View Full Version : Jarhead on Port
Ford Fairlane
3 Apr 2006, 09:00
Put aside the usual bluff and bluster and the 'look at me' histrionics, A Jarman makes some good points. Don't agree with Ebert at HB, but there's some useful stuff there - actually keeping it simple.
In the tiser (http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18689625%255E25397,00.html)
'Port's style wouldn't win an Amateur League game' - Andrew Jarman
By ANDREW JARMAN
03apr06
What is Mark Williams doing? Has he got the right mix in the Port Adelaide side?
From what I saw, I don't think so. When you take away the genuine ball getters, the outside running players really struggle and they lose to the Kangaroos.
You should never lose your first home game and where was my mate Stewie Dew? He's so important to this side but I reckon he left his footy gear in the changeroom.
Then I see hardnut Michael Wilson resting on the sidelines out of petrol because he doesn't train to be a midfielder. They can't rely on Kane Cornes alone. Others have got to stop putting their hand out and start putting their bodies on the line for the jumper and their supporters. I'm sick to death of hearing "no Tredrea, no Power" - that's just an excuse which lets others off the hook.
The Kangaroos thrive on that tough stuff. They recruit those players but Choco hasn't got enough tough, hard players any more. And what is his game plan?
He says they want to start the run from defence but when they get across centre they look up and stop because the opposition is flooding back. Then we see them chipping sideways and holding on to the ball. Supporters get frustrated and turnovers happen because players panic under pressure. I hate it when players stop with the ball in their hands looking up field confused about what to do. At the moment Port's style wouldn't win an Amateur League game and, Choco, take this as constructive criticism.
There's three things I'd do. Get the spine right, leave Brendon Lade at full forward because he's a big giant, Damon White at half-forward, Kane Cornes is your best centreman and get Chad Cornes back to half-back where he was when you won the flag. I'd put the Burgoyne brothers on the wings because they can cut the lines and leave Wanganeen in the forward pocket. If you're five points down guess who'd kick a goal - "Wangas". I'd take a punt and put Brett Ebert at half-back because he's got a beautiful leg and you need a defender who can hit targets.
Secondly, you need some hardness on the ball and, believe me, genuine midfielders are hard to find. Thirdly the boys need a clear message on the style of footy otherwise Choco it could be 0-2 next week.
portentous
3 Apr 2006, 09:11
There's the reason that I wish Jarhead was an Assistant at Port, but it's never gonna happen. The Class of the Titan Egos.
PJ Power
3 Apr 2006, 09:57
I have no problems at all with what he has written and actually agree with almost all of it - even the comments about Ebert.
I wish Choco and the players would take advice from him.
I like the idea behind his Ebert suggestion, but think Symes would be better to implement it.
wharfie_1870
3 Apr 2006, 10:02
Put aside the usual bluff and bluster and the 'look at me' histrionics, A Jarman makes some good points. Don't agree with Ebert at HB, but there's some useful stuff there - actually keeping it simple.
In the tiser (http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18689625%255E25397,00.html).......Yep, pretty much on the money. Ebert needs to work on the defensive side of his game before we can risk playing him at half back.
Eddie Woloschek
3 Apr 2006, 10:28
There's the reason that I wish Jarhead was an Assistant at Port, but it's never gonna happen. The Class of the Titan Egos.
Correctamundo. Far more likely he'll be the head guy. It is to be hoped they conduct interviews soon, perhaps a few weeks hence when the Prez announces that the Board is 100% behind Mark Williams.
Powerstufff
3 Apr 2006, 11:02
There's a lot of good stuff there.
Its funny how everyone is an expert when a team has lost.
Even though I am far from a Port supporter, until Jars has achieved success in the AFL ie a flag, I really think that he is in no position to be critical of the coaching of a premiership winning AFL coach.
Even though I am far from a Port supporter, until Jars has achieved success in the AFL ie a flag, I really think that he is in no position to be critical of the coaching of a premiership winning AFL coach.Does that mean Craig is in no position to be critical of Choco either? Interesting.
Toots Hibbert
6 Apr 2006, 15:08
Even though I am far from a Port supporter, until Jars has achieved success in the AFL ie a flag, I really think that he is in no position to be critical of the coaching of a premiership winning AFL coach.
Andrew Jarman is not a fool. It was a good read IMO.
ExpectToWin
6 Apr 2006, 15:12
You dont have to be a premiership winning AFL coach to have a great football brain and that is what Andrew Jarman has. The sooner He is an assistant coach at Port Adelaide the better.
Arsene Wenger
6 Apr 2006, 15:27
I agree - We should look to get him on board. Look at the Rooster revolution. Unfortunately, I cannot see it happening with the aformentioned "egos" down at Alberton unwilling to accept something new.
He works well with the players and his knowledge seems to be very very good...
crazy_big_al
6 Apr 2006, 15:42
I agree - We should look to get him on board. Look at the Rooster revolution. Unfortunately, I cannot see it happening with the aformentioned "egos" down at Alberton unwilling to accept something new.
He works well with the players and his knowledge seems to be very very good...
I agree
Ford Fairlane
6 Apr 2006, 16:00
While I'm not convinced about Jarman as an assistant AFL coach - especially at Port - if the Board thinks someone is the right fit, then it's up to them to make the call. They allocate the funds, not Choco. I believe Clarkson wasn't a Choco choice - in fact rumour has it Choco was none too pleased to find he'd been appointed.
I thought Jarman had given the line that he preferred the SANFL as it was more personable. There is no doubt he has the footy brain and coaching ability.
