View Full Version : Thoughts on Todays game

dominguez
2 Apr 2006, 16:15
42 point lead to hawthorn at 3/4 time.

Gee they break your heart. The clearances have been dreadful, the umpiring has been shocking, and the coaching has been disgraceful.

pinkus maximus
2 Apr 2006, 16:18
I wonder what the excuses will be?

nothing has changed

Brickie
2 Apr 2006, 16:25
We are rubbish.

We're going to have to go back to go forward i think. Our midfield is poor, too many seagulls, defence is a work in progress , the forward lines above average (usually) and the coaching is diabolical.

Connelly is still using the same defensive ,uncontested game plan since he got here, its time for him to go. Might need a Blightesque cleanout as well .

I might be overreacting after one game but its been happening for the last 2 years .

ImperialPurple
2 Apr 2006, 16:28
What sort of spin will they put on this?

Absolutely shocking. Just when you think you've got a sniff of something good, they pull this carp out. Over and over and over and over....

mullen
2 Apr 2006, 16:30
We'll swap you a midfielder for a forward? ;)

FreoDocker
2 Apr 2006, 16:32
Very very poor footy. We just didn't play like a team today. As far as the coaching methods, we played into the hawk’s hands all day by constantly kicking the ball into our forward line to a 1-3 contest. Credit to the hawks, when they weren't killing us in the centre, they were rebounding well out of defence. We've got a long way to go. Our midfield today was more than ordinary.

Cameron_K
2 Apr 2006, 16:38
pathetic, disgraceful, disgusting, ********ing awful :mad:

Parker hurry up and move on :mad:

Brickie
2 Apr 2006, 16:41

He's been poor today but with the amount of ball coming down there Williams would of towelled anyone up today. He's already announced this is his last year anyway.

pinkus maximus
2 Apr 2006, 16:42

bit harsh

we have a talented group of players who never play on the same page. Just a bunch of headless chooks

Dr Ralph Dagg
2 Apr 2006, 16:47
Have a re-read of this and think through how the game actually panned out.

Dockers up for defensive duel
http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=253936

"If that's going to be the case, we'll make sure we are going to protect our goals too and (not) allow Hawthorn to score, so there'll be a fair bit of that."

They kicked 17 goals to our 10 allowing for some lates ones when they took the pressure off. We scored three in a half -- again.

Then have a re-read of this and think how the game panned out:
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/03/11/1141701736545.html

"In an interview on 3AW before the game, Connolly claimed his side was a "soft target". He meant easy target, of course, but it was apt phrasing, because the Dockers ARE soft, physically, and mentally. With a chance to win some credibility after a decade of misery, even some of Freo's senior players couldn't summon the effort to keep up with an opponent which, at the final change, could have been excused for thinking it was headed for a practice match next week."

Then think about how quickly Connolly has to go. There has to be shake-up. There has to be circuit breaker.

BB gun
2 Apr 2006, 16:48
We'll swap you a midfielder for a forward? ;)
how about Judd for pavlich

Cameron_K
2 Apr 2006, 16:49
I have been one of CC's biggest fans yet after today it is a case of sorry Chris things just aren't working out. If you can't get your players up for round 1 against the hawks then you are not the right man for the job. Don't get me wrong a lot of the blame has to go on the players yet the side was out coached AGAIN.

Harvey please take over.

Brickie
2 Apr 2006, 16:50

Would'nt help us, the coach would play Judd loose man in defence.

miccullen
2 Apr 2006, 16:50
42 point lead to hawthorn at 3/4 time.

Gee they break your heart. The clearances have been dreadful, the umpiring has been shocking, and the coaching has been disgraceful.
UMPIRING???? Dead-set. Hawthorn are so far ahead at 3/4 time that they hop on the plane and head home, (thus allowing Freo kick a few in the last), and you whine about the umpires?

Scham
2 Apr 2006, 16:52

Thats a stupid comment! Parker was doing a sensational job until the flood gates opened, and then no one was going to stop Williams! Have a look at the pressureless kicks coming into the Hawks forward line, if you want to blame someone for todays result, don't look at Parker!

