category.
Pretty good burst speed with Chad, Pettigrew and Ebert.

3. Flexibility: Wangas will start on the ground in his 300th. I don't know where the fact that this is his final year stipulated he play in the forward line when on the ground. He is still a cagey and effective small backman, and will be a better choice to release Shaun Burgoyne upfield, than any other player listed.

4. Great that Chappy is named at CHB.

I think Mark has decided that he needs to accelerate the learning of Chaplin, Thomson and Salopek at AFL level and that will only coming by playing them now.

Good signs.

Bad luck to Symesy - the one unlucky omission.
NO qualms with the side though.

We will miss Tredrea though.

Ford Fairlane
30 Mar 2006, 21:31
Hats off to Mark and the selectors.
This is the right side to pick, with the one contentious selection being Thomson instead of Symes. Even then, I think the call here is a good one and could be justified.

My observations:
1. The outstanding feature of this side is that there is no Lonie and no Thurstans. Those who have expressed surprise that they weren't selected, is it because you thought A. Choco would have picked them on the basis of his prior history or B. because he should have selected them based on ability/matchups and form.

Lock in A, Eddie.

I would argue that both players should be made to work very hard for their spots. Neither really seized preseason opportunities that came their way. Both have real question marks over mental and physical toughness and Toby over application also.

We had to play 8, not 9 taller players. Pettigrew was a better pick than Toby because he also has agility and flexibility and a good record against the Roos.
Supplementing Damon with Toby would have got us no nearer to covering Warren. It just would have left us with a top heavy forward line including a player who isn't accountable enough for the contest or his opponent.

Against the Roos, I would prefer inside players. Thomson, although young will not die wondering and will get to the footy and give it his best. Let Lonie show us in the SANFL if he can do that.

2. Good speed in the side.
True pace with Pearce, the Burgoynes and Motlop - burst speed at least.
Good endurance players in Kane and Dom, with Sal also in that category.
Pretty good burst speed with Chad, Pettigrew and Ebert.

3. Flexibility: Wangas will start on the ground in his 300th. I don't know where the fact that this is his final year stipulated he play in the forward line when on the ground. He is still a cagey and effective small backman, and will be a better choice to release Shaun Burgoyne upfield, than any other player listed.

4. Great that Chappy is named at CHB.

I think Mark has decided that he needs to accelerate the learning of Chaplin, Thomson and Salopek at AFL level and that will only coming by playing them now.

Good signs.

Bad luck to Symesy - the one unlucky omission.
NO qualms with the side though.

We will miss Tredrea though.

Good post PJ. You did forget to mention that seeing as Motlop is the new Che, Mark figured he had his quota of marking forwards w/o picking Toby. ;)

Powerstufff
30 Mar 2006, 22:10
A very healthy sign of us having some serious digs this year.
Thomson deserves the spot more than Lonie. Thurstans doesn't deserve a spot at all.

Toots Hibbert
30 Mar 2006, 22:33
On Thommo v Symes for selection:- IMO they're not fighting for the same spot in the side. I agree Symes is pretty unlucky.

Powerstufff
30 Mar 2006, 22:51
On Thommo v Symes for selection:- IMO they're not fighting for the same spot in the side......That's right. That's why not selecting Lonie gave Thomson the nod.
..... I agree Symes is pretty unlucky.No more so than a couple of others who impressed in the pre-season. It's just where the spot is on the field. We'll still see a fair bit of Symes this year.

maccas_no1
30 Mar 2006, 23:01
When is Tredrea expected back????

Toots Hibbert
30 Mar 2006, 23:06
When is Tredrea expected back????
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=injurylist

Toots Hibbert
30 Mar 2006, 23:10
That's right. That's why not selecting Lonie gave Thomson the nod.
It looks to me like Lonie is seen as a half back flank.

Powerstufff
30 Mar 2006, 23:40
It looks to me like Lonie is seen as a half back flank.Even back pocket. In any event eventually an opportunity to release Shaun Burgoyne.

