View Full Version : Hawthorn vs Fremantle at Tassie

Rough_Edges
2 Apr 2006, 11:57
WIll be a close, low scoring match with Fremantle winning by 2 or 3 goals in the end. I am actually looking foward to this one though.

Lonie_from_50
2 Apr 2006, 12:10
Yeah, interesting game I guess. One that probably sees the tips quite even. Freo have 'the longest trip in football' according to some, but I think they have a better outfit, as much goalkicking power with Pavlich and McPharlin aswell as Farmer and Medhurst. The midfields are evenly match ball finding wise, but the skills of the Dockers are that little bit better I think. Everitt v Sandilands is just as even, considering I rate Sandilands a big chance at AA this season.

Dockers by 19 points

rgauci
2 Apr 2006, 12:45
Yeah, interesting game I guess. One that probably sees the tips quite even. Freo have 'the longest trip in football' according to some, but I think they have a better outfit, as much goalkicking power with Pavlich and McPharlin aswell as Farmer and Medhurst. The midfields are evenly match ball finding wise, but the skills of the Dockers are that little bit better I think. Everitt v Sandilands is just as even, considering I rate Sandilands a big chance at AA this season.

Dockers by 19 points

Big call given Cox's opener. I don't think he'll get AA, but will be considered one of the top 3 ruckman by the end of the year.

EDIT: Dockers by 29.

iluvparis
2 Apr 2006, 14:15
This is going to sound silly but for me this game defines Fremantles ENTIRE season. The same-old Dockers will throw away must win games like this. If they are going to be a serious threat this year they MUST win here. I'm tipping they will.

Freo Big Fella
2 Apr 2006, 14:20
Good to see the Hawthorn attitude rubbing off on Guerra, what a dive!

crane
2 Apr 2006, 14:22
This is going to sound silly but for me this game defines Fremantles ENTIRE season. .

You're right - It is a silly statement

-Buzz-
2 Apr 2006, 14:28
What a boring game so far.

Both teams play a rubbish brand of footy.

Kahuna
2 Apr 2006, 14:30
What is the slowest combined total of both teams at 1/4 time at this rate the record may be broken.

iluvparis
2 Apr 2006, 14:31

Carey summed it up yesterday - If its a pretty game, Fremantle are going to smash Hawthorn - so it's going to be ugly.

RogerMellie
2 Apr 2006, 14:32

You still post a rubbish brand of post.

kirky
2 Apr 2006, 14:33
1. Do Hawthorn realise they need forwards to kick goals? I blame Hawthorn more so than Freo given its them that has all their players in the back half.

2. If I wasn't watching I would have thought it was pouring with rain. 1.1 each at nearly quarter time. This is crap football and I defy anyone to suggest otherwise.

Freo Big Fella
2 Apr 2006, 14:36
It's hard to play good looking football with 20 opposition players in your forward line.

Farmer goals, Freo by 6 points.

kirky
2 Apr 2006, 14:36
Why is the crowd booing? The hawk player who wasn't in the contest actually grabbed his jumper - not permissable this year!

Kahuna
2 Apr 2006, 14:37
Freo up by 6 points at 1/4 time all because Farmer deserves an acting award.

-Buzz-
2 Apr 2006, 14:38
It's hard to play good looking football with 20 opposition players in your forward line. Fremantle are getting just as many players back as Hawthorn.

Same brand of footy you were playing last year.

GoSydneySwans
2 Apr 2006, 14:39
Is McPharlin injured or just trying to make my dream team even worse?

kirky
It's hard to play good looking football with 20 opposition players in your forward line.

Farmer goals, Freo by 6 points.

Actually, Freo can play a free flowing game and can be good to watch however Hawthorn just play crap with no style or substance.

Everyone has a go at both Sydney and Adelaide but the Hawks are a sh*it load worse with players behind the ball.

Kapow!!!

What? It was 50 when he grabbed his shirt...let alone slung him to the ground. Farmer milked it a little but it was always there. Particularly under the new rules.

I know it rains a lot in Tassie but this flood is nucking futs!

Rough_Edges
2 Apr 2006, 14:40
10 goals will win this match.

flooding is annoying.

Schammer to get at least 35 touches.

Kapow!!!
Is McPharlin injured or just trying to make my dream team even worse?

Tis a bit hard to kick goals when there's 7 on him and Pavlich at one time. And I'm not exaggerating

kirky

What don't you understand - the Hawk player (no 3) was not in the contest and he grabbed the jumper - irrelevant whether Farmer acted. Open your eyes.

Kahuna
2 Apr 2006, 14:43
What don't you understand - the Hawk player (no 3) was not in the contest and he grabbed the jumper - irrelevant whether Farmer acted. Open your eyes.

I guess but still it was pretty soft.

Kahuna
2 Apr 2006, 14:44
Delete

ImperialPurple
2 Apr 2006, 14:57
This is slowly driving me insane....

GoSydneySwans
2 Apr 2006, 15:01
Tis a bit hard to kick goals when there's 7 on him and Pavlich at one time. And I'm not exaggerating
Sounds like the delay to get on Tassie TV might be a good thing.

Kapow!!!
2 Apr 2006, 15:05
I thought this year would be different. Nope, looks like another long year :mad:

Copernicus
2 Apr 2006, 15:06
So, is it just plain freezing in tassie today or what? 7 goals to nearly halftime doesn't sound like much of a game.

DynamoUltra
2 Apr 2006, 15:14
Fremantle are getting just as many players back as Hawthorn.

Same brand of footy you were playing last year.

