View Full Version : Predict when Terry's "match ball" will come out.
Captain_Brown_7
5 Apr 2006, 19:32
Last year, TW introduced the "crunch game" initiative. It is where he declares 1 game per season to the players as 'the game he thinks is most crucial for the year' (or something along those lines!)
Last year he pulled it out against the Bombers and we beat them convincingly. My question is when will he bring it out this season?
My prediction is, if we are 0-4 after 4 rounds it will be brought out in round 5 against the Blues.
jackson_rules
5 Apr 2006, 19:34
if i remember correctly it is decided at the start of the season so it wont matter what start we get he and the players already know the round
Captain_Brown_7
5 Apr 2006, 19:35
if i remember correctly it is decided at the start of the season so it wont matter what start we get he and the players already know the round
Are you sure about that Jacko???
My understanding was that Terry can pull it out when he feels the team needs a proverbial (excuse the French) 'kick in the AR$E'
jackson_rules
5 Apr 2006, 19:37
Are you sure about that Jacko???
My understanding was that Terry can pull it out when he feels the team needs a proverbial (excuse the French) 'kick in the AR$E'
im not sure but im pretty sure its planned from the start, as i dont think it would as effective if he just rocks up to training and goes boys this is that one game of the year we hafta win
So instead he sat the boys down three weeks ago and said "this is the one game of the year we have to win", pointing to one of our fixtures? Seems unlikely, but lets hope he didn't have round 1 pencilled in.
RodneyDangerfield
5 Apr 2006, 20:45
Last year, TW introduced the match ball initiative. It is where he declares 1 game per season to the players as 'the game he thinks is most crucial for the year' (or something along those lines!)
Last year he pulled it out against the Bombers and we beat them convincingly. My question is when will he bring it out this season?[QUOTE]
Bloody Hell Captain I know we got towelled up,but surely you're not suggesting big Tezza pulls it out!:eek:
Terry Tan
5 Apr 2006, 21:46
the players need to play with balls every week, not once a year.
wez10000
5 Apr 2006, 22:10
Its called a Crunch Game
And its a game that only gets used once a year, All the players in the game signs a ball and that gets plarked and kept to let everyone know who plays that game
jko'neal
5 Apr 2006, 22:17
Well said Terry Tan, every game is important regardless of opposition and venue.
One thing I want the club to get out of the system is the word "Competitive"
No more negative thoughts from coach or players, to me if you say you want to be "competitive" means you are conceeding the opposition is a shoe in before the game starts.
I have bad memories of Nick Daffy saying before a game against North Melbourne on TV that we will struggle to win this week! A win against the Roos would have nearly sealed us a finals birth that year.
These guys are highly paid professionals, everyone having fun and getting a go does not count . Winning does!
No more saying we want to be competitve regardless of the scoreboard Terry Wallace, It's old and repetitive at Tigerland.!
By the way i hope we kick the Aints butt :)
Drunken Wookie
5 Apr 2006, 22:22
I reckon he'll save it for the Grand Final. ;)
Couple more losses like that and i can tell which balls will pulled out
It'll be Round 5, Richmond v Carlton, the battle for the spoon.
The Dice Man
6 Apr 2006, 09:54
Odds are if it was bought out for last week's Bulldog game then we'll never ever hear about it.
Terry Tan
6 Apr 2006, 09:56
This match ball stuff is a load of crap and a cheap gimmick. Fancy getting the players to sign it, then it gets plaqued & handed to someone.
Give me a break, I think I'm gonna throw up.
CoggaRules
6 Apr 2006, 10:45
quite confident that what ever happens tomorrow night and the week after, the following week we will be 1-3.
Gotta feeling that the Gabba game is the one which TW and the tiges have stamped as the turn around game. Of course any other glich in the plan, i.e. a win from nowhere in the next 2 games, is pure bonus points. ;)
itsintheblood
6 Apr 2006, 12:10
Last year, TW introduced the match ball initiative. It is where he declares 1 game per season to the players as 'the game he thinks is most crucial for the year' (or something along those lines!)
Last year he pulled it out against the Bombers and we beat them convincingly. My question is when will he bring it out this season?
My prediction is, if we are 0-4 after 4 rounds it will be brought out in round 5 against the Blues.
He'll need to bring out more than a friggen ball if we are 0-4. A baseball bat may be more appropriate.
