View Full Version : Time To Move On
wez10000
4 Apr 2006, 23:47
I think its getting a little stupid now with all this crap after Friday Nights Loss, The season isnt over yet and im sure we will put in more heart from now on. But to think after one preformance that we should delist our players ect is just plain old stupid, The Pre-Season wasnt for nothing, We will improve and before you know it we will be a top team, It wasnt gonna take 1 year to rescue us from the bottom. So stop being so Fickle and cut the crap and lets move on:)
Go Tigers for the rest of 2006:thumbsu:
Excellent post Wez!
Its quite funny how its us young guys that have the common sense and are sticking with the team, maybe its you more 'older' and 'experienced' supporters who need the flick...you are a disgrace (some of you) to the entire RFC
Kurtis G
5 Apr 2006, 02:56
I attempted to put sweaty socks such as Bentleigh, Terry Tan and Oxx in their place a few hours ago but Big Footy crashed. Unfortunatly they will never read my speal.
Basically I said that they, and anyone sharing their opinions, are being total trout smokers. To write us off after one game just because you arent happy with the result is stupid. To the people calling for a total turnover, keeping only seven players - if you hate the players at the club so much why dont you ******** off? Nobody is forcing you to support the Tigers or go along to the games. It really riles me to see people like Bentleigh smile at every loss we have and it always baffles me as to how people like Terry Tan actually think their total negativity is helping. People like you are the reason our Captain labels us all fickle, because alot of you bastards are.
I was frustrated, disapointed and embarressed with our performance on Friday night, as we all were. But I want put Terry Tans posts down to frustration, I will put them down to idiocy and a lack of knowledge of his club.
I attempted to put sweaty socks such as Bentleigh, Terry Tan and Oxx in their place a few hours ago but Big Footy crashed. Unfortunatly they will never read my speal.
Basically I said that they, and anyone sharing their opinions, are being total trout smokers. To write us off after one game just because you arent happy with the result is stupid. To the people calling for a total turnover, keeping only seven players - if you hate the players at the club so much why dont you ******** off? Nobody is forcing you to support the Tigers or go along to the games. It really riles me to see people like Bentleigh smile at every loss we have and it always baffles me as to how people like Terry Tan actually think their total negativity is helping. People like you are the reason our Captain labels us all fickle, because alot of you bastards are.
I was frustrated, disapointed and embarressed with our performance on Friday night, as we all were. But I want put Terry Tans posts down to frustration, I will put them down to idiocy and a lack of knowledge of his club.
nice teen logic and an even better attempt at displaying your loyalty and its superiority over that of ,say, mine.
"Nobody is forcing you to support Richmond"
Gee that's deep.
How long did it take for your peabrain to manifest that endearing statement?
U little ***** are as soft as the duds we have on the list..
Its really cute the way u all blow wind up each others arses too.
Darth_Tiger
5 Apr 2006, 08:32
i think we have vented our frustration enough for now, lets wait until friday night for the next dose i reckon :D
jackson_rules
5 Apr 2006, 09:09
nice teen logic and an even better attempt at displaying your loyalty and its superiority over that of ,say, mine.
Go suk a dildo.
Gee that's deep.
How long did it take for your peabrain to manifest that endearing statement?
U little turds are as soft as the duds we have on the list..
Its really cute the way u all blow wind up each others asses too.
you try and get your point across but you are very immature about it and look like you are actually younger then us:rolleyes:
corporal
5 Apr 2006, 10:15
Unfortunately after 25 years of watching rabble I can't even get mad anymore, I've just just realised that being a Richmond support I will have to either watch a lot of awful leaderless football or switch to a different code.
As it stands I think it is time to play the kids and no-one else, if we lose by 100 a game so be it but I am so sick of watching unskilled hacks with no confidence or game plan run around like headless chooks trying to hack the ball to a 3 on 1 Richo contest.
Punt_Road_Roar
5 Apr 2006, 11:02
Ok I'll move on to next week.
Who do we play?
St Kilda .......................... oh dear :thumbsd:
CoggaRules
5 Apr 2006, 11:29
hey dip stick, how about you explain to those who you suggest are "writing us off" what you suggest you are expecting as the "write on". Like write what off? THose who are barking are writing off the should have been written off players who have been a common denominator for the last 5 years in the same old ******** sandwich the tigers serve up to us. For god sake, there are going to be changes this week, and we welcome back Chaffey in those changes, where last week he was out for 2 with a groin and this week he is available. They are rushing the "solution" back into the side, and you say we are writing them off?