I actually thought our senior players were our best today, Bell, McManus, Haselby, and then young Jonno.

wizard_9
2 Apr 2006, 16:52
I have been one of CC's biggest fans yet after today it is a case of sorry Chris things just aren't working out. If you can't get your players up for round 1 against the hawks then you are not the right man for the job. Don't get me wrong a lot of the blame has to go on the players yet the side was out coached AGAIN.

Harvey please take over.

Your pathetic, obviously not much of a loyal supporter.

Cameron_K
2 Apr 2006, 16:54
Thats a stupid comment! Parker was doing a sensational job until the flood gates opened, and then no one was going to stop Williams! Have a look at the pressureless kicks coming into the Hawks forward line, if you want to blame someone for todays result, don't look at Parker!

I actually thought our senior players were our best today, Bell, McManus, Haselby, and then young Jonno.

Sensational job? Williams had 66% of their score at 1/2 time and it was the 3 stupid free kicks he gave away which resulted in goals. I would much prefer Duff in the backline, would have been the perfect opponent for Williams.

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 16:56
cant blame defence,parker played out of position hes not a fullback but he should of been change with walker perhaps.the first half we played dumb in the midfield against the flood.the worse thing is we got smashed in the center again in the third nothin has changed.choaching was too slow to react when we needed to.johnson was best on ground for me

Cameron_K
2 Apr 2006, 16:57
Your pathetic, obviously not much of a loyal supporter.

So you're happy that Connolly was out coached by a Clarkson? The last 6 goals flattered Fremantle.

Did I say I have thrown in the towel and wont support Fremantle any more, No! This is a bottom 4 side who has had the wood over us for the last 3 years and our coach who many hope can take us to the next level has no answers for this gameplan

dominguez
2 Apr 2006, 16:57
Very very poor footy. We just didn't play like a team today. As far as the coaching methods, we played into the hawk’s hands all day by constantly kicking the ball into our forward line to a 1-3 contest. Credit to the hawks, when they weren't killing us in the centre, they were rebounding well out of defence. We've got a long way to go. Our midfield today was more than ordinary.

That's the thing FreoDocker. Flooding the backline is always going to suit a side with no key forwards and plenty of runners more than a side with 3 quality marking forwards. It's just common sense. In the end Pav just stopped leading, and who can blame him. Many of the supporters realise Connolly isn't up to it, and on Todays performance I'd say the players definately do to and that the rumours of an approach to the board are correct.

Connolly knew there was going to be flooding, why not do something about it? If they play 9 defenders, play 8 or 9 forwards. If they play 12 defenders, play 11 or 12 forwards. That way atleast you get a contest. Each time we went forward when we had the momentum in the first half it was 2 against 4 or 5 in the marking contest, then 1 against 3 or 4 on the ground. Dumb.

Why would you play Parker on Williams for the whole game, early in the final quarter he had more goals than our 22 players combined. Many people have mentioned recently that he's lost a yard of pace, so give someone else a go. It's not as if williams will out wrestle anyone, why not go with Walker side by side with him, and Parker 20 metres infront of him filling the hole?

I also can't understand why Headland spent about half the game in the centre square. If he's going to be Connolly's answer to our clearance problems we're in real trouble.

hoss
2 Apr 2006, 16:58
Very disappointing. Sometimes I wonder whether the players hurt enough when we get flogged by Hawthorn year in, year out.

Didn't we learn anything from when they flogged us at Subi last year (after an even first half, they crapped on us in the 3rd quarter) - yet they let the same thing happen today.

What's the use of making mistakes if you don't learn anything from them?

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 17:04

why would we want judd?we have enough seagulls.
clearly harvey hasnt made much difference to the team.

FreoDocker
2 Apr 2006, 17:09
That's the thing FreoDocker. Flooding the backline is always going to suit a side with no key forwards and plenty of runners more than a side with 3 quality marking forwards. It's just common sense. In the end Pav just stopped leading, and who can blame him. Many of the supporters realise Connolly isn't up to it, and on Todays performance I'd say the players definately do to and that the rumours of an approach to the board are correct.