Captain_Brown_7
7 Jun 2006, 16:10
This week???:confused:
True Thylacine
7 Jun 2006, 16:16
Collingwood...for a big showing against the Scum in full flight. Will not only help our on field but would support El Pres's case for more RFC at the G. If we get one outta the next two it will be pretty appropriate too.
tomthetiger
7 Jun 2006, 16:18
I think bring it out this week. If we can win our next two, we shouldnt need the ball out for Collingwood, the ball should come out after a dissapointing loss. This is it, if we dont win tomorrow, Collingwood will be too late.
I thought that this idea was picked before the season begun...
I think bring it out this week. If we can win our next two, we shouldnt need the ball out for Collingwood, the ball should come out after a dissapointing loss. This is it, if we dont win tomorrow, Collingwood will be too late.
Why are playing on a Thursday :eek: :D
tomthetiger
7 Jun 2006, 16:31
damn, that post was supposed to come out on friday.
Truetiger
7 Jun 2006, 16:51
The game tomorrow is it gee never new that :D
bulldogs game at the G
hands down.
footy4eva
7 Jun 2006, 19:32
for us to have any chance in the finals, this week and next week are both crunch games! but it could be any game over the next 5 weeks.
i dont think he will pick a game that we are a risk of losing, it will be a game that is against a team we can beat . it will also imo be a home game, so i think the hawks game and port game coming up are out.
this leaves
collingwood
melbourne or the
bulldogs.
the doggies seems too far away, so its 50/50 collingwood/melb
i hope its the skunks game and feel that it will be because its the first game after the mid season break and will be a good kick start for our run to the finals
Truetiger
7 Jun 2006, 19:36
How do we even know if he will do this again this season. Just because he did last year dont mean he will this year.
However saying that if we win the next 2 games which i think we will. It would have to be the Collingwood game. Week after the break no doubt an important game even though were not playing to play finals. I think we could beat the pies :) and port in aami
Hello Newman!
8 Jun 2006, 13:16
How do we even know if he will do this again this season. Just because he did last year dont mean he will this year.
He started the Initiative, Terry that is, at the Bulldogs, and has done it every year since. BTW Terry has never lost a game where the "ball" has been pulled out!;)
TigerFan
8 Jun 2006, 13:34
well he'd better pull it out, because this week has 'loss' written all over it
Truetiger
8 Jun 2006, 13:54
Nah wont lose this week so keep it till the pies game.
True Thylacine
8 Jun 2006, 15:37
Why? I'd be interested in your reasoning.
TigerFan
8 Jun 2006, 17:16
Why? I'd be interested in your reasoning.
North Melbourne own us, they have done for at least the past ten years. history doesn't tell the whole story though, so I'll give you some more practical reasons for why we'll lose this weekend...
1. No Richo. He's not the be all and end all like he used to be, but we're probably going to have to plonk Greg Stafford in the goalsquare and set up a tall forwardline around him - which begs the question...
what's going to stop the Kangaroos from rebounding off half back at will?
nothing, that's right, so expect Glenn Archer and Jess Sinclair to feature in the Kangaroos' best this weekend.
2. What are we going to do about Nathan Thompson? He's hardly a world-beater, but he gave Darren Gaspar a bath last time we played them, and I don't think we have the answers this time around either (and god help us if Saverio Rocca plays...)
EDIT: Gaspar's been dropped apparently, and Ray Hall is even less likely to stop them
3. Where are the goals going to come from? Richo's not going to be there to kick a couple (and take the best defender), Nathan Brown's going to be rusty at best, and we're going to need Troy Simmonds rucking most of the day if we're going to get enough clearances to create scoreboard pressure. Kayne Pettifer should keep up his good form, but nobody else has kicked more than 10 goals this season.
quite simply, I don't think we can kick a winning score.
4. the big intangible - the fact that North Melbourne are going to be shat.
we're 5-5, and no matter how hard they try to fight it, the playing group would be feeling pretty good about themselves after the past three weeks - especially their effort last weekend. on the other hand, we have a North Melbourne team that has its entire season on the line this weekend, and they're going to play accordingly.
simply, I don't think we're going to want it as badly as they will.
I'd love to tip us, and I'd love to think that we're going to make a huge leap forward by winning a 50/50 game like this, but I just don't think we're quite there yet...
Kangaroos by 26.
