View Full Version : Why are our skills so bad?

The Dice Man
7 Apr 2006, 21:29
Seems TW has planned on playing a fast moving and free-flowing gameplan(his words, not mine), but wouldn't it take exquisite skills to implement this gameplan?

Why are we turning the ball over and spending so many possesions per goal if this is our gameplan?

For those who got to training in the pre-season, did we even practice basic skills?

Thrice3
7 Apr 2006, 21:34
Everytime we get posession Rex always says "and it was a schizenhausen kick"

The Dice Man
7 Apr 2006, 21:38
We are the Turnover Tigers!

Lenny*
7 Apr 2006, 22:25
Patty bowden than you very much.

Calcium Man
7 Apr 2006, 23:39
I think its the pace at which wallace is asking them to play at!! It might take awhile to adjust our skills to fast game we are learning!!

The Dice Man
7 Apr 2006, 23:46
I think its the pace at which wallace is asking them to play at!! It might take awhile to adjust our skills to fast game we are learning!!

I think we are too, and further more I think it's our 'old-style' foward set up centred around Richo that is bringing us undone.

I have trust in TW's tactics, and I expect to soon see Richo playing either as a complete foil, or as a man who stands in the goalsquare constantly.

I think TW will realise our bigest weakness is our foward line, and he will address that over the next few weeks.

Bojangles17
8 Apr 2006, 00:43
I think we are too, and further more I think it's our 'old-style' foward set up centred around Richo that is bringing us undone.

I have trust in TW's tactics, and I expect to soon see Richo playing either as a complete foil, or as a man who stands in the goalsquare constantly.

I think TW will realise our bigest weakness is our foward line, and he will address that over the next few weeks.

spot on dice....we went some way to resolving probs down there tonight with jackson & Bowdo II presenting as new options....richo contiues to attract too much ball for precious lil return....the F50 is our prob area:confused:

The Dice Man
8 Apr 2006, 00:45
I thought Jackson played well down foward against Syd in the pre-season, but without luck.

Our foward line is dysfunctional atm, and IMO we need to either drop Richo or simply leave him in the Goalsquare for 120 minutes.

EDIT: Geez, just watching the replay here, but how fast are Foley's hands? :eek:

Darth_Tiger
8 Apr 2006, 00:58
if we do get the forward line fixed then we will go ok. but i do agree it is disfunctional atm. hope plough can work it out.

Kurtis G
8 Apr 2006, 01:09
lol at dropping Richo.

He has been taken the best defender in the first two weeks this season and it is fair to say he has been beaten. IF the game plan was ever to change so that Richo was not the key to goal scoring, he would be used up the ground, either on the wing off the bench or a running CHF.

This said, I do see your point Dice Man. I think it is too early to judge, but Richo is in some of the form of his life. He isnt playing bad footy by any means. He is presenting and is putting in 100% up the field, he just cant seem to take a grab right now.

Will Stafford return as the tall from the goal square? We are struggling a bit with our one tall at the moment, and with Jackson and P. Bowden becoming fairly enticing options, I fear that Staff may be edged out.

The Dice Man
8 Apr 2006, 01:11
Yep fair enough Kurtis, but our Fwd line just aint working and I wouldnt mind seeing Richo stay WITHIN the goalsquare. Was about the only theory I thought Frawley had right.

5 mins into the 2nd quarter on the tele here in Qld and Im really likeing Jackson's game... more for the pressure he is applying.

Kurtis G
8 Apr 2006, 01:34
Yep fair enough Kurtis, but our Fwd line just aint working and I wouldnt mind seeing Richo stay WITHIN the goalsquare. Was about the only theory I thought Frawley had right.

5 mins into the 2nd quarter on the tele here in Qld and Im really likeing Jackson's game... more for the pressure he is applying.
Mate, how can you watch that? We get it one hour delayed in Tassie and there is no way I wanna know the scores! I watch it like its live. I really feel for you. I take it you tuned in to the radio instead tonight?

Your right our forward line isnt working too well at the moment, but I think it has the potential to be a potent forward line, with one, two or even three talls (triangle.) The delivery needs to be a bit better and if we could ever get our forwards one out they are better marks than most opposition backman. Pitty Richo isnt taking the big pack marks like last year.

