View Full Version : West Gippy Latrobe

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

valley_boy
19 Dec 2007, 17:50
Drouin are slowly getting more competitive. their problem is they have no depth. Until they can achieve some depth they will be amongst the also rans for a fair while yet

bigpapagman
19 Dec 2007, 19:02
Drouin are slowly getting more competitive. their problem is they have no depth. Until they can achieve some depth they will be amongst the also rans for a fair while yet

very very slowly.

mercs
19 Dec 2007, 20:19
yes he was and i soppose he would have gone there for money

Will fill you in with his story when I chat to one of the boys about him but he had signed and committed to play for the club. They are still trying to find more VFL/ex AFL talent so could be more signings but with alot of players in the 19 to 24 category you would think there is a good year ahead but will be very tough to beat teams like Sale, Maffra etc especially seems Maffra have signed more players that will make them even stronger. So they are the team to beat again and flag favourties

bigpapagman
19 Dec 2007, 20:47
i wouldnt be surprised if there was a late exodus from maffra......

to heyfield or a team of that nature.

theyve won their flags, theyve had their dynasty.

expect lots of cash to be involved.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
19 Dec 2007, 22:02
very very slowly.

defintly agree with this they just sign to many hacks and pay to much for them

bigpapagman
19 Dec 2007, 22:05
and then fill the rest of the side with juniors.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
19 Dec 2007, 22:08
and then fill the rest of the side with juniors.

exactley but keeping the real good juniors is a problem and they really need to spend there money else where cause the money the pay some of them is just stuiped

bigpapagman
19 Dec 2007, 22:17
ah well.

these things happen.

i dont really like drouin anyway.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
19 Dec 2007, 22:34
i always have a sot in my heart for drouin unfortunely

bigpapagman
20 Dec 2007, 07:11
youre a piece of shit.

you know how i feel.

samebi
20 Dec 2007, 07:42
i wouldnt be surprised if there was a late exodus from maffra......

to heyfield or a team of that nature.

theyve won their flags, theyve had their dynasty.

expect lots of cash to be involved.

You underestimate the ability of Maffra Footy Club to extract great loyalty from their players - around 3/4 of the blokes who have played in the 5 premierships over the past 6 years have come through the juniors. Combine this with the best facilities in the league and very strong admin. and there is a recipe for stability. Maffra is not a high paying club.

bigpapagman
20 Dec 2007, 07:48
yeah i understand that.

but with every successful club, especially after 5/6 flags, there is a possibility that people might chuck themselves on the market, too see what they can get.

especially when they have achived everything. or alot.

mjhen3
20 Dec 2007, 09:15
And that has happened, nearly every year and they still don't drop off.

Maffra by how much next year.

bigpapagman
20 Dec 2007, 09:35
yeah i just think that one day, it might happen.......

Big O
20 Dec 2007, 09:43
And that has happened, nearly every year and they still don't drop off.

Maffra by how much next year.

Is Staley a definate to return next year?:)$$$$$

bigpapagman
20 Dec 2007, 10:45
yes, yes he is. and not for less than what he was on at Yarram, too.

samebi
20 Dec 2007, 11:54
Is Staley a definate to return next year?:)$$$$$

Yes, 100% committed - wants to play 100 senior games with the club.

bigpapagman
20 Dec 2007, 12:35
told ya.

prowln
21 Dec 2007, 18:19
just wondering how moe is travelling with makey as new coach. have they picked up any new players. im a former player at the club that has not heard alot about the club after moving to melb. how did they go last year

valley_boy
22 Dec 2007, 19:00
just wondering how moe is travelling with makey as new coach. have they picked up any new players. im a former player at the club that has not heard alot about the club after moving to melb. how did they go last year
Moe are travelling along nicely at the minute under Troy. He's taking over a very young side that at one stage in the season had 14 players 19 years of age or younger! With coach Dean Caldow going down in Rd.2 with a snapped acl and needing a knee re-co and ass. coach Adam Kennedy having his shoulder re-constructed after an injury in the same game the boys really did it hard only winning 4 games in 2007. They have trained for a month before xmas getting between 25 to 35 players attending each session. they have had a few new players train but, obviously, i wont reveal any names on this site. But im tipping the moe boys will be very competitive in 2008. ;) when did you last play there?

prowln
25 Dec 2007, 19:47
Moe are travelling along nicely at the minute under Troy. He's taking over a very young side that at one stage in the season had 14 players 19 years of age or younger! With coach Dean Caldow going down in Rd.2 with a snapped acl and needing a knee re-co and ass. coach Adam Kennedy having his shoulder re-constructed after an injury in the same game the boys really did it hard only winning 4 games in 2007. They have trained for a month before xmas getting between 25 to 35 players attending each session. they have had a few new players train but, obviously, i wont reveal any names on this site. But im tipping the moe boys will be very competitive in 2008. ;) when did you last play there?