True Thylacine
8 Jun 2006, 17:30
Suffice to say I disagree... BUT...its a decision between responding to you now or missing an early start at some free grog.......hate to break this to you...BUT.....bye! I promise to talk crap tomorrow OK? lmao
TigerFan
8 Jun 2006, 17:33
Suffice to say I disagree... BUT...its a decision between responding to you now or missing an early start at some free grog.......hate to break this to you...BUT.....bye! I promise to talk crap tomorrow OK? lmao
hahaha, don't look back! :D
tigerdan
8 Jun 2006, 18:12
3. Where are the goals going to come from? Richo's not going to be there to kick a couple (and take the best defender), Nathan Brown's going to be rusty at best, and we're going to need Troy Simmonds rucking most of the day if we're going to get enough clearances to create scoreboard pressure. Kayne Pettifer should keep up his good form, but nobody else has kicked more than 10 goals this season.
[/B]
Wallace has built the team around many running players kicking goals and only a few from the KPP's. I expect that guys like Coughlan/Johnson/Deledio/Tuck (etc) will all be expected to kick 1-2. Then add Pettifer and P Bowden as marking forwards.
Not having Richo may cost us 2-3 goals (and a few points!), that's it.
North are not travelling too well at the moment. Had they won last week I would have been nervous, but I think there is a lot of negativity at Arden St and early scoreboard pressure (if we can achieve it) should be enough to wrap it up for us.
Captain_Brown_7
2 Jul 2006, 11:04
Today is the day Ladies and Gents....There is no bigger CRUNCH game than this, there is not an oppenent we want to beat more and there is not a bigger stage.
Come on Terry, show us your ball! :D
GO TIGERS!!!!!
tomthetiger
2 Jul 2006, 13:21
Oh seriously, no, I just pictured like Terry's balls, and needless to say I wasnt impressed...Just..Ahh, ****.
show us your ball! :D
Suspect Mrs Wallace will see both of them tonight
Captain_Brown_7
2 Jul 2006, 21:50
Suspect Mrs Wallace will see both of them tonight
HAHAHAHAHAHA
Anyway, did the Ball get pull out today?? :confused:
I for one didn't see it....
Kurtis G
3 Jul 2006, 01:33
North Melbourne own us, they have done for at least the past ten years. history doesn't tell the whole story though, so I'll give you some more practical reasons for why we'll lose this weekend...
1. No Richo. He's not the be all and end all like he used to be, but we're probably going to have to plonk Greg Stafford in the goalsquare and set up a tall forwardline around him - which begs the question...
what's going to stop the Kangaroos from rebounding off half back at will?
nothing, that's right, so expect Glenn Archer and Jess Sinclair to feature in the Kangaroos' best this weekend.
2. What are we going to do about Nathan Thompson? He's hardly a world-beater, but he gave Darren Gaspar a bath last time we played them, and I don't think we have the answers this time around either (and god help us if Saverio Rocca plays...)
EDIT: Gaspar's been dropped apparently, and Ray Hall is even less likely to stop them
quite simply, I don't think we can kick a winning score.
4. the big intangible - the fact that North Melbourne are going to be shat.
we're 5-5, and no matter how hard they try to fight it, the playing group would be feeling pretty good about themselves after the past three weeks - especially their effort last weekend. on the other hand, we have a North Melbourne team that has its entire season on the line this weekend, and they're going to play accordingly.
simply, I don't think we're going to want it as badly as they will.
I'd love to tip us, and I'd love to think that we're going to make a huge leap forward by winning a 50/50 game like this, but I just don't think we're quite there yet...
Kangaroos by 26.
You were way off the mark with that call - as usual. I think its time you stopped letting your Mother convince you that the Kangaroos are something good.
I wonder if the match ball was used today. Will they let us know when its going to be/has been used? They did last year.
Darth_Tiger
3 Jul 2006, 11:06
i would guess that we would know by now if it was yesterday. my guess is in two weeks against the dees.
