[
8]
bigpapagman
31 Jul 2008, 11:43
probably not necessary.....
it would be a nil all draw.
AFLOnline
31 Jul 2008, 18:05
They'd both lose to each other. Both fails.
Hawk Sale
31 Jul 2008, 20:27
nothing should be gauged on the garfield 3rds.
huge call but ND 3rds might beat them....Depends on who is playing for them (Garfield 3's that is) they did alright against Sale although they did show up with only 11 players (& 9 in the ressies) and sale had to lend them players on both occasions just to get a game happening.Fair dinkum 0 U/16's ,and twenty players between 3's and 2's this club is becoming a joke.They might have to go to the Omeo league ,i maybe wrong but i think each club only has to field one team in that comp.
Pluggeroo
1 Aug 2008, 17:28
I think they have seniors and under 15s/16s???
But definately only 1 senior team.
AFLOnline
4 Aug 2008, 17:55
They have the seniors who were decent last year, but this year are far from it.
No under 16 team.
Half a under 18 team, most don't show up and have to borrow players from opposition teams.
Half a reserves who borrow players from thirds.
I seriously hope they get rellagated. They are a joke of a team. They make the WGLFL look bad. Drouin arn't far behind either.
No under 16 team.
Half a under 18 team, most don't show up and have to borrow players from opposition teams.
I seriously hope they get rellagated. They are a joke of a team. They make the WGLFL look bad. Drouin arn't far behind either.
Shame g'field can't pull it together in the lower grades after the hard work Ben Soumalis put in as playing coach to get them to a competitive standard.
Talking to a few people involved with the club they're going to put in a big effort at getting kids back from the surrounding leagues through the off season and leading up to round 1 next year.
Hawk Sale
7 Aug 2008, 11:13
No under 16 team.
I seriously hope they get rellagated. They are a joke of a team. They make the WGLFL look bad. Drouin arn't far behind either.Who was the guy in the gulls 1's who badly mangled his knee on Saturday and how's he going ? talking to a couple of Sale guys said he twisted his knee that badly that his foot was facing backwards.
thisisaname
7 Aug 2008, 11:32
Who was the guy in the gulls 1's who badly mangled his knee on Saturday and how's he going ? talking to a couple of Sale guys said he twisted his knee that badly that his foot was facing backwards.
John Reid i believe. big loss for the gulls
bigpapagman
7 Aug 2008, 12:04
sounds like a full 12 month injury.
Dargo 09
13 Aug 2008, 13:21
that guy that broke his leg is shit anyway its probably good that he broke his leg he was waying the team down
bigpapagman
13 Aug 2008, 14:00
lol.
you're an idiot.
Pluggeroo
13 Aug 2008, 17:50
that guy that broke his leg is shit anyway its probably good that he broke his leg he was waying the team down
Are you insane?
J Ried can seriously play footy. They will miss him, there's no doubt.
Plus he was a product of Nilma Darnum and we hold him in the highest of esteem here.
there is a charity golf day for him on sunday at the golf club in warragul with raffels etc after thats all i know..
Hawk Sale
14 Aug 2008, 11:52
He should sue the council ,apparently the ground wasn't fit to play on.Then again ,i've never known that Western Park ground to be anything other than seriously wet.
AFLOnline
14 Aug 2008, 12:40
Who was the guy in the gulls 1's who badly mangled his knee on Saturday and how's he going ? talking to a couple of Sale guys said he twisted his knee that badly that his foot was facing backwards.
Yeah it was Johnny Reid. Dislocated his knee I think and maybe his ankle too. I'm not 100% sure on the injury.
AFLOnline
14 Aug 2008, 12:41
Lol... You're a wanker m8.
bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 12:51
sure the effin cricket club. its their fault the middles a piece of shit.
mayhem20202
16 Aug 2008, 09:29
sure the effin cricket club. its their fault the middles a piece of shit.