On your point of ********ing off, let me explain to you what happens if all that you direct that comment to, do just that. Do you know what happens my man? Yep, start thinking Fitzroy and Brisbane Lions. Maybe you would enjoy that new age supporting huh? Dip stick. ;)
Darth_Tiger
5 Apr 2006, 13:15
we would go the way of fitzroy if we play kids who arent ready and get belted every game. anyway i read that chaffey will be playing in the 2s for at least a couple of weeks.
CoggaRules
5 Apr 2006, 13:31
we would go the way of fitzroy if we play kids who arent ready and get belted every game. anyway i read that chaffey will be playing in the 2s for at least a couple of weeks.
earth to DT, do you understand who makes up the predominant number of members? If you do, then you can understand that as each sh-ite year goes by, slowly the "enough is enough" factor starts eating in to the numbers, and then you hang your hat on the newbies propping up the numbers.
Lets see, "Feel the Tribal Fever" was the call sign for generating the excitement huh? LOL, did you feel it on Friday? How about those newbies that paid up to feel it?
FFS man, I have sat at the G in the reserved seating when there were 3 and dog there, back in the mid 80s, and even I am going to the footy these days purely for a drink with the boys, because the show that the tigers put on is sh-ite. Now if they dont start giving the punters a show, they wont turn up.
Dont worry about the tragic "positive thinkers" they make up a small % of the die hards, the bigger % are baby boomers who have had a gutful and the rest jumped on to feel the tribal fever.
Now TW and the hieracchy can suggest slow build, we have to wait, but that is neither here or there, when the memberrship numbers must be maintained through the slow build.
Put yourself into the position of a newbie.
Wow, the tigers showed something, Brownie & Lids, with Bling and a few other kids, it sounds so exciting, I want to feel the tribal fever and you pay up the bucks, get your reserve seat, deck out the car with the stickers, buy the new improved scarf, since the old one was eaten by moths, and trundle off with the excitement of the first round in your head, ready for a fierce opening to the Tribal Fever. ANd what do you get?
Now all and sundry can suggest its only one game, but the imporatnce of that one game, the first, in the position we are in, was totally undeniable and the 22 that served up that sh-ite on Friday night, would have to produce another 21 top efforts to rectify the damage that first round did to the overall scheme of things for the club. ;)
Its really cute the way u all blow wind up each others arses too.RALMMAROOOOO
They are the ones who are sitting there , halfway through the last quarter shouting ..." Keep trying boys" ... while we have all hit the Cougar bar.
What these dimwits don`t realise is .... the magnitude of the amount of the loss has nothing to do with it .... it was the way we rolled over like scabby , mangy , mongrel dogs and just copped it up the ginger which was truly pathetic .
If you don`t find that disturbing then you don`t know footy
Wow, the tigers showed something, Brownie & Lids, with Bling and a few other kids, it sounds so exciting, I want to feel the tribal fever and you pay up the bucks, get your reserve seat, deck out the car with the stickers, buy the new improved scarf, since the old one was eaten by moths, and trundle off with the excitement of the first round in your head, ready for a fierce opening to the Tribal Fever. ANd what do you get?
Now all and sundry can suggest its only one game, but the imporatnce of that one game, the first, in the position we are in, was totally undeniable and the 22 that served up that sh-ite on Friday night, would have to produce another 21 top efforts to rectify the damage that first round did to the overall scheme of things for the club. ;)... yes
It was made even more sickening because the fact is ... Absolutely no excuses whatsoever ... fitness - no / Injuries - no .
I rate that one in the top 3 worst loses i have seen .
Walls` last game as coach .
The game against North in the early nineties when they kicked 13 in the first quarter .... and that one .
In fact ... in the context of things ... i would just about rate Friday night as the worst .
And coming from an "old schooler" thats saying something
Punt_Road_Roar
5 Apr 2006, 14:12
... yes
It was made even more sickening because the fact is ... Absolutely no excuses whatsoever ... fitness - no / Injuries - no .
The game against North in the early nineties when they kicked 13 in the first quarter .... and that one .
In fact ... in the context of things ... i would just about rate Friday night as the worst .
your forgetting about the game in 94 against Carlton, 10 goals down half time lost by about 19 goal, ended up getting flogged the week after by Geelong by about 12 goal and missed out on the finals by about 6%.