I'd say it is Fremantle who is playing the ugly football. 56 short kicks and 57 uncontested marks in the first quarter! Come on. Why do we get the rap for "flooding" all the time?

WA ROO
2 Apr 2006, 15:24
Come on. Why do we get the rap for "flooding" all the time?having 1/3rd of your team camped around Pavlich might have something to do with it

Rough_Edges
2 Apr 2006, 15:26
If Williams kicks 6, Hawks will win. I don't think Parker is the main match up for him also.
Longmuir is a very important player from here on, He needs to kick more goals as Freo's #3 tall foward, Hawks are triple teaming McPharlin and Pavlich eery time and Longmuir has to get one out.

campbell
2 Apr 2006, 15:38
having 1/3rd of your team camped around Pavlich might have something to do with it

I could have sworn I heard the AFL say these darn new rules were to stop flooding.

This match is a disgrace due to Hawthorns flooding.Boring football.

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 15:38
Uh ohs Freo.

RoosterLad
2 Apr 2006, 15:43
gee freo are pathetic !

RoosterLad
2 Apr 2006, 15:44
another goal

Copernicus
2 Apr 2006, 15:46
Hawks up by five goals and it's not looking pretty for the Dockers. Must say I am glad I don't have this on the TV.

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 15:55
Freo get one back.

Copernicus
2 Apr 2006, 15:56
Seems like the game is opening up a lot more - as many goals in this quarter as there were in the third.

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 15:59
So, is it just plain freezing in tassie today or what? 7 goals to nearly halftime doesn't sound like much of a game.
Nah 16C up in Launceston (11C in Hobart) sounds like a dreadful game from the description I'm hearing on ABC Radio.
Even this crappy old Prince & The Pauper movie on WIN at the moment beats this game.

Williams kicks his sixth for Hawthorn.
Hawks 12.5.77 - Freo 7.6.48

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:00
Another one to the Hawks, their 8th for the quarter.

13.5.83 to Freo 7.6.48

Warwick
2 Apr 2006, 16:02
I can't believe i ignored the golden rule - never bet on Fremantle.

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:05
Spider Everitt marks 35m out and kicks a goal - 9th for the quarter on the siren.

Hawthorn 14.6.90 - Freo 7.6.48 (3 Quarter Time)

Rough_Edges
2 Apr 2006, 16:06
Hawthorn playing a bit like the Bulldogs that quarter, flooding back and then running, backing themselves. They won't lsoe from here. Longmuir, Pavlich didn't do enpough for them up foward. McPharlin was godo for the dockers though. Mitchell has 28 touches.

Williams has 6, and has really broke the game appart as i said, Parker isn't the right man for him.

Hawthorn: 14:6:90
Fremantle: 7.6.48

Fremantle can't play footy, with the talent the have they should be beating the hawks by 3 or 4.

Lynch drops a mark
2 Apr 2006, 16:07
dockers are so damn soft it isnt funny

was watching this on TV, Pav 4 on 1 and they keep kicking it to him

same with mcpharlin

Sam Mitchell for the brownlow any one ? absolute star for most of that 3rd term

hodge also very good

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 16:07
Rabble much?

I tipped Freo :thumbsd: but it's not bothering me that I'm gonna be wrong. :D

Mitchell in my Dream Team. :D

dugrene
2 Apr 2006, 16:08
One quarter to. It's not over till the fat lady sings.

Mind you I reckon she might already be singing. I just cant hear her.

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:10
Crap crowd by the looks of it on the telly.

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 16:12
Crap State.

snakebite01
2 Apr 2006, 16:13
Freo are so sh*t.

Shotgun puts through number 7.

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:13
Williams kicks his 7th.

Hawks 15.6.96 - Freo 7.6.48

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:14
Crap State.
Crap Post. ;)

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 16:15
Come back to WA, Williams!

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:16
Richie Vandeburg kicks another one.

Hawks 16.6.102 - Freo 7.6.48

iluvparis
2 Apr 2006, 16:18
Fremantle will sack Connonly in the first 6 weeks and they will be lucky to make the 8. No chance for the Flag.:thumbsd:

Terrible performance - why did I tip them:(

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:21
Shotgun puts through his 8th.

Hawthorn 17.6.108 - Fremantle 7.7.49

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:24
Pavlich finally goals for Freo.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 8.7.55

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:28
Farmer puts one through.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 9.7.61

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:31
Dodd stretchered off for Freo.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 9.8.62

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:36
Farmer kicks his 3rd.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 10.8.68

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:38
Bell kicks the Dockers fourth in a row.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 11.9.75

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:40
Hawks have stopped. Medhurst drills another one.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 12.9.81

94_Eagles
2 Apr 2006, 16:40
Freo getting a few back in junk time.

Kingpin
2 Apr 2006, 16:42
Final Score:

Medhurst kicks the Dockers sixth goal in a row after the siren.

Hawthorn 17.7.109 - Fremantle 13.9.87

iluvparis
2 Apr 2006, 16:46
Tipping falls to the .500 mark for the round.

Rough_Edges
2 Apr 2006, 16:46
Atleast Freo hit back hard near then end, Hawthorns midfield owon this game, Mitchell, Crawford, Hodge were all fantastic. Hawthorn definatley deserved the win. Williams kicked 8 and deserved everyone of them, Parker definatley wsan't the right man for him. I dunno where Freo can go fromhre, Obviously poor efforts from their midfeild to get it moving quickly and maybe get pavlich or longmuir 1 on 1. McPharlin was fremantles best foward.

Longmuir was pretty good for Freo 12 touches 5 marks 3 goals

Hawthorn ended up winning by 22 points.