View Full Version : Youngsters earn Round 1 spots

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 14:33
Youngsters earn Round 1 spots
10:41:14 PM Thu 30 March, 2006
Daniel Bryant
Port Adelaide Football Club
In form Port Adelaide youngsters have earned spots in the Round 1 side to face the Kangaroos on Saturday night ahead of more experienced teammates.

The Power’s first 22 of the year has played 735 games less than the side that finished 2005. It includes eight players with less than 50 games experience including new recruit Daniel Motlop.

The youngest of the players to line-up along side Gavin Wanganeen in his 300th AFL game is 19-year-old Adam Thomson. Danyle Pearce is also 19, while Steven Salopek and Troy Chaplin are 20. All have had excellent pre-seasons.

Among the more experienced teammates missing out were Toby Thurstans and new recruit Nathan Lonie. Emerging half-back Brad Symes is the other emergency.

There are five changes to the team that last represented the Power in an official game.

Missing from the semi-final loss last year are: Josh Francou (knee), Adam Kingsley (shoulder), Byron Pickett (Melbourne), Brett Montgomery (Western Bulldogs) and Warren Tredrea (knee). Into the side are: Brett Ebert, Motlop, Thomson, Salopek and Damon White.

The obvious difference between the players going out and the players coming in is experience. The five missing have played 861 AFL games between them. Their replacements combine for 126 games.

Tredrea’s absence will give vice-captains Brendon Lade, Chad Cornes and Michael Wilson their chance to play an acting-captain role for the first time.

The Power side to take on the Kangas on Saturday night is as follows…

B: Michael Wilson, Darryl Wakelin, Matthew Bishop
HB: Shaun Burgoyne, Troy Chaplin, Gavin Wanganeen
C: Stuart Dew, Chad Cornes, Dom Cassisi
HF: Brett Ebert, Damon White, Michael Pettigrew
F: Danyle Pearce, Dean Brogan, Daniel Motlop
R: Brendon Lade, Kane Cornes, Peter Burgoyne
Int: Josh Mahoney, Steven Salopek, Adam Thomson, Peter Walsh

Emergencies: Nathan Lonie, Brad Symes, Toby Thurstans

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 14:50
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/253721af.jpg

http://portadelaidefc.com.au/

Porthos
31 Mar 2006, 15:00
So he hasn't quite mastered walking upright like Symesy then?

crazy_big_al
31 Mar 2006, 15:29
:D So he hasn't quite mastered walking upright like Symesy then?

u guys u are so silly

Sandola
31 Mar 2006, 15:57
Perhaps not, but he seems to have that cheek thing going, right up there with the Dom and, yes, Symesy.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 16:07
You can tell he's from Murray Bridge ... he's trying to think and breathe at the same time! (and b4 u start, I lived in MB too, so it's ok for me to say it :p ).

wharfie_1870
31 Mar 2006, 16:36
So he hasn't quite mastered walking upright like Symesy then?Reminds me of poor old Jaxon Crabb ............. he could only run sideways.

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 17:00
:D

He was smart enough to pick himself a buddy with a bit of clout.

Flag Man
31 Mar 2006, 17:32
All your Motlops are belong to us:

http://www.geocities.com/searchingkangaroo/arch2.jpg

pafc4life
31 Mar 2006, 17:40
All your Motlops are belong to us:

http://www.geocities.com/searchingkangaroo/arch2.jpg

Yeah. Totally.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 18:46
That photo wouldn't be from the 1999 final where Dew pantsed Archer, would it?

Macca19
31 Mar 2006, 19:34
Id say it would be

Flag Man
31 Mar 2006, 20:33
Hey I thought you guys would have pussed out and taken it down by now, power to you.:thumbsu:

Still gonna get flogged tomorrow.

4 Sep 1999: Glenn Archer of the North Melbourne Kangaroos argues with Stuart Dew of Port Adelaide during the AFL Third Qualifying Final at the MCG in Melbourne, Australia. The Kangaroos progressed to the latter stages winning by 100 - 56.