But the weekend game is right up there with those, I also remember Adelaide gave us a few 100 point floggings on the trot in the early 90's.
Excellent post Wez!
Its quite funny how its us young guys that have the common sense and are sticking with the team, maybe its you more 'older' and 'experienced' supporters who need the flick...you are a disgrace (some of you) to the entire RFC
No, you are a disgrace!
You are content watching our famous club turning into what the St.Kilda football club used to be. We have swapped places with them thanks to supporters used to losing, and accepting the kind of hidings we copped last week.
If you're too young to remember, the Saints were resigned to winning the wooden spoon every year. It was their lot, they accepted it and never complained. And you want us to be like that.
You dont have common sense, you just have loser mentality.
your forgetting about the game in 94 against Carlton, 10 goals down half time lost by about 19 goal, ended up getting flogged the week after by Geelong by about 12 goal and missed out on the finals by about 6%.
But the weekend game is right up there with those, I also remember Adelaide gave us a few 100 point floggings on the trot in the early 90's.
The floggings we copped when Ablett and Dunstall ran riot against us were low points for me.
Unfortunately after 25 years of watching rabble I can't even get mad anymore, I've just just realised that being a Richmond support I will have to either watch a lot of awful leaderless football or switch to a different code.
As it stands I think it is time to play the kids and no-one else, if we lose by 100 a game so be it but I am so sick of watching unskilled hacks with no confidence or game plan run around like headless chooks trying to hack the ball to a 3 on 1 Richo contest.
Keep posting Corporal. We need you here.
CoggaRules
5 Apr 2006, 14:31
Excellent post Wez!
yeah santa, when the older and experienced supproters who need the flick get it, then start thinking about who you are gonna support.
how about the West Sydney Tigers? What about the Gold Coast Tigers?
how does that sound? then you will be able to do what those try hard Roy and Swans supporters did, look like they were ecstatic when their beloved Fitzroys our South Melbournes won a flag.
;)
RALMMAROOOOO
They are the ones who are sitting there , halfway through the last quarter shouting ..." Keep trying boys" ... while we have all hit the Cougar bar.
What these dimwits don`t realise is .... the magnitude of the amount of the loss has nothing to do with it .... it was the way we rolled over like scabby , mangy , mongrel dogs and just copped it up the ginger which was truly pathetic .
My hats off to you IDGAF. I weep when I think that passionate supporters like you wont be around forever. See you at the olds people home in 50 years, or if the Tigers havent sorted this sh it out, the mental institution for senile psychopathic mongrels
corporal
5 Apr 2006, 14:44
Keep posting Corporal. We need you here.
Thanks 1980 I haven't been posting much lately as I have said it all before,
it really is time for the club to move forward and the only way i can see this happening is to change the bad culture we have developed
The team needs fresh blood and new leaders (as opposed to old blood and no leaders), most of our senior players simply do not and never have shown leadership on the field. This is not going to suddenly change, Richo, Gaspar, Bowden, Tivendale, Chaffey etc, etc, just do not show leadership character on the field, sure they have there good days but they are not out there marshalling the troops.
I hate to say it but I think Campbell is going to be a big loss because he did direct the players onfield, hopefully Kane steps up to the task although his disposal continues to go down hill.
I look at hawthorn last year, didn't win many games but it was good watching young players thrown into the deep end develop. Now look at them there future looks very bright.
you try and get your point across but you are very immature about it and look like you are actually younger then us:rolleyes:
when in Rome......
Seriously though Jackson Rules,can i shove one up your lemmon and sars ?;)
lemmon and sars ?;)
LMAO @ old school
My old man used to say that :D
My hats off to you IDGAF. I weep when I think that passionate supporters like you wont be around forever. See you at the olds people home in 50 years, or if the Tigers havent sorted this sh it out, the mental institution for senile psychopathic mongrelsRight back atcha 1980 :thumbsu:
I think my kids have already got me booked into one ... will let you know which one it is
Darth_Tiger
5 Apr 2006, 15:17
earth to DT, do you understand who makes up the predominant number of members? If you do, then you can understand that as each sh-ite year goes by, slowly the "enough is enough" factor starts eating in to the numbers, and then you hang your hat on the newbies propping up the numbers.