sounds good, i think my last game for the club was the losing grand final to taralgon when i was 17 in the seniors. makey played in that game and we also played at power together. so im just interested in how he is going and i think by the sounds of it he was a good choice by the club

longworrytheonlywaytogo
26 Dec 2007, 18:00
does anybody know if former drouin players phill solohub and nathan bright are still playing at yarragon

bigpapagman
27 Dec 2007, 15:23
does anybody know if former drouin players phill solohub and nathan bright are still playing at yarragon

there is a mid gippy board brody.

they would be mad to stay @ yarragon.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
29 Dec 2007, 09:02
well i figured it was remotely related to drouin so i posted it here

Modra93
29 Dec 2007, 21:03
premiers - maffra

big sliders - sale

joshooaa
29 Dec 2007, 22:31
premiers - maffra

big sliders - sale

What makes u say that about Sale? Who have they lost?

Modra93
29 Dec 2007, 23:06
Kelf, McLinden, Fyfe, Schuback, Aurisch, Bristow along with coach Darren Hall.. not to mention a few others that have rumoured to be leaving. Cox comes in mind you so its not all bad

samebi
31 Dec 2007, 15:26
Kelf, McLinden, Fyfe, Schuback, Aurisch, Bristow along with coach Darren Hall.. not to mention a few others that have rumoured to be leaving. Cox comes in mind you so its not all bad

you can add justin and david mclay to that list. mclinden is training with gippy power for an "over age" spot so may not be lost.

goodie
1 Jan 2008, 00:35
i heard leigh jose from catani in the EDFL is a huge chance to be the over age player for power, how many over age spots are there?

BP_Rocket_4
1 Jan 2008, 10:52
you can add justin and david mclay to that list. mclinden is training with gippy power for an "over age" spot so may not be lost.

Sale have added will kelly and michael todd from power to their squad. sale have some good youngsters coming up from the 3rds, no replacement for the likes of kelf etc. but still some solid ballers

youngsaint
1 Jan 2008, 21:28
There is two under 19 spots for power and they will go to mclinden and tristin francis from what i know

longworrytheonlywaytogo
2 Jan 2008, 15:20
any body heard any news about drouin new players etc?

bigpapagman
3 Jan 2008, 08:28
nick, i think you already have to have played power in order to pick up the overage spot.

not entirely sure, just what i heard.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
3 Jan 2008, 19:02
no i dont think this is the case bigpapagman but i reoken it sure would help if u had played there before

saint leo
4 Jan 2008, 07:43
i think Leigh Jose would do well if given a go and Power as an overage player. He would have played there last season but had very good reasons to stayed at catani. The kid is a star.

weLLa
4 Jan 2008, 20:16
i think Leigh Jose would do well if given a go and Power as an overage player. He would have played there last season but had very good reasons to stayed at catani. The kid is a star.

yes i agree Leigh Jose is the best junior player i have ever played on / seen play.

ArnelDavis
5 Jan 2008, 19:06
Sale have added will kelly and michael todd from power to their squad. sale have some good youngsters coming up from the 3rds, no replacement for the likes of kelf etc. but still some solid ballers

You seem to know a bit about Sale mate. I was just wondering if my loose old mate Johnny Taylor is playing there if so is he getting a kick?:thumbsu:

BP_Rocket_4
5 Jan 2008, 20:53
You seem to know a bit about Sale mate. I was just wondering if my loose old mate Johnny Taylor is playing there if so is he getting a kick?:thumbsu:
its funny you should bring john taylors name up Arnel
Tayls, as he was affectionately known, split his game time between the ones and twos and wasnt going too bad, although its fair to say he struggled in the ones. But due to an off field incident after last season, has left sale for greener pastures, but it is not known where... melbourne has been mentioned as well as darwin.

Modra93
6 Jan 2008, 01:20
yep johny was out pretty quick smart after that

valley_boy
6 Jan 2008, 11:03
Anyone got anything on traralgon? im told they are losing a heap of players. hope its true, they are a bunch big noting **** smashers!:D:D

longworrytheonlywaytogo
6 Jan 2008, 12:13
is greg morley going around again this year or has he called it quits?

valley_boy
6 Jan 2008, 13:33
sounds like there gonna need him! he hasnt done a lot the last couple of seasons but he'd have to be pushing 38 i reckon. was an absolute champion of country footy but his best is way behind him

longworrytheonlywaytogo
6 Jan 2008, 16:04
ohh yeh defintly agree that he's best footy is behind him but gotta respect the way the guy still plays in an elite league like this at his age and still goes alright though

mercs
6 Jan 2008, 18:49
Anyone got anything on traralgon? im told they are losing a heap of players. hope its true, they are a bunch big noting **** smashers!:D:D

All i have on Traralgon is a bloke at work who is leaving them said they will struggle further as they are loosing a heap more players so should continue to slide down the ladder. Appartently Steve Hazelman offered to coach them but they said they would stick with there current coach. Seen him play at shepp United he would of been a fantastic player for them and would added more players to them. As soon as no some names i will inform u guys

bigpapagman
7 Jan 2008, 08:49
is greg morley going around again this year or has he called it quits?

didnt he win a league b&f 2-3 years ago?