He should sue the cricket club because the middle is shit. So, the injury took place 4 months after the football club had taken possession of the ground, but, it is the cricket clubs fault??? That sounds a bit far fetched to me. So, should anyone injured at the Gabba sue Cricket Australia and Queensland Cricket because they hosted Tests and what not at that ground during the previous summer?? I'm lost mate, think you are drawing a fairly long bow there.
thisisaname
16 Aug 2008, 10:24
its no-ones fault but the local councils on the condition of football/cricket grounds. they are the ones who maintain them
Pluggeroo
17 Aug 2008, 05:00
sounds like a full 12 month injury.
Speaking to his brother today. Jeff told me that he severed a large nerve in his leg and will take at least 9 months to get feeling back in his foot. Then he needs to start the rehab to get the knee strong again. Terrible news. He is still in hospital 2 weeks after the injury.
Good luck to him. Hope hes back on his feet asap.
bigpapagman
18 Aug 2008, 09:20
He should sue the cricket club because the middle is shit. So, the injury took place 4 months after the football club had taken possession of the ground, but, it is the cricket clubs fault??? That sounds a bit far fetched to me. So, should anyone injured at the Gabba sue Cricket Australia and Queensland Cricket because they hosted Tests and what not at that ground during the previous summer?? I'm lost mate, think you are drawing a fairly long bow there.
the ground was fine until they put a turf pitch in the middle of it.
now it struggles.
thisisaname
18 Aug 2008, 18:39
the ground was fine until they put a turf pitch in the middle of it.
now it struggles.
same story with moe's ground. Beautiful ground until the turf wicket was put in. now a shit heap
Transfer all finals to the Maffra Football Ground - no cricket pitch and ground in perfect condition. So good in fact that it had to be watered early this week!!
AFLOnline
19 Aug 2008, 16:22
Had a fundraiser on Sunday at the Country Club for Johnny Reid.
Rumour has it he won't play ever again? Just a rumour. Terrible injury to a great player :(
Pluggeroo
19 Aug 2008, 17:20
Had a fundraiser on Sunday at the Country Club for Johnny Reid.
Rumour has it he won't play ever again? Just a rumour. Terrible injury to a great player :(
My source tells me he wont play again.
claude clumsy
19 Aug 2008, 21:39
Lol... You're a wanker m8.
AFLOnline I totally agree with you M8 is a wanker, doesn't matter who you follow, you never want to see anyone injured in anyway
bigpapagman
20 Aug 2008, 09:34
especially not a possible career ending injury.
claude clumsy
20 Aug 2008, 23:02
hey Guys,lets get this forum going I am predicting a Morwell V Sale Grand Final
The premiership race is wide open with Sale and Morwell both going down last weekend. Maffra are in with a huge chance if they can get their best side on the park. They have defeated Morwell, Sale and Warragul during the season and have a wealth of finals experience to draw on and have been without the services of A. Burgiel for the past few weeks - likely to return this weekend for a tune up before the finals.
I believe the elimination final between Maffra and Moe has been transferred to Maffra due to the state of some of the grounds further down the line.
you're right samebi elimination finals are all at maffra on sunday and warragul v morwell is at garfield saturday now. Maffra is capable of playing good football but they just haven't been consistent enough through the season. my tip is morwell to win
Hawk Sale
25 Aug 2008, 13:24
Sale beat Moe in a rather spiteful encounter at the weekend by around 8 goals ,the week before they went down to Morwell by about 50 points ,however without the services of Cox (the coach) ,Laverty and McAdam all players usually starting in the midfield.Should be a good finals series.Sale on form would have to start slight favorites for the GF but this year i think has been one of the most even seasons for years.With the brothers fit Maffra will be hard to beat.....again.
thisisaname
25 Aug 2008, 13:31
i honestly havent got a clue who i think is gonna win the flag. ive never seen a country football league as even as this seasons west gippy latrobe!
any news on how ried's golf day went?
A. Burgiel and Justin Staley both named for Maffra. They have picked an extended bench but A. Burgiel a certainty to play.
anyway know a 1 dom bushell? left league few years ago as young fella, playd at maffra? just wonderin how he used to go?
