View Full Version : Year 2000 all over again?

Tredders66
1 Apr 2006, 21:42
Oh well ive seen enough already. To put it pretty simple that was pathetic. I dunno if it's just me but have we ever lost by a respectable margin?? I can't see myself contributing to this target 5000 campaign if we persist with this shi*house gameplan. Tonight shows how important Tredrea is to this side, not that i think his going to make much difference to us making the top 8. I think we all have to accept it's not going to happen and just hope chocos doing the right thing developing this side for the next 3 or so.

Andre
1 Apr 2006, 21:44
Oh well ive seen enough already. To put it pretty simple that was pathetic. I dunno if it's just me but have we ever lost by a respectable margin?? I can't see myself contributing to this target 5000 campaign if we persist with this shi*house gameplan. Tonight shows how important Tredrea is to this side, not that i think his going to make much difference to us making the top 8. I think we all have to accept it's not going to happen and just hope chocos doing the right thing developing this side for the next 3 or so.
Unfortunately I doubt we'd have lost by anything less then 1 or 2 more goals with Tredders out there. The problem was the defense and midfield - not our forward line.

Porthos
1 Apr 2006, 21:45
I think we all have to accept it's not going to happen and just hope chocos doing the right thing developing this side for the next 3 or so.This is the week that we will see who has the 2006 gold card.

Its a bad time for certain senior flankers to play crap football, with so many in the SANFL looking likely.

Porthos
1 Apr 2006, 21:47
The problem was the defense and midfield - not our forward line.
All of Wakelin, Wilson, Walsh, Wanganeen and Bishop were there. Any problems we have with the defence should have been almost non-existent, and only caused by complete midfield failure.

Senior players should be able to stand up for the one rookie we played back there.

Andre
1 Apr 2006, 21:50
All of Wakelin, Wilson, Walsh, Wanganeen and Bishop were there. Any problems we have with the defence should have been almost non-existent, and only caused by complete midfield failure.

Senior players should be able to stand up for the one rookie we played back there.
The midfield was the gaping hole (as it has been since the start of 2005), but our senior players in defense seemed to feel obliged to join in the handball/short kick merry go round to move it left-right-back-and to the sides-just not forward. A pity, because as far as the initial defensive work of stopping their men, they weren't too bad. It was their disposal method after that, that caused too many turnovers near the Roos goals.

Sandola
1 Apr 2006, 21:51
My heart sank when they started that crap side-to-side chipping across the back line in the second quarter. That has to be game plan stuff, even though Choco regularly denies it ("we don't WANT to play that way"). Why? says the head to the brick wall.

Tredders66
1 Apr 2006, 21:54
My heart sank when they started that crap side-to-side chipping across the back line in the second quarter. That has to be game plan stuff, even though Choco regularly denies it ("we don't WANT to play that way"). Why? says the head to the brick wall.

Yeah just wait till you hear choco during the week say that we were forced by the opposition to play that way:rolleyes: . We hear it every week!

Pred
1 Apr 2006, 22:06
Up for grabs....

http://general.mikedonovan.net/images/footy/goldcard2006.png

*PAF
1 Apr 2006, 22:07
... Tonight shows how important Tredrea is to this side, ...
I disagree with that statement wrt tonight's loss.
The delivery into the forward line was crap and the main reason we lost. Had Tredrea been there it would have been crap and unfortunately even more predictable.
Chances are we would have lost by an even bigger margin.

PJ Power
2 Apr 2006, 00:47
Statistically, White didn't perform too much worse than Tredrea would have.

The areas in which Tredrea would have helped the side (one would hope) would have been to straighten us up a bit more and to get the ball in faster when we were dawdling out of the middle and HB line. They also would have been more inclined to honour his leads and he probably would have done better when manned up against more than one opponent.

But I agree wholeheartedly that the problem was not with our forwards at all tonight. It was primarily with the midfield (lack of clearances and costly turnovers when we looked to be getting clear) and the way the defenders fiddled with it.
Players would start to lead only to have their teammates share it around by handball so that the leads were made ineffective.

Tas
2 Apr 2006, 01:50
Unfortunately I doubt we'd have lost by anything less then 1 or 2 more goals with Tredders out there. The problem was the defense and midfield - not our forward line.

I think your tall defensive players did a good job. Thompson only got 1 goal as did Petrie and Brown got 2. I think it was more to do with the smaller defenders and more importantly with the midfielders prepared to go back with their man. Quite a few times we had Grant or Harvey running inside 50 and their opponent was prepared to stay back and be a loose player for the rebound.

I think Port just conceeded far to many 'cheap' goals where we had a few more midfielders around the forward 50 where there was not all that much pressure on the ball carrier.