i think its this week against port pretty much same situation as last year who ever won it would play finals . similar situation this year
after round 16 2005
7 MELBOURNE 16 9 7 0 0 243 199 1657 230 220 1600 103.56% 36 56.25% 8
8 RICHMOND 16 9 7 0 0 211 189 1455 225 189 1539 94.54% 36 56.25% 12
9 BRISBANE 16 8 8 0 0 241 197 1643 207 199 1441 114.02% 32 50.00% 11
10 PORT ADELAIDE 16 7 8 1 0 208 183 1431 226 204 1560 91.73% 30 46.88% 6
after round 13 2006
7 St Kilda 13 7 0 6 1172 1046 112.05 28
8 Richmond 13 7 0 6 1092 1305 83.68 28
9 Port Adelaide 13 6 0 7 1265 1354 93.43 24
10 Fremantle 13 6 0 7 1050 1225 85.71 24
the crows, pies and to a lesser extent eagles games shows we can match it with Top 4 teams, were as middle of road teams (bulldogs,swans, saints). lower teams (hawks, dockers) we seem to falter so i think port is middle of the road so very important game
my 2 cents anyway
DirtyDogTIGERS
4 Jul 2006, 01:23
Predict
r14 v Port. No, they're bottom 8 anyway and injury hit
r15 v Melb. No. Because
r16 v Sydney. No. Not at the SCG
r17 v St'K. No, see melb.
r18 v WBD.Yep,Definite Big game. gives us momentum
r19 v brisbane. Nope, not at the MCG versus brizzie.
r20 v carlton. No: Rabble, why waste the crunch ball
r21 v Essendon. No. Spooners, see carlton
r22 v WCE. No they don't like the MCG
They asked plough about it after the Magpies game. He said he didn't think the Collingwood game was the crunch game because we went into it 6-6. He would use it when the season was really on the line. Going into the Port game at 7-6 doesn't sound like a crunch game. Even if we lose were just back to even. I'd say st Kilda or Bulldogs.
rfctigerarmy
4 Jul 2006, 20:32
Bulldogs will be the 'crunch game' for sure. If we lost the next 4, just say, we'd be 7-10 - we'll need to win 12 games for sure. Bulldogs will be it, a MUST win if put into that situation.
Port Adelaide this week is so damn crucial.
Punt_Road_Roar
10 Jul 2006, 16:12
What about this week???
Would be a good call, but I'm thinking it might be the Bulldogs game
They buried our noses in it in round 1, and there were a few comments made afterwards about us giving up (although true). I think if we lost to Port then this week would have been it, but now I'm not so sure.
Captain_Brown_7
3 Aug 2006, 10:21
Predict
r14 v Port. No, they're bottom 8 anyway and injury hit
r15 v Melb. No. Because
r16 v Sydney. No. Not at the SCG
r17 v St'K. No, see melb.
r18 v WBD.Yep,Definite Big game. gives us momentum
r19 v brisbane. Nope, not at the MCG versus brizzie.
r20 v carlton. No: Rabble, why waste the crunch ball
r21 v Essendon. No. Spooners, see carlton
r22 v WCE. No they don't like the MCG
Bulldogs will be the 'crunch game' for sure. If we lost the next 4, just say, we'd be 7-10 - we'll need to win 12 games for sure. Bulldogs will be it, a MUST win if put into that situation.
Do you still think its this week guys???
I got the feeling we ain't gonna see the crunch game ball this year. Unfortunately, i think it got shelved last week :(
Darth_Tiger
3 Aug 2006, 10:34
yeah i think so too.
Bengal Tiger
3 Aug 2006, 17:29
The match ball came out last week against St Kilda.
The first thing that Terry did after the players returned to the rooms was cut it up and toss it in the bin, never to be mentioned again.
yeah definately last week. so much for the theroy though. i wouldnt waste my time ever again if i was terry
God, I hope you are right.
Kurtis G
3 Aug 2006, 18:18
Any source on this or are you making stuff up lad?
Bengal Tiger
3 Aug 2006, 18:28
I can't disclose the source but its fact.
Captain_Brown_7
3 Aug 2006, 18:40
Sounds like a stupid question but did he do it in front of the players??
Bengal Tiger
3 Aug 2006, 18:42
Sounds like a stupid question but did he do it in front of the players??
Sure did and he threw the bits savagely into the bin in the middle of the room.
Kurtis G
3 Aug 2006, 18:43
Sounds fair. Im sure the players realise that that is all their performance deserved.
If this did happen, ofcourse....
Bengal Tiger
3 Aug 2006, 18:51
Hey Kurtis,
I got the info from the same source that told me that Cam Howat is playing his first game for Richmond on Saturday in Whitey's place.
No names, no pack drill.
Kurtis G
3 Aug 2006, 19:17
Hey Kurtis,
I got the info from the same source that told me that Cam Howat is playing his first game for Richmond on Saturday in Whitey's place.
No names, no pack drill.
Alright mate.
Well I reckon what Terry did was fair enough. We wernt even there on Saturday. I would say get rid of the concept now after Saturday.