View Full Version : Best Rising Star?

Sammy "Extractor" Mithell
6 Apr 2006, 10:40
Out of the 13 people to have won the rising star, who is the "best"?

do not make this a personal decision, actually concider it, and not jsut nominate somebody because you like them.

everybody's views?

Me chosing Mitchell is based on the fact he is one of, if not the leading midfielder in the comp. Superb skills around stopages, and reads the play better then most.

Lenny*
6 Apr 2006, 10:53
I reckon its sammy mithell.

knackers27
6 Apr 2006, 11:13
i think its hard to go past the first guy, Buckley game into the AFL with the bears and dominated straight away. Because of that year alone he walked into a huge contract with the Magpies, was a star straight away.

there is some great names on that list, superstars a plenty. i thought Delidio had a super year last year too, big time didn't phase him at all, the difference between him and Buckley and Mitchell is that delidio came straight from junior footy and Buckley and Mitchell had been playing Sanfl and VFL, so makes the young tigers effort very special.

In short Buckley

blangerang
6 Apr 2006, 11:39
benny boom boom

sdb4884
6 Apr 2006, 11:58
Benny!

Da Bull
6 Apr 2006, 12:12
Out of the 13 people to have won the rising star, who is the "best"?

do not make this a personal decision, actually concider it, and not jsut nominate somebody because you like them.

everybody's views?

Me chosing Mitchell is based on the fact he is one of, if not the leading midfielder in the comp. Superb skills around stopages, and reads the play better then most.

Your on drugs mate. Take off your brown and gold eye patch and have a proper look.

How can you honestly have him in front of TWO (2) Brownlow medalists.

Buckley for mine. Consistency over a prolonged period.

Jeffers1984
6 Apr 2006, 12:35
Your on drugs mate. Take off your brown and gold eye patch and have a proper look.

How can you honestly have him in front of TWO (2) Brownlow medalists.

Buckley for mine. Consistency over a prolonged period.
3. Goodes has also won a Brownlow.

My Vote goes to Buckley.

Lonie_from_50
6 Apr 2006, 13:19
1 player who can win, but in good company. Nathan Buckley no doubt. Sam Mitchell polling well, don't know why.

dids4
6 Apr 2006, 13:31
I reckon its sammy mithell.

LOL.

jimmy_c8
6 Apr 2006, 13:34
Buckley for me with Cousins just behind him.

wizard_9
6 Apr 2006, 14:50
Anyone that picks any of these players either than Cousins or Buckley is out of their minds.

Sammy "Extractor" Mithell
6 Apr 2006, 14:59
This is just a presonal opinion poll, no need to go out of your way to critisize everybody who has a different chioce to you

Quinz
6 Apr 2006, 15:02
Obviously one of the three brownlow Medallists: Buckley, Cuz or Goodes. Buckly and Cuz about the same IMO.

notsure
6 Apr 2006, 15:08
Has to be Buckley. He has played a great standard of footy over 10 years now.

Delido is a super talent but needs to perform over a few years before he can be compared to others.

Sam Mitchell is a good footballer but there are many ahead of him.

pocketrocket#24
6 Apr 2006, 18:28

geez, u cant have the full quid mate.
i started a whole thread based on that kind of crap. mitchell reads the play better than cousins, buckley, riewoldt etc does he?? based on what?? in terms of reading the play its arguably harder to get tons of possesions around the ground whilst being tagged than in and under. i would say he is a better in and under player than most on that list, but that is all, and he is not even in the same league as most. in fact of all the names listed he is probably the one that i would fear the least when opposing. remember last year when hawthorn lost to the pies and mitchell got 35 odd touches and was absolutely baked for being totally useless, wasting nearly all of them and overall having not the slightest impact on the game. give buckley or cousins even 25 touches and see the impact they will have...

Ysaye
7 Apr 2006, 16:31
Buckley was an awesome player in his day, and Cousins can be very damaging in a similar way, but I can't go past Riewoldt - already a total star of the game, can play anywhere, can rack up as many possessions as the before mentioned two, and his best is still ahead of him.

I'm the Juggernaut
7 Apr 2006, 17:07
keep posting your crap as eventually Sam will win one of your polls. Can I suggest the who is better Sam Mitchell of 2005 or Sam Mitchell of 2006. Sam Mitchell is bound to poll well in that one.....geez

DynamoUltra
7 Apr 2006, 17:08
1 player who can win, but in good company. Nathan Buckley no doubt. Sam Mitchell polling well, don't know why.

If you watch the match on Sunday, or even when we played your mob last year, you should know why. I bet you rate Luke Ball...

whirl
8 Apr 2006, 10:49
You choosing Mitchell probably has more to do with you following Hawthorn. Excellent player but isn't up with with Buckley or Cousins from that list. Given time he may but not yet, same deal with Riewoldt.

OneEyedHawk
8 Apr 2006, 12:02
geez, u cant have the full quid mate.
i started a whole thread based on that kind of crap. mitchell reads the play better than cousins, buckley, riewoldt etc does he?? based on what?? in terms of reading the play its arguably harder to get tons of possesions around the ground whilst being tagged than in and under. i would say he is a better in and under player than most on that list, but that is all, and he is not even in the same league as most. in fact of all the names listed he is probably the one that i would fear the least when opposing. remember last year when hawthorn lost to the pies and mitchell got 35 odd touches and was absolutely baked for being totally useless, wasting nearly all of them and overall having not the slightest impact on the game. give buckley or cousins even 25 touches and see the impact they will have...
Yeah, I remember that. That was the game where Mitchell had a league record 13 clearances, and your coach Mick Malthouse, absolutely 'baked' him by calling him the best in-and-under since Greg Williams!
Kudo's to Mitchell for bouncing back from that savage 'baking'.

Coin_Toss
8 Apr 2006, 13:42
Bucks, easily.

FIGJAM
8 Apr 2006, 13:58
Buckly and Cuz about the same IMO.
Hahaha!! :D

Richo83
9 Apr 2006, 16:22
Anyone that picks any of these players either than Cousins or Buckley is out of their minds.

Ah Riewoldt ring a bell?

Jabso
10 Apr 2006, 23:12
Riedwoldt has about 6 years of good footy to get up to Cousins's level and about 8 to get up to Buckley's.

plough
11 Apr 2006, 17:12
Brownlows for every 3rd rising rising star, reiwoldt next then deleidio?

viccles
11 Apr 2006, 17:17
One B runaway Cousins

macca_2111
11 Apr 2006, 19:43
OK, who voted Nick Holland?

Mcchawk
13 Apr 2006, 02:49
I just wish Nick Holland didn't have both shoulders reconstructed he could've been a champion

JLC
13 Apr 2006, 08:38
Buckley by a mile

jlc

TheBrownDog
13 Apr 2006, 09:01
Buckley... easily.