View Full Version : Goddard vs. Selwood (Adam)

Lynch drops a mark
1 Apr 2006, 11:46
Who has shown more

Taken in the same draft

Goddard at #1 and Selwood all the way down at #53

Selwood for mine, maybe Goddard just needs to find a set place in the team but just cant seem to decide what it is yet.

Selwood Kept luke Ball to 11 possesions on thurseday night while collecting 16 of his own (few clangers in the first half tho, just rusty) + a fantastic hanger over Judd and converted for a goal

http://rapidshare.de/files/16909408/bunnings.asf.html (the mark and goal)

http://img418.imageshack.us/img418/8639/572149220wy.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img418.imageshack.us/img418/7855/572149749hg.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

samthemanlonergan
1 Apr 2006, 15:54
Goddard has played plenty more games, but only about the same number of good ones as Selwood. Selwood's 2005 preliminary final was sensational and takes it home IMO.

If I could chose one, it would definetly be Selwood. More upside left, and actually has a position to play. Goddard may have peaked, and doesn't have a set position anywhere.

jod23
3 Apr 2006, 03:23
Ive obviously seen far more of Selwood than Goddard but I certainly wouldnt trade Sellers for Goddard. Selwood is a very good young player.

F/D
3 Apr 2006, 12:59
Goddard quite easily.

sydney eagle
3 Apr 2006, 16:32
Selwood on current form. Taken at #53 in the draft was he ? Looks like a real bargain at that !

94_Eagles
3 Apr 2006, 16:45
Yay Bunnings is winning. :p

Lynch drops a mark
5 Apr 2006, 21:25
I think that selwood may have won this one

zero
5 Apr 2006, 21:33
iv been thoroughly underwhelmed by goddard, seen him play very few games.

you have to remember that selwood spent a fair bit of time injured and playing in the WAFL, and had to fight for his spot, whereas goddard has had the expectation on him from day one and been played when he hasnt been in great form.

hard to say.

Tubba
5 Apr 2006, 21:46
Selwood easily, might not have the class of Goddard but the gap between his good and his bad is much smaller than Goddard, who doesn't seem to want to compete with the same vigour that Selwood does

Nifty78
5 Apr 2006, 22:00
Selwood easily, Goddard is the worst no. 1 draft pick in the last 10 years. Too soft !

94_Eagles
5 Apr 2006, 22:01
Goddard has class? :?

Bentleigh
5 Apr 2006, 22:10
Goddard will come good.

peterss
5 Apr 2006, 23:48
Bunnings has shown he can match it with the game sbest in midfield so he gets my vote :D

Richo83
9 Apr 2006, 16:20
Selwood easily, Goddard is the worst no. 1 draft pick in the last 10 years. Too soft !

So true. The fact that Wells was number two makes the pick even worse.

The worst first round pick since Fiona.

Kaitsey
20 Jul 2006, 15:02
yeah selwood hands down

tomthetiger
20 Jul 2006, 15:13
Goddard...Is Selwood even that good?

F-U
20 Jul 2006, 15:41
Goddard...Is Selwood even that good?

In my POTY voting he is third so far

goal sneak
20 Jul 2006, 17:10
In my POTY voting he is third so far

Yeah Quentin Lynch and Michael Gardiner are probably 1 and 2.

Goddard by the length of the Flemington straight.

Bentleigh
20 Jul 2006, 21:08
Goddard will come good.

Told ya.

Goddard for me.

BATTERY
20 Jul 2006, 21:10
Goddard easily.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=16&pid1=371&tid2=19&pid2=386

dont bowl there
21 Jul 2006, 18:45
Goddard easily.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=16&pid1=371&tid2=19&pid2=386

Mate those stats show nothing between the two, and Selwood is playing in a much beter midfield team. Plus i just dont rate Goddard at all, wow he can kick long.:thumbsd:

blues4flag
21 Jul 2006, 18:49
Goddard, has improved heaps this year.

weagles_fan
22 Jul 2006, 01:12
Selwood is a tagger...does not pick up uncontested possessions at hb like Goddard....also his possessions are almost all contested. Goddard has improved this year but he is not as good as Selwood or not yet anyway.

Bomberland06
22 Jul 2006, 02:57
I reckon Goddard is a possible all Australian this year he has been a n absolute star for st kilda this year in the backline!!!!

Goodard>>>>>>>>>>>>>selwood

Axcellence
22 Jul 2006, 08:25
I think Goddard will be in the top 5 of B & F with Riewoldt, Harvey, Sam Fisher and Max Hudgton.

For those that didn't notice, Goddard is actually 1 year younger (365 days +) than Selwood.

mcphee_is_a_gun
23 Jul 2006, 13:17
Goddard is a class above Selwood.

The Magenius
1 Aug 2006, 02:04
Selwood, then daylight, sorry but its true.

goDees22
1 Aug 2006, 14:20
Selwood, then daylight, sorry but its true.
sorry, but its definitely not

Quinz
1 Aug 2006, 14:27
I'm happy with Selwood. There is no way i would trade him for Goddard.