Jakko
31 Mar 2006, 02:34
B: Wilson, Wakelin, Bishop
HB: S.Burgoyne, Chaplin, Wanganeen

I have to say Im delighted to see Thommo's hardness has earned him a spot over Lonies outside play. I was 90% convinced Chocco would play Lonie no matter what...good on him!

From that lineup given, I would swap Salopek for Wanganeen (although tempting to start Gav in FP in 300th could be explosive) and Ebert for Mahoney.

Malibu#27
31 Mar 2006, 08:02
That's right. That's why not selecting Lonie gave Thomson the nod.

No more so than a couple of others who impressed in the pre-season. It's just where the spot is on the field. We'll still see a fair bit of Symes this year.

I dont think Thomson and Lonie are competing for the same spot - I'd imagine Symes and Lonie are competing for the same sort of spot.

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 08:04
I imagine Ebert and Lonie are competing for the same sort of spot.

PowerKat
31 Mar 2006, 08:40

Clearly that was just spin on Choco's part to convince Wangas to play one more year and take a pay cut ;)

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 08:52
At least that soft piece of crap from the hawks has been dropped.

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 09:02
Without Toby there, who's Choco gonna drop to bring back Tredders?

I honestly think I could be Bishop and play the grew in that 3rd tall spot

gbear
31 Mar 2006, 09:18
I actually have to say that I am very happy with the selected side. It has a nice balance of youth and experience. I have my doubts about Bishop, however I will be delighted if I am proved wrong. And thank goodness there is no Shattock:D :D

Groove
31 Mar 2006, 09:20
I think your being a little harsh on shattock, his preaseason wasnt bad, I still think there could be a role for shattock to play in this side.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 09:21
And thank goodness there is no Shattock:D :D

Hey!!! :eek: :mad: That's no way to talk about the Shaq!

On Bishop, I suspect Choco has a lot more time for him than most people here, so I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for him to be dropped. And if Wakelin does decide to pull the pin at the end of the year, I'd expect Choco to want Harold to play on at least another year.

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 09:23
On Bishop, I suspect Choco has a lot more time for him than most people here, so I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for him to be dropped. And if Wakelin does decide to pull the pin at the end of the year, I'd expect Choco to want Harold to play on at least another year.Yep.

If Bishop plays all year this year, he'll be in the side next year too.

gbear
31 Mar 2006, 09:24
Hey!!! :eek: :mad: That's no way to talk about the Shaq!

On Bishop, I suspect Choco has a lot more time for him than most people here, so I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for him to be dropped. And if Wakelin does decide to pull the pin at the end of the year, I'd expect Choco to want Harold to play on at least another year.

As for Shattock I am not his biggest fan. If he improves out of sight I will be happy to have him in the side, but 2006 should be the year of no gold passes. Blood the future stars of our club please.

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 09:27
As for Shattock I am not his biggest fan. If he improves out of sight I will be happy to have him in the side, but 2006 should be the year of no gold passes. Blood the future stars of our club please.

I agree Gbear. I want to see our look to the future without tanking the season. I still think we can play finals footy while playing some kids. I feel we could have some exciting times ahead at the PAFC

*PAFC*13
31 Mar 2006, 09:31
2006= The start of no more Gold passes.

Its great to see Thommo in there.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 09:32

He's ready. He's waiting. He's the Shaq. :cool:

gbear
31 Mar 2006, 09:35

I will hold you to that statement and will reopen it for debate at a later stage in the season;) :D

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 09:41
I will hold you to that statement and will reopen it for debate at a later stage in the season;) :D

And I will show you the buddy list ... :p

Shattock Returns

http://images.killermovies.com/s/superman/poster.jpg

Andre
31 Mar 2006, 09:47
B: Wilson, Wakelin, Bishop
HB: S.Burgoyne, Chaplin, Wanganeen
Not bad at all. I was sure we were going to get stuck with Lonie and most likely Shattock to boot. The only changes I would have made were Bishop for Thurstans - as it would then have been an obvious Tredrea for Thurstans swap when the monolith returns. And Symes over Thomson - mainly so Junior B. could be pushed up the ground more. However that one is not so bad.

gbear
31 Mar 2006, 10:00
Not bad at all. I was sure we were going to get stuck with Lonie and most likely Shattock to boot. The only changes I would have made were Bishop for Thurstans - as it would then have been an obvious Tredrea for Thurstans swap when the monolith returns. And Symes over Thomson - mainly so Junior B. could be pushed up the ground more. However that one is not so bad.