Phantom Strobler
2 Sep 2008, 13:00
Glen Eira Amateur football club require senior and reserves coaches for 2009 season. Apply President PO Box 22 Black Rock 3193 or email mdz@ozemail.com.au. Closes 27 September 2008
Hawk Sale
8 Sep 2008, 13:20
Great win by Sale at the weekend without the services of McAdam who had the flu and Ivey who was injured.Be interesting to see who is dropped for the GF to make way if these guys are available which from all reports they will be. Quirk and young Harry Cross were the inclusions and both were among the best on the ground.Quirky is only one year out of thirds and is tall and athletic which would be handy against the tall Morwell forward line and would release Fowler to play up forward.Harry Cross is only 16yr old but absolutely killed em on the wing apparently.Bad luck that Maffra were eliminated but they've done exceptionally to stay on top for so long i think.Should be a good one this week between Morwell and Warragul ,no idea where it is being played though.Tips anyone???
bigpapagman
8 Sep 2008, 13:21
it is being played at morwell. i reckon morwell by about 4-5 goals again, but would be good to see warragul make the GF.
Great win by Sale at the weekend without the services of McAdam who had the flu and Ivey who was injured.Be interesting to see who is dropped for the GF to make way if these guys are available which from all reports they will be. Quirk and young Harry Cross were the inclusions and both were among the best on the ground.Quirky is only one year out of thirds and is tall and athletic which would be handy against the tall Morwell forward line and would release Fowler to play up forward.Harry Cross is only 16yr old but absolutely killed em on the wing apparently.Bad luck that Maffra were eliminated but they've done exceptionally to stay on top for so long i think.Should be a good one this week between Morwell and Warragul ,no idea where it is being played though.Tips anyone???
If Gippy Power go down this weekend they will also have McLinden and Dessent available.
Just a few quick questions for anyone to answer, how does everyone thinks moes year went under first year coach troy makepeace? And what sort of players do they need to pick up to step up next year? Just i have not seen much of the club since i moved to melbourne years ago.
pitchforkers
12 Sep 2008, 12:27
Warragul wuld almost have to be certanty this week i watched the last game and warraguls only flaw seemed to be one tall short and with alex gavin gettin best on in the twos last week id say they would be mad not to play him as well as peters and gray
Axe Man
12 Sep 2008, 13:51
Warragul wuld almost have to be certanty this week i watched the last game and warraguls only flaw seemed to be one tall short and with alex gavin gettin best on in the twos last week id say they would be mad not to play him as well as peters and gray
Morwell beat them comfortably a couple of weeks ago but this week Warragul is a certainty??? Right.:confused:
pitchforkers
12 Sep 2008, 14:07
warragul side on paper far out points that of morwell warragul has a far better last six players and there better players are more consistent. morwells win against warragul was far from convincing considering 7 and 9 goal wins through out the season. i will be very suprised if warragul does not win this by 5 goals or more
loveabeer
12 Sep 2008, 14:33
your joking arent you when warragul played us that peters is crap
cant take a over head mark to save himself highet is all he has going for him dont even think he had a possesion either and i played against him and seen about 4 game of him this season
that Gavin is a good player witha great leap just a little thin thats all but goes good
pitchforkers
12 Sep 2008, 15:09
and this is my point almost exactly if warragul bring gavin in peters can be used off the bench as a change ruckman for gavin leavin gray to do what he does best which is damage sides in the back line loose
loveabeer
12 Sep 2008, 15:14
peters shouldnt even be in the side they have better players in there 2nds from what ive seen
pitchforkers
12 Sep 2008, 16:00
that iss crap who in there reserves would be better off in there
peters is good. cant right him off after one bad game.....
claude clumsy
13 Sep 2008, 22:29
Warragul can now be written off seconds and seniors
AFLOnline
14 Sep 2008, 19:51
Ha yeah, but us thirds will bring us home the cup :)
claude clumsy
14 Sep 2008, 23:51
at Traralgon
Senior Coach Required
lnverloch-kongwakfc send details to :
salern@iprimus.com.au
Sale primed to make it a hat trick of grand final losses coming up against their "bogey" team.