Lets see, "Feel the Tribal Fever" was the call sign for generating the excitement huh? LOL, did you feel it on Friday? How about those newbies that paid up to feel it?
FFS man, I have sat at the G in the reserved seating when there were 3 and dog there, back in the mid 80s, and even I am going to the footy these days purely for a drink with the boys, because the show that the tigers put on is sh-ite. Now if they dont start giving the punters a show, they wont turn up.
Dont worry about the tragic "positive thinkers" they make up a small % of the die hards, the bigger % are baby boomers who have had a gutful and the rest jumped on to feel the tribal fever.
Now TW and the hieracchy can suggest slow build, we have to wait, but that is neither here or there, when the memberrship numbers must be maintained through the slow build.
Now all and sundry can suggest its only one game, but the imporatnce of that one game, the first, in the position we are in, was totally undeniable and the 22 that served up that sh-ite on Friday night, would have to produce another 21 top efforts to rectify the damage that first round did to the overall scheme of things for the club. ;)
perhaps you are right cogga.
Darth_Tiger
5 Apr 2006, 15:18
RALMMAROOOOO
mate, i just sat in my lounge chair in a state of stunned disbelief. i am trying to think that we will go ok this year still, but its damn hard.
CoggaRules
5 Apr 2006, 15:19
Right back atcha 1980 :thumbsu:
I think my kids have already got me booked into one ... will let you know which one it is
LMAO, i can see all the die hards now, with our walking frames and stright jackets, sitting watching the old grannie wins of the past and after, looking at the cielings, mumbling, F'ing Spud, F'ing Walls, Unleash the F'ing giesh!!! ;)
Thanks 1980 I haven't been posting much lately as I have said it all before,
it really is time for the club to move forward and the only way i can see this happening is to change the bad culture we have developed
The team needs fresh blood and new leaders (as opposed to old blood and no leaders), most of our senior players simply do not and never have shown leadership on the field. This is not going to suddenly change, Richo, Gaspar, Bowden, Tivendale, Chaffey etc, etc, just do not show leadership character on the field, sure they have there good days but they are not out there marshalling the troops.
I hate to say it but I think Campbell is going to be a big loss because he did direct the players onfield, hopefully Kane steps up to the task although his disposal continues to go down hill.
I look at hawthorn last year, didn't win many games but it was good watching young players thrown into the deep end develop. Now look at them there future looks very bright.
Good on you mate. I agree 100%. Get rid of the senior losers that only know how to lose. I even agree about Campbell (hopefully JohnF is not reading). We will miss him. I just hate him because he got soft kicks earlier in his career and was afraid of getting tackled. But he was a solid performer when he got the captaincy and he was the one player that could help younger players develop. Unlike Gaspar, Chaffey, Bowden and Tivendale.
Keep posting mate. We need the likes of you in dark days
Right back atcha 1980 :thumbsu:
:)
lets leave the little $%&*%% out of our will.
The year is 2015.
3 unknown assailents walk into punt road with bombs starpped to their bodies
and detonate them at precisely 2.10 pm,in the belief that they will,in the afterworld be rewarded with 7 grand final cups and a neverending list of youth.
... yes
In the spirit of Rhett Bartlett, here are the top pornos we have been cast in during the last 20 years:
1986 R14 - Rchmond 74 def. by Hawthorn 175
1986 R21 - Richmond 55 def. by Collingwood 156
1987 R18 - Richmond 107 def. by Sydney 198
1988 R2 - Richmond 86 def. by Hawthorn 171
1988 R4 - Richmond 82 def. by Geelong 161
1988 R7 - Richmond 73 def. by Nth. Melbourne 150
1989 R9 - Richmond 77 def. by Geelong 211
1989 R22 - Richmond 86 def. by Geelong 162
1990 R2 - Richmond 86 def. by Nth. Melbourne 209
1990 R4 - Richmond 49 def. by Essendon 127
1990 R16 - Richmond 68 def. by Hawthorn 159
1990 R17 - Richmond 46 def. by Essendon 125
1992 R2 - Richmond 72 def. by Geelong 198
1992 R7 - Richmond 93 def. by Hawthorn 172