I personally don't mind the Weed after 1 week with the Bloods ;)
Jee wiz guys, you rate old Jars a bit higher than I do as a coach. I think Norths resurgence, while its got a bit to do with the Jars created atmosphere down there, is mainly just because they recruited well and now have a very solid list. The previous coach was shyte too which gives Jars a head start but he hasnt really achieved anything yet. Where did North finish last year? 4th? For their list thats just an average result IMO. If I were a player, I dont know that I could take him 100% serious. Half the time he's making a complete dill of himself and the other half he's playing the fool. I think his TV appearances have more comic value than expert opinion value. Sure he has a great football brain in terms of reading the play and knowing what to do as a player, but in his coaching career I cant recall a single master stroke yet.
BTW, I dont think he'd be all that keen to sign up with the PAFC anyway. I suspect that GF when they only kicked 1 goal might still hurt just a tad.
Ford Fairlane
7 Apr 2006, 11:24
I think in that specific instance of how Port set up and what would work in executing a game plan, he made some good points - and really it came down to the KISS principle. But I wouldn't advocate for him as an assistant coach at Port on that basis (as much as I would welcome more application of the KISS principle at Port among the coaching panel).
Jars458
11 Apr 2006, 12:40
Andrew Jarman is not a fool. It was a good read IMO.
He can be sometimes.
Jars has one of the best football minds in the state. Actually I think of him and Darren Lehman being similar in the respective sports.
On field and for the media they're both rather laid back, relaxed, jovial ett whilst making good points to the media... however I think behind close doors or within the teams/clubs they would be more serious and extremely knowledgeable.
I would love to see Jars as an assistant down at Port. Surely if Port can find positions for Mark Mickan, David Pittman and... Tony-freakin-McGuiness... they could find a position for Andrew Jarman when the time is right for both.
Mr Magoo
17 Apr 2006, 06:29
Jars has had his say again in today's tiser.....
If I was a Port player I would be giving the members their money back'
By ANDREW JARMAN
17apr06
WHAT a pathetic performance by the Power - the heart and soul has finally gone.
I know I've been riding the Power but the display they put up against Freo, well, no wonder there were so many empty seats at AAMI Stadium.
So who do I point the finger at? Everyone's going to point to Choco but I put it on the players and the skipper. Warren Tredrea you need to get your boys in a room without any coaches and have a heart-to-heart and if there's any issue sort it out.
There were a dozen players out there yesterday from the 2004 premiership side so they're still a strong squad. So what's missing?
Warren, you're a boat without a rudder and your season is slowly slipping away. One and two (win-loss) is not disastrous but the way Port's playing is. How can you go through the first quarter and not kick a goal? If I was a Port player I'd be giving the members their money back. The supporters are the backbone of any footy club and they don't want to fork out hard-earned cash to watch that rubbish . . . and it was garbage.
Go watch South Adelaide and see attacking footy. Get the tape and watch Glenelg destroy Central on Saturday with an attacking style of footy, that's what should be happening.
Again it was up to the Cornes boys - they put their soul into the jumper and big Ladey, you did your job, son, with four goals but to the others - if you want to be receivers you're not going to last in AFL footy.
Choco has to go back to the whiteboard again to find players willing to put their bodies on the line. Choco, I know how you feel because I've been there.
Well, the Crows pinched a five-point win over Melbourne but what concerns me is running the clock down. Six goals up and with two or three minutes on the clock before the break the coach sends out the message for everybody to get behind the ball. Why? When you've got the momentum why the hell put the handbrake on?
If AFL coaches are trying to save their jobs with this tactic they won't survive because it doesn't work. I know because I've tried it with North Adelaide.
When the Crows were attacking the Demons couldn't get close to them. To me full credit to the Demons in the second half because they showed real guts and spirit.
"Birdman" Burton saved the Crows yesterday and to you fans who have abused him for years it's time to hand in your membership ticket. You don't know the injuries he's had or what he's had to do to get through them every week. He hasn't got the ability of Simon Goodwin or Gavin Wanganeen but he works his backside off. The message is that attitude beats ability every time.
So to all those AFL players who have been seen leaving fake tanning salons lately be careful. It's not about looking good it's about getting your hands dirty and both Adelaide teams should remember that.
Memo Byron Picket: Hand in your jumper and boots, son. Your display against the Crows was the worst I've seen from anyone representing the Melbourne footy club. You're unfit, overweight and you can't run out a game. You're spending 80 per cent of the game on the bench so take that as a message. If you want a tip on attitude ring the "Birdman". It might save your AFL career.
-----------------
My points of interest are in bold.
PJ Power
17 Apr 2006, 08:43
Actually, I didn't think Pickett was that bad.
Everything else he said about us was pretty spot-on though. Pity none of our receivers ever get asked to front the media after a loss like that to explain their performances to the public.
Ford Fairlane
17 Apr 2006, 10:04
While he did reflect Port fans venting, unlike two weeks ago there was virtually nothing of substance in the article. Pick players who will get the hard ball, was about all I could get from that. Thanks Jars, we'll bear that in mind.
I don't about the Pickett bit, but although stating the bleeding obvious I agree with most of it. Except trying to put some of it on Tredrea. If they play that sort of crap when he's out there, then sure, but I'm sure he felt like whacking a few players on the back of the head watching the game yesterday.
Paralowiepower
18 Apr 2006, 01:25
Just wondering if Jars gave his money back after the 1989 grand final?
Ford Fairlane
18 Apr 2006, 09:03
Didn't they all get paid only $1.08? ;)