Connolly knew there was going to be flooding, why not do something about it? If they play 9 defenders, play 8 or 9 forwards. If they play 12 defenders, play 11 or 12 forwards. That way atleast you get a contest. Each time we went forward when we had the momentum in the first half it was 2 against 4 or 5 in the marking contest, then 1 against 3 or 4 on the ground. Dumb.

Exactly!! I mean I understand the concept that if they have 3 extra men back, then we should also have 3 spare men around the ground, but we just weren't using them today, or if we did, it was for crappy little 10 metre kicks directly sideways. This constantly stifled our forward momentum and really played into the hawks hands by allowing them more time to get numbers behind the ball.

As for Bell playing in the backline, does anyone have an opinion on that. He has done an excellent job around that area thus far, but would he be of more value to the team in the midfield trying to stop the ball from getting down there in the first place. Our defence was under constant pressure because our midfield was being absolutely pantsed.

dominguez
2 Apr 2006, 17:20
They had running players as the loose men, where as we seemed to have Johnson, Murphy, Mundy and JLo as the loose players competing against each other in marking contests.

Maybe we should have moved Peake into the backline to provide some run? Oh, hang on.......

Pharaoh
2 Apr 2006, 17:33
Sorry to stick my nose in, but you guys really need a new coach. Your game plan today was reminiscent of Peter Schwab at his worst. Stop-start, high possession, no run, no system.

Freo has so much talent on its list - not just drafted, but traded in from other clubs. You must be able to do better than you're doing at the moment with another coach.

Alfonz
2 Apr 2006, 17:34
For a long time now I, like many, have wished CC would just disappear, and today does nothing to change that. Sure the players are to blame as well, but it is a disgrace to get absolutely flogged by a team that most think will struggle this year (no disrespect to the Hawks .. few years off they will be great). Especially seeing we should be primed for Rd 1.

Simply, CC does not have a clue how to devise a gameplan to counter an opposition who are not playing the way we would like them to. And then the players just drop the bundle. Surely the players can make one 40m kick instead of 2 x 20m chips. Players seem more interested in getting their 20 possessions and paycheque than working as a team, and that falls back to the coach. They have no respect for him, and why would they? Did nothing as a player (or assistant coach) to get initial respect, and done nothing as a coach to gain it.

Did anyone notice alot of the players didn't seem too unhappy after the game, talking and smiling with Hawks players they knew like Croad. Sure, you can have a chat, but I thought you would be pretty angry and you wouldn't exactly feel like smiling. The players don't seem to care, don't work hard enough on the field, and with CC in charge they never will. I don't know if Harvey is the right man, but someone new just has to take charge. Look at what Craig did to Adelaide. Players did not want to play for Ayres, now look at them.

Rd 1 might be early to start jumping to conclusions, but it seems nothing has changed. I think if we are 1-5, which could happen, then thats the time for a new coach.

Plugga
2 Apr 2006, 17:41
Questions I would like asked?

Why did it take Broadbridge till 3/4 time when game was over to communicate with the guys at centre bouncedown re their clearances?

Why did Connolly keep persisting with Parker at Full Back, surely Mundy, Dodd or even Johnson could have had a crack?

In the 3rd quarter when the tide was flowing with the Hawks, why didn't we take the approach of manning up on every single player...playing man on man footy, sure we could have ended up with a 12 man forward line, but at least there would have been a contest?

What is up with Josh Carr?

Where was the pre-season aggression/hard tackling..did we lose it on the flight overseas (Tassie..sorry)?

Alfonz
2 Apr 2006, 17:51
Questions I would like asked?

Why did it take Broadbridge till 3/4 time when game was over to communicate with the guys at centre bouncedown re their clearances?

Why did Connolly keep persisting with Parker at Full Back, surely Mundy, Dodd or even Johnson could have had a crack?