ArnelDavis
7 Jan 2008, 11:26
its funny you should bring john taylors name up Arnel
Tayls, as he was affectionately known, split his game time between the ones and twos and wasnt going too bad, although its fair to say he struggled in the ones. But due to an off field incident after last season, has left sale for greener pastures, but it is not known where... melbourne has been mentioned as well as darwin.

Ahh....I'll watch the clearance page with interest:eek:

bigpapagman
7 Jan 2008, 12:34
lesser league maybe? if he struggled in the ones, thats what i would do.....

longworrytheonlywaytogo
7 Jan 2008, 14:53
didnt he win a league b&f 2-3 years ago?

he has won it 3 times actually in 2003 1998 and in 1992

bigpapagman
7 Jan 2008, 15:27
i thought so.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
7 Jan 2008, 15:29
quite an effort i reoken

bigpapagman
8 Jan 2008, 08:14
especially when you're like 90.

valley_boy
15 Jan 2008, 16:57
i know its still early but any clubs got praccy matches sorted yet?

bigpapagman
16 Jan 2008, 06:54
warragul are playing buln, or so i hear.

GoStArZ
16 Jan 2008, 19:23
Well wouldnt that be awesome! Warragul v Buln....Should buln even turn up?

goodie
16 Jan 2008, 19:40
no..

valley_boy
16 Jan 2008, 20:25
warragul are playing buln, or so i hear.
what a waste of time! Ive always had a theory that in praccy matches you should always play a club of at least equal standing or higher. then you get a real idea on where your team is at. you achieve nothing by playing a club from a lower league i.m.o. Thoughts?

longworrytheonlywaytogo
17 Jan 2008, 05:16
buln will get killed it will be fun for all

bigpapagman
17 Jan 2008, 07:20
last year we played the Hallam Superrules side.

they didnt score to our 20-odd goals, we thought we might have been okay!

longworrytheonlywaytogo
18 Jan 2008, 15:03
your dad would have been playing for them wouldnt he

bigpapagman
18 Jan 2008, 15:24
no.....he wasnt.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
18 Jan 2008, 15:45
richmond are keeping a close eye on your dad i hear

bigpapagman
21 Jan 2008, 07:03
richmond are keeping a close eye on your dad i hear

like i'm keeping a close eye on rhonda.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
21 Jan 2008, 16:01
hey hey hey easy

mercs
21 Jan 2008, 19:52
Bit of further news on the Leongatha Parrots they have picked up Jarrod Sutherland from Shepparton Swans in the Goulburn Valley Football League. Jarrod is a strong ruckman and has alot of experience, he has won an Ovens & Murray League medal and Goulburn Valley League Medal. He coached the Shepparton Swans a couple of years ago and will be a big addition to the Parrots. I dont no much about this guy but his surname is Cayson and he comes from Coburg and is a fantastic player with alot of talent. There is a new player from Yarrawonga also coming and appartently has already signed. So the recruiting is coming thick and thin for the Parrots this year. There is around 20 blokes going to the un-official training at the moment and pre season kick starts again next week as the Parrots did some solid training from late October through to Christmas. The club is focus alot on running and weights as they felt they were pushed around to easy last year, so expect alot better transition from the Parrots this year. Will no alot more next week so keep you up to date. On myself I am feeling extremley fit and the transition from Shepparton to South Gippsland has been fantastic and looking forward to filling a half back flank or back pocket roll with the club this year.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
22 Jan 2008, 05:07
sounds like leongatha might be the team to look out for in 2008 with these players and ricky delphine i think the only problem is that didnt actually have any decent players in 2007 so they really do have to recruit heavy to be any kind of a threat

bigpapagman
22 Jan 2008, 07:09
sounds like leongatha might be the team to look out for in 2008 with these players and ricky delphine i think the only problem is that didnt actually have any decent players in 2007 so they really do have to recruit heavy to be any kind of a threat

good post joe brody.

most teams do recruit heavily.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
22 Jan 2008, 16:09
yeh but they have to recruit heavy heavy to be a chance in my view

bigpapagman
22 Jan 2008, 18:59
agreed. no-one can go from hero to zero without picking up players.