BudgieLove33
15 Sep 2008, 17:18
Yep I agree...morwell have it over Sale! Very good chance the cup's going to Morwell!
thisisaname
15 Sep 2008, 18:21
i reckon if its wet sale will win and morwell will win if its dry
And your basing this on when they played at Leongatha in very dry and warm conditions, with Sale not having Ivey, Scholtes and McAdams*
*Not sure if thats the right player
Big Sandy
15 Sep 2008, 20:43
Yeah we're all very knowledgable tacticians.. I reckon whoever kicks the most goals will just get over the line.
claude clumsy
15 Sep 2008, 20:50
Accordimg to todays Express, Sale's coach nor players were at the Morwell v Warragul game last Saturday. Tonights Best and Fairest awards will be interesting
BudgieLove33
16 Sep 2008, 17:27
I beg to differ Big Sandy as i believe the team with the dryest humour will take the points...or premiership cup! Who knows..i hear that certain Sale players have been struck down with a severe case of leprosy! mildly unlucky i must say!
thisisaname
16 Sep 2008, 17:52
And your basing this on when they played at Leongatha in very dry and warm conditions, with Sale not having Ivey, Scholtes and McAdams*
*Not sure if thats the right player
im basing it on the fact that morwell have a big forward line and will be too strong in the air if its dry. remember, sale were behind all day last time they played but come home in the last quarter. i dont think this will happen again if morwell are leading at 3/4 time by 2 or 3 + goals. but i could be wrong, its only my opinion. Ivey is no loss, hes a meat head who is likely to be more harm than good with his lack of discipline. agreed scholtes and mcadam will be big inclusions though. all in all, Morwell to win easy!:thumbsu:
Morwell to beat sale comfortably. Although i did hear a murmur rowan wallace could be a late inclusion for sale as he has the x factor/game breaking ability required to win a grand final!
Quacker
16 Sep 2008, 21:18
Accordimg to todays Express, Sale's coach nor players were at the Morwell v Warragul game last Saturday. Tonights Best and Fairest awards will be interesting
nah john hehir just spins shit...a fair few of the sale team members were there, they were around the morwell huddle at quarter time and 3 quarter time...rowan wallace is a hack also
mookie_89
16 Sep 2008, 21:23
i notice at sale trainin tonite rowan wallace was trainin dont no why he is, but his decision i suppose
Quacker
16 Sep 2008, 21:30
i noticed rowan at trainin whilst watchin on the sidelines...he is carrying abit of extra weight around the middle...he is in need of a very tough pre season to be cherry ripe for a lousy 09 campaign
mookie_89
16 Sep 2008, 21:34
yeh would agree with that also needs a very big pre season an he might actually play some decent footy, played well last three rounds but was a bit late to continue on, overall lousy 08 campaign he had..
BenBal Plugger
18 Sep 2008, 11:33
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
Well despite some heated debates wallace was left out of this weeks grand final team. Will be disappointing for the star but has the character to bounce back bigger,faster,stronger,better next year and push for the coveted grand final win.
youngsaint
21 Sep 2008, 17:04
Go Sale.
mayhem20202
22 Sep 2008, 12:07
Well done by Sale. They had a good year, and deserve the win after missing out for the last 2 years. Good to see a few Sale boys finally get a flag after missing out twice.
thisisaname
22 Sep 2008, 16:31
yeah well done Sale, the top side all year and deserved their win:thumbsu:
Hawk Sale
22 Sep 2008, 21:28
Sale primed to make it a hat trick of grand final losses coming up against their "bogey" team. We were definitely primed ,at least you got that bit right as for the rest of your prediction that was just wishful thinking from Maffra supporters.See you next year.
bigpapagman
23 Sep 2008, 13:27
well if warragul did that, then they are kidding themselves.