In the 3rd quarter when the tide was flowing with the Hawks, why didn't we take the approach of manning up on every single player...playing man on man footy, sure we could have ended up with a 12 man forward line, but at least there would have been a contest?

What is up with Josh Carr?

Where was the pre-season aggression/hard tackling..did we lose it on the flight overseas (Tassie..sorry)?

These are all very good questions which I asked myself too, amongst others. Which begs the main question, why is it that we can see the problems, but the man in the coaches box can not? But it happens over and over again, matchday coaching is terrible.

We were ranked either 15th or 16th in clearances last year, and yet again were terrible. This is a key weakness of our game which obviously has not been addressed, especially considering Everitt looked completely underdone.

On the last question, no offence to Dodd, who is usually one of our hardest at it, but I thought when he got knocked out typified the state of the game. He didn't go in hard enough, while Vandenberg came screaming in and threw himself at the ball, taking Dodd out completely fairly. It might not necesssarily be Dodd's fault he got hurt, but where is that desperation from our players? That is how we need to attack every contest. Seems we are content to play like fairies again.

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 17:58
everyone says get rid of connolly.is it him?is harvey the answer because i didnt see much change with him there.have we forgot that connolly changed the game plan last year so we won away from subiaco,beating geelong ,almost adelaide,4 out of 5 at the MCG,because of that we lost at home yet everyone complained.we had a different defence and players injured and playing with injuries.is getting rid of him the answer or is the answer with some of the players thought proccess.they knew it was comming did he tell them too chip it around.i dont think so.maybe will we be more dominant at home and poorer away like the eagles.time will tell

Dr Ralph Dagg
2 Apr 2006, 17:58
Sorry to stick my nose in, but you guys really need a new coach. Your game plan today was reminiscent of Peter Schwab at his worst. Stop-start, high possession, no run, no system.

Freo has so much talent on its list - not just drafted, but traded in from other clubs. You must be able to do better than you're doing at the moment with another coach.

Its an interesting point when you consider who was one of Peter Schwab's assistants.

wizard_9
2 Apr 2006, 18:01

I think that has something to do with the pathetic style of football you played in the first half. chronic flooding, fu*k it was boring to watch.

Dr Ralph Dagg
2 Apr 2006, 18:03
everyone says get rid of connolly.is it him?is harvey the answer because i didnt see much change with him there.have we forgot that connolly changed the game plan last year so we won away from subiaco,beating geelong ,almost adelaide,4 out of 5 at the MCG,because of that we lost at home yet everyone complained.we had a different defence and players injured and playing with injuries.is getting rid of him the answer or is the answer with some of the players thought proccess.they knew it was comming did he tell them too chip it around.i dont think so.maybe will we be more dominant at home and poorer away like the eagles.time will tell

Its not so much whether it is Connolly or not. What is the change, or changes, that is going to shock the players into a cohesive football team? Who knows whether Harvey is the guy but what is going to make the difference?

If you have a look at Adelaide and the Western Bulldogs changing the coach suggests itself.

Lach72
2 Apr 2006, 18:17
How ********ing hard is to work out that the long option is the best option!!!
Sideways, ********en backwards, hang on sidways again...
and if Peter Bell is any value getting 8 kicks a quarter in the back pocket I'll eat my flippn hat...
Talkback slagging Farmer and Medhurst as usual but they have even less chance when the ball takes 93 kicks to get into the fifty...
How can they not see the value of quick movement into the fifty...
If we've got the ball and we know they are going to flood AND we have 3 of the best marks in the game why are fr1gging around throught the center square?If that is the way Connolly is coaching, he's gone...if it's the players who can't take instruction, take the broom to em...

Alfonz
2 Apr 2006, 18:20

Who did we beat at the G? Coll, Carl? Huge scalps. Beat Melb in a soft free-flowing game that suited us. Got flogged by Richmond. Cats played a shocker. Hardly impressive. Everything is great if our initial gameplan works, but if it doesn't, like the Hawks or Kangas last year, then CC has no way to turn things around.