mercs
22 Jan 2008, 20:59
Talking to one of the selector and the club has added 10 new senior players so far with its recruiting and by looking at training and a few handy locals back also there should be a solid 22-26 players propably need another 3-4 players for the debt side of things

saint leo
22 Jan 2008, 21:06
Is the guys name rayson? from coburg, he is a very good player from gatha originally. If they keep all the young kids and add this ruckman, rayson, delphine and a few other locals they should go ok. Is mark bradley still playing?? If all these signings are true they will beat drouin and warragul i reckon.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
23 Jan 2008, 05:25
im not convinced that they are gonna be that good yet

bigpapagman
23 Jan 2008, 07:08
yeah, but you have to take into account how bad drouin are............

longworrytheonlywaytogo
23 Jan 2008, 16:12
i have faith in drouin for the year ahead i think they will do better then people think

GoStArZ
23 Jan 2008, 16:40
Drouin will be useless again and u know it....

longworrytheonlywaytogo
23 Jan 2008, 16:46
na i really do think they will go alright this year

GoStArZ
23 Jan 2008, 16:47
Well it would be good if they did, but theyd need to be alot better than last year...and i mean alot!!

valley_boy
23 Jan 2008, 16:48
Drouin wont be useless in 2008. They were playing pretty good footy toward the end of last season, if they can keep what they have got already and add a bit of quality they will maybe push for that 5th spot in the finals

longworrytheonlywaytogo
24 Jan 2008, 05:21
if glen browney can kick a couple of goals they will go well

bigpapagman
24 Jan 2008, 07:08
Drouin will be useless again and u know it....

got it in one bradley.

bigpapagman
24 Jan 2008, 07:11
if glen browney can kick a couple of goals they will go well

if he plays there.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
24 Jan 2008, 19:55
what makes u think hes not playing there thats the quiestion

bigpapagman
25 Jan 2008, 07:13
just heard a coupla things.........

longworrytheonlywaytogo
27 Jan 2008, 18:40
i have no doubts that kiddo is playing for drouin

bigpapagman
28 Jan 2008, 14:07
fair enough then......just you made a comment earlier.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
28 Jan 2008, 14:49
there were doubts about him eariler but he is playing for drouin now

far canal
28 Jan 2008, 20:14
can anyone let me know how damien carmody from drouin fc went last year. what position b+f results etc. cheers

bigpapagman
29 Jan 2008, 07:18
there were doubts about him eariler but he is playing for drouin now

is he still ass. coaching?

valley_boy
29 Jan 2008, 12:16
a guy i work with reckons moe havent had less than 40 at training since they returned from xmas break. thats serious numbers for this time of the year

bigpapagman
29 Jan 2008, 12:34
that is very serious numbers...........

any more pick-ups?

valley_boy
29 Jan 2008, 12:44
that is very serious numbers...........

any more pick-ups?
he said theres a few new blokes there but wouldnt tell. dunno why coz all will be revealed sooner or later. but he expects the motown to be very competitive this year

bigpapagman
29 Jan 2008, 14:03
he said theres a few new blokes there but wouldnt tell. dunno why coz all will be revealed sooner or later. but he expects the motown to be very competitive this year

i'm still tipping maffra.

valley_boy
29 Jan 2008, 15:05
me 2. too strong and experienced all around the ground. i reckon garfield could be there abouts tho

bigpapagman
29 Jan 2008, 15:23
maybe.

wouldnt put me house on 'em.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
29 Jan 2008, 18:26
yeah maffra and moe its out of them im tipping

bigpapagman
30 Jan 2008, 07:13
with sale maybe up there too.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
30 Jan 2008, 16:19
sale wont be as good as they were last year

valley_boy
30 Jan 2008, 17:42
yeah maffra and moe its out of them im tipping
moe will definately improve but not enough to challenge for a flag

mercs
30 Jan 2008, 19:47
Is the guys name rayson? from coburg, he is a very good player from gatha originally. If they keep all the young kids and add this ruckman, rayson, delphine and a few other locals they should go ok. Is mark bradley still playing?? If all these signings are true they will beat drouin and warragul i reckon.

yeh that his name (Rayson) and yes all those players have signed with the club and all the young players are staying at the club. They have been the impressive ones at training and they are bulking up so they dont get knocked around this year

Pluggeroo
30 Jan 2008, 22:08
Dont know if it has been covered here yet, but Digby Morrell was touted as a recruit for Moe.

Someone feel free to shoot me down.

I'm sort of semi related to Simmy and he said the club is keeping very MUM about any signings. Word is that they dont want smaller league clubs poaching anyone with an exorbitant offer.

Expect a couple of former AFL players there, methinks.

longworrytheonlywaytogo
31 Jan 2008, 04:26
yeh i heard that last week plugger but i thought it was just drunk talk so maybe it is happening