1992 R18 - Richmond 83 def. by Geelong 165
1992 R19 - Richmond 75 def. by Melbourne 150
1992 R20 - Richmond 53 def. by Adelaide 163
1992 R22 - Richmond 86 def. by Hawthorn 170
1993 R1 - Richmond 84 def. by Adelaide 178
1993 R6 - Richmond 60 def. by Melbourne 153
1993 R13 - Richmond 63 def. by Essendon 141
1993 R16 - Richmond 32 def. by Adelaide 171
1993 R21 - Richmond 54 def. by Melbourne 175
1994 R3 - Richmond 39 def. by West Coast 135
1994 R23 - Richmond 48 def. by Carlton 161
1994 R24 - Richmond 95 def. by Geelong 171
1995 R8 - Richmond 91 def. by Geelong 163
1995 R20 - Richmond 83 def. by Brisbane 16
1995 PF - Richmond 40 def. by Geelong 129
1997 R5 - Richmond 46 def. by Nth Melbourne 141
1997 R17 - Richmond 48 def. by Adelaide 185
1998 R22 - Richmond 55 def. by Melbourne 133
2000 R17 - Richmond 66 def. by Essendon 167
2000 R18 - Richmond 56 def. by Nth. Melbourne 134
2000 R22 - Richmond 52 def. by Carlton 125
2001 QF - Richmond 43 def. by Essendon 113
2001 PF - Richmond 68 def. by Brisbane 136
2002 R2 - Richmond 60 def. by Essendon 112
2002 R12 - Richmond 70 def. by Port Adelaide 154
2003 R16 - Richmond 62 def. by Collingwood 131
2004 R5 - Richmond 59 def. by Adelaide 134
2004 R8 - Richmond 50 def. by Port Adeliade 128
2004 R15 - Richmond 77 def. by Essendon 155
2005 R13 - Richmond 62 def. by Adailaide 132
2006 R1 - Richmond 52 def. by Bulldogs 167 ROFLMAO
Good on you mate. I agree 100%. Get rid of the senior losers that only know how to lose. I even agree about Campbell (hopefully JohnF is not reading). We will miss him. I just hate him because he got soft kicks earlier in his career and was afraid of getting tackled. But he was a solid performer when he got the captaincy and he was the one player that could help younger players develop. Unlike Gaspar, Chaffey, Bowden and Tivendale.
Keep posting mate. We need the likes of you in dark days
ROFLAMO
Never throught I'd see the day.
Punt_Road_Roar
5 Apr 2006, 20:02
In the spirit of Rhett Bartlett, here are the top pornos we have been cast in during the last 20 years:
Geez JF
Thats over 20 years and it looks like we are still the most popular tart on the corner.
:thumbsd:
These 4 results say a lot about our mentality. From memory we were still in the reckoning for the 8 on the final day in '98. A couple of years earlier we were thumped by North on the final day too.
The last two show just how stupid Spud was topping up.
lucas_hsv
5 Apr 2006, 20:44
Now look at them? WTF have hawthorn done that we haven't? We beat almost an identical Fremantle here last year by 10 goals too, does that make our future bright?
I'm so sick of these bloody comparisons with the hawks, what has their team got thats puts them so far ahead of us?
Hell, lets even bring up the NAB cup game, we played the same ********house footy then as we did against the bulldogs and lost to them by 2 goals, and that was with out alot of these seniors (duds as i've seen you put, which as it is, are better than our other duds).
Really, i'd love to hear your opinion on why hawthorn are so much more adavanced than us.
tigerdan
5 Apr 2006, 21:08
Really, i'd love to hear your opinion on why hawthorn are so much more adavanced than us.
I am 100% with you here lucas_hsv.
Despite Bentleigh's brainwashing, there is no evidence that the finish on the bottom at all costs mentaility has achieved anything for clubs like Hawthorn and St Kilda.
Hawthorn are gonna be just as stuffed as us anyway when Crawford and Everitt retire. I'm not sold on the whole Roughead/Franklin messiah thing just yet either.
It is a good point. I'm not too big on the bottoming out approach, unless you do some work on the other end of the list and bring in senior players with leadership credentials. Saints did this, bringing in Hammill and Gehrig to help their senior core of Harvey, Burke etc. Dogs were lucky to have Johnson, Darcy, Grant, West, Smith. We have SFA and the Hawks are in the same boat really.
How do you think the Saints got the draft picks to trade for Hamill and Gehrig?
They finished low enough
BUT they also balanced losing these picks by having the courage to trade players like Everitt for high picks.
They finished low enough
BUT they also balanced losing these picks by having the courage to trade players like Everitt for high picks.