Even if CC instructed his players NOT to chip the ball around, they went ahead and did it anyway - which proves that they don't listen to the coach. If the players won't listen to the coach then its time to move the coach on. Yeah its the players fault, but anybody can see that CC is hopeless and has no respect from the playing group.

Teams like Adelaide, Bulldogs, and Swans have all had the same problem where a group of players didn't respond to the coach, and changing coaches did those teams a world of good. That might not happen with Harvey, but we need to give him a go sooner or later.

Harvey is in a strange position. He no doubt wants to be a senior coach, and currently that means his best chance is for CC to get sacked, so maybe its not in his best interests to improve the team? I also feel the players would prefer Harvey over CC, and subconsciously I think they wouldn't mind the idea of losing games if it meant they could get a new coach.

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 18:27
so you are saying is we could end up with someone like drum and that would be good because its a change.They have experianced coaches and not many coaches make good with thier first team.i think we need to drop the players that let us down often.black,both carrs are inconsistant,schammer has struggled a bit not all at once though.

Eagles 4 Mine
2 Apr 2006, 18:29
Quote; Plugga
What's up with Josh Carr?

Fremantle have the tendacy to ruin quality players that's what up with Josh.:p

Freo Big Fella
2 Apr 2006, 18:32
I spent all summer saying to myself; "he's got till round 6, he's got till round 6". But after today, if we don't belt the blues by 70+ points next week like we should do, the lynch mob should certainly start to rumble.

Although it's probably premature to judge solely from round one, I'm petrified that Connolly is unconciously doing exactly what Schwab and Rohde did - coaching for self preservation rather than the expectation that the side can win these sorts of games. Our runners like Black, Dessie, Dodd and Crowley could've played the exact sort of game that they did after it became apparent they were going to attempt to make a run of it during the 3rd, but they continued to act as if it was still the draw and fade stuff from the 1st half. Obviously some of that comes down to the players but the coaches have to be accountable as well.

Glenno23
2 Apr 2006, 18:32

why not try Harvey? Connolly is useless at creating a game plan that works

right now connolly is "doing the same thing over and over, expecting for something to change"

you cant expect change without changing something

it worked for other clubs, and do the Freo players really rescpect CC?? Gary Ayres had little respect at Adelaide, chuck in Neil Craig and the respect is there.

Fremantle's game plan was a defensive lot of crap today and were outplayed by a far younger and desperate team. it seemed the Freo players were playing for stats, to assure themselves of a game next week. hawthorn players were prepared to get in there and help each other out. is it the coach? possibly

thats just my thoughts

Lach72
2 Apr 2006, 18:37
...you know the ironic thing?
Our defence is the part of our game that doesn't need looking at.
Young kids who busted a gut. Not much experience but they are all workers...
We have a great attack and we are constantly playing a man behind play in the defence...
Is it time for Peter Bell to go back to his North Melbourne days and play as an attacking rover?

Pharaoh
2 Apr 2006, 18:39
I think that has something to do with the pathetic style of football you played in the first half. chronic flooding, fu*k it was boring to watch.

Perhaps you weren't watching properly? We wore you down and then rode you home. I have no complaints. I would rate our midfield now as one of the best in the competition.

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 18:44
if he got to go hes got to go but dont be in so much of a rush.theres is no experience coaches available and he is still valuable to the club so ithink if he left it would be a huge loss.if they dont rate connolly why re-sign?pav and schammer want to go to s.a,also we have young vics,so if they arn't happy with him why not go now.

if it is phroah why flood?

wehavethepassion
2 Apr 2006, 18:47
Most has been said but the question has to be asked did connolly have aplan to beat the flooding? If so why didn't the Players carr?y it out

Absolutely no excuses today perfect weather, supposedly near perfect pre season for all and sundry, Full list to pick from, all preceived weaknessess(read winning clearances) sorted out, harmonious playing group etc etc

We were pantsed in the clearances, had no answer to the hawks game plan.