Cockle doodle doo
24 Sep 2008, 15:43
Am i right in guessing that John Hehir is a PAID writer. if this is the case than he is the WORST, most one-eyed reporter in the history of journalism!
as an impartial viewer, i was barracking for Sale purely based on the Morwell-centric utter drivel he writes on the west gippy vcfl website. he is an embarrassment to the league who knows nothing about footy. get rid of him!
thisisaname
24 Sep 2008, 18:00
Am i right in guessing that John Hehir is a PAID writer. if this is the case than he is the WORST, most one-eyed reporter in the history of journalism!
as an impartial viewer, i was barracking for Sale purely based on the Morwell-centric utter drivel he writes on the west gippy vcfl website. he is an embarrassment to the league who knows nothing about footy. get rid of him!
i agree! this try hard could write everything he knows about footy on the back of a postage stamp with a thick texta! pathetic! and your right its an embarrasment to the league. hes no better with his cricket write ups either. but what do you expect from a paper thats the laughing stock of gippsland. the l.v. express is a pitiful excuse for a paper!
It must be truly bad if it is worse than the Gippy Times!
We were definitely primed ,at least you got that bit right as for the rest of your prediction that was just wishful thinking from Maffra supporters.See you next year.
Typical sale response. Amazing after only one gf win they carry such arrogance?
joshooaa
28 Sep 2008, 00:01
Congratulations Sale FC. Played there for a year in 2005 and was wrapped to see them come through for a premiership. Great club with good people. Well deserved. Well done!
TheGreatBambino
29 Sep 2008, 00:02
Will Adrian Cox coach sale again next year?
Bourky23
29 Sep 2008, 02:15
plenty of buzz about saying he'll go back to Heyfield but i can't really see him leaving after just one season (a bloody successful one at that) you'd think he woulda just gone straight to Heyfield when he came back if he was planning on playing for them
Hawk Sale
29 Sep 2008, 12:58
Typical sale response. Amazing after only one gf win they carry such arrogance?Doesn't matter whether it's one GF or five ,the fact is you Maffra supporters were hoping like hell that we lost which is why the posts i thought were more wishful thinking such is your hatred for the Sale FC .For the record ,i don't think Sale are in for a period of dominance to rival Maffra's recent history ,they will still be strong next year but so will Morwell ,Warragul and due to the fact that they won the other three flags on offer last week ,no doubt Traralgon would have to up there as well.Maffra ,however ,"sadly" enough i feel might be heading for a slow but steady decent back down to the bottom rungs of the ladder where they were for so many years as the Burgiel era comes to an end.Not to worry ,Boisdale look as though they're on the up and up don't they.
Hawk Sale
29 Sep 2008, 13:01
Will Adrian Cox coach sale again next year?Personally ,i hope he does ,there has been rumours that Dylan McLaren might end up back at home as well.
Bourky23
29 Sep 2008, 15:00
Personally ,i hope he does ,there has been rumours that Dylan McLaren might end up back at home as well.
yep have been hearing that one as well.. what about craig flint? since i've moved away i miss out on a little bit more, where did he play his footy this year? and is he any chance of playing for sale anytime soon?
if sale add McLaren and Flint i'd be pretty confident that they'll go back2back
Doesn't matter whether it's one GF or five ,the fact is you Maffra supporters were hoping like hell that we lost which is why the posts i thought were more wishful thinking such is your hatred for the Sale FC .For the record ,i don't think Sale are in for a period of dominance to rival Maffra's recent history ,they will still be strong next year but so will Morwell ,Warragul and due to the fact that they won the other three flags on offer last week ,no doubt Traralgon would have to up there as well.Maffra ,however ,"sadly" enough i feel might be heading for a slow but steady decent back down to the bottom rungs of the ladder where they were for so many years as the Burgiel era comes to an end.Not to worry ,Boisdale look as though they're on the up and up don't they.
more tunnel vision basing a whole team around two players. Sure they contributed majorly in recent years but it was proven this year they can win without one and the other playing below usual standards. Not to mention the younger players coming through.