Spot on Jake. People think if you offer a Tivendale or of the same ilk that clubs will be somehow interested in tradiing with you. Afraid not, you have to give up something to get what you want and progress in this competition. We hang onto our players - usually for sentimental reasons rather than practical.
They finished low enough
That exactly right Jake. A lot of ppl were sceptical when they traded players like Everitt and Hall. For mine, it worked out to be the key to their recent improvement.
They finally after decades got rid of the St.Kilda loser culture, and they picked up Gerhrig and Hamill to build a new generation
We've just never had the courage to do this at Tigerland. Ottens was one of the few times
Spot on Jake. People think if you offer a Tivendale or of the same ilk that clubs will be somehow interested in tradiing with you. Afraid not, you have to give up something to get what you want and progress in this competition. We hang onto our players - usually for sentimental reasons rather than practical.Spot on Froars
corporal
6 Apr 2006, 15:14
Now look at them? WTF have hawthorn done that we haven't? We beat almost an identical Fremantle here last year by 10 goals too, does that make our future bright?
I'm so sick of these bloody comparisons with the hawks, what has their team got thats puts them so far ahead of us?
Hell, lets even bring up the NAB cup game, we played the same ********house footy then as we did against the bulldogs and lost to them by 2 goals, and that was with out alot of these seniors (duds as i've seen you put, which as it is, are better than our other duds).
The reason I think the Hawks are aheard of us is they have put a solid year of game time into their kids. Deledio aside we have giving most of our up and comers patchy time here and there. Considering our seniors continue to fail to perform I really want to see our promising youngster giving good game time so that they can cut their teeth at senior level.
I think we will probably have the midfield edge over them however the Hawks have got a number of excellent young KKP players who last year got good game time(Roughhead, Franklin, Taylor + this years KKP draftee's) along with Croad who excels at CHB and Williams who is a potent goal scorer.
We have Schultz + Pattison both who have promise but are yet to deliver and have had hardly any game time (although Schultz injury hasn't helped). Hughes is evidently highly rated so hopefully he stands up and get a good go this year.
Even though I think the importance of KKPs is diminishing they still are crucial.
Anyway I think the Hawks made the hard decision last year and I think it is already paying off. Its still early days yet for Richmond and we can still turn it around however the fact is most of our success last year came from Browns boot.
For the record I do think we have some great talent coming through, I'd just rather see them play then Tivendale & co hack it round for yet another wasted season.
Darth_Tiger
6 Apr 2006, 15:24
proof that the afl hates us. rofl.
These 4 results say a lot about our mentality. From memory we were still in the reckoning for the 8 on the final day in '98. A couple of years earlier we were thumped by North on the final day too.
The last two show just how stupid Spud was topping up.
Sadly so. When it came to the crunch we always crumbled.
proof that the afl hates us. rofl.
ROFLAMO
That exactly right Jake. A lot of ppl were sceptical when they traded players like Everitt and Hall. For mine, it worked out to be the key to their recent improvement.
They finally after decades got rid of the St.Kilda loser culture, and they picked up Gerhrig and Hamill to build a new generation
We've just never had the courage to do this at Tigerland. Ottens was one of the few times
Saints also had the courage to let Black, D.Wakelin, S.Wakelin, M.Carr and Lappin all go to other clubs. They sacked Capuano and let Knobel, Joel Smith and Guerra walk for nothing.
Richmond have been frightened of making decisions. At least Miller has the courage to ship guys like Ottens, Fiora and Zantuck out of the club. All our other administrators have been too scared of the fans or too scared of making mistakes.
True Thylacine
7 Apr 2006, 09:51
IT must be me that just doesnt get this stuff. You ask what makes the Hawks any different to us and fair point but then we rabbit on about the Saints. YES they are finishing higher on the ladder and YES they have "potential" but so far it remains to be seen if that can translate into success. I know it has the "potential" to but to date it hasnt even seen them make a solitary grand final, let alone win one. Gehrig, Hamill, Hudgston,Thompson and Harvey dont have too long to get one either and will leave big holes at full back, full forward and midfield, so then what, bottom out again to get some replacements or trade Riewoldt?
What I am convinced of is that there are no silver bullets in footy, draft picks or ready mades. Sure you can buy skill but the less obvious components such as teamwork, love of the jumper and club, commitment, ability under pressure, determination and courage play a huge part that you cant buy. In fact these factors were the key differences between Sydney and others last year, not just pure skills.