If P. Bowden and Jackson/Pettifer/X are kicking goals, the F50 isnt going to be so congested, because they can lead out and, and as you said, play the tall (Richo) close to the goals. I think we should be taking full advantage of Richos fitness at the moment and keep him as a leading player. Im also interested to see how we work with Staff in the square, I reckon at the moment it can work.

The Dice Man
8 Apr 2006, 01:40
Mate, how can you watch that? We get it one hour delayed in Tassie and there is no way I wanna know the scores! I watch it like its live. I really feel for you. I take it you tuned in to the radio instead tonight?

yeah 3aw over the net.

Your right our forward line isnt working too well at the moment, but I think it has the potential to be a potent forward line, with one, two or even three talls (triangle.) The delivery needs to be a bit better and if we could ever get our forwards one out they are better marks than most opposition backman. Pitty Richo isnt taking the big pack marks like last year.

If P. Bowden and Jackson/Pettifer/X are kicking goals, the F50 isnt going to be so congested, because they can lead out and, and as you said, play the tall (Richo) close to the goals. I think we should be taking full advantage of Richos fitness at the moment and keep him as a leading player. Im also interested to see how we work with Staff in the square, I reckon at the moment it can work.

All I can say is that I think we saw the real Richmond tonight, and last week was just a freakout.

We're not designed to peak yet, and will after halfway.

Kurtis G
8 Apr 2006, 01:42
Chuck Brown into that mix, who I forgot to mention.

I think that Richmond at full strength will be a real match for any top side this season. You rate us as any chance on Saturday Dice?

sante
8 Apr 2006, 01:43
Jackson was very good tonight, best game for us in his career...

Our forward line didn't do too bad in the 3rd quarter when Patrick Bowden and Pettifer dominated

Weaver
8 Apr 2006, 10:10
Seems TW has planned on playing a fast moving and free-flowing gameplan(his words, not mine), but wouldn't it take exquisite skills to implement this gameplan?

Why are we turning the ball over and spending so many possesions per goal if this is our gameplan?

We are always under a lot of pressure when executing our skills. Having a lot of kids in the team means a lot of tackles that don't stick, and a lot of guys who feel pressure. Our one-paced midfielders like Johnson, Coughlan and Tuck invite pressure and don't have too many speedsters yet to feed the ball too. Also our midfield tires quickly because we don't have those 2nd and 3rd tier guys to spell them. Fatigue is going to lead to errors.

As we put more pressure on our opponents and experience less ourselves, and as our kids improve their stamina, our skill level will magically improve.

The other one is that we don't have too many easy passes to spot. Even Gaspar can hit-up a guy 25 metres in the clear. Trying to hit the perfect pass to the favoured side of a teammate who is covered is a tougher ask. We don't get enough men clear in space.

There was a time when Tivendale spotted-up Pettifer. Pettifer was 30m clear on the flank. The kick wasn't actually great, Pettifer had to stop and stoop. However the margin of error was great. Pettifer could have let it bounce he had that much time. When passes like that are available everyone looks skilled.

In contrast if we are bringing the ball out of the backline, everyone is manned-up and there are no clear passes? That is when the kick has to be perfect. High enough to clear the guys between the kicker and the contest, not too high to let the spoiler in. Far enough in front of the leading player to let him run on to it, but not so far as to go OOF or be a half-volley.

As we get fitter, faster, and deeper we will have more easy passes to choose from, and again our skills will magically improve.

(At least until we get to September and everything falls apart under finals pressure like every other possesion team in history - but we can deal with that problem later :) )

Weaver
8 Apr 2006, 10:13
Our forward line didn't do too bad in the 3rd quarter when Patrick Bowden and Pettifer dominated

Midfield on top and the forward-of-the-ball receivers look a million bucks. Fiora was one of the Saints' best in the first half until we got on top of their midfield in the second half and there was no one to give him the ball.

Good games from B2 and Petts. Hopefully we have learnt the lesson though that HFF are a dime a dozen and we stop recruiting them and signing them to long-term deals. When Pettifer gets 25 touches starting in the centre square, that's when I pat him on the back.

trashos mob
8 Apr 2006, 10:21
it wasnt so much our forward line that was the problem. they did well with the little amount we got it in there. we r not getting the ball in to the f50 enough, and wen we do our forwards will get more opportunity.