The winds of change are blowing a little harder. We can be 1-5 after 6 very quickly. The winning a least 11 from 16 will be a huge task!!

malpaso
2 Apr 2006, 18:48
Perhaps you weren't watching properly? We wore you down and then rode you home. I have no complaints. I would rate our midfield now as one of the best in the competition.

Agree completely. The inability of our coaching staff and players to adjust was what doomed us. I mean the Hawks played loose men in defense, so send someone down there to man them UP! Sheez, how easy is that to figure out..?

Tony_Clifton
2 Apr 2006, 18:50
The midfield needs to be busting a gut. Never mind the intricate particulars, they should run, sprint and run some more. They should also run when they don't think anyone is looking at them .

When a teammate has the ball it is not an excuse to take a rest.
Work hard off the ball. Run in straight lines to provide options or create space even if it means your hardwork goes unnoticed. These are selfless acts are more important than diagrams and cut outs. Team acts, one percenters.

If the rest of our midfielders played with McManus' endlless effort the midfield might actually start to gel as a group and do the hard things for each other. Today's effort was a from a pack of individuals.

section8
2 Apr 2006, 19:07

Great tactics today, Hawks. You know you are nothing more than mediocre and will run out of legs by round ten with your current game plan. Good riddance too. Flooders are a ******* weeping sore on the game.

dockers_bengals
2 Apr 2006, 19:15
good point tony i think only bell macca and haselby were the only ones doing it today.

Magnum27
2 Apr 2006, 19:28
Same old same old.

Dockers perform when games dont matter ie:pre season, and when it counts premiership season go back to normal, now you can bag my Eagles and yes we have had some terrible off season moments, but when it matters the players perform.

Good to see everything same, lets blame umpires, coaches and anyonelse but the players.

hoss
2 Apr 2006, 19:30
Same old same old.

Dockers perform when games dont matter ie:pre season, and when it counts premiership season go back to normal, now you can bag my Eagles and yes we have had some terrible off season moments, but when it matters the players perform.
Good to see everything same, lets blame umpires, coaches and anyonelse but the players.

Like when they choked in the pre-season GF, choked in the GF and somehow lost the minor premiership. Yeah, they really performed when it mattered. :)

dominguez
2 Apr 2006, 21:47
if he got to go hes got to go but dont be in so much of a rush.theres is no experience coaches available and he is still valuable to the club so ithink if he left it would be a huge loss.if they dont rate connolly why re-sign?pav and schammer want to go to s.a,also we have young vics,so if they arn't happy with him why not go now.

If we miss the 8 this year Pav will almost certainly ask to be traded. Why would he hang around, that would be one finals appearance in his 7 seasons at Freo. We'd have a huge decision to make, trade him while contracted and get a couple of good players in return, or hope to convince him to stay in 2007 but risk losing him for nothing if we have a poor first season under our new coach.

Hopefully we can turn it around and have a good year. But Connolly should have got the axe at the end of last season, no coach without runs on the board should be given the chance to fail 3 years in a row.

docker_azza
2 Apr 2006, 23:23
Terrible.

Our performance in the clearances was abomible. Probably kicked more first half goals today than we won clearances in the second and third quarters.

Hawthorn dominated the clearances and used every advantage it had. No wonder they kiced nine third quarter goals when you saw how they were easily moving it out of the centre ball ups.

Connolly promised that Hawthorn would flood, and they did, and our team did nothing except crumble like a biscuit. CC has lost all his defence from media and supporter criticism on that. Plus I could not beluive the amount of easy runs from the half backline Hawthorn were getting, which like their superior clearance dominance easily got them a winning score.

peterss
3 Apr 2006, 00:41
Watched the 2nd half of the game @ the Vic after the Eagels 20th anniversary thingo.

Your midfield is miles to slow....Why Cuddles choose to play Hackmanus over Peake i have no idea...STUPID!

nameless
3 Apr 2006, 02:21
I wouldnt get too worried after one round. I tipped hawks, i think they are the real deal, you guys should have won really, but being in tassie and against ur boggie side, i think it was just a bad first round for u.