Big Sandy
29 Sep 2008, 19:24
more tunnel vision basing a whole team around two players. Sure they contributed majorly in recent years but it was proven this year they can win without one and the other playing below usual standards. Not to mention the younger players coming through.
you're right yummy, maffra have already proven they have a better breed of youngsters than sale with 2 easy wins against them this year in the thirds, not to mention the fact only one of the two teams was in finals. And i believe maffra's success and reputation over the past decade gives them greater recruiting power. this is coming from a neutral boisdale supporter, just an opinion.
Hawk Sale
29 Sep 2008, 20:59
you're right yummy, maffra have already proven they have a better breed of youngsters than sale with 2 easy wins against them this year in the thirds, not to mention the fact only one of the two teams was in finals. And i believe maffra's success and reputation over the past decade gives them greater recruiting power. this is coming from a neutral boisdale supporter, just an opinion.Entirely correct ,Sale have had a crap year in the thirds this year mind you it's the first time in a long time that our thirds have not been dominant.You guys have misunderstood me.If you look through the history of the LVFL there have been teams that have totally dominated decades .....Sale in the 50's and 70's ,Traralgon in the 80's and 90's however nothing rivals Maffra's success since 2000 .They have been a cut above the rest.Without the brothers they probably still would've been strong and won maybe 1 or 2 flags but definitely not 5.Good juniors sticking around town will only ever get you so far.It's the players that were good enough to play in the AFL but for one reason or another chose to stay in the bush that are rare.And all i am saying is that Maffra would have to be extremely lucky to have another 2 players of the Burgiels' calibre to A end up in Maffra and B decide to stay there for the long term as the Burgiels have.
spudley14
1 Oct 2008, 16:48
i heard his stepdad talking about him applying for the gippy power coaching job.
Bourky23
1 Oct 2008, 17:24
i heard his stepdad talking about him applying for the gippy power coaching job.
he might be applying but there is no way he'll displace Aussie (unless Aussie leaves, which i highly doubt) Aussie is fantastic with the young kids:thumbsu:
aussie has retired
http://www.starnewsgroup.com.au/story/64364
Bourky23
1 Oct 2008, 17:43
aussie has retired
http://www.starnewsgroup.com.au/story/64364
shit well there ya go.. news to me, good find mate:thumbsu:
no worries - i read it in the local the other day
thisisaname
1 Oct 2008, 18:31
which clubs are yet to appoint coaches? Definates im led to believe are ;
Drouin- Soumilas
Moe- Makepeace
Leongatha- Campbell
Maffra- Burgiel
Does anyone know the other clubs?
Warragul-?
Morwell-?
Traralgon-?
Sale-?
Garfield-?
Are Leongatha are show next year, they seem to polish some higher teams off at the end of the season. They should keep there list and I would think add to it
don milne
1 Oct 2008, 22:42
Parrots need Pavey back 2 get them on track.Lead from the front.
bigpapagman
2 Oct 2008, 09:12
Peter Fusinato coaching Warragul. Definite.
mayhem20202
2 Oct 2008, 10:00
which clubs are yet to appoint coaches? Definates im led to believe are ;
Drouin- Soumilas
Moe- Makepeace
Leongatha- Campbell
Maffra- Burgiel
Does anyone know the other clubs?
Warragul-?
Morwell-?
Traralgon-?
Sale-?
Garfield-?
Hayden Burgiel is not coaching Maffra again. Is still playing on at the club though.
bigpapagman
2 Oct 2008, 10:37
Brent Eastwell is coaching Garfield.
Someone told me on the weekend that Mark Johnson (as in ex Freo/Essendon) could be coaching Traralgon.
Any truth to this rumour?
bigpapagman
2 Oct 2008, 12:39
right. that would be cool.
Cockle doodle doo
2 Oct 2008, 14:12
That rumour mill is on o.t. down at the maroons!! right at the end of the home and away season it was Steve Hazelman who was going to go back there. First week of the finals it was Jason Johnson signed sealed and delivered. Now it's Mark Johnson!?!? She's a hard old bird to keep up with Mrs Jessup.