I'm not sure if Choco is trying to pull off a basketball zone-type of defense but at times it didn't put much pressure on the ball carrier so we got the opportunity to go inside 50 with a whole lot less pressure and that allowed us to hit targets and take a lot more shots on goal from set shots than is normal for us.

kirky
2 Apr 2006, 11:33
Oh well ive seen enough already. To put it pretty simple that was pathetic. I dunno if it's just me but have we ever lost by a respectable margin?? I can't see myself contributing to this target 5000 campaign if we persist with this shi*house gameplan.

I'm confused, are you a member now?

Tredders66
2 Apr 2006, 13:37
I'm confused, are you a member now?

Nope. I usually wait till round 1 or so, but if we continue with efforts like last night i might be waiting longer.

Ported
2 Apr 2006, 14:35
The Kangas usually kick off the season well with a win. They haven't lost a round one game since 2000 or something. We're more than not very shonky. I know all this 'gameplan' business is ********ing us off, but we can still be excited about the year. Has everyones expectations risen over the preseason?

nivek48
2 Apr 2006, 14:39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandola

Yeah just wait till you hear choco during the week say that we were forced by the opposition to play that way:rolleyes: . We hear it every week!

Read the 'post match press conference' thread - choco already said exactly that :rolleyes:

kirky
2 Apr 2006, 14:43
Nope. I usually wait till round 1 or so, but if we continue with efforts like last night i might be waiting longer.

Well, with comment, you have become irrelevant!

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 14:45
despite all the factors which resulted in an average performance we had a real crack the 1st 10 mins of the final quarter and had we taken our chances we'd have been level with 10 mins to go. People who think our gameplan is chip chip chip are well off the mark, look at the first 15 mins where we kicked 5 goals pumping long to the goalsquare.The reason that stopped is we werent getting clean possession thru the middle therefore the attacks were starting in defense where anyone who's played the game knows u dont bomb to a contest in the centre of the ground for obvious reasons. The kangas always start seasons with a rush because they are desperate for 13 new members, to get in the papers etc,and the final margin of 41pts we all know was not indicative as the umps booted the last 4 from the 20 minute mark anyway.

maccas_no1
2 Apr 2006, 16:33

Thats just about admiting your a 'bandwagon' supporter, if the club goes alright you jump 'on' if they arent doing to flash you dont, pretty weak.

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 17:09
Thats just about admiting your a 'bandwagon' supporter, if the club goes alright you jump 'on' if they arent doing to flash you dont, pretty weak.

Either that or some supporters actually demand and then reward on field success. I dont agree but some clubs fans are happy 2 throw money out like a franchise or pyramid scam is being funded while others will give credit where its due. Probably comes from supporting one club all your life (because some have been in existence for more than 16 years) and seperates the mediocre clubs who accept average seasons from those who always expect success no matter what the AFl does to create an even comp

SpringChoke
2 Apr 2006, 17:28
Either that or some supporters actually demand and then reward on field success.

What were the crowd figures last night, 27,000? Is that how "real" Port supporters reward their players for onfield success? How quickly the majority drop off.

I dont agree but some clubs fans are happy 2 throw money out like a franchise or pyramid scam is being funded while others will give credit where its due.

Does a real club change their guernsey at a blatant attempt to grab a few more sponsorship dollars ( M&M's). Does a a real football clubs CEO try to sell funeral plans to its membership base?

Probably comes from supporting one club all your life (because some have been in existence for more than 16 years) and seperates the mediocre clubs who accept average seasons from those who always expect success no matter what the AFl does to create an even comp
You should be thanking the AFL. If the comp wasn't setup the way it was, small fry like yourselves wouldn't even get a look in. Does a strong club have to ask the AFL for a $200 grand hand out 12 months after winning a premiership?

SpringChoke
2 Apr 2006, 17:34
Well, with comment, you have become irrelevant!

It says alot doesn't it. Round 1 and he's jumping off.

maccas_no1
2 Apr 2006, 17:40
Either that or some supporters actually demand and then reward on field success. I dont agree but some clubs fans are happy 2 throw money out like a franchise or pyramid scam is being funded while others will give credit where its due. Probably comes from supporting one club all your life (because some have been in existence for more than 16 years) and seperates the mediocre clubs who accept average seasons from those who always expect success no matter what the AFl does to create an even comp

That is the biggest crock of crap ever typed, You either support your club or you dont, I buy a AFC membership every year weather we win or lose or what happens its called sticking with your club through thick and thin and being a loyal dedicated supporter, not riding the crest of the wave when the going is good and not wanting to know about when the club isnt doing well.