Have to agree with you there Andre, that would have been my only change.

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 10:03
You're on fire.......buddy! :)

Damn glad Thommo's in there, he'll be carrying this midfield before too long, but am baffled about the absence of Eckermann! :confused:

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 10:06
I suspect Eckermann needs to keep working on his skills.

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 10:08

and putting on more weight

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 10:14
We need Ben's 79 kilos of G & D in the side plus his experience...

...working with the Save The Children organization over the summer. :thumbsu:

*PAFC*13
31 Mar 2006, 10:15
and putting on more weight

Don't think so, he has put on enough weight. James Walker from Fremantle is a good example of Eckermann's height and weight.

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 10:23
Fremantle is a good example of a side not to follow. I'm guessing your other examples will come from the Bulldogs and Richmond.

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 10:43
Being serious now, Choco hopes Eckers will play 10 games this year.

"MARK WILLIAMS: Ben played four games and then got knocked out and took some time to get his confidence and his form back. He’s doing some good stuff around the ball at training and we hope he can play ten games this year".

http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=352306

Lidge
31 Mar 2006, 10:47
B: Gibson, Hay, Watt
HB: Archer, Brown, Sinclair
C: B Rawlings,Green, Simpson
HF: Wells, Petrie, Harvey
F: Co.Jones, Thompson, Rocca
R: Hale, Harris, Grant
I: Harding, McIntosh, Firrito, Pratt

Emerg:Makepeace, Sansbury, Thurley

New: Gibson (Port Melbourne), Hay (Hawthorn), Green (West Coast), Thurley (Geelong). McIntosh playing his 2nd game.

Much stronger spine this year. Very tall forward line will stretch Port (Hale, McIntosh, Thompson, Rocca, Petrie). If it's wet, expect Rocca to make way for Sansbury.

Bring it on.

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 10:48
Fremantle is a good example of a side not to follow. I'm guessing your other examples will come from the Bulldogs and Richmond.

hahahaha very true

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 10:49
Much stronger spine this year. Very tall forward line will stretch Port (Hale, McIntosh, Thompson, Rocca, Petrie)....but that won't matter, because it means you won't be fielding a ruckman, so the ball won't get near them anyway.

Pretending both your rucks will play forward? Tsk.

Lidge
31 Mar 2006, 10:54
..Pretending both your rucks will play forward? Tsk.

Will both spend time up forward - especially Hale. McIntosh is a very good forward, but if either ruckman will be pushed into defence to fill a hole, it will be him.

If dry, you'll find 3-4 monsters (6'4"+ & 100kgs+) playing in our forward half. Doesn't mean much if our midfielders don't get it in their mits.

*PAFC*13
31 Mar 2006, 10:54

A change of subject if I’ve ever seen one, I wasn’t even talking about Fremantle. I was talking about James Walker who was the first player to pop into my head with the same height and weight as Eckermann. Other people you could compare him with of a simular size would be… Daniel Kerr, Luke Power, Brent Harvey (a lot Shorter) and the list goes on… Eckermann’s body is AFL ready.

Malibu#27
31 Mar 2006, 11:17
Will both spend time up forward - especially Hale. McIntosh is a very good forward, but if either ruckman will be pushed into defence to fill a hole, it will be him.

If dry, you'll find 3-4 monsters (6'4"+ & 100kgs+) playing in our forward half. Doesn't mean much if our midfielders don't get it in their mits.

Doesn't help much if the ball goes to ground.