CoggaRules
7 Apr 2006, 10:50
IT must be me that just doesnt get this stuff. You ask what makes the Hawks any different to us and fair point but then we rabbit on about the Saints. YES they are finishing higher on the ladder and YES they have "potential" but so far it remains to be seen if that can translate into success. I know it has the "potential" to but to date it hasnt even seen them make a solitary grand final, let alone win one. Gehrig, Hamill, Hudgston,Thompson and Harvey dont have too long to get one either and will leave big holes at full back, full forward and midfield, so then what, bottom out again to get some replacements or trade Riewoldt?
What I am convinced of is that there are no silver bullets in footy, draft picks or ready mades. Sure you can buy skill but the less obvious components such as teamwork, love of the jumper and club, commitment, ability under pressure, determination and courage play a huge part that you cant buy. In fact these factors were the key differences between Sydney and others last year, not just pure skills.
at this stage TT, we would sell our souls to the devil to gain the type of "failure" that the Saints are displaying.
Success doesnt only mean a flag, it also means getting your fans breaking down the turnstiles to watch skilled, classy players playing in your colours.
So what if they dont win a flag, speakng in economic terms now, when they enjoy a good decade basking in the sun of "real deal" compteititevness against the quality opposition. ;)
True Thylacine
7 Apr 2006, 12:21
at this stage TT, we would sell our souls to the devil to gain the type of "failure" that the Saints are displaying.
Success doesnt only mean a flag, it also means getting your fans breaking down the turnstiles to watch skilled, classy players playing in your colours.
So what if they dont win a flag, speakng in economic terms now, when they enjoy a good decade basking in the sun of "real deal" compteititevness against the quality opposition. ;)
On face value I agree Cogga but I have a lotta Sainter mates, including a brother find it pretty frustrating to continually "have potential" too. Its like getting a little oral sex...is a nice feeling but frustrating if it doesnt go all the way. I dont want to just get better, that would seem a waste of time, I want to go back to being a force, a real force that was feared and that assumed success. Bloody sure St Kilda isnt there yet.
CoggaRules
7 Apr 2006, 12:32
On face value I agree Cogga but I have a lotta Sainter mates, including a brother find it pretty frustrating to continually "have potential" too. Its like getting a little oral sex...is a nice feeling but frustrating if it doesnt go all the way. I dont want to just get better, that would seem a waste of time, I want to go back to being a force, a real force that was feared and that assumed success. Bloody sure St Kilda isnt there yet.
Yeah, understand, and thank god we still have some leverage when they bag us, because of that. But I tend to look at the overall picture when talking supporters. Guys like you and me, the ones that have tasted the feeling of going to the footy, expecting to win by 10 goals and if that margin was not achieved, we would be bagging the sh-ite out of the team, LOL, never satisfied when you are a force, but we are not the problem when it comes to numbers, its the youngsters that are slowly finding better things to do, than going week in week out and have 3 players tops that can be classed as "entertainment" value, when talking skill, they are the supporters that will stay away and fade away. ;)
2006 R6 - Richmond 62 def. by Sydney 180 - That was a rodgering of Eastern European proportions.
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 18:35
2006 R6 - Richmond 62 def. by Sydney 180 - That was a rodgering of Eastern European proportions.
LOL John,
wont be the last one this season either !!
LOL John,
wont be the last one this season either !!
ROFLMAO Punt.
lmfao@our excuse for being rodgered so badly being that Gaspar, Kellaway, Chaffey and Hall weren't playing. Lord help us!
"Rodgered in the ars,
Rodgered in the ars,
High, Ho the dairy - o.,
Rodgered in the ars."
"Rodgered in the ars,
Rodgered in the ars,
High, Ho the dairy - o.,
Rodgered in the ars."
ROFLAMAOAO
Hi ho, hi ho,
It's up the pipe we go,
whistle, whistle, whistle, whilste,
Hi ho, hi ho, hi ho, hi ho..
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 19:38
2006 Round 7 Richmond v Adelaide at the Dome ...... how much are we willing to bend over for this match ?
Darth_Tiger
13 May 2006, 20:11
dont know if i can bring myself to watch it prr, and i am being 100% honest.
Punt_Road_Roar
13 May 2006, 20:13
dont know if i can bring myself to watch it prr, and i am being 100% honest.
Its ok Darth, seeing your location I am already feeling sorry for you.