That my friend is called being a 'bandwagoner' it has nothing to do with how long ago the club was formed what gurnsey's they wear. That is way above and beyond any supporter and has nothing to do with the issue I put fourth.

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 17:45
You should be thanking the AFL. If the comp wasn't setup the way it was, small fry like yourselves wouldn't even get a look in. Does a strong club have to ask the AFL for a $200 grand hand out 12 months after winning a premiership?

Strong club and real club, 2 different things. E.g Carlton one of the greatest clubs yet in massive debt.Maybe premierships this side of the millenium are not as financially productive as they were all those years back in the 90's when the only way to get a copy of the occassion was on Vhs. Some human beings rate $ as not the be all and end all of the world also.

The Affccc were an abortion of "small fry" Port Adelaide as history will record years back, thats one tag this club will never carry around.

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 18:00
[QUOTE=maccas_no1]That is the biggest crock of crap ever typed, You either support your club or you dont, I buy a AFC membership every year weather we win or lose or what happens its called sticking with your club through thick and thin and being a loyal dedicated supporter, not riding the crest of the wave when the going is good and not wanting to know about when the club isnt doing well.

That my friend is called being a 'bandwagoner' it has nothing to do with how long ago the club was formed what gurnsey's they wear. That is way above and beyond any supporter and has nothing to do with the issue I put fourth.[/QUOTE,

Most agree ur tagged as a bandwagoner if u dont financially support a team year in year out( personally i do and will) , people follow different clubs for various reasons, some because noone else was available to jump on , some like to see winning games of football but i dont agree u are not a true supporter of a club if u throw ya money at the club regardless of what they show on the field. Instinctively when reading Tredders 66 post i was shocked people wait to see if a team wins or loses but maybe it goes a bit deeper i dont know.

SpringChoke
2 Apr 2006, 18:07
Strong club and real club, 2 different things. E.g Carlton one of the greatest clubs yet in massive debt.

And how is that related to Port Power? So a strong club is one that has average onfield success and has to beg the AFL for hands out every year? I'm sure John "former AFC member " James would thing differently. As would 99.9% of the population living in the real world. A few poor years and you could be begging even us for a hand out. Don't worry I'll put in a gold coin.

Maybe premierships this side of the millenium are not as financially productive as they were all those years back in the 90's when the only way to get a copy of the occassion was on Vhs.

All those years back when premierships were won in a second rate competition. Welcome to the bigtime

The Affccc were an abortion of "small fry" Port Adelaide as history will record years back, thats one tag this club will never carry around.

So what tags are you happy to carry around chokers, traitors, back stabbers, irrelevant, home of players of questionable character. Which is it?

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 18:09
So what tags are you happy to carry around chokers, traitors, back stabbers, irrelevant, home of players of questionable character. Which is it?

Any of those will do.Like 2004 makes the ultimate success so much sweeter knowing any and everyone loves to see u fail.

SpringChoke
2 Apr 2006, 18:17
Any of those will do.Like 2004 makes the ultimate success so much sweeter knowing any and everyone loves to see u fail.

I have a feeling those of us in the "everyone" category will be quite happy this year.;)

ebo337
2 Apr 2006, 18:22
I have a feeling those of us in the "everyone" category will be quite happy this year.;)

Agree totally, 5 consecutive years of finals football most would be happy with, youd be fully aware the Afl's priority is for an even comp its our time for 1,2 years of being average and most are prepared for it.

Ford Fairlane
2 Apr 2006, 18:42

Welcome back Springy. Now what was it they say about spots and leopards? Good to see any facade of meaningful contribution quickly dismissed in a welter of sledging. Tony Greig would be appalled. ;)

*PAF
2 Apr 2006, 18:47
Welcome back Springy. Now what was it they say about spots and leopards? Good to see any facade of meaningful contribution quickly dismissed in a welter of sledging. Tony Greig would be appalled. ;)
Hehe. :D

Ford Fairlane
2 Apr 2006, 18:55
Maybe he understands better in another language ...

German:

respektieren Sie die Mannschaft, wenn Sie auf ihrem Brett bekanntgeben

French:

respectez l'équipe quand vous signalez sur leur conseil

Italian:

rispetti la squadra quando inviate sul loro bordo

I dunno, it's worth a try. Maybe Pred can give us the Japanese translation ... ;)

Pred
2 Apr 2006, 19:19
I dunno, it's worth a try. Maybe Pred can give us the Japanese translation ... ;)あなたが彼らの板で伝達し合ったら, チームを尊重し なさい

for those with nihongo-impaired computers...

http://general.mikedonovan.net/images/ford_trans.jpg

And then, there's always pidjun

Espectray ethay eamtay enwhay ouyay ostpay onway eirthay oardbay.