However, a lot of ur players were quite pathetic, schammer had about 30 touches and 10 marks, but did he really do anything? Johnson was brilliant down back, haselby started slow but started to win some clearences, probably ur only player to do that, sandilands need to come to some wce games and watch cox. Bell was his usual solid game. But pav and the forwards, except mcpharlin and farmer who were good later, did nothin. But i think ur midfielders needed to run to 50 and kick goals and they needed to run run run run more, its a big ground like subi, should have been used to it.

Freo Big Fella
3 Apr 2006, 10:00
Same old same old.

How'd the grand final go again dumbarse?

Slacker
3 Apr 2006, 11:17
Bummer, I really thought we had turned the corner after our improved pre-season efforts.

I would go into a really long diatribe about the tactics and effort shown on the field but I frankly can't be stuffed. I guess we will wait till round 4 to see how things are truly going, then round 8, then round 11..... then we start talking up 2007.

inferno66
3 Apr 2006, 11:52
Why was Peake left out for the game.His pace couldn't have been detrimental to the side :o

theGav56
3 Apr 2006, 12:24
If we miss the 8 this year Pav will almost certainly ask to be traded. Why would he hang around, that would be one finals appearance in his 7 seasons at Freo. We'd have a huge decision to make, trade him while contracted and get a couple of good players in return, or hope to convince him to stay in 2007 but risk losing him for nothing if we have a poor first season under our new coach.

The reality of player trades is that any player can ask to be traded. But the only way to force a clubs hand is if you are willing to go to the bottom club. If a player wants to go to a particular club, especially a non-Victorian club which does not have the first pick in the pre-season draft, then you bend them over and have your way with them. End result is that it is very difficult for a top player to go to a club of their choice, and if they do, then the club gets a reaosnable compensation as Geelong to get Ottens, and Fremantle to get Bell.

Magnum27
3 Apr 2006, 12:37
How'd the grand final go again dumbarse?

We lost einstein, at least we have a chance to win a flag, you guys are never going to have that chance, you had geelong beaten 3 weeks ago and couldnt even push on to the grand final.

And you can say what you like, but don't tell me you wouldn't like to make gf even if you lose, actually you guys would probably settle for winning a final.

drakeyv2
3 Apr 2006, 12:39
I would be careful comparing Adelaide to Freo.

Don't forget, we played finals in 2001, were prelim finalists in 2002, were finalists in 2003 (after being 2nd with a couple of games left to play). We only started to fall away in the last couple of games in 2003 (still beat West Coast in the finals though) & obviously the 1st 1/2 of 2004.

We were a relatively successful side that had a slump & acted to redress a slide. You guys haven't had that initial success, so you are coming from much further back.

That being said, we would have despatched CC long ago. After all this comment "We get to play 12 games at Subiaco and we are looking forward to the next challenge." would make me very nervous.

Cassius_Clay
3 Apr 2006, 13:05
You are the dumbest team in the AFL. There is only 1 guy to blame for that and it's Chris Connely - the worst coach in the comp. Please get rid of him. He is the sole reason you guys aren't reaching your potential. IMO you list is in the top 6 in the AFL yet you continue to perform pathetic against sub-par teams like Hawthorn.

By the way, thankfully CC worked out that Schammer is best in the midfield. Did a pretty good job on Crawf.

masai
3 Apr 2006, 13:14

As I have said elsewhere I only saw the first half, but from what I saw, Parker was wearing Williams like a glove. The problem from what I saw was the lack of support from the other defenders. Parker was regularly in contests with 2 or even 3 Hawks in the area.

At least a couple of daggers will be pulled out of Macca's back, he did what I knew he would do, give 100%.

Exeter
4 Apr 2006, 20:00
The decision not to play Peake was a stunning blunder.

Ted38
4 Apr 2006, 20:08

Not to mention COOK!

masai
5 Apr 2006, 10:43

You are probably correct but the irony of that would be that the player left out would have been Macca, who was in the better players.

The problem was with the "established" players, they must lift from 75% to 100% effort.