Adelaide Hawk
1 Aug 2006, 14:37
This is a joke. Goddard is a far better player than Selwood.

Embers
1 Aug 2006, 14:39
Selwood would be top ten in our B&F easily. Its a silly comparison in the end as one is a defender and the other a midfielder.

Qsaint
1 Aug 2006, 14:52
Goddard will be one of our best miles infront of Sellwood

celtic_pride
1 Aug 2006, 15:19
Selwood is grossly, grossly overated. The only thing he has been noted for is when he was knocked out by that Adelaide Champion Riccuito last year.
Goddard easily. Anyone who knows anything about football would see that Goddard is the far superior player.

Embers
1 Aug 2006, 15:31
Wrong board Celtic, your looking for the Andrew Walker board

Biggie
1 Aug 2006, 15:38
Selwood easily. Tough nut, gets the hard ball, shuts down opp midfielders.

Goddard floats around too much, receives all the time and doesnt do a hell of alot for #1 pick.

jako27
1 Aug 2006, 15:50

Goddard floats around too much, receives all the time and doesnt do a hell of alot for #1 pick.

spot on

celtic_pride
1 Aug 2006, 15:51

You don't watch much footy outside Eagles games do you ?
Goddard would have to be one of the Saints top 5 most consistent players this year.
Goddard is far more skillful then Selwood as well.
14 other clubs would take Goddard ahead of Selwood I assure you.

Biggie
1 Aug 2006, 15:55

Dont assume bud, you would look silly.

Tthe 14 teams would take Goddard only because he is over-hyped whilst Sewlwood is underrated. Simple.

It is easy to hit a target when you are under ZERO pressure. Selwood is almost always under pressure when he has the ball.

Try watching our games Mr Celtic.

Embers
1 Aug 2006, 15:57
You don't watch much footy outside Eagles games do you ?
Goddard would have to be one of the Saints top 5 most consistent players this year.
Goddard is far more skillful then Selwood as well.

You dont watch much football either considering Selwood is playing in defense due to the Nicoski injury and Goddard is playing as a receiver and replaced Lenny Hayes as the link between middle and forward line.

I think you just hope Goddard becomes a gun because it gives Carlton another excuse for 5 years of mediocrity.

Nightwolf
1 Aug 2006, 15:57
Goddard.

Selwood is overrated...

Biggie
1 Aug 2006, 15:58
You dont watch much football either considering Selwood is playing in defense due to the Nicoski injury and Goddard is playing as a receiver and replaced Lenny Hayes as the link between middle and forward line.

I think you just hope Goddard becomes a gun because it gives Carlton another excuse for 5 years of mediocrity.

AWWWWWW Embers hits the nail on the head!! :D

celtic_pride
1 Aug 2006, 16:07

Actually I have foxtel and watch a lot of the Weagles game on the tube and would still rate Goddard ahead of him.
Fair dinkum, with Lenny Hayes out of the season and a few other guns out for the year, Goddard has really stepped up this season.
Just because he hasn't performed to other percieved expectations of a no 1 pick, doesn't mean he's a dud. Well obviously this poll results so far are proving me wrong, but IMO I rate Goddard higher. But just ask the average Saints fans just what kind of season BJ's having.

Milkman
1 Aug 2006, 16:15
Selwood is grossly, grossly overated. The only thing he has been noted for is when he was knocked out by that Adelaide Champion

Actually I have foxtel and watch a lot of the Weagles game on the tube

Then you're either blind or an idiot.

davey_magik
1 Aug 2006, 20:16
I rate Goddard more, but would be interesting to see the amount of contested possessions he wins.
Selwood will still be a very good player.

Boyler_Room
2 Aug 2006, 00:37
Goddard, but at #53 Selwood was a bargain.

sydney eagle
2 Aug 2006, 12:12
Perhaps we will have a chance to compare their games this weekend !:)

goDees22
3 Aug 2006, 18:51
http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/compare_players?tid1=113&pid1=2003063&tid2=116&pid2=2003068

Goddard wins more contested possesions

Biggie
5 Aug 2006, 01:47
Goddard was ordinary once again.

Selwood awesome.................once again.

Case closed.

TheBigUnit
5 Aug 2006, 01:52
I rate Goddard slightly higher.

Embers
5 Aug 2006, 01:58
I rate Goddard slightly higher.

Its a silly thread, ones a midfielder ones a backpocket

CrazyQ
5 Aug 2006, 02:01
Its a silly thread, ones a midfielder ones a backpocket
Goddard the BP right?

Embers
5 Aug 2006, 02:11
Goddard the BP right?

Nah Selwood

Played on Milne tonight and has done those jobs for 2 months now.

Drummond
5 Aug 2006, 02:22
Nah Selwood

Played on Milne tonight and has done those jobs for 2 months now.
He was implying that Goddard gets cheap possies in defence...

Embers
5 Aug 2006, 02:25
He was implying that Goddard gets cheap possies in defence...

Yeh I figured that after I clicked submit, was gonna edit but couldnt feel bothered :)