Then went on to win the flag................again.:)

Toots Hibbert
31 Mar 2006, 22:34
Wayne Carey stepped up when we were making a charge and killed the game off in about 15 minutes of football IIRC.

Macca19
31 Mar 2006, 22:50
Yeah. We started poorly but slowly worked our way into it. Were only 15 points down or so and then Carey kicked 3 or 4 halfway through the 3rd.

Ford Fairlane
31 Mar 2006, 22:53
I could be wrong, but I reckon we've won a flag since the turn of the century ... the roos ... ? ;)

Flag Man
31 Mar 2006, 23:36
Yeah. We started poorly but slowly worked our way into it. Were only 15 points down or so and then Carey kicked 3 or 4 halfway through the 3rd.

Yep. Carey got 6 and was B.O.G.

I could be wrong, but I reckon we've won a flag since the turn of the century ... the roos ... ? ;)

We're building mate, we're building.

2 flags in the last decade as against 1 flag in the last decade.

Port should have won more than one flag with the team they had.

You needed to get one of our blokes to win it for you too.

Not stirring, just an honest observation.:p

Ford Fairlane
1 Apr 2006, 09:35

So's Iraqi democracy.

2 flags in the last decade as against 1 flag in the last decade.

1 flag in our first 7 years as against 1 flag in your first 50 years

Port should have won more than one flag with the team they had.

North should've won more than 2 with the team they had. Crashed out in 2 prelims .. and 1998? tsk tsk, should've been skun by half time.

You needed to get one of our blokes to win it for you too.

Stuart Cochrane? :confused:

Not stirring, just an honest observation.:p

Ditto ;)

*PAF
1 Apr 2006, 09:45

Actually it would be interesting to break up the sides into say
0-15 games
15-30
30-60
60-100
over 100
as IMO they are the rough figures where improvement is seen in players.
I think the result could be quite interesting.

I cannot do it at the moment, but if anyone has the figures handy or has some spare time to do a search it would be great.

Flag Man
1 Apr 2006, 09:51
1 flag in our first 7 years as against 1 flag in your first 50 years

AFL, VFL, SANFL or VFA?

Make up your mind.

North should've won more than 2 with the team they had. Crashed out in 2 prelims .. and 1998? tsk tsk, should've been skun by half time.

I agree. However, we still have one more than you blokes.

Stuart Cochrane? :confused:

Don't come that crap, you know who.

Hardwick also learned his footy at North, so make that two players.

Two hard players.

The only two hard players.

Ditto ;)

Double ditto.

Ford Fairlane
1 Apr 2006, 10:01
Your 50 years in the VFL, our first seven years in the expanded VFL. I have no confusion on the topic. Don't be like a crowie, I'm sure you're better than that ... ;)

You have 1 more than us, granted. But that's with a 70 year run up. That's longer than Michael Holding's!

Cochrane didn't play in the GF, Hardwick was great. But we had a few other hard guys in that side who learned their craft in different places - eg Wilson, Pickett, Carr. IIRC Hardwick was in the so called choker sides too ... is that when he's an Essendon player? ;)

Here's to a good game tonight .. and may the home team win ;) .

Toots Hibbert
1 Apr 2006, 10:19
Don't come that crap, you know who.
Byron Pickett cult figure at two clubs. But don't kid yourself, he was a Port boy originally. (Not looking too flash at Melbourne from what I can see, come on Choppy, do yourself a favour and lift your game.)

Ford Fairlane
1 Apr 2006, 10:30
Byron Pickett cult figure at two clubs. But don't kid yourself, he was a Port boy originally. (Not looking too flash at Melbourne from what I can see, come on Choppy, do yourself a favour and lift your game.)

Toots, you know that saying Pickett was a Port boy originally is like saying former Port Adelaide champion. No such thing. Pickett is a Port boy. Russell Ebert is a Port Adelaide champion.