Traditionally 4 talls (especially non-mobile talls) simply hasnt worked for any side.

jakey
31 Mar 2006, 11:44
Price of admission to aami? $30.
Thurstans not in the team? Priceless.

gbear
31 Mar 2006, 12:13
Price of admission to aami? $30.
Thurstans not in the team? Priceless.

Funniest post of the season thus far:D :D

Powerstufff
31 Mar 2006, 12:33
At least that soft piece of crap from the hawks has been dropped.You are saying what we all think.

Mr Magoo
31 Mar 2006, 15:01

Perhaps someone can explain why Dew is in the side instead of Symes then, if you look at his pre season form he certainly hasn't done or worked hard enough to be a guaranteed walk up start has he?
Nothing against Dew but Symes form is far much better.
I'm thinking that Chocco might use Salopek to tag Grant or Simpson that is if he's true to his word about using Salopek as a tagger/run with player to improve his defensive skills, which could also free up either Cornes or Cassasi to play an attacking midfield role.

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 15:30
dew has done enough

Mitch Power
31 Mar 2006, 15:31
1. The outstanding feature of this side is that there is no Lonie and no Thurstans.

Excellent post PJ however I would have preferred to see Thurstans in for Bishop.

It would also not surprise me to see Chad play CHF/FF along with White and move the resting ruckman to the forward pocket.

Which ever the rotations, Choco has picked a good team.

Power21
31 Mar 2006, 15:48

Seems his height bids in his favour. Another couple of years worth of development in the gym and I'll believe he has earned his spot.

Didn't watch the kangaroos final?

Your obviously a troll, please leave.

sog35
31 Mar 2006, 15:52
Didn't watch the kangaroos final?

Your obviously a troll, please leave.
I'd relax on dasler, he's one of the posters who I regularly enjoy reading and he's deffo not a troll.

But he's got one wrong on Pettigrew. He's earnt his chance.

Dewy has also got enough runs on the board to beat Symes in a head-to-head selection. I have absolutely no worries picking him, even with pre-season form included.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 16:00
Yep I'd back up Dasler too. He's provided plenty of thoughtful comments in the past, especially about WA draftees, and it really is constructive criticism based on what he's seen. He maybe thinks Surjan's hair is a little too golden ... ;)

pafc4life
31 Mar 2006, 16:36
IMO Symes, Lonie and Walshy were basically all competing for the same spot and I think Symes was VERY unlucky. Pretty happy not to see Thurstans in the side, thought he'd probably be a shoe-in when Tredders went down but luckily the selectors have done the right thing and left him out.

I'd be interested to know how far away Shattock is from selection.

pafc4life
31 Mar 2006, 16:39
Perhaps someone can explain why Dew is in the side instead of Symes then, if you look at his pre season form he certainly hasn't done or worked hard enough to be a guaranteed walk up start has he?
Nothing against Dew but Symes form is far much better.
I'm thinking that Chocco might use Salopek to tag Grant or Simpson that is if he's true to his word about using Salopek as a tagger/run with player to improve his defensive skills, which could also free up either Cornes or Cassasi to play an attacking midfield role.

Bit harsh on Stuey there.

PJ Power
31 Mar 2006, 16:47
On Salopek, it would not be surprising if he gets defensive roles this year as part of his midfield education. While I have been cynical in the past about our tendency to indoctrinate young midfielders by making them taggers first, I am coming around a little to the idea.
Midfielders who have a good balance of defensive and offensive skills obviously make for more complete players. There isn't much wrong so far with the way Cassis, Kane Cornes and Carr have turned out. If anything Carr and Cassisi probably became first 18 players more quickly because of their role as taggers, which ultimately led them to becoming good leaders at a young age.
If Salopek could ease the tagging burden on Cassisi this year by doing good jobs on the likes of Brett Harvey, it would be great for the side and would improve him as a longterm player.

Macca19
31 Mar 2006, 16:56
Id say if Brogan doesnt come up then Thurstans will be put in immediately. A lot of pressure on our forward line I think. White is the only genuine key forward in there. Brogan has never done great up forward and Lade is more consistent than someone I can see bringing out a 4 goal game on Saturday night. Hopefully Pettigrew can kick a couple and Motlop is on his game.

Kangaroos side looks pretty tough to me. Good defence, strong midfield and quite a number of options. Will be a good win if we can get up.

portentous
31 Mar 2006, 17:57
I'd be interested to see how Tobes plays for Sturt. Last season he seemed to "sulk" every time he got dropped and not put in at SANFL level, whereas White seemed to be even more determined to 'strut his stuff' if he was dropped. Therein lies the reason I prefer White over Toby.

Troy Wingate
31 Mar 2006, 17:58
Id say if Brogan doesnt come up then Thurstans will be put in immediately. A lot of pressure on our forward line I think. White is the only genuine key forward in there. Brogan has never done great up forward and Lade is more consistent than someone I can see bringing out a 4 goal game on Saturday night. Hopefully Pettigrew can kick a couple and Motlop is on his game.

Kangaroos side looks pretty tough to me. Good defence, strong midfield and quite a number of options. Will be a good win if we can get up.

Don't worry, Brogan is playing. He told me himself on Wednesday night after training.

dasler
31 Mar 2006, 20:24
Yep I'd back up Dasler too. He's provided plenty of thoughtful comments in the past, especially about WA draftees, and it really is constructive criticism based on what he's seen. He maybe thinks Surjan's hair is a little too golden ... ;)
Thanks for the vote of confidence.

If Williams played Surjan in his preferred position in the midfield or off the half back flank, I'm sure you would see why I believe he is a quality player. He was impressive as a youngster playing league with South Fremantle as a 17 year old. You don't lose talent over night and I admit I am an unabashed fan.

Pettigrew could go either way in my books. He is talented and his potential is quite exciting, but at the moment, he doesn't play like a tall. Lack of high marks etc etc. He is a much better forward than backman. I'd play him as a strong leading forward from the forward pocket if anything as his speed for a big man is very good. Power 21, yes I did see the final against the Kangaroos last season.

FWIW IMO, Symes should be in the team ahead of Thomson, and Ebert on the wing with Dew on the HFF.

Salopek should be given leeway to play his natural game. He doesn't have the necessary checking skills to play as a close-marking tagger. He is a ball winner and distributor.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 21:03
No worries Das. We can spot the trolls from the real thing here ;) . Agree with the observations you posted above ^ too.

nivek48
31 Mar 2006, 22:07
FWIW IMO, Symes should be in the team ahead of Thomson, and Ebert on the wing with Dew on the HFF.

Salopek should be given leeway to play his natural game. He doesn't have the necessary checking skills to play as a close-marking tagger. He is a ball winner and distributor.

Good thoughts dasler - def agree with Symes ahaed of Thomson. Sal will not make it as a 'pure' tagger and a waste of his talent if they do. He is different type of player then Carr and Cassisi and Kane who earnt their early kudos as taggers.

pafc4life
1 Apr 2006, 09:48
Thanks for the vote of confidence.

If Williams played Surjan in his preferred position in the midfield or off the half back flank, I'm sure you would see why I believe he is a quality player. He was impressive as a youngster playing league with South Fremantle as a 17 year old. You don't lose talent over night and I admit I am an unabashed fan.

Pettigrew could go either way in my books. He is talented and his potential is quite exciting, but at the moment, he doesn't play like a tall. Lack of high marks etc etc. He is a much better forward than backman. I'd play him as a strong leading forward from the forward pocket if anything as his speed for a big man is very good. Power 21, yes I did see the final against the Kangaroos last season.

To be honest I think Thomson and Symes both deserve to be in the 22 but someone has to miss out and that's just footy. Probably Walshy out for Symes woulda been ideal for me, but then again that woulda been a bit harsh on The Flame. Agree about Ebert on the wing and Stuey on a flank though, for sure.